Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About High Cotton - Charleston

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Saturday and Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am,
Happy Hour: Daily from 4:00pm-6:00pm (in bar only)
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner seven days a week.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
A beautiful blend of form and function, our three private dining rooms offer flexibility in size and style to complement our flavorful food, fine drink and warm hospitality to create memorable moments. Whether a wedding, social or business event, you'll find a room perfectly suited for celebrating.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Oliver: (877) 624-1064

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (140)
Good for a Date (135)
Romantic (109)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Local Ingredients (90)
Fit for Foodies (86)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Creative Cuisine (77)
Historic (69)
Live Music (63)
Great for Brunch (58)
Notable Wine List (56)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Business Meals (45)
Cozy (45)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Authentic (43)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Worth the Drive (43)
People Watching (40)
Comfort Food (37)
Bar Seating (37)
Hot Spot (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Fun (32)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Casual (17)
Seasonal (15)
Scenic View (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Private Room (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Healthy (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Family Style (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Fireplace (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
4990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 15 hours ago

Very disappointed- reservations at 830 pm, sat at 9-30 mins after ordering we were told 2 items they ran out of and then when dinner was served one meal showed up cold and then the one that they ran out of suddenly showed up however it was a sorry piece of fish that did not taste good at all !! Strange for this top rated establishment!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 16 hours ago

Absolutely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

I can't speak for the lunch or dinner menu (because we haven't eaten there at those times yet), but the brunch was great. The plates are big, so don't worry about getting enough food. My wife had the French toast and not only was it delicious, it was huge! I had the breakfast plate and it was more food than I could eat (although I did give it my best effort). Will definitely return to try dinner and lunch, just didn't have room in the schedule this trip.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

We had an excellent meal! Our waitress, Sarah, was fantastic and helped make a very special day even better. Would definitely recommend for a dressy dinner out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Grits were great but shrimp were mealy. Very nice place

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious. Service was technically umpeccable. That being said...Did not feel welcomed at all. Overall impression was delicious food, pretentious atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Jared was great, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

High Cotton is always a great choice when in Charleston. It is on the top of my list as a favorite. The food is great; the tables are not too close together and if they have music, it is not too loud to interfere with conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

High Cotton was one of best dining experiences that we have enjoyed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

My corporate boss thought it was awesome. More food than we could eat. If the boss is happy, everyone is happy!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Clearly one of the best restaurants in Charleston. Some dishes a little pricey but the quality is over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Come to Charleston every year. Always go to Cotton Club. One of our favorites.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food and ambience..
Real feel of the charm of a classy southern eatery with no pretense. Best shrimp and grits ever and great cocktails! Went for brunch and dinner a few nights later and still missing the food since we're back in Los Angeles!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Requested booth got a great seat
Seated us early for our reservation
Server excellent
Food great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Nice variety of food and great wine list. Even the steak on the children's menu was fantastic. Scallops in the seafood pasta were cooked perfectly.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A truly fine dining experience. Both the food and the service were excellent. We couldn't ask for a nicer evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Exceptional service by all restaurant staff. Minimal waiting for food. A few more non-seafood options would've been great. The portabella fries are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We enjoyed the Sunday Brunch. We did brunch for our anniversary. All of the staff was very professional and the service was well timed .Just the total ambience of the restaurant was very nice. Would recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

High Cotton is by far our favorite brunch restaurant in Charleston! From the shrimp and grits to waffles to crab eggs Benedict you can't go wrong!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Never disappoints. Great for brunch, lunch, drinks or dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were excited to try this place and made time for brunch. The shrimp and grits were awesome. I had the crab cake Benedict but the crab cake was over cooked and dry. I was disappointed with that. Excellent service. We would go again to give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Good food, but our room was overtaken by 2 large parties and our service suffered tremendously. They had 2 people only filling water while the server was expected to manage about 25 people, including a 13 person party and he was taking time filling coffee and other small things that he shouldn't have been expected to do.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were interested to see how the restaurant has changed since the Hall Family took ownership. Our server was great, A+, food was good, B+. I ordered Tilefish and seemed over cooked. Otherwise only positive comments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Friendly female bartender Our waiter Tony was excellent.
Even though restaurant was crowded moose level was bearable and able to have a normal conversation.
Drinks, food and service was impeccable
Highly recommend High Cotton if you enjoy
an upscale type restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great for happy hour or dinner. Excellent food and service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A dependable-choice restaurant, with good to great food, professional service down the line, and a pleasant ambiance in the main dining room. The noise level could be a little less obtrusive--my wife always complains about the noise--but it's not really that bad. Recommend almost any seafood, almost any appetiser.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I had heard about High Cotton for years and was thrilled to go. It is a gorgeous setting. The serving staff is top notch. I was disappointed in my entree. Broccoli raab was overly spiced and the stalks were hard as a rock. Inedible. Squash was tasteless. Tile fish needed more flavor. I wouldn't go back for such an expensive meal. Very disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The folks at High Cotten made our 29th Anniversary dinner a special occasion that we will always remember. The food was delicious, the service is what we will remember. The staff exemplifies the best of Charleston hospitality! The genuineness of their service and well wishes were served as well as the wonderful food.
We can't wait to visit Charleston again and dine at High Cotton!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was one of our favorite meals. This was our first time there. It will now be added to the list of restaurants we will book at each time we go to Charleston. The food was excellent, and the service was great also. This is a very nice restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sunday brunch was great way to spend Mother's Day !

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed the brunch there on Mothers Day. The blue grass try was fun and added to the festivities. The food was great - the coffeecake was moist and flavorful. My husband enjoy the steak, eggs and his bloody Mary.
All in all a wonderful day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and enjoyed every bit of Mothers Day Brunch

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent main course meal and the service was the best I've experienced in a long time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A very nice formal restaurant with a focus on seafood dishes, although they had a selection of steaks. On the pricier side. They source a lot of ingredients locally, which I like to support.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Was immediately welcomed with "Happy Anniversary" upon arrival. Wait staff all did the same. Manager gave us complimentary champagne before our meal arrived. Food was wonderful. I had the Mahi and it was cooked and seasoned perfectly. My wife had the shrimp and grits and said it was the best she'd had. She particularly enjoyed the fact that it wasn't made with super heavy cream. Our cremebrulee was tasty as well and once again the Manager brought us complimentary Hungarian dessert wine to pair with our dessert. It was excellent together. Overall we had a wonderful evening and would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic Saturday brunch with live music. Creative menu with delicious food. Would highly recommend making a reservation for brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Live Music, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Both the food and service were wonderful! Highly recommend the cinnamon rolls (must get there before noon)!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service at bar and at table. Food was delicious and beautifully presented.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great ambiance and service. Wish there was more selection for non-seafood diners.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Private Room, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.