About Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: (843) 727-0090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (395)
Good for Anniversaries (322)
Good for a Date (312)
See All
Romantic (263)
Good for Birthdays (234)
Notable Wine List (207)
Business Meals (183)
Fit for Foodies (179)
Worth the Drive (179)
Hot Spot (127)
Live Music (126)
Good for Groups (117)
Neighborhood Gem (116)
Vibrant Bar Scene (112)
Authentic (101)
Handcrafted Cocktails (100)
Fun (99)
Great for Brunch (96)
Bar Seating (93)
Cozy (90)
Creative Cuisine (77)
Sunday Lunch (73)
Local Ingredients (72)
Pre/post Theatre (71)
Quiet Conversation (68)
Comfort Food (61)
People Watching (56)
Happy Hour (41)
Casual (37)
Late-night Find (33)
Seasonal (27)
Great for Lunch (24)
Gluten Free Options (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Paleo Friendly (22)
Kid-friendly (19)
Healthy (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Great Beer (14)
Scenic View (12)
Organic (11)
Disabled Access (8)
Vegan (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Live Sports (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (2)
Sort By:
S
9271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Spectacular service and food. Wonderful southern charm with New York 5 Star quality food and staff

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Halls is an outstanding restaurant. A must place to go to in Charleston. You get extra special attention from Billy Hall and staff. Ask for Dina to be your waitress. BillE

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was incredible. Special kudos to our server Ryan!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was wonderful, from the food to the service! We were too stuffed for dessert but they packed us some cake anyway on the house 👍🏽

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Was recommended by friends from Charleston. The food, service, attention to detail, was outstanding. Will certainly go again when we are in Charleston. The staff was friendly and very attentive. It was the last night of our visit so we went home very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The filet with bone in was superb. The service was wonderful--our waitress, Sarah, was so helpful and efficient. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Simply put, this is what a dining experience should be all about. Great service - from the moment we walked in to leaving the restaurant. The server, Kimberly, has a wonderful demeanor. Genuinely friendly and attentive. The bone-in ribeye was cooked to perfection and was one of the top three steaks I've ever eaten. Great ambience. A wonderful mix of southern hospitality and a premier NYC steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Up there with my favorite restaurants. One of the best steaks I've had. Cooked perfectly. Everything was great especially our waitress Carrie. Very pleasant and informative. Hope she's there next time we visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful experience! Would recommend to anyone traveling to Charleston! The service was excellent they immediately brought out a complementary plate of cut up strawberries and bananas for my granddaughter...well done! The food is excellent and would definitely return for another fantastic meal! On our way out we met the owners beautiful people! Thank YOU for an all around wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Kate, our server and the rest of the front of house staff made up for what would have been a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

This Place is ICONIC! You will never get Better Service !!! A family member will great you at the door coming and going. Billy Rocks! This is a must do, Service is Very Very Customer CENTRIC. Food is Absolutely Fantastic! I had the best steak of my life.....probably the best meal of my life. Bring a friend to pay for it, or a charge card with a high limit. It's a memory you will not forget and worth it........the Pope would count the "Gospel Brunch" as Sunday church.... if you go leave a big tip.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been having brunch here over the past 7 years. We have noticed a decline in food quality and portions. There are much better options for the value in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation for later in the evening, so on a lark decided to pop in hours earlier to see if we could sit in the bar area. Good luck was on our side and we were actually able to be seated at a table downstairs, in the middle of the action. We chose craft cocktails, the seafood tower for four, beef carpaccio , and stone crab. All food was fresh and delicious- we each had our favorite.
My husband and I have been speaking highly of Halls Chophouse for years and were excited to bring this experience to my brother and his girlfriend, who were visiting for the weekend. Thank you Halls for not disappointing.
The only downside is that we were gifted a substantial amount to Halls, via an Open Table gift card. We had only the email from Open Table with an order number and Halls Chophouse identified with the gift amount. When presented this, Halls could not identify the information within their system, so this gift could not be honored. This is something we will address with Open Table directly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We have eaten and reviewed Halls many times. It was outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of the best places to eat that i have been and i have eaten in LA. Fla., and Maine. Top notch in every respect and if you go to Charleston you should try this place. It's pricey but absolutely worth it.. I'd go again in a heartbeat . We were treated to a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dinner celebrating our wedding anniversary! Impeccable service and amazing food! Always a pleasure dining at Hall’s!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for our anniversary and it was great, the service was the best. The food was perfect. Will be glad when they open Summerville location, need a Restaurant of this quality in Summerville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I love this restaurant and have been there more than 50 times. The waiter may have been new but he brought a tray of raw meat, their"Presentation", which I never need to see at the table and it put my guest off ordering any meat!
He was pushy. She had the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Best Steak I have ever had. I have eaten in many higher end steak houses, and the New York Strip I had at halls was the far better than anything else i have eaten. The shrimp on the seafood tower were also the best I have eaten anywhere, and the sides were all excellent. Highly recommend this place if you like a great steak house.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first visit to Charleston and this restaurant was recommended to us. Oh my , everything was beautiful... the ambience, staff and of course the food was excellent or should I say superb! This is a must on my next visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food and outstanding service. I would certainly recommend Halls for a special night out.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Such a great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

We had dinner to celebrate our engagement and my birthday. Our experience was nothing to be compared to. Ben was phenomenal and they made our party feel special and appreciated. There's no better place to get a great meal with amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Steak was almost perfect except a bit too salty on a few bites. Onion soup tasty but heavy on the cheese. The creamed corn side dish was outstanding! the bread pudding fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

This place is outstanding, from the exquisite and delicious food to the wonderful, delightful and fun service! This place is a winner and we can hardly wait to return!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

One word: wow. My girlfriend and I went to celebrate our birthdays together, and it is without a doubt the best meal either of us have ever had. Amazing food and amazing service! They even gave us complementary champagne to toast for our celebration. It was a perfect way to spend our birthdays and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Hall's is amazing!!! Their emphasis on customer service is Beyyond description! Every moment from the time y walk in the door feels welcoming! Our servers Alex n Frank were outstanding! Halls will always be our spot for special occasions!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Absolutely first class restaurant with everything being top notch. Excellent service and wait staff, fabulous food, and the upstairs dining room is very comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 11, 2017

50th B-day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Best restaurant in Charleston and best steakhouse by far. Best old fashions. Ask Justin or Edward to make them. Great service and they always make you feel like you are the most important guest in the house. Tommy and Billy are great hosts, and I always bring friends and fam here when they want the best of Charleston. Hall’s never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We had a wonderful anniversary experience at Hall's! The staff are outstanding. The manager knew we liked hummingbird cake from previous visit and she made a special trip to get cake from their sister restaurant for us. Our steaks were prepared perfectly. They gave us champagne also. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great place to eat. Been there 4 times in year and live in Kentucky. We love it

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Best food ever! We can't wait to go back. The was outstanding, even the specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Fantastic food. The steaks were delicious and well seasoned. They were cooked as we ordered them and of the highest quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Everything was great! Steak was cooked to perfection. She crab soup was the best. Service was spot on. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This restaurant never fails to impress. Food n service r always consistent. Best steak place In Charleston. Plus they have other great items on menu if u do not eat red meat.
And Those jelly beans r the best ever!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

If you are looking for steak, fish, chops - Halls is the absolute best restaurant in Charleston. Beautifully decorated, food is prepared perfectly and service second to none. Fun Piano bar on the first floor ( takes requests) for pre or post cocktail. This steak house compares to the best in Chicago.
BTW I never write reviews!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This is a fine restaurant. The service and ambiance were particularly notable. The food was delicious from the beginning to the end. It was primarily traditional steakhouse fare complete with salad, creamed corn, and mashed potatoes. The steaks were seasoned and cooked exactly as we requested. Overall, we had a lovely evening, and will definitely return at our earliest opportunity.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Live Music, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The meal was superb as was our service from Ben Pulsipher and his associates!! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.