Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

About Hawthorn Grill

Hawthorn Grill features a rich bar area, perfect for an after-work or pre-dinner drink; a large, yet cozy dining room easily accommodating a large family dinner or a romantic date; and an expansive outdoor patio with a vibrant waterfall surrounded by lush foliage.

221 N Rampart Blvd
Las Vegas, NV 89145
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Signature JW Breakfast: 6am-11am Mon.-Fri./ Sat. 6am-12Noon/Sunday Jazz Brunch 9am-1pm

Lounge: 4pm-11pm Sun.-Thurs./ 4pm-1am Fri. & Sat.

Dining Room:5pm-10pm Sun.- Thurs./ 5pm-11pm Fri. & Sat.

Cross Street:
Summerlin Parkway & Rampart Boulevard

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(702) 507-5955

Website:
http://www.hawthorngrilllv.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for “Sunday Brunch” with live entertainment. Enjoy our Signature JW Marriott breakfast buffet while listening to live music. Special pricing is $29.99 plus tax for adults, $14.99 plus tax for children 5 to 12 years old, and free for children under 5. Brunch hours are 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. and reservations are recommended.

Catering:
Two private event & reception venues for 16-50 guests. Highly qualified Associates will plan & execute the event of your dreams. Inclusive AV & House sound. Inclusive dinner packages starting at $55/person & bar packages starting at $35/person. Intimate ceremony/dinner packages. Perfect for rehearsal dinners/wedding celebration brunches. Private dining space includes pre-function area & two private patios with built-in trellis & festoon lighting.
Menu packages include 3-4 courses of most popular selections from Hawthorn Grill dinner menu. Custom menu packages available upon request.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available at the JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort Spa Tower lobby, just steps away from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Swan

Private Party Facilities:
Hawthorn Grill in Summerlin Las Vegas features over 3,200 square feet of dedicated event space, including two private/enclosed event and reception venues with semi-private patios that can accommodate between 16 and 50 guests for weddings, business meetings, receptions, and more.

Private Party Contact:
Brad Lemma: (702) 869-7383

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Hawthorn Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Private Room (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Waterfront (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
57 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Seated next to door to patio and large noisy group with plenty of empty tables. Hostess said she might be able to put us in a small booth. 4 people might be a squeeze and the restaurant was not that busy. Food is okay but just okay. Better when it was Carmel Room

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Very accommodating upon arrival. We love Benjamin the server he is excellent. Food was great but we really appreciate the excellent service. The hostess Mollie is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went to the restaurant first time for lunch. Unfortunately the selection of lunch menu was poor that time, but - since the ambience is pleasing - we thought the brunch menu selection will be more extensive. Regret to tell the menu selection was proper for breakfast but not for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My husband and I have two children so date nights are few and far between. We had wanted to try Hawthorn after hearing that it was a new restaurant inside JW Marriott and were excited to celebrate his birthday there. We grabbed a drink when we arrived as we were a little early to our reservation. The bartender was very friendly and ended up being the best part of our experience there. We were seated and already had drinks so skipped right to some oysters and a salad. The oysters came within a reasonable amount of time but we're much smaller than I anticipated and the salad was delicious. We had ordered our steak and gnocchi and lobster dish at the same time as our apps so we waited for those to arrive after we had finished the apps. It took a solid 45 minutes for those items to arrive. Let me just say that I worked in a steakhouse for five years so I know approximate ticket times for these type of meals. We started to feel like our server forgot to order our meals and I know that happens but she was avoiding us like the plague. Our food finally arrived via food runner and shortly after our server scurried by to say she would be back to check on us... She didn't come back until we were done with our meal. We saw her walk by several times and she didn't even make eye contact with us. The steak (my husband ordered the NY) was very flavorless and tough. My gnocchi was tasty. Since everything had taken so long we had to ask for the check right away and rush to meet our babysitter. I did take some time to complain to the manager who gave me the standard answers you might expect in this type of situation (advising me on average ticket times, he would talk to the kitchen, etc.) and was not apologetic at all. We splurged both financially and dietarily so we were very disappointed in our meal. It is a beautiful restaurant and we tried to not let it taint our date night but we will not be returning and I will not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Terrific in all aspects. The food was delicious and the service top notch . Can't wait to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love the remodel and food quality imrovements. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch, the food was very good (it was a buffet) but $315.00 for 4 people (2 drinks included) was VERY pricey.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Servive was good, quality of the meal wasn't that good and seemed over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is decent, but WAY overpriced. You can get the same quality food for much better prices in other local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our experience was just okay. The food was average but pricey. We had soup, salad, rib eye, spinach and fries. The blue cheese dressing on the salad was odd. The creamed spinach was bland. Our waiter was nice but very slow. I would go back and try their happy hour though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I ordered the New York strip steak and my wife ordered the lobster. Both were cooked to our great satisfaction. My steak was medium-rare as I requested and it had a beautiful and flavorful sear. The lobster was moist and tender and with clarified butter to dip, it was heavenly. I cannot wait for our next special occasion to return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food!
Excellent service!
Too noisy to have a quiet conversation because nothing separates the dining area from the noisy bar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was great service was fast and very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Wonderful to have this new restaurant in our neighborhood that can be everyday or special occasion. The food was wonderful, perfect service, and nice to see some of the same employees that were at a previous restaurant in the same hotel.....it was a beautiful experience and we will be back....

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Private Room, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We live 3 miles from the hotel/restaurant.. so we thought we would give it a try.. we are always looking for a good near by restaurant. This room has been three different names over the years. Completely remodeled.. sort of modern I guess. Nice menu but very expensive. Everything is al a cart. My wife ordered the 6oz filet... $40.00.. when it arrived it was medium at best and not even 5oz. Our table was billed as a quite one.. turned out to be on a hallway were everyone passed by and next to a private party room with lights and a loud DJ. We will not be returning here..after all, living in Las Vegas, there are many very good restaurants to choose from.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The dining room is beautiful with spectacular views of the JW Marriott grounds! The sweet potato gnocchi was amazing and I love the Brussels sprout side.

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The entire experience was fantastic. I actually cancelled my reservation initially because of some of the negative reviewers, but my wife didn't feel like driving to the strip so we made a new reservation and had dinner. The bone-in ribeye was phenomenal. as were the mashed potatoes. I asked for a special salad (sliced tomatoes and avocado) with balsamic vinegar and olive oil and received it without hesitation. The portions were great and I'm glad we ended up here. A1 all around experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Jonathon and Benjamin are the best servers in Las Vegas. And Tariq is amazing, always smiling when you walk in, always checking up to see if everything is ok . Since the restaurant was remodeled and renamed it is very upscale, very modern and very chic. I like the bar area and they offer great specials. I know a lot of people miss the old charm of the Carmel Room but this fits more with the J W Marriott and what they have to offer.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great for dinner
Love the scallops and the lobster. A bit pricey but worth it for dinner.
...a bit Too much for breakfast though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Return visit and so glad we did everything was so tasty! Boneless short rib best in the world!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Prices are extremely high and the food is very average or below.

Won't spend 60 $ for a steak next to someone in shorts having a burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Hawthorne has excellent steaks and their crab cakes are outstanding. They did a great job on the restaurant renovation. It's a bit pricey but aren't all steak houses.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Took way too long for our meal... just over 2 hours. We sat there for good 10 mins to get notice for water and drink order. Then another 10 plus mins before bread to table. Now it's already about 30 mins before order taken. We were party of four so we ordered appetizers with meal. Took 15 mins for appetizers to come then another 15 mins for meal but when meal arrived waiter acknowledge the inconvenience for the delays and advice us to place dessert order now if we want soufflé since it takes long. So by the end of the meal we notice over 2 hours has passed our daughters were getting restless since they have school in the morning. We had a small discrepancy on the check where the price of the appetizer does not match the bill, but at that point we just want to pay and leave.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food is outstanding as well as the service. Highly recommend the Hawthorn Grill as well as Benjamin as a server.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Restaurant was modern style and very comfortable. The menu has variety in food choices. Our server Ben was excellent and our experience was Great.. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The staff was expecting me and the Maitre D' proferred his arm to me to escort me to my window table. What a treat! The servers were very knowledgeable and the food excellent. I can't wait to dine outside by the water! We finished dinner sitting on the sofa in the bar with an after dinner drink. Fabulous!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

They did a great job renovating it! Love how it's laid out & how fancy it looks! Service was beyond awesome & even the food was very good! It was a good idea they did this cause Marriott needs new things & will be coming back again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

2nd time there since they opened. Much better menu this time as they brought back some of the items from the Carmel Room. They still need a Ceaser salad and the spinach salad. They could also use a baked sweet potato. Still miss the old menu but they are trying new things.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great service and good food! Love the decor! Will return in the future.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very classy. Great food and service. Need to expand their appetizer menu a bit. A bit noisy for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Waited almost one hour to be served our main course. My wife's scallops were still partially frozen. My meal was tepid at best. Management took care of the bill, as they should, but I'm just tooscared to ever try this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Jessica (bartender) was fabulous - took great care of us. Food was pretty good - hesitate to give it 5 stars but it was a solid 4-star rating. prices are typical high/resort ranges so I thought the food might be a bit better. Short rib was outstanding but the scallops and salmon at the table were just ok. Service was very good - solid wine list.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Disappointing!! Having been frequent patrons at the Carmel Room, we expected more. It was loud and most of the music geared to young people. Perhaps this is the clientele for which the restaurant is geared but the majority of patrons were middle aged and over . The decor is very up-to-date, but cold. Missed the wonderful CR bread basket; this one consisted of three rather ordinary rolls. The steak was good but the Branzino full of bones! The broccolini accompanying the fish was so unevenly cooked it wasn't even edible. Then, when I pointed out to the waiter that he overcharged me by $20 for the fish, he got defensive and said he had to check it. I had the menu, with the prices, on my phone and had shown it to him! He said he'd correct the error but by that time we just wanted to leave. Told us to ask for him on our next visit and he'd buy us a glass of wine. What a joke!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

It was just wonderful! The servers are very efficient, food excellent, and they really appreciate you. I just wish they would open earlier than 5:00.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very nice. My husband and I went for our anniversary and were impressed with the ambience and the food. I would recommend Hawthorn Grill for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was above average. Service was rather slow. Had to call the waiter over to order drinks. Once we ordered it took a long time for the food to be served.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful time. Beautiful restaurant . All the staff very attentive. Our waitress Alexandria was the best. Very personable, helpful and charming a delight.
We'll repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Seated 35 minutes after our reservation time. They were behind on seating , but it was Valentines Day

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good, but waited over an hour for it to arrive. Service was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our meal took 2 1/2 hours to complete. The service was horrendously slow, and the portions are smaller than they were at the Carmel room. Everybody at all of the tables around us were complaining. Our waiter even got my fiancé's order wrong. One table even got their whole meal comped. The waitstaff knew they were slow and they didn't even offer us an apology. For the price of the food, I was extremely disappointed. It was very noisy in there as well. Not a good place for a date. And with the prices, unless you're a high roller, it's not a great place for a casual bite either. I won't be going back unless the casino comps the food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.