Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Hot Tin Roof

Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people.

It's a mélange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.

ATTENTION: Please advise that outside seating is limited and in very high demand. Requesting outside seating in advance is no way a guarantee, but we will do our best at accommodating requests at the door on a first come first serve basis. Generally reservations made in within the first 1/ 2 hour of opening time and 2 hours after opening time will have the best opportunity of outdoor seating.

0 Duval Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin / Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily:
Monday through Saturday 7:30am - 11:30pm
Sunday 7:30pm - 11:00am

Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 1:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-7701

Website:
http://www.oceankey.com/key-west-restaurant.aspx

Parking Details:
Off street parking as well as several public lots, including Mallory Square.

Executive Chef:
Scott Maurer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hot Tin Roof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (94)
Scenic View (90)
Romantic (65)
See All
Special Occasion (65)
Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Good for a Date (59)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Tapas (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (17)
People Watching (16)
Casual (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Historic (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

The best place for brunch in Key West!

Everything was amazing. . Service, food, and ambiance was perfect. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first time here during a trip to Key West. One of the nicer restaurants that we have been to in Key West. Food was very well prepared and service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service! Made our wedding anniversary extra special! Thank you the complimentary Key Lime Pie to help finish off the night! Very classy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We got a reservation late and were seated right outside on the deck to watch the sunset. Food and service were excellent. Will plan to go back again next time we visit Key West!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The short ribs were incredible. The sea bass was so-so due to the fact the skin was still attached not to my liking. The fish had great flavor

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My husband and I picked The Hot Tin Roof as our fancy dinner spot while in Key West for our honeymoon. It was absolutely wonderful! Our waiter was very friendly and helpful. We made a reservation for 6:00 pm so we could enjoy the sunset. We got the prime table on the porch! The food is outstanding.....we loved the lobster mac-n-cheese and the swordfish. It was very relaxing and fun to watch people gather for the sunset celebration in Mallory Square. We will be back again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day celebration! Great service, wonderful views. Food was fantastic! Small plate options. Bloody Mary bar and mimosas.
Would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I strongly recommend you make your reservation to see the sunset , around 6:30 , because it's behind sunset pier , ask for outside table !!!!!!

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Pricey but worth it. Service was outstanding and food was excellent! Sunset was glorious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Birthday experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great staff, lovely view and excellent food. A must for anyone's trip to the keys!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was very good but service a little off. Lights a little too low and music very loud. But it is what it is. Will try again as its a beautiful spot. Great sunsets!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fabulous location - right by the sunset pier, yet elevated and private. Food was delicious. Service excellent. A truly enjoyable "special occasion" restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Warwickshire)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The seafood was fresh one of the best paella's I have ever had. Would definitely return on next visit to key west

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Wonderful! Food is excellent and do is service. We are never disappointed here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Made reservation for 7:30 to watch the sunset. Didn't get an outside table. We went downstairs listened to great music, watched the sunset, then went back up. Sat at the bar for 10 minutes ( it's way to dark in this restaurant). Was then sat at a great table outside over looking the Gulf. Absolutely beautiful. Great food, great service. Wish I had the Wild Mushroom Brushetta right now!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Unfortunately the food was cold after we waited over an hour after our appetizers.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was just okay for the price. Service was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great meal! Service was excellent. The view was amazing ! Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great view at Key West. Get the outdoor tables if you can. The brunch is fabulous with a Bloody Mary bar and small plate items all unlimited.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Enjoyed the variety at Sunday brunch but most of the items brought at were only lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing view with an awesome menu and well paced courses.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great brunch. Fixed price (reasonable). All you can eat and drink. What better way to spend your Sunday morning? View is fantastic. Service unobtrusive and quick. This is definitely a key west favorite.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We made a reservation through open table and asked for a sunset view. We were initially offered a table inside away from the windows. We asked to be seated outside to see the sunset and we were seated at a table in the corner of the balcony with very limited views. Right after we were seated, the hostess gave a family a far better table right next to us. This was a birthday celebration dinner and it did not get off to a good start. Luckily, our server was splendid and so was the food. They need to retrain the hostess on how to be accepting of everyone, not just those who meet her approval.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Top notch in every way! Food, drinks, service and ambience, it was a fantastic experience. Looking forward to dining with you again soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food in Key West. Highly recommended

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

It was very cozy and special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

In Key West to celebrate wedding Anniversary. Have been here before, but this was first time dining outside. Blues band music from bar below a bit loud but it was pretty good so that was ok. Once their set ended it was nice. Excellent food, pricey wine by the glass. Blueberry Almond tart with cinnamon ice cream was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Picked for our Anniversary dinner with a good idea of what we were going to order. But, oh my, had a fantastic special 'sharing' surf-n-turf so preconceptions went off the Pier. Server slightly over-enthusiastic (but we're Brits!) and lighting, like too many restaurants, overly dimmed (great for the sunset) - but not as atmospheric as possibly intended and clearly able to brighten so we could see what we were eating. Did we enjoy the food? Love comes closer; service... better too much than too little: go there again? in a heartbeat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful place. Amazing small plates. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was way too salty and not really fresh. The price does not match the food what I paid for it cost too much for what I got. Not coming back and not recommended restaurant in key west.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

nice menu and wine list. service was wonderful. indoors is dark as a cave but otherwise a great place to eat and watch the sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Both the best swordfish and key lime pie I have EVER had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We made an 8 o'clock reservation with the intent that we would catch the end of sunset. Ideally I asked for an earlier res for that reason but none were available because everyone makes them earlier for sunset on the deck. The problem is, once people are on the deck, they don't leave too easily, so 8P became 8:30 for us to be seated, spoiling a lot of the sunset.

Once seated, it took an extraordinary amount of time for a server to come by, the first thing I hate about a restaurant. While the server was pretty good after that, everything was really slow.

Ambience is touted as so great because of the sunset at the pier, but there is way too much noise for there to be much atmosphere.

As for the food, we were really disappointed. We started with PEI mussels. They were minuscule l, sandy/gritty and the broth was pungent. The calamari was thickly breaded and somewhat soggy. The Caesar said was quite good and might have been the best part of the meal. We had the paella, which had very dry over cooked seafood. The rice was tasty though. The chicken was average, edible, nothing special.

In summary, a real disappointment and we can't stand the fact we wasted one of our dining choices here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food and the view of the sunset were very good. The service, however, was not. The waiter seemed to forget orders from our table and those around us -- some being regular customers -- It became a topic of discussion among us. When we brought it to the attention of the manager when leaving, he said "oh, sorry!" and that was it. They probably could avoid reviews like this one if they actually cared that the service was bad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Atmosphere was great - ask how the food is prepared before ordering - for example the shrimp cocktail was warm with a sauce

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great restaurant with excellent seafood Paella. Best key lime pie on the island. Ocean view on patio dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great View

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

excellent. great GF options and very fresh ingredients. chef went out of the way to do a special vegetarian option as there isn't really more than one thing on the menu. would definitely recommend.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We were given a patio table just as requested. In spite of the clouds, we still were able to enjoy a beautiful sunset. The meal was fantastic - after reading some reviews, I worried it would not be worth the $$ - it definitely was. Great drink menu, excellent service. There was a rowdy table next to us that took away from the ambiance - I hoped someone from the restaurant might ask them to quiet down, but no luck. Otherwise, was a wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.