Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Hostaria

Here at Hostaria distinct aromas bring back sweet memories of Sunday gatherings when tables were set by our grand-mothers. These women were proud and happy to welcome their children and grand-children to share not only memorable meals, but more importantly to celebrate life and the pleasures of being together!

Hostaria is synonymous with the comfort of home; a place where well-being reigns and the soul is filled with nostalgia for those happy days…

The kitchen is our workshop… our source of creativity, where our staff /chefs gather(s) regularly to share their ideas, their gastronomical experiences and their well-kept family recipes.

Meanwhile, our dining room is a melting pot of past and present culinary experiences. Here warm Italian hospitality is inherent… this is our formula, this is who we are… this is Hostaria!

236, rue St-Zotique E
Montréal, QC H2S 1L1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch : Thursday & Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner : Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Alma

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 273-5776

Website:
http://www.hostaria.ca/

Parking Details:
Valet parking 8$. Notre voiturier trouvera du stationement pour vous à un frais de 8$. Nous n'avons pas de stationement.

Public Transit:
Metro Beaubien, Metro De Castelneau, Metro Jean Talon

Executive Chef:
Nicola Guidi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Hostaria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (11)
Cozy (8)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Romantic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Une des tres bonne table italienne de Montreal accueil comme en famille. On y retourne régulièrement et jamais déçu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Duck cavatelli was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Took family for meal before a show and everything was outstanding. I have been to Hostaria several times and it's my go to Italian place. One caution though is to get waiters to explain how dishes are prepared and served. I have been surprised a couple of times, not that it was bad, just different from expected. Great Italian wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Super,convivial,attentionné, appétissant et savoureux!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Un repas absolument délicieux! Le service est très attentionné. Les pâtes sont faites maison, les saveurs sont très bien agencées. Nous y retournerons surement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

FANTASTIC FOOD AND STAFF! WE STUCK TO THE SIMPLER DISHES LIKE BURRATTA, PROSCIUTTIO, TOMATOES, PASTAS AND SALADS. ALL WAS AMAZING, FRESH... STAFF WERE AWESOME!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellente cuisine. Très bonnes suggestions de vins. Personnel chaleureux.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service d'une qualité incroyable et infiniment sympathique. Ingrédients d'excellente qualité et présentation soignée. Un très beau et très bon menu. Un bel endroit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is one of our favorite Italian restaurants. one of the few restaurants where it is actually possible to have a conversation . Excellent cuisine, service irreproachable.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Parfois, la nourriture italienne authentique "gets old" pas ici. Service parfait, autheticité pas old school

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Normalement, j'émets une critique constructive après une deuxième visite au minimum mais là... Pour l'heure, je peux dire que l'entrée de Carpaccio de bœuf n'était pas à la hauteur pour deux raisons: les tranches devraient être coupées finement et ne devraient pas littéralement "tremper" dans une huile... Cette façon de procéder enlève complètement toute la saveur du carpaccio qui ne doit qu'être rehaussé par un filet d'une vinaigrette maison et copeaux de parmigiano reggiano (ou similaire). Aussi, les pâtes gagneraient en richesse et splendeur si elles étaient plus moelleuses plutôt que sèches..., surtout que l'on parle de Pappardelle au 'ragoût' de sanglier donc, avec un minimum de sauce!

J'avais minutieusement choisi cet endroit compte tenu que mon invité -et futur client- était friand de cuisine italienne et que les critiques semblaient positives. Il faudra que l'on me réinvite si je veux me réconcilier avec cet endroit...

Le personnel est toutefois formidable..., et même le représentant assigné au stationnement!

Bon épanouissement à toute l'équipe malgré tout!

Johane Gervais
Médiatrice et Créatrice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Service impeccable, cuisine raffinée.
Un seul bémol, le prix des vins est assez salé. Plus de vins à un prix abordable serait apprécié.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Toujours très heureux de mes repas chez Hostaria le meilleur de la cuisine italienne à montreal .
Un accueil et une hospitalité sans pareil

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service was great, appetizers were delicious (squid and buratta), main was very dry (boar)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A very enjoyable 2nd time experience

Andreas, the maître d'hôtes, remembered our names and our likes and was helpful with suggestions. We were there with family and could share many dishes. The flash-fried artichokes were amazing, the eggplant parmesan very suave, the tomato sauce didn't overcome the taste of the eggplant. We tried the fish cooked in salt: very tender and delicate. We couldn't resist the suckling pig. The flourless cake, the lemon tart, the ricotta and pear cake: all were very good. This is now our favourite italian restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nous avons entendu parler de ce restaurant par des amis qui apprécient la bonne cuisine italienne et notre repas fut à la hauteur de nos attentes. Nous avons tellement aimé notre soirée que nous avons déjà retenu une table pour le début de novembre.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Undoubtedly one the best Italian restaurants in Montreal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Première visite chez Hostaria et assurément pas la dernière. Dans chaque plat, on sent l'amour de la nourriture, la qualité des ingrédients, le savoir-faire. Et le service courtois et convivial nous laisse un petit goût de revenez-y! A+ pour les calmars farcis.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I know that restaurant for 4 years already. The last time I have been there I find the food not so great then the previous time. Last Saturday it wasn't better.

Unfortunately, I won't return it. They have better tasty food in the italien district. Dommage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fine traditional Italian food in a very crowded space. Service is good but unavoidably hassled by the crowding and noise. Come here to eat, but this is not a tremendously romantic night out.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were visiting from New York and chose this restaurant by looking on the Web for a good Italian restaurant. The write up , reviews, pictures were all inviting and the price was reasonable. Though we stayed near the Old city, we thought the drive to Hostaria would be worth it. It did not disappoint! The atmosphere is charming, casual but elegant with a modern bar and wine storage area. The waiter was appropriately attentive and friendly. The food was excellent. When we finished dinner, we asked for a cab to be called and they were gracious about arranging that. Too bad this restaurant is not near my home as it easily would become one of my favorites!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge. Easy to get to with mass transit. Located in Little Italy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Service was outstanding. Food was mixed. Some dishes were excellent (veal milanese/pasta), some dishes were average (appetizers)or mediocre (fish). Even though food quality was a bit uneven, this was a fun evening. I would certainly recommend to other travelers to Montreal.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Hostaria est à mon avis un des meilleurs restaurants italiens de Montréal

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was a gastronomical event. Succulent food, great service, happy smiling waiters. Always feel good to be there. Thnx Fred for the Frappato bottle.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I've been here several times and always have a great meal and experience. When I think about a restaurant that I'd like to introduce a friend to, Hostaria comes to mind. The staff are friendly, helpful, and have good reason to be proud of the service and quality of food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went to Hostaria for my anniversary with my boyfriend. What was supposed to be a romantic tête à tête, ended up in a silent encounter as we kept quiet and smiled at every bite. We were completely blown away by the food. This wasn't a dinner but an experience. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

FELT LIKE A REAL ITALIAN MAMA WAS IN THE KITCHEN DOING HER MAGIC!!!

This restaurant in Little Italy was a recommendation and we can honestly say it was some of the best Italian food we had in a long time, real authentic classic goodies.
Delicately fried fresh artichokes, stuffed calamari, suckling pig and tagliatelli with lamb ragu and fresh artichokes. Yumme! Portions were very good (we even asked for a doggy bag for the suckling pig leftovers - no way we were going to leave this behind) . Dessert was a shared lemon pie, also close to perfection. Wine was a very interesting organic selection thanks to Andreas' expert advice. And service was really good. Hostaria is definitely on our top restaurant list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent! One of the best restaurant in town, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Absolutely Delicious! Impeccable, personal service! As foodies we must note it was one of the very best meals we enjoyed in Montreal.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 13, 2016

If you have never been to Italy before, this is the closest thing to it. Must go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The pasta dishes are a must. The sauces are amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 10, 2016

THE restaurant is nice the service is very good and the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is our second visit to Hostaria while visiting Montreal from the states. We loved it so much the first time that we wanted to go back on this trio even though there are so many great restaurants on Montreal. Hostaria did not disappoint. Their food is fresh pure and seasonal and not overdone like so many Italian restaurants. It is true Italian eating (this is coming from a first generation Italian who grew up in the Italian importing business and travels to Italy frequently). The service is friendly yet attentive and the staff is very gracious as to changes to splitting dishes, etc. I recommend Hostaria without reservation and will return again on my next trip to Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Quantities were not abundant. Food was amazing service good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Un resto sympathique pour un bon repas entre amis. Cuisine de qualité.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 27, 2016

As an Italian customer, I highly recommend Hostaria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was amazing and so was the service. The waiters made very good suggestions when we were unsure about to get. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Rien à redire.

Le plat principal était le lapin rôti. Il était excellent.

Le serveur nous a proposé un excellent vin.

Dommage que Open Table soit en anglais...seulement

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nous sommes toujours aussi heureux après un repas chez Hostaria. L'accueil est parfait, le service aussi et la cuisine nous fait nous sentir italiens. Nous y allons souvent avec les enfants qui s'y sentent bienvenus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.