About Graffiato

Chef Isabella serves seasonal, artisanal pizzas and small plates inspired by the food he grew up eating in New Jersey prepared by his Italian-American grandmother. With heavy influence from Chef Isabella’s Mediterranean and Latin culinary training, Graffiato is anything but a traditional Italian eatery. Roasted potato gnocchi with pork ragu, chicken thighs with pepperoni sauce, charred octopus with tomato mostarda and mint, and hanger steak with pancetta and wild mushrooms are a few of the signature wood oven roasted dishes. Broccolini with red pepper relish and smoked beets with sheep’s milk ricotta are popular first plates. When the kitchen closes, the oven will stay fired to feed Washingtonians looking for a late-night bite.

707 6th St. NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 11:00pm), Thursday -Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 12:00am), Bar Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm ($5 drink specials and "bites" for $3, $4, $5)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 289-3600

Website:
http://graffiatodc.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Mike Isabella

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Graffiato does not have a private room, but we accept inquiries for groups of seven or more. Food and beverage minimums may apply. Please contact us to discuss menus and pricing for group dinners and half- or full-restaurant buyouts.

Graffiato Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (48)
Good for a Date (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
See All
Creative Cuisine (44)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Hot Spot (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Fun (31)
Comfort Food (29)
Happy Hour (25)
Modern Decor (25)
Authentic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Open Kitchen (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Wood Oven (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Quick Bite (17)
Cozy (16)
Tapas (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Tasting Menu (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Family Style (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (3)
Organic (3)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really nice food. Ambience is okay (bri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Really nice food. Ambience is okay (bright lights) in a friendly, informal way. Liked the service very much, and the value was great (Sunday night discounts on many entrees).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food. Must order more than entree a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food. Must order more than entree as the portions are small. Good for sharing / taps style.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place great service and fun time.. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place great service and fun time.... the food was amazing and the staff couldn't be nicer

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OK -- the food was terrific. I don't kn ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

OK -- the food was terrific. I don't know what those little, flash-fried balls of heaven are in the Caesar salad, but they will take your breath away...seriously. The food was, all-around fantastic, and we will go back again. I've already sent 2 other groups of friends. Don't expect quite conversation...it's noisy, but it's not TOO noisy. The service? Well, it needs help. We did a fair amount of waiting. But seriously, go for the food!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

had not had the mushroom risotto before. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

had not had the mushroom risotto before. liked it a lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was my gift for two young, ve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The dinner was my gift for two young, very polite and charming African American male friends of mine before the Wizards game. The wait staff proactively ignored them and were unpleasant to them during the entire dinner. They later joined me at the Wizards game very upset and humiliated. I will not recommend Graffiatos again. The staff should treat ALL patrons with respect and professional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The pizza was delicious. The noodles/pas ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The pizza was delicious. The noodles/pasta for the rigatoni and fettuccine Alfredo wasn't fully cooked.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great everything! The White House Pizza ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great everything! The White House Pizza was amazing as well as their cocktails.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We will never eat here again. Unremarkab ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We will never eat here again. Unremarkable food built around cheese. Indifferent service. Sorry we spent money here.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful and tasty dishes! Brought som ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Beautiful and tasty dishes! Brought some friends to try this restaurant and everyone was really full and really happy. We particularly loved the beet dish as an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Porky pizza and chocolate lava cake were ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Porky pizza and chocolate lava cake were great. Gnocchi was good. Fettuccine was way too broccoli tasting. Ribs and ceasar were okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food. Service okay. Great time ove ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food. Service okay. Great time overall. Very casual and fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food. Not too much food (that's a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food. Not too much food (that's a good thing). Kind of expensive for a couple plates. I'd go back thiugh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Always delicious, food delivered to your ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always delicious, food delivered to your table hot. Love it.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wait staff does not understand the conce ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Wait staff does not understand the concept of

"Adding a protein" to a salad.

Salads are very overpriced and small serving.

Guessing Graffiato is struggling- very few

Diners-- I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

One of our all time favorites and tonigh ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

One of our all time favorites and tonight is no exception! The chef's tasting menu is outstanding and a value that cannot be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very tasty food. Only complaint ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Overall very tasty food. Only complaint is that the small plates, well, they are very small. Past dish, snall, ~$16, very small portion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Had to call over a server for water afte ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Had to call over a server for water after sitting for 10 minutes. The food was OK - nothing amazing. I would say the best thing on their menu is the spaghetti.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

food was great, service was friendly. we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

food was great, service was friendly. we were neglected for a bit at the beginning and got caught up in a 'that's not my table' situation between the servers when we first sat down . also there are cold drafts at some of the tables (the manager kindly reseated us).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our second visit to Graffiato a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our second visit to Graffiato and was as successful as the first. The food is a wonderful mix of time-honored recipes with enough innovation to make them interesting. But mostly, they're just plain tasty! This visit, we had pasta, pizza and brussel sprouts -- all were fantastic. Our server was super-friendly and was there when we needed him -- but also gave us room to talk over drinks without pushing us to order too quickly. Our table upstairs in the back wasn't ideal, but not terrible. All in all, we can see this becoming a regular spot for us.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We tried Graffiato for restaurant week, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We tried Graffiato for restaurant week, and it didn't disappoint. My husband and I did the 4-course tasting menu. Everything was amazing, but I'd say the highlight is the short rib gnocchi. We also shared a punch bowl-- intended for a group of 5, but fun for a party of 2 😉

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tuna tartar and cauliflower Small plates ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Tuna tartar and cauliflower Small plates were outstanding. Smoked mushroom ravioli were very smoky - not my favorite but my husband loved them.

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was born in Brooklyn and raised in Nor ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I was born in Brooklyn and raised in Northern New Jersey so I am pickly about Italian food, and there is very little authentic Italian in DC. Graffiato is the exception. Delish! Amazing food. My party of 6 loved every bite. And they win in the trendy "roasted brussel sprout" category.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I shared three courses (one ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I shared three courses (one dish for each of us in each course, so six total). Every bite was delicious. The dishes were creative, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Our server was attentive and gracious. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our culinary experience. We h ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We enjoyed our culinary experience. We had the broccolini, porky's revenge pizza, potato gnocchi, and the zeppoles. The gnocchi were the best in my opinion. The short rib ragu sauce for the gnocchi was so delicious. The broccolini I was served chilled, which was surprising but still very good. The pizza was my wife's favorite and delicious. The zeppoles came with a spiced cream which was very interesting and ended the meal appropriately.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is the first review I write but I h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is the first review I write but I had never seen a more rude manager. We were finishing dinner and the manager came and asked me and my friends to leave because they had other reservations. I have never seen such a poor treatment in a restaurant. The food is good but too expensive to be kicked out just because you finished eating and we had not even finished the bottle of wine we got. If you want to enjoy your evening executive trout being rushed I recomend you go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Our server Tony gave us a great wine rec ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our server Tony gave us a great wine recommendation with our meal-- the Pinot noir (and typically I'm not a Pinot girl).

Everything on the menu was awesome per usual. Highly recommend the burratta salad, the gnocchi, and the Countryman pizza! The black truffle and egg on top of the pizza is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week: The trout was well-prep ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Restaurant Week: The trout was well-prepared and tasty but the alfredo was unimpressive. Overall the menu selection wasn't as good as last year. Cannoli was excellent as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I've never been disappointed coming here ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I've never been disappointed coming here, and a restaurant week lunch menu was a nice treat and great way to sample excellent gnocchi, caesar salad and pork belly. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love italian food and that was the hig ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I love italian food and that was the highlight of our meal, particularly the gelato. Although there were a few open tables., service seemed overwhelmed and the noise level was very high.

We had the restaurant week menu and it was good but I wasn't blown away by it - better to go for lunch instead of dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I had a fun dinner with girlfriends and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I had a fun dinner with girlfriends and this was a great spot!! We had a dinner reservation so we were seated right away. The room got packed with Caps fans since there was a game that night, so the service was a little slow in the beginning and it was very loud. Fun atmosphere though and all of the food was absolutely fabulous!!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot and great food!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great spot and great food!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pizza was wonderful! I lived in Napl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The pizza was wonderful! I lived in Naples Italy as a teenager and have been looking for that original piazzaria pizza- pretty close! The pasta dish was excellent, great combination of flavors. The service was great, they held our table for us because we followed the directions from open table that were wrong. We got to our planned event in plenty of time. The Caesar salad had great flavors, I could taste anchovy but my only complaint was it was a little over dressed.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

During Restaurant Week my co-workers and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

During Restaurant Week my co-workers and I make every effort to sample a variety of foods. Our recent visit to Graffiato was our first. The atmosphere and service were excellent. We arrived at opening time and were seated immediately. The food presented on the restaurant week menu was perfect. I chose the Flat Bread with Pepperoni sauce, Potato Gnocchi and Gelato and Sorbet (chocolate with a caramel and salt sauce). Each dish was absolutely delicious and quite filling. The portions were more than I expected. We will definitely enter this restaurant on our "return" list and a place to go for casual but tasty dining.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding. He was very ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our server was outstanding. He was very attentive and made sure we got what we wanted and ensured we had the best deals offered. He was great. The food was delicious. Decent sized and spread of a menu. My only knock was no simple house salad, but that is me nitpicking. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My husband and I went to Graffiato befor ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My husband and I went to Graffiato before a Wizards game and we were super impressed! We chose this spot because we hadn't been and we liked what they had on the menu for Restaurant Week. The Cesar salad with cream cheese croutons was wonderful, as was our pepperoni sauce with dippable flatbread appetizer. Then we had the veal rigatoni and the chicken broccoli alfredo, both of which were delicious but the rigatoni was our favorite. The meal finished with yummy cannoli and Stacy's milk & cookies. We also really enjoyed the red "Kapnos Reserve" wine we had with the meal. We can't wait to go back on a regular night now!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week meal was delicious. Food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Restaurant Week meal was delicious. Food came out hot and fast.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The gnocchi were the favorite at the tab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The gnocchi were the favorite at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anytime I go to DC I don't even think tw ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Anytime I go to DC I don't even think twice about where I am going to eat. I love all of Mike Isabella's restaurants and this no exception but I can't say enough about Graffiato. Great value for amazing food. It's a must!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.