Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Geja's Café

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Romantic (78)
Good for a Date (73)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Cozy (48)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Authentic (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fun (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Live Music (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
3652 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Good food, nice ambience, not your common restaurant!!

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

loved it! delicious. hella romantic. sweet staff. remember that these meals take time to cook and eat- enjoy yourself! You cook the premier dinners at the table with your date- so fun!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was a FIRST date and believe me we were BOTH IMPRESSED with not only the food but the ambience and the quaint location. I was looking for ROMANTIC and that is exactly what we got.... we requested a booth with the curtain and that is what we received. This place is a DEFINTELY return to, and we DONT even reside in Illinois.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Quality restaurant. Good food. Only complaint would be not enough light. Restaurant is very dark.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary at Geja's. The food and service were fantastic. My absolute only slight problem that I had was that it was very dark where our table was situated. Most other tables had a small light above them. This made it slightly hard for a first time fondue-er. We will visit every time we visit Chicago!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Thank you Geja's- Another great food event experience, you do not dissapoint. Sangria (both Red and White) are best in town. Extensive wine list if your looking for unique choice. No surprises with Dinner here, all inclusive meal. Salad, and three fondue courses. Cheese Fondue- can not be repeated at home, delicious. Main Course variety of meats, seafood, and/or vegetables. ... then chocolate fondue dessert. Perfect end to a memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday. Overal, it was a great experience. I will definitely be going back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Geja's Cafe is a unique local experience. Romantic place to dine and the food is plentiful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Geja's Cafe has always been a favorite, but it had been quite a few years since we had been here. We took my daughter here for her birthday, and once again, it did not disappoint! Excellent cheese fondue, salad and chocolate fondue - perfect amount of food. The ambience is very cozy and romantic, service is wonderful, and the food is always a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Gejas is a wonderful experience! From the cheese fondue appetizer to the chocolate dessert, your taste buds will love you! Service was exceptional!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was terrific! Visited Geja's off and on over a period of about 20 years since 1975. Haven't been able to visit for nearly 20 years. So glad to see it was just as delightful and delicious as ever. It's location and valet parking make it an easy pre-show or post-show dining experience. Home of the very best cheese fondue (I've tried a dozen or so other venues around the country) the menu includes a wide variety of "main course" options. I would come for the cheese fondue alone.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Great food! Super romantic!! Love!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Always a great time. Ever 2 years we celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This restaurant's seating is way too close together. I felt like I was on a double date with strangers. It was too dark so it was hard to see how well my food was cooked unless we used our phone flash light. The food was SUPER oily because the oil for cooking wasn't hot enough so the food soaked it all up. My clothes wreaked of fried food when we were done. I will never go here again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Never disappointing!! Food is wonderfully fresh, sauces full & flavourful! The scallops are the star 🌟 we have been here for anniversaries and birthdays and will continue to return for many occasions to come!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

This was our second time visiting and it was wonderful! Always a great time and great service!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I've been going to Geja's since my freshman year at NU in 1972--it was the special occasion restaurant then, and Sunday night it was my son's 34th birthday dinner, so we continue the tradition when we're in Chicago. The food, wine, and ambiance never disappoint. I love that Geja's never changes, and that the fondue is always exceptional! The wine list is very nice, too. It was Sunday, so the classical guitarist wasn't performing inside, but that's a nice addition.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I love to dine at Gejas. We celebrate birthdays and our anniversary there every year. It is also our spot for date night.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food is good but overpriced. Service was average. Better fondue places out there. They are going for a romantic setting but it's not working; it's too dark and oppressive and tight, rather than romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Venerable mainstay of Old Town. THE place for fondue for decades.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Ordered prince special was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, attentive service, and a very romantic dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

This is my third time at this restaurant and once again it was worth the wait. I was helping my daughter move into her college dorm for her freshman year and thought it would be a wonderful way to spend the evening beforehand… And it was. She couldn't believe how wonderful all of the food was, and was very pleased they offered a gluten-free options. The atmosphere is so cozy and the live acoustic guitar music in the background was stunning. We will both be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Such a pleasure. I believe our server was named Ashley and she showed us such an exemplary time. It made my friend's birthday all the more special to spend it here. We all look forward to coming back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Too much money for cheap food you can make at home. I mean the most expensive cheap food I've had. Basically had veggies that i had to cook, for 120. Bull. Never will go back, because i'm not rich and stupid. Also told them that it was my husband bday in advance and they totally forgot. Also it was too cold and all we heard was thr loud AC.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves and would go back many more times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. The fondue was incredible and each thing was pure perfection. The service was great and extremely attentive. Great place for a special anniversary or special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Love this restaurant! I have a wonderful experience every time. The ambiance and service makes this place a perfect spot for a romantic date. My fiancé and I will definitely be coming back here!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service was great , the food was excellent even though you are cooking it. The wine list was good but a little over priced. The chocolate fondue was great!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I absolutely loved this place! At first glance it looks expensive because the Entrees range from 35-58.00 but that includes appetizer(Cheese fondue) with different breads and grapes, salad, Main course (meat and veggies in oil fondue), then dessert (chocolate fondue) with lots of choices of cake, fruit, marshmallow,rice krispy treats fruits and coffee included too. They light the chocolate of fire and it's a beautiful blue flame at the table you can roast your marshmallow in.My husband and I both could not finish all of the entree or dessert and we are big eaters. I hate to leave a restaurant (especially an expensive one) and your still hungry. I thought the price was good for all of the food and the wonderful (4 star) atmosphere. You could get just cheese fondue or dessert if it's too expensive but I thought the price was great considering, the food, the atmosphere and in my mind the entertainment too because it's very fun. You aren't just served your talking and cooking it's so great. I know we will definitely return over and over and bring friends visiting Chicago here. The one huge suggestion I have that I wish they would do is give the option of cooking in oil or broth. I think they would be surprised how many patrons would choose broth and it would probably cost them less than oil but I would happily pay the same. In any case this restaurant is a thumbs up but I would go more often if it was broth and not cooking in oil. If others wish they would have broth please mention it and maybe they will start offering it.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My boyfriend and I came to Geja's because I'd been there in the past and really enjoyed the ambiance and food. It was very romantic, the staff and Manager were really accommodating when we arrived a little early and wanted to have a drink outside prior to dinner. In the time we had a drink outside, they were able to upgrade our table to a cozy booth. It was private and lovely. My boyfriend formally proposed to me so this evening will always be uppermost in my mind as one of the top dates we ever had. Thanks for being such a lovely backdrop to our engagement.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

One of the best places in Chicago (and beyond) for a special romantic dinner. I highly recommend this place. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The restaurant was nice and it was a very cool experience, however, the oil from the second course burn my partner and I multiple times and even splashed on his shirt which ruined it. You also are in charge of timing your own food when you fry it, which really stinks because we had no idea If the food we were eating was done all the way and would be safe to eat. The first and the last course were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Geja's never disappoints. My wife and I eat there often. We used to reserve Geja's for special occasions but then we realized that every visit to Geja's is special. From the ambience to the service to the food, Geja's is a gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Spending a few days in Chicago for hubby's birthday and thought this would be a perfect location a bit off the beaten path for a celebratory but charming dinner. It definitely was and Mary made sure that everything was taken care of from the birthday treat to an after dinner cognac. Food was delicious (and plentiful) and while we were hoping for a live guitarist, the background music was lovely, as was the ambience. Mary also helped us pick a flight of wines for each course which was perfect! What a hidden gem! Thanks again to Mary for making the evening just right!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We went to Geja's for our first anniversary and it was perfect. We had a cozy booth so it felt like it was just us. The lights are very dim and red, which made it feel intimate and cozy, but wasn't great for checking to see if your fondue was done. I accidentally bit into a piece of uncooked meat because I couldn't see it. We used our phone lights after that to check the done-ness of what we were about to put in our mouths. However, the food was exceptional otherwise from start to finish. I had a wine pairing with each course that was top notch. The cheese course was so good I can't stop talking about it. Roasting marshmallows over the chocolate flambé at the end was also a highlight. The service was very personal and our waiters really went the extra mile. It was a fun experience we will always remember for our first anniversary! I will and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and I used to fly from Cleveland to Chicago 2-3/yr to dine at Gejas our favorite restaurant. Then in 2011 we moved to NC and had not been back since then. I could not wait to bring my Lil Sis and niece who now live in Chicago. And Gejas you did not disappoint us either. It was just as AMAZING as ever and we ❤️❤️💖 Every bite and every moment there. Thank you!! I will be back again...soon!

Fondly,

Edwina Corprew

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Too dark. I know they're going for romantic mood lighting, but it was over the top. We couldnt read the wine list without using our cellphone lights. We could hardly see one another and joked that I spent 1hr+ on hair, makeup, & sexy dress for nothing. Also couldn't really see our food, for example to tell if the meats were done. All ambience. Mediocre food. Avg service. Far better date night options in Chicago for this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Was a big fan of The Melting Pot but since they've moved out of the city, was left to Gejas. Very impressed. Food was great...opted for the broth instead of the oil. Made a difference I think. Very good and attentive service. Nice place and surprisingly, much more economical than the Melting Pot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

spectacular menu, wine list and service....if you are in Chicago ya gotta go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.