About Gyu-Kaku - Houston

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Houston is the ideal spot for an amazing experience! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

510 Gray St
#A
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Mon-Fri: 10:30AM–6PM
Sat-Sun: 11AM–6PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–9:30PM last call

Happy Hour
Mon–Fri: 10:30AM–6PM
Sat & Sun: 11AM–6PM

Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 10PM–11:30PM last call

Cross Street:
Smith St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 750-9520

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot, Street

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Houston can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (855) 965-8874

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (24)
Casual (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Fun (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Family Style (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fireplace (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Romantic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good and plentiful. It was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was good and plentiful. It was an enjoyable experience

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food. Great ambience. Not too lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great food. Great ambience. Not too loud. The client loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner with excellent service. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Fantastic dinner with excellent service. My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time, and the food was delicious. We will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I'm here, I absolutely love i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Every time I'm here, I absolutely love it. I reserved a table online for my boyfriend and I. They sat us down at a tucked away little room with another couple. It was the perfect setting: comfortable, cozy, and a window to make the room seem bigger. The service was incredible. The waitress was upbeat, always friendly, and checked on us frequently. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone. Their food is beyond delicious!! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Family Style, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience would recommend to ev ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing experience would recommend to everyone for every occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, , Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal and fun in one. The atmos ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fantastic meal and fun in one. The atmosphere really takes it to the next level. The hostess needs to work on her interpersonal skills BUT the wait staff were very professional and attentive. The quality of the meats and freshness of the vegetables was great. Highly recommend it if you're looking for something new and fun.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely wonder experience. Food and s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Absolutely wonder experience. Food and service was great and a lot of fun cooking your own food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only recommendation is, the food is b ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My only recommendation is, the food is brought out by runners and not the waitress. They move quickly, and speak fast....they should take more time to explain the dishes.

Also, once everything is out, there is no way to remember what each dish is....be nice to have a descriptor on/with each plate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very fun and very hands on but it was ve ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very fun and very hands on but it was very loud and super fast paced so we felt rushed

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The place is outstanding. Eve if you res ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The place is outstanding. Eve if you reserve a table you have to wait at least 30 mins, but worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

A unique dining experience and excellent ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A unique dining experience and excellent food. Fun atmosphere. Even though it's a bit of a drive for me, we will likely return although probably just as a couple. There were 4 of us dining on this occasion and there were several plates on the table at any given point in time. The table was a little 'busy.' Also, the parking was a bit challenging. Parking spaces are limited and very small. They don't easily accommodate a full size pickup.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great fun. Food/ service great

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great fun. Food/ service great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Poor service, very unprofessional. Mana ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Poor service, very unprofessional. Manager on duty not responsive to complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

So glad we had a reservation! Some peop ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

So glad we had a reservation! Some people were sat outside in the cold. Delicious food. The table next to us was super loud but that's easily controlled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service here is very friendly and at ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The service here is very friendly and attentive. The food selection is note worthy too.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super fun. Super tasty. I actually grew ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Super fun. Super tasty. I actually grew up in Japan and have been to a number of Gyukakus in Japan and they really do live up to the brand here in Houston. You can see by the number of Asian patrons in the restaurant, some of them Japanese like me seeking authentic taste from back home. I suggest going with a group of people (4-6 is ideal) so you can share various plates. Be ready to eat and have a good time cooking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Service was okay. Made reser ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food! Service was okay. Made reservations and yet still had to wait. Very frustrating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

This made cooking more fun. Loved the fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This made cooking more fun. Loved the food and tge service. Only problem was the parking.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lunch special is the way to go!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The lunch special is the way to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is my absolute FAVORITE restaurant, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is my absolute FAVORITE restaurant, everything from the ambiance to the self serve cooking! I definitely recommend this place to anyone going on a date or special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and service was excellent! The ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food and service was excellent! The only complaint I have is that the cell/internet reception is not good and I was not able to use my $10 coupon that was on my rewards.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and extremely good service. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Awesome food and extremely good service. The only downside was that the table for 4 was a little small and we had problems accommodating all our dishes on the table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great alternative for the thanksgiving f ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great alternative for the thanksgiving feast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the quiet thanksgiving experience I ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Not the quiet thanksgiving experience I was expecting! Service was rushed. They literally ran by the table and dropped the food off. They spoke so fast that we didn't hear what the different meats were.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

we had a lot of fun they treated us very ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

we had a lot of fun they treated us very nicely even after arriving late to our reservation only down side to it is the parking lot but that is something you get used to it in houston

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was so m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 20, 2016

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was so much fun and the food is absolutely delicious. It was highly recommended to us by a close friend who is a local Houstonite. Definitely easier if you make a reservation because it's such a popular spot!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great experie ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, great service, great experience. Perfect for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I LOVE this place. Everytime I come her ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I LOVE this place. Everytime I come here, the ambiance is great, and the food is even better. The prices and food selections are reasonable. I can't wait until I get to return to this gem located in the heart of Midtown !!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for any special occasi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great place to go for any special occasion or just to get a quick bite. Very frindly staff and well mannered. Only thing i dont like about the place is that nearly everytime my friends and I go to eat and try to have a good time it just gets ruined by some adults in their early 30s or 40s sitting next or across our table giving us mean stares and whispering to each other whilst looking at us as if we couldn't see what they were doing. I dont know if its a race thing or if they are annoyed because we are having a conversation instead of mindlessly looking down at our phones and being quiet, it just really disappoints me that we cant go out to a nice place like this and be at peace. We almost dont want to eat here anymore but we still do simply because the service and the food is amazing! Really wish it was a better atmosphere for younger adults who want to have a good time with friends. Other than that this place coulnt be any better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is my second time here. The meat is ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is my second time here. The meat is high quality and very tasty. Only issue is they took forever to bring our rice. Go during happy hour for the discount.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Gyu Kaku has become one of our favorite ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Gyu Kaku has become one of our favorite restaurants. We love the selection and there is always something new on the menu to try.

I just don't understand why they can't bring the whole order out so if everyone is eating something different, everyone can start eating rather having to wait for their selection of meats, seafood, etc. There were four of us in our party and we all ordered something different and asked for our meats to ALL come out at the same time. It didn't happen and one of the four of us had to wait 10 minutes before their first plate of meat arrived.

Besides that, the food was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

everything was good except that I could ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

everything was good except that I could get a knife or for because they run out... very disappointing

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Always enjoyable.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the interactive dining a Gy ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Always enjoy the interactive dining a Gyu Kaku! Their hot sake is on point. Happy hour is a great value!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with a good dining experien ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great dinner with a good dining experience. After reading reviews about how busy the restaurant can be at times, we made a reservation and were not disappointed in the least. Everyone enjoyed the meal (for a party of four adults, we ordered two combination meals), and there was more than enough food for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We love this place in California. This o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love this place in California. This one is ok. Different ambiance. Menu about the same. They just opened one up in Dallas. We'll have to try there next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Halloween happy hour was a great deal ju ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Halloween happy hour was a great deal just like the extended happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I have been here twice. Ea ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My family and I have been here twice. Each time was enjoyable. Loved the Happy Hour.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just wished there was a bit more rice in ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Just wished there was a bit more rice in the bowl. It was great altogether though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best spot to take a date.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Best spot to take a date.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.