About Graffiato

Chef Isabella serves seasonal, artisanal pizzas and small plates inspired by the food he grew up eating in New Jersey prepared by his Italian-American grandmother. With heavy influence from Chef Isabella’s Mediterranean and Latin culinary training, Graffiato is anything but a traditional Italian eatery. Roasted potato gnocchi with pork ragu, chicken thighs with pepperoni sauce, charred octopus with tomato mostarda and mint, and hanger steak with pancetta and wild mushrooms are a few of the signature wood oven roasted dishes. Broccolini with red pepper relish and smoked beets with sheep’s milk ricotta are popular first plates. When the kitchen closes, the oven will stay fired to feed Washingtonians looking for a late-night bite.

707 6th St. NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 11:00pm), Thursday -Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 12:00am), Bar Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm ($5 drink specials and "bites" for $3, $4, $5)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 289-3600

Website:
http://graffiatodc.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Mike Isabella

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Graffiato does not have a private room, but we accept inquiries for groups of seven or more. Food and beverage minimums may apply. Please contact us to discuss menus and pricing for group dinners and half- or full-restaurant buyouts.

Graffiato Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (62)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Creative Cuisine (44)
Fun (39)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Comfort Food (27)
Modern Decor (24)
Open Kitchen (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Quick Bite (23)
Happy Hour (22)
Wood Oven (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Authentic (14)
Tapas (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Romantic (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (10)
Family Style (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Cozy (7)
Healthy (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

We ordered the cauliflower, meat and cheese board, Caesar salad, spaghetti, Porky's revenge pizza, and the Bronzino. Every single thing was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Katie, our server, was fantastic!! She had great suggestions, a wonderful sense of humor and took care of our every need. We enjoyed all our appetizers, sin meals and a variety of drinks. One in our party had some food allergies and they were careful and very accommodating. We even toook home leftovers which tasted great the next day! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was lacking, pizza was greasy and expensive for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was absolutely incredible but the service was poor. It took about 10 minutes for anyone to notice we sat down and about 15 minutes for us to get our drinks once we ordered. My friend came a few minutes late and as the server dropped the drinks, she didn't even acknowledge someone new had arrived at the table. Our food came out one at a time which was odd. My mom was served cold water with her tea. Luckily the food was AMAZING. Everyone raved about what they ordered. Would go back for the food but would hope their service could be improved.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Graffiato seems to be waning. It's as if Mike Graffiato has spread himself too thin with too many restaurants. There was a time a few yrs ago when everything you'd eat was a "wow" moment. It's taken a few steps down. It could use a boost.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The noise in the upstairs dining room was deafening. Conversation across the dinner table was next to impossible. Wine choice by the glass was OK, but not great. Except for pizza and pasta, the menu was someone's made-up idea of Italian cuisine -someone who's not been to Italy. Lamb small plate was tough and overcooked. I was not inspired to order anything else. Two small plates and 2 glasses of wine at $75 was beyond ridiculous. There's much better choices for Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Noise level is overwhelming -- bring ear plugs. Food is okay, but undistinguished. The fried prawns dish had only three prawns (!!) for $16. Asparagus risotto was very good. Lamb dish was mostly gristle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Well the plates were very small for the price. The server seemed very distracted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

we hadn't been in a while, but it seems that the overall quality of food has changed. The food had very little flavor other than the abundance of pepper flakes and we both are ok with spicy food. Needless to say, we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent location to talk during meal, wonderful pasta to share, attentive service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The portions are extremely small for what you pay for. $18 for 4 small tortellini swimming in a pool of puréed peas in a small plate and $18 for steak sized no larger than a deck of cards topped with one fried egg is outrageous. This place used to have much larger portions that matched the price. We won't be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to grab food after a museum on the mall. Very nice atmosphere but when we ordered the food within 18 minutes of sitting down every dish and drink was there. I felt rushed just at the mere fastness of the service. We had the gnocchi, which was amazing, and the asparagus risotto, which was not my normal dish but really good. The drinks were nice but a little too expensive for my liking, however for a nice date I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We came to town from NYC so have very high pizza standards and Griffiato exceeded all expectations! Delicious pizza & pasta. Our hard to impress children ate everything up and we even ordered 2 gnocchi's. Thank you!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Construction noises - saw was constantly running as was the loud vitamin blender. I thought the blender was going to melt, as it was going nonstop. The owner needs to eat there - I suspect he's not set foot in there in a while. The food was terrible. Temperature was off and a lot of it was microwaved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Unbelievable food. Great drinks. Perfect service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was a little disappointed; for the price and reputation, I hoped to have creative and high-quality delicious food. Instead the options were uninspiring and not perfectly crafted. Perhaps it was just an off night for the chef, but I would I felt our food was not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food was terrific. However, we requested that our dishes (4) be spread out; not delivered all at once. The first dish came by itself, and after an interval, all of the remaining dishes were delivered at ince.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Nice specialty pizzas and small plate Italian food. We had the Jersey Shore Pizza. It had Calamari! Yum. Nice wine list. The short ribs were also yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Terrible. This use to be our go to spot before events at the Verizon Center. During Caps season we'd eat here 2-3 times a week sometimes. The food has just gotten worse and worse. Seems like they are trying to make their plates "fancier" but it's just too much fluff. Get back to the delicious basic go-to staples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The most amazing watermelon salad with burrata-oh my- unforgettable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. Our table was ready when we arrived. The service was very friendly and informative of all menu options. A delicious meal. The wine selection was a little limited, still highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Our meal was so disappointing, especially for the price point. We had been to Graffiato two years ago and had a nice dinner but I can't say we will be returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were a little disappointed. The menu looked great and some of the items were outstanding, such as the roasted cauliflower. Overall the kitchen has a heavy hand with oil. It detracted from the overall quality. The pizzas tended to be too greasy and the one pasta item we tried was also a little too oily (tagliatelle shrimp), although the flavor was good aside from that. Also the pasta was a small serving, more appropriate if you're only having it as one course in a multi-course meal. Which we weren't.

The pizza crust was great. For the more creative pizzas, the consensus was they were interesting to try but we probably wouldn't order them again (e.g. Jersey Shore with fried calamari topping, asparagus and mushroom, decreed as tasteless). We went on Sunday night, and it turned out pizza and pasta is all $10, which was good since it was kind of disappointing in quality.

For some unknown reason, everything came out at different times. They acted like this was normal, but sorry, it isn't, unless you're getting small plates, which we weren't. One person's pizza didn't come out at all and when prodded, the server said it was taking longer. Unlikely since it was a simple cheese pizza. We thought they probably just forgot or gave it to someone else by mistake. They didn't charge us for that pizza, but it was annoying, especially since it was for a child.

The one person in our party who's allergic to dairy had great difficulty finding something to eat, so be aware of that if it's an issue. Not blaming the restaurant but it was a bit unexpected. Just be aware of that if you're avoiding dairy.

Choose the second floor if you want to avoid loud bar noise. Window table is fun for people watching; game let out from Verizon Center while we were there.

Don't try to park in a nearby garage if there's a game on, haha. $40! We drove just a short distance away and found a free spot on the street near Busboys and Poets.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Family Style, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was very good, especially the pizza. However, our waiter was on a different planet as far as service is concerned - completely forgot the calamari we ordered as an appetizer (came at the very end), took 5+ reminders for the bottle of beer I ordered over a 30 minute period, etc. The service is probably the worst I have seen in a very long time in any restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was a little skeptical of a restaurant across the street from a major sports venue but we were really surprised by the very high level of food and service. What this restaurant is missing is noise control and anything resembling a warm and inviting ambience. Add these and this is a treasure. The entrance stairs looks like it was inspired by the tile in a bad public restroom or the worst sports bar you hung out at in college. Upstairs,every surface is hard-from the exposed brick walls to the wooden tables and the cheap hard chairs. Every noise bounces across multiple hard services. The table next to us were practically yelling at each other to be heard and it appeared they were on a first date.. Whomever sold Chef Isabellla on the design of this space should give him a refund. At the very least put some interesting art on the walls and add foam under the tables to soak up some noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Dining experience was just okay. Food was tasty but portions were too small for the price. Service was slow too. However ... loved the roasted cauliflower

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice atmosphere and great location, but food is so-so and portion sizes are tiny. The pasta entres are laughably small, but at full price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The tables are tight but that is expected in DC. Didn't like that the food came out at different times. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was very disappointed with this restaurant. The menu is limited, composed mainly of pizzas and pastas. The dishes have too many ingredients in an effort to be "fancy," generally guaranteeing that there will be something in a dish that I don't like. I had a daiquiri, that had sherry in it, and didn't taste much like a daiquiri. The food was good quality, but the biggest problem was the portions. I had the tortellini--there were a total of 4 normal-sized tortellini, with a few vegetable slices. My companion's spaghetti was a little more normal sized. As I was still hungry I asked for some bread and was charged for it. One thing I liked was the prosecco "on draft" for $8. However, I would not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I marked down the ambience because it is not exactly my style. However, I think a lot of people like this casual style so it should be considered according to your own preference. There was a little problem with the service, but it really turned out to be an overzealous finisher, not the fault of the server. It was professionally and satisfactorily rectified.The result, though, was unpleasant for me. It was much too loud for us, but we like a nice, quiet place to chat.The food was very good. We each had a filled pasta, the flavors and preparation were unique and very pleasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good food for a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I called just 30 minutes before my reservation to confirm that they could seat us downstairs because of my father's limited mobility. They were immediately able to accommodate and I was very grateful!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Terrific food and we had a great server to boot for our first visit. Get the charcuterie, it's so worth it. Pastas were very good. The Veal ragu was superb. Dessert was excellent as well. The bar scene downstairs was very lively. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My "medium" flat iron steak arrived brown (and tough) throughout. But the server took it, apologized and brought a replacement fairly promptly. Still more medium well than medium, but better. The zeppole for dessert are incredibly good. Food is good, the drinks are good, and the service is very pleasant. It was an enjoyable evening overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I finally made it to Graffiato after enjoying Kapnos and other Mike Isabella restaurants, and I had high hopes for lunch. The menu is heavy on pasta and pizza, and I had a pasta dish. What I had was tasty, but very greasy. Portions were very small for a $17 lunch dish. I can't speak to other dishes or dinner. I'd give it another shot, but my experience was definitely meh to start.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Poor service (order a salad and entree, the entree came first - and this wasn't fixed even after I pointed this out). Food was mediocre, at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had tickets to the Shakespeare theater so decided to check out Grafiattos since it was so close. Also, we had heard wonderful things about their creative cuisine. Well, we were not disappointed. Everything was so delicious! We especially enjoyed the Jersey Shore Pizza. The only thing I would say that was not really negative but just a heads up. There is tree in from of the restaurant that made it difficult for us to find it. We had to call the restaurant to direct us. The tree was blocking the sign. If it can't be trimmed perhaps an A-Frame sign in front for those of us that are directionally handicapped. We really enjoyed our visit and can't wait to visit again. Also the Sunday Special made our visit even better! Thank you for a wonderful time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have never had cream cheese croutons, but my gosh they are great! They come on the Caesar salad - don't miss them! We shared a Caesar salad and a pizza and it was plenty for both of us. We had the white cheese pizza with prosciutto, and it was delicious! Be sure to end your evening with the lemon chelo- but mine was orange and my husband's was grapefruit. We closed the place down - friendly service too

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

main issue for us was (despite the simple OK industrial look) the complete lack of any real decorative accents such as potentially pigmenting the concrete floor (rather than grey raw concrete), adding interesting wall art (none there) & adding some accent colors to walls plus some more dropped pendant lighting... guess what I am saying is the spaces, especially 2nd floor, look kind of like a nice college cafeteria but not an interior that comes up to the quality of the food. start design point might be the attractive main hutch serving station towards the front in stained wood. please consider...

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.