About Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: (843) 727-0090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (426)
Good for Anniversaries (346)
Good for a Date (325)
See All
Romantic (287)
Good for Birthdays (244)
Notable Wine List (213)
Worth the Drive (197)
Fit for Foodies (191)
Business Meals (185)
Hot Spot (135)
Live Music (133)
Vibrant Bar Scene (122)
Good for Groups (120)
Neighborhood Gem (118)
Fun (112)
Authentic (104)
Cozy (101)
Handcrafted Cocktails (100)
Great for Brunch (94)
Bar Seating (91)
Creative Cuisine (85)
Pre/post Theatre (77)
Quiet Conversation (73)
Sunday Lunch (73)
Local Ingredients (65)
Comfort Food (62)
People Watching (56)
Happy Hour (43)
Late-night Find (38)
Casual (36)
Tasting Menu (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Seasonal (23)
Paleo Friendly (22)
Great Beer (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Organic (10)
Scenic View (10)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Vegan (5)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
9160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 18 hours ago

The most divine steakhouse I have had the pleasure of visiting. I opted for the 6oz. Wagyu which was a first for me, and I must say I was not disappointed. The steak was accompanied by the lobster Mac and cheese which was amazing!

The waiter was very knowledgeable on the wine selection along with the differences in cuts. The service was great; our wine and water glasses never ran dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 18 hours ago

Spent a wonderful Sunday evening at Halls. Kathryn was our server-extraordinaire.... her knowledge, service, and expertise was readily evident. Surprise champagne toasts for my husbands birthday capped by a lit candle in his dessert topped the evening. We dined unhurried thru sweet briney oysters, buttery melt-in-your-mouth steaks and equally tasty sides. The staff moved in and around the dining area as if in a 'dance' - adding silver, removing dishware at some silent signal. To say it was a 'dining experience' just isn't enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

As our previous experience at Hall's has shown, our entire dining experience was excellent. The personal greetings from owner to manager was an added nice touch. We were celebrating a special birthday, but just ordered one piece of cheesecake to split 5 ways. We later learned that was "on them" as a happy birthday wish, which was also nice!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely first class! We sat upstairs and had a team of 3 waiters including Ady, Justin (and oops-forgot 3rd name). The service and food were absolutely spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

One of our all time favorite restaurants in Charleston. We always eat here when we are visiting. The ambiance is great and everyone is so friendly and accommodating. The food is always delicious and prepared perfectly!! Do not miss Halls.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

My second visit to Halls.
I took my mom here for her birthday and she absolutely loved it. Everything was amazing and we will surely come back! Top notch food, staff, and ambience!

Tags: Organic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Hall's Chophouse is a great place to dine. Wonderful food, great service, and Southern hospitality. We'll go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

The Hall family owns and operates one of the best restaurants I know.
Food, staff and atmosphere is sensational

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Best steak! The meal was outstanding as well as the service. Worth the expense. We were in town for a wedding and it was a great choice. If you haven't been to this restaurant it a must in Charleston!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Literally my favorite restaurant. Anytime we visit Charleston we try to fit in a visit to Halls. It is charming in décor and the food is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceeded all exceptions. From the moment we walked into Halls, we were greeted by the owner, Billy Hall, and shown nothing but true Southern hospitality. From the waitstaff to the sommelier, we could not get over the attention to detail during our visit. It truly was impressive. As Charleston is known for its delicious meals and tasty cocktails, I wish more establishments would replicate what the Halls are doing, for they have struck restaurant gold--from the mouth-watering steaks to the scrumptious side dishes, you cannot go wrong with anything you choose. Needless to say, we will be back. Thank you for making our first visit so enjoyable.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent, as always, staff always very attentive. Love this place....just a bit pricey, so can't go very often!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was truly attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing and the restaurant is highly recommended to all. We felt like the server was rushing us so we gave that a three.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Hall's is one of our most favorite restaurants in the United States. We make a point of dining here as often as possible each time we visit the Holy City. This particular night Billy Hall greeted us with his usual friendly manner and continued to make a point to check on us throughout the evening. Once we were ready to leave he even stopped to chat. As always the visit was exquisite and well worth the wait. If you are ever in Charleston be sure to make a reservation here, but plan on at least three days out as this is one of the most popular restaurants in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was spectacular and the menu was delicious. I was surprised by the different flavors on the menu. One of the best steaks I've had

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Visited along with 3 other steakhouses, during restaurant week. Hands down this was the best out of all three. It was the best restaurant service that I have ever experienced! The food was outstanding. Although a little pricey, I would only be able to go on special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2017

If your in Charleston this is the place to eat , had the Wagu Filet and Tampura Lobster was nothing short of the best piece of meat you'll ever eat hands down cooked to perfection and the Lobster tempura the same. And let's not forget about the service which was inpecable the wait staff was spot on , southern hospitality at it's finest . Just make sure you make reservations well in advance anywhere from weeks to months before arrival if your vacationing in the great City Of Charleston. Thank you HALLS for a memorable evening will visit again next time in Charleston without a doubt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in downtown Charleston. We look forward to special occasions to go to Halls Chophouse where we know the food is outstanding and the service is impeccable. We are always greeted at the door by a smiling Hall's family member who treats us as if we are family. We usually go with our good friends who live downtown and park at their house. We walk down lengthy King Street to the restaurant so we can walk back after our wonderful dinner to get the entire downtown experience.

Fortunately the Hall's have expanded the restaurant to accommodate the growing number of patrons. We reserved a table well in advance knowing that reservations are hard to obtain on short notice. The entire week prior to our dinner we look forward to our reservation and know that we will be waited on by a team of energetic, happy and capable staff.

Everything is delectable from the drinks, appetizers, salad, entree and dessert. It is a difficult choice to pick from the menu as everything is so good that we want to have a taste of everything on the menu.

On this particular occasion it was Charleston's Restaurant Week and we were thrilled to have a salad, entree and dessert for a very reasonable price. Our meals were so filling that we could not even finish our dinners. The filet was cooked to perfection and the toppings were out of this world. The filet nearly melted in my mouth. Each time we go we try a different topping for the filet. The signature collard greens and corn pudding side dishes are some of the finest in Charleston. The choice of desserts were classics - Key Lime Tart and Carrot Cake. My husband and I both chose the carrot cake and we were not disappointed. The tender cake had a cream cheese filling that was not too sweet and did not over power the flavor of the cake.

We know that we have selected a superb restaurant when we leave fully satisfied. We look forward to bringing visiting family and friends at every opportunity.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Loved loved loved our 1st time experience at Hall's!! Food was great, seating was great, staff was very friendly and welcoming and we can't say enough about our waitress Piper!!! She was so thoughtful, caring, friendly and amazing! Made us feel like she knew us before we got there! Definitely will recommend Hall's and Piper!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Sunday afternoon, 5:30 dinner. We dined upstairs, where we were a separated from the football games and noise downstairs. Excellent service, great food.

Easy to understand why Hall's is top rated. Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As always, this restaurant never disappoints. Every component of a first class dining experience are seamlessly brought together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food service and gospel music at the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We truly had a memorable experience here. We had the pleasure of meeting Mr. and Mrs. Hall, chatting with a local regular at the bar, and meeting Darryl, a very entertaining bartender. The food was delicious, the drinks kept flowing, and everyone from the hostess to the server to the manager made us feel welcome and special. This was the perfect ending to our anniversary trip!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Halls never disappoints! Food atmosphere, service are all top notch. Filet is an excellent choice. Desserts phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This wasn't the best halls experience but perhaps it had to do with it being restaurant week. The wait staff seemed a little preoccupied and not as warm as previous visits. Still, 4/5, since this was probably a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our food was amazing we all got steak. Some added on black truffle butter that was really good. For sides we had the loaded mashed potatoes and lobster mac and cheese. We ate every bite. It was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing service and wonderful experience to celebrate an anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wonderful as always.
The music was to loud for conversation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Ordered the 8 oz filet, medium, and it was cooked perfectly. So tender that I could cut it with a butter knife. The collards were also amazing. Everything we ordered was perfect. Highly recommend Halls.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We absolutely loved Piper! We had an outstanding meal and the service was impeccable. Everything was simply amazing. What can awesome experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Had a wonderful meal that was cooked to perfection

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great place! Staff really cared about the diners. Although a little above my usual price range, it was a wonderful experience!!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Hands down best steak I have ever had. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The BEST MEAL in Charleston.
Phenomenal Food Quality along with the Top Level Service and an Excellent Wine List made it a very memorable night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Everything was once again excellent! Really knoe how to treat their customers with service, a smile & fantastic food. There's a reason Hall's is among the top 10 restaurants in the country! Steaks perfectly cooked for the mouth. Live music for the ears. Excellent aromas of wine for the nose. Good times for the soul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

As always Great. Halls is unlivable in training their people and it shows. The wait staff knows the menu and can describe each dish and make recommendations if needed.
I have been many times and Hall's is always good.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Absolute best meal I've ever had!

This dining experience was fantastic! The personal service, the menu, the presentation, EVERYTHING!!! They went out of their way to make our anniversary dinner one to remember.

We both ordered the Bison Filet special. It was cooked to order. Tender and very flavorful!

The only downside, if I am to be overly critical, is the noise level, but that is due to poor manners, not management.

If money is an issue, this may not be your place. However, I believe it was worth every dime! Highly recommend!!!

About us - We consider ourselves to be foodies but not food snobs. If it's good it's good. Some of the best food can be found in little backstreet dives. Please note...This is NOT a backstreet dive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Delicious food. Wonderfully friendly family owners greet you and genuinely care about your experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.