About Gravy

Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.

135 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Mon- Fri: 11:00AM-4:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-3:00PM
DINNER
Mon-Thur: 4:00PM-10:00PM
Fri 4:00PM-11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM-11:00PM
Sun 5:00PM-10:00PM
BRUNCH
Sun 11:00AM-3:00PM

Cross Street:
Hargett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 896-8513

Website:
http://www.gravyraleigh.com/

Catering:
We're now offering group catering! Please call the restaurant at 919.896.8513 for more information.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage next door, plus on street parking

Public Transit:
The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Justin Bartolet

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For information regarding private dining, please contact Amy Amerson at Amy@empireeats.com or 919.455.0351

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For information regarding private dining, please contact us. Banquet Facilities: Gravy has a private wine cellar that can accommodate up to 40 people for private parties

Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (77)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for Birthdays (42)
See All
Comfort Food (39)
Casual (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Authentic (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Romantic (30)
Cozy (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Fun (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Outstanding Value (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
People Watching (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved it, we always have a blast! Amazing food too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Chicken parm and eggplant pie were good but the ravioli was more thick chewy dough than fillings

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Great date night meal. Gravy never dissapoints service and food both were very good.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars was that you could have actually wrung the garlic knots out- they were literally soaked in butter. The spaghetti and meatballs were absolutely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food,service and atmosphere! It will be one of my go to's!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was our first visit to Gravy and we definitely plan to be back! Zach was our server and was outstanding as was both the Chicken Parmesan and Spaghetti & Meatballs we tried. The garlic knots were oh so flavorful but a bit chewy. If we had one wish, it would be that they would remove 1, maybe 2, tables from the center section so we weren't bumping elbows or overhearing conversations from either side of us and it wouldn't feel like one wrong step from a server would have us wearing someone else's food. We loved it there though and plan to bring friends there with us soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Attentive and informed service. Calamari app was perfectly prepared, crunchy coating and tender. Garlic Knot rolls were addictive, in a good way. Campanelle exceeded our expectations. Lasagna was delicate with variety of cheeses and beef. We passed on dessert for a glass of their homemade lemoncello. It was very sweet, not like our homemade or what we have had in Italy. Since we were not pleased, our waiter removed the charge from our bill. Eager to return to Gravy on our next trip to Raleigh.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I forget our waiter's name but he was GREAT! We absolutely enjoyed our time at Gravy and would definitely go back again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Wasn't too many people so guest service was quick and reliable. The food was great and arrived in a timely manner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We absolutely loved Gravy's ambiance. It was a very romantic setting, perfect for our Valentine's occasion. The service was excellent, which is surprising for holiday dining. We ordered calamari and it was good, but it is hard to ruin fried calamari. They offer garlic bread that was delicious, and we also ordered a kale caesar salad that I loved, but my spouse would have preferred a basic caesar with romaine instead of kale. We were pretty disappointed in our entrees. The lasagna portion was tiny. That and the bolognese were almost flavorless and chef boyardee-like. They offered a prix fixe menu, so maybe the regular menu items just weren't as fresh as they typically would be. I ordered wine by the glass and it was almost like the bottle had been sitting for weeks. On the positive side, the tiramisu was to die for.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a great Valentine's Day lunch at Gravy. Every dish was wonderful, drinks were great and everything was priced right. We'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We love Gravy. The food this time was a bit cool, but tasty overall. The tagliatelle is always good, and the campanelle is also excellent. Save room for the Budino for dessert!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my third visit. I had the chicken parm on all 3 occasions, however; it was not great this time. It was great on my previous visits and just ok this time. It was tough and the breading was on the edge of burnt. The kale ceasar salad was great as it was the other times. I would be hesitant to go back since there are other Italian restaurants near by that I will now give a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic food and great service. The chicken parmesan and lasagna were phenomenal, with fresh home made noodles and delicious sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Gravy was awesome! We came for a birthday lunch and the food was delicious. The staff was friendly and kind. The

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great appetizers and main course. Highly recommend the lasagna. Decent wine selection and nice selection of "specialty" mixed drinks. A little noisy at dinner time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had the calamari, beef ravioli, chicken parm and tiramisu. Every single item was delicious, so much so that we want to come back and try the rest of the menu!

Excellent date night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I ate at Gravy Saturday night for the first time and instantly said we will be back soon. Every thing we ordered (1 salad, 2 apps, 2 drinks, 2 entrees, 1 dessert) was great. Food quality was impeccable. Our server was very patient and attentive. I think some items were slightly under seasoned, but I think that is my palate. The surprise of the night was the budino. The layers seamlessly flowed form one to the other. The chocolate was rich & velvety, the custard was ever so sweet and oh so smooth. The dollop of whipped cream was the perfect vehicle for the sea salt that really set off the flavors of the dessert. Well done Gravy, well done.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Me and my wife went here for our anniversary, it was a great experience, staff was friendly, food was fantastic and the wine selection was excellent, it was a great way to start our night out!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Hostesses were pleasant the minute we walked in the door and told them our name for our reservation. Table was cleaned off and we were seated. Our waitress quickly introduced herself and gave us time to select our entree. Salad and mushroom gnocchi was delectable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had dinner at 8:45 on a Friday, they were all sold out of both specials, beef carpaccio, burreta & garlic knots... seriously on a Friday all that sold out?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing food and great service! The Gnocchi is my favorite. And the side Kale Caesar salad is spicy and delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We came here because we had a gift card. Good food. Not huge portions for the price. Not bad, but amazing. Service was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It's been a while since we have eaten there..I am happy they have improved

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants their food is delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food and service were great. However, we went during Restaurant Week and the dessert was ridiculously small...which is the "free" part of these deals. Don't claim a deal if there is not one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Gravy was great! The food was authentic, and was obviously fresh. Definitely a spot I'd go again. We went on a Sunday, and the spaghetti and meatballs were 1/2 price.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, Gravy was absolutely fantastic. My sausage and Orecchiette was fabulous and my wife's eggplant was good. My wife felt that the eggplant was missing some seasoning. Could have been excellent. Service was perfect. Our waiter Wesley was friendly, prompt and helpful with selecting entrees.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I went to Gravy with my family for Triangle Restaurant Week. For $20, I was able to get 3 course meal, which was super amazing deal. I had an apply salad for appetizer (5 star dish! Noms!!!), some kind of spaghetti (3.5 star, but it's my fault for not knowing it wasn't a marinara sauce spaghetti. Stupid me!), and chocolate cake (4.5 star). The waiter we had was super friendly and paid lots of attention on our table even though the restaurant was pretty busy. I will definitely visit again but will make double sure to get a right sauced spaghetti next time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went with another couple to take advantage of restaurant week. Food was really good, both appetizers and main entrees. Drinks were also very good. Wait staff was attentive and willing to make the night a good experience. Will return...

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great deal for restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food and wine. Outstanding service. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I absolutely love Gravy, they never disappoint! Service was excellent and the food was even better. Do not miss out on the Risotto Balls!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went during restaurant week and were not disappointed. The food was good especially the eggplant pie. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and even though it was extremely busy she was very attentive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Triangle Restaurant Week always rolls around just after my birthday in January! This year I wanted to try Gravy in Raleigh. Wow! We loved it! The kale Ceaser salad was light and crisp. I chose the lasagna for my second course. It was hot and bubbly with lots of cheese. The portion was so large I had enough for lunch the next day. I had the mint chocolate cannoli for dessert. I was tempted to lick the plate! I will definitely visit Gravy again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food. They don't do lunch for restaurant week so that was misleading. Food was great though. Best lasagne in the Triangle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Though noisy, Gravy serves up delicious food. My friends and I ordered different dishes and shared so we all taste-tested various menu items: risotto balls appetizer and lasagna entree were table favorites.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was fantastic from appetizers to dessert. Great wine and our waiter Jessie was excellent!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The restaurant was good, although the portions were small. Perhaps due to the special restaurant week menu. My friend and. I really enjoyed the polenta, Collard greens, and pork belly. It was outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food was delicious! We were in and out in time for our play.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We enjoyed Gravy's Food very much. We did however, go the week of restaurant week and we were squeezed into a very small table. (After making reservations )Beside us a business meeting was going on and a birthday party it was hard to hear our own conversation. The food was amazing maybe we picked a bad night or week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The entrees were fantastic, so was the pork belly appetizer. The risotto ball appetizer ok, but mild. The salami platter meat, cheese and olives (great) was also very good, but the toast on the platter was burnt. The burnt taste really overpowered the meat and cheese, so didn't eat it. Went on a Tuesday night, and surprised service was very slow; took 1 hr and 45 minutes for dinner. Based on the crowd, I would think they would have liked a faster turnover.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Had business dinner with out of town guests. Everyone enjoyed the location, the atmosphere and the food! Great selection, great service too!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had the tagliatelle bolognese and lasagna, with budino for dessert. Great wine list selection. The food was amazing, I was very impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The marinara sauce (gravy) is excellent - order a little extra with each entre. The risotto balls are great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience at Gravy, but we weren't blown away by it. Don't get me wrong, the food was very tasty. However, considering the price, I expected things to taste a lot different and better than other places. Our waiter was awesome, though. I couldn't decide on a wine and he told me his favorite and described it perfectly. I took his suggestion and loved it. This won't be somewhere we go on a regular basis, but would go if a friend invited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent service. Food portions were generous and we eloped the atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was acceptable, not great. If you are looking for Americanized Italian food, this would be an acceptable choice. Menus selections were limited and value was less than expected.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Love this place! I tell people about it all the time. Great resturant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Very quaint environment and intimate. The food was amazing, gravy was authentic and ingredients were fresh. I enjoyed every bite and encourage you all to go and enjoy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.