About Grappa Italian Restaurant

151 Main Street
Park City
Park City, UT 84060
View Larger Map

Nestled at the top of Historic Main Street, every detail of a rustic, Italian country farmhouse gives Grappa its romantic atmosphere, down to the terrazzo tile, rough sewn wooden beams, and grapevine motif. The menu reflects a more refined and sophisticated approach to food. This gourmet Italian style Ristorante serves the likes of Grappa's Famous Osso Buco. The wine menu reflects a commitment to Italy and California. Grappa is known for its amazing presentation, attention to detail and fine service. The glass walls of this restaurant will give you an extraordinary view of the activity on Main Street.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open nightly at 5:00

Cross Street:
Swede Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 645-0636

Website:
http://www.billwhiterestaurantgroup.com/grappa.html

Catering:
Contact our Sales and Events Department for specific information. 435-649-7850 or Tracy Lee tlee@billwhiteenterprises.com

Parking Details:
Paid parking on Main Street from 11am-8pm, 7 days a week. Free parking in the China Bridge Parking Structure, four hour limits. Excluding Sundance Festival.

Public Transit:
Free Bus System throughout Park City and a Free Trolley on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Matt McMillen

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grappa has three private dining spaces. The first floor seats up to 45 guests, the second floor 60 guests, and the third floor 65 guests.

Grappa Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (32)
Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Historic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Scenic View (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Family Style (5)
Fireplace (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food! Server had a very quiet voice that was difficult to understand/hear at times. The chef's special flatbread was delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Best waiter we've had in a long time! Food was perfect. I recommend the beet salad & the Bolognese. My son wants to return to Utah just to have the coke served at Grappa. Best he's ever had. Ask for the table upstairs in corner window. Beautiful view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

On top of great food and a wonderful wine selection we had a most enlightening and interesting conversation with Derek gherkins, chef de cuisine, Who stopped us in the foyer of the restaurant to ask whether we enjoyed our meal. We of course responded positively and then engaged in a 15 minute conversation with him about what he's trying to achieve and why the restaurant and it's Italian fare are so special to him. A really great and inspired chef. A perfect way to complement great dinner. We started with roasted all of us which were fantastic and among the three of us had chicken cacciatore, Branzino and pasta arrabiatta. All the pasta at the restaurant handmade and most of the ingredients are locally sourced. You could taste all of that wonderful meals. We will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Berlin)·Dined 5 days ago

Went to Grappa several times shortly after it opened and always had great experiences. Then it seemed to change- food wasn't as good.

After not having dined there since that time, thought we would give it another try during busy President's Day weekend.

Reception desk very friendly and accommodating despite being fully booked.

Personable and prompt service.

Food was mediocre at best and vastly overpriced.

Grape and Gorgonzola salad was excellent and creatively plated. House mixed salad was odd with cooked carrots and dry with little dressing. Scallops nicely prepared but not worth $42. Fondue was lukewarm and poor consistency due to underheating. Futtucine bolognese had more of a chunky texture than the usual sauce and lacked flavor.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This was a very expensive disappointment. The ambience was fine. The service was actually great. But the food was really just adequate. For the price it was very expensive and not somewhere we will go back to again. I am really confused by the other reviews that say the food was excellent. My $42 salmon had no flavor nor did my husbands $47 osso buco. Not sure if it was just an off night for them but we won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Loved Grappa! Our waiter was excellent and the food was delicious. Will definitely be coming back soon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

From the moment we walked in (way too early) they seated us right away because we had two kiddos with us. The food was incredible. The staff and service was fantastic and our server was amazing with twin four year olds. Even with a spill they were kind and warm.

I will for sure come back again. Even my son said "I want to go back to that restaurant!!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited on Valentines Day. The wait staff was pleasant and very attentive to service us. Food was excellent and plentiful. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys great food and service. Will be back upon our next visit to Park City.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

RIP Grappa. Sadly, this was a favorite restaurant - but no more. Went for Valentines Day, knew it would be 3 course prix fixed, but for $85, it should be nice. Turns out it was two tiny appetizers & a main course, no dessert. I really never order 2 appetizers, & they were skimpy, totally worthless. One was a beet salad served in a skinny olive dish - diced beet bits with less than a teaspoon of goat cheese & 5-6 sprigs of curly lettuce - it would fit in the palm of your hand. My second appetizer was a Caesar salad - apparently made Yesterday! Again, tiny portion, old wilted & soggy - definitely NOT fresh. My filet was fine. My husbands main was misdelivered - couldn't get our waiter - a girl finally came & simply switched his meal with the other guest, commenting that no one touched it! Gross! Neighboring table rolled their eyes in amazement! Drinks were tiny - so full of ice, no taste of vodka. Decor was 3 pink balloons tied to the stair rail! For $85 pp, you could at least try to "fake" some value with roses from the grocery store & a glass of prosecco - at least try! Embarrassing for the restaurant - truthfully, we felt taken advantage of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice staff, friendly. Parking off site or on the street. Food was wonderful, and the wine list was adequate. The night we were there was a special event night with pricing per person for 3 course meal. Price to value was fair. I would still recommend it for the food and the setting. White table dining and ambiance well worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As usual, Grappa did not disappoint. We were seated right at our reservation time and acknowledged immediately by our server. Food came out promptly from a busy kitchen and especially excellent. I had the Seafood on linguine and they were able to provide me with a very tasty gluten free option. Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding food and service, once again. A local's favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Experience was sensational. 2nd visit in 8 months, we'd go back every time in Park City from New Orleans. A little noisy. Food was excellent, but not seasoned aggressively, we found it bland, but that might just be us. Carrie was an outstanding server. I just recommended Grappa to friends visiting in 2 weeks.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great ambiance. Exquisite food. Efficient and professional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Limited pasta options

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I thought it was overpriced and really average food at best. I have been dinning in park city for years and we stopped going to grappa and I couldn't remember why, but now I know, it just was not good at all. Park city has many fabulous restaurants this just isn't one of them.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service was outstanding. Food was very, very good. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great meal and experience at Grappa. Everybody had a different dish, each expressing the flavors and how their meal was prepared was balanced and really tasty. The prices are high for Italian food, so be prepared to spend if you go there. The space is cozy and welcoming and our waiter did a good job. They were really busy, even at 8:30 when we arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Every time we're in Salt Lake City, we always eat at Grappa! The mushroom soup is to die for and the rotating items on the menu are always a nice surprise. The wine list is incredible and handpicked by a true expert. We've never had a bad experience here and will come back again and again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wine is extremely over priced. Service was outstanding. Food options unique. Our reservation time was ready for us to be seated within minutes of our arrival.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Grappa is one of my favorites in Park City. It's classic unpretentious Italian. Salads, pasta and fish are favorites. It's a beautiful ambience and lit up in gold and purple outside. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Delicious food. Enjoyed the home made pasta. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Yummy! Favorites were the lasagna and the grapes and Gorgonzola salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 5, 2017

as outstanding as always. the setting is so wonderful and the service is always top notch, this restaurant never disappoints

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We visited Grappa while on an annual sibling trip. Our server was great and the food was good too. My only complaint was the wait for our table. There were many diners with reservations that were waiting more than a half an hour for the tables. We had a reservation at 8:15 and were not seated until close to nine. There is no bar or cocktail service while you wait which would have made it more palatable. I realize it's hard to get people to exit their tables but it seemed like it was a pervasive issue - at least that evening. Offering a free drink or dessert as an apology would have been nice.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent Italian style food very tasty. Service excellent. Extensive wine list

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

quaint and lovely atmosphere...waiter a little impatient and somewhat abrupt...and both dishes overly dry...least favorite in all of park city dining for 7 days...very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was an expensive disappointment. It appeared to have sat under a heat lamp for some time prior to being served. Liked the staff and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had high hopes but the food was lackluster and it is very expensive. I also think they were taking advantage of the fact that it was Sundance and they were price gouging since the Prix Fixe menu was higher than necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Beautiful ambiance here, but did not like the fixed price menu which was the only option during the Sundance Film Festival. Food was very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We visited during their winter season, when a film festival was occurring, which caused them to have a price fixed menu, which we found delicious although "resort" type pricing. Definitely make a reservation if going during peak season. Amazing food and wine, and very cozy in the winter with a great atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wait staff was exceptional. Only complaint was that the pasta didn't seem fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We are at Grappa during Sundance and it was terrible and a rip off. They required an $85 price fix menu during the Festival and the food was less than ordinary. Service was beyond slow. You can't use a "busy because of the Festival excuse" when you jack up your prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Wonderful dinner with our 18 and 15 year old boys after a day of skiing/snowboarding! Fish, past and duck - - all delicious!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Only complaint, we felt we were being rushed a bit to free the table for the crowd that was waiting.

Food was excellent

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My husband and I loved eating at grappa. It was romantic and delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything was good. A bit overpriced though comparatively.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great place to get together with friends for a celebratory dinner after a week on the slopes. Pasta dishes are a highlight. Wine list is very good with plenty of options by the glass as well. Ambiance is cozy and high end without being pretentious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance. Give them a try, upstairs is best for conversation. Osso Bucco is the best ever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

If you don't mind paying $50 for a small osso buco main course, this restaurant has amazing food.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We go to Grappa every year when we are in Park City and are always pleased with the food and service. This is the only restaurant that we always go to each year. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Just a great place to get together with friends, the atmosphere is perfect for sharing discussion and the food is excellent...never had a bad meal here. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in town. Tip, share the duck risotto as an appetizer, it's a must eat and you can enjoy the other entrees for your main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall, another great meal here. Brought friends for the first time. Our table was close to a pathway by the steps which detracted from the ambiance, but otherwise service was good and the food was terrific, although the signature special soup of the night could have been warmer....it was sort of lukewarm.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fine dining is about getting all the details right. Serving food at the right temperature is one of those basics. Lukewarm soup and flatbread is not what you want to be presenting the customer, especially when the mushroom soup is one of your know specialties.

We had very pleasant waitstaff and fine ambience. The menu is terrific and has something for everyone. That said, we were in Park City for five days with my family and on a fine dining binge. Out of 4 restaurants we put Grappa in third place overall, but I would give them another chance.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This restaurant was mediocre at best. Our server seemed very overwhelmed and confused most of the time and found myself pouring our water and wine myself all night. Food was comparable to Olive Garden. This restaurant has so much potential for its location, but it's food and service is severely lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great classic Italian food with a modern twist. Something for the whole family to enjoy in a great setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Mediocre food and poor service. I would not return or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Server could have been trained better. Several awkward interruptions to our meal. Osso Bucco was excellent, Spaghetti & meatballs was bland. You should definitely try to fondue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.