Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings.

410 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11:30am
Sunday - Thursday: Kitchen closes at 10pm
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen closes at 11pm
Sunday - Tuesday & Thursday: Late Night Menu until 11pm
Wednesday, Friday & Saturday: Late Night Menu until 12am
Hill Country Bar is open until 2am nightly

Cross Street:
Between D and E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 556-2050

Website:
http://www.hillcountrywdc.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Wednesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountrywdc.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country experience to your next function at your place or ours - no matter the size or occasion!

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 starting at 5:30pm Thursday - Saturday. Nearby parking garages are also available.

Public Transit:
We are within walking distance of the red, green, yellow, blue and orange lines.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of Washington D.C.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of D.C. "Best Barbecue in D.C." –The Washington Post; "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." –Wall Street Journal

Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (36)
Comfort Food (31)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Fun (20)
Authentic (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Family Style (15)
Live Music (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great Beer (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Spicy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Dancing (4)
Seasonal (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
970 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Hill County serves the best brisket this side of Lexington, Texas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Hill Country tries to be a little too folksy at times so much so that it seems forced. It's popularity seeming led to a lot of items being sold out, sad for a 730 reservation really. I'm assuming the lack of attention from any of the wait staff was due to an enormous group nearby, at least I hope so.
What you get for food is good, albeit at a premium price for sure but to pay that amount with flat beer, lack of choices and no service is disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Hill Country Barbecue Market has the best bbq in the DC area. The staff is friendly and very helpful. If you love bbq this is the best place to go.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent food and service you can't ask for anything more👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went on a Sunday evening when there was a Wizard's game. Although it is busy, ordering and getting food was a breeze and very quick. The hard part is what to get and how much of it, it smelled so good. We had the brisket, pulled pork and one of all three kinds of sausage. All of it was amazing. Our waitress was a little slow with drinks due to a lack of knowing the kind of beer we were looking for! We will be back!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was spotty, but friendly. Food is very good and the set up is similar to Rudy's in Texas. It was nice to be able to get small amounts of food instead of large portions for those of us who aren't big eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Hill Country Barbecue has a great and deserved reputation. My first visit there was with a friend. I thoroughly enjoyed a brisket sandwich. The BBQ sauce at the table was outstanding, very flavorful, not just heat. Potato salad side was also very good, some might want to add salt. Above average selection of draft and canned beers, particularly ales and IPAs (had Ballast Point Sculpin Grapefruit, and good old stand by Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, several others). My friend had brisket chunks, he also was very favorably impressed. Bourbon Sweet Potato Mash was sweet and flavorful. The first time there one has to get used to walking back to the room where one chooses and picks up the food, but it seems like it will be more difficult than it actually is. Meat is priced by the pound, I thought the server gave an accurate estimate of a standard amount (which was generous). We were there early on a Thursday night, 5:30 the place had many tables and bar seats open. It was mostly full by 6:30. Music stage downstairs looked like a fun scene, especially if you enjoy silly karaoke - did not get to hear any professional artists. We will go back.

Tags: Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

First off, the food was delicious and our waitress was very helpful. However, I thought the ordering, getting food process was strange/unique/confusing. While I understand being able to see all the meat and delicious sides is a great way to encourage more eating, since each table already has a wait staff, why not just place your order with your wait staff?

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Utterly divine meal. Best BBQ in DC. Would eat here everyday.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The brisket was moist and savory. Also Hill Country offers some exceptional sides like deviled eggs. Sweet potato casserole, and green bean casserole. Place is very loud. Difficult to hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Really, really good brisket, the real deal. The Burnt Orange Margaritas are great & go great with the bbq.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We tried to visit the restaurant back in December/January after a screening at the Navy Memorial. They were closing (it was around 10 pm) so we were disappointed but for this visit we were looking for someplace close to Sidney Harmon Hall and had a relative from Spain so we didn't want to do Spanish. We were pleasantly surprised at the amount of food you got. My hubby got a meat lovers delight and couldn't eat everything in one settling. To go boxes worked and the meat aged well. I was a little disappointed with my chicken size as I ate it in one setting. We'll go back to check it out again and get a better feeling of how good or bad the food is.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I used to go to the locations in NYC when I lived there and was happy to find this one here in DC. While pretty much everything is good you really need to have the Moist Brisket. They offer a lean one which is still good but the moist brisket is the best you will ever have guaranteed. Tender, succulent and magnificent are good ways to describe it. I'm a huge lover of Ribs and while theirs are good, this is one of the few places I'll skip that option and get the brisket instead. The banana pudding is a great way to end the meal, just the right size and made properly with real chunks of bananas and nilla wafers unlike what I've seen elsewhere. Don't plan on having a quiet romantic dinner here, that is not what this place is about. It is loud, sometimes has live music and you have to go up to the grills to pick out your food, etc.

Tags: Authentic, Live Sports, Live Music, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything is amazing!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Drinks are pricey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Classic Texas style BBQ restaurant where the meat is served up directly from the pitmasters with good ambiance and style. The sides were excellent, service was fine, but the BBQ itself was a pretty big letdown. The brisket was tender and cooked nicely but noticeably fattier than what I'd expect to get, however it is hard not to enjoy brisket cooked nicely and I did like it. The pork spare ribs were like eating a shoe, extremely tough and way over spiced with rub. Considering it was dinner rush on a game day with a packed restaurant with a line waiting for tables, I wouldn't expect to get served anything that had been sitting too long on the grill. You can't be a serious BBQ joint and serve ribs like that. The Collared Greens and Baked Beans with burnt ends were awesome, just fantastic sides. I'm not sure what I thought about the butter infused with orange zest for the cornbread but I'll grant it was a cool twist and I'm sure some would love it. The prices seemed fairly typical for a restaurant in that part of DC.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Pretty good food, drinks and live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great Texas bbq. Love coming here with my family. Authentic bbq.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fun atmosphere and delicious food! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I was planning our family D.C. vacation and a friend recommended that we try out Hill Country while visiting. It was awesome: food, service, and atmosphere. I made reservations about a week in advance and I'm glad I did because it was packed.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Here before the Caps game. No wasted time getting drinks, food and check. Server made several stops to check on us, refill water glass, etc. Good BBQ, authentic atmosphere, if anything, I ordered too much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food (meat) was too salty, and service was subpar...maybe use less salt for meat and have friendlier staff/review friendly customer service standards please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Good BBQ in a pleasant informal setting - fun place.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Literally the best barbecue this Texan has ever tasted.

Tags: Vegan, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Moist brisket and chicken are my personal favorites. Bring your appetite because you get a lot of food for the price. The guys behind the meat counter are fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fun, People Watching, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Fantastic BBQ in Penn Quarter in DC! Mondays all you can eat special. Otherwise, show up and order meats by the pound (or 1/4 or 1/2lbs) from Pitmasters! Pick up cold or hot sides and enjoy casually back at table. Yum! I ordered the Cue & 2 (2 meats and 2 sides and 2 skillet corn bread). The moist brisket and pork ribs were excellent! Also enjoyed their collard greens and sweet potato bourbon mash! A must for BBQ lovers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Good food, but we only saw our waitress twice. Once for the drinks and once for check. Would go back though.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I had dinner with a friend here on Sat night. Our table was ready when we arrived for our reservation. Our waitress was very impersonal and not attentive. The food is self service- you walk up to the counter and pick your meat and sides and carry it back to the table yourself. So the waitress doesn't have much to do other than bring drinks, offer dessert and bring the check. She was not friendly or helpful or attentive at all. The atmosphere is loud. It was very crowed and busy the night we went. Sadly, I would not go back nor recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Good ambiance, but the food was just eh. Granted, I only tried one dish. The mac n cheese was eh, very bland. The brisket was good at first, but was overwhelming. It tasted too much like my fireplace smoke smells. Good to smell and good for flavor when used in moderation. This was too much.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is one of our regular places to go before Wizards or CAPS game. Good food, lots of seating and just fun.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Just Good BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Generally, this place never disappoints. We are regulars for their great barbecue and energetic atmosphere. This particular dining experience was ruined by a terrible server, Nancy. Unfortunately, she was rude, inattentive and unapologetic. Other dinners beware and request to NOT sit in her section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I've been here several times before, all on my own accord because I've had good experiences with food and drink and service, but Sunday I didn't. The butchers carving the meat were very friendly, but that was the highlight of my experience. The food ( I got the pit master) was like warm at best, the link was mushy inside and not good, the collars greens and the meat needed seasoning. I was really i was really displeased.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Hill Country has been our go-to BBQ restaurant for all occasions. Its best when you top of your meal with great music in the music venue below the restaurant!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Pros: BBQ and sides were delicious. Enjoyed dessert and left stuffed.

Cons: Didn't like waiting in line with a tray (cafeteria style) to get my meal. I like to be waited on at restaurants--didn't realize this was the set up here. Staff wasn't particularly friendly. Asked for a quiet table, but was seated next to the bar. Super loud!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I love the food sry this place. It's a little pricey but save up because the brisket is worth it. Mac-n-Cheese and banana pudding are delish too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Dancing, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food good a bit salty, nice service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We walked here across the mall after visiting the museums. It was an easy trip to and from, and worth the walk! The food is delicious. The staff was overall helpful and friendly (except for the gentleman behind the meat counter), as it was our first time there. Our server was handling several large tables - it looked like a group of middle school students - but still managed to take good care of us. After being seated and ordering drinks, you're free to go to the "market place" and order your food selections. You're given a tray with your order to bring back to your seat. It's a fun experience if you're in the mood for something a little more casual and DIY. The prices are great for the area and there are a good variety of options on the menu. We really enjoyed our meal and will likely be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Out of most meats unfortunately, including the brisket that we came for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was good, but somehow our table fell through the cracks on service. After receiving our silverware when we were seated, we weren't able to flag down any service team member for the entire meal until finally we were able to get the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.