Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Gertrude's - Baltimore

Gertrude's Restaurant, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA), is where John Shields celebrates Chesapeake cuisine using local foods, in a warm and stylish setting.
Chef & owner John Shields, a Baltimore native who is a cookbook author and television cooking show host, named the restaurant after his grandmother, Gertrude Cleary, who taught him to cook as a child. Gertrude's dishes up a sophisticated regional menu of Chesapeake foods and traditions for lunch, dinner, and brunch using local, organic ingredients whenever possible.
The restaurant's interior, inspired by life on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay, is beautiful & elegant yet comfortable. The wall of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the museum’s Sculpture Garden floods the open & airy dining room with natural light. During the warmer months, additional seats are available on the terrace surrounding a fountain and reflecting pool.

10 Art Museum Dr.
Baltimore, MD 21218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:30am - 8:00pm

Brunch Menu served on Saturday and Sunday until 3pm
Light Fare Menu on Saturday and Sunday from 3pm - 5pm

Cross Street:
N. Charles St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 889-3399

Website:
http://www.gertrudesbaltimore.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday nights listen to mellow jazz with Gary Thomas & Friends at Gertrude's from 6 to 8pm, while you enjoy dinner or cocktails in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
And the Dottie Tim Jazz Duo plays here on Sundays during our popular brunch, from 11:30 am till 2:30 pm.

Catering:
In addition to birthday parties, anniversary celebrations and corporate affairs, Gertrude's hosts many wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, and “day after” brunches throughout the year, for groups as small as 20 guests, and as large as 150. You may visit our web site, www.gertrudesbaltimore.com, for more info, or contact John Gilligan at jg@johnshields.com (or tel. 410.889.3399 x105).

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot for over 40 cars, operated by the BMA; payment is required to use the BMA's lot. There is also plenty of on-street parking directly in front; parking meters are in effect during our operating hours.

Executive Chef:
Doug Wetzel

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrations at Gertrude's dazzle the senses. With our view of the Baltimore Museum of Art's sculpture garden, outdoor terrace, tenting capabilities and beautiful star-lit ceiling, Gertrude's will make your event truly memorable--be it a corporate function, garden party, storybook wedding, or other

Gertrude's - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (110)
Great for Outdoor Dining (108)
Great for Lunch (93)
See All
Great for Brunch (91)
Good for a Date (89)
Local Ingredients (83)
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Good for Birthdays (77)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Scenic View (71)
Fit for Foodies (68)
Romantic (67)
Sunday Lunch (66)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Quiet Conversation (58)
Seasonal (53)
Casual (50)
Good for Groups (48)
Worth the Drive (48)
Business Meals (43)
Bar Seating (36)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
Afternoon Tea (33)
Authentic (32)
Comfort Food (31)
Fun (30)
Disabled Access (26)
Live Music (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Cozy (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Vegan (19)
Afternoon Coffee (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
People Watching (17)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Happy Hour (10)
Organic (10)
Quick Bite (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
4578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place to eat local food. Excellent service. Excellent ambiance. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Organic, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

The lemon butter crabcake on special was to die for! And we loved our waiter Justin!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great custom service, was seated quickly after verifying my reservation. Didn’t wait long after ordering food. The food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice space but very loud. Not a full room by any means and we strained to hear each other.

Food choices were nicely varied and well-prepared. If the ambiance were a bit better, this could have become a go-to place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Always enjoy the food and service. Great portion sizes

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

I had been to Gertrude few times before and had always enjoyed it location in the museum, ambiance and livelihood, but was never so impressed with its food. This time I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent choice of food that included local ingredients and a variety of cuisines . My son who was visiting from NYC was with us and we all were happy with our foods. I ordered a vegetarian spicy dish that was very tasty and healthy. My son ordered a trout, which he enjoyed and my husband ordered another vegetarian dish that was also very good. The desert was an apple cobbler gently cooked in butter. In all we all were very happy with our food and desert and well as an excellent server, Peter. Five star.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful, low key, comfortable dining room, consistently excellent food, responsive wait staff and flexible chef if you want to make minor modifications. Very nice place for a really nice meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants. I had relatives visiting and we all enjoyed the food. I would caution about going to lunch. We had a 1PM reservation and restaurant very noisy and crowded. At about 1:30 noise leveled off. Next time I will do a 1:30 or 2PM reservation. Also the BMA is free and we enjoyed looking at a few exhibits.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Gertrude's for dinner and to celebrate a friend's birthday. The ambiance was upscale & perfect for the occasion. Although there was outdoor seating, which was just as nice as the indoor, it was a bit rainy and too chilly on the evening we went. We opted to stay indoor. The hostess was friendly & gave us the option to sit at the bar or be seated at our table until the rest of our party arrived. The service was excellent at the bar and the table. The bartender was also friendly and very knowledgeable. We all had wonderful seafood dishes and even better desserts (sweet potato cheesecake w/bourbon ice cream and chocolate & caramel ice cream sundae). We all plan to come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Tapas, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my all time favorites but haven't been here in a while. So happy to see this place again. Service was great, Tuesday nights have the best value and the only night they serve the pan fried chicken platter which I dare anyone to finish!! This is just a happy place to dine. Thank u John Shields - it's just like you - happy😄😄

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We live in the neighborhood, and Gertrude's is one of my favorite places for a quiet dinner. I like the emphasis on locally produced food, the quality is high, and the noise level is sufficiently low that one can have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

After we were seated, 15 minutes passed before I finally asked for our server to come to the table. He showed up and we immediately gave our took drink and food order. More time goes by and we repeatedly asked for our drinks. We finally got water as my salad was being served and the wine showed up just prior to my dinner. Nobody ever refilled my water glass, so I pulled out a large bottle of spring water from my purse and filled my own glass. I left the empty bottle on the table to give a subtle hint. The waiter wasn’t exactly attentive, so I don’t know why I thought he’d notice. If I could have left zero tip, I would have, but my husband wouldn’t let me. The food was just ok and not at all like the other reviewers. The bread was late and we only got 2 tiny rolls and had to ask 2 times for 2 more tiny rolls. We ordered steak which was clearly NOT sirloin as the menu stated, but some other cut of beef entirely. It came with garlic mashed potatoes, which were barely luke warm. Desert was the apple crumble and it was terrible. It was very thinly sliced apples with loads of sliced almonds. All you could taste were almonds. It was $9.00 and I took 2 bites and paid the bill and left. I would never return. My only night in Baltimore and we choose this place, ugh! Don’t bother going this place has no idea what they are doing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Gertrude’s is a good value and a great place to meet friends. The food is tasty also. Nice alternative to eating downtown and avoiding all the traffic. We often eat here before or after Center Stage. We love browsing in the gift shop next door before 5 on Sunday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

A visit with a college grandson to the spectacular Saracena exhibit was very much enhanced by our delicious brunch on Sunday!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Wonderful menu and service. It was difficult to decide between all of the wonderful choices. Everyone enjoyed their meals and not much was left on the plates. Of course we saved room for dessert. You can come here just for dessert and it would be well worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Thank you for a lovely Friday afternoon lunch. The outdoor seating was perfect on a warm October day. The food was outstanding, especially for a vegan and gluten-free table. We were in awe of the "zuchettes" and the vegan and gluten-free chocolate pumpkin pie with pumpkin "ice cream." Since Gertrude's is so accommodating of vegan and gluten-free patrons, it will become a regular on our restaurant rotation. Another spectacular aspect of our lunch was our server. She was the epitome of professionalism, knowledge, grace and warmth. She must have overheard that it was my friend's birthday and she surprised the table with a beautifully plated dessert with "Happy Birthday" written on it. It was a lovely touch. I can't wait to go back to Gertrude's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Organic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great restaurant with great food and atmosphere. Will definitely return.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I wanted to take my 89 year-old aunt out for a birthday lunch and chose Gertrude's because I was looking for a nice restaurant with a menu that could accommodate both of us. I'm vegan and she's an an omnivore.

It was a beautiful day, so we sat outside and were grateful to be in the shade. The majority of other diners were outside, too, but the noise level was fine.

Our server Jeffrey was attentive and accommodating and made us feel pampered from the start. My aunt ordered an alcoholic drink, but they were out of one of the ingredients. Jeffrey explained that the bartender would whip up something similar and my aunt never noticed the difference. Jeffrey suggested a glass of sauvignon blanc for me (a variety I usually don't order) and it was delightful.

When he served the bread, Jeffrey ensured I had bread I could eat and brought additional bread -- with butter -- for my aunt.

When it came to ordering the entree, my aunt, who has lived in Baltimore for about 60 years, was very critical of the crab cake options. Jeffrey suggested the special - the Eastern Shore Crab Cake -- which was just a simple crab cake with lemon and butter. My aunt was over the moon with how great it tasted. I had the Black Bean Burger with mushrooms and while I enjoyed it, the roll was a bit dry. I also had the soup of the day which was Roasted Acorn Squash and White Bean. It was delicious. I could have eaten an entire bowl.

When we first arrived, I explained to Jeffrey that it was my aunt's 89th birthday, so when it was time for dessert, he explained that she was entitled to complimentary ice cream. My aunt couldn't believe she didn't have to show him her driver's license! She ordered salted caramel ice cream which came on a plate with the message "Happy 89th Birthday!" written in chocolate and a lit candle in her ice cream. Again, my aunt was over the moon! I ordered the cranberry sorbet which was fine.

My aunt left the restaurant feeling happy and spoiled and I left relieved!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

I love the atmosphere, especially the outdoor area. It’s both romantic yet casual, sophisticated yet relaxed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was amazing and came highly recommended. Service was impeccable. Drinks (Bloody Marys) were a little light and the taste left something to be desired but the food quality made it for it even though drinks were re-made.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Gertrude's for brunch! The service was fast and pleasant, and all of the food was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2017

A beautiful day to sit outside, the food was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Gertrude's is my favorite all round restaurant in town! The ambience is always lovely whether inside on outside and altho it's sophisticated, it's also very comfortable. I never dress up. The food is wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Gertrude's is perfect for buddy dinner, romantic dinner, birthday celebration, girl's night out and so much more. Service is always on point. They make you feel real special, no matter the occasion. The food is spectacular and delicious!! Treat yourself!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Sat outside next to waterfall/fountain. Excellent menu and best fried chicken I have had in years. We chose the restaurant for the vegetarian and vegan options requested by my daughter. Those options were fantastic and extended far beyond the usual salad and side vegetables offered by other restaurants. As an added surprise, there were multiple $15 dinner options because it was a Tuesday evening. Will definitely go back soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had the pleasure of dining twice at Gertrude's during our first visit to Johns Hopkins.
We happened to have dinner on a Tuesday night and stumbled on the $15 for all entrees special.
It was very good and a bargain. The crab cakes were very meaty with chunks - delicious. Portobello crab really creative according to my wife. Seafood gumbo excellent. All a bargain.
We also had a brunch on Sunday for 6. Most in the party had eggs and omelettes . Eggs Gertrude was basically eggs Benedict with crab cakes in place of the ham ---terrific!
This is an upscale joint in an upscale location (Art Museum). Definitely not pub grub. Really special and reservations are always needed. Service was good ambiance was very good and food was excellent. Reasonable prices on weekdays and real bargains on Tuesdays and brunches.
Save time to visit the Baltimore Museum of Art - free and surprisingly good collections . Don't miss the Impressionists.
Rating--A+. A pleasure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very Good. Only issue were some flies... annoying.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Everything was good but the service was very, very slow. We sat and waited until I called a busser to get a menue and water. Then we sat, waited and waited for the waiter to finally come to the table. We gave him an order----he seemed anxious to get our drink order right away, and we sat and waited, waited and waited for the drinks to arrive----very slow. When the food finally was served, it was good but over half an hour after we arrived. I wanted a refill of my coffee, but the waiter disappeared, so I never got to drink a refill. All in all, a good tasty meal ruined by inattentive and slow service where the lack of good service dominated the experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food selection for brunch was excellent. Many things to choose from. Those of us that chose breakfast enjoyed the meals while the sandwiches were 'meh'. Very busy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Best cream of crab soup I have ever tasted. Excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had an anniversary dinner for 2. Food was fabulous. Room is very nice, our table was roomy enough and comfortable. The service was not as attentive as it should have been. My husband received his ice tea but waited 10 minutes until we could flag down a bus boy to get sweetener for his tea (we were there fairly early and it was not yet crowded). Waiter was ready to take our food order before he even asked for our drink order. Appetizers were great - very berry salad was loaded with fresh berries, zucchini cakes (mimic a crab cake) were fabulous. Finished wine glass and iced tea with appetizer and waited and waited for waiter to come by for refills. I had to ask for another glass of wine (not offered as it should be). Again had to flag down bus boy for water refills and tea refill. Food servings were large and they have a terrific dessert menu so we wanted to leave room. Had to ask waiter for to go containers for leftovers. He took our plates to package them. Worst to go containers I've seen in a nice restaurant. Flimsy clear plastic boxes, no dividers. He put the scallop, veggies and french fries in one box together where they slid around and became one glop. He brought both our to go boxes out and sat them on the table. No bag, just 2 flimsy containers.
Dessert was wonderful - peach cake and key lime panne cotta. Coffee was pretty good. Again, never asked if wanted more coffee.
We would definitely go again for the food. Maybe don't go if you are thirsty - takes awhile to get beverages!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and the waiter surprised us with a wonderful little ice-cream cake! The service was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect for a small romantic birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The crab cake was outstanding. Beautiful restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I have been an on again, off again, patron (not off for anything unpleasant). I am back "in" again regularly and I have become more appreciative of the gem it is! The food is very good and consistent - many menu items are GREAT, the ambience speaks for itself, and the staff couldn't be more helpful, more kind, more engaging! A must!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As usual, it was a great time. We celebrated my father's 69th birthday, and had a blast. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Friendly service, excellent crab cakes and seafood salad, divine chocolate dessert. Lively atmosphere, yet it was still possible to conduct private conversations. The setting inside the museum is perfect and the museum offers a wonderful activity before or after the meal.
Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Out of town family visiting and celebrating their father's bday. The salmon and sirloin were excellent. And this is coming from a NY Strip expert as well as someone who prepares Alaskan Sockeye salmon regularly and normally doesn't find any other kind very flavorful. But all of us were very impressed with the delicious cuisine, friendly service and a special treat of live jazz music. There was an event happening outside so hoping next time to be able to show our guests the beautiful sculpture garden. Will definitely be returning soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We always enjoy Gertrude's. This visit was in support of Dining Out for Life and Moveable Feast. We dined at an outside table, and the cooler evening temperature was wonderful. Food was excellent as always. Server did fine, but was not as attentive as most.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had to change our reservation from five to six to seven to finally eight of us, on a busy night (fundraiser for Moveable Feast). Gertrude's staff was more than accommodating! We are VERY impressed that Gertrude's donated 50% of the total tabs to this worth cause. Congratulations on being a wonderful neighbor and friend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

We enjoyed savory crab cakes du jour with lots of crab meat and lemon buerre blanc and comfort-food sides of garlic mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. And my friend's dessert—cheesecake with the Jazzman Blue ice cream—blew her away. Our server was super patient and attentive; she deserves 10 stars.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.