Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.29mi
  2. Distance: 5.30mi
  3. Distance: 5.35mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi
  1. Distance: 3.29mi
  2. Distance: 5.30mi
  3. Distance: 5.35mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.29mi
  2. Distance: 5.30mi
  3. Distance: 5.35mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi
  1. Distance: 3.29mi
  2. Distance: 5.30mi
  3. Distance: 5.35mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi

About Heirloom - Midway

"Voted Best New Restaurant in the State of KY 2007"- The Lane Report.

"Voted Best Fine Dining Restaurant in Lexington Area"- KY Monthly Magazine.

Located in the heart of horse country and just 15 minutes from downtown Lexington. Offering an extensive boutique wine list and specializing in eclectic contemporary cuisine.

125 East Main Street
Midway, KY 40347
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 846-5565

Website:
http://www.heirloommidway.com/

Parking Details:
Parking on the street. There is free valet parking every Friday and Saturday nights in the warmer months!

Executive Chef:
Mark Wombles

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Heirloom - Midway Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
See All
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Authentic (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

The BEST restaurant in Kentucky! Always beautiful food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Great recommendation! The service was fantastic. Along with the drinks, appetizers, meal and dessert. We will definitely return. Worth the drive for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

There was a large group inside so noisier than we preferred. The staff was wonderful and set an outside table for us. Food was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Heirloom was a wonderful find during our trip to the Lexington area. The location in the historic village of Midway is beautiful and the restaurant is outstanding. We live in the Chicago area which has many great dining options. Heirloom is on a par with top Chicago restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Absolutely delicious. Excellent menu choices. Very affordable. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone desiring delicious food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My husband and I have visited Heirloom on multiple special occasions. It is our go to place to celebrate! Every single thing is outstanding from the service to the food and from start to finish. I do not believe there is a better restaurant in central Kentucky and we have wined and dined at several of Lexington's more popular foodie spots. Plan to make a reservation and take your time enjoying fantastic food in a wonderful little Midway, KY gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was our third trip to the Midway area and to this restaurant. On our first two visits, we had great experiences. In fact that was why we took friends with us. On our most recent visit we were very disappointed with the food. The Caesar salad had a strange taste, the chicken livers were dry and overcooked with almost no sauce (the waitress did remedy this) and the steak was overcooked. Our waitress was very good and we were comped on the appetizers, but overall I do not think we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

An amazing gem. Fresh original foods, amazing quality, friendly staff. I hate writing a good review for a restaurant I want all to myself. It is just too good not to share. Great fun, delicious local foods, delightful staff, and just a wonderful environment.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Another fantastic meal and evening at Heirloom. This restaurant still continues to beat any offering in Lexington, including its sister restaurant Distill'd. The the service is excellent and each plate shows care. It delivers high end cuisine while maintaining a comfortable, almost neighborhood feel. The clientele reflects this, with the dining room just as likely to have folks in Stetsons and cowboy boots as business suits. The common thread is that each person in the room receives the utmost attention from the kitchen and the serving staff. I'd like to thank Moe for his great service that night. He is knows how to balance his attention so that needs are met, but you aren't interrupted throughout the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 23, 2017

They seem to be slipping; even French fries were warmish and soggy. The menu never changes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Everything was delicious. The service was great and friendly. Worth the trip for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Top notch! We have NYC friends who rank Heirlooms as high as Jean Georges restaurant in NYC. The food, service and atmosphere is first class.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Organic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is one of my all time favorite restaurants . Everything about the restaurant makes the dining experience pure pleasure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

This is my second time at Heirloom. It was to celebrate my 53rd birthday. Our food was absolutely fabulous -- a unique mixture of sweet and spicy flavors, aesthetically pleasing presentations, and locally-sourced ingredients. Our waiter was helpful in explaining and recommending some plates on the menu. We will definitely return to the restaurant sometime this fall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My girlfriend and I had an absolutely fantastic meal here ! We ordered the cheese plate , tempura grouper , tenderloin and scallop entrees !! This place was a gem, only 12 min outside of Lexington! We wIll definitely be back . Vincent took exceptional care of us as our server !

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We absolutely loved our first experience at Heirloom! Excellent food and wonderful setting for a quiet date together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Heirloom was fantastic. I can't wait to go back! The vegetarian dish, "ratatouille " was amazing...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Had family visiting from NYC and Washington, DC area. All were very impressed. Very enjoyable!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Always one of our favorites! Love the scallops,and the specials are never disappointing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Two times in one week, and a 30 minute drive each way should say it all! The Heirloom is my new favorite place to eat. I love everything about it especially how my waiter BO makes my favorite drink-
Again I started with the cheese tray and wine, followed by the warm spinach salad-delicious, and the roasted Halibut with couscous, charred eggplant puree, roasted tomatoes & olive. Fabulous food, fabulous service, fabulous home made breads and deserts. The Wines and the best too.
Can't wait to return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I have come many times over the past few years and really love the food. Great service, wonderful atmosphere as well. Don't too many of you come, I still want to be able to get in!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Heirloom is one of my favorite places to eat. The menu is always creative and never disappoints. I have always. Even pleased with the food and wonderful service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Outstanding food and service, laid back so you can enjoy you dining experience, will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at Heirloom! My new favorite restaurant in the Lexington area, Midway. Try the wonderful cheese board and wine to start!. Love the Scallops but you can't go wrong with anything. Another favorite of mine is the halibut fish dinner. The home made bread made in house and desserts also made right there at the Heirloom is best ever! Cozy, great mixed and wine list too. Can't get enough of Heirloom.
Make reservations. Best waiter-BO. Thanks and see you soon!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This was our second time at heirloom! It has become our special occasion place to go!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This is a nice restaurant that came highly recommended. The service was good and it was a place you could relax and talk. The menu for lunch was somewhat limited however, the food was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were first time diners. The food was very good, the service was excellent, and the atmosphere was very pleasing. My only complaint (and it's not really even a "complaint") would be that it is a bit overpriced - in my opinion. Not so much that it would keep me from going back, though. Worth traveling to Midway for, to be sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We brought 2 friends that had never been to Heirloom and they were typically very impressed by all aspects of the meal, service, etc. We were also very glad we were early (for our reservation) since it filled up quickly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

What a great lunch! Terrific fried chicken and the shrimp pasta incredible. Now see why people from Lexington and Louisville drive there to eat. Will certainly be back next time we are in lexington!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Each time I go to Heirloom the food seems to taste better and better. Truly the best food I've ever had, anywhere. My husband and I went there for date night expecting some alone time and adult conversation but we were both so engrossed in the delicious meal all we did was eat and roll our eyes at each other as if to say, "How can food taste this good?!". I'm ruined for any other restaurant. I know any meal I have anywhere else will never compare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and outstanding cuisine! A must for locals or visitors.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

A birthday tradition for my wife, one that has NEVER failed to live up to expectations once again hit the nail on the head. Charcuterie, Warm Spinach Salad, Crab Cake, Halibut, Lemon Chicken Liver Ravioli (there were 4 of us) all received rave notices. A small eclectic menu with something for everyone, you won't make a mistake taking the short scenic drive from Lexington to Midway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Heirloom is consistently top notch ! Always enjoy dining there. Whether it's with my husband, couples or just girls, it always great good, drink and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vegan, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Always excellent! Their sweet tea is so good and the blackened shrimp with shredded zucchini was delicious. I brought my leftovers home and it was even tastier the next day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

A disappointment, they didn't know our reservation exisited
The food was no where it used to be

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Best place to eat in Midway. Also one of our top choices in finer dining for special occasions. We've never been disappointed in the quality of our meal. The service is fantastic and the atmosphere is very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Oh my goodness, where do I start? Heirloom is one of my favorites! My husband and I shared two entrees. I got the fried chicken with arugula and he got the fish and chips. They are both outstanding! I think if I had to pick a favorite, it would be the chicken. It's like no other. Our meals came quickly and our server was so friendly! We're from Louisville, but we wouldn't hesitate to make the trip again and again! My VERY favorite restaurant is Jack Fry's for reference. Heirloom could easily become my #2! And that's saying a lot! Life's too short to eat boring food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It was pouring rain when we arrived ( a little early for our reservation) and there was no valet service. I guess since the rain was so severe the valets were not working , understand that. Our table was ready and we so enjoyed our meal from the appetizer through the main course. Excellent presentation and the food was delicious ! It was our 8th wedding anniversary , and my wife said I hit a homerun picking , Heirloom!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Heirloom delivers every time! Thank you for the continued excellence in all facets. Cheese plate is simply delicious and a very good value. Both halibut and tenderloin entrees were outstanding. Always worth the drive from Shelby County. Best restaurant in Lexington but in Midway.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.