Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro

Grand Cru is a French American Bistro and Wine bar offering fine food in a cozy European style atmosphere. One of the key advantages of Grand Cru is our on site wine store with over 450 premium wines from around the world. Any of these retail priced wines can be enjoyed with your dinner with a modest on premise service fee. Grand Cru also features a selection of over 50 domestic and hard to get imported beers. Grand Cru also has a full bar with several signature cocktails and on draft beers.
The menu at Grand Cru consists of an impressive array of tapas items, world class entrees, fondue and hand crafted desserts. the idea is equisite food paired great wines at a price you can afford. But if you are in the mood to eat at home, stop by and pick up a bottle of wine to go.

4301 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Glebe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 243-7900

Website:
http://www.grandcru-wine.com/

Catering:
Full service catering including alcohol for small to medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Street parking on Taylor Street and Validated parking in the underground parking garage off Taylor Street after 6pm and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Ballston Metro Stop on the Orange Line. Exit and walk kitty corner through the courtyard with the Cosi and Potbelly Sandwich shops. Grand Cru is located in the next courtyard with the fountain.

Executive Chef:
J. Trent Conry

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties can be scheduled at Grand Cru by contacting the restaurant. We have a large private dining area with a separate bar. Ideal for large get togethers, weddings, graduation parties and Professional events.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Bar Seating (7)
Special Occasion (7)
People Watching (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Romantic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great wine dinner with wines from Spain. Very creative and tasty menu including baby octopus, veal cheeks, and tournado of beef.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Still a great place for mussels. They take good care of you and the foot.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a very nice Friday night dining experience at Grand Cru with friends. It was pretty packed when we arrived and we're glad we got the reservations (we initially wanted to eat at 7 pm, but there were no open slots so we ended up with a 6:45 spot). The appetizers were good (beet salad, and French onion soup). For dinner we had fish, scallops and mac and cheese (the fancy kind). All the main courses were cooked perfectly. Desert was good but not great.

Grand Cru has become our "go to" neighborhood restaurant, and last few times we've gone, we've run into other locals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Best Steaks Frites! Desserts (lemon soufflés) are fantastic! Service are professional and attentive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great seafood crepe. Also accommodating table for business meeting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had the special Wednesday wine flight, which came with an engaging description of the wines included. Our served recommended the cheese platter to accompany that, and it was a great combination, and the wine explanation also pointed out which cheeses would pair well.

We also got two appetizers for a medium-light and high-variety dinner.

Nice ambiance. We sat indoors. There is a lot of wood and soft lighting, but it wasn't too dark.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

It was very noisy for dinner, but the food was excellent and so was the service. So far it has been one of the few good restaurants in Arlington, VA.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service wasn't so nice this time. However the food was very good - especially the grilled peach salad. Drink prices are creeping up, but we enjoy the wine flights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Really enjoyed our first visit to Grand Cru. We recall especially the lamb meatballs (starter) and a perfectly cooked excellent steak (rib eye or strip, can't recall) but the best reason to go is the wide selection of wines by the glass (and of course bottled too) - there's something for every taste here. Nice outdoor seating; good service; friendly reception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

As always the menu is creative and delicious. Seasonal flavors are excellent. Choosing and purchasing our wine in the store saves $$

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was a great place to dine. I was in Arlington for work at the National Science Foundation. The food was good, the wine was excellent and the outdoor setting was lovely. I would highly recommend this to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2017

worst service EVER, this was my first and last visit to the restaurant. I live nearby and had wanted to try it out. It is a good location but the idea that in order to choose a wine that I would want to drink, we would be required to purchase a bottle is just unbelievable. The waiter was really really awful. We had to request silverware and napkins, really? The food is okay but really I have no idea how this place stays in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance along with the wine and food selections. Wait staff was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Not all wait staff were on their game but overall good experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We had a wonderful experience celebrating my husband's bday .... Service, food and atmosphere were superb! In response to some comments about the portion size not being large enough, I will say that the portion size is just perfect ... you might not leave with a "doggy bag" but I would much rather have an excellent meal at a reasonable price than be over charged for leftovers. They got it right! Definitely going back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

We have visited this place after long time. I must say it improved a lot. Menu variety is astonishing as it consists a little bit for everyone. We went with whole nine yards and ordered appetizers, main course and dessert. Having deviled eggs, smoked salmon, scallops and halibut, we literally licked all our plates :) Our server made a joke "I see you didn't like the food, let me call Chef right away". Very happy with choices and suggestions our server did and Chef for making sure everything is awesome. Portions were decent size and price is a bit high but for the neighborhood, its pretty much similar to other similar establishments. Considering service, we gotta give credit to our server DJ. It looked to us that he was in charge of entire patio outside (we haven't seen other folks) and with 2/3 full patio, he was able to visit us during every course and ask how we are doing and if everything is ok. We like that kind of attention.
Overall great experience. Keep up the good work and we'll see you soon. Thanks again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Yet another very nice meal at Grand Cru. This is one of my favorite places in Arlington. I ordered the tomato salad, the halibut, and the "Sipping Spain" wine flight. Salad was competent, halibut was very good, and the wine flight was excellent. We were seated in the quieter room (to the left as you enter the restaurant), which I would definitely recommend if you want to talk during dinner. Attentive but not intrusive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My wife and I found this place online. Nice restaurant behind some apartment and office buildings. Great fountain outside with spacious patio. Food was ok since we had a problem with my wife's burger. Was burned on the outside which kinda ruined the taste but our server George was there to check and with a little sweet dessert and a joke (made my wife laugh) made things much better. I always like to say, sometimes small things matter the most. Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The steak (steak and frites) was too charred. Internal temp (med rare) was fine, but the burned char flavor was overpowering.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Used to be quite good. My crepes wet and lukewarm. Chicken cubed and not fresh. No attention to taste or detail or plating. Service was slapstick and not committed. Spot is great but will look for other alternative. Too bad. Maybe new manager? Could benefit from some dedicated quality control.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Served us bad tuna tartare. And we had to ask the waitress to deduct from our bill! My stomach has not been the same

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

As always, great food in an enjoyable outdoor setting.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Nice late dinner at an outdoor table. Good tomato salad. Blend of flavors in warmed fgs w prosciutto did not quite work. Scallops good, and better to put cauliflower on side vs mixed. Let these good ingredients stand more on their own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Consistently wonderful! We love the Grand Cru, from taking our Elders to bringing the Youngers, we always have a culinary treat at the Grand Cru. The orzo with mushrooms is a definite favorite as are the crab cakes. And accessibility to "select your favorite bottle of wine" is a real plus. Service is excellent without being overdone. We'll continue to return to this fabulous neighborhood (and very upscale) restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food great, service poor. No one cares starting with the hostess and extending to everyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Grand Cru is an excellent place and often dine here for business meetings when we are in Arlington. The food variety is excellent, beverage menu and service are always fantastic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 24, 2017

They close really early during the dinner hour, which we did not realize, but we did have a reservation and could have made it earlier if we had known - I don't recall the time, but I've never seen such an early time for a restaurant in the DC area. We had a group of 7, ordered a round of drinks and were chatting. They began rushing us to order quite early, but we had people in from out of town and were catching up as we looked through the menu. Nobody ever said anything about closing, but every person noticed at one point or another that the servers started to become annoyed that we were not placing our dinner order. The rushing continued as we ate and they began mopping and putting chairs on tables as we ate. I thought it was bizarre that they accepted an online reservation and then rushed the people. If I recall, the bill was close to $500 and they seemed completely uninterested in our business. Food was good enough and the place is cool inside, but we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always a great experience; our mussels were tasty and well presented. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Noise levels were too lord. Portions were small. You had to eat quickly if you wanted hot food. Plates were not warmed which they should have been for this dining level.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Came here to celebrate early Mother's Day. Everyone was pleased with their dishes. Service was mediocre and it was too noisy for us to eat comfortably.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Not great. Monkfish medallion appetizer was a chewy chunk; "veloute sauce" was basically a spoonful of foamed milk. The steak frites was a nice size but blackened as if cooked by a child, sitting lonely on a plate whose red wine sauce was basically nonexistent. The frites came without a dip but they gave me their "chipotle" dipping sauce which turned out to be more like a mustard aioli. The crème brulee had not a hint of vanilla. The hostess and servers were nice and tried to accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Worst crab cakes ever! We asked before we ordered the appetizer of crab cakes ($17) the origin of the crab. The kitchen said it was Maryland blue crab. It tasted more like Indonesian or Thai crab that has that unplesant after taste. I would have sent it back but my husband was hungry and ate it. My salmon was nicely cooked and flavorful and the wine prices reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Wonderful place! Great HH deals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Chef Trent has a creative and seasonal menu which is a delight. There is something on the menu for everyone from burgers and fries to gourmet foie gras appetizer. The mussels appetizer was the best I've ever had. Sitting outside by the fountain on a nice evening and choosing our wine from the store is most enjoyable. The kitchen does an outstanding job preparing fish - perfectly finished without overcooking, but always hot and delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 25, 2017

My favorite restaurant! Splendid wine list and knowledgeable, unassuming staff. Don't be surprised to discover the owner is waiting tables - incredible place!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Grand Cru is one of my favorite places in Arlington. I have been many times, and it is consistently good. They have always had an outstanding wine selection, but the food is well worth the visit too. We were a party of four, and all selected different dishes. Everything was perfect, from crab cakes, to mac n cheese to the Scottish Salmon and pea puree. Yummy!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Haven't had much of their food other than the apps but the other plates look good. Wine recommendations are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great vibe with lots of menu options that all look tasty. I have been twice and have not been disappointed - the portion sizes are manageable so you won't get overstuffed if you order an appetizer and entree. The wine options were also great - overall great find in Ballston!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The Executive Lunch is the way to go - choice of sandwich or crepe with soup or salad and dessert for $15. Service was a bit slow (but it was a busy day) and the food arrived a bit chilled, but overall a pleasant experience. Sit by the window if possible.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The wine flights are amazing - the summer whites were a great selection. I highly recommend the burger or wild mushroom orzo! The service took some time, granted it was a semi busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.