Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.29mi
  2. Distance: 5.30mi
  3. Distance: 5.35mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi
  1. Distance: 3.29mi
  2. Distance: 5.30mi
  3. Distance: 5.35mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.29mi
  2. Distance: 5.30mi
  3. Distance: 5.35mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi
  1. Distance: 3.29mi
  2. Distance: 5.30mi
  3. Distance: 5.35mi
  4. Distance: 8.73mi

About Heirloom - Midway

"Voted Best New Restaurant in the State of KY 2007"- The Lane Report.

"Voted Best Fine Dining Restaurant in Lexington Area"- KY Monthly Magazine.

Located in the heart of horse country and just 15 minutes from downtown Lexington. Offering an extensive boutique wine list and specializing in eclectic contemporary cuisine.

125 East Main Street
Midway, KY 40347
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 846-5565

Website:
http://www.heirloommidway.com/

Parking Details:
Parking on the street. There is free valet parking every Friday and Saturday nights in the warmer months!

Executive Chef:
Mark Wombles

Private Party Contact:
Mark Wombles: (859) 846-5565

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Heirloom - Midway Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (37)
Special Occasion (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Cozy (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Healthy (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Seasonal (9)
Historic (8)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (0)
Sort By:
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Heirloom is wonderful in every way. The town of Midway is a treat to visit, and Heirloom is the crown jewel of several good restaurants there. It is one of Kentucky's best--an easy, scenic drive from Lexington and no more than an hour from Louisville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was very good and our server was great. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and what he thought was the best food.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, heirloom is a great place to eat. One of the best places to eat in Kentucky, if not the best - I would put it in the top three. The menu is a bit limited but that's due to truly seasonal dishes. The chef does amazing things with what is in season. The service is top notch, we like Bo but the wait staff is professional and there isn't anyone that works there that isn't great.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My husband and I really enjoy eating here. The atmosphere is great, and the food is amazing. The staff are always very friendly. I try something new each time, and each time I find a new "favorite" dish. We took our in-laws that traveled here from Owensboro, they loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 12, 2017

All six of us had outstanding food. The atmosphere was great as was the service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Cheese plate was delicious. Entrees were tasty, perfectly cooked and filling.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had guests in from out of state for the Kentucky Derby and what a way to conclude the evening at such a superb restaurant. The service (Meredith was OUTSTANDING) and the food was delicious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food is outstanding as well as the manhattans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great midpoint meeting place for good food, locally sourced, and quiet conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great stop after doing horsey things in Lexington.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always a treat! Consistent food quality and ambience

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Fantastic meal!!! They were so accommodating and we loved the food! Will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Heirloom was one of the best restaurants we have ever been to. The food was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

There is no better dinner destination on a spring evening than Heirloom restaurant in Midway. The venue is sophisticated but quaint. Our server was friendly and on point throughout the evening. The dinner was fresh, creative and delicious. The restaurant is small so has a very personal feel about it. It was a lively and vibrant atmosphere especially given that it was Keeneland meet time. We so enjoyed our evening at Heirloom. The drive from Lexington to Midway is among one of the most beautiful drives in the country. This restaurant is among the best we've ever visited.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Heirloom is one of my favorite restaurants . Great menus for both lunch and dinner. They change the menus seasonally so there's always new items on the menu. The staff (Bo, Hanna and Gretchen) are very friendly and attentive. We go every Wednesday because it's half-price night on any bottle of wine on the menu. Great atmosphere for locals and the Keeneland people to come to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Everytime we know that we will be in the Lexington area the first thing we do is make a reservation at the Heirloom. We have not been disappointed in the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always, a terrific dining experience. The cheese plate and pork are unrivaled. Fantastic service. Worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We took our granddaughter to our favorite place in the Bluegrass; Mark didn't disappoint. Every meal was wonderful. Truly special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Have been there before and enjoyed both atmosphere and food so I took two friends from out of town for lunch. The menu seemed even more limited than usual. My order was so hot and spicy I ate very little of it. One of my friends ordered fried chicken only to learn no dark meat was available. The waiter was quite good and it was fun to spend an afternoon in Midway, but all in all, our trip to Heirloom was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We are from out of town and drove to Heirloom from nearby Lexington after reading the reviews. There were four of us, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. My husband had the crab sandwich with fries and said it was good, my mother had the hamburger with fries and said it was delicious. My father and I had the Caesar salad and it's honestly one of the best Caesar salads I have EVER had. I'm pretty well traveled and have eaten at places all over the world, and loved the freshness of this salad with the shrimp which was seasoned to perfeciton.

The restaurant itself is relaxing and the service is very good, quick and friendly. I will definitely go back if we are in the area again.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was absolutely fabulous! My wife the English pea salad with mascarpone - said it was the best salad she ever had, and I loved my warm spinach salad. My wife had the halibut, it was divine! I had the beef tenderloin - YUM! The halibut came with an "onion" risotto, but my wife is not eating carbs, so I got the risotto. I have to say, it was the highlight of the meal! Cooked perfectly, outstanding flavor. Enjoyed the meal with a fabulous Sanctuary Pinot Noir.

I live in Louisville, and we make the 45 minute drive to Midway to shop downtown and go to Heirloom. Best restaurant in KY! And that is saying a lot as I think Louisville is one of the best dining town in the entire country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My husband and I have decided that Heirloom is our hands down favorite restaurant. We live in Lexington and will happily drive to Midway. Every bite is amazing from start to finish. The service is always outstanding. You won't find better fine dining in this area!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our evening was wonderful...Heirloom is a very unique restaurant nestled in the historic town of Midway. If you're looking for interesting food and cocktails prepared with style and fantastic flavor, this is the place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fantastic food and great service
Would recommend this to anyone who enjoys fine dining .
Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Brought our son to Heirloom to celebrate winding up his Senior year at UK. The food was absolutely delightful. Every item was tasty, well done, an distinct. Chef was willing to turn one of the entrees into an appetizer so we got 4 samples of the menu. Service was excellent, conversation easy. Highly recommend this as a place for a nice dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Best kept secret in central Kentucky .........special food, service, and location!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I am loathe to rave as much as I would like to about this restaurant for fear it would get so popular that I can't find a table .., but, it deserves high praise. It is a total gem of a place.
The food is highly creative and refreshingly different from the usual, though good, places. Everything tastes fresh and delicious.
Had a wonderful pea shoot salad to start and then scallops which were served with the most divine vegetables.
The servers are all lovely.. professional and non-intrusive while still being warm and enthusiastic about the food they are serving.
The decor is simple but very attractive.
If it wasn't such a long drive for us, we would be dining here regularly. It certainly is worth the drive from Louisville to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Heirloom is without a doubt deserving of every accolade it has received. Over the past six years it has become our favorite restaurant for special occasions of all types and the place to bring visitors from near and far. My wife and I dine out frequently and there is no other restaurant that continually delivers the quality of food and service in Kentucky that can be found at Heirloom.
On this occasion, we dined on Fresh Spring Pea salad, Scallops and Duck. We stimulated our appetites with the Cheese Board whose selection changes frequently. Although the menu is small there is something on it for everyone and all the preparations are unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I was super excited to try this restaurant. My husband and I were in town for his 30th birthday weekend. We had reservations and our table was ready as soon as we got there. Super. That's where the positives stop. Our waitress Hanna had zero interest in us. We waited 15 minutes to order drinks. It was not a full dining room. She finally came over and said something about "getting distracted". Cool. She made no effort to talk us through anything on the menu. When our food came an hour later, my pork was cold. When she checked on us 10 minutes after that she offered to have the kitchen warm it up. That's just going to dry out the already tough meat. No manager/owner came over to apologize or try to correct it. When time came to leave she only brought out one of the boxes of food we were supposed to have. When we mentioned the second box she went back to check on it. Then came back saying that someone else took it. What?! How is that even possible. Just admit that you accidentally threw it away. She clearly works there for the tables of businessmen who go there for meetings. It was embarrassing to watch her flirt and give all of her attention to one table. The food was pretty good but if you don't have the service to back it up, you'll never survive. Hire better people.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We took some relatives from out of town for lunch and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. The food is delicious and the setting quite comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We had a wonderful business dinner at Heirloom. Dinner salads were delicious and then between the four of us we had tried 3 different entrees: the Pork, beef, and fish. All were fantastic. The drive to Midway makes the experience phenomenal and the cute town.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was wonderful as were the drinks. It was more like eating a meal in NY or DC.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had an amazing time! Fabulous food!!! We haven't gone out on a date in quite a while and this made up for it!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have dined at Heirloom many times and it is always a delight. Good service and ambience and a menu that is not overwhelming. The food is consistently excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Top 100 restaurant in the country and the best in KY. On the Bourbon Trail. Good bourbon list . Owner chef is great and flexible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Service is great and the chicken liver mousse on toast appetizer is addictive!

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went to Heirloom to celebrate my wife's birthday and our first outing alone since our 6 month old was born. It was our first visit to the restaurant. The ambiance and decor are nice and the high backed booths cut down on noise making conversation possible. The food was of very high quality although the menu was a bit sparse with a single vegetarian option. We enjoyed the starters of a beet and carrot salad and an excellent cheese plate that was well curated. A highlight of the meal was the second course of the chicken livers with cheese ravioli that hit the spot with a savignon blanc. The other starter, grouper tempura had an interesting sauce but a touch heavy for what it was. While visually very appealing was somewhat unremarkable. Both entre's, the duck and filtet mignon were excellent although the plates were somewhat cluttered with 1 too many veggies. i had the steak and on the plate were grilled baby brussel sprouts, trumpet mushrooms, potatoes in duck fut and celeriac puree. The plate looked a little messy and visually did not stand out. This detracted somewhat from the experience of what was a very well cooked medium rare steak. We skipped dessert but but looking at the menu a selection of 4-5 interesting options were presented.

One major disappointment were the cocktails which we had with the starters (cheese plate and carrot and beet salad). They were pedestrian and uninspired setting a tone for the meal that thankfully the food overcame. The pomergranate martini was clearly made with canned pomergranate juice and lacked any balance. My gin and ginger cocktail was something I would expect at a corner dive bar. Despite this we will return for sure, just sticking to wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

5 Star without a doubt! Excellent Service, Extraordinary food and great ambiance.

Best restaurant in KY hands down and one of the best restaurants in the U.S.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went to Heirloom for a Birthday dinner with my wife. The restaurant took care of some things for me ahead of our arrival. They were extremely accommodating and seemed genuinely happy to help. The food was incredible and the atmosphere is perfect for date night or other special occasions. I would highly recommend Heirloom!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.