Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Gertrude's - Baltimore

Gertrude's Restaurant, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA), is where John Shields celebrates Chesapeake cuisine using local foods, in a warm and stylish setting.
Chef & owner John Shields, a Baltimore native who is a cookbook author and television cooking show host, named the restaurant after his grandmother, Gertrude Cleary, who taught him to cook as a child. Gertrude's dishes up a sophisticated regional menu of Chesapeake foods and traditions for lunch, dinner, and brunch using local, organic ingredients whenever possible.
The restaurant's interior, inspired by life on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay, is beautiful & elegant yet comfortable. The wall of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the museum’s Sculpture Garden floods the open & airy dining room with natural light. During the warmer months, additional seats are available on the terrace surrounding a fountain and reflecting pool.

10 Art Museum Dr.
Baltimore, MD 21218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:30am - 8:00pm

Brunch Menu served on Saturday and Sunday until 3pm
Light Fare Menu on Saturday and Sunday from 3pm - 5pm

Cross Street:
N. Charles St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 889-3399

Website:
http://www.gertrudesbaltimore.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday nights listen to mellow jazz with Gary Thomas & Friends at Gertrude's from 6 to 8pm, while you enjoy dinner or cocktails in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
And the Dottie Tim Jazz Duo plays here on Sundays during our popular brunch, from 11:30 am till 2:30 pm.

Catering:
In addition to birthday parties, anniversary celebrations and corporate affairs, Gertrude's hosts many wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, and “day after” brunches throughout the year, for groups as small as 20 guests, and as large as 150. You may visit our web site, www.gertrudesbaltimore.com, for more info, or contact John Gilligan at jg@johnshields.com (or tel. 410.889.3399 x105).

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot for over 40 cars, operated by the BMA; payment is required to use the BMA's lot. There is also plenty of on-street parking directly in front; parking meters are in effect during our operating hours.

Executive Chef:
Doug Wetzel

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
John Gilligan: (410) 889-3399 ext. 105

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gertrude's - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (99)
Special Occasion (97)
Sunday Lunch (84)
See All
Great for Lunch (77)
Good for a Date (74)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Local Ingredients (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Romantic (49)
Good for Groups (46)
Afternoon Tea (45)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Worth the Drive (44)
Scenic View (39)
Casual (37)
Good Vegetarian Options (37)
Business Meals (37)
Healthy (35)
Modern Decor (35)
Cozy (33)
Fun (33)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Authentic (27)
Afternoon Coffee (26)
Comfort Food (26)
Live Music (25)
People Watching (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Seasonal (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Disabled Access (18)
Vegan (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Outstanding Value (13)
Historic (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Quick Bite (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Family Style (8)
Organic (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
4366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Everyone enjoyed their entree although two were a bit on the salty side. Otherwise the evening was a hit with all four members of a group that worked together for a long time and are now 'retired'--or no longer at that job! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

The server was pleasant but sloppy. Two things we ordered never came. The food was delicious but the shrimp/crab dish was skimpy. The medium rare steak was mostly medium. The space is wonderful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a lovely restaurant in a beautiful setting. The food is very good, crab cakes are excellent and the service was very friendly. Would recommend it to any one for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding venue for a Sunday brunch. Great, fresh options at a good value in an outstanding environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Gertrude's is one of my favorite places in Baltimore. Having brunch between the art museum and sculpture garden with friendly staff and live, pleasant music in background is a great, relaxed Sunday. We always ask to be seated in Tom's section. We like to chat and he is incredibly knowledgable on every aspect of the menu, Baltimore social scene, local politics, art and even, as it turns out, marine biology. If you want a great brunch with friendly and smart staff, great ambiance and excellent food, Gertrude's is a wise choice. If you like a Bloody Mary with brunch, step it up a notch and have a Dirty Gertie, a bloody Mary spiced up with Maryland's favorite Old Bay spice and garnished with a plump shrimp!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and food for family brunch. Will be back for afternoon tea soon.
Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Mixed reviews for Gertrude's which is usually right up there as excellent. Went for dinner with friends. Busy night, slow attention when we first got there, and then the service was sporadic. Felt a little rushed. The salmon was amazing. The pasta special Seafood Diablo - not so much - too much pasta in relation to the ingredients. The Greyhound cocktail was very nice.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Experience would have been better without the live music - we were seated up front very close to the person playing guitar. Would have been nice had he turned the amplifier down possibly, or do without all together. There were also a number of large parties going on at the same time (teenagers)(graduations?) which only added to the noise. We were there to celebrate my wife's birthday and could hardly hear each other speaking to each other. Wife's soft-shelled crabs had way too much salt on them; the spinach salad did not have much of a bacon flavor. Definitely would not advise to anyone for a special occasion or even a dinner date. Probably good for lunch or something along those lines. Not as elegant as we had expected.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The servant was very patient with my parents who weer both under the weather, and weren't certain what they wanted to order to eat. Our servant made multiple trips to get whatever my parents needed to make them more comfortable, as well as, to their liking. I really appreciated her attentiveness. We felt like valued customers We didn't feel rushed rushed to into ordering meals we really didn't want. This was my 3rd or 4th time eating at Gertrude's and I look forward to me next visit!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 17, 2017

It is so pleasant to sit out. Under the tent on a beautiful afternoon. We were not at all hurried

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Specials were better than off the menu items. Order the seafood salad. The lettuce was wilted not much seafood in it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Gertrudes! Brunch has a variety of wonderful food. They have a kids menu that my 11 year old orders off of.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always pleasant if not exciting. Lovely way to spend time with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The best soft shell crab I've ever had. My companion had a crab cake which was equally scrumptious. Lovely setting. Great service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent service, great food options with a soothing environment.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Especially appreciate the complimentary b-day dessert. The blueberry sorbet was to die for!!!

The salmon and the soft crabs were both delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I have lost count of the times I have dined at Gertrude's. I have always enjoyed the setting, the service, and the food. This time disappointed me a bit. The server was very polite and generally attentive, however when he came to our table to take our drink order he had a distinct odor of cigarette smoke -- definitely a turn-off. In regard to our food the soups were good (lite crab and crab) but I was disappointed in my oyster appetizer. They were not chilled enough and were limp -- as if they had been opened for a while, they also lacked flavor. Instead of tasting of the sea they were more a flavor of shell. My mussels were ok and my wife's fried oysters the same. The point being for $28 for a dozen oysters and a total bill of well over $100 bucks I expected, and in the past have received, more. Perhaps the problem was that we were there on a Tuesday night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved this place. This is a wonderful location with a great brunch menu. Live jazz plays that sets a fantastic mood. Before or after, make sure to tour the Art Museum.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I LOVE Gertrude's and enjoyed having the live music. However it was a bit too loud along with the conversation level trying to talk over the music was difficult. Just lower the music a little and it would be perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I really enjoyed my visit, the food and service was excellent!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My wife and I had brunch at Gertrude's to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. From the moment we walked in until we left, the staff, the food and the atmosphere was amazing.

At the end of our brunch, we were treated to a raspberry sorbet with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the plate. It was a beautiful and thoughtful touch. Our waiter Sam was amazing.

We plan on returning to Gertrude's very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great dining experience! We don't know why, but seemed to be less noisy than our last experience

Tags: Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is a great restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Hi. Not sure how to use your scale to rate the noise level. It was fine. I could hear my companion easily and he could hear me.... and the nice background music provided just enough sound that i didnt inadvertently hear the conversation at the tables around me.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Nice enough. Parking is impssible. Food is average enough but over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Impeccable service by Ronnie. A dear friend and I were meeting for lunch and needed private time for long catch up conversation. Ronnie sensed this and was entirely discreet , giving us the time and space necessary. Yet he was always right there when we needed him. Amazing service and the meal was great too!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

1st time at Gertrude's Great food great ambience excellent menu choices

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Gertrude's, in the Baltimore Museum of Art, is a real big-city environment. Chef John Shields's interpretation of Chesapeake Bay favorites is wonderful and sometimes surprising. It's true what the menu says - you won't believe his vegetarian crab cakes are not the real thing. Outdoor diners look over the museum's spectacular sculpture garden.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

everything was wonderful! have been dining here for years. always consistent

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Gertrude's has a wonderful ambience and delicious food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 2, 2017

love this place for business lunches. It is my go to place and it never disappoints.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We ate lunch outside. It was beautiful! The salads were delicious and the service great. It was a lovely afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Apres Chamber Jazz with party of 8. Very nice all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was an off night, which was so disappointing since we were celebrating a special day for one of our guests. The char was cooked to perfection, but the risotto on that dish was really bad. The moroccan couscous vegan dish was flavorful but way too salty. We really missed not having corn bread with our meal, which has been a specialty for years. Focaccia that was substituted was quite good, but needed olive oil rather than butter. The pulled pork was the main highlight of the evening. The waitress was helpful, but was getting instructions from the manager that seemed illogical and the bill was totally messed up, wasting time for all. This was truly an unusually off night because we frequent Gertrudes and the staff uniformly does a great job from the front of the house to the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Loved being able to walk around the sculpture garden afterwards. It was very kid friendly. They were extremely busy but seems to be the norm for brunch there.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We always have a wonderful experience at Gertrude's. With a diverse menu, great service , and beautiful decor, Gertrude's is the perfect choice for any occasion. John Shields is a perfect host, and makes everyone feel like his personal guest.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I love this restaurant. The food is never disappointing, the atmosphere is wonderful, the service is unbeatable. It is without a doubt one of the top 5 best restaurants in Baltimore.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We love Gertrude's! The food is delicious and varied. The service was great and when the waiter made an error that delayed the food of one of our party, he took responsibility for it.
We got there often and will continue to do so. Great for a special occasion or just regular good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food at Gertrude's is always delicious. When you add that to the gregarious waitstaff and view of the sculpture garden, you end up with a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Historic, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.