Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Grill 23 & Bar

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar and Bar Menu: Open at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for a Date (77)
Notable Wine List (70)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Business Meals (66)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Romantic (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for Groups (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Hot Spot (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Authentic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Fun (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Paleo Friendly (11)
People Watching (11)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Not only great food but the wine list was as good as I have seen in Monday years. Kudos to Ian the wine sommelier for a great recommendation that paired perfectly with the Kobe beef.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I dinned here at the recommendation of a local (we are from Australia). We found the food to be exceptional and service impeccable. The was our last night in Boston and left us with a great impression of the city. We will recommend this restaurant to our friends travelling to the US.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Very chic super friendly staff amazing food definitely a Boston gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our last evening on Boston on vacation with another couple. We had just seen the Wine Spectator article featuring this restaurant. They make their own flat crisp bread/crackers and they are fabulous! Wine list is amazing and included so many of our favorites- made it hard to decide. Next time I will skip the veggies and limit my bread because the dessert menu was awesome, but we couldn't take one more bite. All servers were extremely professional. All server traffic upstairs was thru a hallway you could see (near the kitchen) but not thru and past our table all the time. At one point some dishes had been dropped in the back hall and they immediately closed the 2 doors while cleaning it up. Once quiet, they re-opened the doors but hardly noticed anything had happened. The main floor has a higher level of noise with very high ceilings- gorgeous building and elegant- very different upstairs. Take note of the Tapestry on the far back wall on the 1st floor- served as the background for the Wine Spectator issue where they were featured on the cover (It was the August 2017 issue) and award winner for top notch steak dinner and expansive wine list. Very pleasant experience- thanks to Alfonso, our server!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great place, it can be pricey, but it's worth it for a special night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Best steakhouse in the country

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Tots were really good, but for the price of the steak it did not live up to expectations and for sure not even close to the best steak I have ever had. I ordered it charred, but it was burnt so that took away from the flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Best Steakhouse in the city! Never had a bad meal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

100 day dry-aged ribeye is literally the best steak in the world

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Grill 23 is a very good meat restaurant. That said, the noise level overall was not comfortable and not appropriate for a restaurant that purports to be a top player in the Boston dining scene.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Delicious anniversary date! The staff were excellent and attentive and timed everything well. The food was excellent. The decor is a bit buttoned up for my taste but nonetheless, classy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The steak was outstanding, as good as you'll get in Boston. Better than The Palm or Smith & Wollensky, on a par with Morten's or Abe & Louie's. However, everything else was surprisingly mediocre. The crab cake appetizer was all filler, no chunks of crab meat. Was more like a fish cake. I know it's a steak house, but if you're going to put it on the menu then you need to do it right, especially @ $21 for an appetizer. The chopped salad was average. The most disappointing was the hash brown. There was a HUGE amount of oil on the underneath of the brown as well as covering the plate. Couldn't finish it there was so much oil. Would go back for the steak because it was that good, but only for that, which is OK because everything is a la carte anyway. Service was attentive & excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Grill 23 is the Best restaurant in Boston in my humble opinion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food and service were great but we were seated at a small back section with two other tables, which we first thought would be quiet and intimate, but ended up being very noisy and really impacted our satisfaction with the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Bar none, this is the best place in BOSTON for a Steak.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Phenomenal dining experience! The inside of the restaurant was beautiful. Historic Boston. Our server Chris was great. The food incredible. A definite must when we visit again!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

too expensive for meat quality, expected better compared to Miami Shula's, New York Benjamin's, etc. awesome service though, kudos to the waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great place for that special dinner while visiting our son in Boston. Our server really made the evening with his helpful suggestions and attention to detail. Amazing wine list!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very nice evening. Celebrated a sweet 16 birthday. All went well including a birthday cake. Steaks were perfect. Side dishes ok but not a big enough selection. Deserts have to be improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent staples - superb shrimp cocktail, perfect filet mignon, amazing coconut cake... get the home made potato chips instead of bread to start.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Had a perfect evening at Grill 23.
The staff, the food, the wine, and desserts were all lovely!
Was recommended to us by friends of friends- so glad we followed their advice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This place was phenomenal. The coconut cake was outstanding. So much, that 3 days later we went back and had dessert in the bar area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent meal. Great flavors. Best filet, precisely cooked, tender and juicy. Waitress thoughtful. Provided Birthday surprise for my granddaughter! Great food experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had an amazing Filet! Everything was delicious! Service was fabulous and an overall great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

There Kobe cap steak is the best piece of meat in the face of the earth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

From the hostesses greeting to our wonderful waiter it was a very special evening. The food and wine were outstanding. I hope that I get the opportunity to dine here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Disappointed- not up to the usual excellent standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic place! Food and service was excellent. The ambiance is old world with a trendy vibe. This is a must visit while in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

First time dining here, drinks and dinner were amazing. Possibly the best steak I've ever had! Expensive but worth it. Waiter was top notch, very personable and professional, and knowledgeable. Answered all our questions about several menu items. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Service was slow at first. We weren't ready when approached for a drink order almost immediately after seating. As a result we didn't see our server for 15 minutes. I was about to check with host/hostess when he finally appeared. Service improved from that point and gradually improved to very acceptable. We both had chopped salads and they were perfectly crafted and very tasty. Both the filet mignon and the aged rib eye were superb, albeit very expensive. Their trademark coconut cake was generous in size and taste. Overall a great dining experience but more so if on someone else's dime. Many of the other diners seemed to be business people socializing or doing some company business. I can imagine this keeps the rather pricey restaurant afloat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I was really looking forward to this meal. We waited a good while and when the food came out they parked it close to our table but did not serve it for another 7 minutes or so! Lamb was terribly undercooked and lacked seasoning. Certainly not worth $100 a head without wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We chose to go for dine out week and really enjoyed the meal and value.
Thanks for being part of Dine out week

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful food and the wait staff was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a great waiter who made the evening fun and very enjoyable

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We asked and they found a place in the venue that you could actually have a conversation with your dinner companions. The front of the house near the bar is much louder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Can't say enough about grill 23. The food was amazing and so was the service! Easily the best steak I've had in boston hands down, much better than Abe and Louie's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food and customer service. We ordered off of the 3 course prefix menu and the selections and portion sizes were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food, amazing selection of wines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Arguably the best steakhouse in all of Boston. Have been going to this restaurant for years, and the quality, ambience, and service has never disappointed me. I recommend this place highlight. Awesome venue for business meals.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Aniversary dinner for us. Made a reservation, sat right down. Bar area looked nice too so I wouldn't of minded if I had to wait a few mins. Some people dressed more causal than us, almost "dressed down" I would say. Few kids, even at 730pm. Delicious food. Hard to choose from all of the side dishes, they all sounded amazing. Waiter spaced everything out a bit too much. We felt like we were waiting for the next course every time. Besides that everything was great and we would definitely go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.