About Hot Tin Roof

0 Duval Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people.

It's a mélange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.

ATTENTION: Please advise that outside seating is limited and in very high demand. Requesting outside seating in advance is no way a guarantee, but we will do our best at accommodating requests at the door on a first come first serve basis. Generally reservations made in within the first 1/ 2 hour of opening time and 2 hours after opening time will have the best opportunity of outdoor seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin / Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily:
Monday through Saturday 7:30am - 11:30pm
Sunday 7:30pm - 11:00am

Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 1:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-7701

Website:
http://www.oceankey.com/

Parking Details:
Off street parking as well as several public lots, including Mallory Square.

Executive Chef:
Scott Maurer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hot Tin Roof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (65)
Scenic View (56)
Romantic (47)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Tapas (15)
People Watching (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fun (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Casual (11)
Cozy (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Historic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined a day ago

Had friends visiting and they wanted to sit on the water so we made a reservation and requested a table outside if possible. When we arrived, none were available and the wait time was unknown. We weren't in a hurry so we had a drink at the outdoor bar table and very quickly were seated at a dining table. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food. We had ordered two rounds of many appetizers to share and they were all delicious. The server was prompt and professional and my guests were pleased with the choice of venues. Thanks for a great night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined a day ago

We wanted to experience the ultimate Key West sunset and HTR did not disappoint. Our server Ellie was prompt in greeting us and her recommendations were spot on! She was also extremely polite and her use of "My pleasure" instead of "no problem" was refreshing. Thank you for making our first visit to Key West so memorable.

Oh yes, the food was spectacular too! And you should not miss out on the Key Lime Pie. The presentation alone was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our second visit to this restaurant. My husband and I chose to share several small plates and we were not disappointed. Our waiter went above and beyond to make sure everything was to our likening. Oleg even gave us time to make sure we were able to take pictures of the sunset before our plates were served. Would definitely recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waitress was amazing. She was a total joy and helpful. The disappointment was with a reservation we didn't have a table with a view as requested.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice place great for sunset viewing! Worth the visit food is wonderful! Service is also a plus! Try their martini's! Will definitely return!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

The service is incredible. The ambiance and sunset view are to die for & the food almost matches those two attributes Try it you'll like it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I were in Key West for vacation and I wanted to go somewhere very nice on our last night. All of the websites listed Hot Tin Roof as one of the best locations in Key West. It was recommended we sit outside, if possible. When we arrived we were told there were no outdoor seats available but it wouldn't be a very long wait to get one. We decided to wait and the outdoor view was extraordinary even though the sun had already set. The views of the water were simply outstanding and we watched many different types of vessels travel through.

The choice of a meal was difficult as there are many different things on the menu. I chose a seafood paella and my wife chose the lamb chops. Mine tasted very good but the heat level was not consistent between some of the fish and the rice. Had it been consistent I would have given it a five star rating. My wife was very pleased with her meal. For dessert we had key lime pie which was the best we had tasted anywhere in Key West. The service was difficult to rate because if their goal was to allow a very leisurely dinner then they succeeded. However, they were a bit slow in taking the order and bringing the check.

Overall, I hate to nitpick but when going to a five-star restaurant I expect everything to be just right. Nevertheless, I highly recommend Hot Tin Roof. With his many choices of excellent restaurants in Key West this does stand out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

10th Anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Best meal we had in Key West! Great food and fantastic service.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome from start to finish - wonderful service, a view that can't be beat ANYWHERE !!!!! Thank you for a wonderful memory

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is excellent!! We are local to Key West and still make it point to come to Hot Tin Roof at least once a month for dinner!! The servers are very professional. The dinning area is a little on the dark side until your eyes adjust, but still creates a very intimate atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sheila, the bartender, was so great! So was our waitress, she was Romani with short hair, very sweet and had great suggestions on food The Tin Tini is my favorite drink by far and the Tuna Tacos are fabulous. . Be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, People Watching, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful place. Will definitely eat here next trip. We were celebrating a birthday and they were so accommodating. Great service & personal. Would definitely recommend it. A super nice job by Ellie R our server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We dine out 3-4 times per week, and this was the oddest dinner I have ever experienced. We were greeted in the most dismissive manner, getting a drink took forever, and then when the waiter finally took our order, the manager let us know the kitchen had closed- he (generously) offered to comp us some lobster tails, which was very nice, but they arrived overcooked and rubbery.... it was just a bad night all-around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A great place for a leisurely dinner. Atmosphere was great. Food was delicious and our server Michael was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The waiter disappeared for a very long time. We thought he was sick or left. Other employees came over to fill water glasses but had no idea where the waiter was.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I made reservations for Valentines Day. A few days before, they called to confirm our reservation and then said it was a holiday fixed menu for $69 per person. I was Ok with that, but when we were there and got our food, it was definitely overpriced for what they served. And the food was just OK.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This place is fantastic. We were able to get there early and have a table on the patio. We watched the sunset. Great drinks, great food, great service. Would come here again for a special occasion in a heartbeat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent Food! We are so glad we chose this restaurant. It is in a great location.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tapas, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Ehh... it was just ok - food was not bad but very corporate. It didn't feel particularly tropical or seasonal. I suspect that if we had been sitting on the porch overlooking the water instead of in a booth (desperately in need of reupholstering- dirty yuck) we would have enjoyed the experience more. Expensive hotel food competently prepared and served if thats what you're after. We are locals and probably won't return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The Hot Tin Roof is the best restaurant in Key West. Our lovely waitress Anca was absolutely great and our meals were delicious. We also had the pleasure to meet with the chef (who is extremely nice) and the sous-chef (who came to see us at our table!!). We can wait to come back in the Keys and visit our new favorite restaurant ever!

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing food - paella amazing - totally authentic, great portions and attentive wait staff

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ate at Hot Tin Roof our last night in Key West, and it was a wonderful way to cap off a great vacation! Our food (lobster bisque, Pink Shrimp with pasta and Steamed Lobster) were all delicious. We had a nice table inside, but felt like outside as we were next to an open window. The restaurant is dark, but the menus are lit, so no trouble. Service was comfortably slow, meaning we never felt rushed. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place for a special meal and a top spot for the sunset.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Had the good luck to eat here while visiting Key West with friends last week. We also were lucky enough to get a table outside in time to see the sunset. What a pleasure. The service were without fault in any way. Our server was attentive and helpful. The choices on the menu were so tempting it was difficult to decide. We all love our various meals, and shared a key lime pie slice, which was simply delicious! Make reservations far in advance, this place gets busy, you won't regret it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our first time there......

We've already made a reservation to return !!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We went to see the amazing Key West sunset. The restaurant offers great views, outdoor and indoor dining. The food is wonderful and outstanding service. They present you with backlit menus so you can read them in their romantic ambience. Wine list is outstanding. I can't wait to go back when I visitvKey Westbagain.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The wife said the paella was delicious. I had steak was good as well. Good place for date night, steps away from the pier with live music.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It was a pleasant night and we would have preferred to eat outside. Unfortunately, the music from the bar was so loud that we could not talk to each other so we decided to eat inside instead. Food was good but we were disappointed that no bread was served with the meal and we could not get decaf coffee at the end of dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 7, 2017

My husband and I were very pleased with the service and our dinner and have recommended it to others.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I took my wife to HTR for the first time 2/2/17. We sat outside on the larger outdoor deck. Our waiter Oleg was fantastic. Made great recommendations and just provided outstanding attentive service. Good beer and wine choices. We watched the sunset and passing cruise ships and didn't want to leave. We returned for our last night in Key West on 2/6/17 and the large deck was booked so we sat on the side deck and were entertained by the music on Sunset Pier below us just a few hundred feet away (a little noisy but still acceptable). The server was nowhere near as good but the food was again great. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

What a great meal. We coined this Island Fusion! We sampled a number of dishes. Ciabatta bread,Spicy Tuna Tacos, Al Ajillo Shrimp,Ceviche, and a Pan Roasted Grouper. Sharing a nice bottle of Sancerre complimented this great meal. Kudos to exec chef Scott Maurer. He has done a terrific job. This is a fine menu deserving of a very appreciative review. I would recommend this as one of if not the finest meal we had on the island.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Surprisingly careless management, waiters not knowledgeable nor professional. Mediocre food, nothing special. They have the view going for them though.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lousy experience!! Hot Tin Roof did not have our reservation!! I sent Open Table an email asking what happened. No response to date. We refused to eat there, and unless I get a satisfactory response I will not be using Open Table again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Vacation. Romantic date with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was extremely good! Service was over the top. Ellie was not only extremely friendly and welcoming, but she had a good command of the menu and made excellent recommendations. I would recommend this restaurant and also Ellie for her outstanding service to anyone. The sunset wasn't too shabby either :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Very disappointed in the food. Had seafood paella. The clams and mussels were gritty with sand (i.e. not adequately rinsed). Kale & Romain Caesar salad was average.

They gave us a complimentary Key Lime Pie that was better than most others. Best thing I had there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Wow, what a dinner! Not rushed, excellent service! The pink shrimp is excellent. The grouper and brussel sprouts were superb! The coffee and dessert was Divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Go here for the sunset and it has a pretty good wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My wife and I ate outside to enjoy the spectacular sunset during our meal. The service was superb and the food came out looking fantastic. And it was very good. We had an excellent dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Wonderful waterfront setting in Key West. Great for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My friends were visiting and we decided to go to Sunday Brunch after hearing from so many people how great it was. Well, I'm sorry I didn't get their sooner! Brunch was amazing!! One thing just better than the next! We will be going back again and again! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our upteenth visit to HTR. Wonderful as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was very good. Service was appropriately attentive. Enjoyed our dinner very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Amazing drinks and food! One of my new favs in Key West!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Intriguing place. Very dark atmosphere but menus are backlit when you open them, so it is rather cool. Windows are open so outside music comes in which can be good or bad. All in all I liked it and would go again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Loved everything about it! Best restaurant visited in Key West.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This gets an A+ in my books. Food, service, decor is top notch. Ellie was a professional server. The only thing is that the lighting was very dim to a point that you couldn't recognize the food on your plate. I will return at some point.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Loved it!!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.