Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Hostaria

Here at Hostaria distinct aromas bring back sweet memories of Sunday gatherings when tables were set by our grand-mothers. These women were proud and happy to welcome their children and grand-children to share not only memorable meals, but more importantly to celebrate life and the pleasures of being together!

Hostaria is synonymous with the comfort of home; a place where well-being reigns and the soul is filled with nostalgia for those happy days…

The kitchen is our workshop… our source of creativity, where our staff /chefs gather(s) regularly to share their ideas, their gastronomical experiences and their well-kept family recipes.

Meanwhile, our dining room is a melting pot of past and present culinary experiences. Here warm Italian hospitality is inherent… this is our formula, this is who we are… this is Hostaria!

236, rue St-Zotique E
Montréal, QC H2S 1L1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch : Thursday & Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner : Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Alma

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 273-5776

Website:
http://www.hostaria.ca/

Parking Details:
Valet parking 8$. Notre voiturier trouvera du stationement pour vous à un frais de 8$. Nous n'avons pas de stationement.

Public Transit:
Metro Beaubien, Metro De Castelneau, Metro Jean Talon

Executive Chef:
Nicola Guidi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Hostaria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (12)
Special Occasion (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
See All
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Ce fut très agréable pour tout mes invités (7)
Accueil chaleureux, service de valet efficace, très bonne attitude et la n très bon rapport qualité prix. Nous avions des demandes spéciales ( chaise roulante /espaces adaptés?) mais l'attitude et la qualité du service ont été à la hauteur.
Belle expérience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Hostaria is a hidden gem. The service was great, the food was terrific, and there is even valet parking for people who insist on taking the car. What I really appreciated was the fact that the music was not too loud. We were five at our table and had no trouble hearing each other speak over the music. The eggplant parm was sublime, the carpaccio was remarkably good and the friendly attention from the waiters contributed to the fun. And the prices were very reasonable. I was surprised when I saw my bill: three appetizers, dessert, two glasses of wine and a 20% tip, all for under $100! It's definitely worth venturing off the beaten path to find this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I haven't had a great Italian meal like that in a very long time. Every dish, every bite was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Je m'attendais à mieux. On m'a fait attendre à l'entrée un peux trop longtemps alors que la table était prète, le service était très expéditif, les tables sont rapprochées et le serveur me bousculait à chaque fois qu'il venait dans notre section.
Les repas étaient correcte sans plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Tout était délicieux!! Et tout avait l'air bon sur le menu...difficile de choisir!
Le service a été déficient par contre. 40 min avant qu'on prenne notre commande.. quelques oublis aussi..
Mais nous y retournerons pour goûter d'autre plats, trop bon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nous avons été très bien servis amicalement et la nourriture italienne typique

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Montreal. We make it a priority whenever whenever we visit Montreal. Never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Bravo to Miro and Sandra! Great service, amazing food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Le meilleur resto Italien à Montréal! Entreprise familiale de plusieurs générations, ingrédients de première classe. Bravo!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 7, 2017

très bel accueil avec un service attentif et souriant.
la nourriture est présentée avec originalité de goûts , de couleurs et textures.
nous étions 4 personnes et avons vraiment ce restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Trop cher
Belle carte vin
Beau menu surtout les entrées
Mais pates ordinaires
Manque de sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 27, 2017

iTS A SMALL RESTAURANT AND IT IS KEPT VERY CLEAN. iT IS LOUD BECAUSE OF THE SIZE
AND VERY TIGHT SITTING. THE SERVICE IS EXCELLENT. A NICE SELECTION ON THE MENU

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Belle carte de vins, desserts savoureux mais décor sans personnalité, dépassé et surtout pâtes noyées dans l'huile... par ailleurs le service est impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Get a an authentic taste of Italy and Italian family hospitality in a modernized setting. Cooked to perfection without compromising on the original flavors. Feels like a teleportation to Milano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great restaurant, we really enjoyed it. The fish was very good. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Restaurant très bien situé dans la petite Italie, belle atmosphère et présentation des plats impeccable. Nous y étions pour le repas du midi. J'aurais souhaité y voir quelques plats en plus à la table du midi. Je crois aussi que le dessert devrait être inclus à la table du midi. J'ajouterais aussi quelques choix de bouteilles de vin à un prix un peu plus modéré.
Le jour de notre visite, il n'y avait pratiquement personne à part nous et un autre couple présent dans le resto. Je crois que le prix actuel des plats doit en décourager quelques uns d'autant plus que nous sommes dans un quartier résidentiel de la petite Italie.
Très belle expérience et les plats étaient tous impeccables et j'y retournerais très certainement mais pas aussi souvent que j'aurais souhaité à cause des prix.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Une des tres bonne table italienne de Montreal accueil comme en famille. On y retourne régulièrement et jamais déçu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Duck cavatelli was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Took family for meal before a show and everything was outstanding. I have been to Hostaria several times and it's my go to Italian place. One caution though is to get waiters to explain how dishes are prepared and served. I have been surprised a couple of times, not that it was bad, just different from expected. Great Italian wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Super,convivial,attentionné, appétissant et savoureux!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Un repas absolument délicieux! Le service est très attentionné. Les pâtes sont faites maison, les saveurs sont très bien agencées. Nous y retournerons surement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

FANTASTIC FOOD AND STAFF! WE STUCK TO THE SIMPLER DISHES LIKE BURRATTA, PROSCIUTTIO, TOMATOES, PASTAS AND SALADS. ALL WAS AMAZING, FRESH... STAFF WERE AWESOME!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellente cuisine. Très bonnes suggestions de vins. Personnel chaleureux.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service d'une qualité incroyable et infiniment sympathique. Ingrédients d'excellente qualité et présentation soignée. Un très beau et très bon menu. Un bel endroit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is one of our favorite Italian restaurants. one of the few restaurants where it is actually possible to have a conversation . Excellent cuisine, service irreproachable.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Parfois, la nourriture italienne authentique "gets old" pas ici. Service parfait, autheticité pas old school

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Normalement, j'émets une critique constructive après une deuxième visite au minimum mais là... Pour l'heure, je peux dire que l'entrée de Carpaccio de bœuf n'était pas à la hauteur pour deux raisons: les tranches devraient être coupées finement et ne devraient pas littéralement "tremper" dans une huile... Cette façon de procéder enlève complètement toute la saveur du carpaccio qui ne doit qu'être rehaussé par un filet d'une vinaigrette maison et copeaux de parmigiano reggiano (ou similaire). Aussi, les pâtes gagneraient en richesse et splendeur si elles étaient plus moelleuses plutôt que sèches..., surtout que l'on parle de Pappardelle au 'ragoût' de sanglier donc, avec un minimum de sauce!

J'avais minutieusement choisi cet endroit compte tenu que mon invité -et futur client- était friand de cuisine italienne et que les critiques semblaient positives. Il faudra que l'on me réinvite si je veux me réconcilier avec cet endroit...

Le personnel est toutefois formidable..., et même le représentant assigné au stationnement!

Bon épanouissement à toute l'équipe malgré tout!

Johane Gervais
Médiatrice et Créatrice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Service impeccable, cuisine raffinée.
Un seul bémol, le prix des vins est assez salé. Plus de vins à un prix abordable serait apprécié.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Toujours très heureux de mes repas chez Hostaria le meilleur de la cuisine italienne à montreal .
Un accueil et une hospitalité sans pareil

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Service was great, appetizers were delicious (squid and buratta), main was very dry (boar)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A very enjoyable 2nd time experience

Andreas, the maître d'hôtes, remembered our names and our likes and was helpful with suggestions. We were there with family and could share many dishes. The flash-fried artichokes were amazing, the eggplant parmesan very suave, the tomato sauce didn't overcome the taste of the eggplant. We tried the fish cooked in salt: very tender and delicate. We couldn't resist the suckling pig. The flourless cake, the lemon tart, the ricotta and pear cake: all were very good. This is now our favourite italian restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nous avons entendu parler de ce restaurant par des amis qui apprécient la bonne cuisine italienne et notre repas fut à la hauteur de nos attentes. Nous avons tellement aimé notre soirée que nous avons déjà retenu une table pour le début de novembre.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Undoubtedly one the best Italian restaurants in Montreal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I know that restaurant for 4 years already. The last time I have been there I find the food not so great then the previous time. Last Saturday it wasn't better.

Unfortunately, I won't return it. They have better tasty food in the italien district. Dommage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Première visite chez Hostaria et assurément pas la dernière. Dans chaque plat, on sent l'amour de la nourriture, la qualité des ingrédients, le savoir-faire. Et le service courtois et convivial nous laisse un petit goût de revenez-y! A+ pour les calmars farcis.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fine traditional Italian food in a very crowded space. Service is good but unavoidably hassled by the crowding and noise. Come here to eat, but this is not a tremendously romantic night out.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were visiting from New York and chose this restaurant by looking on the Web for a good Italian restaurant. The write up , reviews, pictures were all inviting and the price was reasonable. Though we stayed near the Old city, we thought the drive to Hostaria would be worth it. It did not disappoint! The atmosphere is charming, casual but elegant with a modern bar and wine storage area. The waiter was appropriately attentive and friendly. The food was excellent. When we finished dinner, we asked for a cab to be called and they were gracious about arranging that. Too bad this restaurant is not near my home as it easily would become one of my favorites!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge. Easy to get to with mass transit. Located in Little Italy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Service was outstanding. Food was mixed. Some dishes were excellent (veal milanese/pasta), some dishes were average (appetizers)or mediocre (fish). Even though food quality was a bit uneven, this was a fun evening. I would certainly recommend to other travelers to Montreal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.