About Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC

Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings.

410 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11:30am
Sunday - Thursday: Kitchen closes at 10pm
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen closes at 11pm
Sunday - Tuesday & Thursday: Late Night Menu until 11pm
Wednesday, Friday & Saturday: Late Night Menu until 12am
Hill Country Bar is open until 2am nightly

Cross Street:
Between D and E

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 556-2050

Website:
http://www.hillcountrywdc.com/

Entertainment:
Hill Country offers free live music in our Boot Bar Tuesday through Saturday. Join us for our LIVE BAND karaoke every Wednesday starting at 8:30pm and feel like a rock star! For a complete listing of upcoming shows, visit http://music.hillcountrywdc.com.

Catering:
Hill Country Catering & Events brings the award-winning Hill Country experience to your next function at your place or ours - no matter the size or occasion!

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $10 starting at 5:30pm Thursday - Saturday. Nearby parking garages are also available.

Public Transit:
We are within walking distance of the red, green, yellow, blue and orange lines.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for an authentic slice of Texas deep in the heart of Washington D.C.

For more information, please contact our Catering & Events team at events@hillcountrywdc.com or 202-556-2044.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trade in the stuffy corporate event spaces and fussy formal dining rooms for a fun, authentic and delicious slice of Texas, right in the heart of D.C. "Best Barbecue in D.C." –The Washington Post; "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." –Wall Street Journal

Hill Country Barbecue Market - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Fun (25)
See All
Casual (23)
Authentic (20)
Great for Lunch (15)
Family Style (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Great Beer (9)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Live Music (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Dancing (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

Great food, great company, spent with my wife.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place, always bring out-of-town visitors or celebrate special occasions here. This was the first time I've ever received less than stellar service from a waitress. Everyone else was phenomenal as usual: the greeter, the bartender, and the guys preparing the food are all-stars. Maybe the waitress was having an off day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fabulous. Unfortunately, they ran out of the pork, but the brisket and chicken were all that.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Hill Country is convenient for the Shakespeare Theatre-Lansburgh. The food is great. It is nice that the sides come in three different sizes which allows you to share or to sample more choices. The only problem is the odd "market" for getting food. Basically it is a cafeteria except for drinks which the server brings. But again the food is great even with the oddities.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food is very good and some of the better BBQ in DC. They were out of ribs which was a buzzkill. The chicken, mac and cheese, green bean casserole, and Brisket were all great. The burnt ends were ok. The greens were dry and bland. Do not recommend those. Service was terrible. The waited definitely had too many tables, brought the wrong check, and did not attend to our table effectively.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, People Watching, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The only thing that would make this place perfect would be if the waiters served the meat and sides -- from a menu. I've been to Austin MANY times and have never had to go stand in line for some dude to pick up meat and wrap it in paper. Ick. I'd rather not see that. Our server was awesome - but would have gotten a better tip if he did something other than fetch iced tea :(

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great time! Can't wait to go back. The food was great and the atmosphere was fun and festive.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good: Local hot spot for good barbecue. Fun atmosphere. Service good especially for how crowded it is. Side dishes were very good. Meat was tasty but too fatty.

Not-So-Good: Very expensive for BBQ. Meat was very fatty so paying premium prices for lots of fat. Pay by the pound so large amount of what we paid for was just large pieces of inedible fat. Probably won't go back again.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I took my fiancé to Hill County Saturday night 2/11/17. The food was delicious! We had wings and the moist brisket!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I was at Hill Country for Winter Restaurant Week. It's to much food for one person! Overall it was a great way to know American barbecue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This Texan was made to feel at home! I enjoyed the Texas food and decor. Will be back everytime in DC.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always reliable Texas barbeque. Hill Country doesn't disappoint. The ambiance isn't much to write home about, but you go for the really good BBQ and sides, which always deliver.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Brought a friend here for restaurant Week for lunch. She had never been and enjoyed herself. Glad to see Hill Country participating once more in restaurant week. We had brisket, a pork rib, chicken, a side, cord bread, a desert and a beverage. Hill Country always produces quality eats coupled with a wide variety to choose from. A must stop on Restaurant Week.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food is outstanding. The brisket is the best I've ever had and being from NY/NJ I have tasted a lot! Melt in the mouth with flavor for days. Super friendly staff and a very relaxed dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Hill Country was great. Meat is really smoked can be even be eaten without BBQ sauce. Had the brisket and a hot link sausage. Both were excellent. The beans and mac & cheese were also good sides. Enjoyed the banana pudding for dessert.

The smoked orange Margarita was great & went really well with the meal! Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Ran out of short ribs and turkey, but the beef and sausage were outstanding. Will take you back to Texas. Love that they have Big Red, wish they could get Blue Bell Ice Cream back.

Tags: Family Style, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Hill Country is authentic BBQ, served in a great setting, and a convenient location. My husband and I go to Hill Country at least once a month and are never disappointed. The meats are always fresh and juicy, never dry and tough like some other BBQ places. I highly recommend the macaroni and cheese as a side, homemade and heavenly. Because everything is already prepared, the service is quick, great when seeing a show in the area or just looking for a quick bite after work.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Loved everything about Hill Country!! Food was excellent and my server was so attentive but not too much on top of me.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great Beer, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Overall great bbq and even though you think you wont get full you will - pricey but so is everything in DC

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The waitress was very friendly and helpful but I was disappointed in the staff working the cafeteria style food line. The meats guy noted the menu wasn't accurate so there are things on the menu that they don't sell. Not his fault but he wasn't pleasant about it. It took a couple of minutes to get the attention of the cold sides guy and when he got around to serving us, he wasn't very happy either. The hot sides server was at least faster in getting us the sides but, overall, the folks working this part of the operation acted like they didn't care whether or not we had a good experience.

The meats were well prepared, we had the ribs, brisket, and sausages. They only serve one type of sauce but it was very good and went well with every meat dish we got. The sides I'd rate very good. The cucumber salad and cole slaw were tasty and not too juicy. The campfire beans were excellent.

We also caught the live music show downstairs. For no cover charge, they (Man About A Horse) were very talented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Hill Country Barbecue Market had some really good food! We enjoyed the ribs, pork loin, and the sides of macaroni and beans. The ordering is cafeteria style, with the prices for meats quoted per pound. I was a little confused by this and ended up with more food than I needed, but I ate it all. I would call the seating lunchroom style, with long tables in an open room. This is great for large groups, and you could easily get 20 or more seated together.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Fun post-movie spot. Has a sports bar vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a great time with Folk Soul Revival, my wife and I travel to DC annually to see this great band and enjoy fantastic food ...5 star fun!!! We love Hill Country!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had been a favorite in Penn quarter until that visit. Barmaid overcharged us on cocktails and hostess charged us taxes when I bought a gift card. The manager corrected those issues, no apologies however.

Food is great, service is disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love Hill Country BBQ. The atmosphere is super fun and the food is delicious! Make sure to make a reservation since it can be hard to get into during peak dinner times. And come with an appetite!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was great and quick since you order cafeteria style. I loved the banana pudding for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

GREAT BBQ! we'll be back soon. Must try the mac & cheese

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food, pitmasters were friendly, be prepared for large portions.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

great food, server was slow and not attentive to our table.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Three of the four of us were first-timers -- my wife and I and our son's date. Our 28 year old son had been before and loved it . And so did we other three. I knew my wife would prefer something more haute but this was just perfect. We had a reasonably quiet table in a pretty noisy place; all service agents were friendly and forthcoming. I couldn't quite find the right beer until my third try which seemed perfectly o.k. with my wait person. The food was terrific. All the barbecue cuts you might want, all the sides imaginable with barbecue cuisine. The brisket was the best ever -- the juicier of the choices. The string beans and onions as a side was first rate. Sweet potatoes to die for if they don't kill you first. This is not heart-healthy fare but what it is and the place where it was served were just terrific. Larry C

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Really disappointed in the ribs. The brisket wasn't anything special. For a place where you have to get your own food, the food service was incredibly slow.

Overall, a high price to pay for a mediocre dining experience. The only advantage is, this place has gone so far downhill that you can easily walk up and get a table before a Caps game (when every other restaurant is packed).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and excellent sides. Affordable and nicely styled (wooden). Best place for food (meat) in DC!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious bbq, friendly staff, great service and the karaoke w/live band was awesome!!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Recommended by a friend - food was very delicious and service was good. Unfortunately, almost half of the meat selection was not available. This should not happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

no fuss bbq. great flavor, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Service is always great here. Food is good but it can get noisy

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The cafeteria-style serving line is a bit overwhelming for a first-timer who doesn't know the system, but staff are very helpful (and so are other patrons who are regular lunchtime visitors). Casual atmosphere, which was fine with me because I was meeting a former colleague for lunch; might not be the best spot for a more formal business lunch. I had a salad with BBQ pork loin on top. The meat serving was generous. My meat was a bit dry, but I expected that because I purposely chose a lean option (I suspect brisket would have been much better). The salad was also generous, and there were lots of custom toppings available. Compared to other lunch options in the area, this salad offered a decent value for the serving size, with a good amount of protein. Ambiance is fun but LOUD -- not the best place if you're trying to have a meaningful conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had a fun experience at Hill Country and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We went here before our theater performance and enjoyed our meal. VERY loud, but good service, great food, cute decor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Really good Texas-style barbecue - smokey beef brisket, chicken, sausage, pulled pork and brontosaurus-size ribs. Very tasty sides, too. Especially love the collard greens and corn pudding. Downsides: You have to go get your own food (just like at Texas BBQ joints) and the near-deafening noise level during busy periods. You can barely have a conversation with fellow diners. Service was prompt and friendly. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Smell of great BBQ starts this experience. Texas BBQ with appropriate sides (beans with beef tips.....outstanding). Great place to grab a bite before heading to the Verizon Center! Will go again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The brisket (we chose "moist" as opposed to "lean") was wonderfully tender and flavorful with a smokey bark that goes well with their barbecue sauce. My only other wish would be more sauce selections (they had house and Pete's). Oh, that, and they were out of Prime Rib and Shoulder....a bit early at 7pm to be out but we'll give it another shot for those two another time. Collard greens were good; cornbread was actually corn muffins (and at $3.25 a bit much for two small muffins.)

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was good. Service was good too. This was a thanksgiving buffet and a little pricey.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It's like a southern style hometown barbecue place, but with a twist. You take your ordet card to the meat counter and hand it to the meat carvers. They give you what you order by weight, add your price to your card, and then you order your sides. You can taste meat before you order. Everything has great flavor. Brisket is a little on the dry side, but has great flavor and with barbecue sauce added is great. The servers are all really nice and help explain the ordering process. Must try the cinnamon whipped butter that comes with the corn muffins.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is the best Texas BBQ in DC. But it doesn't hold a candle to the real stuff in Texas. Even a chain BBQ joint in Texas is a cut above. Look, the food was real good, the chicken was moist and flavorful. The brisket. Was good but I prefer it without the fat. The ribs were a little tough. But all had a good taste. The sides were plentiful and tasty. I'd go back, but I'm not going out of my way for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding food to include well prepared sides. Tables in so areas a little tight to get in and out of without disrupting those next to you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

As far as barbecue goes, the food was delicious. Service was good, ambiance was great, and it was an enjoyable experience overall. The only criticism I have is how expensive this place is! I have never had more expensive barbecue. Isn't the whole point of barbecue for it to be casual and inexpensive? My husband and I shared a few sides, got two ribs, and 1/4 pound of brisket and paid $60! It was well worth it because the food was so good, but not something we could do often.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The vibe was fun and upbeat. The meat was mediocre at best. The chicken & turkey were the best. The sides were terrific: Cole slaw, mac & cheese, corn pudding, sweet potatoes, collard greens, baked beans, green bean casserole & cornbread. Didn't care for the hot apple crisp. The topping tasted like granola. The banana pudding was excellent. Wanted to try the pb&j cupcake & the brownie but ran out of room. The lager on tap was wonderful!! Service was great. I thought it was a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Brisket good, chicken fair, sides excellent, service good. Pork ribs very bad and way overpriced, any self-respecting BBQ pit master would be embarrassed to serve. Could only survive in Northern city. Just stick to the brisket and sides (and maybe turkey, which they were out of) if you have to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing quality food with a great environment! Best barbecue in DC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.