Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings. Hill Country features two full bars with an extensive menu of long neck beers, tequila and bourbon, and a state-of-the-art sound system and stage for live music celebrating the thriving Austin music scene. Signature versions of classic southern sides and sweets include Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese, Campfire Baked Beans with Burnt Ends, and the Original PB&J Cupcake. A marketplace full of Lone Star State favorites includes: Big Red Soda, Kreuz Market Sausages and more.

30 West 26th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar open until 2:00am daily

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-4544

Website:
http://www.hillcountryny.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Tuesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountryny.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country Barbecue Market experience to your backyard. We offer world-class, Texas-style barbecue, Southern hospitality and a signature vintage western aesthetic that is a fun, relaxed and refreshing alternative to run-of-the-mill wedding rehearsal dinners, company picnics, parties and celebrations, from 20 to 2,000. Our eye-popping, custom-made “HC Barbecue Trailer,” a mobile barbecue pit complete with a sound system playing Hill Country’s signature Austin-inspired soundtrack, brings freshly smoked barbecue straight to your door.

Parking Details:
Street or garage parking conveniently available.

Public Transit:
1, 6, N, R, & W trains to 28th Street, and F & M trains to 23rd Street.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of New York.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountryny.com or 646-380-5873.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of NYC. "Best Barbecue in NY" – New York Magazine & Time Out New York; "Top 16 Great NYC Restaurants for Your Wedding" –Eater.com

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (39)
Comfort Food (39)
Casual (36)
See All
Fun (29)
Live Music (26)
Family Style (25)
Open Kitchen (16)
Authentic (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great Beer (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Happy Hour (12)
People Watching (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Live Sports (2)
Business Meals (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Dancing (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It's all self service. The meat was good, but everything is cold in a few minutes. Half of the menu was not available and the side dish(sweet potato mash) was just luke warm.

Tags: Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. A little expensive.
I.recommend the lean brisket and the ribs.
Sides excellent : macaroni and cheese, corn pudding, slaw... good beers. Quit called for a Saturday late lunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Still love this place! Food never disappoints, and it's a great place to gather with friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Fun and family friendly. Sometimes the noise levels are too high from the loud, live music downstairs. The food is tasty and the process by which you receive your food is fun and unique.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

At first our group of 6 was a little put off by the 'meal ticket' concept, but once we got the gist and went to the 'meat counter' it was great. I loved the idea of tasting beforehand. I would recommend the chicken breast as it was so moist and tender. The brisket is also a good choice if you opt for the lean portion. Unfortunately they ran out of sausage links or I would have opted for the 'Pit Master '. You should note that everything IS priced separately so you could end up spending more than you bargained for. Seating is a little tight with large groups (elbow to elbow), but all in all, I will definitely be making a return trip.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day lunch was disappointing. The decor and atmosphere was what we expected.... casual and no frills. The bbq was not to our liking; brisket was salty and not tender. My wife had the pulled port which was also not very moist and tender. We've had a lot of bbq in NYC and our expectations were very high having heard good things. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The best brisket (on white bread as it should be served) this side of the...excellent BBQ line. Great sides, authentically made, great pitmaster, and bottles of Big Red! If you don't know Big Red, You don't know BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was ok. I've had better. Seemed to have blood on the bones of the chicken. The waiter said it was just because it was smoked not roasted but not convinced so I left it to one side.
The ribs were good but they ran out of them.
The brisket was awesome tho.
Staff were good.
The place seemed like a work canteen and rather noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The moist brisket is to die for! Went here twice during a 6 day stay in NY, thats how good it is. Tha cucumber side is super as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The spare ribs and pulled pork weren't too bad, but the postives end there. The sides were unimpressive. The bread was lously. The brisket was the worst either of us had ever had. It tasted like it was boiled in a crock pot. The only thing worse than that horrible excuse for brisket was the service. The waiter dropped some water on our table and never came back to take our drink order. The two guys working the meat counter started arguing with each other and walked away, leaving us standing there waiting for a couple minutes until someone in back saw what happened and came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Overall good food if you love meat, lack of waitress meant hard to get an additional drink

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I had a really bad experience at Hill Country BBQ tonight. I had a reservation at 5:30 with my two kids and the hostess sat us at the one table at the top of the stairs.

There was a band doing a sound check downstairs – we were right between the band and the upstairs sound system and it was really loud, impossible to talk. The restaurant was virtually empty at this time, every table with the exception of one was unoccupied.

I asked the hostess if we could sit at another table where I could hear my kids. She went back up front, talked to 3 or 4 other people at the bar, and after 5 minutes came back and said there was no way they could move us to another table since they had a “ton of reservations” that were coming in later that evening. Again this was at 5:30 and the restaurant was essentially empty with at least 6-8 open four tops. And it wasn’t clear why another reservation coming in later would have priority over us, anyway, since none of the tables were reserved.

So we slogged through the meal, unable to talk, and when we left 45 minutes later at 6:15 the restaurant was still virtually empty. What a terrible experience - one of the worst meals of my life.

To make it worse I wrote to the management after this happened and they never bothered to write back or respond in any way.

I think the thing that is most disappointing is that Hill Country used to be my favorite restaurant in NYC, but they have really gone downhill. I used to work in the neighborhood and would eat lunch there a couple of times a week, and I have eaten often at their DC and Brooklyn locations. One of the things loved about Hill Country is that they had the best barbecue in New York paired with a homey, low-key atmosphere. But their staff just made me feel unappreciated and unimportant. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Texans hungry for authentic Hill Country BBQ will find a close taste of home. The brisket is darn good, as is the sweet tea. The pickles, green beans and corn bread were exceptional.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The atmosphere was just as great as the food. Great options for all barbecue fans.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Family Style, Business Meals, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Essential room with simple and unattractive service. Really good meat, with the typical dish (mixed for two) enough for a taste of what they cook. It's worth reserving and going.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very long lines for the meet and side dishes counter, concept very disappointing , not nice to wait so long for your food. Very noisy and messy with people wandering around with food. After deciding to leave as it was not our thing we did not have to pay for the lemonade we ordered. The beer never came (not after 20 minutes) as it took a long while to open a new beer barrel. Disappointing experience during our 4 days visit of New York.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It's fun, it's creative. Great bartender, excellent help staff where you pick up the food. Decent NYC bar-b-que. Try it with a group. We weren't there for the live music but they have it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fun, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was ok; came late so that could be why. The service was great, very friendly accommodating staff!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It is what it is and that's why you know what to expect. The food is solid, good southern barbecue for unpretentious dining. The staff is very friendly, the noise expectedly over the top. Don't go for an intimate dinner, but we took some friends from Europe who are meat lovers just as we are. For the first experience it satisfies. lol definitely repeat.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Happy hour margarita pitcher was a joke. The pitcher was 99% ice. We asked for less and it came with same amount. They said it cannot be served without ice. Less doesn't mean none, what a ripoff.

Briskets were fork tender though. I imagined the cornbread to come in a skillet but it didn't and were just tiny little things.

We changed from party if 6 to 5 and gave them advanced notice. Turns out they abused our courtesy and sat us in a tight nook near the restroom, overseeing the meat storages and butchering. One chair was in the walking aisle blocking traffic. It was only 20% full when we arrived and they still refused to seat us at a bigger table saying they're rather full tonight.... it was not packed by the time we left. Seriously horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always consistently good. If you want BBQ - this is the place to go in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Hostess at front was VERY cold. Godo thing they have great BBQ because I wouldn't come back otherwise.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They were out of cornbread, deviled eggs, chocolate chunk cookies, and pecan pie - all which were what we really wanted. Seemed like they were out of a lot for a Saturday night/ prime dinner time !

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ribs were so overdone with pepper rub they were inedible. Brisket was dry and pulled pork dry. Sides were decent. Incredibly disappointed, since I had been to Kreutz in Texas. They shouldn't have there name associated with this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent BBQ. Fun place. Western Caravan played Western swing. What more do you want

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fun to be there with friends, noisy, joyous, special occasion
Tom Bishop

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We were on holiday in NYC from Yorkshire in England and saw a review in Time magazine,
Luckily we were only a few blocks away
It excellent
So good we had to go back the next night and there was live music
Great Staff
Great Food
Get yourself there do not miss it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Hill Country has very good BBQ. This is a great place to take groups. You go up to a serving line to get your meats and side dishes.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This place is awesome! It's overwhelming to navigate when you're not used to the way things are done, but the wait staff couldn't have been more helpful. No-one made us feel stupid for not knowing what to do (you get a little menu card, then approach the counter where a server weighs out your chosen BBQ - easy when you know how!) and once wyour got chatting to the staff, they were all super friendly and helpful.
To top off a great experience, the food is also incredible. Burnt ends, brisket, pork ribs and oh my goodness the mac & cheese. Sublime.
Really great BBQ experience (and the pub next door is awesome too :) )

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Authentic, Casual, Family Style, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great sides but meat was tougher than I expected and the all you can eat deal only includes a few options so is not very good value

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Took the family to NYC for the weekend. Heard good things about Hill Country from a friend and it did not disappoint. Easy to make a reservation, easy to get in and get seated, service was friendly and the BBQ was excellent. If you're in the city with friends and want a fun place with great BBQ then give this place a try.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

A real Texas experience. The only problem is noise.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The brisket was great (moist is the way to go) and so were the sausages and ribs. They had a great variety of side dishes but in my opinion the mac & cheese and the cole slaw take the top prize. The only, and huge problem, was the chicken which I did not eat at the place because I was already full (I ordered the pitmaster) but once I got home and gave it to my mom to eat, it was completely raw. I mean bloody, uncooked chicken. It's not beef, which I would be ok with, but chicken is a completely different thing. We didn't throw it away just cooked it a little more but that is not something you want from a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Delicious smoked brisket and sweet cornbread muffins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great BBQ but go early because brisket sells out and others not as good.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent barbecue in a fun place. Although many recommended the "moist" brisket, we found it too fatty. Will go "lean" next time. The sides are great.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Solid barbecue. Moist brisket is to die for...maybe not quite like Fette Sau but pretty good for casual cheap and high calories dinner...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Granted we did get to restaurant late but that being said, it's NYC and that doesn't mean much. We were sat and not instructed on if a waitress would come over or how to order. Finally my boyfriend went up to the counter and ordered. I had to ask for water and utensils. After I asked we had no less than 5 different waiters. I've had better BBQ but it was okay the service was just extremely disorganized.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall poor service (didn't not honor reservation time).

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The BBQ at Hill Country is always very good, as are the sides (except for the cornbread - it's pretty dry and bland). What made this experience subpar was the waitstaff. The seating hostesses were incredibly rude. My reservation was for 8:30. I was at the stand at 8:30, and even though there were 3 of them there I had to wait 5 minutes before any of them even looked at me. Finally one antagonistic woman said she would find me when a table opened up. Cut to 20 minutes later, still no one had come get me for a table. I went up to the host stand, waited another 5 minutes even though there were 2 hosts standing there just talking to themselves, and finally got sat. Once seated, the waiter was not great either. Though he was relatively friendly, he was incredible slow. We only ended up getting our drinks AFTER we had already finished all our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.