Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

About Holland House Bar & Refuge

HHB&R, located in the heart of historic East Nashville, less than a mile from downtown Nashville, has proved a welcome addition to the local culinary scene. Located in the shell of a long-standing neighborhood grocery, Holland House Bar & Refuge is a re-imagined neighborhood haven that sources local and regional ingredients, and offers an expansive menu of cocktails, sipping spirits, and craft beer. Voted Best New Bar 2010 and Best New Restaurant (#2) 2010 by the people of Nashville in the Nashville Scene's Annual Reader's Poll, HHB&R has been embraced as the leader of the city's all-encompassing restaurant experience. With a New American culinary style consistent with the casual and the elegant, and the bar overseen by celebrated mixologists, HHB&R continues to evolve and prosper with an ever-changing roster of cocktails and seasonal ingredients.

935 West Eastland Avenue
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar opens at 4:00 daily. Happy Hour 4-6
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
*This is an 18 and up establishment

Cross Street:
McFerrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-4190

Website:
http://www.hollandhousebarandrefuge.com/

Parking Details:
HHB&R is a corner lot surrounded by parking spaces on three sides. There is additional parking on the residential streets adjacent.

Public Transit:
3 blocks east on Gallatin Road and West Eastland.

Executive Chef:
Hrant Arakelian

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The James Room at Holland House is designed in the style of a 19th century parlor, complete with turn-of-the- 20th century chandeliers and classic and elegant wall treatments. There are no booking fees or additional fees of any kind to reserve the James Room.

Holland House Bar & Refuge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Good for a Date (21)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Bar Seating (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Romantic (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fireplace (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (2)
Live Music (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I would not eat here again. We sat outside which was the best part of the meal as it looked very cozy with the hanging lights. Otherwise, the menu was severely limited, you did not get much bang for the buck, and there was not anything extra special about the food compared to the prices. I had the Springer Mountain chicken and I've never seen a restaurant serve a drumstick and one half of a thigh. Who got the other 1/2 of my thigh? The waiter had no personality and didn't find his way over to us very often. I was so excited to go to this restaurant and I would have to say so very disappointed. Nashville has some of the best restaurants and this one did not make the cut.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was very disappointed with our visit to Holland House. The cocktails were amazing and the patio is nice and cozy. We waited a while for our appetizer, then our entrees were brought out before our appetizer made it out. Someone on the staff brought the appetizer out and said it would be taken off the check of course and asked what else they could do. Since it was my boyfriend's birthday I mentioned that dessert for the birthday would be nice! He said both would be taken care of. We requested that the pickled portion of the appetizer be left off as well, and it was left on. The entrees (Trout and Steak) were good, however we both were not big fans of our side dishes. When we got the final check the appetizer was left on and our waiter argued that they took the dessert off. Overall disappointing experience. When I called in advance of the reservation, they also said they would provide a candle on the birthday dessert, and they of course forgot that too! I wasn't impressed.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We visited Nashville for a family vacation. We went to at least 10 restaurants while here for 5 days, the Holland House was my favorite by far! It was so cute and truly a gem. Outside lighting was beautiful. The menu is kind of small but literally everything on it was unique and amazing! My sister in law and I both had the steak, my hubby and brother in law had the market fish which was trout that particular night. Every last bite was amazing. Awesome proportions and decent prices. The cocktails were out of this world. I had the Pinn Cup which was a mixture of gin, cucumber, mint, and some other juice which was just phenomenal. Located in East Nashville. It is definitely a must !

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Used to love this place. Portions and menu options have been significantly curtailed. Guess they are more focused on the Bar part of the operation now but dining seems to be playing second fiddle.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was a last-minute decision after a long day and an event in the neighborhood earlier in the evening. Our order was taken quickly, but drinks were a long time coming. The spot was full.
Food was good, health-conscious, and a bit overpriced. The drinks, once they arrived, were made well. The noise level (Friday night) was pretty high.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Took my mom here while we were having a girls trip to Nashville. Initial greet took a while but it could be that maybe hostess did not give server the chit. Once she came by she was lovely. Asked for a cheese plate, she asked chef and she accommodated, so wonderful! And great value as well. Perfect cocktails. They know how to actually make the classics. Overall a great time like my previous experiences here. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Holland House is a vintage trendy saloon-style bar surrounded by dining tables on and raised above the bar level. Chandeliers hang throughout evoking a 1920's vibe. Service was pleasant but a bit aloof. More attention was being paid to a nearby bridal shower party. The menu was selectively small, but varied and the appetizers and entrees were a big small but very flavorful. We expected more from the drinks, especially since they present the bartender as a mixologist, but they were a bit bland and the cucumber infused vodka concoction was quite weak. Overall a nice dining experience but not a memorable one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Absolutely superb food and cocktail experience. Snafu with wine order but it got taken care of with class.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere was perfect for a date night with the boyfriend. I'm not a huge drinker but I could get into trouble with the cocktails. I ordered the drink special of the night, a Russian Fizz. So yummy, but strong. The kind of strong that sneaks up on you because you can't taste the alcohol. I'd definitely order it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The drinks are unique and delicious. The food was interesting and good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was good....the serving sizes were way way way too small for the price. I had a $25 "steak" that literally came out in 5 bite size pieces ( it was actually cut into peices). There is no way it was even a 4oz steak. The food was good, the service was good, the drinks were good but the serving sizes were pathetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our first visit and overall we left happy. The staff was some of the most friendly staff I have encountered in a while. The drink menu is incredible. The dinner menu was a bit disappointing, while being unique and flavorful, limited items and many are skimpy on servings especially for the price. We loved the mushroom pate and the chicken dish the most. We will definitely be back most likely for an ambient and friendly happy hour!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was good, though the portions were a bit small. The drinks were great, and not too expensive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I love the ambiance here but the cocktails and food were dissappointing and overpriced. Would come back for a glass of wine or happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The best! Holland house is my favorite restaurant in Nashville. I bring friends here, out of town visitors, my husband for his birthday etc etc etc Any occasion I can think of! Excellent food! Great atmosphere and great service. I'm a vegetarian and had mushroom Pate and seasonal vegetables. My friends who are vegan had the same. My husband had good beef and Brussels sprouts. All of us loved it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I am a fan and have always had top notch experiences. This last time the food (muscles) weren't in line with my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything we had was delicious. Went for happy hour with a bachelorette party and got drinks and appetizers. Had the best server I've ever had and they were so accommodating. Wish we had spent more time there! The decor was really cute too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were very disappointed with the menu. Only 5 entries with no seafood or pasta. Also no salads. This was Saturday night and there were very few customers. Looks like the owners quit trying to be special.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Too dark, cannot read the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Holland House exceeded our expectations and was perfect for date night. Great drinks and delicious food. The atmosphere was perfect... not too quiet, not too loud; great for table conversation.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious food, interesting cocktails, knowledgeable and friendly service. It's a great place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I ordered the steak with polenta. The dish was wonderful. Wish I had gotten a larger portion. I had to ask for bread.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love their drinks - always fun to try new things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The cocktails were perfect and the food was amazing. We had a great time celebrating a birthday and they even brought out our dessert with a lit candle. We will definitely be back

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

They messed up my reservation time. Somehow they change it from an earlier time I choose to a later night inconvenient time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Valentine's Day prix fixe menu left a good deal to be desired..... the cocktails were over the top, as usual, and are still the best reason to visit HH.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Pricy for the special occasion, but the food was well worth it. Drinks were outstanding and well mixed, and the ambience was amazing. Service was on point and knew exactly when I needed something. The General manager even brought us champagne just for coming in that night. Styled like a speak easy, light music in the background. Will definitely be going back

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Incredible experience. Special anniversary date. Happy we chose Holland House. 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I have been here several times for dinner with varying experiences. We decided to make reservations here for Valentine's Day. Dinner that night was a multiple course meal limited menu.

First, we were seated in a back room which I didn't know existed, away from the nice ambiance and band which existed in the front area (strike 1). The back room feels like a TV set built in a barn, much less enjoyable than the front area.

Our server was very nice and eventually apologetic about our experience. When we made our course selections, we were told one of the 3 dessert choices (the only chocolate choice - my wife's favorite) was already unavailable at 7pm, one of the earlier reservations available (strike 2).

After ordering, it took about 30 minutes for the first course to come out. We then proceeded to wait for another hour and a half, during which our server apologized for the wait once (strike 3). Apparently something majorly wrong was happening in the kitchen. We ended up paying for our drinks and leaving without food, as did many other guests around us. We had burgers at The Pharmacy for Valentine's Day, which was great, but anything would have been great after 2 hours of waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great list of specialized and traditional cocktails. Unique bar and facility with a great ambiance. The live jazz was a great touch for Valentines.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great. Service was great. Food portions were ridiculously small for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Drinks are good, but I thought the menu was very limited, surprisingly no fish offered. We've been going to Holland House for years and I've never seen so few people on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love Holland House and as a treat took a dear friend to dine there. We wanted an evening of quiet conversation and were seated in the bar at the back by the entrance to the kitchen. It wasn't terribly loud but neither was it a quiet or cozy place to talk and catch up. Because I made a reservation, I didn't feel that I could ask for a different table. I should have and wish that I had done so as there might have been another table where it was more private. The food was good but my side to my steak was mostly onions with just a few tiny bites of potato. I would have preferred to be the opposite. Also, there were three options for dessert, which is plenty but none of them was a chocolate option. The donuts we chose were just okay, not great. I know the menu changes so I hope there is a chocolate dessert next time we go. Also, there was a flyer on our table for Valentine's Day. I would have loved to have seen the menu, but it was not listed so I skipped over the idea of making a reservation for Valentines Dinner with my husband.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great atmosphere for dinner with friends. We really enjoyed the mushroom pate and okra appetizers, as well as the pork entree. The rabbit was good but it could've used more meat -- heavy on the faro/corn. I had my new favorite cocktail -- the Fair Verona. Spicy and so good! Desserts were nice too. Overall, great night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was OVERLY priced (TAPAS) portion sizes! I mean I thought I had ordered the steak and potatoes when I got my plate it was definitely a kids meal.... The drinks were good but our server tall dark and with a blonde mohawk needs some customer service tips! Like SMILE!!! You must hate your job but could you be less obvious... Anyways we live fairly close but this might just be a one time deal for us... oh well at least we tried it.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The table was relatively private but next to the fireplace—perfect for a date. Our server was brilliant, genuine, candid, funny, and very helpful.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was phenomenal-drinks, starters, entrees, and dessert. It was our first time there for more than just cocktails and the experience surpassed our exceptions. Great service and menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

nice atmosphere, and good drinks and service. BUT, the food choices, portions, and cost were totally unacceptable. For food, this may be the worst restaurant in Nashville.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great space, however what happened to the Mac n cheese? Also a little overpriced for the size of the portions. I remember there being a bigger menu and bigger portion sizes in the past

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.