About Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: (843) 727-0090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (393)
Good for Anniversaries (323)
Good for a Date (310)
See All
Romantic (260)
Good for Birthdays (233)
Notable Wine List (204)
Fit for Foodies (183)
Business Meals (182)
Worth the Drive (180)
Live Music (126)
Good for Groups (121)
Hot Spot (121)
Vibrant Bar Scene (112)
Neighborhood Gem (112)
Fun (98)
Authentic (98)
Handcrafted Cocktails (97)
Great for Brunch (96)
Bar Seating (91)
Cozy (88)
Creative Cuisine (76)
Sunday Lunch (74)
Local Ingredients (73)
Pre/post Theatre (70)
Quiet Conversation (69)
Comfort Food (59)
People Watching (54)
Happy Hour (39)
Casual (37)
Late-night Find (31)
Seasonal (26)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Paleo Friendly (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Great Beer (13)
Organic (11)
Scenic View (11)
Disabled Access (8)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Vegan (6)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Live Sports (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (2)
Sort By:
S
9258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Simply put, this is what a dining experience should be all about. Great service - from the moment we walked in to leaving the restaurant. The server, Kimberly, has a wonderful demeanor. Genuinely friendly and attentive. The bone-in ribeye was cooked to perfection and was one of the top three steaks I've ever eaten. Great ambience. A wonderful mix of southern hospitality and a premier NYC steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Kate, our server and the rest of the front of house staff made up for what would have been a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been having brunch here over the past 7 years. We have noticed a decline in food quality and portions. There are much better options for the value in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a reservation for later in the evening, so on a lark decided to pop in hours earlier to see if we could sit in the bar area. Good luck was on our side and we were actually able to be seated at a table downstairs, in the middle of the action. We chose craft cocktails, the seafood tower for four, beef carpaccio , and stone crab. All food was fresh and delicious- we each had our favorite.
My husband and I have been speaking highly of Halls Chophouse for years and were excited to bring this experience to my brother and his girlfriend, who were visiting for the weekend. Thank you Halls for not disappointing.
The only downside is that we were gifted a substantial amount to Halls, via an Open Table gift card. We had only the email from Open Table with an order number and Halls Chophouse identified with the gift amount. When presented this, Halls could not identify the information within their system, so this gift could not be honored. This is something we will address with Open Table directly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

This is one of the best places to eat that i have been and i have eaten in LA. Fla., and Maine. Top notch in every respect and if you go to Charleston you should try this place. It's pricey but absolutely worth it.. I'd go again in a heartbeat . We were treated to a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful dinner celebrating our wedding anniversary! Impeccable service and amazing food! Always a pleasure dining at Hall’s!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Went for our anniversary and it was great, the service was the best. The food was perfect. Will be glad when they open Summerville location, need a Restaurant of this quality in Summerville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Best Steak I have ever had. I have eaten in many higher end steak houses, and the New York Strip I had at halls was the far better than anything else i have eaten. The shrimp on the seafood tower were also the best I have eaten anywhere, and the sides were all excellent. Highly recommend this place if you like a great steak house.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food and outstanding service. I would certainly recommend Halls for a special night out.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Such a great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had dinner to celebrate our engagement and my birthday. Our experience was nothing to be compared to. Ben was phenomenal and they made our party feel special and appreciated. There's no better place to get a great meal with amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Steak was almost perfect except a bit too salty on a few bites. Onion soup tasty but heavy on the cheese. The creamed corn side dish was outstanding! the bread pudding fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is outstanding, from the exquisite and delicious food to the wonderful, delightful and fun service! This place is a winner and we can hardly wait to return!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

One word: wow. My girlfriend and I went to celebrate our birthdays together, and it is without a doubt the best meal either of us have ever had. Amazing food and amazing service! They even gave us complementary champagne to toast for our celebration. It was a perfect way to spend our birthdays and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Hall's is amazing!!! Their emphasis on customer service is Beyyond description! Every moment from the time y walk in the door feels welcoming! Our servers Alex n Frank were outstanding! Halls will always be our spot for special occasions!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely first class restaurant with everything being top notch. Excellent service and wait staff, fabulous food, and the upstairs dining room is very comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

50th B-day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Best restaurant in Charleston and best steakhouse by far. Best old fashions. Ask Justin or Edward to make them. Great service and they always make you feel like you are the most important guest in the house. Tommy and Billy are great hosts, and I always bring friends and fam here when they want the best of Charleston. Hall’s never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to eat. Been there 4 times in year and live in Kentucky. We love it

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful anniversary experience at Hall's! The staff are outstanding. The manager knew we liked hummingbird cake from previous visit and she made a special trip to get cake from their sister restaurant for us. Our steaks were prepared perfectly. They gave us champagne also. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Best food ever! We can't wait to go back. The was outstanding, even the specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Fantastic food. The steaks were delicious and well seasoned. They were cooked as we ordered them and of the highest quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Everything was great! Steak was cooked to perfection. She crab soup was the best. Service was spot on. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This restaurant never fails to impress. Food n service r always consistent. Best steak place In Charleston. Plus they have other great items on menu if u do not eat red meat.
And Those jelly beans r the best ever!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

If you are looking for steak, fish, chops - Halls is the absolute best restaurant in Charleston. Beautifully decorated, food is prepared perfectly and service second to none. Fun Piano bar on the first floor ( takes requests) for pre or post cocktail. This steak house compares to the best in Chicago.
BTW I never write reviews!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This is a fine restaurant. The service and ambiance were particularly notable. The food was delicious from the beginning to the end. It was primarily traditional steakhouse fare complete with salad, creamed corn, and mashed potatoes. The steaks were seasoned and cooked exactly as we requested. Overall, we had a lovely evening, and will definitely return at our earliest opportunity.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Live Music, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The meal was superb as was our service from Ben Pulsipher and his associates!! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Customer service was out of this world. Food was outstanding. This restaurant is worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was excellent, extremely pricey, everything Al carte. MatreD annoying .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We always enjoy our experience at Hall's. This past weekend we celebrated our anniversary and as usual everything was fabulous! Staff was attentive and friendly. For was exceptional. First time we have ordered the grits and they were wonderful! Highly recommend always!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Amazing experience at gospel brunch. The service was outstanding--starting with Mrs. Hall, the owner, greeting us at the door and taking us to our table. When she found out that we were a group of military spouses with deployed husbands, she immediately ordered complimentary mimosas for our service. The food was delicious and the gospel singers were fantastic. We would definitely return again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Hall's bone-in filet and chopped salad are absolutely delicious. Best steak I have EVER eaten and I've had some really good steaks. It's just as good as the wagyu beef but a much better value. Their servers are top notch as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The dry aged ribeye was quite good, but not the best steak I've ever had. The gemstone potatoes were a little tough and underseasoned, and a comment to that effect had them immediately removed from our bill.
However, the pancetta roasted brussels sprouts and creamed spinach were outstanding, and the portion size of the sides was enormous. The staff were incredibly attentive to our needs, and the overall price of our meal made the evening quite a value, all things considered.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Hall's is a popular venue in downtown Charleston. The service is very good, the menu is diverse and tempting, and the food quality is delicious. As a result, it gets very, very crowded! That is great - of course - and obviously a good sign for those seeking a nice dining venue. Both bar areas are packed to the brim and the servers - who are splendid - have to try to maneuver their way around the crowds. This does not diminish the graciousness of the entire staff - every single member of the Hall's team is so polite, friendly, and clearly customer-service oriented. April, our server, was especially sweet and accommodating. When visiting this super establishment, be advised that it is very loud due to the many patrons. It is clearly a local favorite for celebrations. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Halls was as amazing as ever !! We were celebrating my husband’s Birthday and the staff was very attentive. The food is one of the best in Charleston. It is our favorite Restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is incredible; the service, the atmosphere, and the food. I am an active duty service member and took my girlfriend there on a date, I was in uniform. The owner of the restaurant paid for my meal and introduced me to a fellow Marine. The Marine I was introduced to was the bartender, whip had gotten out a few years prior to stating there. This place is a family friendly, all American restaurant that I would happily eat at, or recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Casual, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Live Sports, Seasonal, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Disabled Access, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

My husband and I went to Hall's last Saturday night for our anniversary. The service was absolutely impeccable, and they truly made it special -- they gave us a complimentary glass of champagne when they found out it was our anniversary, and at the end of the evening, they gave us a complementary dessert all packed up to go (we were already stuffed from our meal). All of the food was great, especially the Oysters Rockefeller, and the Bananas Foster dessert they gave us. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent salads. Steaks. Veal chops. Best prime rib. Service always above and beyond.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Halls is the go to steak house. I ordered the wild salmon and it was cooked to perfection. My partner ordered the dry aged steak, but would like to try the wet steak next time. Still very good. All the sides we ordered were beyond excellent. The wait staff couldn't be better! They were friendly and attended to our needs but not overpowering. The wine menu is better than most steak houses too, a nice variety and price ranges. If you want the best steak in town, Halls is the place to go but make reservations early!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Hall's Chop House was a most enjoyable experience. Everyone in my party enjoyed the atmosphere, the service, and most of all the food. Tommy and his staff made us all feel welcome and gave us the best evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.