About Giovanni's Kitchen

8831 Ladue
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Great Italian cuisine in a casual, comfortable setting. This is the third restaurant from the Gabriele family, including Giovanni's on the Hill and Il Bel Lago in Creve Coeur. Giovanni's sons Frank and Carmelo bring this taste of Italy to Ladue.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tueday-Thursday: 11:00am-9:00 pm
Friday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm-10pm
Sunday: 5pm-9pm

Cross Street:
I-170

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-4100

Website:
http://www.giovanniskitchenstl.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Bozzato

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovanni's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Authentic (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were seated promptly at the time of our reservation on a busy Saturday night. We had roasted cauliflower soup as our starter and it was very tasty. For our entree we had the filet marinated in Chianti and it was great. Tiramisu is not our usual choice for dessert but our waiter was highly recommending it and it was excellent. All in all it made for a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Valentine's Day. The food was outstanding from start to finish, and our server did an excellent job. He was very attentive and had some great suggestions for us . We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always a great time and good value. Matt an outstanding server. Very accommodating with last minute reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our first visit was on Valentines Day, the busiest day of the year. If their nearly perfect performance on this hectic night was any indication of their normal, I'm TWICE as impressed! We had impeccable service and dinner, even during a full house and everyone around us seemed to have the same impression. The food was amazing and the staff was almost as good as the food. ;) We will be back! I highly recommend the Veal, it was amazing. Thank you to Giovanni's for a great evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Have to improve bathrooms. Terrible situation for such a nice restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fun date night experience. The food was wonderful but our waiter wasn't the best. Wasn't bad by any means, but wasn't top tier or what we expected by the price of the meal either. Will go back again for another date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a great experience!!!! We take our kids (5 & 10). They love it as much as we do! The service is amazing!!!! The food is delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is the third time I've been here in the past 6 weeks. Giovanni's is my new second favorite restaurant in St. Louis. It's convenient off of I-170 and always great.

Every dish we've had here has been delicious. The filet is always a winner. Special drinks are really special, many I've not seen any where else.

Carmelo, our waiter, is super!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very nice ambiance. The waiter gave great recommendations. The cannoli was amazing! I would highly recommend this place for a date or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always excellent service and food. We are a repeat customers.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great service and very good food. Nice atmosphere.too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

not my first visit, but the quality has remained both high and steady. the host was wonderful and came by the table just often enough to make sure we were doing well. great location and ample parking. will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our food was very good and it was a wide variety menu choice. However our server must've had plans that evening as we had reservations for 7:30, we arrived early(7:15) and were seated right away. That was fine but we ordered an appetizer which was brought out within 5 min. And then after our dinner order we had that as well within maybe 10 minutes. I finally told our waiter to SLOW down as we would like to enjoy our meal! That was exactly 45 minutes after we sat down. Then before I could finish my meal the busboy was ready to clear our plates, which I had to also stop him. And to finish off the evening our server left!! So we sat there until the host /owner gave us our check!! So obviously our waiter had more important plans than to be at work that nite. I guess that's why he just left without saying anything to us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I have date nights out for dinner prior to attending the St Louis Symphony, and Giovanni's Kitchen is one of our favorites. We've been there at least a half dozen times and have never had a bad meal or a bad experience. Wonderful food for a reasonable price. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Always a great meal and outstanding service. I go there frequently for business and they always handle the group better than most. Dinner for 4 or 24, they are fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Food at Giovanni's is simply too delicious for words. Great service as well. And the specialty cocktails are a huge hit according to my wife.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. Parking is free and accessible. We are looking forward to returning for more meals. But be aware - the restaurant was full at 7:30 and the noise level was quite high. It is not a place for quiet conversation on a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were there on a Sat night. It admittedly was fairly busy. Food was fine as always but the service was below average. We ordered wine that was brought to the table as we finished our entrees. We ordered coffee and had to wait 15 min for cream. Anyway, food always good but service was very disappointing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Never disappointed with Giovanni's. We usually get a special, veal is excellent and if you like cannelloni, this (include the Hill and BelLago) is the best anywhere. Service is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I have been to G. Kitchen several times and the food is wonderful. The service is exceptional whether you sit at a table or the bar. The pasta is authentic italian and does not disappoint. This is one of our regular places to eat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Delicious food, intimate atmosphere, great service. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love Giovanni's Kitchen. The food is superb and the service is excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Food was, as always, delicious and impeccably presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Giovanni's Kitchen is a favorite for a nice, quiet dinner with relaxing conversation, good food and excellent service. Parking in the evening is easy and the staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food always fresh and tasty. Matt our favorite server. Just the right amount of attention. Very resonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious food and a nice way to celebrate New Year's Eve...was not rushed at all...which I love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was delicious as was the limoncello martini. The service was not up to the same level as the food. The server was polite, but not as attentive as one might have expected. The waiter did not bring a glass of wine that was ordered , or butter for bread as requested, and beverages were not promptly refilled. .

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious Italian food--a great find! Nice wine list and great pastas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food! Our waiter was a bit slow but we were celebrating with some friends so it was not a big deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was very good. Service was exceptional our waiter Carmelo was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Second time here in a month. Think this will be one of my regulars!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I loved my meal-- absolutely delicious. Really my only complaint was that it took a very long time for the waiter to come to the table in the beginning. Also, I made a reservation on open table and when I got to the restaurant the person seating us said "yeah we are full, they shouldn't have let you make that reservation." He was able to find us a table but it was a little awkward. Everyone was very nice though and the meal was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always great! Choice of portion size is appreciated.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a good dinner choice! Excellent offerings, well prepared and presented, and good service, but not over done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

i have been to Giovanni's many times and each time the salad that i order is limp and tasteless. this time i had the Novella salad and the bib lettuce was limp, the mozzarella appeared processed, had no taste and each piece what cut exactly as every other piece. there was no grilled focaccia on my salad plate. for my entre, i had the Tortellacci and it tasted like just blobs of pasta dough with sauce. My dinner guest had the Parmigiana di Pollo and the chicken was paper thin and very little flavor. this dinner was really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Keep going back! Love the food and the price point is not bad. Friendly service is nice and we always leave happy!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Went online to search for a restaurant to meet a friend in town visiting a daughter at Wash U. Selected Giovanni's from the reviews. It was a great choice: good food, great ambience, and superlative service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Went for Christmas office lunch. I was disappointed as the lunch menu was somewhat limited. We asked about appetizers from dinner menu. Waiter warned that not all items are available. One of our group selected a dessert that was not available. Reviews of food around the table were great to OK. Perhaps dinner is a better option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our food was delicious. Our servers were very attentive. Love this place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had a great meal here last night! Their tenderloin (filet mignon) was very tender and flavorful with a really tasty porcini sauce, accompanied by two excellent sides and a nice wine. Good value, too. Only problem was the calories - haha!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great to be at Giovanni Kitchen once again. Carmello is my favorite waiter and so glad to have him back with us once more for a great dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Lovely evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Highly recommend Giovanni's Kitchen. We've been several times and the food never disappoints, outstanding as is the service. Very busy on this Saturday night and I could see why, but no excessive waiting for anything. The best cannelloni anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Half the group ordered Chicken Parmigiana and it was very good. The sauce was especially good. Enjoyed the focaccia bread and olive oil with herbs. Prices are good and would go back again definitely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food and service were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was excellent. Nonna's meatball and prosciutto/fig appetizers; filet, veal spedini, seafood pasta. Service was marginal. We had 7 people dining at our table and 5 ordered the filet. When they arrived, plates were placed in front of us then pulled away as people began to eat. The wait staff couldn't keep the steaks separated based on preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always a great experience. Matt our server is very attentive, yet gives us time to enjoy our food and company. We appreciate the choice of portion size. Easy to get a reservation.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We ate before going the the Symphony. The food was very good, and the best part is the prices are very reasonable. They have a good wine selection, and again, the prices are reasonable. Once you experience it, you will want to return, as we have.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always, Giavonni's Kitchen was superb. There were 8 in our party. Our waiter never wrote anything down, but he filled our orders perfectly. I don't know how he did it! We go there on the Friday after Thanksgiving, and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had excellent food, and the staff was very accommodating when special requests were made. We are difinitely coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.