Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings. Hill Country features two full bars with an extensive menu of long neck beers, tequila and bourbon, and a state-of-the-art sound system and stage for live music celebrating the thriving Austin music scene. Signature versions of classic southern sides and sweets include Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese, Campfire Baked Beans with Burnt Ends, and the Original PB&J Cupcake. A marketplace full of Lone Star State favorites includes: Big Red Soda, Kreuz Market Sausages and more.

30 West 26th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar open until 2:00am daily

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-4544

Website:
http://www.hillcountryny.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Tuesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountryny.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country Barbecue Market experience to your backyard. We offer world-class, Texas-style barbecue, Southern hospitality and a signature vintage western aesthetic that is a fun, relaxed and refreshing alternative to run-of-the-mill wedding rehearsal dinners, company picnics, parties and celebrations, from 20 to 2,000. Our eye-popping, custom-made “HC Barbecue Trailer,” a mobile barbecue pit complete with a sound system playing Hill Country’s signature Austin-inspired soundtrack, brings freshly smoked barbecue straight to your door.

Parking Details:
Street or garage parking conveniently available.

Public Transit:
1, 6, N, R, & W trains to 28th Street, and F & M trains to 23rd Street.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of New York.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountryny.com or 646-380-5873.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of NYC. "Best Barbecue in NY" – New York Magazine & Time Out New York; "Top 16 Great NYC Restaurants for Your Wedding" –Eater.com

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (35)
Casual (34)
Authentic (27)
See All
Fun (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Live Music (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great Beer (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (4)
People Watching (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Cozy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (2)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I have eaten here 3 times and my recent experience was far inferior to my previous visits. The downsides:

1. Football was in and noise from the TV and the crowd noise made conversation impossible. It was an assault on the senses
2. They had run out of several meats so the choice was limited. This was pretty disappointing for a Saturday night where you would think they would have their formula and supply sorted
3. Menu format is confusing and, apart from the waiter, the staff were pretty indifferent and frankly looked miserable
4. There isn't really a kids menu so my daughter had some cornbread and a few bits of chicken. I guess it's not a kid-friendly venue

I like the concept of this place, but it wasn't working at all on saturday night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Late-night Find, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Le concept est particulier, un peu comme une cafétéria. Les portions sont généreuses, certaines viandes sont très bonnes, d'autres moins. Style texan. Correct mais sans plus.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Second time I've been here for a birthday celebration - this time mine. We were seated downstairs, which was perfect because upstairs was very noisy and crowded. I had a drink at the bar while waiting for the rest of the party - smokey margarita! Drinks are strong and creative, the food is great, the service was friendly and welcoming. If you want BBQ head here, and don't skip the PB&J cupcakes.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food great as always. Service slow as always. My moms birthday and she is picky. Loved the prime rib. Didn't get a chance to order beer as soon as we got table so didn't get our beer until half way through meal.

Tags: Live Music, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Did not like the food. First you have to stand in one line to get your entree meats and then another line to get sides. Process took too long and felt like slow cafeteria.
I had ribs, chicken and brisket, none was good. Chicken dry, ribs fair, brisket very salty with little taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Only issue is that they were out of the sweet potato bourbon mash at 7:20p on a Sunday. Other than that, perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. had a wonderful time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

great bbq with many sides to choose from...casual atmosphere...clean with friendly service...terrific downstairs music room

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Amazing meat and sides! Very nice bbq ambiance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The brisket was awesome, but the rest of the meal (all you can eat Monday) was meh. I'd only go back and oder the brisket ala carte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Shawana, Steve, George and the team took such great care of us for my kids' birthday. I think this is going to be an annual tradition on top of our regular bbq fixes. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Insanely delicious barbecue! I always over order though. It's a great live music venue, too!

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I went to this restaurant for my birthday with 10 other people and had a blast. The food was delicious, I recommend the two meats for $23 at the back of the menu, and the alcohol wasn't too expensive. I emphasise 'too'. However I was a little disappointed because the waitress gave me a complimentary birthday 'shot' but then charged me for it at the end which was $14! This is why I gave the service a 'fair' rating.

That being said, I do recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I had high hopes for this place. Maybe it was an off night, but the food left me disappointed and the service felt apathetic. Brisket was the best choice of the meats we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing meat and really quick! Would definitely recommend

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We did arrive late 9.45, but place was empty. Staff looked like theyd had enough and tge food was mostly fat chopped up or dried out. Been there before and was very good but this experience was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was amazing. I personally am not a person that needs to have pipping hot food but other do so that's the one thing I would be aware of when coming here. All the meeting is amazing and fresh but not hot hot if that's your thing. Happy hour was pretty good with $6 margaritas and $2 jello shots.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Really cool atmosphere, amazing service, very friendly and welcoming. The food was amazing.
Tried the brisket, short rib, burnt ends, sausage, and pork loin, they were all delicious!! The sides were great. Tried the chili, Mac and cheese, and collard greens, all were outstanding. I would recommend it for an amazing barbeque experience. 5 stars

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Eight guys from out of town. Wanted BBQ. Meats sold by weight and served on butcher paper. Sides served in cups. The meats were cooked perfectly. The brisket was "melt in your mouth". Don't get to NYC much but would go back to this place.
B. C. Rochester, New York

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great casual place for bbq in the city. Brought family visiting from out of town that wanted truly "American" food and they loved it. Table service and behind the counter were friendly and helpful too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was my 3rd visit and the most disappointing one. The restaurant was almost empty, the brisket dry and tasteless. The staff turned out to be very unfriendly and treated us different then other tables. I recommended the place based on previous good experience but this time everything went wrong.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food is great. Love that you can add your own BBQ and Sauces to your liking.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We brought guests from out of town. They loved it and said they will come back. We have been a few times and really like the country food and all the choices. Your staff are really nice, too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The brisket was awesome but the pulled pork was quite dry.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Awesome! From the food to bar staff a must visit for good BBQ and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food! Great service! A little bit too nosy, though. Didn't love having to stand in line to order my food, but not an unbearable experience. Now that I know to expect this, it's not so bad. Overall, a good dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Moist brisket is absolutely AMAZING. Short ribs was WAY too salty and Pulled Pork was way too drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The good was great - the band was crazy noisy and loud - should have stated with a few slower sets - it cleared the downstairs room and gather that's not the plan of management - I mean they were good -but made any comversationimpossible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My friends and I always remembered and talked about this place ever since we went for the first time a few years back. We decided to finally go again and Hill Country simply does not disappoint. The food, atmosphere, service, drinks and friendly staff are even better than we remembered.....ESPECIALLY THE FOOD! We've now decided not to wait too long for our next visit, and trust me....we won't.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Unfortunately, all the BBQ (including the "moist" brisket" was dry as hell and the sides were mostly luke warm. Too bad - this place used to be great. What a waste of money and calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very nice people

Food was excellent. I would recommend it to friends, ..

Nice atmosphere

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was my first time visiting the restaurant and I loved it

Very cool , laid back vibe

The guys cutting the meats were very easy to speak to and patient in answering the
many questions I had (being new to how they serve the portions etc).

The brisket was spectacular, well seasoned , flavourful and moist !!!! Divine

I plan to come back with friends

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

I had to ask too ma y questions to understand the buffet as they wrre trying to secretely charge you .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food for a very reasonable price. The the burnt ends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Hill Country has been our go to place when we want to eat Barbecue. Their moist Brisket is in my opinion the best thing on the menu. We also had the burnt ends this time which was pretty good. I would say skip the Pork Ribs..just okay. I would like to try their Prime Rib next time. Green Bean Casserole is yummy, collard greens were okay

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always great BBQ at this place. Not quite the same as being in west Texas, but still pretty darn good.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We've been here a few times int he past and feel like it is going down hill. The quality of the food has declined.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food and service was great as always. We went at a busy time so the food lines were a little long but they gave free samples while we waited which was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

One reservation, staff kindness and effeciency, food price, quality all check marks. I don't eat a lot of meat but will reserve those times for Hill Country. So satisfying. It was my sisters birthday and the staff was kind enough to sing for her. She's from out of town so another check mark for the New York Manhattan location.

See you again soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Will most likely not return. I would fly first to texas and have q there before here.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.