About Grill 23 & Bar

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar and Bar Menu: Open at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grill 23 & Bar offers private dining for any occasion; business breakfast and meetings, luncheons, dinners, celebrations and wedding. We have 6 distinct private rooms, including our brand new state-of-the-art Private Dining Suite that can accommodate up to 140 guests.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (97)
Good for a Date (81)
Business Meals (71)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Romantic (64)
Notable Wine List (59)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Good for Groups (39)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Worth the Drive (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Cozy (21)
Authentic (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Fun (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Historic (14)
People Watching (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Casual (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Private Room (9)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Family Style (6)
Scenic View (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fireplace (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
4277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We chose this classic chop house as an elegant dining experience for our teenage son during school vacation week in Boston. The wait staff is 100% pro. We enjoyed the exotic Kobe beef and indulged in a delicious and memorable meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I truly loved the service! I travel all over the world and love it when my senses are again awaken by receptive, professional, hospitable and savy staff. The food is absolutely top notch especially the veal chop! So, have a go - try it!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been coming to Grille 23 for years. It is my go-to spot for large or small business meetings or dinner with friends visiting Boston. I have never been disappointed by the quality of the food, the service or the ambiance. One of my favorites. I have had large parties, private dinners in the wine room, and numerous couples dinners. Their steaks and seafood are excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Normally a good restaurant, this time not so much. Ordered the tomahawk rib eye at server suggested medium to medium rare. Steak was raw, which could be see in its presentation as it was somewhat sliced. Tried to eat it, but too raw. It went back to be corrected, but re-heating the original meat is never the same. Very disappointing. If you're going to charge $140 for a steak it should be perfect. WIFI in the restaurant did not work. Server was not that good. Recommended wine was marginal. Cost for 2 adults and a child, with tip $400. Not a good value.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

OUTSTANDING!

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding dining experience, great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to Grill 23 several times and the last couple of times the food has not been great. This last time was terrible. We will not go back. The tomahawk steak was less than mediocre, the hash browns were so greasy it coated your mouth, the desserts were horrid. The waiter was pleasant enough but he was very busy and difficult to get his attention. In addition to this, it was very loud. What once used to be a great steak restaurant certainly is no longer. It was a disappointment and the fact that we were able to get a reservation on a Saturday night about an hour before we did probably is because others feel the same. Very sad to be so negative but all of us in our party of 4 felt the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Consistently Great!

Front desk. Reception Quality is alway kind and courteous.

Bartender. Friendly Always.

Sommelier brought us a fabulous Rioja!

This place is hopping for a reason. They have it down!

I will return again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was the second time we have been to Grill 23. We were disappointed the first time but due to other's opinions we gave it a second chance. This time we were seated next to the counter where the servers get their utensils. I didn't realize that they would be there throughout the meal or I would have asked to move. The sound of clanging forks was distracting and annoying. Appetizer was good (crab legs), drinks were good, my rack of lamb was good, but my wife's filet was cooked poorly. She ordered it medium and it came out tough on the outside/overcooked and undercooked in the middle. She ate about a 1/3 of it and the rest was poor. The roasted Brussel sprouts were drenched in oil and soggy. Unfortunately as much as we've tried to like Grill 23, it is highly unlikely that we will ever return. Having small children we don't get out as often anymore, but for the Grill 23 price we would rather go to another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Melt in your mouth steaks, creative delicious sides, attentive but unobtrusive staff, we had a window seat and enjoyed people watching, ohh and the coconut cake....

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We chose Grill 23 & Bar upon a few great recommendations from coworkers (great steaks, awesome wine list, heard good things about the place, etc.) and it was certainly a nice spot to spend a date night out. Perhaps most disappointing aspect of the meal was that there were a few fruit flies around our table now and then throughout our time there, and we were seated a few tables away from the closest to the kitchen, so I'm not sure if everyone throughout the restaurant would have that experience. Either way, definitely not something you hope for at such a high end spot. Anyhoo - Wine list is very extensive and the Chianti we chose was quite wonderful. Bread basket before dinner was just fine, nothing special but nothing bad. Crab cake as an appetizer was good, interesting texture on the outside but very fresh and good consistency on the inside. My dining partner and I actually decided to share the aged ribeye and a handful of sides. The steak itself was a great cut of meat, however seemed overly/unnecessarily seasoned - personally I prefer when restaurants let the meat speak for itself without extra seasoning, and let their guests control the salt/pepper at the table. But don't get me wrong it was a truly great piece of meat, the quality was there for sure. Unfortunately the sides were mostly the same story - mashed potatoes were way over buttered (I know this would be a plus for some people but it was just excessive), the bacon braised greens were actually so salty that they were inedible (we did not eat them nor did we take the leftovers home), the roasted brussels sprouts were fine but over-balsamic'd. And my dining partner also got the tots on a whim (he had seen such good reviews about them he just had to try them!) and they were kind of a bust, just very so-so (but I think that's to be expected with tots). Lastly we got a little sundae for dessert, it was good - no complaints there. Overall we will not go back, we'll try another steakhouse next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Everything we were told it would be. Good place to celebrate a special ocassion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This place is Boston's best steakhouse for a reason. They have seriously good meat, and great sides and desserts too (most are portioned to share). Our waiter was attentive and friendly, and helpful when we had questions. It is on the pricey side, but not unreasonable for what you get. The decor is tastefully upscale, but the atmosphere is more Wall Street power lunch than intimate date night (still good for a date though), and the noise level is somewhat high but not obnoxious. All told, if you want a great steak, going here would not be a mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Contrary to the name (which I now believe was primarily for marketing reasons), 100 Day Aged Ribeye was a bit burnt on the side and wasn't very flavorfu but rather bland. I've eaten a good number of steaks with varying price points, and I've found a good number of ~$20, 25 steaks with richer taste.

Waiters also forgot our bread and only came by 3 times. Busy day, but I felt a bit neglected.e

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Where to start

We dined on Valentine's Day, the most maddening and fun day of the year for the industry, which can overwhelm a restaurant with ease. There was a delay and wait for our reservation but the Maitre'd was calm, friendly and we had no issue waiting for 15 minutes at the gorgeous bar. We then were sat at our table, which was unfortunately placed right in the cold draft when the front door opened. Valentine's Day is also my SO's birthday so everything had to be perfect and she was cold. I returned to the Maitre'd who gracefully apologized and made clear he wanted to have us seated as soon as possible. He had a table set for us upstairs at a wonderful table by the top of the stairs far from the draft. Our server kevin was polite and attentive without being intrusive on a special day, and made sure her birthday was special with an amazing dessert gift. The food. A 100 day aged prime ribeye, a symphony of umami, sweetness crunchy seared fat melting in your mouth, perfectly cooked and seasoned only to accent the immense flavor of the beef. A heaping pile of sweet and perfectly cooked caramelized onions. Deeply rich and smooth Yukon mashed potatoes, decadent cream of spinach with crunchy garlic bread crumbs for textural contrast and a sweet and aromatic truffle foie gras steak sauce to die for. One of the best steakhouses out there not named Peter Luger or St Elmo's. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was fantastic and the restaurant as a whole is a very classy place. The wine list is very impressive. My only critique was that I had made a reservation for 9 pm yet we weren't seated until 9:50. Obviously things gets busy on Valentine's Day, but that was pretty discouraging

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meal was excellent that being said we started with the seafood sampler and it left a lot to be desired. I understand it is a sampler but it only had 2 shrimp on it and the combined meat in the clams and oysters would not even have equaled 2 whole ones. There was 3 half small lobster tails and that was it. So at $59 it was very disappointing. Wait staff was excellent as usual and the main meals were also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service, staff was very nice.

My steak, and my wife's chicken were both over cooked.

Other than that, staff was great, ambiance lovely, would definitely give it another shot.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was amazing. Waiter was amazing, his name was joe. Waiting at the bar before we got seated was amazing. Everything about this place was extremely better than most top steakhouses is Boston except for the old guy host who checked us in. He was grumpy, rude, and honestly does not deserve to work at a place like this.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Exceptional in every way! I highly recommend it to anyone here. Best steak and filet.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great meal at Grill 23, as usual.

Food was perfect and service was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good as it should be but I cannot say that anything was very good and surely not outstanding. Service was great but the atmosphere is only ok. I have dined on and off here for many years. I finally wanted to figure out for myself which steakhouse is the best in Boston and in my opinion it is the Capital Grill and not Grill 23. So, maybe I am too critical but for a very expensive meal I think Grill 23 is good but should be outstanding for the cost and I personally do not think it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a pleasure coming here! Everyone is so great and the food is always amazing :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The occasion was for our son's 25th birthday. Our party of 4 each ordered different steak entrees. They were all delicious and the best meal we have ever had there! The menu is pricey, but we knew that ahead of time since we have eaten here before. Service was very attentive. We always look forward to eating at Grill 23 and will go back again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It's like stepping back in time. This is the restaurant that I imagine Donald Trump voters really liking as it will take them back to when they believe America was great. The decor was outdated. We're pretty sure that some of the wallpaper had flaked into our food. When we weren't questioning that, some waiter's butt was in our face as they've packed the restaurant with so many tables, there was no room to move.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentines

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Alway have a great meal here. Consistently excellent. I hate to sit right away. Always arrive 20 minutes before my reservation to enjoy a cocktail in the lounge. I checked-in with time to spare. The maitre'd escorted us to the bar and then got us when the table was ready. We both had the Kobe steak - It is the best. Ordered the special shrimp app. Delicious., as was the wine, entree and dessert. This isn't meant to be an "in-and-out" restaurant. Don't treat it as such. Come, enjoy the company you are with, the ambiance of the place, and relax.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent dinner, earlier hour made the ambiance nicer since it was quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Grill 23 stands out as a venue for groups of all sizes looking for uncommonly good service, uncommonly good food, and uncommonly good beverages. I am a teacher who strives to offer ideas for improvement for all of my students on their work, yet I am hard pressed to offer suggestions for Heather or her colleagues to improve. I acknowledge that I will not eat here every time that I dine out, but I have to admit that I wish that I could do so. Thank you for a wonderful experience on Friday.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Not as special as it used to be, felt rushed and lacked in small details,

felt like a glorified pub . The desserts were outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Historic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We've been going to Grill 23 for almost 20 years, but hadn't been there in the last 2 years. It was one of the worst meals we've ever had anywhere! It's such a shame how bad it is now. The service was ok, but the food was terrible! We're not shy at all when it comes to prices but couldn't help think that it's a travesty to pay, for instance, $42 for a thin, gray, tasteless piece of tuna, and the meat was no better. I've not had to write a review like this for a long time but felt compelled to so others won't have the same experience we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great steak place and perfect for business dinners. The service is excellent and non-obtrusive. Great bar and wine menu!

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrated a birthday and all agreed that our respective meals were superlative

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

So loud you cannot even hear anyone other than the person beside you talking. And even then, you have to speak very loudly.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The steaks were very good and actually cooked perfectly. Sides were tasty and generously sized. This is the first time we have been back since the renovations and the dining area is better (arrangement of tables, atmosphere, sophisticated, acoustics) and we look forward to going back to dine at the bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a table in front of the fireplace upstairs, which was so wonderful on that very cold night. The wine list was extensive and the staff very helpful and knowledgeable. I'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pretended it was my friends birthday and got him a birthday cake and everyone in the whole restaurant clapped

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It's a bit pricey, but if you looking to splurge on a great meal, it's as good as it gets. We had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of the best steaks, bar none. Always impeccable service. Great wine and scotch menu.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Arrived at 6pm. Immediately after we sat waiter asked if we would like a cocktail. Needed a minute to review list. Drinks came and waiter appeared no less than 3 times in a 10 minute span asking if we were ready to order. Food arrived in a timely manner and was delicious. i asked for a second glass of wine w/ meal and arrived way before meal. Unfortunately one of my associates asked for a second drink to arrive when he completed 1st and that never happened. Waited and waited for bill to arrive and no sign of waiter ... dined here before and not the level of high level, discreet service that I am accustomed to.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful service and delicious food. Quite noisy once most tables were full. That was a bit distracting.

Wait staff overheard that it was a birthday dinner and put a candle and birthday wish on dessert. A nice touch.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Waitress was extremely slow. Seated late and weren't waited on for at least another 15 minutes. Food and atmosphere were good but experience was almost ruined by poor service

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The best steakhouse in town... for over 30 years. Energetic room. Amazing dry aged steak. Real hashbrowns... a tower of coconut cake for dessert. . Some wearing hoodies , sweatshirts and sneakers (really??..in this place on a busy saturday) Pricey yes... but you deserve it . Perhaps a little dress code is in order. If one can afford the food, then you probably own a sportcoat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Grill 23 is my favorite steak house in the United States, it combines an old-school steak restaurant scene with some of the best service I've ever seen. The cuts of meats are simply the best, I've yet to come across any rival that stands a chance of offering a better meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was very slow and server not very personable. Very loud and busy. Not a good value for your money. I wouldn't recommend going on a Saturday night. It was our anniversary and it was very disappointing dinner. Over an hour to get our food and then it came out cold.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The second you walk through the door you are confident you made the right choice.

The look and feel of Grill 23 is very majestic with the large central columns and dark woodwork. It has a very classy yet relaxing atmosphere. Our table of four enjoyed the lettuce wedge and srimp cocktail which were excellent. For our main course, three of us had the 18oz dry aged ribeye and one had the swordfish. The ribeye was one of, if not the best, we all agreed, we ever had. The swordfish was also considered excellent. The service was excellent and all the waitstaff including those who greeted us at the door were very courteous and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend Grill 23 to anyone. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was proposing to my girlfriend on that night and wanted a great steakhouse. Grill 23 came highly recommended and I must say that it was one of the BEST meals I have had. My now Fiancé was VERY impressed as well. Will Def be back. THANK YOU for a memorable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful meal and service. Enjoyed the colorful atmosphere and still down to earth relationship with staff.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Hands down the best steak in Boston. Service is always beyond reproach.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.