Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About Giovanni's Kitchen

Great Italian cuisine in a casual, comfortable setting. This is the third restaurant from the Gabriele family, including Giovanni's on the Hill and Il Bel Lago in Creve Coeur. Giovanni's sons Frank and Carmelo bring this taste of Italy to Ladue.

8831 Ladue
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tueday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00 pm
Friday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm-10pm
Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
I-170

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-4100

Website:
http://www.giovanniskitchenstl.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Bozzato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovanni's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Authentic (21)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Romantic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Highly recommend Giovanni's Kitchen. We.ve been here too many times to count and never disappointed. High quality food, well prepared and great service. This and Bel Lago are our go to restaurants when we want a guaranteed evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

We had yet another excellent meal at Giovanni's Kitchen. Great service, a broad range of excellent Italian food, and a very comfortable atmosphere. This is out go-to place when we want to be sure to have an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always on point! Even on Mothers Day with constant full house, the food quality, presentation and service was outstanding. Will be back for more soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was just an alright place. The food was good but nothing outstanding like I was expecting. The main thing that turned me off to this place was that I witnessed the individual who was working as a host for the evening (I think this may have the boss) yell at one of the servers and say "How stupid can you be!?". Very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Don't be put off by the strip mall location. The ambience is lovely, service outstanding, and food is absolutely fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Meal was somewhat bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A gem not far from the St. Louis airport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Dinner was great but dessert was amazing! Panna Cotta Trio is a must and my wife had the Torta di Cioccolata which was also good. Great staff and very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a very good meal and the service from Carmelo was great!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went here based on Open Table reviews. Table not set up but no biggie. Second course delivered first and brought wrong salad, but said no biggie. Brought entrée and got 2 out of 3 wrong and one order not put in. Celebrating college graduation and I did not get my meal in time to eat with my daughter and her boyfriend. Food mediocre at best. Very poor experience. Will not darken door again. Pathetic service by seemingly well intended but disorganized staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food always excellent, service very good. Noisy on Sat. night during peak dining hours but other nights or for early diners, this is a great place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I have been here on average once a month and it never disappoints

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Perfectly delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner here! The service was excellent and our dishes were delicious! We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This restaurant is always good. We are a repeat frequent customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Meal was superb. The service was impeccable. I will definitely return!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Giovanni's Kitchen never fails to please. With a menu that changes to reflect availability of fresh ingredients and nightly specials, each dining opportunity can still be interesting. We really enjoy the pasta selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Loved it as always 💛

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great experience, the Manager took the time to accommodate a party of 12 on short notice when they were pretty booked up. The food and Service were fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Innovative menu items. Excellent service without being intrusive. Server was personable and well-informed about the menu items and food preparation. We have been to Giovanni's several times for lunch and enjoy the informal atmosphere, perfect for lunch with friends or business associates.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always a great experience at Giovanni's! It's one of our favorite places.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Without a doubt the Tortellachi was the best pasta dish I have ever tasted in my life!
Server was fun and personable. Great time and exquisite food. Will be dining there again soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were visiting St. Louis from Dublin, Ohio for our son's soccer games. We searched Open Table for Italian and found this. It was fabulous. We liked it so much Friday that we went back Saturday. Half orders of pasta dishes were key, but far above this nice feature were the outstanding food and service. Better than any at home in a long time (and that's saying a lot because Columbus Ohio area is filled with excellent restaurants. )

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Comfortable seating, tasty food and great service. Will be there again for sure.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Appetizers & entrees were not seasoned ...very bland.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fantastic as always and the Trout was excellent..WOW for Carmello

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was good but we had a table right by the front door which was a little drafty. Table surface was a bit crowded as well. We did enjoy the evening, however, and as I said the food was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Perfect. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food, solid wine list, average bartender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful meal. Great wine. Outstanding service. A little pricy, but a favorite place for me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fabulous. Loved everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food is always fabulous. Love the novella salad. They offer two sizes in dinner entrees which is awesome. Great local place with great food !

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of the best overall meals my wife and I have had in STL. True Italian cuisine with a low-key outstanding staff and management. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Highly recommend Giovanni's Kitchen. Excellent food quality and preparation. Service is outstanding. Now my wife's favorite restaurant with Bel Lago a close second. I usually get a veal dish and she usually gets a special, usually fish. Cannelloni is the best to be found anywhere. We go here when we want to be assured we'll have a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was fine, service fair. We ordered one Caesar Salad and asked that it be shared. Menu price is $8.95, we were charged each $6.50 for a half salad, i.e.$13; there was no mention on the menu
of an up charge for sharing a salad.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food, nice ambiance and the service was very good. We will definitely return

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was good after our table was approached which took a bit.

Food was good and wait time for it was short.

However, in my steak, I found several bits of black metal the size of small pebbles in my steak. I showed the waiter and he and the manager came back in a few minutes to explain that the bits were from cooking grill grate, and that was the first time either had seen such a thing.

The manager comped deserts for us.

I appreciate their being forthright and making the comp gesture.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Have been here multiple times both business and pleasure. Great food, fantastic staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Giovanni's Kitchen is becoming a favorite, with Bel Lago. Outstanding food and service. We've probably been here ten times and never disappointed. Top quality dishes Great for any occasion. A must if you like Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were seated promptly at the time of our reservation on a busy Saturday night. We had roasted cauliflower soup as our starter and it was very tasty. For our entree we had the filet marinated in Chianti and it was great. Tiramisu is not our usual choice for dessert but our waiter was highly recommending it and it was excellent. All in all it made for a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.