Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Hot Tin Roof

Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people.

It's a mélange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.

ATTENTION: Please advise that outside seating is limited and in very high demand. Requesting outside seating in advance is no way a guarantee, but we will do our best at accommodating requests at the door on a first come first serve basis. Generally reservations made in within the first 1/ 2 hour of opening time and 2 hours after opening time will have the best opportunity of outdoor seating.

0 Duval Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin / Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily:
Monday through Saturday 7:30am - 11:30pm
Sunday 7:30pm - 11:00am

Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 1:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-7701

Website:
http://www.oceankey.com/key-west-restaurant.aspx

Parking Details:
Off street parking as well as several public lots, including Mallory Square.

Executive Chef:
Scott Maurer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hot Tin Roof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (52)
Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Scenic View (36)
Special Occasion (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Tapas (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Exceptional location for a terrific meal and sunset watch.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The only complaint I have is that we chose an outdoor table and unfortunately, the overhead fan did not work and there was no breeze. Everything else was awesome

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food and beautiful for the sunset . Time it right or it gets really hot outside on the patio. Once the sun starts to set the place is perfect

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

As always, or food and service was over for Hot Tin Roof! Yesterday, the menu had a lot of new choices, plenty of choices for my gluten-free friend, our waiter, his name started with an O sorry I can't remember it, was the best ever. He was on top of my group of 10 for every need. Hot Tin Roof never disappoints but our visit yesterday was the best yet. We live here in Key West and it's always a go to place for my friends and my visitors. Bravo!

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance most of all. Only negative was the competing music of restaurant, Sunset Pier bar below, and Mallory Square to the south side.
Service good, food good. Key Lime pie was one of the best I've had. Would recommend a visit for upscale dining while visiting Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This place just misses being verg good. The view is the reason to go there. The service(all by non-Americans) is so-so, and the food is below expectations and price point. Sorry.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Only complaint, my Lobster over cooked, dry and tuff to chew. Especially after being specific when ordering. $40 dish. Disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was overpriced for quality. Would rather good to 9-1-5 similarly priced food but way better quality and tasting food. Not impressed at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service was awesome and food was amazing and the staff was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 17, 2017

More appearance than substance. Overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Got their NY Strip special...Was excellent, melt in your mouth tender. The staff was excellent, and we were never looking for our server when we needed something. Definitely recommend them. Will return next time we are in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful spot. Loved our waiter, Mike. Delicious food on same level as Latitudes. Go there!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Best meal out had in a long time. Shared a few apps. Food was awesome. Service was impeccable. View was amazing. You absolutely must go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Everything was good but please do something about the (live) music !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Everything was delicious and our server Ellie was one of the best we have have ever had. Her recommendations, engagement, and service we all spot on and added to our experience turning it from good to great. Highly recommend a 715pm reservation outside so you can witness the majestic Key West sunset. Absolutely, all in one of the great dining experiences.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went to The Hot Tin Roof for our anniversary dinner. Reception to waiter was very professional and friendly. We enjoyed the cuisine and atmosphere. Very clean and classy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wet nice place! Food was outstanding.host and waitstaff was very attentive!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

I was a little disappointed! I knew it was in a popular spot on the beach but wasn't able to see the beach from our table. Very expensive condidering the portion size! Would definitely choose another restaurant for an important event in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

My clients came back raving about the restaurant and the food and service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our monthly dinner group chose to do a brunch date versus dinner. Normally we meet for dinner but this month I suggested brunch at my favorite place for brunch. I and the entire group were not disappointed and it was said by far the best place we've been so far! Yea! Jessica our Hostess was super in welcoming everyone and she stopped by our table to make sure everything was going well. Monique behind the bar was excellent(friendly and warm)! The support staff were very attentive making sure water and drinks were bountiful. Thank you to everyone who made this outing special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was mediocre considering what you pay. The service was okay but the view is lovely. That being said we won't be going back. You can get better tasting food for a better price basically anywhere else in Key West. Do yourself a favor and just go somewhere else, your wallet will thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great service. Good food. We sat outside but didn't have a great view of the ocean where we were seated. Lobster Mac & Cheese was really good, very filling. Dessert and drinks were amazing! Priced reasonably!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Best meal we've had in Key West. Wait staff was attentive without being bothersome. Best paella I've ever had. Absolute deliciousness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food was amazing. Service very attentive with good recommendations

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had 7 pm reservations and immediately when we arrived our table was ready. We sat outside with a perfect sunset view. We ordered minutos which were really good. We ordered the Seafood Paella which was fabulous. The rice was cooked to perfection and seafood was juicy and tender. Our waiter Mike was very attentive and provided exceptional service. For dessert we had the special, banana fritters with almond ice cream and caramel - it was a perfect ending to an overall excellent experience. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was wonderful the location was very key west with the view , I would recommend this place to everyone the food is well worth the money take your family your wife your girlfriend and visit Hot Tin Roof

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Perfection! Amazing food and views, and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was excellent....service was excellent .... Manager on the other hand, was worthless. We selected and outside table so we could watch the sunset in Key West. As the sun started it's descent, a few patrons from inside the restaurant came out to take some pictures. Now...if they had taken a picture and left, that would've been fine...but this went on for far too long. We asked to speak to the manager and he came out to listen to our issue. We explained that there was too big a gap between two tables and that we had specifically selected this table to view the sunset and that experience was ruined. The manager apologized and did NOTHING!..we were incredulous. Due to the incompetence of the manager on duty, we cannot and will not recommend this establishment.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Always a special place, great food and service. The view is spectacular and they are always accommodating. We always close Hemingway Days with dinner on Sunday. Always one of the highlights of the trip, a very high recommendation.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was not good at all. I tried the brussel sprouts and the crispy pork belly. These dishes were highly recommended and so was the restaurant by the concierge. My husband and I did not enjoy anything we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

A wonderful treat, completely worth the price. Amazing staff!

Tags: Tapas, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The brunch was amazing and the value for what you got was top notch. Only complaint is that they ran out of oysters. I was looking forward to many raw oysters, but were only
Allowed 2. Outside of the oysters running out, the mimosas, bloody Mary's, and food were outstanding. I plan on having Sunday brunch here the next time I visit key west.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent view, delicious food, superior service. They were most accommodating of our group of eight, for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great service ,food was very good.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Delicious food (a bit pricey, but worth it for the ambiance). We didn't luck out in seeing an excellent sunset due to many clouds, but I can only imagine that it would have been a perfect view!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was our anniversary dinner and it was awful. The food was gross. The lobster bisque was a joke. The grouper was nasty. The drinks okay but pricey. We didn't have great service. Our reservation was at 7:00 and it was extremely hot and the sun was frying us. No one offered a solution to accommodate us. We had to take one of the half curtains which will not pull closed and stretch it across our table and anchor it down with a cell phone. This was our only solution to get the bright, hot sun out of our faces. We attempted to watch the sunset but our view was obstructed by a large bush and a plastic storage container. Sunset Pier is next to the Hot Tin Roof and the loud live music from there overpowered the soft background music at the restaurant. The fans outside should have been on high. Overall it was a miserable experience and we couldn't get out of there fast enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Awesome food, service and ambiance
Highly recommendable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great view, great food, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

did not enjoy the food (dinner) as much I did at other restaurants on the island. Tuna fish tacos were good.... our other items were average. I saw high ratings on trip advisor, but now I think they were pretty much mainly for the views and not so much the food. Prices are not worth the food. It maybe the price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Hot Tin Roof. Mike was a great server; very attentive and made it a fun experience. I would highly recommend this place for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.