About Gertrude's - Baltimore

10 Art Museum Dr.
Baltimore, MD 21218
View Larger Map

Gertrude's Restaurant, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA), is where John Shields celebrates Chesapeake cuisine using local foods, in a warm and stylish setting.
Chef & owner John Shields, a Baltimore native who is a cookbook author and television cooking show host, named the restaurant after his grandmother, Gertrude Cleary, who taught him to cook as a child. Gertrude's dishes up a sophisticated regional menu of Chesapeake foods and traditions for lunch, dinner, and brunch using local, organic ingredients whenever possible.
The restaurant's interior, inspired by life on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay, is beautiful & elegant yet comfortable. The wall of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the museum’s Sculpture Garden floods the open & airy dining room with natural light. During the warmer months, additional seats are available on the terrace surrounding a fountain and reflecting pool.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:30am - 8:00pm

Brunch Menu served on Saturday and Sunday until 3pm
Light Fare Menu on Saturday and Sunday from 3pm - 5pm

Cross Street:
N. Charles St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 889-3399

Website:
http://www.gertrudesbaltimore.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday nights listen to mellow jazz with Gary Thomas & Friends at Gertrude's from 6 to 8pm, while you enjoy dinner or cocktails in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
And the Dottie Tim Jazz Duo plays here on Sundays during our popular brunch, from 11:30 am till 2:30 pm.

Catering:
In addition to birthday parties, anniversary celebrations and corporate affairs, Gertrude's hosts many wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, and “day after” brunches throughout the year, for groups as small as 20 guests, and as large as 150. You may visit our web site, www.gertrudesbaltimore.com, for more info, or contact John Gilligan at jg@johnshields.com (or tel. 410.889.3399 x105).

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot for over 40 cars, operated by the BMA; payment is required to use the BMA's lot. There is also plenty of on-street parking directly in front; parking meters are in effect during our operating hours.

Executive Chef:
Doug Wetzel

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
John Gilligan: (410) 889-3399 ext. 105

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gertrude's - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (105)
Special Occasion (95)
Great for Lunch (94)
See All
Good for a Date (83)
Creative Cuisine (81)
Sunday Lunch (80)
Local Ingredients (75)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Good for Groups (52)
Romantic (50)
Good Vegetarian Options (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Casual (48)
Worth the Drive (47)
Healthy (38)
Afternoon Tea (36)
Scenic View (35)
Cozy (35)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Authentic (33)
Business Meals (32)
Modern Decor (32)
Seasonal (32)
Fun (31)
Comfort Food (29)
Afternoon Coffee (29)
Outstanding Value (27)
Live Music (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Vegan (23)
Disabled Access (22)
People Watching (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Quick Bite (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Historic (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Family Style (9)
Great Beer (7)
Organic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Private Room (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
4232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

We went here for a business meeting because when we lived in B'more several years ago, we loved Gertrude's. It was up to our expectations. Get the Gertie's crab cake!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Love Gertrude's! Rosie, our server, was personable, friendly, knowledgeable, and patient. The meal was wonderfull and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the pleasant environment and staff. We highly recommend Gertrude's for lunch, dinner, or brunch!

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

I had been looking forward to trying Gertrude's while visiting the BMA. Unfortunately, my brunch experience was very average. The food was OK, but nothing special and seemed a bit overpriced. The music and location, however, created a nice atmosphere and a convenient location for grabbing a meal and visiting the museum. Wish it had been a better experience. Likely will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

We did not have great service on our visit. I don't expect an over- excited server, but our server was grouchy and not pleasant. The wait was very long to be seated- the host and hostess seemed confused. The wait for food and drink was long too. And the food was just ok, nothing spectacular. I probably will not be going back.

The music at brunch was also way too loud.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

A very nice place to enjoy fine cuisine , perfect for a afternoon out

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Still one of my favorites, especially for lunch and Sunday brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Casual, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall a nice experience, but service was a bit slow during the meal, then was asked to leave to open a table for another reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We travel from Harrisburg, PA, to have brunch here several times throughout the year. It's always a fabulous treat. We have never been disappointed in the food, service or surroundings. I'm a tough critic and can't find a thing to complain about. When we leave we are fully satisfied and can't wait to return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Came for a late Valentine's Day luncheon on a Friday. 12:30 arrival was perfect as the room filled quickly. My wife had the salmon sandwich/french fries and I the crab imperial topped portobello mushroom. The mushroom plate had a honey(?) Basalmic vinegar reduction that really complimented the crab; I was surprised. I paired my selection with a glass of Spanish Rueda - very sauvignon blanc like - which complimented my dish just right.

I couldn't sample my wife's salmon because it contained pesto; I am allergic to tree nuts but she was very pleased with it. I did assist with her fries - very good. Too full for dessert, we both left happy and full. Service, as always, was prompt and attentive. It's impossible to have a bad outing at Gertrude's!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Has a nice outdoor seating area in a sculpture garden during the summer months. Chef uses local ingredients when possible. Great lunch and brunch menu. Food is very good with nice presentation. Can be very noisy when restaurant is crowded.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everyone was so gracious and kind, from the hostess to the waitstaff to Chef/Owner John Shields himself. The food was wonderful and uniquely prepared, a joy to eat and savor. Thank you for a beautiful Valentine's night!

-Sam & Barrie

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

we were there for valentine's day. it was absolutely fabulous down to rose i received upon leaving. everything was perfect

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This would be my 8th time or so coming to Gertrude's but my first Valentine's Dinner. Reservation was made easily by opentable and confirmed day of by a call from the restaurant. The 3 course menu was great, the lobster bisque and lamb shanks being my favorites of the night. The wine pairings were quite interesting, paired well, and tasted good. Service was quick and accurate. My date even got a free rose for the night which was a nice bonus. Overall I'd say that Gertrude's is a great place which I look forward to visiting again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always enjoy Gertrude's. Went for Valentine's Day. John Shields and John Gilligan make evening grand. Rose for spouse. They came to every table. Excellent rock fish. Well done.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Gertrude's really makes valentine's day a festive event. Great food and a fun evening.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Valentine Day 3 course pris fixe menu was creative and enticing. We dined early so it was less noisy than usual because at 5 the restaurant was not full. Bouquets of red roses and candles on every table and a red rose to take home. Good waitress, hot food, rare lamb chops, rich lobster bisque, crunchy avocado toast spread with tomatoe jam, super fresh rockfish heaped with crab imperial, heavenly triple chocolate mousse cake all left us glad we came. Gertrude's always shines as the most glamorous place that offers vegan gourmet concoctions.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a pleasure to enjoy a delicious meal at Gertrude's!

Tags: Family Style, Waterfront, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I always enjoy this restaurant. The good and the service are generally good and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious food, great wait staff, wonderful kid's menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Gertrudes has been consistently good over the years. In a classy setting, Gertrudes food matches its environs.

While the dining area is noisy with conversations it is the place to see and be seen!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a pleasure to come to Gertrude's. love the food, service, specials. Always love to stop in at the museum before or after.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What happened to Gertrude's? The menu looked good but the food was disappointedly ordinary. From the bread basket ( focaccia cold and soggy) to the incredibly stingy ( two baked oyster )appetizer to the yellow curry vegetable stir fry on top of almost three cups of ordinary rice flooded in an undistinguishable sauce to desserts (apple cobbler and vegan coconut "cream" pie) the meal was disappointing beyond words. The blueberry vodka and zucchini "crab cakes" were more up to par but the bland service zeroed those out. Won't be returning unless there are announcements of some new chefs... luckily being with my Valentine saved the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was amazing and the Valentines prix fixe menu with wine pairing was a great choice. Lobster bisque was one of the best I have had and the Rockfish Imperial was absolutely scrumptious. The sides (asparagus and mashed potatoes) were unexceptional. Service is not on par with the food. Having also previously enjoyed brunch here I can definitely recommend Gertrude's as a great place to impress a date or enjoy a nice dinner with a loved one or friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Never disappointed.....always a wonderful experience !

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife had the scallops which she LOVES, and the mail dish was accompanied by risotto which she is not crazy about. She absolutely adored the risotto with this dish and was pleasantly surprised. She hopes it will be featured more in the future!

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Seasonal, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 10, 2017

we asked for a quiet table but we got a very noisy one. Noise has always been a problem in this restaurant which is otherwise very pleasant. It could be easily mitigated with some roof panels.

Food lately is not always as good as it used to be, but it's still good at times.

The location is great, and overall it's very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Eggs Gertrude was spectacular eggs benedict with a twist instead of Canadian Bacon it's changed out with Crab cakes the hollandaise sauce was superb and the crabcakes had just the right amount of spice highly recommend it

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I haven't been in ages but I'm glad I came. Both of us picked the "design your own" meal and the portions were huge! My date claims it was the best crab cake he's had and my salmon was wonderful. My only complaint was that we were too full for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My new favorite restaurant in Baltimore. The food is superb and very reasonable in price. On the recommendation of our server, I chose the chincoteague oysters, which are smaller but in my experience much the more tasty. They were fried expertly with only a hint of breading. Delicious! The wine list is extensive and satisfying. The service is outstanding and pleasant. And, on the Saturday evening when we dined, the jazz guitarist was simply divine.

Anyone who visits Baltimore must visit Gertrude's.

Tags: Live Music, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A great place for celebrating my mom's 86th birthday. Small family get together and the restaurant was lovely. Even though it was full of customers (including a baby shower) the noise level was not bad at all. Brunch food was delicious. The eggs benedict with crabmeat was perfect, my sister loved her crabmeat quiche was so good (the waitress recommended - nice!) I would definitely come again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Gertrude's is always consistent. Great staff and food. And it is reasonably priced.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lunch at Gertrudes delicious

Good, fantastic service and beautiful view...we love your staff!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. We've been dining @ Gertrude's for years. Interesting, inventive and changing menu, good service, charming space.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The crab soup was one of the best we've had, stuffed Rockfish was also excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Place is nice, and service was good in spite of what looked like a scant crew on Sunday evening. Food was disappointing, poorly prepared except for crab cake and fried oysters: Quiche looked as if it had been reheated a few times, "rosemary potatoes" were boiled potatoes put under the broiler for a few minutes, apple coleslaw was limp and tasteless, etc. Wines by the glass were average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Lovely spot for lunch/brunch and special occasions. Some of food was good; fried potatoes were soggy; service was so-so. Can do better, is my guess.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

just a wonderful day. As busy as staff were they made us feel special and were so kind to children in our party

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I went to Gertrude's brunch for the first time. We had a reservation at 10:30 AM and good thing b/c the restaurant was packed by 11:15. Our food and cocktails we delicious, my eggs on the Brisket Benedict were perfectly poached. For the quality of the food, neighborhood location and the atmosphere, the prices were well worth it and affordable. We toured the BMA after brunch for a great ending to our Sunday date!

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had dinner two weekends at Gertrude's: following a museum visit to view the Matisse/

Diebenkorn show and before the Baltimore Classical Guitar Society concert. We were with good friends bkth times and enjoyed both evenings very much. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lunch or supper at Gertrude's is a wonderful, civilized treat after seeing the Matisses and other treasures at the BMA, but it is also destination-worthy in its own right. For me, the crab dishes are always the highlight. (When in Maryland . . . ) I especially recommend the Gertie's crabcake with beurre blanc or three mustard sauce, paired with a glass of Muscadet, but really, it is hard to go wrong. The red crab soup is also excellent, as are the salads and sides. And leave room for dessert, which is often the most creative part of the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Just great. We'll be back!

The food was excellent and the service was terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were attending the final weekend of an exhibit at the Baltimore Museum of Art and had a awesome lunch at Gertude's- Please make a reservation-(we did and the timing was great) because it is hard to manage the tickets for an exhibit and wait for a table to open! Our waiter was super- suggestions were very helpful and the whole experience was very positive-

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of my favorites for business or friend meals, before or after museum visit, or weekend brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Modern Decor, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Twice our visits were disappointing. Service was slow and took forever to just bring out water and bread. We love the museum and bookstore, but will not come here for dinner unless we have no other choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fried oyster appetizer was superb. My wife had the lamb chop special and she loved them. I had the jumbo shrimp stuffed with crab imperial and served over cheezy grits. Outstanding. Waiter was very good and helped a lot. Wonderful evening. Will be going back!

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The menu had a nice selection and the food was well-prepared. I had the fish and it was moist and tender and the garlic spinach was not overcooked and had a very flavorful taste..

The service started as attentive the food was delivered timely: however, after that point the service deteriorated significantly. We concluded dinner and had to look for the waitress in fact asked another waiter to see if he could find her for dessert.I had requested a cup of coffee and when it arrived I asked for cream. You would've thought this was a tremendously difficult task by the expression on the waitresses face. After we finished desert we waited another 10 minutes for the check.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

How nice to have such a great restaurant at the Baltimore Museum of Art. Took friends to enjoy the Matisse Diebenkorn Exhibit. Service is always so friendly and helpful.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Convienent for a museum visit. As the museum was having a special exhibit,service was slower than acceptable but still courteous and attentive. Menu was ambitious and pricing seemed fair.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Somewhat disappointing in view of positive experience a few years back. Rather ordinary menu and prix-fixe options sounded better than presented. Crab cake upgrade should have had lump rather than shredded meat and beef tacos were bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Perfect when you are visiting the BMA - or anytime. not wait until you visit the museum before you try Gertrude's the food is wonderful. Lovely dining room, over looking the garden. Alway special when we go there

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.