Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Grill 23 & Bar

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar and Bar Menu: Open at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grill 23 & Bar offers private dining for any occasion; business breakfast and meetings, luncheons, dinners, celebrations and wedding. We have 6 distinct private rooms, including our brand new state-of-the-art Private Dining Suite that can accommodate up to 140 guests.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (116)
Business Meals (100)
Good for a Date (96)
See All
Notable Wine List (90)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
Romantic (66)
Good for Groups (62)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Bar Seating (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Authentic (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Comfort Food (21)
Historic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
People Watching (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Private Room (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Casual (13)
Fun (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Family Style (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Fireplace (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (0)
Sort By:
S
4428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Steaks and potatoes are on the salty you side here. Makes things tasty but if you have a salt issue stay away. Noise level is very high and while it makes for an invigorating atmosphere it can be difficult to engage in normal conversation. Some table for two are separated only by a not too wide "end table with lamp". It is a well known spot for steaks but with all of the other great Boston restaurants I feel it is not at the top of my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Clam chowder was our first course and the high point of the meal. Food was just ordinary and an overall disappointment for the price. Service however, was very good. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

La ocasión era la graduación de mi hija y el sitio es ideal para familias, amigos y parejas. Me gustó mucho.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We booked six weeks in advance and asked for a quiet table. I had once eaten on the second floor and was envisioning something like that. Sorry to say they were unable to produce a quiet table. It was so pleasant to leave and enter onto the street - a relief.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We took our daughter out following her graduation from law school -- this restaurant has excellent food, moderately expensive, but we would definitely dine here again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It is so noisy. Not a very good place if you want to have a private chat with your friends. Food is not that delicious. The tuna steak I ordered is burned. Service is very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

steak was good but sides are mediocre and way overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We took my parents here while they're in town from Texas for my graduation. Great way to introduce Boston. Thank you!!! Food was amazing, service was great and the food was to die for. Thank you for making it special!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day treat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Top notch food and service. Look forward to going back for the next special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I orded a 100 Day Aged Prime. It tasted incredible. But it took me a long time to wait. The environment is good and fancy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Typically love Grill 23. Actually had my wife's 50th b-day there with a party of 20 - private room and many other visits. However, when I made a reservation a month in advance for our wedding anniversary I was hoping for a much better table location. The restaurant called me THREE times to confirm days leading up to reservation. I requested each time for a nice table given our anniversary. They put us as a 2 top next to the kitchen and 6" from another 2 top. If you DO NOT want parties of 2 don't take the reservation. DONT THINK I'LL BE BACK!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been coming here since 1999, so a long time. I am sorry to say the food has finally lost its luster. Before I talk about the food, I will say the service was excellent as was the somillier. The $110.00 seafood tower was pedestrian in presentation and quality. The oysters and clam were fantastic but the shrimp which were smaller than the cocktail shrimp and lobster were tasteless. There was no crab, ceviche,or tartare. Too expensive for what it was. The steaks were flavorful the 18 oz strip was much larger than the rib eye it was not 18 oz. the thing that really bothered me was that the lobster mac and cheese came to the table cold in a packed restaurant AND had no lobster in it!!they brought back a warm one but it STILL had no lobster in it. The coffee was excellent but over all not as good as it used to be, it was very underwhelming.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food and drinks are amazing. Well worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I've been to Grill 23 a handful of times and always really enjoyed it. The food was very good, as was the service. This past time, though, the service was subpar - the waiter was not attentive, my steak was rare and the waiter did not even check with us to make sure the steaks were cooked according to our liking (this is a given at nice steak houses), there was no lobster in our $20 lobster mac and cheese side dish which the waiter did not even respond to. We had to ask for something twice. The food was not hot. Overall, I went from enjoying this place to not wanting to go back which is unfortunate since a lot of dinner meetings occur here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service great preparations with unique twists for a classic steak and seafood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The steaks were fine, service was weak and the sides were bland, especially the spinach dish. There are a handful of steak houses in Boston where you pay for and expect top notch food and service and Grille 23 seems to be the weakest of the top tier. It was not bad, just didn't blow we away which is what you want when you're dropping ~$100/person.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Loved it. Ken, our waiter made it extra special. The crab cake was truly top notch as was the steak frites. We shall return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Our evening service was not as top notch as one would expect . With all the choices for a good steak house in Boston I would be hard pressed to recommend G 23. Third time visit and last for a 550+ night for four I give it a C+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Best clam chowder I EVER had! Filet was prepared perfectly. Cannot wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our waiter, Patrick, was phenomenal. He made our special occasion more memorable and he's suggestions on wine was superb. The food was good but not as fancy as I thought it would be for the price and atmosphere. Truly, the experience was more with Patrick and he so thoughtful in bringing a birthday dessert which we totally forgot to ask.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and service were both above average.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service around wine/ water/ bread refill was fantas tic and courteous but our actual server was not very attentive and actually brought the wrong entree that was a $20 up charge and it was cooked very rare. It was a special occasion and busy in there so I did not want to cause a scene or have to wait for the correct meal. It was a nice place but I wouldn't recommend unless you were with a larger party

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was in Boston to celebrate a graduation. I chose Grill 23 based on the online reviews. The food was good for a steakhouse but not great. The restaurant was very loud, and the service was sub par for the pricing. I would go somewhere else in Boston for a special occasion next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Amazing service and wonderful food!! Would definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I went 2 months ago with my wife was quite and comfortable on a Saturday night. This time I took my daughter as she completed her first year of college. Wednesday night loud boisterous and nasty language. I have to warn my friends and relatives to be careful of the foul language place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I was severely disappointed with my experience at Grill 23. I took my fiancé for his birthday and received the worst service I think I have ever had. We had three different servers all of whom never introduced themselves or cared to ask us how we liked our meals or if we needed something else. It was clearly a busy night but we could not feel more less than as customers. Will never come back. Food was not stellar also as it appeared to be cold and again we clearly were not their priority that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was excellent, always is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

A very nice meal in pleasant surroundings. The tables do not feel crowded.
The Caesar Salad was good, but the dressing was a little too strong for my taste.
Filet Mignon with Sauce Béarnaise was cooked just right and went well with the Hunt & Harvest Cabernet Sauvignon. The hash browns tasted good, but they had congealed into a rather tough pancake. The Sugar Snap peas were delicious.
Creme Brûlée for dessert was also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Rib Eye and New York Steak were phenomenal. The service was fantastic and everything was beautifully maintained.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our service was absolutely terrible. It was apparent that our Servers knew the check would be in the range of $600-$700 and put no effort into it. Food was excellent but be aware that the service is terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food here was very good but the restaurant was excessively loud. It was impossible to have a quiet conversation. The service was generally A1 except for the end when the waiter forgot my desert order. He tried to make it right, however, by comping my desert and that of my dining mate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Grill 23 is amazing! Best filet I've ever had. Service impeccable from the hostess, wait staff, bartenders. Ambiance is great! Always a pleasure to come here for special occasions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, People Watching, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was very good and the service started out well too but after the meal was served the service fell off precipitously. We sat with our finished plates stacked in front of us for a good 20 minutes or so, refills on drinks too a long time to come, dessert menu dropped off and then never followed up on etc. The ending of the meal definetely took away from the enjoyment of the whole experience....especially because this is a pricey place so you would hope for better service for the cost!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good food and great service! We aren't from Boston and felt right at home.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We arrived at 6 for our 6:00 reservation and were promptly seated in the upstairs area. We noticed how noisy the first floor was and it was only 6:00 PM. Service was great; very nice table linens. Food was very good: we ordered filet, bronzino, snap peas in mint vinaigrette (peas cooked properly but not crazy about mint vinaigrette), french fries. Filet was ordered medium -- was a little too rare in center. Interesting twist was the small plates desserts both of which were very tasty -- lemon square and mini rocky road sundae. By 6:45 the upstairs was just as noisy as the ground floor and we couldn't carry on a conversation. Tables are fairly close together but restaurant should do something about the noise level. Wouldn't return because of this and certainly would not hold a business dinner meeting here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

After reading the many steak house suggestions for Boston in Opentable, I settled for Grill 23 because the 100 day wet aged ribeye sounded delightful. I must say, it was better than I excpected. It is quite possibly the most delicious steak I have had, tender, juicy, seasoned and cooked perfectly. The salmon tartare appetizer and the saute mushrooms with the steak completed my meal.

Dana is a terrific server and many of the staff stopped by to see how I was enjoying my dinner.

Definitely an incredible steak and dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

One of the best steaks i tried. Full of flavour and the selection was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a great meal here last weekend. The restaurant was the perfect place to eat. We also just enjoyed being at the restaurant so we ended up sitting at our table for a few hours after we ate. Our waiters were awesome and attentive to our needs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I love ribeye steaks. I stayed in Boston over the weekend and had a choice of two restaurants - Davio's and Grill 23 & Bar. I've been to Davio's quite a few times and know they are great, regardless of location. I've never tried Grill 23 & Bar but it was recommended by the hotel staff. I ordered a ribeye steak. It was extremely thin and very tasteless. I have to say, I think the staff there was great, but the food was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.