Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Gertrude's - Baltimore

Gertrude's Restaurant, located inside the Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA), is where John Shields celebrates Chesapeake cuisine using local foods, in a warm and stylish setting.
Chef & owner John Shields, a Baltimore native who is a cookbook author and television cooking show host, named the restaurant after his grandmother, Gertrude Cleary, who taught him to cook as a child. Gertrude's dishes up a sophisticated regional menu of Chesapeake foods and traditions for lunch, dinner, and brunch using local, organic ingredients whenever possible.
The restaurant's interior, inspired by life on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay, is beautiful & elegant yet comfortable. The wall of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the museum’s Sculpture Garden floods the open & airy dining room with natural light. During the warmer months, additional seats are available on the terrace surrounding a fountain and reflecting pool.

10 Art Museum Dr.
Baltimore, MD 21218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 9:00pm
Sunday: 10:30am - 8:00pm

Brunch Menu served on Saturday and Sunday until 3pm
Light Fare Menu on Saturday and Sunday from 3pm - 5pm

Cross Street:
N. Charles St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 889-3399

Website:
http://www.gertrudesbaltimore.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday nights listen to mellow jazz with Gary Thomas & Friends at Gertrude's from 6 to 8pm, while you enjoy dinner or cocktails in a beautiful and relaxing setting.
And the Dottie Tim Jazz Duo plays here on Sundays during our popular brunch, from 11:30 am till 2:30 pm.

Catering:
In addition to birthday parties, anniversary celebrations and corporate affairs, Gertrude's hosts many wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, and “day after” brunches throughout the year, for groups as small as 20 guests, and as large as 150. You may visit our web site, www.gertrudesbaltimore.com, for more info, or contact John Gilligan at jg@johnshields.com (or tel. 410.889.3399 x105).

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot for over 40 cars, operated by the BMA; payment is required to use the BMA's lot. There is also plenty of on-street parking directly in front; parking meters are in effect during our operating hours.

Executive Chef:
Doug Wetzel

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrations at Gertrude's dazzle the senses. With our view of the Baltimore Museum of Art's sculpture garden, outdoor terrace, tenting capabilities and beautiful star-lit ceiling, Gertrude's will make your event truly memorable--be it a corporate function, garden party, storybook wedding, or other

Gertrude's - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (121)
Great for Outdoor Dining (108)
Great for Lunch (91)
See All
Great for Brunch (91)
Neighborhood Gem (83)
Good for a Date (83)
Good for Birthdays (82)
Local Ingredients (80)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Sunday Lunch (76)
Romantic (71)
Scenic View (68)
Fit for Foodies (68)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Quiet Conversation (53)
Seasonal (52)
Worth the Drive (52)
Casual (51)
Good for Groups (49)
Business Meals (42)
Afternoon Tea (36)
Authentic (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Comfort Food (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Fun (27)
Disabled Access (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Live Music (23)
Afternoon Coffee (20)
Cozy (20)
People Watching (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Vegan (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Organic (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
4549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

Food selection for brunch was excellent. Many things to choose from. Those of us that chose breakfast enjoyed the meals while the sandwiches were 'meh'. Very busy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

We had an anniversary dinner for 2. Food was fabulous. Room is very nice, our table was roomy enough and comfortable. The service was not as attentive as it should have been. My husband received his ice tea but waited 10 minutes until we could flag down a bus boy to get sweetener for his tea (we were there fairly early and it was not yet crowded). Waiter was ready to take our food order before he even asked for our drink order. Appetizers were great - very berry salad was loaded with fresh berries, zucchini cakes (mimic a crab cake) were fabulous. Finished wine glass and iced tea with appetizer and waited and waited for waiter to come by for refills. I had to ask for another glass of wine (not offered as it should be). Again had to flag down bus boy for water refills and tea refill. Food servings were large and they have a terrific dessert menu so we wanted to leave room. Had to ask waiter for to go containers for leftovers. He took our plates to package them. Worst to go containers I've seen in a nice restaurant. Flimsy clear plastic boxes, no dividers. He put the scallop, veggies and french fries in one box together where they slid around and became one glop. He brought both our to go boxes out and sat them on the table. No bag, just 2 flimsy containers.
Dessert was wonderful - peach cake and key lime panne cotta. Coffee was pretty good. Again, never asked if wanted more coffee.
We would definitely go again for the food. Maybe don't go if you are thirsty - takes awhile to get beverages!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday and the waiter surprised us with a wonderful little ice-cream cake! The service was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect for a small romantic birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The crab cake was outstanding. Beautiful restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been an on again, off again, patron (not off for anything unpleasant). I am back "in" again regularly and I have become more appreciative of the gem it is! The food is very good and consistent - many menu items are GREAT, the ambience speaks for itself, and the staff couldn't be more helpful, more kind, more engaging! A must!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As usual, it was a great time. We celebrated my father's 69th birthday, and had a blast. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Friendly service, excellent crab cakes and seafood salad, divine chocolate dessert. Lively atmosphere, yet it was still possible to conduct private conversations. The setting inside the museum is perfect and the museum offers a wonderful activity before or after the meal.
Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Out of town family visiting and celebrating their father's bday. The salmon and sirloin were excellent. And this is coming from a NY Strip expert as well as someone who prepares Alaskan Sockeye salmon regularly and normally doesn't find any other kind very flavorful. But all of us were very impressed with the delicious cuisine, friendly service and a special treat of live jazz music. There was an event happening outside so hoping next time to be able to show our guests the beautiful sculpture garden. Will definitely be returning soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We always enjoy Gertrude's. This visit was in support of Dining Out for Life and Moveable Feast. We dined at an outside table, and the cooler evening temperature was wonderful. Food was excellent as always. Server did fine, but was not as attentive as most.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had to change our reservation from five to six to seven to finally eight of us, on a busy night (fundraiser for Moveable Feast). Gertrude's staff was more than accommodating! We are VERY impressed that Gertrude's donated 50% of the total tabs to this worth cause. Congratulations on being a wonderful neighbor and friend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

We enjoyed savory crab cakes du jour with lots of crab meat and lemon buerre blanc and comfort-food sides of garlic mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. And my friend's dessert—cheesecake with the Jazzman Blue ice cream—blew her away. Our server was super patient and attentive; she deserves 10 stars.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 12, 2017

It was my my grandmother's 79th Birthday and Gertrude's went above and beyond amidst some
Unexpected trials on my families part. The manager and our server Eric really went above and beyond and never missed a beat! The Tuesday food and wine specials were a fantastic surprise! And the food was incredible! Compliments to the chef! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My husband and I (former Baltimoreans) drove for two hours, and my brother and his wife drove for one hour to enjoy an afternoon together. I had reserved ahead of time and specifically asked for an outside table in a quiet area (two of us are extremely hearing-impaired), so I was somewhat surprised when we arrived punctually, and the hostess said she would, "See what is available!" The combo in the main dining room was sooo blaring that I was glad I asked to sit outside. She seated us directly next to the fountains, which are very beautiful but very loud too! Our food was fine, but I had ordered a cup of soup with a complete sandwich (not the soup and sandwich combination), and I was disappointed that after serving my sandwich, the server brought my soup, instead of the reverse! By the time he served it to me, my soup was lukewarm, and I wished that it had been served very warm to me before the server brought my sandwich. Thank you!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very nice!! Excellent food!!!! 9/10/2017. Sunday Family outing. We will definitely dine here again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We love Gertrude's and try to go there for brunch whenever we visit Baltimore. Gertrude's is part of the Baltimore Museum of Art and the restaurant looks out over the fountains and sculpture garden. Nice! Tom was our waiter again and, as always, he made our visit even more enjoyable. It was the weekend of Hurricane Irma. Tom asked me about hurricanes and then heroically listened as I explained the Coriolis Effect. For his part, he remembered which version of Bloody Mary I always order, a Dirty Gertie, a BM with Old Bay spice on the rim and plump shrimp perched atop. Gertrude's is like going home for family Thanksgiving. Except everyone is exceedingly pleasant, no one argues, the food is great and it it comes out right on schedule and if kids are present, they are well-behaved . Maybe Thanksgiving was a bad analogy; Gertrude's is like Gertrude's... always fantastic.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent brunch with great drinks, excellent food

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was excellent with one exception. The oysters were extremely small and not worth the price.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Ate on the patio before attending Center Stage. There is no more beautiful place to dine outdoors in Baltimore than looking at Rodin sculptures while listening to a fountain. Server was very careful to keep us on time. Delicious food, nice wines by the glass.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Family lunch - lovely but unmemorable... I was upset, as usually I remember my meals very well... in this case, I had to look through the menu to recall what I had a week ago... anyhow... Three of us opted for Gertie's crab cakes with various sauces - basil-caper tartar for two and salsa fresca for me. Good size crab cakes full of lump meat and not much of filler - nice while eaten fresh, not so good reheated the next day (mustard-y aftertaste). Salad and apple-fennel coleslaw side dishes were tasty and servings were generous. Men opted for grilled chicken with green salad, orzo salad, and home fries - reports were positive. Deserts: panna cotta, Berger cookies ice cream, and blueberries ice cream - all good. I was slightly disappointed with my Berger cookies ice cream as there was not much of them in a huge cone of vanilla ice cream... the vine per de was great and I liked crushed peanut garnish... Drinks: good Bellini, very good Spanish wine. Service was good, although there were several parties going on. Ambience - outdoor seating required 20 min wait so we decided to sit inside... All in all, nice...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Gorgeous restaurant inside of the BMA open beyond the BMA hours. The food is fresh, local, excellent. Highly recommend. There was live music, fabulous cocktails and also besides all this, great prices. This restaurant is a gem! I had only been there a few times for lunch and brunch this was the first time for dinner. I will be back again and again. On a warm night the sculpture garden with the fountain is incredible. We sat inside though which was also beautiful. Inspiring. A great date place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We introduced young friends from Slovakia to Gertrude's. Great food and service. We had an amazing time in this lovely restaurant. I can recommend it to anyone. Wonderful quality and variety of selections.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We were in Baltimore for 5 days and had crab cakes just about every place we went. Gertrude's crab cakes were by far the best I have ever tasted. The chef uses large pieces of back fin crab meat and a light lemon beurre blanc sauce. Outstanding!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

This is and always has need a wonderful place to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Vegan, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The service and food were great. We enjoyed a special girls' night. One of our favorite spots to celebrate birthdays!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

The chicken dish came out charred and dried out. It should never have left the kitchen looking and tasting like that

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food quality was very high. I had a seafood pasta that was as good as any other that I can recall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Keep in mind that we're mid-60s and wanted to have quiet conversation over brunch with old friends. I suppose we should have chosen a weekday and not Sunday. One can't choose one's neighbors, and the eight people at the large table next to us were oh-so-very-happy to be talking to one another en masse. Oooff. So much quieter after they left - perhaps we should have sat outside. That said, the food was quite good (eggs Benedict), the price reasonable ($14), and the endless Zeke's coffee (Baltimore roaster) made it all worthwhile. The pianist and clarinetist were quite accomplished musicians but could have turned the volume down a tad, but then our table was less than 15 feet from them. Our waiter - tall red-haired young man - was attentive yet unobtrusive. Yeah, I'll go back, but I'll pick a quieter time and spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent cream of crab soup and first rate entrees. Pleasant service. This was a 56th wedding anniversary and the "right" pick for the occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Terrible experience. Went there for our last night with our daughter before she started school. Thankfully we only ordered appetizers and left right after. We ordered the land and sea sampler platter and the middle eastern platter. The only things that were tasty were the pita bread, the cheese and the bread from the bread basket! The tabbouleh salad had absolutely no taste. I'm not sure what purpose the carrot slaw served. And the humous was as thick as cement. The fish on the platter tasted extremely fishy. Definitely won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Went for Lobsterama and had a delicious meal. Server was nice, but tried a little too hard.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We came for August lobster on Thursday two weeks in a row and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had the same waiter both times, which we requested, he was outstanding. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

We did not have a pleasant waiter. He was very blunt at times. We felt he did not want to help us when we asked questions or ask for different items. We asked to taste a certain wine before ordering , he was not willing in the beginning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Gertrude's never fails to please. Its food, ambience and service are superb.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Even on a rainy day and evening, Gertrude's eating outside was a lot of fun--Tuesday evenings are celebratory even when there is no special occasion

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Just ok. Brunch is better. Food presentation was not impressive. My salmon was thin strips and some were not cooked rather than a filet. Overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This was my first time to Gertrude's and I had really been looking forward to it. The food was delicious and the service was great. It was incredibly loud though. The tables were crowded together and the jazz music was nice but I could not hear a word anyone I was with was saying. Definitely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Enjoyable Brunch on a nice Sunday. I would recommend for their Brunch and the nice setting.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Gertrude's is my favorite brunch spot in Baltimore and the Crab Quiche is my favorite meal in the city. That plus a mimosa makes the perfect birthday brunch with my little family. The only negative was that we reserved an outdoor table but when we arrived (on time) we were told we would have had to wait for an outdoor seat. Can't wait when you have a toddler and infant in tow! But inside is wonderful too :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always enjoy the service and food at Gertrudes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was our first visit here and it will not be our last. We loved everything about this restaurant
especially the outside dining area. Just beautiful!!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.