Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro

Grand Cru is a French American Bistro and Wine bar offering fine food in a cozy European style atmosphere. One of the key advantages of Grand Cru is our on site wine store with over 450 premium wines from around the world. Any of these retail priced wines can be enjoyed with your dinner with a modest on premise service fee. Grand Cru also features a selection of over 50 domestic and hard to get imported beers. Grand Cru also has a full bar with several signature cocktails and on draft beers.
The menu at Grand Cru consists of an impressive array of tapas items, world class entrees, fondue and hand crafted desserts. the idea is equisite food paired great wines at a price you can afford. But if you are in the mood to eat at home, stop by and pick up a bottle of wine to go.

4301 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Glebe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 243-7900

Website:
http://www.grandcru-wine.com/

Catering:
Full service catering including alcohol for small to medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Street parking on Taylor Street and Validated parking in the underground parking garage off Taylor Street after 6pm and on weekends.

Public Transit:
Ballston Metro Stop on the Orange Line. Exit and walk kitty corner through the courtyard with the Cosi and Potbelly Sandwich shops. Grand Cru is located in the next courtyard with the fountain.

Executive Chef:
J. Trent Conry

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties can be scheduled at Grand Cru by contacting the restaurant. We have a large private dining area with a separate bar. Ideal for large get togethers, weddings, graduation parties and Professional events.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Grand Cru Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (24)
Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great experience; our mussels were tasty and well presented. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Noise levels were too lord. Portions were small. You had to eat quickly if you wanted hot food. Plates were not warmed which they should have been for this dining level.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Came here to celebrate early Mother's Day. Everyone was pleased with their dishes. Service was mediocre and it was too noisy for us to eat comfortably.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Worst crab cakes ever! We asked before we ordered the appetizer of crab cakes ($17) the origin of the crab. The kitchen said it was Maryland blue crab. It tasted more like Indonesian or Thai crab that has that unplesant after taste. I would have sent it back but my husband was hungry and ate it. My salmon was nicely cooked and flavorful and the wine prices reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Not great. Monkfish medallion appetizer was a chewy chunk; "veloute sauce" was basically a spoonful of foamed milk. The steak frites was a nice size but blackened as if cooked by a child, sitting lonely on a plate whose red wine sauce was basically nonexistent. The frites came without a dip but they gave me their "chipotle" dipping sauce which turned out to be more like a mustard aioli. The crème brulee had not a hint of vanilla. The hostess and servers were nice and tried to accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Wonderful place! Great HH deals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Chef Trent has a creative and seasonal menu which is a delight. There is something on the menu for everyone from burgers and fries to gourmet foie gras appetizer. The mussels appetizer was the best I've ever had. Sitting outside by the fountain on a nice evening and choosing our wine from the store is most enjoyable. The kitchen does an outstanding job preparing fish - perfectly finished without overcooking, but always hot and delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 25, 2017

My favorite restaurant! Splendid wine list and knowledgeable, unassuming staff. Don't be surprised to discover the owner is waiting tables - incredible place!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Grand Cru is one of my favorite places in Arlington. I have been many times, and it is consistently good. They have always had an outstanding wine selection, but the food is well worth the visit too. We were a party of four, and all selected different dishes. Everything was perfect, from crab cakes, to mac n cheese to the Scottish Salmon and pea puree. Yummy!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great vibe with lots of menu options that all look tasty. I have been twice and have not been disappointed - the portion sizes are manageable so you won't get overstuffed if you order an appetizer and entree. The wine options were also great - overall great find in Ballston!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The Executive Lunch is the way to go - choice of sandwich or crepe with soup or salad and dessert for $15. Service was a bit slow (but it was a busy day) and the food arrived a bit chilled, but overall a pleasant experience. Sit by the window if possible.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The wine flights are amazing - the summer whites were a great selection. I highly recommend the burger or wild mushroom orzo! The service took some time, granted it was a semi busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. The mussels were extremely fresh and the sauce was great. I had the rockfish and my husband had the lamb shank. Both we perfectly cooked. Perfect service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Grand Cru has been a good choice for business lunches, particularly when seated outside in good weather. Good wine selection and decent happy hour menu as well. It is fairly loud inside - new decor, although nice, does not absorb sound much. Last visit was somewhat disappointing in two ways - first, food took 30 minutes to arrive - which is a lot when one has one hour for lunch. Second, the Reuben. It is as advertised in the menu, but no need to be fancy - they should stick with the standard Reuben recipe. Overall it is a nice place to have nearby, with a variety of options, usually able to accommodate groups, and friendly staff.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was my second time eating here and it was not as good as my first visit. My steak was over cooked and my server was not knowledgeable on the wine. One would think that a restaurant with "Wine Bar" in its name would have staff with some knowledge on wine! Other than being completely clueless on the wine list, he did provide excellent and courteous service. The food left much to be desired, unfortunately. I was so impressed on my first visit that I just had to return. However with this go around, I am not sure I will return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Our waiter was rude and the corkage fee was rather ridiculous. Just build it into the cost of the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I love gran cru... comforting food, great happy hour. Love the gnocchi with green beans spinach and lemon always! Reasonably priced wine with reasonable forking fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Adorable spot that looks like it caters to both the neighborhood and the daytime workers. I was there for lunch so did not have any wine but it looks like the wine flights are the reason to come. The, however, food was just too heavy. Everything was butter, cheese, fat, salt laden. Wish there was one thing on the menu that didn't feel like a gut bomb. My father ordered the ahi tuna on a (far too oil soaked) salad. The tuna was frozen in the middle.

I'd go back for some reasonably priced wine but would not order food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I can always count on a good meal and great service at this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The menu is simple and inviting. However does appear that they do precook or make some menu items and deserts. Food overall was good.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food is prepared perfectly and the wine selection is fabulous. Wait staff works to please !

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very nice dinner for 2 at Grand Cru which is a neighborhood place for us. It fronts a pedestrian walkway and has outdoor seating in warm weather. We just did a bunch of appetizers - cheese platter, deviled eggs, ahi tuna and wild mushroom strudel - all of them were very good and the 4 plates filled us. For wine there is some by the glass but you can also pick one from the retail shelves, if you pick a white they use a blast chiller which takes less than 10 minutes.(there is also beers and cocktails). There is a $12 corking fee (which I think is a little high). Desserts also looked good - I had a brulee but the Misses pasted being too full from the meal. Nice interior (they recently expanded) and excellent service. Its a big happy hour place so on a Friday we waited till 7:30 to allow the crowd to turn over.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Best service, foods and congenial environment. Well trained professional staff. Will return! Only drawback is parking, $12 (70 mins). Street parking hard to get! Thanks for the great steaks/fries!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very good place to go for a nice dinner out. The food was consistently good and well prepared. Service is good, and the staff are very accommodating. Everything we had was pretty tasty.

One odd note is that for a place that specializes in wine and has a wine store embedded in the restaurant, the wine list is rather limited and awkwardly set up.

Overall, Grand Cru is a really pleasant place to be.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We couldn't be happier with our dinner at the Grand Cru. The food was delicious and our server very attentive and knowledgeable. We will definitely be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent food and service!! The fondue is a perfect starter. I had the filet and it was perfectly prepared- melt in my mouth!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a group of 10 adults to celebrate a birthday and were seated away from the bar towards North Taylor Street so everyone could talk. It was perfect!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was very good - salmon especially excellent. A bit pricey and corkage fee high when added to wine purchased from the restaurant. We would go back again with our own wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I personally, got really sick off of the muscle dish I had. The wine was great, the cheese and meat plate was sub-par, for those reasons I probably wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a 9pm reservation at Grand Cru as my second reservation of the night on Valentine's Day. I had hoped to have drinks and desert but was told that I could only order the full 3 course meal, we could only order drinks. I was disappointed that the waiter or chef could not make an exception and let us just order desert with drinks.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The valentines menu was great and the wine pairing was spot on. We both loved our dishes and the extraordinary service we received!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food experience! This is a hidden gem among restaurants in DC. The food is all great and the wine has a great selection for a really good price. I'd always go there for a dependable great meal with good one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was good. The restaurant is pretty. But, we purchased two bottles of wine with dinner and was charged a corkage fee! When asked, the manager said that the menu noted a $12 corkage fee on bottles purchased with dinner. It was noted; in FINE print. I understand a corkage fee on bottles brought in -- not on wine purchased in the restaurant. It is false pricing and quite misleading. Charge the appropriate amount from the outset - do not mislead customers so they feel they were duped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the Lamb Shank and the Duck . Taste, Quality, portion size were all very very good. The meats were very tender and flavorful. The service was very good and they understood the menu very well.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Grand Cru is likely the best restaurant in Arlington, period. Dishes and ingredients are brillliant, from deviled eggs and mac and cheese to consistently splendid duck, lamb and pork. Chef Trent Conry is an ace, thoroughly understands the flavors and textures of what is prepared in the kitchen and how they work together, and is interested in cooking to match diners' needs. Go soon, go often.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I really like the concept of a wine bar/store integrated with a bistro/restaurant. Have a great wine selection that you can peruse at your leisure. Staff was very helpful in wine selection overall service. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I came here with my fiancee and his parents from out of town for a birthday celebration and it was absolutely perfect!! Lovely atmosphere, and the server (Eric I think?) was extremely attentive and informative and made us feel right at home. We hadn't told him that we were celebrating a birthday but he saw a card at some point during dinner and brought out a complimentary molten cake with a candle and everything to surprise us! We were, of course, very impressed with the food as well. Noise level was quiet enough that we could hear each other easily but also not feel awkward, and the decor is charming! Highly recommend, will definitely come again.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Grand Cru never disappoints!!
We are world travelers and have had many
Great food experiences . This is always a delightful experience with delicious food that is Well prepared and an excellent wine
Cellar. We never leave feeling that we would not return. Service outstanding.
A very special Restaurant hidden in a courtyard off the main road.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

First time dining. Will be back. Very good service, food, wine. Meals out of kitchen quickly. Did not try desert. Wine flights - tasting 3 different wines - were good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I've eaten many times at Grand Cru both before and after it moved to its new larger space. The menu is short but high quality with delicious choices. You can browse their library of wines by the bottle and purchase one to drink with your dinner at basically the retail price instead of the more typical restaurant-markup price. They offer nice wine flights.

The new space is bigger but also much noisier. When ordering, our server had trouble hearing us, and we had to iterate a couple of times.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.