About Hostaria

236, rue St-Zotique E
Montréal, QC H2S 1L1
View Larger Map

Here at Hostaria distinct aromas bring back sweet memories of Sunday gatherings when tables were set by our grand-mothers. These women were proud and happy to welcome their children and grand-children to share not only memorable meals, but more importantly to celebrate life and the pleasures of being together!

Hostaria is synonymous with the comfort of home; a place where well-being reigns and the soul is filled with nostalgia for those happy days…

The kitchen is our workshop… our source of creativity, where our staff /chefs gather(s) regularly to share their ideas, their gastronomical experiences and their well-kept family recipes.

Meanwhile, our dining room is a melting pot of past and present culinary experiences. Here warm Italian hospitality is inherent… this is our formula, this is who we are… this is Hostaria!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch : Thursday & Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner : Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Alma

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 273-5776

Website:
http://www.hostaria.ca/

Parking Details:
Valet parking 8$. Notre voiturier trouvera du stationement pour vous à un frais de 8$. Nous n'avons pas de stationement.

Public Transit:
Metro Beaubien, Metro De Castelneau, Metro Jean Talon

Executive Chef:
Nicola Guidi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pappardelle with Boar Ragu - Hostaria, Montréal, QC
  • Rack Of Veal - Hostaria, Montréal, QC
  • Burrata - Hostaria, Montréal, QC
  • Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle - Hostaria, Montréal, QC
Pappardelle with Boar Ragu - Hostaria, Montréal, QC
Rack Of Veal - Hostaria, Montréal, QC
Burrata - Hostaria, Montréal, QC
Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle - Hostaria, Montréal, QC

Hostaria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
Special Occasion
Montreal / Quebec
Italian
Montreal / Quebec
4 More
Best Service
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
Italian
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (12)
See All
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Toujours très heureux de mes repas chez ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Toujours très heureux de mes repas chez Hostaria le meilleur de la cuisine italienne à montreal .

Un accueil et une hospitalité sans pareil

Tags: Repas d’affaires, Cuisine créative
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, appetizers were delic ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service was great, appetizers were delicious (squid and buratta), main was very dry (boar)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

A very enjoyable 2nd time experience A ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A very enjoyable 2nd time experience

Andreas, the maître d'hôtes, remembered our names and our likes and was helpful with suggestions. We were there with family and could share many dishes. The flash-fried artichokes were amazing, the eggplant parmesan very suave, the tomato sauce didn't overcome the taste of the eggplant. We tried the fish cooked in salt: very tender and delicate. We couldn't resist the suckling pig. The flourless cake, the lemon tart, the ricotta and pear cake: all were very good. This is now our favourite italian restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nous avons entendu parler de ce restaura ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nous avons entendu parler de ce restaurant par des amis qui apprécient la bonne cuisine italienne et notre repas fut à la hauteur de nos attentes. Nous avons tellement aimé notre soirée que nous avons déjà retenu une table pour le début de novembre.

Tags: Plats réconfortants, Ingrédients locaux, Une carte des vins remarquable, Authentique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Undoubtedly one the best Italian restaur ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Undoubtedly one the best Italian restaurants in Montreal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Première visite chez Hostaria et assurém ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Première visite chez Hostaria et assurément pas la dernière. Dans chaque plat, on sent l'amour de la nourriture, la qualité des ingrédients, le savoir-faire. Et le service courtois et convivial nous laisse un petit goût de revenez-y! A+ pour les calmars farcis.

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Romantique, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Décontracté, Idéal pour les fêtes, Plats réconfortants, Une carte des vins remarquable, Authentique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I know that restaurant for 4 years alrea ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I know that restaurant for 4 years already. The last time I have been there I find the food not so great then the previous time. Last Saturday it wasn't better.

Unfortunately, I won't return it. They have better tasty food in the italien district. Dommage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fine traditional Italian food in a very ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fine traditional Italian food in a very crowded space. Service is good but unavoidably hassled by the crowding and noise. Come here to eat, but this is not a tremendously romantic night out.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were visiting from New York and chos ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were visiting from New York and chose this restaurant by looking on the Web for a good Italian restaurant. The write up , reviews, pictures were all inviting and the price was reasonable. Though we stayed near the Old city, we thought the drive to Hostaria would be worth it. It did not disappoint! The atmosphere is charming, casual but elegant with a modern bar and wine storage area. The waiter was appropriately attentive and friendly. The food was excellent. When we finished dinner, we asked for a cab to be called and they were gracious about arranging that. Too bad this restaurant is not near my home as it easily would become one of my favorites!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Restaurant was recommended by our hotel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge. Easy to get to with mass transit. Located in Little Italy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Service was outstanding. Food was mixed. Some dishes were excellent (veal milanese/pasta), some dishes were average (appetizers)or mediocre (fish). Even though food quality was a bit uneven, this was a fun evening. I would certainly recommend to other travelers to Montreal.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious as always!

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hostaria est à mon avis un des meilleurs ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Hostaria est à mon avis un des meilleurs restaurants italiens de Montréal

Tags: Il en vaut le détour, Une valeur sans pareille
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a gastronomical event. Succulent ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was a gastronomical event. Succulent food, great service, happy smiling waiters. Always feel good to be there. Thnx Fred for the Frappato bottle.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here several times and always ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I've been here several times and always have a great meal and experience. When I think about a restaurant that I'd like to introduce a friend to, Hostaria comes to mind. The staff are friendly, helpful, and have good reason to be proud of the service and quality of food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went to Hostaria for my anniversary wi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went to Hostaria for my anniversary with my boyfriend. What was supposed to be a romantic tête à tête, ended up in a silent encounter as we kept quiet and smiled at every bite. We were completely blown away by the food. This wasn't a dinner but an experience. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! One of the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent! One of the best restaurant in town, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FELT LIKE A REAL ITALIAN MAMA WAS IN THE ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

FELT LIKE A REAL ITALIAN MAMA WAS IN THE KITCHEN DOING HER MAGIC!!!

This restaurant in Little Italy was a recommendation and we can honestly say it was some of the best Italian food we had in a long time, real authentic classic goodies.

Delicately fried fresh artichokes, stuffed calamari, suckling pig and tagliatelli with lamb ragu and fresh artichokes. Yumme! Portions were very good (we even asked for a doggy bag for the suckling pig leftovers - no way we were going to leave this behind) . Dessert was a shared lemon pie, also close to perfection. Wine was a very interesting organic selection thanks to Andreas' expert advice. And service was really good. Hostaria is definitely on our top restaurant list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely Delicious! Impeccable, perso ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Absolutely Delicious! Impeccable, personal service! As foodies we must note it was one of the very best meals we enjoyed in Montreal.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you have never been to Italy before, ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 13, 2016

If you have never been to Italy before, this is the closest thing to it. Must go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta dishes are a must. The sauces ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The pasta dishes are a must. The sauces are amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE restaurant is nice the service is ve ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 10, 2016

THE restaurant is nice the service is very good and the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our second visit to Hostaria whi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is our second visit to Hostaria while visiting Montreal from the states. We loved it so much the first time that we wanted to go back on this trio even though there are so many great restaurants on Montreal. Hostaria did not disappoint. Their food is fresh pure and seasonal and not overdone like so many Italian restaurants. It is true Italian eating (this is coming from a first generation Italian who grew up in the Italian importing business and travels to Italy frequently). The service is friendly yet attentive and the staff is very gracious as to changes to splitting dishes, etc. I recommend Hostaria without reservation and will return again on my next trip to Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quantities were not abundant. Food was a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Quantities were not abundant. Food was amazing service good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Un resto sympathique pour un bon repas e ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Un resto sympathique pour un bon repas entre amis. Cuisine de qualité.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As an Italian customer, I highly recomme ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 27, 2016

As an Italian customer, I highly recommend Hostaria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing and so was the service. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was amazing and so was the service. The waiters made very good suggestions when we were unsure about to get. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rien à redire. Le plat principal était ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Rien à redire.

Le plat principal était le lapin rôti. Il était excellent.

Le serveur nous a proposé un excellent vin.

Dommage que Open Table soit en anglais...seulement

Tags: Idéal pour le repas du midi, ldéal pour manger en plein air, Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nous sommes toujours aussi heureux après ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nous sommes toujours aussi heureux après un repas chez Hostaria. L'accueil est parfait, le service aussi et la cuisine nous fait nous sentir italiens. Nous y allons souvent avec les enfants qui s'y sentent bienvenus.

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, ldéal pour manger en plein air, Délicieux et bons pour les enfants, La perle du quartier, Une carte des vins remarquable, Romantique, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best italian food out of Italy I have ha ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best italian food out of Italy I have had in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Un des meilleurs restaurant italiens à m ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Un des meilleurs restaurant italiens à mon avis! Service et nourriture remarquables! Produits frais et carte des vins impeccables.

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une carte des vins remarquable, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were kept twenty minutes at the door ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were kept twenty minutes at the door with no apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We had a wonderful meal from start to fi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a wonderful meal from start to finish. The octopus carpaccio was excellent as was the eggplant Parmesan. We had a very personable attentive waiter. It was a very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service were impeccable

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food and service were impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again !

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Difficile de faire mieux !

Le vendredi est la journée du chevreau, à ne pas manquer ou à découvrir , il suffit de le mentionner quand on fait notre réservation .

Une très belle soirée, nous avons mangé comme des rois

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a charcuterie plate for starters. An ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Had a charcuterie plate for starters. An Italian organic red wine to pair. Eggplant parmesan square after that. We shared the bison and it was cooked to perfection. Some short espressos to finish it off. Waiters were delightful, we were greeted kindly upon entering and even had a little friendly chat with Andreas upon leaving. The restaurant was energetic and it reminded me of dining in Italy. It was a memorable evening and I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good, service was excell ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was really good, service was excellent , people working are passionate about what they do and what they have to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nous sommes allés plus d'une fois à ce r ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Nous sommes allés plus d'une fois à ce restaurant. Nous avons constaté que le service est inégal. Une fois servi, notre serveur n'est pas venu nous voir afin de vérifier si tout allais. De plus, nous avons attendu entre 5 et 10 minutes pour recevoir notre café. Notre repas était bon par contre, encore une fois, ce n'est pas constant. Un des repas de pâtes avait des morceaux de gras non comestibles. Ce qui ne devrait pas arriver dans un restaurant si bien côté. Il reste que les aliments sont de qualités est frais.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Fried artichokes were delicious as was m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Fried artichokes were delicious as was my veal milanese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Dernière fois en anglais. Traduisez votr ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Dernière fois en anglais.

Traduisez votre site SVP

Merci

Tags: Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entrées très bonnes mais plats de pâtes ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Entrées très bonnes mais plats de pâtes très moyens. Service correct, sans plus. Je n'y retournerais pas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.