Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Heartland Brewery - Empire State Building

New York City’s most famous landmark, the Empire State Building, now houses New York’s number one brewery, a two-story 450-seat Heartland equipped with two large bars and four giant flat-screen TV’s. Our full-service restaurant breathes new life into an area overrun with fast food chains. More than just a watering hole with great beer, we offer both visitors and locals excellent food and a feeling of home that only Heartland can offer.

350 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
34th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 563-3433

Website:
http://www.heartlandbrewery.com/

Public Transit:
B,D,F,N,R,Q to 34th Street and 6ave

Executive Chef:
Richard Pietromamco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our Heartland Brewery Empire State location offers 2 spacious semi-private rooms, accommodating groups ranging in size from 10-75 guests. The lower level and entire restaurant are also available for full buyouts for groups ranging 250-750 guests. The options & menus are limitless at Heartland!

Heartland Brewery - Empire State Building Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (16)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (11)
See All
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Romantic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Starter and main dish was much to fast served after each other, max 1 minute. It looked like they would handle you off in 10 minutes to clean the table for the next one. Waiter was also 'too friendly', not ok !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The beers are great
Very reasonably priced for NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have been coming here for dinner after visiting the car show for the past four years and intend to keep the tradition going in the future. The food is good and our server for all four years is excellent.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The roast chicken was absolutely divine and the beer was great as always.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food, fast service. Next door to Empire State Building which was convenient. The 4 of us had the Buffalo Chicken Salad, Rueben, Fettuccine Alfredo and Fried Chicken sandwich. All very good.

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Norfolk)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great for families, the location is great underneath the Empire State Building. Good selection of beers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great service, food and atmosphere. Not the least expensive place we've eaten but worth the money

Tags: Casual, Fun, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Good food very conveniently located.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

the people who worked there were nice but it is seriously overpriced - as restaurants near tourist attractions typically are - but we were there for my son's birthday and they didn't even bother to sing to him when they brought dessert (with a candle i bought on top). That's lame and pretty much ruled out me ever going back there again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

It was ok for a Brewery. Nothing to jump and down for but it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Tables are too close together. For these prices one could get a little more privacy when dining.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Lovely food good service staff very helpful & attentive

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had reservations to eat at this location and waked all the way there to find out it was closed for two days because of power issues. Unfortunately they never made an attempt to contact us and let us know. We did eat at the Times Square location later and found the food to be alright but not great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My review is based on a visit in January, which was very nice. Good food, excellent service, and I love the stout. Liked it so much, we decided to go again on 3/17/17 before a NY Ranger game, which is what this particular reservation was for. When we arrived, we were greeted with a sign stating that "Due to the fire at Starbucks, they would be closed for the remainder of the day". This put a kink in our plans because we deliberately made reservations to avoid the other bars in the neighborhood which we perceived were going to be crowded, noisy and filled with people that had been drinking all day. I think what bothered me most was the fact that I had provided all of my contact information to make this reservation and was not advised in advance of my arrival that they were closed.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This place gets me in the door for the beer, but the food is always great as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Love this place. Good Food. Good Drinks. perfect place to get a good hot meal prior to an event at MSG

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We went here because of the proximity to the Empire State Building as we wanted to go up for the night time views. The place was welcoming and our table was ready for us. The service was very good and our server was friendly and efficient giving advice where necessary. He was also an aspiring stand up comedian and although he didn't try out his act on us he was a most personable young man.
The food was good, well-prepared and sourced. The fillet mignon was as tender and tasty as can be and the apple pie for dessert was exquisite.
I would recommend this place to a friend and would certainly return if we are ever in New York again.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Got four beers and two entries and we were extremely happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Friendly staff. Amazing food. Cocktails too even though it's known for beer. Had a great time, atmosphere was good, lively, lots going on but not so noisy you couldn't talk to the people on your table. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Nice place, nice and friendly service, good food and beers ;).

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my secon time here. I really like this place, my 10 years old boy loves it! As he loves food, especially burgers. I always order the rosemary chicken breast, delicious!, sweetpotato fries are really good too. The food is really good, desserts are good too!!! Staff is very nice.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

For our get together this was a central location and everything turned out! We would meet again at this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

It was dinner with very long time friends, going back to grade school, seeing someone for the first time in years. They let us sit and talk forever which was very kind. The food was fresh and good; I always think Heartland is a little pricey but it's Manhattan. I often eat here with a friend when we go to programs at the CUNY Grad Center across the street and will continue to do that.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food was decent but the service left something to be desired. The hostess tried to seat us by the windows (which were drafty) and when I asked to move she did not want to accommodate us, even though the restaurant was nowhere near full. Thankfully, the other waitstaff was extremely friendly and seated us in a warmer location. The restaurant is in a convenient location, the food is okay, and the prices are decent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

When ordered, the food came very quickly. Our drinks took a long time and our waitress seemed overwhelmed. I would have ordered a 3rd beer of it wasn't taking so long. Otherwise, a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We decided to try this place after a trip up the Empire State Building, we did book about an hour in advance so I'm not sure how easy it is to get a walk in table at peak time considering the location. We enjoyed the local beers, our server was very friendly and the food was great value - (Southern fried chicken with sweet corn mash and strip steak burger and fries). If we had more time we'd have gone back to try some of the other items, I'm guessing they'd do a good brunch... The location is excellent and we didn't feel we were paying tourist prices.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It has a very cool view of the streets and good food. Had a good time.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was very busy due to pre party for UND vs. BC game at Madison Square Garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Crazy pre-game crowd handled by our server with no problems. Thank's Britain, you were awesome.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

it was our second time in one week. Very good service. Good food. Excellent homemade beers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food and great location. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good steak & fries. Very good service. Nice ambiance in the ground floor . Special and tasteful homemade draft beer.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was outstanding. My husband and I each had the Angus beef NY strip steak and they were cooked perfectly. A lot of food for the price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent Southwestern salad with grilled shrimp. Excellent service. Great location

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Waiter was very in touch with our needs. The food was extremely mediocre and the "award winning" Oatmeal Stout was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Pricey
Picked this because it was typical "American" comfort food, and we wanted to have a fairly quick dinner.
We both ordered fish and chips (which was good), but overall the prices were high, even for NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The downstairs receptionist was difficult to find and rude. I've come here many times and this is the first negative item I've written about this place. Willing to give one more try.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Good food, Good beer,Good cocktails,Good location.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dined here during a short break in NYC. Decent sized plates & good value (especially considering its at the foot of the Empire State Building!)

Food quality was really good, I had the JD BBQ glazed Pork Shank which was awesome!

Good selection of draught & bottled Beers too, not so much if you wanted Wine though (no wine options at all!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Lively chain type restaurant in the base of the Empire State building. Have a great selection of craft type beers as they are a brewery. Food American diner type with burgers, ribs and steaks. Style was casual / informal. I had one of the burgers with sweet potato fries and my wife a salad with slices of tuna. Both were good and so was the service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.