About Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: (843) 727-0090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (373)
Good for Anniversaries (317)
Good for a Date (287)
See All
Romantic (252)
Good for Birthdays (225)
Notable Wine List (176)
Fit for Foodies (167)
Worth the Drive (158)
Business Meals (154)
Live Music (129)
Hot Spot (113)
Good for Groups (109)
Fun (96)
Authentic (95)
Historic (94)
Vibrant Bar Scene (91)
Cozy (90)
Bar Seating (88)
Great for Brunch (84)
Neighborhood Gem (82)
Handcrafted Cocktails (80)
Pre/post Theatre (74)
Creative Cuisine (70)
Sunday Lunch (67)
People Watching (67)
Local Ingredients (66)
Family Style (47)
Comfort Food (46)
Happy Hour (39)
Outstanding Value (37)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Private Room (26)
Late-night Find (26)
Casual (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Kid-friendly (17)
Scenic View (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Seasonal (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Healthy (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great Beer (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
7966 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

'Harry Met Sally' kind of amazing!!

 
 (Houston)·Dined 12 hours ago

'Harry Met Sally' kind of amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is the best you will ever have. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Service is the best you will ever have. The good is spectacular. It's very noisy and cramped but I wouldn't hold it against it because everything else is off the charts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and ambience are the reaso ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Food, service and ambience are the reasons Hall's is one of the top places to eat in the United State

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Spicy, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were treated poorly from our arrival. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

We were treated poorly from our arrival. Service was poor and waited an hour for our meal to arrive. The food was to pricey. It was so noisy that we could not have a conversation at a table for two. We have dined at Hall's in the past but will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The four members of our party would all ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

The four members of our party would all agree the food is very good. However, my steak, mushrooms and onions were not exactly hot. The noise level is extremely high and irritating, making it hard to carry on a conversation. We were seated upstairs in the middle section of the room. In my opinion the seating is too crowded. On numerous occasions patrons at adjoining tables would hit our chairs with theirs and waiters would knock off the ladies purses as they brushed by. Due to the lack of ambiance and high noise level we would not return to this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Server was friendly but too pushy We ord ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Server was friendly but too pushy

We ordered way too much food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

EXCELLENT service, EXCELLENT food, EXCEL ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

EXCELLENT service, EXCELLENT food, EXCELLENT host!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, Hall's didn't disapoint. Reco ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, Hall's didn't disapoint. Recommendation was exactly as described. Service and food are always exemplary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food!!!! Restaurant was really ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food!!!! Restaurant was really crowded but we didn't have to wait long for food! Best food we have had in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The steaks were fantastic! The owner gr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The steaks were fantastic! The owner greeted us at the door and checked on us during the meal. We loved that! Great food, great service....I would definitely recommend this restaurant to steak lovers! Our server was wonderful, too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

19th wedding anniversary. Hall's Chiphou ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

19th wedding anniversary. Hall's Chiphouse is truly one of America's greatest Steakhouses. Everyone always makes you feel like you're a guest in their home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful. great food . Server was great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful. great food . Server was great ambience was great only think was my wife speaks low and I had trouble hearing her over live music and other dinners

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time, and wonderful food. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great time, and wonderful food. Unmatched hospitality and expert bartenders behind the bar (Hugh + Justin!). Creamed Corn and 434 Cocktail are favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience, great food, great w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome experience, great food, great waiter, and great ambiance!

Highly recommend a visit to Halls Chophouse while in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Hall's really recommend it to al ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Hall's really recommend it to all our friends!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a top 5 restaurant in America an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a top 5 restaurant in America and the accolade is well deserved. Fantastic service, outstanding selection and well prepared entrees. We were extremely pleased and recommend this restaurant as a must do when in Charleston.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service. Our server was so kno ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic service. Our server was so knowledgeable and he very much went out of his way to make us feel like we were his only guests and his time was all about us. He answered a miraid of questions and made wonderful suggestions which led us to have a meal and cocktails that will keep us raving about our wonderful experience.

Tags: Vegan, Historic, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Organic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's dinner. Great as always. The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's dinner. Great as always. The staff, the wine, the apps, the lamb, the filet, the desert... All top notch!!! Highly recommend for the full dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halls Chophouse is a awesome place to ea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Halls Chophouse is a awesome place to eat. The service begins from the moment you enter the restaurant. You're greeted and made to feel you are really welcome there. The wait staff is exceptional, and extremely pleasant, ensuring that everything is going to your liking. You don't just walk out without be thanked for being there with the shake of a hand which makes it feel personal. Did I forget to mention, the food is extremely delicious! That's the reason I go there. You get what you pay for! The ambience and the service makes it a top notch restaurant to eat at if you are willing to pay the price....but for me, its worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All was fine except my scallops were EXT ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

All was fine except my scallops were EXTREMELY salty. I tried to eat the 1st one and managed hoping the 2nd one was better but had to drinks numerous mouthfuls of water. By that time I informed the waitress. Management came by and said he could bring two more and I said no. Waitress came back and I asked for a lobster tail instead, but the manager didn't bring the tail, he brought more scallops that I did not want.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Came here to celebrate Valentines Day ea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here to celebrate Valentines Day early. We were greeted at the door by the owner with a firm, welcoming handshake. That alone spoke volumes, as the restaurant was very busy. We were early for our reservations, but we were escorted to a side bar, where we were served amazing cocktails.

Once seated at our table, we were promptly met by our server and his partner who explained the menu without pressuring us into anything specific. They explained their cuts of meat and aging methods with a visual display of each cut selection of steak. We ordered a steak each, and two sides to share.

Everything was amazing. There was so much food leftover as well. The portion sizes were incredible, and the service never faultered. We will definitely be going back! Highly recommended!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience. The Halls are ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great experience. The Halls are great hosts!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we are in the Charleston area ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Every time we are in the Charleston area we make it a point to dine at Hall's. Great ambience and the food is always perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. You wil ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service was excellent. You will not have any trouble finding a wine from the wine list that you will enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten steak in some of the best res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I've eaten steak in some of the best restaurants all over the world; this was the best steak I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This warm and friendly restaurant is ama ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

This warm and friendly restaurant is amazing. To walk in the front door and have a family member greet you makes you feel welcome. David and I appreciate the care and the respect that the Hall family has for their customers. The Hall family has a big heart and it shows. Hall's Chopped House is our number one favorite place to eat. David had a very nice New York Strip and I had the Berkshire Pork Chop, cooked to perfection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, , Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is one of the finest places in the co ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

It is one of the finest places in the country for a steak and outstanding service !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole package is exquisite. The food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The whole package is exquisite. The food, service, and ambience could not be better. This is our favorite place to eat and we dine here every time we are in Charleston.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come to Charleston several times a year ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Come to Charleston several times a year and always stop in to Halls. Excellent service. Always met with a smile and they always make you feel like you're a regular and special patron. John C at the bar is awesome. Always remembers our drinks and has become a friend over the years! Highly recommend!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous evening in a Great City. Rib e ...

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fabulous evening in a Great City. Rib eye probably the best I've ever been served. Always a great time at Halls.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True to all the great reviews I've read! ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

True to all the great reviews I've read!! Came for a Sunday night dinner date for a pre Valentine celebration. Beautiful historic building. Extremely helpful staff. Our wonderful waiter/waitress team were attentive and informative, helping us to select the cut of steak, and offering special requests to appease picky eaters. You could se the owner working the room, and personally thanking each guest. Split the bone in ribeye (plenty for two), the jumbo shrimp cocktail, wedge salad (amazing), truffle fries (A+), and the creamed spinach. The creamed spinach is not your standard nutmeg, cream heavy spinach (which I love), but rather the spinach has more sautéed bite to it, and less sweet taste. Still tasty though!! Anyways I would highly recommended, and will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Knowing this was the #1 rated restaurant ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Knowing this was the #1 rated restaurant in Charleston, per Trip Advisor, I booked a reservation about 3 months in advance. I had high expectation because of the #1 rating, and I have to say that my expectations were not only met but exceeded. Though we arrived 10 minutes early, we were seated immediately. We were greeted personally by the owner and check on several times during the meal by him. When he learned that we were there to celebrate a birthday, he provided us with two free glasses of champagne (very good, I might add). And even at the end, though we were too full for dessert, they sent us away with a to-go-box complete with cake and candle.

The main reason for coming, of course, was the steak, which was very good. We got the dry-aged ribeye and the grass-fed filet mignon. Both were excellent. Perhaps it's my palate, but I couldn't tell the difference between dry-aged and what I normally get at other steak restaurants, and I also couldn't tell the difference between grass feed and what I normally get. (Perhaps the other steak restaurants are already serving dry-aged and grass-fed.) Either way, though, the meal was quite good.

What I appreciated the most is the environment. Most steak restaurants feel a bit overly formal, cold, and pretentious to me. At places like Ruth's Chris, Flemings, Del Frisco's, etc., servers and hosts are generally polite, perhaps even annoyingly attentive, but you can tell they're just doing their job. That's fine, for what it's worth. At Halls, though, you can tell it's a family restaurant, and that extra bit of warmth really adds the difference. The next time I am in Charleston, I'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The one thing that separates Hall's from ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The one thing that separates Hall's from other steak houses is the attention you receive from Mr. Hall , who greets at the door coming in and going out and the entire staff. Porterhouse was than average but was no better than average. Been to many steak houses in NYC, Atlantic City, Virginia, upstate NY, but this is the only one that bent over backwards and more to make you're meal great.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best ribeye I have ever tasted, with the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best ribeye I have ever tasted, with the truffle butter (my friend's order). Best traditional cheesecake I've ever had, too! Very pricey, but if you want perfection.... Hall's has it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurant experiences I ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best restaurant experiences Ive ever had!! Food was some of the best ever. Creamed corn skillet is a must!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is amazing and the owner, Billy ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food is amazing and the owner, Billy, is incredible. He makes every single person feel special and he's very attentive to all customers.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The best steaks you'll find anywhere. Up ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The best steaks you'll find anywhere. Upscale dining with great service. Always enjoyable!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and gospel choir. W ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, service, and gospel choir. What's not to like??

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome as always. Great food and servic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome as always. Great food and service. We love this place. Friendly attentive staff and Mr. Hall is always a delite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our daughter gave us a gift card to Hall ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our daughter gave us a gift card to Hall's. My husband nor I had been there. We were there for the Sunday Gospel Brunch. Loved the Plantation Singers, the food was wonderful and the service supreme. Great spot.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.