Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Gravy

Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.

135 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Mon- Fri: 11:00AM-4:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-3:00PM
DINNER
Mon-Thur: 4:00PM-10:00PM
Fri 4:00PM-11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM-11:00PM
Sun 5:00PM-10:00PM
BRUNCH
Sun 11:00AM-3:00PM

Cross Street:
Hargett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 896-8513

Website:
http://www.gravyraleigh.com/

Catering:
We're now offering group catering! Please call the restaurant at 919.896.8513 for more information.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage next door, plus on street parking

Public Transit:
The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Justin Bartolet

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For information regarding private dining, please contact Amy Amerson at Amy@empireeats.com or 919.455.0351

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For information regarding private dining, please contact us. Banquet Facilities: Gravy has a private wine cellar that can accommodate up to 40 people for private parties

Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (78)
Casual (57)
Comfort Food (47)
See All
Authentic (44)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Cozy (29)
Local Ingredients (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Fun (23)
Hot Spot (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
People Watching (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Healthy (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great Beer (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Private Room (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1896 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food and service. Our whole family was happy with our meal, which is rare when we dine together.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food as always! Upstairs is very noisy, the wine cellar is much more quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great and we had an excellent waiter. Bartender was also good. We had a glass of wine while waiting for our table.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

First time to visit Gravy and we were pleasantly surprised. Asiago chicken was excellent! Moist and very flavorable...especially liked the carrots and potatoes. Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First thing, the small plates and two pieces of silverware on the table were dirty. The spaghetti was average and the noise from the kitchen made it feel like we were in the kitchen. We were very disappointed as we have been to this restaurant two times before and had enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Just had dinner for Mothers Day! Everything was excellent. Even my picky kids want to go back. Our server was excellent. We arrived early for our reservation and they went ahead and sat us, which was nice.

I can't wait to go back and try other items on the menu. We had the Chicken Parm, Family Gravy, and Lasagna. We also had the Risotto Balls as an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was very good with good choices on the menu and our waiter was prompt, knowledgeable and courteous. I like this place. We did have trouble getting seated...no one was attending the greeter's podium for about 10 minutes...wait-staff just went about their business. It was getting pretty crowded and folks were waiting out the door (nowhere to sit inside...). Of course we were eventually seated and I guess this is an anomaly and the only minor setback in an otherwise great brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have heard a lot about Gravy and decided to give it a try. The ambiance was pleasant, the service was great, and the food was delicious. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was excellent. We felt a little rushed because it was very busy and there were several large parties. I needed to add to my reservation prior to the date and the staff was very accommodating and helpful. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

fabulous meal! Caroline made the night! fun and entertaining. food was awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It's good for classic Italian food. The risotto meatballs were great. I'd like to see restaurants go beyond the classics and do a modern twist on favorite pasta dishes. Flavor profiles could certainly be more developed. It's a very small venue so it felt crowded.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Took the family to Gravy for a quick bite before catching a movie at the Imax. The food was simply outstanding - excellent flavors, twists on traditional plates (Chicken Parm), outstanding service. We will go back to try different dishes. I highly recommend Gravy for enthusiasts of Italian food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food, location, and ambiance of this restaurant is amazing! What is lacking is service. We got their early and sat at the bar with very few patrons in the restaurant. Usually the bar tender is attentive to the people at the bar, we were the only 3, but she was very interested in catching up with her co-workers before it got busy. Our waitress was the same. It's disappointing because the food was amazing! Service means so much in this business.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very good Italian cuisine. Pleasant employees. Quaint setting in downtown Raleigh. Gravy was recommended and met expectations. Casual dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was out first time at Gravy and we enjoyed it. My wife thought the eggplant entree was the best she'd ever had. We will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Had heard good was good but turned out to be better than expected. Very flavorful Italian dining, best in the area! Risotto balls were a great starter, delicious gravy served with them. We ordered the gnocchi , eggplant pie (eggplant Parmesan) and the lasagna - all were full of great Italian flavors and reminded me of the dishes I've had in NYC little Italy and at my friends houses in Brooklyn! We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Good food. Good service. The waitress was very kind and knowledgeable!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Overall good dining experience. The risotto balls are quite amazing and the lasagna is pretty close to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

there is a brunch menu on the website, but no brunch served? very confused!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lovely atmosphere with amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

On a college visit, first time in town. We made our reservations online and were seated immediately. Our server suggested a wine that exceeded my requirements and was delish, as was our meal. In addition to the meal being perfect we also were able to speak with another server who, as a lifetime Raleigh resident, provided us some great insights about the city. Great service, food and atmosphere!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had brunch at Gravy on Easter Sunday with our family. I made reservations and we were seated on time. Our Server was absolutely amazing and very attention to detail oriented. The food was amazing, served fresh and hot in a timely manner. We really enjoyed our food and the atmosphere. We would highly recommend to friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were thinking of getting the chicken and the meatballs but our server suggested the gnocci and also the clam pasta special. They wer both excellent as was the tirimisu for desert. We love Gravy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at Gravy tremendously. We were heading to a show at Memorial Auditorium. Everyone had something different (eggplant pie, gnocchi, bolognese, and risotto) and all were excellent! The appetizer of risotto balls was superb along with the housemade Limoncello. We had a great evening at Gravy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Gravy is always delicious! Great atmosphere. Servings are ample but not overly large. Food is authentic and carefully prepared. Salads are fresh. You just can't go wrong eating at Gravy. Hip, but low key, downtown vibe. Perfect before the theater. Street (out front) and nearby deck parking (less than 1/2 block away) very convenient. You'll love it!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was our second visit to Gravy. We love the food and the ambiance. Just one disappointment this time, which we should've brought up to our server when we got our bill, but were hurriedly headed to the theatre. He suggested the gnocchi and said he himself had added chicken and mushrooms to it which made it outstanding. To add the chicken was $3.50, he said. My husband decided to order that as he suggested. The server asked whether grilled or fried and since my husband couldn't decide, the waiter said he would just have them add both. Much to our surprise, we were charged $3.50 for grilled, $3.50 for fried, and $3.50 for the mushrooms. We totally did not understand that from anything he said. But the dish had generous portions (especially with all that chicken on it!) so we did have leftovers for lunch the next day.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Disappointed with the pork ragu as it was spicier than I like, but my husband really likes their lasagna.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love this place. Great service and the best home made pasta and sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Pretty good. Not amazing, but a great experience. :-)

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Quick Bite, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good, but not great. The hostess seemed a little put off by the condition of the restaurant when we arrived a few minutes late and our table was still not ready. She greeted other guests similarly. Cocktails were ok. Appetizer with fresh pesto was good. Lasagna was good but extra cheesy, more than we care for. The other dish had sausage and was too salty. Dessert was nice but not enough to make up for the rest. Overall ok, but I will choose elsewhere next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Overall, we all enjoyed the meal, service, and atmosphere. Not 5 stars, but very good in most all categories. Most obvious negatives would be limited space, and somewhat noisy (bar atmosphere). Parking was very convenient in nearby parking deck.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Good solid Italian restaurant. Not the best but not the worse. A little cramped space. Garlic knots are wonderful and house salad just perfect. The staple dishes tend to be neglected over the daily or seasonal specials. 2nd time getting pasta and overcooked. Seasonal/daily specials were excellent though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As always the food was outstanding. The service and serverwerereally good but the food took an exceedingly long time to come out. The manager came by our table to apologize and explained that there was a large party order that went in just before ours causing the delay. They graciously deducted 20% of the total tab and gave us each a free dessert. A nice gesture for the delay although I would've preferred another drink.

It's a great restaurant with outstanding food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Love this place and have been using it as our go to spot for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great, as always! Been several times and will continue to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always solid. Best chicken parm in NC. Good, if small, wine list. Courteous staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I went to Gravy with a friend on Sunday night 4/2/17. We had reservations and were seated promptly. The waiter was fine and did recommend some items. My friend ordered the meatloaf special and I had the chicken parmesan. I also had the arugula salad with lemon vinegarette. They brought warm garlic knots. My friend had a glass of wine and I had a small glass of house-made limoncello. The waiter said that the restaurant did in-house butchering which I found disturbing and probably not true/incorrect. The house-made pasta was not great. Honestly I have made better. It was a bit gummy and thick. The gravy was mediocre- not particularly flavorful-pretty bland actually. I have heard many good things about the restauranteur who owns this group of eateries, but Gravy did not meet my expectations. It was very loud and echoed so much that we had trouble hearing each other across the table. The waiter was attentive. The prices were good. It just wasn't anything special. I do not picture myself going back or recommending to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The crew there is always attentive. One of Our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Nice place to show off what downtown Raleigh has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.