Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Philadelphia is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in Pennsylvania! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

1901 Callowhill Street
Philadelphia, PA 19130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–5PM

Lunch Specials
Everyday: 11:30AM–3PM

Dinner
Sun–Thu: 5PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 5PM–11:30PM last call

Happy Hour

Food
Everyday: 11:30AM–6PM
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call

Alcohol
Mon–Thu: 6PM–7PM last call
Mon–Fri: 9PM–Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 603-9482

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (855) 900-3883

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (21)
Good for a Date (16)
Casual (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Fun (12)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Family Style (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
 (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good (because the customer cooks it) but the portions are ridiculously small. I ordered 2 of everything (steak, shrimp, salmon & veggies) spent $150 and still wasn't full

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was great service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Actually made a mistake and thought I had moved reservation from 7 to 7:15 but actually had moved to 6:45 so we were 30 min late but restaurant was able to accommodate us and we had a great meal. Brought 2 friends who hadn't been there and they loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Came with my mother in law for mothers day. We spent 2.5 hours, got our food in about 6+ waves, they forgot to give us some of it and they substituted something without telling us. Waiter offered refills and tben never came back and barely interacted at all- almost every plate was brought out my someone else. Mother in law travelled from far away and the entire visit was spent in frustration. Manager was very gracious and didn't charge us but not sure I'd try it again.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Gyu Kaku was the perfect Mother's Day place to have a fun family experience and "cook" for my mom !! The food is incredible.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Fun, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Went on a date here and had the Miso Skirt Steak, corn on the cob, and aspargus. Everything was very good, but make sure you get more than 1 main entree as the single order or steak did not fill me up. My date is a vegetarian and the vegetable Bimbimbap and commented that it was really good. I would definitely recommend overall, but go for the all you can eat option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Place was awesome service was excellent waitress was polite & sociable atmosphere was nice & cozy.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great korean BBQ as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The server was great. The host staff needs some more training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Went with a coworker for lunch for the first time. If was a great experience to cook my own food on the grill. The lunch portions are a bit small and the options are not wide if you don't eat beef or pork. They were out of shrimp on our day, but if you love good beef, then this is the place for you. I had the chicken, rice and the spinach and garlic. It was really good.

Waitress explained how and how long to cook our food and was friendly. The atmosphere was quiet, but my mouth may have made it not as quiet :). Overall a very good experience. I would like to go at night with my honey to check out the ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ambiance was good and food was great. Service was not very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server didn't know what went into their signature cocktail or what made their #1 appetizer spicy. Water never refilled. Had to stop someone each time we were ready to order. There are so many menus...it is confusing. The meat selections were good. The calamari was ridiculously small portioned. We ordered mushrooms...got spinach. Had to ask 3 times is our shrooms were coming out. We had no plates or chopsticks til we asked...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've came to this place at least 3 times in the past 2 years hoping that they will have a change of management and better cleanliness throughout the store. I love BBQ and this store could be a better success. However, my most recent experience have been the same. Table were sticky, utensil have spots on it, and you can see dusts and grease splash on the wall and divider among tables. My date and I had the all you can eat option. First we ordered a batch of meats, soup and rice and only 7/10 dishes came out. For the second round, we ordered and waited at least 20 minutes for them to bring out those raw dishes. The reason I came back was my cravings for Japanese BBQ but I won't be back again.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I Love this place! The atmosphere is amazing, food is great, and servers are friendly!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I wait almost 40 minutes for every meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great time and value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a reservation and weren't seated for 20 Minutes. We were pretty much ignored. Then, when we finally sat down we didn't have enough menus and after ordering we learned that the grill didn't work and were forced to move to a smaller table. Later, we had ordered more drinks and 3/4 of them arrived. Service overall was pretty bad. Food was great, but confusing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Overall fine experience - generally met expectations. We were astounded to learn that in the section at which we were seated, patrons were not entitled to the sauces typically used to dip cooked meat in before consuming it. One cannot eat yakiniku (grilled meat) without the dipping sauce. Hey - Gyu-Kaku, what are you guys thinking??????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Surprised the wife for her birthday and G.Kaku was very helpful! Food was terrific just have to wait a while to get it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

My friend and I came here by chance trying to find the closest Asian restaurant. I didn't realize it'd be a buffet and a "cook it / grill it yourself" restaurant.

This is a must have experience that you won't want to miss out on. The food is incredible and there are so many delicious options! This is the first place where I haven't had a bad taste in my mouth.

Everything is absolutely delectable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

GyuKakunever disappoints. If you like Japanese BBQ or are interested in it, this is the place to go, hands down.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I love love love love this place. I come here every weekend and I love it

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Casual, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is my favorite place! I love introducing my friends and family to the experience of cooking your own food, but it's really good (amazing) food! Prices are really good too, especially happy hour, which is all the time. Definitely suggest making a reservation in case it's busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was delicious but the service was horrible. Waited nearly 30 minutes to be seated for our reservation. Clearly understaffed and poorly trained. Server seemed to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol; kept forgetting what we ordered and didn't bring our drinks either time we ordered. Not a manager in sight. What a shame for a restaurant in such a great location with good food.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I had reported bad service about a week ago. Went back with my family this time and waitress was a little bit better in the beginning then she went south. Was more interested in talking to the bartender than checking on our food. Two other waitresses brought our food. My daughter-in-law and I each ordered spring rolls. My daughter-in-law got them first. Later (about 15-20 minutes I inquired about them and she told me it would be coming. I got them much later and they were cold. My six year old granddaughter order the sausage - Everybody received their food but my granddaughter - we asked one of the other waitress to please check.
It was brought out. Sauce on chicken was very watered down. When we were in NY we got there when it was still happy hour - so we were charged happy hour prices. I have been there twice at happy hour and was charged regular price. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The foods are always good here. I want to recommend the combo "meat lover", this is perfect for two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

In town visiting our friends who recommended Gyu Kaku. The whole dining experience was so fun and delicious. The wait staff were cery attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Waiter need better customer service . Had to wait for her to get back to my table after assisting others to explain menu and then pick my options . Horrible

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I think this place for a business meal as all the activity of cooking and managing the food allow people to work together and enjoy each other's company without spending the whole time talking about business!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The overall experience was fantastic, Mike the bartender, by far best bartender in Philly

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Was a fun experience although a little pricy. We were there early enough for happy hour but had to ask for the menu. Was fun cooking dinner but again, we had to ask for the rice/veggies.

Tags: Wood Oven, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was extremely slow. I noticed that the table to our left was getting their food and drinks very quickly. My one friend asked for a glass for her bottled beer twice and never got it. We thought we would have our fried rice with our meat and vegetables but we got it right away. It was cold by the time we had our meat. We ordered spring rolls. When they came I requested another order. After a half hour I inquired about the spring rolls and was told that it was being worked on. I make egg rolls all the time was scratch so i know it doesn't take a half hour or more. Dessert was ordered, three of us was served and the other two waited at least fifteen minutes or more. I waited until the last two got their desserts. The two that got their desserts first waited about five minutes and they were finished by the time the last two got their dessert. The waitress has the nerve to add 20% tip to our total.

My son and I went to your restaurant in New York. The service was great. Your Philadelphia location show follow their procedures. I feel the waitress had too many tables to service all at once. Felt she did not really care

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Tofu soup has little tofu, but mainly cabbage. The bibimbap didn't contain egg as the figure showed. BBQ is good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

First time there; great experience from beginning to end. Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The overall experience was amazing. The waitress who served my wife and I, who's name is Crystal, was very friendly and patient with us. It was our first time at the restaurant and we'll be going back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Spicy, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful plus the food was great, but the waiter was extremely forgetful. we was not served any water, we had to request for the eating utensils two times and we had to request for the waiter to refill the 3 empty sauce bottles that was empty when we was seated. this would make it my third visit ,this was my guess first visit - I just wish the service was a little bit more better. But the second waiter that took over that evening ( Victoria) was on point. I just hope that i don't have to experience that again.I was really bragging to my guess about how awesome this place was, but I was embarrassed when the first waiter was so forgetful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great food and great for work team builder

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food itself was good, but I do give the restaurant very low rating for cleanliness. The bathrooms were disgusting, and a few stalls had no toilet paper in them. The floors in the whole restaurant needed to be swept; it just didn't look like a very clean place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was great to dine in Gyu Kaku.! the price is quite reasonable if you visit them during their happy hour. Nice meal, and affordable price.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was great, the Kobe beef was very thinly sliced so it was hard to grill. That's the only gripe.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.