Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About High Cotton - Charleston

High Cotton - Charleston is high steppin’ Lowcountry living. It’s a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You’ll find it in our gracious, knowledgeable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable wine and cocktail program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.

Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Saturday and Sunday brunch. Private dining rooms available for wedding, business and social events.

199 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday-Friday from 5:00pm, Saturday & Sunday from 5:30pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:00am – 2:00pm
Bar: Opens daily at 4:00pm until 12am,
Happy Hour: Daily from 4:00pm-6:00pm (in bar only)
Private dining available for brunch, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, and dinner seven days a week.

Cross Street:
Cumberland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 724-3815

Website:
http://www.highcottoncharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live jazz nightly and during Sunday brunch. Saturday Gospel Brunch is offered on Saturdays from 10-2pm. Visit www.highcottoncharleston.com for the full music schedule.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Kelly

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

High Cotton - Charleston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (133)
Good for a Date (128)
Good for Anniversaries (112)
See All
Romantic (101)
Fit for Foodies (85)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Local Ingredients (70)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Live Music (61)
Worth the Drive (59)
Great for Brunch (59)
Notable Wine List (56)
Authentic (49)
Business Meals (47)
Sunday Lunch (47)
Good for Groups (45)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
People Watching (41)
Cozy (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Bar Seating (35)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Comfort Food (33)
Hot Spot (32)
Fun (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Casual (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Scenic View (16)
Seasonal (10)
Healthy (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
5309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Drinks were very good . Manager was very attentive . Food was very slow ( 60+ minutes ) even with a later reservation , and a bit underwhelming for the price point . Ambiance was spot-on . Worth a try , but wouldn't rush back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Good news bad news. Good news is that my wife thoroughly enjoyed her salmon dinner and all it's sides. On the other hand the she crab soup had a heavy flour taste and had backfin meat rather than the normal lump meat. Also would prefer sherry rather than a dolop of sour cream. Further the stuffing completely ruined a flavorful piece of trout. Otherwise service and atmosphere was fine. Might try it again.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

High Cotton was delicious!! I'm still talking about it. The best garlic Focaccia bread I have ever had...EVER! I got the shrimp and grits which was different from any other I have had at other restaurants. The bowl had the perfect portions of grits, shrimp, and sausage. The only negative I have is the service was a bit slow, but all well worth the wait. I highly recommend and will return.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I cannot say enough about the bread!! I wish I knew how to make it myself or order it through the mail! The entree was the perfect size and the flavor of each component of the entree was discernible and delectable. I also loved the atmosphere of the restaurant. It was very refined without being snobby. P.S. get the sherry after dinner👌🏻

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My daughters and I were celebrating our birthdays and had dinner at High Cotton. The service was excellent, food delicious and atmosphere divine. My daughters and I all ordered seafood and all three dishes were prepared well and displayed well on our plates. We had coconut pie for desert and was so very good. Our waiter brought out desert out with candle lite! We will return to High Cotton again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. We had an enjoyable evening. No rush, just a very laid back meal with jazz playing in the background from the bar. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My son, who lives in nearby Johns Island, recomended High Cotton because he had dined there previously and had thoroughly enjoyed it. My wife and I were visiting from Ohio and wanted to celebrate two birthdays and our wedding anniversary so we decided on High Cotton and we had an exceptional dining experience. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. Definitely a meal to remember.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite places while visiting Charleston. Phenomenal atmosphere (lucky to have sat by a window). Service was over the top with great attention to detail. Excellent food with a great variety at brunch. Crabcake Benedict was the best I've had yet. My husband had the oysters florentine - both delicious. A must try if you are in Charleston!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

I love this place. HC has become one of my very favorite restaurants in Charleston. The food is good the service impeccable what more could you ask for!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

As a family we enjoyed our dinner, however the French merlot was not a good choice of wine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice for a special occasion. I do not think anyone would be disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We had the calamari, swordfish dish with white beans and a few mushrooms, and the lobster tails dish with risotto and we both thought all the food was too salty. The twin lobster tails dish was not worth it for the price of $46. There was only one scallop on there and that had a really strong smoky grill flavor. The risotto was not nearly as good as we were told and all the bacon were soft fatty white pieces. We did not have dessert. I've had better here before, so I'm not sure what happened with all the food this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2017

My husband and I went to High Cotton and were quite impressed. We enjoyed the she-crab soup, the Bibb lettuce salad and we split the seafood ravioli. We each had a fun cocktail - 199 and the Southern Mule. Both were great. Overall the food and service were wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dinner was delicious! Steak was cooked to perfection. Service was great and the live music was a great touch. Not to loud but just enough for the back ground. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Really loved the atmosphere! At first I thought it might be stuffy but they had this wonderful couple playing the mandolin and guitar and singing in the bar and you could hear their tunes throughout the restaraunt. The bar is super cozy and I'd love to spend more time there! The food and service was incredible. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

👍🏼👍🏼 two thumbs up, way up!!! Delicious meal, great service and great overall atmosphere. Jennifer was our server, she was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fresh salads, southern style, Charleston Charm, Authentic Entertainment, My family of four we all enjoyed lunch at High Cotton for me and the wife's 21st Anniversary Lunch in beautiful downtown Charleston.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Beautiful setting and ambiance, friendly prompt service, good selection on menu and overall very good food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It took a very long time to get out main course and my wife didn't get what she ordered. Because it had take so long and we had little kids with us we weren't about to send it back. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

I absolutely love this place! Make it your first go to brunch in Charleston.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The service was superb and the food wa exceptional. We went for Sunday Brunch. The pastries were the best I ever had and I have eaten in a multitude of fine restaurants. The variety of breakfast items were pleasing and the quality and taste very good.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great menu! The food is delicious and the service is excellent. Both dinner and brunch menus offer wonderful choices!! Cocktails are delicious. They also have live music for Sunday brunch and in the evening for dinner. A nice touch!! Highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great brunch, with exceptional service. the only complaint is :I can't go there every day for brunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The location and Ambiance was great. Our initial greeting from the Manager was fantastic and the Espresso Martini was amazing. Our waiter at the table was just okay. No smiling and acted annoyed with us. The food was good but not as good as other places we had previously been too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Perfect as always! So glad I celebrated my 30th here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great experience. Wonderful food. Fantastic service, Jeremy was delightful. Our first time but absolutely not our last. Excellent preparation and presentation. Could not be more pleased with our experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent service
Great variety on the menu especially the fresh fish options
Coconut pie awesome, wow the crust was even coconut.
Beautiful restaurant not to loud just perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great service great food. We went for brunch there Danish pastry was good as well as a strawberry shortcake! Their bloody Mary was perfect. Would definitely go back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Went here for brunch. Food was excellent and there was live bluegrass! Portions are large so order accordingly!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We will ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS come back here every time we are in Charleston! High Cotton is unlike any other restaurant we have ever experienced! Love this place so much!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We had an impeccable dinner from start to finish. The food was phenominal! Especially the mushroom ravioli!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2017

WOW what a fabulous meal. One of the best dining experiences during our stay in Charleston. Everything was very fresh, service was very good. I highly recommend High Cotton

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We had a wonderful time and Melissa our waitress was just amazing!!! We will be back again!!! Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We went to High Cotton for brunch on Sunday, 10/1/2017. Our waitress was prompt, friendly, efficient, and attentive. I ordered the Crab Cakes Benedict - excellent! My wife ordered the daily special: quiche with a side salad. She said it was very tasty, though she later said it wasn't quite enough.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Doooooo itttttttt. We drove from Myrtle to Charleston during a weekend getaway for brunch. Worth every penny and every mile. Perfect brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2017

In my opinion, the best brunch in Charleston! Their pastry chef is amazing!! The cinnamon bun and sweet biscuit with blueberry compote is a MUST!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch - outstanding food & service. Did not rush us at all, which is unusual for a prime time, high demand restaurant. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing food and service. This is our mew favorite spot in charleston! Our waiter James was outstanding, he really took care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Southern hospitality and great food....loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.