Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Philadelphia is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in Pennsylvania! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

1901 Callowhill Street
Philadelphia, PA 19130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–5PM

Lunch Specials
Everyday: 11:30AM–3PM

Dinner
Sun–Thu: 5PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 5PM–11:30PM last call

Happy Hour

Food
Everyday: 11:30AM–6PM
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call

Alcohol
Mon–Thu: 6PM–7PM last call
Mon–Fri: 9PM–Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 603-9482

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (855) 900-3883

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Casual (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Romantic (5)
Great Beer (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

New experience with Japanese food and at table grilling; Was fun; Waitress was great but an intraining cocktail waiter left something to be desired.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We came for the all you can eat menu, which is at 50 dollars steep price. I thought 90 minutes would be plenty for eating. But that's only if they were not playing games. After we ordered it took a good 20-30 minutes to see anything other than a salad coming to our table. We came at 5pm! Not a busy time at all. So they brought out 3 plates, which together was less than what you can put on the grill one time. An order of shrimp? 4.
But the biggest complaint is about the quality of the food. The menu is mostly beef, and I love beef. But all the different dishes were about the same flavor. Mostly sweet with some rice wine going on. It didn't matter which item it were, it were that taste.
After the meal, I didn't feel very good. As a person used to the AYCE scene in LA, this has been underwhelming, to put it lightly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was excellent. The service, however, was poor. It took forever for the food come. We did the all you can eat and there were several periods, actually most of the night, were we sat at our table waiting for them to bring us food. Basically, we ordered and waited for 15 min each time for them to bring us raw food for us to cook ourselves. I noticed that non-asian customers were experiencing the same thing we were. The guy beside us, who was Caucasian, was having the same experience. I am not sure if we'll be trying again. If you want flavorful Asian cuisine, try Han Dynasty. They are quick and have excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Awesome experience! Love our server, Olly. Our busser was supper attractive as well. Food was fresh and tasted great.
Can't be happier!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food served was very very very sloooooow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We ordered waaaay too much food, and then almost ate all of it. It was more expensive than we thought it would be, but it was all delicious. And we cooked it expertly! The complementary anniversary prosecco was a perfect ending.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Gyu-Kaku is a good Japanese BBQ restaurant for everyday dining with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The seating was very intimate. There is something really fun and novel about being both the guest and the chef. The set up of sharing a small grill to cook your food really fosters conversation, so a great idea for a first date.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

At $45/AYCE premium dinner, they're approaching Fogo de Chao prices but I like it here more because (1) I enjoy Japanese/Korean side dishes which there are a ton of (2) cheap drink specials like $1.99 20oz Kirin beer, and (3) enjoy Asian marinated meats vs. salted or seasoned Brazilian meats. Plus they fixed their rewards program! Use "DanielCh7745" for a referral sign up bonus :)

The only cons are you have to cook yourself, you will reek of kbbq after, and there's supposedly a 90-minute time limit (not a problem if you just order a lot at the beginning).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great wait staff. Food was fresh. Was pleasantly surprised that they followed the Japanese tradition of saying "welcome, we are here to serve you, good evening" in Japanese. Nice for someone that misses Japan as they do this in all restaurants and stores there. People complaining about this custom need to chill as this only happens when a new customer is greeted. We will be back soon. Loved street parking. Did not leave hungry as we did the all you can eat. I recommend.... everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The foods amazing and id want to go back again with a group of friends. Everyone should try there shrimp tempura.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Gyu-kaku is moderate kinda place for lunch or dinner if you are not looking for anything expensive. The service was OK, also they have good happy hour during lunch time, so make sure to use them. However only thing that disappointed me about this place was a Chinese waitress who was there working September 10th 2017 Sunday afternoon. My wife accidentally left
her cellphone in the restaurant and suddenly few blocks down, we realized and headed back to the restaurant. On the way we made couple of calls ,it was ringing but nobody answered my call. when we got there my wife saw the Chinese waitress was holding the phone, the waitress was kinda nervous said here is your phone and handed the phone turning it on. So we can assume what she was Upto smh. Beside this incident, talking about the food it was good. Definitely recommended for food but be very careful about your belongings. SMH 😥😥😥

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Wonderful food and service. I had a Groupon I got for Gyu Kaku while in Boston and it wasn't usable at the Philly location which was a bummer. I'm hoping to get a reimbursement for the Groupon or at least a voucher that is good for the Philly location since I don't live in or near Boston.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Definitely an authentic yakiniku experience similar to what you'd find in Japan with quality that matches the Japanese standard. They're offering their premium all-you-can-eat, which you can find a lot of the best cuts of meats to grill. I definitely recommend starting off with "spicy addicting cucumber" (which isn't all that spicy, but they REALLY ARE addicting!) and having some Bacon Chips! Definitely do not pass up on the Beef Tongue. Where it says "limit one order per-person," there's a reason for that and those are items you shouldn't pass on as well!

The wait staff are very attentive through the entire service and are very accommodating with large groups, like mine (having around ten people.) Definitely great for a get-together of many!

Experience Yakiniku from a Japanese chain that brings Japanese-standard quality to Philly for lunch or dinner - it'll really keep you coming back for more!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We hard a very pleasant moment in familly, with exceptionnal food and caring service. Very good restaurant for a friend or family Time.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service here was so great everyone was nice and attentive they made me and my husband feel so important great staff and the food was good and it was fun

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was great, but the air conditioning wasn't working. There was a massive temporary A/C unit on the floor blowing air toward one corner of the restaurant, but we were sweating. The ceiling was also leaking water.

Weird experience... but delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I love this service is always great..food is delicious (of course I cook it myself) affordable

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Casual, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The service and food were excellent!

The only downsides were:
1. The call and response shouting every time a party is seated. Annoying as hell. If this is a corporate policy, it's not doing the restaurant or the diners any favors.

2. The AC appeared to be broken. I will NOT be going back until the weather cools down.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Delicious meats and plenty of food for great value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Krystal was great ! Great attitude and friendly . Love this place and cooking on the grill. Great drinks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was good. Price and portion size were very reasonable. We did the BBQ lunches where each person orders 2 meats/ vegetables to cook on the grill. The various beef cuts, shrimp and sausage were great/ I wouldn't recommend the chicken as there is more risk if it's not cooked well and the cuts are somewhat thick which takes more time on the grill. Overall, fun, tasty and different. Service was friendly but had to hunt down our server for refills and check.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our server never check in once with us, my water glass was empty until I finally broke down and asked for it. The food however was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was great!. The price for 2 was also reasonable. It was my first time there. The only let down was the service. Our first waitress kept rushing us to order and half way thru our dining we found out that she had left for the day. Didn't bother to let us know or at least tell us who was going to be taking care of us for the rest of our meal. Other than that I would say our experience was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great lunch specials, and tasty draft beers!
Though the different cuts of pork and beef are delicious, do not leave without trying the citrus salmon, and garlic rice - they are absolutely perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was my daughters 16th Birthday that we were spending in the city w/her friends overnight. We loved the food and the idea of cooking over the pit. I will definitely return for date night w/hubby. The manager was very nice and came over to check on us however the waitress was no that pleasant. I still left at nice tip because I use to be a waitress for 7 years and overall I enjoyed the restaurant and my daughter and her friends were happy. I would just recommend advising the waitresses to be a little more pleasant because I would have left a larger tip!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went to celebrate my husbands birthday and loved every minute of it. Great staff. AMAZING FOOD. Will definitely return soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Food was very one note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Everything was great except the kitchen staff was behind in cooking. In our area, they were making food for people that came in after us. We had to wait too long for our complete order. Four of us had partial meals while others in our group were almost done their dinners. No worries, I'll go back again. The food is awesome.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

good food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great restaurant and great food. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I can't say enough good things about this place. I will say that if they don't have everything on the deluxe side of the menu, just dowgrade to the premium. You'll still end up with way more food than you can imagine. I took my boyfriend for his birthday and he cannot stop raving about it to his family and friends. The service was very, very good. The only bad thing I can say is that they were out of some of the menu items we had looked forward to and the sake machine was down for a while, but that got fixed. The fact that you're in control of how your food is cooked made this such a unique experience. We cannot wait to go back to Gyu Kaku!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This is a Japanese BBQ which means there is a BBQ grill in each table and like the more popular Korean BBQ, the diners cook their own food. We had 3 kinds of steak because they were out of shrimp and they were delicious. They were also out of Kirin beer which was on special and were not offering a replacement so we had water.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We went for my son-in-laws birthday. He is Japanese and he was quite pleased with the place. It is fun grilling your food. They also have plenty of menu items if you don't won't to be bothered. But the communal grilling is half the attraction of the place. We ate great food and had a good time.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Excellent food quality as always. Service was not that great as they had fewer people to attend as they usually have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Love the choices. Great !

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Awesome pricing. Must go especially in big groups. Love their version in NYC. So glad they came to Philly. Best all you can eat grilling place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food was great! Love the experience. Manager and waitress were very accommodating!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I really like this place. I think the concept is amazing, good price point. I had dinner the first time, and recently had lunch. Unfortunately, the place is borderline filthy. The condiment containers looked like it hasn't been wiped in a while. The floors were sticky as well. I want to promote this place to family and friends, just wish they could prioritize the cleanliness of the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was fantastic. Nice atmosphere . Staff was helpful without being overbearing while providing guidelines for cooking. We had the meat lovers for 2 and it was perfect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.