About Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron

30 West 26th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings. Hill Country features two full bars with an extensive menu of long neck beers, tequila and bourbon, and a state-of-the-art sound system and stage for live music celebrating the thriving Austin music scene. Signature versions of classic southern sides and sweets include Longhorn Cheddar Mac & Cheese, Campfire Baked Beans with Burnt Ends, and the Original PB&J Cupcake. A marketplace full of Lone Star State favorites includes: Big Red Soda, Kreuz Market Sausages and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Bar open until 2:00am daily

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 255-4544

Website:
http://www.hillcountryny.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Tuesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountryny.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country Barbecue Market experience to your backyard. We offer world-class, Texas-style barbecue, Southern hospitality and a signature vintage western aesthetic that is a fun, relaxed and refreshing alternative to run-of-the-mill wedding rehearsal dinners, company picnics, parties and celebrations, from 20 to 2,000. Our eye-popping, custom-made “HC Barbecue Trailer,” a mobile barbecue pit complete with a sound system playing Hill Country’s signature Austin-inspired soundtrack, brings freshly smoked barbecue straight to your door.

Parking Details:
Street or garage parking conveniently available.

Public Transit:
1, 6, N, R, & W trains to 28th Street, and F & M trains to 23rd Street.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of New York.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountryny.com or 646-380-5873.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of NYC. "Best Barbecue in NY" – New York Magazine & Time Out New York; "Top 16 Great NYC Restaurants for Your Wedding" –Eater.com

Hill Country Barbecue Market – Flatiron Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (44)
Casual (41)
Comfort Food (37)
See All
Fun (32)
Live Music (29)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Authentic (23)
Family Style (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Kid-friendly (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Great Beer (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Live Sports (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Dancing (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Our service was awesome and very accommodating he was informative and helpful with any questions we had and my pet peeve when I got to any restaurant is a dirty bathroom and their bathrooms were very nice and clean!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. I went to the DC branch and loved it.

I must say I was not impressed with the service. When we arrived the restaurant was not full and it took a while to be seated, a while to get our silverware and a while to actually pay.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a chilly Friday night. My good friend, a 65 year old former Air Force veteran and a tiny Asian man set out for a night of meat, drink, conversation, meat and drinks. And if you want all of the above, except for 65 year old Air Force veterans and tiny Asian men, then hill country is the place for you. Although now that I think about it, there may be 65 year old Air Force veterans and tiny Asian men, I'm not sure. I didn't really take a poll and ask the patrons of this establishment what their age and or backgrounds were. I digress. The food was top notch, the drinks were flowing and the service was splendid. I learned much about life and love, about the fact that not being in "the game" is a good thing because I'm in love and chasing after a bunch of drunk women listening to a country cover band on a Friday night wasn't my cup of tea. Now that I think about it, that was my only negative. No tea. I like tea. I'm more of a coffee guy, but tea can hit the spot too.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were visiting from London, loved the joint!! Great people, great music, great Pitmaster!

Next time we visit NYC we will drop by!

Steve and Family!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Live Sports, Authentic, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Perfect and delicious brisket and pork spare ribs. Server was great and the people serving the meat are the best! The meat had a great smoky and rich flavor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Live Music, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Really delicious BBQ. A step above the rest. Reasonably priced for much better than average food. A real comfortable, loud and fun place. Even live entertainment on the lower level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great music and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Birthday

With family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always have a great meal here! Great for friends, families and dates!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great concept! I really liked the turkey breast amd their pickles

Tags: Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Muy buen lugar! Uno elige que comer y el corte a la vista.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Modern Decor, Live Music, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Bad food

Good service

Too expensive

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I'm from Texas, but have lived elsewhere for over 20 yrs. Nevertheless, I make trips home and keep up with my BBQ! This is the real thing. It leans hill country/Czech influence, and it was all just right. You need to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

we drove 3 hours for rusty truck...mark and his band were right on!!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Saw the Bills Jockey's at Hill Country, it was great!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been several times but on this time the staff looked like they could not be bothered. Also no wine at all??? They were out of every bottle. Just says that the manager has given up.

The food is great and the staff serving the food are fantastic.

We took friends who had never been so it was a shame that this happened. We had to go out and buy some wine and bring it back. Not everyone drinks beer!!!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

been here at least once a year for the last 8 yrs. always consistent and always great staff and will always be back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is the best Texas-style barbeque in NYC. Kreuz sausage imported from Lockhart, TX and slow-smoked brisket are seriously yummy. Try the hot German potato salad and Sweet Potato Bourbon Mash as your sides. They also have great coleslaw and a wide range of beers on tap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food! We only had brisket and prime rib and they were both flavorful and tender. Terrible service ! Our waitress was always missing in action. We had a great time other than that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Family Style, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food is decent and the location conveinent. The service here is terrible. It's impossible to get a server to get you drinks let alone refill them. Everything else is self service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had emailed a week in advance to get a table, and when I showed up, while friendly, the table we were given was far away from the football game, which we were there to watch. We ordered drinks and food for hours as we watched better tables being held for more important guests, many of whom never showed up. Also, our server started out attentive and friendly, and then became disinterested in looking after us. Not mean, but faded quickly and could've been much better.

The bbq was good, especially the burnt ends and the green bean casserole, and the beer specials were solid.

Again, it was overall good, just had the potential to be much better with little extra effort.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

having a reservation meant absolutely NOTHING !!!

went to hear my friends band play the David Bowie tribute

this is the ONLY reason we went !!

was told they had no tables and were adding more

waited on line and got our food

was told they had a table for us

proceeded to walk down the stairs carrying our coats and trays of food and drinks

'hostess' disappeared

stood there.. looked around nothing

proceeded to walk UP the stairs carrying our coats and trays of food and drinks

ended up sitting at the bar and listened to the band there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It was my first time at Hill Country and I think it was pretty good but I was expecting more. The burnt ends were the best thing I ate. The brisket and turkey were good. I didn't care for the ribs that much. There were meaty but too much pepper for my taste. I tried some of the spicy sausage but I didn't care for it that much. I only had one side which was the cucumber squad and that was very good. Next time I go back I will skip the ribs. Also if you have not been there you order all your meats by the pound. When you ask for a half pound of brisket or half pond of anything the cutter will obviously cut a little more so the bill you're expecting winds up a little higher than the bill you have in your head.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It was delicious once you understand the ordering. Wanted to eat more!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Fantastic barbecue! The moist brisket, spare ribs, sweet potatoes, and baked beans were all outstandingly delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best Texas Dry Rub BBQ east of the Mississippi!

Feels like being in Lockhart, TX, but neater

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Traveled to NYC from Austin TX. We know good BBQ and this is it! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing great food!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a texas inspired bbq place, it is not a real restaurant, food is sold by weight, you have to go to the counter ask for the meat you want to have and then go the sides counter and do the same. The guy behind the counter will immediately give you the food and you can bring it to your table. The only thing for which you are really served is drinks. This doesn't want to sound as a critic, I liked it, it is a different place with a different approach in NYC.

Regarding the quality of food, I had the moist brisket, it was simply amazing, tender and juicy, smoked to perfection, while my wife had the pork ribs, that unfortunately weren't as goods as the brisket.

The local is noisy, with loud music.

I'll recommend it if you want to have a different night in NYC, and especially recommend the brisket.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

People who served us food were fantastic /very generous because they were closing soon and the guy was SUPER friendly helping us in a rush. We went downstairs to eat and no server helped us; it was kind of awkward with all these workers and no one acknowledged us. Food was great though. Not the best BBQ but it is up there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Cool place but don't over order !! Meat is fantastic and varied options

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great place for a group, food was awesome, solid drinks, and was perfect to meet the needs of our group which included a young kid, some teens, and some adult beverage-needing folks. Would definitely go again! Only downside was our waitress made very few and infrequent appearances so if you wanted more than one drink or were in a bit of a rush you were out of luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

You can't go wrong with this casual BBQ joint - and you'll never go home hungry. Excellent option for large groups and family style meals since you can order to meet your group size. Cafeteria style - you get up and get your own food - but excellent service for drinks at your table. Nice TX style decor. Don't miss the moist brisket, cucumber salad, coleslaw and the half chicken. If you don't know what to try, get the sampler meal, it's enough for two.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service could have been better and I think slightly overpriced, but good overall and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was good. Service a little weird. Basically it's a cafeteria type services and the wait staff brings drinks

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent bbq; I preferred the brisket and burnt ends

Sides were also great

scotch choices were somewhat meager

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My son and I love this place! It's like the Texas BBQ I grew up on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I've always been a fan of Hill Country. The moist brisket is simply the best around. The prime rib was also amazing. Very casual setting. Love the fact you can go to the butcher counter and pick out the meat(s) you want. There's something very simple yet comforting to the atmosphere and concept of Hill Country. Live music didn't hurt. Will be back. Great for groups.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Was so impressed by how quickly we ate and how delicious all of the food was!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Fun concept, delicious food, great drinks, very filling and fulfilling; great place for a group to celebrate where strict decorum is not required

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

You get your own food at the counter and the wait staff will bring you drinks. While I'm all for tipping hardworking waiters/waitresses I think they need to do a little more for the customer than just bring them drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food and ambiance but employees seem like they didn't want to be there and was being forced to serve and act friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great barbecue for NYC. We were a party of 8. They seated us right away, even though 1 person wasn't there yet. They explain exactly how everything works very clearly. One thing to note, it's that it's almost like cafeteria style. They have 2 counters, meats & sides. You take the menu to the counter, and get your food that way (they don't serve you or bring you your food). But it's delicious, very easy, and worth every penny!

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I absolutely love their beef brisket. And the green bean casserole

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was my fifth time at Hill Country. Food was fine. Not the best I've had there, but still good. Service has been pretty average the last three times. They just don't seem to care much - both the table servers and the BBQ counter people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Server was rude and inattentive. Everything else was great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Not a huge fan of barbecue, but the food was definitely good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We enjoyed dining here and found the food to be delicious and very fresh. The ribs and brisket were both excellent as were the sides. The kids loved the mac and cheese. My only complaint was the cost of the meats. 3 ribs and a 1/2 lb of brisket set us back $34. The sides were all fairly reasonable but to spend $95 on BBQ for the family was pretty steep.

Tags: Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went to Hill Country on a date, took my girl who is a big Country Western fan . The food was good Barbecue, the band was very good. However because it was so close to the Holiday there were not many patrons, but the over all experience was good none the less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.