About Geja's Café

340 W. Armitage
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Romantic fondue dining & nightly flamenco & classical guitar music draw diners to this cozy café. Entree fondues include shrimp, scallops, lobster, chicken & beef in various combinations. Please be aware that for their safety, children under the age of 10 are not permitted at Geja's. Booth requests will be noted, but can not guaranteed.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (last seating at 9:30pm);



Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (last seating at 10:30pm);



Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm (last seating at 8:30pm)

Cross Street:
Lincoln and Clark

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 281-9101

Website:
http://www.gejascafe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot at 2021 N. Clark.

Public Transit:
Brown Line to Sedgewick / North

Private Party Facilities:
Geja's Cafe can accommodate private parties from 6 to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Michelle Collopy: (773) 281-9101

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Winemaker Dinners

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Geja's Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (104)
Good for a Date (101)
Special Occasion (91)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (89)
Cozy (71)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Notable Wine List (45)
Fun (42)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Authentic (28)
Live Music (23)
Historic (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Fireplace (9)
Casual (8)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Private Room (7)
Scenic View (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

First time visit and it was great!!! Nice quiet atmosphere and great food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely experience! Good fondue, great service, and a perfect ambiance for our date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this place and the atmosphere. The food is excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience. We loved everything about this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Over priced like crazy! I paid over $150 for 3 pieces of shrimp , 4 cubed pieces of beef tenderloin and , 5 pieces of chicken along with the desert fondue which was very underwhelming..the ambiance and staff are nice but food wasn't anything special. Not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It had been years since we had been to Geja's. The last time was pre-kids, this time we took our two teenagers. They loved it and it was good as we remembered. They're already talking about 'next time'.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great ambiance, definitely recommend for a very romantic evening. Servers were great, food was amazing, just be careful with the hot fondue forks! Accidentally burned myself haha

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I used to come to Geja's when we were dating and I lived in Iowa and she lived in Michigan. Chicago was a perfect half way meeting place and Geja's was our goto romantic restaurant. We loved it then and are happy to say it has t changed! The atmosphere, the service, the food, all excellent! I don't know what other people were talking about when they complained of poor service, but our waiter was great, attentive, and knowledgeable. We weren't rushed and the price for what you get is not unreasonable. After over ten years of being gone, we're delighted we came back and will definitely return more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Bread for the cheese was hard and stale other than that I enjoy the mill

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Was my husband's and my first time experiencing fondue and I must say the adventure was exceptional! We were a little apprehensive about a fondue meal but our server explained everything and kept a watchful eye on us. The staff was very attentive. Food, service and cleanliness were superb!! I would definitely recommend a fondue meal and Gejas is the place to experience it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best experience ever! Would like to come here everyday!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Celebrated my husbands birthday, food, atmosphere, staff were all very good. Price was comparable to other restaurants in the city, dessert was my favorite..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I used to be obsessed with the Melting Pot. I've enjoyed fondue at the two best fondue spots in Geneva, Switzerland. Having that established, I was disappointed with the cheese fondue course at Geja's. I'm not sure what ended up happening or how the preparation differs from the various fondue restaurants I've visited—or even if I got a bad batch—but the taste and texture reminded me of a thick alfredo sauce. And no burnt cheese stuck to the bottom of the pot.

Despite the lackluster cheese course and forgettable salad, the main course was very good. And the dessert was fantastic. If you visit, don't skip the dessert. That's my only recommendation.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Love this place - so cozy and romantic, and the food is phenomenal! Do not miss!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fireplace, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great place for date night! Will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The ambiance was wonderful but the value was terrible. We were hungry afterwards. May be good for expensive appetizers they call a meal but not for a meal.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So romantic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Server very good and on point. Amazing food. Perfect valentine's day dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The fondue was great! Ill go back for that. The food was good, but very small portions for $55 pp. Nice place to go for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

So fun! Very nice ambiance and romantix

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent, attentive service. Outstanding variety and HUGE portions. Great for any special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It was my first Chicago Restaurant Week experience and it was fabulous. The staff was professional and friendly treated us very well. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I've been meaning to try fondue for a while now and this was a great choice. Food was delicious, at first I thought the portion given in regards to meat was small but with the vegetables & array of sauces it was perfectly filling. My favorite was the Sriracha sauce. And dessert was awesome! Perfect for a date or for fun. Well worth it, and I will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Geja's is a Chicago classic and there is a good reason it's been around since the '60's!

The service was great and fondue is a fun variation of a dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

As always the food was great and the service was attentive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First time ever trying find you and our waiter was extremely helpful in explaining the process. We had a nice private booth and the ambience was spectacular.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very romantic and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Good experience to have! But wasn't anything special in my mind. Side note: you will smell like food after your dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

First time at Geja cafe for both me and my fiance.

Great ambience and service, food was good in terms of portion and the fun that came with the fact that we had to cook them ourselves. The cooking time provided time for us to have slow conversation, and that was the best part.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service was great. Food didn't have much flavor. We may try the broth fondue next time to see if this makes a difference. The sauces were good however nothing special. Overall a good experience.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

So glad to have found Geja's through Restaurant Week in Chicago. Well worth the trip from Lake County for a very fun evening in great atmosphere, friendly servers, and so much delicious food and wine!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Everything was great! My friend and I enjoyed cooking our own food, Fun.. I'll definitely visit again

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a great time at Geja's. It's a great experience that I look forward to annually!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bringing friends for first time visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome as always the service and food are always top notch.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very romantic and quiet. Always come here for our anniversary. Won't change anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a phenomenal experience at Gejas's, it's without a doubt the ultimate dining experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was great. We love this spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was great and so was the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

There is no place like Geja's and no meal like a great fondue meal. Relaxing, from the salad to the cheese fondue to the beef and vegetables and on to the chocolate dessert, a meal that allows time to talk, to savor, to enjoy. We love fondue at home, but also look forward to the full panoply of tastes and enjoyment. If you have never tried it, you really should do yourself a favor!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great vegetarian options. Recommend using the vegetarian broth over the oil. Great wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and great food. Geja's is a yearly Birthday tradition for my wife.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Geja's restaurant is one of my all time favorites. It puts Melting Pot to shame (but I still love melting pot). It's so dark and cozy and romantic and the food is truly amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Experience was great. Was a little overpriced but you pay for the experience. Our server was AMAZING and helped make the night even more special.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Geja's Cafe was a very romantic place to have an intimate dinner. Fresh food, nice music, great ambiance.. Perfect place for a very special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was very good. Romantic, quiet, nice food. Price is a little bit high for what it is.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Quiet, intimate and cozy atmosphere. Needs a good dusting/cleaning and some updating.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Everything was wonderful but the front desk person must have cancelled our open table reservation instead of confirming it by mistake. We were seated promptly but I got a cancellation notice in my email and didn't receive OpenTable points. I have the receipt for the dinner as proof.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I loved the atmosphere- it was very intimate. The portions are a bit on the small side but when you are eating fondue, it's naturally a slower pace which makes it more filling. The food itself was wonderful and our waiter gave us an excellent wine suggestion which we thoroughly enjoyed. There was also live guitar music which was just the right volume and it definitely added to the atmosphere. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great! Very romantic atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.