Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town

At Giovanni's you will experience creative Italian cuisine in a multi level, chic and relaxed atmosphere.

909 20th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 760-5932

Website:
http://www.giovanninashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Pinato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private room upstairs can acommodate from 15 to 75 guests seated and 200 for a cocktail reception with private bar.

Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was terrible. The cost of the cheese platter appetizer was outrageous for what was actually on the tray. It was actually comical, unfortunately, I was not impressed with this whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Giovanni's on Mother's Day for brunch. This is a very elegant dining experience. I had my young kids with me and this was not the place for them. Overall, we had a great brunch and the service was excellent. They only had 5 brunch items so I would recommend this place for dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Veal scallopini calamari with peppers and lasagna were excellent. We were there for a very late lunch yet all was A1 eg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I found Giovanni's to be over-rated, at least compared to other major city "authentic Italian" restaurants. Now, I thought the food was tasty--I had the bronzini- but all of the food was over-priced and really not a good value. The bread was poor, a bit stale. Bread sticks an afterthought. They charged me for the 4 anchovies on my salad. Uh, that's the way it is usually served in a Ceasar Salad. Our waiter, who I think may have been the owner or manager, showed absolutely no enthusiasm. No smile. Take our order and move on. I haven't eaten in many places around Nashville (I'm from MD). I'm hoping there may a better Italian choice next time I am down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

over all was a good experience despite a very snooty, pretentious, waiter. Food was good but over priced. Away from the Nashville tourist crowd which is always a plus to a local.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I loved the food! It was authentic and delicious. The best calamari and mouth watering ravioli had made that just melts in your mouth. I would recommend it for any occasion and simply lunch or dinner. I was there with the girls celebrating a baby shower low key. My only complaint was I spent so much time looking for parking and for the valet that I arrived late going in circles. The road it's on has barely space to drive 2 vehicles nevertheless leaving your waiting for a valet to drive it out of traffics way. There was a lot of construction going around too. It's not noisy but made it harder to drive around to find parking.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating our recent marriage.
The food was incredible, and the service was excellent.
Great spot for an upscale romantic evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The restaurant was hosting a large birthday party and someone should have told them to quiet Dow and that they were disturbing others.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This restaurant truly made the occasion special! We were in town visiting and made reservations here to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The setting was so romantic and they even greeted him with dessert FIRST and a card on the table. The food was absolutely amazing as well! This turned into one romantic evening and was such a great find for a nice dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We made this reservation for our boys and their dates for prom. They really enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. Thank you for taking care of our kids.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This was a business dinner and overall the experience was very nice. The restaurant was not busy so the noise level was excellent; there were six of us and we had no trouble hearing each other across the table. From appetizers through dessert, the food was excellent. Cost was approximately $110 per person before tax including wine and cocktails. Given the cost, I don't consider it an everyday place to go, but for a special occasion, give it a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food. The owners are very kind! We have an Italian heritage and we loved. We had a nice and delicious dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and lovely meal! Great service too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Giovanni's is one of my favorites. It's always so fresh and consistently good! I think it's extremely unrated!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This place is BEST GENERATION good. You either know what that means, or you don't!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The whole experience was wonderful. The only reason it's not all 5 stars is we ordered salads, but didn't get them, and an after dinner drink, and didn't get it. The servers were wonderful other than that though, so we didn't complain. Very romantic night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service at the table was great. Menu was interesting as you only had a few options to choose from. Portion size was great. Instead of a bottle of oil being served, some extra vinegrette for the salad would have been preferred. Food was nicely seasoned and was good. However the main course that was selected, labeled "fresh lobster", was served to the table where it was still frozen. Making one ask it was indeed "fresh." Not to mention improperly heated. Staff then took it back and microwaved the dish and brought it back out. With only an apology. Not ideal where you pay $100 a person.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were the first table of 2 in the door, besides not having napkins on our table and forgetting what my wife ordered. Not bad. The food was great lamb chops where good not the best I have had, but good. I will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our fifth dining experience at Giovanni's. Each time has been incredible; great environment, great food, and great staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pleasant Italian restaurant with a selective menu. The food is nicely prepared with portions on the smaller side. Pricing is very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My mother and I enjoyed a wonderful, authentic dinner here. We went in without expectations and were pleasantly surprised by great flavors, quality, and portion size. We shared the caprese (good tomatoes, good herbs/salt, mozz was on the firm side), the paparadelle alla norcia (hearty, lots of truffle - great in my book), the veal scaloppine (amazing, maybe the best we've ever had), and tiramisu (didn't blow me away but was a great snack the next day).

The restaurant wasn't very busy that Friday night. If that's how it is when you're there, don't let it perturb you, you're in for a great meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Outstanding traditional Italian menu with daily specials that are hard to resist. Service levels have always been outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food and service as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food and nice wine choices. Service started out very rough but credit the manager for stepping in and taking over. I will return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our dinner was absolutely magnificent. Once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lovely atmosphere! The veal scallopini was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have been to Giovanni's multiple times over the years and enjoy the food, service and excellent attention to detail that they provide ! Best Authentic Italian in Nashville hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food. Portions seem small. Servers were less than attentive on Christmas Eve, though not overly busy. After we declined the wine menu it seemed the attention level of the servers went way down and never recovered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great Italian classics and wonderful presentation and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It is our favorite restaurant in Nashville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had brunch at Giovanni's this past weekend and it was wonderful. It is really the only high end, Northern Italian restaurant in Nashville. Always great service and great food. The fact that Giovanni himself is always there is the reason.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

What a delightful experience. The food was five star. I will definately come here again on my next trip to Nashville and will recommend it to any one I know who is travelling there. Oh and don't forget to try their desserts.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very laid back .... little slower pace than what we are use too, but food was AMAZING !! Thank you for a wonderful experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

By far the finest Italian fine dining in Nashville. Really , nothing compares. From the time you walk in , specials of the evening, attention to the customer, all is superb. Expensive and worth every penny.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One appetizer didn't arrive until the entre.
They said they could not serve the eggplant without the melted cheese on top. Then proceeded to badly burn the top of the eggplant and cover it with the cheese-- that they could not omit.....
An overall terrible experience!! Choose one of the many other quality restaurants in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent authentic food and excellent service--perfectly timed and respectful. A gem in a lovely Nashville neighborhood. Perfect for any occasion, no matter how casual or formal. The ambiance is rare in this day of feeling like a customer everywhere. This "all food made in house" spot feels like home.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delightful food, service, and ambience. Quiet enough to enjoy conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Romantic, great food, very formal service, a bit pricy, was surprised it wasn't packed, but I suspect the prices are holding people back. They would be better off to balance things a bit and fill the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were in town for a business conference and had dinner at Giovanni's. The service was friendly and professional, and the food was authentically Italian. Everything was outstanding. The ribeye steak was prepared perfectly, and the appetizers were great as well. The maitre'd was gracious and helpful. I'd highly recommend Giovanni's.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.