About Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town

At Giovanni's you will experience creative Italian cuisine in a multi level, chic and relaxed atmosphere.

909 20th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 760-5932

Website:
http://www.giovanninashville.com/

Executive Chef:
Giovanni Pinato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private room upstairs can acommodate from 15 to 75 guests seated and 200 for a cocktail reception with private bar.

Giovanni's Ristorante - Mid Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Business Meals (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time being there and the ambiance ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

First time being there and the ambiance was very good. Our waiter was not very personable for how much we were about to pay for the food... I got the special of the night, lamb shank and mashed potatoes. It was $47, this was in no way worth the money. Out of the 4 dining in our party, 0 people thought their food was worth their money except for the $25 lasagna.

The food was good, BUT it was not worth what we paid. Would have much rather gone to Maggiano's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Service at the table was great. Menu was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Service at the table was great. Menu was interesting as you only had a few options to choose from. Portion size was great. Instead of a bottle of oil being served, some extra vinegrette for the salad would have been preferred. Food was nicely seasoned and was good. However the main course that was selected, labeled "fresh lobster", was served to the table where it was still frozen. Making one ask it was indeed "fresh." Not to mention improperly heated. Staff then took it back and microwaved the dish and brought it back out. With only an apology. Not ideal where you pay $100 a person.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were the first table of 2 in the door ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were the first table of 2 in the door, besides not having napkins on our table and forgetting what my wife ordered. Not bad. The food was great lamb chops where good not the best I have had, but good. I will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First of all, yes, I have eaten at fine ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First of all, yes, I have eaten at fine dining establishments before. I preface that because I understand things will be expensive. The problem here is the overall experience was just weird. The restaurant itself was nothing short of beautiful, but the music playing was some top 40's playlist and definitely did not mesh with the environment. The wines were not great at all. The food was good, but basically a simple upgrade from traditional fare with a jacked up price. The menu as well left me scratching my head about whether I was in an Italian restaurant or in a seafood restaurant. Amerigo's is much better at a cheaper price, but you don't get the more elegant room. I left hungry and disappointed. I feel that places just do not try anymore. The waiters were nice, but seemed like they were not very interested in what they were doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

This was our fifth dining experience at ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our fifth dining experience at Giovanni's. Each time has been incredible; great environment, great food, and great staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant Italian restaurant with a selec ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pleasant Italian restaurant with a selective menu. The food is nicely prepared with portions on the smaller side. Pricing is very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My mother and I enjoyed a wonderful, aut ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My mother and I enjoyed a wonderful, authentic dinner here. We went in without expectations and were pleasantly surprised by great flavors, quality, and portion size. We shared the caprese (good tomatoes, good herbs/salt, mozz was on the firm side), the paparadelle alla norcia (hearty, lots of truffle - great in my book), the veal scaloppine (amazing, maybe the best we've ever had), and tiramisu (didn't blow me away but was a great snack the next day).

The restaurant wasn't very busy that Friday night. If that's how it is when you're there, don't let it perturb you, you're in for a great meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding traditional Italian menu wit ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Outstanding traditional Italian menu with daily specials that are hard to resist. Service levels have always been outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as always!!!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food and service as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food and nice wine choices. Servic ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food and nice wine choices. Service started out very rough but credit the manager for stepping in and taking over. I will return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our dinner was absolutely magnificent. O ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our dinner was absolutely magnificent. Once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere! The veal scallopini w ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lovely atmosphere! The veal scallopini was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to Giovanni's multiple time ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have been to Giovanni's multiple times over the years and enjoy the food, service and excellent attention to detail that they provide ! Best Authentic Italian in Nashville hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Portions seem small. Servers ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food. Portions seem small. Servers were less than attentive on Christmas Eve, though not overly busy. After we declined the wine menu it seemed the attention level of the servers went way down and never recovered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Italian classics and wonderful pre ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great Italian classics and wonderful presentation and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is our favorite restaurant in Nashvil ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It is our favorite restaurant in Nashville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had brunch at Giovanni's this past we ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had brunch at Giovanni's this past weekend and it was wonderful. It is really the only high end, Northern Italian restaurant in Nashville. Always great service and great food. The fact that Giovanni himself is always there is the reason.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a delightful experience. The foo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

What a delightful experience. The food was five star. I will definately come here again on my next trip to Nashville and will recommend it to any one I know who is travelling there. Oh and don't forget to try their desserts.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very laid back .... little slower pace t ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very laid back .... little slower pace than what we are use too, but food was AMAZING !! Thank you for a wonderful experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

By far the finest Italian fine dining in ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

By far the finest Italian fine dining in Nashville. Really , nothing compares. From the time you walk in , specials of the evening, attention to the customer, all is superb. Expensive and worth every penny.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One appetizer didn't arrive until the en ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One appetizer didn't arrive until the entre.

They said they could not serve the eggplant without the melted cheese on top. Then proceeded to badly burn the top of the eggplant and cover it with the cheese-- that they could not omit.....

An overall terrible experience!! Choose one of the many other quality restaurants in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Excellent authentic food and excellent s ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent authentic food and excellent service--perfectly timed and respectful. A gem in a lovely Nashville neighborhood. Perfect for any occasion, no matter how casual or formal. The ambiance is rare in this day of feeling like a customer everywhere. This "all food made in house" spot feels like home.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful food, service, and ambience. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delightful food, service, and ambience. Quiet enough to enjoy conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic, great food, very formal servic ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Romantic, great food, very formal service, a bit pricy, was surprised it wasn't packed, but I suspect the prices are holding people back. They would be better off to balance things a bit and fill the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in town for a business conferenc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were in town for a business conference and had dinner at Giovanni's. The service was friendly and professional, and the food was authentically Italian. Everything was outstanding. The ribeye steak was prepared perfectly, and the appetizers were great as well. The maitre'd was gracious and helpful. I'd highly recommend Giovanni's.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service. I highly r ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and great service. I highly recommend! They also have a shuttle to get people back downtown after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall awesome !!!!! Would highly recom ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overall awesome !!!!! Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, a bit pricey, nice atmosphere ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food, a bit pricey, nice atmosphere, great wine (but pricey)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were pleasantly surprised with the hi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with the hidden gem. Our meals were amazing to say the least! The lasagna was delicious and so was the pasta dinner special of penne ala vodka. We were in town for the Nashville Ultra Marathon and pasta is the best way to prepare for a race. We could definitely come back here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dining experience everytime. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding dining experience everytime. Food, Service, Ambiance, Wine List they have it all!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Risotto is some of the best I have e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Risotto is some of the best I have ever had. The Chicken Scarpetta was outstanding. Orechetta with sausage and zucchini was also great. This Italian gem has been consistently serving authentic, outstanding Italian dishes. We visit this restaurant every time we come to Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Best Northern Italian restaurant in town ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Best Northern Italian restaurant in town, hands down. Authentic dishes, lovingly prepared. Elegant and refined atmosphere, professional yet unobtrusive service make for a top notch dining experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was absolutely fantastic and th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was absolutely fantastic and the service was outstanding. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The atmosphere i ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was excellent. The atmosphere is probably quiet but we were seated by a large loud group. The pasta was especially good. I would like to see a more affordable wine list though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the best Italian restaurant in T ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is the best Italian restaurant in Tn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deliciosu food, excellent service...A tr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Deliciosu food, excellent service...A truly perfect evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a visitor to Nashville this restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

As a visitor to Nashville this restaurant came highly recommended by the hotel as well as my limo driver. I have a tendency to be somewhat critical of Italian restaurants in the south but this restaurant was exceptional. It exceeded my expectations in both quality of the meal as the service was commensurate with the service. I highly recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though the food was very good, I though ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Though the food was very good, I though it was overpriced for the serving size. The staff was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Giovanni's is the best true Italian rest ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Giovanni's is the best true Italian restaurant in Nashville. The food is excellent as is the service. Always a fun time and Giovanni is always there, which is a good sign.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of many lovely dinners in this beaut ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

One of many lovely dinners in this beautiful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.