About Giovannis

Since 1976 Giovanni's continues to serve Cleveland outstanding Italian cuisine & a unique dining experience. Giovanni's has been awarded the Di Rona, AAA & Wine Spectator Award, Cleveland Magazine "Silver Spoon" Award (Best Italian Restaurant & Best Italian Restaurant in Northern Ohio) several times over the years. The wine cellar, classified as one of the country's finest with over 800 selections, earned Wine Spectator's Grand Award.
Giovanni's recent renovation brings the atmosphere more in tune to today's feelings. The Picasso Room with wood paneling, distinctive artwork, fireplace & elegant French doors, seating up to 30, is ideal for corporate & social functions.
The imaginative cuisine offers surprising variations of classic recipes including handmade pastas, seafood, veal, lamb, beef & game. Elegance & first class service are an experience not to be missed. The more casual lounge & bar areas are excellent alternatives serving the same menu as the main dining room.

25550 Chagrin Blvd
Suite 44122
Cleveland, OH 44122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Richmond Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 831-8625

Website:
http://www.giovanniscleveland.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking available in addition to ample off-street parking.

Executive Chef:
Zach Ladner

Private Party Facilities:
Giovannis can accommodate semi-private parties for up to 16 guests in the Glass Room. The Picasso Room can accommodate private parties up to 35 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Pier Luigi Gregori: (216) 831-8625

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Giovannis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (32)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Private Room (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Historic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (0)
Sort By:
S
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

It's pricey but worth every cent. Excellent service, food and atmosphere ...as it has been for the past 40 years!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Was very unsatisfactory for my special occasion which server didn't acknowledge. Food was average and service was just not good. For an upscale place I expected what I used to receive there. We also saw special treatment for regular customers but not for us, not a very good customer service move when there are so many other restaurants to go to in the area. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was good the food was marginal the cost was high and I will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

A Cleveland gem for a reason! Spectacular food, service and ambiance that has stood the test of time. Take a break from the trendy restaurant scene and check this place out - Ditch your jeans, grab your significant other, get dressed up and enjoy the classy ambiance amazing food and service !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Am a regular customer. This was not up to par. Seems to have been not up to par., Asked for more bread never came, coffee not hot 3 times. I brought a guest for her birthday and reconfirmed that they had the info when they called to confirm my reservation and they confirmed they had it and the information was never given to the waitress and it made it awkward.

This is my go-to restaurant when I want elegance, good service, Did not provide it this time.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Belon oysters. Horseradish crusted halibut. Proscuitto salad. Seared scallops. Pineapple upside down cake. Delicious all. Excellent service. Yum.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Delicious food as always. Best halibut ever!!! The service was great. The banana fosters was so good.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

food was fantastic, service was perfect. We never felt rushed or ignored, our server found the perfect balance and the pace of the meal was just right. Very nice evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always a pure pleasure. Love the bar. Casual yet elegant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent food and well prepared. Fabulous wine list with many selections at every price point.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 5, 2017

FABULOUS AS ALWAYS- CAN'T GO WRONG WHEN TAKING CLIENTS HERE FOR A QUIET BUSINESS MEAL

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Need Vegetarian options. There were no vegetarian options except for the Salads.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Delicious food. Great service. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Giovannis has been my the most favorite restaurant for my family. We love the taste of the food and professional service. We enjoy the food every time we go. We never had unpleasant experiences at Giovannis. If you enjoy the quality of food , I highly recommend Giovannis.

Tags: Seasonal, Wood Oven, Fun, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

it was great. we sat at the bar and had Dinner. The dinner was outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Best Italian restaurant in Cleveland. Excellent wine selection and pricing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Had a fabulous calamari steak. The halibut was out of this world

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful dining experience as always! It's always great to see Carl; gracious and wonderful as usual.

Tags: Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We dine at Giovannis on a regular basis. We were well dressed and, as always, very pleasant and conversant with our wonderful waiter. It just sort of "irked" me that the manager (a sophisticated & distinguished looking older man) who has always greeted us or has come visit our table in the past, ignored us as well as an African-American couple behind us. All the while he greeted, charmed and talked with all the other guests. Obvious exclusion is never in good taste & I not sure I would wish to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The atmosphere, the service as well the wine list is excellent. That leaves the food .... on the same level. All this comes not cheap, but is worth each cent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great dinner place with great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

If you're looking for a cheap bill to pay, you won't find it here. Instead, you'll find terrific tasting food & very attentive service! From the appetizer, to the salad, entrée, & dessert, every bite was delicious. We do a lot of eating out & this meal was my favorite in many, many months. After a filling meal, I didn't even want dessert because I was full. However, after looking at the dessert menu, I decide to try the Orange, Pistachio & Olive Oil cake. It was very good & not a heavy dessert like I expected it would be. Again, be prepared to pay for the food, but it's worth it! I don't remember the server's name (he recently moved back home from LA) but his service was top notch.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner, the good service by Tim, and a short visit from a gentleman whom I assume to have been the manager/owner, an opportunity for me to express pleasure or displeasure, mine was entirely to former. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always friendly but highly professional service. Delicious food and nice vibe

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love Giovanni's!
Food & service are always wonderful....best around.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Very good but not worth the cost. Atmosphere is a bit stuffed-shirt. Very "professional."

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The dinner was wonderful but it was much more expensive in the lounge than I anticipated. $180 per couple with one drink each. Our first drink was already paid for at the bar. How much would the other side have cost?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Lovely atmosphere and great service. Lobster bisque was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is the best place for a romantic dinner like Valentine's Day. The service is the best and the food is fantastic. Can't wait to go back for more.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Giovanni 's is a classic restaurant with quietly ornate ambiance. My wife and I celebrated Valentines Day dinner there. The cordial greeting and pleasant waiter set the table for a good outing.

The beet salad with chèvre, green lettuce, candied walnuts and basil were balanced and full of flavors.

The highlight however, was the porterhouse for two. Thick and succulent, it was tender and drew eyeballs while being plated. Marrow, correctly seasoned and miniature baked potatoes rounded out a delightful evening.

Well done, Giovanni's, well done!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day date. Was a great overall experience. Our service was excellent. Food was also very good. We were seated in a small intimate wine cellar, which was cool. And it overlooked the foyer and main hostess stand. So as the evening went on the noise got louder and louder but it was fun to people watch. We had an amazing bottle of amorone wine. Memorable dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had dinner at Giovanni's for our anniversary. It was excellent, and compares to the quality of food at any well known restaurant in New York, Chicago, etc. Great menu selection, the service was attentive and friendly, and the ambiance was elegant. Overall, it was the perfect choice for a special occassion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food, wine, service--all were at a premier level. Giovanni's is clearly in the league of the better Italian restaurants in New York and Philadelphia.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always great food and good service. The updated lounge is our favorite. Been going there for years and the staff rarely changes which is appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of Cleveland's gems! It's my favorite place to go to because it's always consistent and incredibly delicious! We often do dinner, but I recently went for lunch. What an incredible value for lunch and the portions are huge! Leave some room for dessert too because they are as decadent as they come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We made a reservation for 2 for 7:30 p.m. through Open Table specifying it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Giovanni's left a message that morning to confirm, and I called them back immediately to confirm. Nevertheless, when we arrived, the hostess seemed to have trouble locating our reservation. She asked if we'd like to eat in the bar. We said no, and she said our table would not be ready for 15 minutes. We ordered drinks at the bar. 55 minutes later, at 8:25 p.m., we were finally seated, at a table for 4 near a busy archway between rooms. The waitress did not know of our delay and dismay. She had to be asked to bring a wine list and seemed surprised we didn't want wine by the glass. She attempted to remove my husband's martini glass when he had not finished it. We never had a visit from the wine steward as we always have in the past. We didn't get the wine we finally selected on our own--a much cheaper bottle than we would normally order--until we were already eating our appetizers. We asked for more bread and it never came--again very different from the typical automatic bread replenishment we have experienced over the years there. To the restaurant's credit, the bartender comped our cocktails, and the chef visited our table and comped desserts. The food was excellent, but I'm afraid we will go elsewhere in the future. We are sad to say goodbye to Giovanni's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went to Giovannis because of reputation. Went as a Anniversary Dinner with my wife.

It was a real disappointment. While the food was very good, the service was terrible. It took 1 1/2 hours for our entree to be served after we ordered and although we had asked the waitress about our order several times, she offered no explanation for the delay nor did she offer any adjustment on the check.

I will not be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great Banana Foster!!!!!! Salads and other foods delicious as well. I might order the dessert before the entree in the future. So enjoyable 😋

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner at Giovannis last Saturday night. Our waiter was fabulous as well as the other staff who helped. We will definitely go back again!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Dinner, service, atmosphere were all excellent. We made our reservations to be seated in the lounge. A bit more activity here then in Giovanni's dining area but still all the same wonderful attributes we know Giovanni's to have. I can never resist the beet salad. My lamb braciole was tender and delicious. My husband chose his favorite on their menu; chicken parmigiano. It always puts a smile on his face. Such great food! From the dessert options, I chose the olive oil cake while my husband chose the peppermint brownie "sundae". Both delicious and perfect endings to our perfect meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.