Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Geja's Café

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Private Party Facilities:
Geja's Cafe can accommodate private parties from 6 to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Collopy: (773) 281-9101

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (136)
Good for a Date (120)
Good for Anniversaries (104)
See All
Special Occasion (101)
Cozy (87)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Notable Wine List (58)
Worth the Drive (51)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Fun (41)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Authentic (33)
Live Music (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Groups (16)
Historic (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Casual (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Fireplace (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Healthy (10)
Private Room (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

This was My Husband & I, 6 year Wedding Anniversary, and this was the perfect place to celebrate. We will visit at least once a month for a date night. Everything was perfect. Thanks again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great time at Geja's! Food is amazing, great atmosphere for a romantic date.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Geja's several times and it is one of my favorite Chicago restaurants this time worst service ever! One of the very rare times I did not leave a tip because it was so horrible the food was great as usual but service was bad. We came here for my 60th birthday Not a great experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Another outstanding experience at Geja's, can't wait for a return visit!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Gejas has lovely atmosphere. The outdoor seating is gorgeous and cosy. The food was decent. We chose to only have the appetizer and desert fondue, no entree. The cheese was slightly grainy and out fire went out a few times.Not a fan of the whole boiling my own meat thing. Service was great as everytime our fire went out the server fixed it pronto. Overall I would go back for the vibe and the chocolate!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Gejas has been our romantic celebratory dinner place for over 30 years. We hadn't made it down there in over 15 years, but returned Saturday. It was everything we always loved it for!!!! Thank you for staying just the same at what you do so well.
Cheers!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The wine pairing was the perfect addition to a fantastic meal. One of my favorite restaurants in the city!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We went for our 20 year anniversary. We got engaged there over 21 years ago. It was just like we remembered and we had a wonderful time. Good was outstanding as was the service.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was a fun night with my wife over Mother's Day weekend. Great food presented well and a nice red wine to go with it. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Geja's is great overall. The seating can be a bit odd if you don't get a booth, but it's a cozy feel regardless. The food is amazing! The service is good. I had hoped that our waiter would have been more personable though. It is a very romantic atmosphere and my wife and I enjoyed our anniversary there!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

What a gem. The ambiance was spectacular with low lighting and live music. Extremely romantic. Try one of their wine trios with your dinner. We will be coming back.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We first ate at Geja's on our first date 28 years ago and it continues to be as wonderful today as it was in 1989. A charming atmosphere, excellent food, and helpful & friendly staff. We could not have asked for more. Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We love Geja's We go every time we're in chicago!
It's very romantic and very delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very great one-on-one place to be with someone and have fun while spending time together

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is a great place to have something a bit more than dinner for a special occasion. We had the sampler platter basically and it was excellent! The only reason I gave it a four star versus a five star is because when I got the bill , 4 drinks that we had which were not that many, were very expensive so a bit of sticker shock on the bill. It must've been st least $25 a drink! For that reason I have a hard time saying it was worth the full value even though the food was outstanding the service was great and the ambience was also very special regardless if it was the middle of the day or an evening meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great as always the staff and food selections are awesome. Very friendly and always professional service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went to Geja's café to celebrate our anniversary. They called us ahead of time and ask if we were celebrating anything and when we told them that we were they put a card on the table saying happy anniversary. Thought that was a nice touch.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very nice place, nice atmosphere, good experience, good surprise for wife!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

it was our 16th wedding anniversary and they went out of their way to make it special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Been coming here for years. Always fantastic. Best cheese fondue EVER!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great meal, but service was pretty spotty. The waiters were confused over which one was our server, and they never acknowledged our engagement that happened moments earlier despite the host mentioning when I called to confirm that they'd send us a drink and dessert on the house. Even a 'congratulations' would have been nice- I wasn't looking for free food. They just seemed to not care, which was too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything was great. My waitress Sarah was great as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Geja's, you've once again overdelivered. It was, as always, a pleasure. I'll be back. Muahahaha.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very romantic and beautiful inside. You cook your food at the table. The dinner they put together for you is amazing and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always a fun date idea. Pretty sure everyone uses coupons (email, Groupon, Living Social, etc) so make sure you find one. Don't wear clothes you don't mind stinking afterwards. Everything smells like oil after. I always request a booth table because otherwise you feel like a sardine and can hear everyone's conversations.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great place for any special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Took my 17 and 15 year old girls for dessert to celebrate the 17 year old's birthday. Both of them enjoyed the experience and the birthday girl felt extra special. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love this place.......been here many times over the years. We try to go once a year for a special occasion......birthday or anniversary. Food, services and ambience is outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food and service was spectacular as always! We love this restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Definitely going back! Delicious everything, i recommend white sangria.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Geja' s. Lots of options for meat combinations but not many wine options. We really liked the guitarist... It provided great background atmoshere. We did smell like grease when we left but it was a small price to pay for Smores fondue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome place for date night! Fondue is so fun and the chocolate fondue dessert is to die for. I recommend going with the servers choice for wine!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good food as always. Clientele has changed to more relaxed and downscale than years before. Tight quarters but cozy for a date dinner.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We loved the intimacy of the overall wine cellar environment, and our booth tucked off to the side. Our server delivered all with great CARE and humor. The experience of fondu coupled with the quality of ingredients, and value made it a significant event.
I would highly, highly recommend Gejas' to anyone looking for a unique and memorable time.
Loved it! Bob Frist

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very romantic setting with courteous and attentive staff. The chocolate fondu was delicious!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Me and my boyfriend celebrated our second year anniversary and we loved it. Geja's staff is very kind and helpful, the food is tasty and sensational. It's soft music, dim lighting, very romantic. We had a booth and it almost felt as though we were the only two in the restaurant. Honestly, our anniversary dinner couldn't have been more special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Have been enjoying the food here for 10 years and keep coming. It is a bit expensive but we enjoy fondue and feel gejas is much better than the chain restaurants

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Service was phenomenal. Food was great. Spectacular ambiance, on a Tuesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.