Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town

At Giovanni's you will experience creative Italian cuisine in a multi level, chic and relaxed atmosphere.

909 20th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 760-5932

Website:
http://www.giovanninashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Pinato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Thu - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private room upstairs can acommodate from 15 to 75 guests seated and 200 for a cocktail reception with private bar.

Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Romantic (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been going to G's for several months now and it has been consistently excellent. Genuine Italian cuisine, super service, and a warm, friendly management staff. Molto Bene!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fabulous dinner and great service from the attentive staff. They really make everyone feel important. Veal, fish, pasta all wonderful! Tiramisu like being in Rome. Can't find a better Italian restaurant in Nashville.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Love everything about Giovanni's...
Upon arrival we were greeted by name and offered a lovely table. The wine Christian recommended was perfect and our dinners were exceptional - bolognese and the veal entree.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Authentic. Remarkable. Affected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Wonderful restaurant !!!! Chris and Nick were very attentive. I had the menu fish (a type of redfish) which was prepared outstandingly well. My wife had the lasagna. It had a great meat sauce and authentic thin Italian pasta. The wine list had a great selection. Be prepared, it's a little pricey. But overall one of my favorite Italian restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Everything from the greeting, service, ambience, and food was top notch. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Best Italian food in Nashville. Service is great. We love the veal picctta. The artichoke appetizer is very good. The service is very good.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We found Giovanni's on OpenTable, I'd never heard of it before and that's unfortunate because the food was wonderful. I had the soup of the day, the veal and a chocolate mouse cake and my wife had the lasagna and a creme brulee. The food was excellent. The soup was simple, yet very flavorful, the veal was some of the best I've had and that cake was ridiculous, they should serve it with a pitcher of cold milk. I tried a couple of bites of the lasagna, the pasta was fantastic, it melted in your mouth and the overall flavor of the lasagna was really great as well.

The service was perfect. The server was friendly and made recommendations, the service was always prompt, but never overbearing. Our glasses always seemed to stay full, almost without even noticing the refill.

The wine list had a great selection, unfortunately we didn't have the time to sample it. Next time for sure.

If you like Italian food, you should give Giovanni's a shot, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was outanding! Service was excellent! You definitely get what you pay for. Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Best authentic Italian meal of my life! Friendly and welcoming service, scratch made pasta, sauces and bread, and the most rich and decadent dark chocolate cake.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Best Italian food in Nashville. We love the artichoke appetizer and the veal piccatta is terrific, the pasta dishes are always good. Service is impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always Outstanding! Mr. Danny is great and always creates a fabulous dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Thank you again, for your special experience y'all provide at Giovanni's. Y'all have the best chandelier yet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Giovanni's is our favorite restaurant in Nashville. The food is always delicious and the entire staff looks after us wonderfully!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Well the food was good. Nice corner table upstairs in the back.
We did not feel very welcome at Giovanni's and would not recommend it to anyone.
The service varied from non-existent to quite rude. It did not seem as though we had a server at all. The manager was not only very obnoxious to us but he treated his staff very poorly.
Horrible way to spend $300!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Overpriced, small portions with an unimpressive presentaion. We odered a tomato salad with gouda cheese for a starter which cost $16.75. It was barely one full beef steak tomato with a few gouda shavings. The waite staff didn't seem to know what was going on. The entire meal was a disappoinment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Best Italian in Nashville. Love the veal picatta and the angel hair pasta with marinara. The artichokes are a great starter. The home made bread sticks are a great start to a fine dining experience. Service is attentive. Great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service was professional and paced really well given it was a busy night. Pasta was fresh and delicious. Gnocchi and risotto were both outstanding. A great place near campus to sit back, relax and enjoy a great Italian meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Get the pasta bolognese every time. Best in town. Best ever.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great time at Giovanni's! The food was amazing- especially the risotto of the day - the service was top notch and you have to end the night with grandma's limoncello!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 14, 2017

AMAZING Italian food. Seriously the best I have ever had, and I have been to Italy. Giovanni made a point to meet us, and present the specials to each table personally. It had a very authentic feel. A little pricier than imagined, but great for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Service is wonderful. Best Italian food in Nashville. Love the veal picatta and angel hair pasta with marinara sauce. The roasted artichokes are a great start to dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wonderful dinner, the home made bread sticks are a great way to start. We love the artichoke hearts. The pasta is fantastic, we had the angel hair with marinara with the veal piccatta which is delicious. We are always to full for dessert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Everything was outstanding! Service, food and ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food and service were very good. It was not crowded (Monday night), everyting was first class

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Cozy, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Special place. Authentic Italian food. Must try in Nashville, Tn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent - all the way around. Off the menu request for a cream clam sauce that was killer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful dinner lasagna was very good, veal piccatta was tender and delicious the side pasta, angel hair with marinara, made me feel like I was in Rome! Excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Giovanni's is a spectacular Italian Restaurant. One of the Best Restaurants in Nashville period! The staff is professional, attentive and informed, helping you make the dinner selection best suited to your tastes, and prepared as you like it.
The Calamari, the Cesar Salad were prepared wonderfully. The evening specials covered all bases, Appetizer, Salad, Seafood, Meat, but I couldn't pass up the Bolognese, their signature veal and beef ragout. Outstanding!
Extensive Wine, Port, Scotch, Cognac, Brandy, Grappa & Dessert Wine Selection.
Giovanni himself was in the restaurant greeting customers.
I may be their newest Regular, every single time I am in Nashville.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was excellnt, as well as service. I could actually hear my guest speak in this place which is not the norm now days. I will definitely be going back and would highly recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our main waiter had a really bad attitude and bordered on true rudeness. The caprise appetizer was awful. The main courses were good but very expensive. I also noticed that the menu posted online had significantly lower prices than the actual restaurant menu. We also had a bottle of overpriced wine. Overall I would not recommend this restaurant nor will I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Wonderful dinner, Veal Picatta was wonderful, the Grouper Picatta was fabulous. Service was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great Italian spot in Nashville. Good service and good food all the way around.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Absolutely impeccable in all respects. Lasagna the greatest

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was our first time to try Giovani's and it was delicious! The wait staff allows you plenty of time and it's s great dining experience. They have a long wine list although the by the glass choices were limited. The atmosphere is also very nice and felt cozy to us. I had the featured seafood dish which was seared grouper and it was very tasty. My husband had lasagna and it was very good as well. The portions were good, but not really enough to share. Also save room for the lemon sorbet--it's made in house and very refreshing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a lovely dinner, just the two of us. Service was a bit slow at first, for the Penguins were there in full. But we really liked our waiter Galveston. The food was delicious and the space upstairs was private and quietly nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Giovanni's. The staff is very welcoming, and the food was fresh and well prepared. Their pasta is outstanding, especially the gnocchi, which they made vegetarian for me. Service was excellent. A little expensive but worth it!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything was perfect except for the fact that the waitstaff did not check with me and continued serving the table with $100 plus bottles of wine without clearing it with me first. I authorized the first 2 and 5 bottles later, I was paying for it. Other than that it was a near perfect evening for my daughter's post graduation dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service was terrible. The cost of the cheese platter appetizer was outrageous for what was actually on the tray. It was actually comical, unfortunately, I was not impressed with this whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.