About Holland House Bar & Refuge

935 West Eastland Avenue
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

HHB&R, located in the heart of historic East Nashville, less than a mile from downtown Nashville, has proved a welcome addition to the local culinary scene. Located in the shell of a long-standing neighborhood grocery, Holland House Bar & Refuge is a re-imagined neighborhood haven that sources local and regional ingredients, and offers an expansive menu of cocktails, sipping spirits, and craft beer. Voted Best New Bar 2010 and Best New Restaurant (#2) 2010 by the people of Nashville in the Nashville Scene's Annual Reader's Poll, HHB&R has been embraced as the leader of the city's all-encompassing restaurant experience. With a New American culinary style consistent with the casual and the elegant, and the bar overseen by celebrated mixologists, HHB&R continues to evolve and prosper with an ever-changing roster of cocktails and seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar opens at 4:00 daily. Happy Hour 4-6
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
*This is an 18 and up establishment

Cross Street:
McFerrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-4190

Website:
http://www.hollandhousebarandrefuge.com/

Parking Details:
HHB&R is a corner lot surrounded by parking spaces on three sides. There is additional parking on the residential streets adjacent.

Public Transit:
3 blocks east on Gallatin Road and West Eastland.

Executive Chef:
Hrant Arakelian

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The James Room at Holland House is designed in the style of a 19th century parlor, complete with turn-of-the- 20th century chandeliers and classic and elegant wall treatments. There are no booking fees or additional fees of any kind to reserve the James Room.

Holland House Bar & Refuge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Romantic (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (6)
Fireplace (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great Beer (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tapas (4)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
814 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

They messed up my reservation time. Somehow they change it from an earlier time I choose to a later night inconvenient time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Valentine's Day prix fixe menu left a good deal to be desired..... the cocktails were over the top, as usual, and are still the best reason to visit HH.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Pricy for the special occasion, but the food was well worth it. Drinks were outstanding and well mixed, and the ambience was amazing. Service was on point and knew exactly when I needed something. The General manager even brought us champagne just for coming in that night. Styled like a speak easy, light music in the background. Will definitely be going back

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Incredible experience. Special anniversary date. Happy we chose Holland House. 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I have been here several times for dinner with varying experiences. We decided to make reservations here for Valentine's Day. Dinner that night was a multiple course meal limited menu.

First, we were seated in a back room which I didn't know existed, away from the nice ambiance and band which existed in the front area (strike 1). The back room feels like a TV set built in a barn, much less enjoyable than the front area.

Our server was very nice and eventually apologetic about our experience. When we made our course selections, we were told one of the 3 dessert choices (the only chocolate choice - my wife's favorite) was already unavailable at 7pm, one of the earlier reservations available (strike 2).

After ordering, it took about 30 minutes for the first course to come out. We then proceeded to wait for another hour and a half, during which our server apologized for the wait once (strike 3). Apparently something majorly wrong was happening in the kitchen. We ended up paying for our drinks and leaving without food, as did many other guests around us. We had burgers at The Pharmacy for Valentine's Day, which was great, but anything would have been great after 2 hours of waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great list of specialized and traditional cocktails. Unique bar and facility with a great ambiance. The live jazz was a great touch for Valentines.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great. Service was great. Food portions were ridiculously small for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Drinks are good, but I thought the menu was very limited, surprisingly no fish offered. We've been going to Holland House for years and I've never seen so few people on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love Holland House and as a treat took a dear friend to dine there. We wanted an evening of quiet conversation and were seated in the bar at the back by the entrance to the kitchen. It wasn't terribly loud but neither was it a quiet or cozy place to talk and catch up. Because I made a reservation, I didn't feel that I could ask for a different table. I should have and wish that I had done so as there might have been another table where it was more private. The food was good but my side to my steak was mostly onions with just a few tiny bites of potato. I would have preferred to be the opposite. Also, there were three options for dessert, which is plenty but none of them was a chocolate option. The donuts we chose were just okay, not great. I know the menu changes so I hope there is a chocolate dessert next time we go. Also, there was a flyer on our table for Valentine's Day. I would have loved to have seen the menu, but it was not listed so I skipped over the idea of making a reservation for Valentines Dinner with my husband.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great atmosphere for dinner with friends. We really enjoyed the mushroom pate and okra appetizers, as well as the pork entree. The rabbit was good but it could've used more meat -- heavy on the faro/corn. I had my new favorite cocktail -- the Fair Verona. Spicy and so good! Desserts were nice too. Overall, great night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was OVERLY priced (TAPAS) portion sizes! I mean I thought I had ordered the steak and potatoes when I got my plate it was definitely a kids meal.... The drinks were good but our server tall dark and with a blonde mohawk needs some customer service tips! Like SMILE!!! You must hate your job but could you be less obvious... Anyways we live fairly close but this might just be a one time deal for us... oh well at least we tried it.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The table was relatively private but next to the fireplace—perfect for a date. Our server was brilliant, genuine, candid, funny, and very helpful.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was phenomenal-drinks, starters, entrees, and dessert. It was our first time there for more than just cocktails and the experience surpassed our exceptions. Great service and menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

nice atmosphere, and good drinks and service. BUT, the food choices, portions, and cost were totally unacceptable. For food, this may be the worst restaurant in Nashville.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great space, however what happened to the Mac n cheese? Also a little overpriced for the size of the portions. I remember there being a bigger menu and bigger portion sizes in the past

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Perfect as always. The Holland House never lets me down. Great place to take anyone you know or to go alone and enjoy amazing food, drinks, and wonderful service

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Cozy, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The wait staff was very attentive. There was outstanding value for two entrees, two cocktails, an appetizer, and dessert. The burger was juicy, creative, and full of flavor. The steak had a perfect cook on it and the taste and texture was well-done. The only knock is that the sides were only adequate with the fries tasting like Five Guys', and the potatoes with the steak being unmmemorable. Overall, the value for what we got was outstanding, and my date and myself walked away full and satisfied. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent place and decor, but terrible food, expensive and service not friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve. It wasn't crowded but took 20min just to get cocktails, which arrived as the first course came out. First course tasting wasn't delivered until time for the second course, so things didn't pair well. Waitress made it clear the whole thing was management's fault and sje obviously didn't want to be there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Spent a lot of money on New Years Eve for a less than subpar meal. Disappointed doesn't describe it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was amazing and the food deliverers were nice, but our waitress was horrible. We asked her the sauce of the fettuccini mushroom dish and she literally said it's oily fettuccini noodles. Asked her what was in the pistachio torte and she said it was what you'd expect in a pistachio torte. The decor was natural elements, the food was unique and creative. Only negative was the waitress.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Seasonal, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Holland House is a gem for East Nashville. One of my favorites in ALL of Nashville! The menu is authentic; offers seemingly something for every person's taste and palate. The cocktails are unique, finely made--a chemist's concoction--and a pleasure to await. The bar area is inviting, casual--one never knows what kind of conversation you'll have. The dining area is an open concept, but well positioned to allow free-flowing conversations as well as the comfort and 'feel' of privacy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The Holland House is by far my favorite restaurant in Nashville.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Vegan, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I prefer this place mainly for the custom cocktails. The food is great, but mostly overpriced. The atmosphere doesn't relate to the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I like this place, and drinks are amazing, but the seats are annoying. They are all high tops, and your legs just have to dangle in space. Extremely uncomfortable for more than half an hour.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had drinks and apps. Excellent service and wonderful food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Everything, Everyone, pleasant.

I really love the environment.

And because your so close to my home,

Would like be able to go for my weekly eat out experience.

I believe that you would be my first choice if I had more choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Took over 30 minutes to get appetizer and over 2 hours for dinner to arrive. Seemed very busy and that they could not keep up. Manager was apologetic without us complaining and did not charge for food for the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was bland and boring. I also spent way too much money to have my date and I leave feeling hungry. The portions are tiny. Great atmosphere and cocktails but that's the only good quality.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was my third or fourth time at Holland House but perhaps my first time having dinner (before it had been drinks and appetizers). While my previous experiences hadn't been entirely memorable aside from the chic/cozy/hipster atmosphere, I decided to give it a try for a full-fledged meal. I am sorry to say that I left sorely disappointed. I ordered Pimm's Cup and the drink I received tasted a bit like watered down ginger ale. It was totally uninspired and I didn't even finish it. I ordered the Springer Mtn. chicken as my entree with mushrooms, greens, and dumplings. Although the skin of the chicken was crispy and quite good, the meat was over-cooked, bland, and had an unappetizing texture. I am always hungry and I finish everything on my plate when the food is good, but I struggled to eat all of the chicken and in the end left some. The mushrooms were soggy and flavorless, as were the dumplings. At least I got my greens in and these had a nice flavor, but they really could not save what turned out to be a poorly executed, flavorless, main course. I didn't appreciate spending $24 on such a pitiful excuse for a main course. The only redeeming qualities were the ambience of the restaurant and the decent service. I really fail to see how Holland House can survive serving such overpriced, poor food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great drinks and food, perfect for a nice dinner! We enjoyed the patio and had great service.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a wonderful experience - we went on a Saturday night for dinner with two friends from out of town. We arrived early and sat at the bar and each enjoyed a delicious cocktail. We then sat for dinner and had delicious food and a server who knew a lot about wine and about the menu. Great experience, recommend highly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were absolutely thrilled with our atmosphere and evening. We only had appetizers and drinks but we will return for a full course meal.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best cocktails in Nashville! Thriving East Nashville scene.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My birthday was on a Monday this year and many Nashville restaurants are closed on Mondays, so it was delightful to find Holland House Bar & Refuge was indeed open. We've been there on a couple of weekends and it was VERY busy, so we were very pleased when the restaurant wasn't crowded on this particular Monday. The bar was busy and there was plenty of energy in the place but it was nice to have the atmosphere feel less hectic. Megan our server was excellent: friendly but professional, checking in at the right intervals to be sure we had what we needed. Our shared starter of grilled romaine was outstanding--who knew grilled salad could be so good? Our entrees of the burger and the chicken were also outstanding. A special treat was to have a complementary birthday dessert arrive at the table, complete w/ one candle and without any singing, thankfully. Our only criticism is the pacing of the meal. The starter arrived quickly but once it was cleared, there was a gap of at least 20 minutes before our entrees arrived and the chicken entree was almost at room temperature, suggesting it had been sitting a while--perhaps waiting for the burger? Overall, it was a delicious meal with gracious service and a great place to celebrate a Monday birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

While this restaurant was highly touted as one of Nashville's best places to eat it was the worst restaurant for us. We were visiting Nashville for the first time and were there for 3 days. All of the other restaurants we visited were top notch but this place was not. The food was less than mediocre and the wait staff seemed to have trouble understanding our orders and both of us are native born so we don't have a language barrier. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Upon arriving, was immediately seated at a high-top in the bar area. Not necessarily an issue, but I would have liked to be asked if I preferred a table in the dining room. My entree arrived @ my table right on the heels of my salad, which I never subsequently finished. A lovely room and very good food and drink were compromised by lackadaisical service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great for special occasions ! This is our birthday / special occasion restaurant and we love the ambiance as it is eclectic and quiet for great conversations. Menu can be limited but has always been outstanding. Service is personal and attentive. Thank you for another great evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great experience for a first date. The interior of the restaurant paired with the friendly service was worth the money, because it is a wee bit pricey. I would recommend it for people looking to get a drink and a nice date spot.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Our waitress, Maggie, made our evening a success. Our food was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Tiny, overpriced cocktails and barely lukewarm food that was served in cold cast iron. The "chef" wouldn't even come out and talk to us even though there was hardly anyone there. Now I know why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Cool spot/ambiance, good cocktail menu. Get together of 5 friends - good location for that. Thursday night was a bit quite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

If I had taken a client or coworker to Holland House, I would have been very embarrassed and uncomfortable. Luckily we were with good friends so we had a nice time even with the dismal service. Not one smile, not one bit of attention. Our drinks remained empty. I counted and there was a stretch of time where the waiter cruised past our table a dozen times without looking at us, actually avoided eye contact. Our reservation was at 645 we ordered drinks, aps, and entrees by 7. Our entrees food not arrive until 8:30. Two entrees were hot and two room temp, including my fish risotto. They seemed not to care of we ever came back again. So we won't. We would've stayed and gotten desert and coffee, but we didn't have another 20 years to spare. Food good, service... well you couldn't even call it that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Amazing place to grab dinner and drinks with friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were a large group so we ordered 3 apps and one each of the entrees to share and try everything. Everyone was absolutely beyond impressed with the food. The bar made some excellent drinks two from the menu and one which was from the heart and it was truly a delight to drink. We all left with smiles, will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was fair, kitchen slow and menu too limited. Drinks great, but overall not great experience at a high price point.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I'm red-faced to admit that this was our first visit to Holland House. It was a very rainy day, and we were forced to park two blocks away, even for an early dinner reservation. We arrived soaked. But the staff and overall vibe of this East Nashville bar was warm and welcoming. I ordered the Base Burner cocktail - Four Roses (yellow label) bourbon poured over ginger ice cubes. Simple and ingenious. My husband ordered a gin martini - which we both felt was just okay. His second drink was a gimlet, which he liked better. The smoked olives small plate was mostly creme fraiche. Good but not satisfying. My husband ordered a steak; I got a burger. The portion size of his meal was about half what I got - fortunately, I had lots of fries to share. All of the food was very good. We enjoyed our visit to Holland House - next time we'll sit at the bar, because the bartenders are clearly serious about their craft!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was our third or fourth time dining at Holland House over the past couple of years and the most disappointing by far. We had a reservation and the place was only about half full when we arrived. We were seated at a table for two just off the bar in the front corner of the restaurant. We sat there for 30 minutes waiting for our server, or anyone else, to offer us water, take our drink orders, and generally get the dining process going. As we were getting to ready to walk out our server finally showed up and offered water. She then left before we could give our drink orders and didn't come back for another 5-10 minutes. We were finally able to give our food and drink orders. The food was okay, the rabbit and meatball dishes were pretty good, but the beet salad was just okay and the veggie dish tasted like frozen veggies cooked in butter. My drink, a Corpse Reviver #2, tasted overly sweet. Once our dishes were served, we didn't see the server again till the end of the meal, no water service, nothing. We will not be going to this establishment again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This place needs help. If the staff were even close to being as good as they thought it would be a 11. Management bad, food average, good drinks made by a arrogant bartender who again isn't as good as he thinks. Wish this place would just be the good neighborhood place it was years back. Miss the old Holland House but lots of choices in East Nashville wish them well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent service, food quality was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.