About Graffiato

Chef Isabella serves seasonal, artisanal pizzas and small plates inspired by the food he grew up eating in New Jersey prepared by his Italian-American grandmother. With heavy influence from Chef Isabella’s Mediterranean and Latin culinary training, Graffiato is anything but a traditional Italian eatery. Roasted potato gnocchi with pork ragu, chicken thighs with pepperoni sauce, charred octopus with tomato mostarda and mint, and hanger steak with pancetta and wild mushrooms are a few of the signature wood oven roasted dishes. Broccolini with red pepper relish and smoked beets with sheep’s milk ricotta are popular first plates. When the kitchen closes, the oven will stay fired to feed Washingtonians looking for a late-night bite.

707 6th St. NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 10:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 11:00pm), Thursday -Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm (Bar & Pizza Oven Open Until 12:00am), Bar Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm ($5 drink specials and "bites" for $3, $4, $5)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 289-3600

Website:
http://graffiatobymic.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers catering in the style of Graffiato. Please email events@mikeisabella.com for more information.

Public Transit:
Gallery Place metro station.

Executive Chef:
Chef Mike Isabella

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our events team at events@mikeisabella.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Graffiato does not have a private room, but we accept inquiries for groups of seven or more. Food and beverage minimums may apply. Please contact us to discuss menus and pricing for group dinners and half- or full-restaurant buyouts.

Graffiato Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Tapas (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Authentic (15)
Fun (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Live Sports (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

I spent over $20 on an entree and tap water and left hungry. My bowl of risotto was good but they did not offer bread or warn me that I would need to order a side to get an actual meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent and the waiter upstairs redeemed our evening because the front of house staff downstairs did all they could to ensure we had a poor experience. I'm glad they didn't succeed. We arrived very early for our table but asked if we could be seat d as soon as they had a table - they agreed and we enjoyed drinks at the bar for 90 mins and eventually after reminding them we were still here got seated 15 mins early. That's fine if they were busy but when we got upstairs approx 70% of tables were not unoccupied but already reset which refutes their argument that a large group just left! So $100 spent unnecessarily on drinks downstairs as well as the argumentative and disinterested attitude of the two seemingly inexperienced ladies on the front desk certainly disappointed. The front of house manager had an opportunity to make right but his comment that "we are seating you 15 mins early" when just an "our bad, sincere apologies" would have done the trick. What a shame and a let down to the excellent staff and chefs upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

our server was rude, dropped the check, picked it up and dropped it off again all without making any eye contact, a single word but flung it on our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

It is always great. I’ll definitley be back. Love it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food and great service by the waitstaff. The hostesses, however, were not welcoming and pretty much just rude. I had a reservation, but was told that there was not a table ready and I was welcome to sit at the bar instead. I said no thank you and I wanted to wait for my table. They then proceeded to seat two couples who came in later before they seated me. I was alone because I was traveling for business and they acted as if I should not take up their table since I was alone. Would go back because the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here with my husband before a show at the Verizon Center. It was our wedding anniversary celebration and we just had a baby, so going out was a big deal for us! Traffic was terrible and we were 45 minutes late, but they still held the table for us (we called to let the know we were late). They got us out quickly without making us feel rushed. Cocktails and food were both great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The service here was really good. Unfortunately the food left a lot to be desired.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2017

For a place on the Washingtonian top 100 list I expected more. The menu was very limited and while the food was good it wasn't anything special. I thought the arranciana (SP?) was the best I've ever had, but still, it's just a rice ball. I did love the spicy meatballs, but my husband found them too spicy. The spaghetti could have come from any spaghetti house but no better and a little boring. The lasagna was similarly OK, but nothing special. The chicken thigh was one piece of meat cut into three pieces, and again, nothing special. There were three of us and two people didn't even bother to try it. The rice with it was dull and tasteless. These foods just don't lend themselves well to the tapas concept.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Spicy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Graffiato's food did not disappoint. This was a birthday dinner for an out-of-town nephew. The selection of small plates was varied, and many of them sounded delicious. We started with the forager pizza - it was outstanding. Great start! The lamb came next and it wasn't as good as anticipated because the meat was quite tough and chewy. However, the seashells with sausage were excellent, as were the brussel sprouts. We tried two desserts - the chocolate layer cake (it was a birthday after all) and the banana rum torte. The latter was fabulous; the cake was tasty but nothing special. Our waiter was friendly but not very engaged or helpful with the menu. The small plates were all a decent size, so we were full by the time we finished our meal. The price seemed reasonable given the restaurant's location and quality of the food. Would return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Extra treat to meet Mike Isabella in person!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our first dining experience with Graffiato. My husband and I enjoyed the crowd and it was CROWDED, but the service was quick and smooth. Food was incredible. We had the Brussel sprouts, never had them taste so GOOD! Gnocchi was too spicy for me, but I couldn't stop eating it because it was FABULOUS. The caprese salad was very disappointing. The tomatoes were cut thinly (3 slices only and the 3rd slice was a tomato end). The mozzarella was ice cold hard.
The Brussel sprouts and the gnocchi was so good that we forgot all about the caprese salad, as the food was coming out quickly. Good Italian wine choices too!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

AMAZING!!! The food is always absolutely delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Three friends having dinner before Bruno Mars show. Shared 4 items. Everything was absolutely delicious with interesting combinations of flavors. We will all definitely come back!! Bonus: got a picture taken with Mike Isabella!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Bruno Mars Concert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Good plsce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Amazing gnocchi, best Caesar salad ever. Not sure how they make those delicious croutons, but they are so good. Great happy hour food and drink choices.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our food, as always, was great! I can't get enough of the agnolotti, the pizzas were excellent, the broccolini salad complemented all, and the antipasto salad was a perfect way to open the meal. Service was very quick. Graffiato always pleases!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

It took a long time before we were greeted by our server. I hadn't been to this place in over a year and was looking for their preset lunch deal they previously offered. It was really disappointing to learn that was not an option any longer. It was a great deal so this time I felt that the prices were way too high. I had also asked about a kid's menu and was told they did not have one. My suggestion would be that if you do not have a kids menu, maybe have some ideas ready for parents.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Best Italian food I've had in years. Next to Aunt Mary's meatballs. This was tops. Caesar salad was perfect

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Tapas, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The staff were extremely friendly and efficient; amazed that on a crowded night it felt like we had our own exclusive team. Food was excellent and left no room for dessert (unfortunately) because it looked like a delicious selection from which to choose.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Food was fantastic and the staff was friendly and attentive. Manager stopped to check on our experience. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

attentive wait staff and delicious food made for a lovely evening out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Warm and attentive service. Great pizza. We had the "porkey's". Even even better cauliflower appetizer. Love the bar seats overlooking the kitchen prep area.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2017

With the exception of a server who forgot to give me my doggie bag, it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Its one of the places I absolutely MUST go to if I'm in D.C.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Enjoy frequenting this restaurant. Service and food are great

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was really good. The ambiance is a little too casual for an Italian restaurant. We ordered appetizers and main course, and ended up receiving everything at the same time which was obviously not ideal. The truffle pizza with egg was good. Tuna tartare was amazing! Pork belly was not so great. Pastas were good too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We've had great experiences in the past but Graffiato was very disappointing this time. We waited almost 20 minutes for the flatbread and pepperoni sauce- we had to remind our server and she gave some excuse for the long wait- comping the $5 appetizer would have gone a long way. The lemon zest in the arancini was overwhelming. I love a little added citrus to brighten up any dish but this was way too much. And the pizza was fine. Service was lacking (except for the bus boys who were all very attentive and friendly).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I ordered the mushroom risotto, although it was well cooked, it was flavorless. My husband ordered the gnocchi and those were very good. We shared a steak dish it was small but good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The gnocchi was AMAZING! Definitely recommend hands down! Also all pasta is fresh made!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

service was slow - drinks did not arrive before meal. One person had there risotto at least five minutes before pizza and had to start eating ahead.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Dining at Graffiato was an excellent experience. I highly recommend this restaurant. Our waiter was attentive, but not nosy or intrusive, and the food was OUTSTANDING! Keep in mind that it is very pricey, and the portions are very small. 100% worth it, though.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was high quality and reasonably priced. Not only did it taste delicious, but the service was equally as amazing. Sooooo good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We went before a concert so it was literally only us until by 7pm it was completely full. We both had pizza and they were both excellent. Try the White House pizza. Interesting combination and very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Outstanding. Enjoyed. Great food and service. Nice menu selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was great. Loved the cream cheese croutons! Jason, our server, knew the menu and was able to anwser our questions. He was also very friendly. We enjoyed the food. The antipasta, the gnocchi and the succotash were among our favorites. We also enjoyed our drinks Scotch with Egg whites was delightful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Don't let the ambiance deter you; it's a little dated. I don't consider myself a foodie but if I did, I'd send other foodies here. Everything was delicious, even a little unexpected. For example, the Caesar salad had little cream cheese balls in it. I don't even like cheese and found them delightful. Shocked even my husband. Service was great - conscientious without hovering and educated us well on the menu. We'd return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Graffiato is a perfect go-to restaurant for a reliably delicious meal and a great atmosphere. Service has always been very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had an amazing meal. Gnocchi was fabulous, as was the angolatti. Pizza is one of the best I've had in DC. Very helpful server. We will be back. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I really enjoyed my experience! Creative menu, great service,delicious food perfectly prepared. We had the stone fruit salad, cauliflower, rockfish, pizza, chocolate cake and cannolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.