About Giovannis

Since 1976 Giovanni's continues to serve Cleveland outstanding Italian cuisine & a unique dining experience. Giovanni's has been awarded the Di Rona, AAA & Wine Spectator Award, Cleveland Magazine "Silver Spoon" Award (Best Italian Restaurant & Best Italian Restaurant in Northern Ohio) several times over the years. The wine cellar, classified as one of the country's finest with over 800 selections, earned Wine Spectator's Grand Award.
Giovanni's recent renovation brings the atmosphere more in tune to today's feelings. The Picasso Room with wood paneling, distinctive artwork, fireplace & elegant French doors, seating up to 30, is ideal for corporate & social functions.
The imaginative cuisine offers surprising variations of classic recipes including handmade pastas, seafood, veal, lamb, beef & game. Elegance & first class service are an experience not to be missed. The more casual lounge & bar areas are excellent alternatives serving the same menu as the main dining room.

25550 Chagrin Blvd
Suite 44122
Cleveland, OH 44122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Richmond Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 831-8625

Website:
http://www.giovanniscleveland.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking available in addition to ample off-street parking.

Executive Chef:
Zach Ladner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovannis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Good for Birthdays (18)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
750 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

The waitress was not familiar with the menu. The rib steak for 2 was not prepared the way we requested. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary....had we not ordered dessert this occasion would not have been addressed by the restaurant. Really a candle in the dessert...for the amount of money we spent a complimentary dessert should have been sent to the table. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

THIS WAS FUN PLACE TO CELEBRATE birthday
they graciously gave us a birthday dessert with a candle.
it was good.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Worth every penny! Staff and food are exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

A little more attention than I'd like, but the food was an incredible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Still just the best. Not cheap but worth it.
Just fantastic

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It is one of the best in Cleveland. Excellent food and professional service. Outstanding wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our experience dining at Giovanni's about a week ago was terrific. It was on the occasion of a couple of birthdays among a group of women and as Giovanni's has such excellent quality food and drinks, it was perfect. The group was seated at a large central table and all the ladies enjoyed their meals. Our server was super efficient, attentive and considerate. It was a pleasure to have her be the one to help us that evening. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Excellent food and menu options. Very good wine list. Prices are high, but food is very good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Enjoyable evening. Waitress brought wrong meal but was very good so did not bring up

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great meal. Definitely will be coming again! Everything was perfect

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Disappointed that the wine I ordered was on the menu, but was not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I'd say our first experience at Giovanni's was mixed. The food was excellent - all four of us ordered fish/seafood and each dish was fresh and flavorful. A real stand-out was the seafood pasta - fresh linguini with scallops, clams, mussels and lobster. Succulent! The creme brulee was perfect and came with a happy birthday message written in raspberry coulis. We would have loved to try the tiramisu as well, but they were sold out. When booking, we had requested a quiet table and appreciated being seated in a small room away from the lively bar area.
A few areas where our visit fell short - with the extensive wine list they have, I had expected my Premier Cru burgundy to be poured into a burgundy/pinot noir wine glass NOT a generic red wine glass. Yeah fussy, I know, but if you're really into fine wine the type of glass makes a serious difference. If you have $1K bottles of wine in your cellar, invest in some Riedel. Our wait person was pleasant enough and did help one of our guests with ensuring their dish did not contain a particular allergen. However she did seem inexperienced and somewhat scattered. Prior to the other guests arriving, I had given her my credit card with instructions that I'd pay for the wine. She kept the card only to return it at the end with the total amount of the entire meal charged. The situation was corrected and she was apologetic.
We will try the restaurant again at some point as the food was wonderful. Hopefully my concerns on this visit could be chalked-up to an "off night."

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We haven't visited Giovanni's in many years but because of special occasion we wanted to see if it was as good as before. We were not disappointed. The food was great. Choices were plentiful and service impeccable. If you want to go to a high end restaurant and be assured your are getting what you are paying for, Giovanni's will not disappoint.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Like to recognize our server, Shahan, for excellent attention and service. First class establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Delicious food and incredible service. My wife and I stopped in for lunch on our anniversary.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food, excellent service. Giovanni's never disappoints. Come during lunch hours when it's not so busy and the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was fabulous, the service was great and we enjoyed our experience very much!! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

It's been a few years since I've been to Giovanni's. I don't have a desire to go back. Service was fair at best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Second time I've been there for lunch in two weeks! Took guests there both times. It was lovely, relaxing & special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great little restaurant in a non de script office building. Don't let it fool you. The food, service and ambience is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Always amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Fantastic food, service and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Was an excellent dining experience at Giovannis as always. My mother loves when we come out as we live a distance aways. Our server Phillipa was friendly & knowledgable answering our questions. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Giovanni's is the best restaurant in Cleveland and probably one of the best restaurants in the United States. When you dine at Giovanni's, you are important. Everything is important. The experience at Giovanni's is priceless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were there for my husband's birthday. Everything was perfect. We love this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Very very nice - but - it is parked inside an office building and for trying to be traditional dining, the iPad wine list is out of date - and not accurate. They make it all up w their service and kind people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

As always, Giovanni's delivers. Great food and wonderful wine list. No curb appeal, but don't let that sway you from having dinner there. Very nice inside, and the best Italian food in Cleveland.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful food, service and ambience. Made our family anniversary party special. Not a restaurant for every day meals. Pricey and elegant! Great for special occasions. Our evening at Giovanni's is one that we won't forget!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Amazing food, wonderful service and a lovely interior!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

VERY POOR KITCHEN PERFORMANCE. FOOD RANGED FROM AN OUTSTANDING VEAL CHOP TO AN UNACCEPTABLE VEAL PARMEGIANA. SERVICE OF FOOD TO TABLE WAS SO SLOW AS TO RENDER A SPECIAL OCCAISION A BIT OF A DISASTER. WE ARE OLD CUSTOMERS WHO LIKELY WILL NOT BE BACK. THE MAITRE DE WAS UNAPPLOGETIC ALTHOUGH HE TOOK TWO MEALS OFF OF THE CHECK MOST RELUCTANTLY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was excellent. The homemade pasta is the best I have had in Cleveland. My boyfriend for the veal and it was tender and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great service and very nice menu we enjoyed the table side preparation our waiter was very knowledgeable excellent wine list particularly the Italian wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We shared the ribeye for 2 at $55 a person. We ordered medium rare and it came out rare. I sent my portion back and it came back medium. My husband sent his back for being cold. Very very disappointing for that price and won't be back, which is a shame because I host a lot of business dinners and would have brought clients back

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Giovannis is our family favorite restaurant for several years. We never had any upset experience at Giovannis. High quality food, professional services and creative flavor in each dish. Highly recommended for any special occasion .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Hadn't been in a while and forgot how truly excellent it is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I don't usually like gnocchi but Giovanni's was excellent. My shrimp was cooked perfectly, and both my husband's and my portions were large. Excellent wine selection. The carrot cake dessert was pretty amazing. I felt underdressed in jeans so I would recommend business-casual clothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great disappointment... it's Been awhile since we went and thought it would be great to visit again for our anniversary... big mistake. Injured a tooth on a meatball in the wedding soup and the service was horrendous. At one point my wife was asked if she wanted bread, she did yes and they never returned. We never saw our server again until the end when she gave us the excuse that she had other large tables wanting a la carte service. They always had great service in the past, which left us bewildered this time. Needless to say, we won't be going back. There are many fine restaurants that will be happy to take our hundreds of dollars for a meal for two, and will provide the special service and meals you expect when paying a huge bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The extremely friendly, fast, and courteous service was amazing! The food was absolutely delicious! Will definitely go back for other special ocassions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Was very unsatisfactory for my special occasion which server didn't acknowledge. Food was average and service was just not good. For an upscale place I expected what I used to receive there. We also saw special treatment for regular customers but not for us, not a very good customer service move when there are so many other restaurants to go to in the area. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It's pricey but worth every cent. Excellent service, food and atmosphere ...as it has been for the past 40 years!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.