About Heirloom - Midway

125 East Main Street
Midway, KY 40347
View Larger Map

"Voted Best New Restaurant in the State of KY 2007"- The Lane Report.

"Voted Best Fine Dining Restaurant in Lexington Area"- KY Monthly Magazine.

Located in the heart of horse country and just 15 minutes from downtown Lexington. Offering an extensive boutique wine list and specializing in eclectic contemporary cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 846-5565

Website:
http://www.heirloommidway.com/

Parking Details:
Parking on the street. There is free valet parking every Friday and Saturday nights in the warmer months!

Executive Chef:
Mark Wombles

Private Party Contact:
Mark Wombles: (859) 846-5565

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Heirloom - Midway Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (19)
Local Ingredients (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Historic (9)
Cozy (9)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
847 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 13 hours ago

Heirloom has to be one of our favorite dining venues because of the amazing ambiance and the more amazing food. It never disappoints.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding. Simply no other way to describe the food at Heirloom than remarkable and unforgettable. The best food I've ever eaten, anywhere. Such a treat to go there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing delectable food! Quaint town, worth the drive from Lexington. Wonderful, friendly staff. Worth every penny!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love Heirloom! My wife and I were celebrating Valentine's Day early, and Heirloom delivered with great service, ambiance and food as usual. The menu was creative and diverse, as was the wine list. Definitely worth the drive(2.5 hrs round-trip). We look forward to dining there again on our anniversary!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were celebrating my Mom's birthday. It was a fantastic experience. Food was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with delicious and authentic good. Highly recommend! We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Veet very good lunch. Cod perfectly done as was chicken. Bisque was a work of art.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Acapulco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Absolutely perfect! Our table was ready when we arrived. Our server was attentive without being intrusive and knew the dishes well! Her advice was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

What a beautiful dinner in a beautiful place!

I have never been to Midway, KY before although the rest of our party had. I was the cherry in the group. I was not disappointed! Our hosts, friends of my wife, are regulars there. I am grateful they shared this hidden delight!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

As always, a terrific lunch. The fried chicken is my favorite. My guest ordered the crab cake and raved about it. We got lucky as the ice cream of the day was banana. Yum.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing meal! Amazing service! Really enjoyed talking with Henry, the former owner, whose son now owns and operates the restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Upon arrival, we were welcomed with enthusiasm, as is usual. The pork chop was large and delicious as was the chicken liver appetizer. Service is always prompt and and pleasant. Beau knows what you need before you say anything! Big credit goes to them for pouring a fair drink.

Can't wait for a return visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had a delicious lunch in a beautiful setting. The food and service were outstanding!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always amazing food at Heirloom - the chicken liver appetizer and tempura grouper were especially delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food is incredible! Best in the Lexington area!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent experience! One of the best restaurants my wife and I have dined at in the last two years. We will be back soon...and this restaurant is 120 miles from where we live. WELL WORTH THE TRIP.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First time for lunch...very tasty dishes. food was excellent. Service average ... facility not too appealing ...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very nice and quiet. No tv distractions. Could easily hear each other talk. Food was very good and reasonably priced. Service was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A++++++++++±+++±±+++++++++++++++

Always a pleasure

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful pre-set menu options for New Years' Eve. (Beef tenderloin done to perfection!) Always great service. (Only concern during winter months is the cold air that sweeps through the room each time the door opens.)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Their soups are the best. they changed the shrimp and grits, but it is still fantastic. great place for lunch or supper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We loved Heirloom! We consider ourselves foodies and have tried to find a place that we really feel is special. This is a hit! Get the beef tenderloin, they aren't kidding when they say it's the best! the crab cake is also phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Vegetable Bisque was amazing. I had burger and wife had Jalapeno Sandwich. She liked hers but my burger was served rare when I ordered medium rare. Overall would like to try again during a dinner service but it is definitely worth the trip if you can make it.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Absolute superlatives for this small, out of the way, restaurant. A must do for any gastronomes' list. Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Phenomenal meal! The best place to eat in central KY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Awesome as usual. The carrot beet salad was super.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Have have dined here several times for lunch and dinner. It is always a treat! Great innovative food, interesting wines, and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything was super!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The service has been excellent every time that I have eaten here. The lunch menu is somewhat limited but the options offered are good. The pricing is reasonable based on the quality and volume of food. The booths provide privacy and keep the volume inside from getting too loud. The only real problem is the draft that comes in every time the door opens in the winter. A blast of cold air sweeps through the restaurant and discourages long meals and conversation. Perhaps putting up a curtain near the door would keep some cold air out.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

service was attentive and the food was exquisite, prepared perfectly

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for a while, you will need a reservation. TMy husband had the beef tenderloin medallions and I had the grouper. Both meals were exceptional. This restaurant is a little expensive, would consider it a fine dining experience. We will be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Awesome meal and service - as usual! The butternut risotto and bisque were outstanding. The dessert menu is also extra special!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Everything is always spectacular at Heirloom. Hanna insures her guests have the best of everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Best food around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Heirloom is a great place for a business lunch with colleagues around central Kentucky..fresh and tasty local menu, with a mixed of traditional favorites and newer options.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful food and service. A must-visit near Lexington, KY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We live in Louisville but make the drive to Midway because Heirloom is exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Bo, our server, was attentive as ever and the grouper delicious. Don't miss the bisque or the bourbon ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Have eaten twice at Heirloom. Both times have been great for food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food here is always great. Love the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Heirloom is always exceptional. Our group loved the new chicken skins enticement, the sauce was outstanding! Hanna our server was professional, attentive and helpful. Just really the best overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Worth the drive to Midway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fantastic evening! The front of the house was great and the food was even better! Chef Cameron is doing great things in the kitchen and I would recommend Heirlooms to anyone

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We found Heirloom sort of by accident several years ago and now make it a regular stop in our trips to Lexington. Their Autumn Bisque is so delicious, we considered having it for dessert after our meal but we're just too full. We hope the chef never changes or removes it from the fall menu! Worth the drive to Midway just for that soup! Our server "Bo" was delightful as always! Wonderful dinner, as always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was surprised by the quality of the food this last visit. We had eaten at Heirloom before and the food was always excellent. This time we went for lunch. We had fish and chips and salads. The breading on the fish was soft and not very tasty. The chips were exactly that, little bits of potato mostly charred. The salad was drowned in dressing. I'm guessing they had the backup cooking team in. We like Heirloom and Midway so we'll go back. You can't be on everyday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Every bite was amazing! Great service, great everything!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My entre and salad were overwhelmingly salty. Fish tacos should be a multi flavored option. The avocado was but a tiny sliver. The sauce was spicy with garlic but the salt level was way over the top. The arugula with lemon dressing again was too salty. It missed the opportunity to refresh the palate. All in all, it was an opportunity missed by a heavy salty hand.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Enjoyed this very wonderful restaurant in the very unlikely town of Midway, Ky. Quite a find. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We live in Northern Virginia and we are currently on a project in Kentucky. We have been very pleased to get introduced to the local KY cuisine by a dear friend. We have dined three times in this lovely restaurant in Midway. It is such a wonderful discovery to taste delicious food in a little town with a big history. We are used to major cities and excellent restaurants all over the world but we can say that Heirloom is worldly when it comes to its dishes. We found the pastry chef to be more than a chef - he is an artist with such passion that each of his creations reflect grace, elegance and balance of tastes. Rocco simply rocks! We would come back from another country just to have a dessert made by Rocco. He is a world class pastry chef who can be easily found in any top Michelin restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.