About High Cotton - Charleston

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Saturday and Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am,
Happy Hour: Daily from 4:00pm-6:00pm (in bar only)
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner seven days a week.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
A beautiful blend of form and function, our three private dining rooms offer flexibility in size and style to complement our flavorful food, fine drink and warm hospitality to create memorable moments. Whether a wedding, social or business event, you'll find a room perfectly suited for celebrating.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Oliver: (877) 624-1064

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (114)
Good for a Date (100)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
See All
Romantic (84)
Historic (65)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Live Music (62)
Local Ingredients (61)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Great for Brunch (56)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Cozy (45)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Notable Wine List (43)
Business Meals (43)
Comfort Food (36)
Authentic (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
People Watching (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Bar Seating (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Casual (23)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fun (19)
Scenic View (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great Beer (6)
Private Room (6)
Family Style (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Fireplace (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was good, but not great. Request ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was good, but not great. Requested lemon for water three times. Bread came later than usual. One dessert was belatedly brought.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Marvelous dinner, waiter was outstanding ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Marvelous dinner, waiter was outstanding as well. Tempura lobster with seared scallops is my favorite. Chef Shawn Kelly is a wizard of culinary delight.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed with the service. If ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

I was disappointed with the service. If you are going to charge top shelf prices you should provide impeccable service. The server did not review the menu, discuss the specials nor seemed to be enthusiastic about her job. The server that brought the appetizer was terrific, she described all the different parts of the meat and cheese board. Later one of our group asked for another glass of wine, it never came. With all the great restaurants in Downtown Charleston I cannot keep High Cotton in my go to list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Good food. Great atmosphere. Excellent ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food. Great atmosphere. Excellent service. (Thanks, Meredith! ). Looking forward to our next visit already.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional meal and waiter. We had ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Exceptional meal and waiter. We had out of town guest that enjoyed the live music during lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our favorite for Sunday Brunch. The cor ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

our favorite for Sunday Brunch. The cornbread is very good and the Bourbon, Bacon donuts are a real treat.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit High Cotton Charleston virtuall ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

We visit High Cotton Charleston virtually every time we are in the Charleston area. We love it so much we had our wedding reception there years ago. They have since changed owner ship and for some time everything has remained largely the same. There were a few small differences in this last visits, hence the ratings of "just good", but we continue to believe that on large, they will all be positive and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

A fall from grace. This was a disappoi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

A fall from grace. This was a disappointing experience, not what we're accustomed to at High Cotton.

One of our guest's entree did not arrive until nearly ten minutes after the other four entrees had been served. It created an awkward situation as the diners in our group would not begin to eat before everyone had been served. After five minutes an incorrect entree was delivered and nearly five minutes later the correct entree was served.

The food was good, our waiter very pleasant and gracious, however it was an experience I would not want to repeat. Yes, it was SEWE weekend and the beginning of wedding season in town, and High Cotton was highly busy. But no excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Had dinner in bar area. Delicious food a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Had dinner in bar area. Delicious food and love the music! Cocktails were super! Will definitely go back when in town again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were good. Group of 8, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were good. Group of 8, and table/booth was generous and roomy. Good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was somewhat greasy and not par ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was somewhat greasy and not particularly imaginative.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful fried oysters. So enjoyed the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful fried oysters. So enjoyed the bar area. Wonderful food. Was not as happy with the coconut cream pie. It was more like a moose.

Would definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meredith, our server, was terrific! My ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Meredith, our server, was terrific! My grown children and I enjoyed our experience. It was the first time we came back since Halls bought it. It was well organized even though it was very busy! Food was good, but Meredith made the night.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful lite fare and drinks at the ba ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful lite fare and drinks at the bar. Great food, especially the fried oysters and onion soup.

Fun, personable bartenders-Patrick and Tivoli

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I dined at High Cotton on We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I dined at High Cotton on Wednesday (2-15) night. We were seated promptly and then greeted by our waiter, Brian. He was very professional - my wife wanted a variation of one of their specialty cocktails which presented no problem. We shared the beet and pear salad, which includes local grown greens and was very fresh and well presented. My wife ordered the filet mignon Oscar (rare) and I had the swordfish, both of which were superb. we then shared a delicious chocolate cheesecake. Needless to say, there were no leftovers!

I highly recommend this restaurant, particularly if you are celebrating a special occasion!

Gary

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shrimp and lobster cocktail was more of ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Shrimp and lobster cocktail was more of a salad than a cocktail style appetizer, and the waiter was more interested in talking to the couple in the both beside us than bringing our drinks out. Other than that, no complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Was not informed about their single menu ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was not informed about their single menu for the night that was 75 dollars per person excluding one of my favorite meals there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Absolutely Wonderful! I took my girlfrie ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely Wonderful! I took my girlfriend there for Valentine's day and we had an amazing time!! The ambiance was perfect, the food was absolutely delicious, and our server was very courteous and helpful! I had fried oysters for an appetizer which was excellent, and I had a prime rib that was the best I have ever had in my life! Then the cheese cake for dessert was superb!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Great food and Great ser ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Great food and Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Touring the college

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Touring the college

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Valentine's Day

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellant dinner--appetisers t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had an excellant dinner--appetisers through dessert. Ambience was wonderful and included a small musical group in a nearby room. Notably my husband (with a hearing issue) and I were still able to have a nice conversation. Great evening.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had dinner the night before leaving on a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had dinner the night before leaving on a cruise. I had last dined here years ago and a lot still remains the same. The best quality of this restaurant is the service. The staff has been well trained and it shows. It is nice to dine in a restaurant that values its patrons. Food was excellent as were the drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants I've ever be ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've ever been to. Love the Coconut Cream Pie, the Tile fish is off the charts. Amazing drinks food atmosphere everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails to please! We eat at High Co ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Never fails to please! We eat at High Cotton nearly every time we are in town visiting our daughter, and it is always excellent. This past weekend we had Sunday brunch, and everyone's meal was delicious. The only possible request I could have is that I would prefer French bread to their house cornbread, excellent as it is, but that is strictly a personal preference. The service is impeccable, attentive and cheerful no matter how many varied requests we may make! Our favorite High Cotton story is that they stayed open when the Peninsula was closed for Hurricane Joaquin in October 2015, so that the adjoining inn could have food for their guests (including our family!) and employees. When they finally were having to close for a day, they made us to-go meals so that we would have dinner that night! Really nice, above expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service with exceptional food

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service with exceptional food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Every aspect of our experience was top n ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Every aspect of our experience was top notch. From our greeting upon arrival, to our departure, our group of four had a memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good, service was above ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was really good, service was above average. Just realize you are ultimately paying for the Charleston experience. That being said, this restaurant did not disappoint. The service food and experience was on par with what I expected for the total cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Bodie our waiter was great!! The chef ne ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Bodie our waiter was great!! The chef needs to add seasonings to the beef and fish tasted plain. The collard greens are great!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best meals I have had in Char ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best meals I have had in Charleston and I am a food snob. A special place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful meal with our family and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a wonderful meal with our family and a friend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our standby when we are in Charleston. G ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our standby when we are in Charleston. Great fresh local oysters. Portobello fries were great also. Tuna dish served on risotto with beet puree and fennel was both tasty and visually appealing. Strawberry pie dessert was unusual in a good way. Service was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place! Open, airy, has that charl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place! Open, airy, has that charleston charm! Love the band cattle in cane on Saturday's!

Food amazing and yummy drinks! Thx u!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific atmosphere, delicious brunch (c ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Terrific atmosphere, delicious brunch (coffee especially fine), very professional staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great time - the menu was extensi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

What a great time - the menu was extensive and very tasty and the service quite good - we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent. Been there several times and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent. Been there several times and has never disappointed us. We ate another well known Charleston restaurant the night before which was surprisingly average, especially after our meal at High Cotton. Personally my favorite ambience of any downtown restaurant. I love the feel of the exposed brick and palm leaf fans.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service & very nice a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, great service & very nice atmosphere. An excellent dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Jennifer, was great and help ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server, Jennifer, was great and helped with food selections. The food was fantastic as we all got different entrees. Wonderful atmosphere too! We will definitely return when in Charleston!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch. Excellent menu selectio ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went for brunch. Excellent menu selections...Melissa, our waitress was awesome. Had a child not feeling well and she went out of her way to see that the child got anything she wanted. All staff was so polite and accommodating to our entire group of 5. The food was great. Seafood crepes, brioche French toast and shrimp and grits...yummm.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were very good. Prices ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food and service were very good.

Prices seemed high to me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.