Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Gravy

Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.

135 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Mon- Fri: 11:00AM-4:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-3:00PM
DINNER
Mon-Thur: 4:00PM-10:00PM
Fri 4:00PM-11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM-11:00PM
Sun 5:00PM-10:00PM
BRUNCH
Sun 11:00AM-3:00PM

Cross Street:
Hargett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 896-8513

Website:
http://www.gravyraleigh.com/

Catering:
We're now offering group catering! Please call the restaurant at 919.896.8513 for more information.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage next door, plus on street parking

Public Transit:
The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Justin Bartolet

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For information regarding private dining, please contact Amy Amerson at Amy@empireeats.com or 919.455.0351

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For information regarding private dining, please contact us. Banquet Facilities: Gravy has a private wine cellar that can accommodate up to 40 people for private parties

Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Casual (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Special Occasion (34)
Comfort Food (31)
Romantic (31)
Cozy (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Authentic (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Business Meals (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Fun (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
People Watching (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

We love gravy. Great food, great wine, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I went to Gravy for our anniversary. While all of our food was awesome (the cheese board was a win), I think three dishes shined above the others. The arugula salad is never something I thought I'd scrape the bottom of the plate and want more of- this speaks to the quality of their ingredients that a simple plating of arugula dressed in EVOO/lemon/salt/pepper/pecorino was as tasty as it was. The pasta Amatriciana was the best handmade pasta I've ever had, and that beats out a pair of Sicilian grandmothers- the peppers and heat level were just right. At first I thought it was gutsy to name yourself Gravy- as in, the gravy better knock my socks off. Well it lived up to the hype. Very fresh, but still very much a comfort food. The panna cotta was also beautifully delicate- well played, Gravy. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I would recommend Gravy to anyone. Food was excellent the service was excellent. It was a little loud in there but that's because it was crowded and everyone was enjoying The place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Always fresh and tasty!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and service were great. My friends from Richmond and Charlotte had heard of Gravy and were excited when I told them we were eating there. The wines we chose with the assistance of our server were wonderful. The only problems that limited the experience were that it was way too loud for old friends to chat and the seats in the booth were so low I felt like I needed a booster seat. We were tired of the noise by the end of the meal and ready to go.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very disappointed by food. Very bland food tasted like it was canned

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The risotto balls were wonderful! Very delicious. The complimentary birthday dessert was great! Very accommodating for a large group. We had a group of 8.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I had heard great things about Gravy and it did not disappoint. Although it is a limited menu, everything we had from appetizers to desserts were all so good. It is not a big restaurant so I would recommend making reservations especially on a weekend night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Mixup with open table reservation led us to be at a bar table. We were later asked if we wanted to move. Waiter did not bring appetizer before salad. Child's pasta was served cold. Pumpkin sage ravioli was bland. Management did adjust bill and comp wine and dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was a great experience. Our waiter, Jessy, took time with us to offer recommendations for wine and food selections. He was spot on with all of his hints. The food was executed to perfection. While we were there the restaurant was full but the staff remained friendly and efficient. Definitely a place I would recommend and return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Gravy never disappoints. The food and service are excellent. We love going for special occasions. Only downside is I wish it was a little more budget friendly so we could go more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We all enjoyed our meal here. My dirty martini was perfect, the appetizers were pretty yummy, the main courses were well prepared and I loved the dessert! Try the risotto balls--rich and gooey! Calamari is fresh and crispy--the way it should be! The pumpkin ravioli were a hit as was the mac and gravy plate. The fish of the day, black drum, was perfectly seasoned and cooked. And the panna cotta was pure silk. Folks' reviews complain about portions but we were satisfied. Family style it ain't, thank goodness! It's not a pizzeria....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

First time at Gravy, had an awesome experience, service was great, best gnocchi I've ever had--unique, scallop-sized pieces with perfectly complementing sauce with mushrooms, unique take on bruschetta,

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our waiter was professional and checked on us at just the right times and frequency. Food was excellent and portion sizes were generous but not too big.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great for Birthdays I added to my reservation and a surprise desert was provided!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Highly recommend the tagliatelle. And the risotto balls are a must have for a starter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was a nice place and food was not bad but nothing special and they are very behind in knowledge of cocktails for a downtown Raleigh restaurant.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was fantastic. My wife and I decided to spend our one year anniversary at Gravy and we were not disappointed. It was quiet and cozy, service was timely, knowledgeable, and very accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Entire experience was excellent!! Waitress was the best! Food was insanely delish!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

After hearing the rave reviews I finally made it to Gravy tonight to try it for myself and am I ever glad that I did!! This was honestly by far the best Italian food I have ever had in a restaurant, well almost anywhere!! We started with the caprese salad and it was amazing!! The cheese is made in house I was told and you can tell. We then had the chicken parmigiana w/ handmade noodles, eggplant & lasagne. Oh my gosh all I can say is you must try this place for yourself, or don't, whichever way I will be going back very soon! Thank you Gravy for the most authentic Italian around!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. Period. There's nothing more that needs to be said. Support this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This is a great downtown restaurant, with great food.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Such a great spot! Went here for a romantic date, and it didn't disappoint.- great ambiance, food, service, everything.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was not good. Took (45) minutes for a cold appetizer to be delivered.
No manager came over to apologize.
Now I could see if the restaurant was at capacity, but on a Saturday night there were many tables available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food in a unique spot. Pretty much farm to table food. We loved our food and our server was great also and explained the menu and concept. We plan to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Overall the dinner was great. Highly recommend the raspberry lemonade martinis and risotto balls as a starter. The special of the night was a braised short rib -- which luckily, my friend shared a bit and it was so tender and full of flavour. My own chicken parmesan was very good -- but the special definitely had an edge. Service was great with good recommendations on both the food and wine. The Nebbiolo is quite good if you like red Italian wine. The meal ended with tiramisu and cannoli cake -- both very good. My only disappointment was the limoncello -- which in my opinion was more of a lemon flavoured vodka, instead of the real stuff you'd get in Italy. Definitely would recommend and will go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Risotto balls and lasagna are my go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great experience. Waiter was attentive, but not in the way, very polite. Food was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Mediocre food and service. The risotto balls were delicious. The shrimp and pasta was so, so.
The pasta was hard and the shrimp, although fresh. were overcooked. The dish was pretty flavorless.
Had the cannoli cake for dessert. Way too much Amaretto. Could not finish.
Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent and worth the drive if don't live downtown.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

All around, a fair visit. The food was not special, but it did satisfy the wife and me. We had two appetizers: The calamari was not the best, but it was OK. The melon and prosciutto was not good at all.
The wife's Eggplant Rollatini was not very good and my chicken parmesan lacked flavor. I guess the restaurant would do in a pinch, but, it was not the best Italian food that we have had. I can name at least three places that are much better.
The service was PAR, nothing special but they did get the job done without incident. As far as the gravy goes? It is acceptable, but, not our favorite.
We will not make a repeat trip.
thanks

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

My visits to Gravy are hit and miss but usually hit. This time I brought out of town guests. Food was under cooked, even the garlic knots (white dough) and spaghetti. Felt rushed. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

I took a business client there for lunch. The service was excellent. We both had the chicken parm and it was just the right portion size for lunch and we both ate it all! It was quiet enough for us to conduct some business and talk. I would recommend Gravy to anyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Was very happy with our service and food. Everything that came out was delicious. Couldn't have had a better dinner date experience there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Our table was waiting for us. Celebrating our youngest daughter's birthday. Our waiter suggested a wine for dinner. Very good suggestion. Calamari was excellent as was our dinner selections. It was a very good evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great service. Comfortable atmosphere, very friendly staff. I had the beef tenderloin that was amazing. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful experience. Our server, Alex, was a great in every aspect. The food was awesome. Atmosphere fun and exciting. Will be coming back to dine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great Food! Excellent Service! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was amazing and we loved the Kale Ceasar - which is large enough to split. Service was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Gravy was on our 'must try' list coming to Raleigh and it was good. The ambiance and service overall was just fine - fun atmosphere with a number of families/groups. The food was pretty good. Nice preparation on the fried calalmari with thinly sliced pepperoncinis. The 'gravy' was had great ingredients, but was not ideally prepared. I was expecting a traditional gravy - all meats mixed together, and instead they had the deconstructed variety with a meatball, sausage and shortrib as side pieces to the pasta. Shortrib was great. Meatball was very good. Pasta was very good. Sausages were too lean / a little overcooked. My wife had the eggplant dish, which was very good, but could have used a small bit of past on the side to lighten it up. Overall, well done, but left a bit lacking for a five star review.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.