Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings.

410 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11:30am
Sunday - Thursday: Kitchen closes at 10pm
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen closes at 11pm
Sunday - Tuesday & Thursday: Late Night Menu until 11pm
Wednesday, Friday & Saturday: Late Night Menu until 12am
Hill Country Bar is open until 2am nightly

Cross Street:
Between D and E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 556-2050

Website:
http://www.hillcountrywdc.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Wednesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountrywdc.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country experience to your next function at your place or ours - no matter the size or occasion!

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 starting at 5:30pm Thursday - Saturday. Nearby parking garages are also available.

Public Transit:
We are within walking distance of the red, green, yellow, blue and orange lines.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of Washington D.C.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of D.C. "Best Barbecue in D.C." –The Washington Post; "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." –Wall Street Journal

Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (34)
Authentic (24)
Fun (23)
See All
Comfort Food (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Bar Seating (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Live Music (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great Beer (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
People Watching (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1022 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We were stunned at how unimpressive the food was here after Tim Carman's #1 ranking. The kitchen was out of pulled pork and pork loin by 7:30pm on a Friday. The sausage link my friend ordered had no flavor whatsoever. One of my ribs was tasty, but the other was all fat and bone. The beef was okay, but it was dry and a bit tough, and the flavor was bland. I'm sorry to say I wasn't impressed by either sauce. The regular sauce tasted like slightly enhanced ketchup. The hot sauce had no nuance. It tasted like watered down Tabasco. The side dishes (sweet potatoes and corn pudding) were the highlights of my meal, and the collard greens were mediocre at best.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We ordered the Pit Master special. It was plenty of food for two people and all of the meats were very good, with the exception of the brisket, which was the main dish I was so looking forward to. Biggest complaint: The person who took our order at the counter did not ask if we wanted it moist or dry and what we got was moist but very fatty. Other BBQ joints ask if you want it moist or dry and that would have been helpful, as we forgot to ask. The pinto beans were just fair but the coleslaw and Longhorn mac and cheese were yummy. It was pretty noisy and hard to have conversation. And, our drink (soda and juice) prices were higher than what was shown on your online menu. Better correct those! Overall, the table service was acceptable and these were good eats but not if you want to talk while you eat. The free music was great but really loud!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

This place was great! The food was excellent, the service was first rate. An overall great experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Interesting BBQ place., where you go get your food from the kitchen like a cafeteria! Pulled Pork was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The meat was delicious - especially the brisket - and the serving sizes were just right. The service, both at the table and at the food stations, was great - everyone was friendly and very helpful to this first-timer. The downstairs venue for live music is a great idea - and the band, the Woodshedders, was quite good. The acoustics were a little off - it was hard to hear the vocals. I'm looking forward to any acoustic bands you might feature - it might be easier to hear them...

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had the ribs and they were so tough we didn't even eat them. Very disappointed! The sliced turkey was good. Expensive meal.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Their handling of food allergies was awesome and much appreciated.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Noise level was so high it negated all other qualities for our party. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Best barbecue in the DMV! Can't wait to eat there again. Our whole table loved it the meat was amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Have the waitperson explain the process better.
We were told you were out of sangria - as we watched someone walk by with a pitcher.
my beer came halfway through the meal.
Need more barbeque sauces -but the meat was great.
Sides were too small.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We enjoyed the sides of bourbon sweet potatoes and baked beans with burnt ends even more than the meat. brisket and sausage could have been more juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food is excellent. Much improved since our last visit. The service was friendly and helpful. The place is soooo loud though. Still, a fine evening was had by all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I just didn't think the food was great - given the quality, not good value. I also didn't like the noise level, and the set-up of having to stand in a line to order and receive your food and sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

DC isn't known for BBQ but Hill Country is really good. It's Texas style BBQ with really good meats and pretty good sides.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everyone from my ultra-picky 1 year old to my BBQ conneiseur husband loved the food! Place is loud, so kids can be kids without embarrassing you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had Texas BBQ with good sweet tea and sides. Then we made it downstairs in time for the best seats for an energy filled Nikki Hill show.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, background music wasn't too loud, friendly staff. Would love to go there for the live music.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Absolutely delicious brisket! It was worth every penny

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I was the only person not totally happy with my meat choice - i had the ribs and the meat was not tender enough and they were overseasoned. Tea tastes freshly brewed and sides were amazing.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Delicious and convenient. Food is premade so there is no real waiting! Atmospher is fun and light!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

A fun environment with the best BBQ in the city ! Go hungry and go often.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love the set up of grabbing your food and then sitting down. Really great BBQ compared to the local DC scene, but not the top BBQ compared to options outside the district.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I loved everything we tried. I think the chili was the best I've had. Somethings were sold out by 8:30. Our server was hustling to take care of everything, very friendly. Very, very loud. We had a table upstairs and it was a bit quieter up there. Saw a show after dinner downstairs. I fun night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I'm a native Texan, so a visit to Hill Country is like going home. The food is spot-on Anglo-Texan (except for the margaritas,) heavy on BBQ and Southern-cuisine sides. If you like that sort of thing, there's no better place. The service is fast and friendly. Good happy-hour prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

the food was good!!! the service sucked, we could never find our waiter but we came back again with friends for the food and again this waitress was no where to be found. even when we were trying to leave

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Really good food and lots of gluten-free and dairy-free options

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, People Watching, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Guys serving the meat are not friendly
Very pricey not worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I really enjoyed the food. The BBQ was very good. The pulled pork was very flavorful and the moist brisket is the best I have ever had. I have two complaints. The noise level is very high. I have some hearing loss so it was difficult to understand my wife unless I was also reading her lips. The other is the restrooms are located downstairs. Neither of these will prevent me from returning. The food is awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The restaurant is very good, excellent food, etc.... It's essentially self-service where you order your food ala carte and bring it to your table yourself. So it's not a place where you are served, except for drinks, dessert and the bill.

The main floor is very loud with conversations. It's very popular and a large open space but it's too loud to really have a conversation unless you're sitting next to the person you're with. I didn't know it until I used the restroom downstairs that there is also dining and it's relatively quiet there.

The price was a bit high for a cafeteria style BBQ. But the food was good and overall glad we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The hostess at the door was extremely uninterested and unfriendly. For a first time guest, the concept (you have to order your food at the counter but drinks are served at your table) is somewhat confusing and our waiter was impatient and didn't take the time to explain the process. Food was OK but nothing special. Won't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was amazing, service perfectly suited to the venue (in the sense that there weren't silver platters because it was BBQ, but the servers were excellent). Disappointed that they were out of both burnt tips AND turkey, which were two of the things I wanted to try. Food we did have was great (the bourbon sweet potatoes were on another level), but will just have to go back again for the turkey and ends.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Amazing authentic barbecue experience right in DC! The food was fantastic, with great portion sizes for the price, and the staff were really polite and helpful, explaining how ordering works and even recommending a special. The margarita was also one of the best I've had in a long time. The space is really open without feeling like a cafeteria, and the noise level was pleasantly low - no constant battle between music and conversation, which was really refreshing!

Will absolutely recommend to anyone I know going to DC in the future.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Can't beat the delicious BBQ here but don't miss the sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great BBQ!! We paid $28 combo meal for 2 and it was enough for me and my friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Love this place so much! Amazing food and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Reason to go is meat - great brisket and pork - and you get to decide your portion size from 1/4 lb on up. Margaritas OK, not great; jalapeño version has nice taste but eventually was too spicy for me. Discovered after dinner that there is quieter space downstairs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our family was visiting Washington DC and stopped in for lunch. Our waiter told us the process of going up to the counter to order food and sides. We got the 3-meat meal for $25. The portions are equal to the 1-meat meal for $15, just a better value. We order some extra sides for 3 people.
We tried the Banana Cream Pudding for dessert. Everything was delicious and the service was good. Although, the place does get very noisy.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Delicious although out of brisket at 8pm. Will be back. Slow service

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always solid and pleasant experience and great BBQ!! Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food is great, but the service is spotty. We didn't know who our server was and nabbed a different server 15-20 mins into being seated. The buffet/serving line was odd as well. I encourage lovers of live music to go downstairs if there are performers :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.