About Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: (843) 727-0090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (395)
Good for Anniversaries (300)
Good for a Date (298)
See All
Good for Birthdays (224)
Romantic (211)
Notable Wine List (190)
Fit for Foodies (160)
Worth the Drive (160)
Business Meals (132)
Live Music (123)
Hot Spot (114)
Neighborhood Gem (109)
Fun (101)
Good for Groups (99)
Vibrant Bar Scene (99)
Historic (97)
Bar Seating (91)
Authentic (88)
Handcrafted Cocktails (84)
Great for Brunch (78)
Creative Cuisine (76)
Cozy (71)
People Watching (66)
Sunday Lunch (61)
Comfort Food (50)
Family Style (49)
Local Ingredients (49)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Happy Hour (37)
Late-night Find (29)
Casual (28)
Tasting Menu (25)
Private Room (23)
Outstanding Value (19)
Modern Decor (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Scenic View (12)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Healthy (11)
Organic (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Great Beer (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Live Sports (3)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
8460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined a day ago

Absolutely fantastic! Our server, Daryl, was amazing. The food was fantastic. Our proprietor, Billy Hall, greeted us and wished us Happy Anniversary and Happy Birthday (to my wife). Such a nice touch! We can't wait to return here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Celebrated our anniversary and were impressed with the service and food. A bit loud for a quiet evening of dining because of music in bar, but the upstairs room provides some room for conversation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

We absolutely love Hall's. We celebrated our 42nd Wedding Anniversary on this occasion and we had a wonderful evening. The wait staff is attentive, helpful, and knowledgeable. A delicious meal, impeccable service , and elegant ambiance made this a wonderful anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect as always

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent!!! The only thing better than the food was our service. Our server, Sarah made us feel like we we her only customers that night. And the owner showed genuine appreciation for our business.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

The establishment lives up to its name for a lively steakhouse in Charleston. The steak was cooked perfectly but my palate prefers a little more seasoning. The she-crab soups beats 82 Queen hands down. But the star of the show was the wedge salad. Simple but absolutely delicious. We enjoyed our meal and the service, but we've "been there-done that" and probably won't return. Worth the try. Just not worth the repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and staff

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food.... service was amazing. Loved that the restaurant was not too noisy. Get the corn it is awesome. Already have reservations in a month

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best restaurants we have been to . Food was excellent. The bread pudding was the best. Staff was outstanding. When visiting Charleston do not miss this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I traveled to Charleston to celebrate our anniversary, and Halls Chophouse was hands down our best dining experience we've ever had. We arrived 30 minutes early for our reservation and they seated us immediately. Upon entering, the owner immediately made his way over to thank us for choosing their restaurant. The service was outstanding, our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the different cuts of meat, aging processes.. everything. The desert was phenomenal, the cocktails were phenomenal, and our overall trip was highlighted by this restaurant. We will be returning

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome!!!! Great friendly environment
Best steaks around. The corn is my favorite

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I can see why this is a must eat at place. Great food and great atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Just had a fabulous experience at Hall's. After a great first course of Caesar salad, my steak and two sides arrived. After a few bites, I discovered I had a strip steak vs the ribeye I had ordered. The steak and sides were removed without question and prepared again. Another comped glass of wine appeared as well and at the end of the meal a complementary chocolate cake. Excellent food, service and real class...go to this restaurant they really care about the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best dining spots in Charleston, offering a variety of local seafood and quality selection of premium steaks. The family style sides are very generous portions and their signature sides are a must try. The Whiskey Bread Pudding dessert is a must have to conclude a delectable meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

It was so good we went back the next night. Very friendly and great food.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely top notch. Superb in every way! A memorable, special place for all.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Halls never disappoints. Any meal here will be one of the best you've had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved everything we ordered!! Crab cakes, brussel sprouts, chopped salad...our gno was great....loved the upscale atmosphere as well...Halls is always a winner...we'll definitely be back to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing as usual! The food was perfect, the wine was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Hall's has never disappointed and always the best steak I have ever had. Dry aged ribeye is the only way to go in my opinion flavor is amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding service for a special occasion. We sat upstairs and had a great table for our anniversary. However, I could see how some people could have a bad experience due to the extremely frenetic first floor bar scene. If you're going for the food, which you should, ask to sit upstairs. The seafood tower was glorious and the bone-in filet was outstanding. Get half orders of the sides and try a lot of them. The corn was maybe the best side I've ever had at a steakhouse. Great, great service from the owner on down. Highly recommended for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing experience and meal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great service, the best! Owner greets you at the door usually and lots of staff, very friendly and happy! Best service I've ever seen.
My only disappointment was my ribeye was tough. Cooked as ordered but meat not tender or typical marbling. Disappointed in that based on price. Some sweet potatoes weren't cooked enough but otherwise that dish was great!
My stuffed mushrooms were delicious! Live Jazz good, just wish room at bar to stay and listen after we were done eating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary at Halls in Charleston. Since we began dating my wife and I have shared several special meals at steakhouse's, but none compare to the dinner and service we received at Halls Chophouse. Personable, friendly, and memorable all describe the staff in the entire restaurant. Not to mention the food is absolutely delicious and the wait staff is attentive and energetic. We couldn't have asked for a more memorable evening. Thank you Halls Chophouse Charleston !

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The service at Halls is unsurpassed. From the moment you arrive, you are treated like a member of the Halls family. The staff is attentive to your every need, and not just your own wait staff. Everyone who walks by looks over the table. If there is an empty glass, they fill it. If there is an empty plate, they remove it. But, they never rush you. The food never disappoints! The steaks are prepared exactly as you ask for them. The sides are awesome too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best meal I've ever had! Like... ever. I ordered the dry aged ribeye and it was truly amazing. Our service by Darryl was wonderful, as well. We're from Chicago and I'm seriously wanting to plan my next trip back, just so I can eat at Halls again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Most incredible meal ever. Wagyu beef was perfect. Service was beyond excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I felt the all the food served was highly salted from the salad to the scallops and filet mignon. All though there was plenty of wait staff I felt is was excessive to the point that I really couldn't relax while my water glass was constantly being refill after two sips and napkins being refolded. Too many employees moving around in such a small place that they became the center of attraction and noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

What an amazing experience. Very low key, great food, excellent service. I couldn't be more happy with my first dinning experience here. My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and they sure made us feel extra special and appreciated. Great kob overall!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Best steak my wife and I ever had
Owner and staff very friendly

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

You must not leave Charleston without a trip to Hall's Chophouse. The best dining experience I've ever had.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS RESTAURANT!!! SERVICE WAS INCREDIBLE, BEST STEAK IVE EVER HAD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had - and I don't say that lightly! Halls was recommended to us by rave review from friends. We are visiting Charleston on vacation, so we were really looking forward to dining there. Can't say enough great things about it. The staff was amazingly attentive and accommodating. They welcome everyone with gracious hospitality! The food was AMAZING - and we consider ourselves steak connoisseurs! Can't wait to visit again next time we come to town!!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Totally awesome. Next time we are in Charleston will try to go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went to Halls to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. My husband is a NY steakhouse snob. I was a little nervous that he would find fault in something. Not only did he absolutely love it, he felt it was just as good as his favorite Brooklyn steakhouse! The dry aged steaks cut like butter. They were not only tender but very flavorful. Our sides of Brussels sprouts and hand cut fries were very good. I had a soft shell crab appetizer which was delicious and my husband had the bacon which he thoroughly enjoyed. The desserts were so fresh- we had the 12 layer Carmel cake, the double chocolate cake , the creme brûlée and berries with cream. The 12 layer caramel cake was the crowd favorite, with all the rest tied for 2nd. Our server Kristen was knowledgeable and attentive, as well was the rest of the staff we encountered. The owner, Mr. Hall, even checked in with us to make sure we enjoyed our meal. This place is expensive, but with it! We will be back .

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If I could have given (6) stars I would. We were treated exceptionally well. This is the way restaurant dinning used to be. Truly exceptional service! We can't wait for our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner!! Service impeccable. We were greeted warmly upon arrival. Food excellent! Would highly recommend! Steak house pricing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First timer. Absolutely one of the best dining experiences we have had. Billy Hall made us feel we were his best client. Our server, Karen, was terrific. Best bone in filet we have ever had. A must redo when next in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.