Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 1.00mi

About Giovanni's Kitchen

Great Italian cuisine in a casual, comfortable setting. This is the third restaurant from the Gabriele family, including Giovanni's on the Hill and Il Bel Lago in Creve Coeur. Giovanni's sons Frank and Carmelo bring this taste of Italy to Ladue.

8831 Ladue
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tueday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00 pm
Friday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm-10pm
Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
I-170

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-4100

Website:
http://www.giovanniskitchenstl.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Bozzato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovanni's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Authentic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Romantic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food. Waiters make your visit extra special.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Really enjoyed meeting the newest member of the Giovanni's Kitchen family, Maz Nooran!!! Great waiter! Great bartender!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We come here often and were not disappointed in the food. It is always stellar. Good server who made sure my wife's seafood dish was not too spicy. We enjoy the staff and the small feel to a great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I loved this Restuarant. The food was amazing and the service was great. Mauz was an outstanding waiter. It can be loud here but this night was really not bad. The food is just so good. Totally going back more.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent, authentic, and reliable Italian food. Been there many times and always good.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Really nice surprise! Food was delicious and the service was warm.
Had a gelato for dessert that was divine.
Gourmet food w/out the gourmet prices.
Live in U City my new to go place.
The waiter sang happy birthday in Italian what a nice touch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We both had the seafood pasta, it was good, hot but not a wow! It was described as spicy but had little to no heat in the flavor. The Novella salad was very good but a very small prtion for $9.00. The bread and butter were a disappointment, the bread had freezer burn after taste, and they gave one pat of butter per diner (Really, an Italian Restaurant with regrigerated bread?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The room and service was very enjoyable. The food servings looked delicious but I found the taste was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food a little disappointing...but reasonable value as prices not bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Warren made sure to get us in. Brandon was an amazing server. We had a happy, yummy time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Disappointed, the food was extremely salty and the pasta was under cooked. Appetizer, salad and dinner, nothing too impressive.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food is excellent. Our waiter Carmelo was very good and even helped me to speak Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was just ok. Prices were good, service was good. Lots of other places in town for Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful Anniversary lunch. Food was delicious and service was wonderful!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It was out first time and we will be back. Outstanding service and terrific food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Outstanding from start to finish. We live walking distance and never knew it was their, can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food and service. Carmelo is a great waiter.

authentic Italian done right. Everything was delicious. Their bartender is exceptional, the cocktails are very creative and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We probably go here 10-12 times a year, real authentic Italian food at reasonable prices. House wines are excellent. The service is always outstanding, very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We've been at least 10 times...however, this Saturday was a real disappointment. The service is terrible. And I am forgiving when it comes to service (it's a Saturday night...where the hell do I need to be?) if the food is superior. Not sure what happened but this normally 5 star joint dropped to 2 1/2 stars. I hope this was an aberration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Giovanni's this past Saturday, July 22nd, and we're extremely satisfied. Our waiter was very attentive and made sure I would be happy with my order. I had asked for my dish to come with no mushrooms, he notified me that the sauce was practically all mushroom and it was a very strong sauce. I did end up getting the dish anyway and was SUPER please. It was fantastic. Overall we had a delicious meal, great service, and loved the Atmosphere. We will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

A bit loud tonight, some women with too much wine were talking at the top of their voices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Have always felt that I would have a great meal here and once again that was proved.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was inconsistent. The burrata appetizer was delicious. The ceasar salad was mediocre and flavorless. The putanesca was so salty ( if you have that many olives, scale back the salt! ) we also had the prima vera that was a "light tomato cream sauce", that was anything but light.
It was not impressive.(The wait staff was awesome!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The are frequent and repeat customers because it is always great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always great food and reasonable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Giovanni's Kitchen is exceptional Italian food with impeccable service in a casual neighborhood setting.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always great service, food and very accomodating. We love this place and go at least once a month.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

DELICIOUS food and FABULOUS service! What more could you ask for?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I like the restaurant, but I do have some complaints. The previous two times I have been there, both the oil and vinegar containers leaked, and candidly, looked a little "grungy". In addition the bread did not seem fitting for an authentic Italian restaurant. I was recently at Sugo's and I would return simply for the bread. Also we had reservations for 6:00, so it was nice and quiet when we arrived; however, by 7:45, it was very loud.
The people who served us were very polite and very attentive; the same cannot be said for the two "big guys", one of them, who is apparently in charge, yelled at someone least once, and clearly does not seem happy in his work. He just seems unpleasant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We love the prompt and courteous service we received at Giovannis. The salad was fresh & crisp, chicken dish and pasta dish was superb! One of our favorite restaurants for great Italian food. One helpful tip. Please offer more than one special a night, or consider changing the menu with seasonal favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

WE all four had different meals and so we got a good "taste" of the restaurant. The service was great and love the ambiance. I highly recommend the local place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

always a consistently excellent dining experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Came with a party of co-workers for a business dinner on a Tuesday. Service was excellent - courteous, prompt and professional. The menu had a nice selection of traditional Italian favorites with some modern touches. The filet special got 2 orders from our party - both rated it highly. I especially enjoyed a delicious martini (with made-in-house limoncello). Giovanni's is definitely on my list of good places for a business meal, but there were also parties of friends and couples enjoying the excellent food and mellow atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Service was very good. Food was very good. They accommodated making an appetizer into an entree with no issues. I thought the small version of the Caesar Salad was a little too small, especially for the price. Other wise everything was fine. Especially appreciate the low noise level. Made for easy conversation.

We have eaten there twice in the last few months and will be back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Has improved service since Warren came back! Love having this neighborhood restaurant so close. Good food and good prices

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Giovanni's restaurants are my wife's favorite, me too. Whenever we want to be certain we'll get great food and have a pleasant evening, we go here or BelLago. The quality of the food is outstanding, service top notch. It's always loud, but, hey, they're busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful food and our waitress, Alexandrea was so amazing. We have never had a bad experience. Will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We always have a great experience!! The staff is amazing and the food is always excellent!!! Highly recommend

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Love the food and service. Have been very happy every time we've been there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We enjoyed every aspect of our dinner. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. I recommend the seared tuna, it was perfectly cooked and played beautifully. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.