About Gather

Voted “Best Restaurant in the Seaport District” by the Improper Bostonian for the last two years, Gather features inventive American fare. Signature dishes include Duck Tacos, Charred Octopus, Jambalaya and Braised Short Rib Gnocchi. Enjoy creative cocktails and an extensive wine list, along with a rotating craft beer selection. Gather is located in Boston’s Innovation Center, District Hall and has views of Boston Harbor along with multiple patios for seasonal al fresco dining and meetups with friends. Gather gift cards are also accepted at Anthem Kitchen + Bar in Faneuil Hall, City Table and City Bar in the Back Bay, and City Bar in the Seaport District.

75 Northern Ave
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
BAR
Mon-Wed ‘til 1am
Thurs-Sat ‘til 2am
Sun ‘til 12am

LUNCH/DINNER
Mon-Wed 11:30am – 10pm
Thurs-Fri 11:30am – 11pm
Sat 11am – 11pm
Sun 11am – 10pm

BRUNCH
Sat-Sun 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Seaport Boulevard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 982-7220

Website:
http://www.gatherboston.com/

Parking Details:
Meter parking throughout Seaport Square as well as lot parking for $15-17.

Public Transit:
Silver Line: Courthouse Station
15 minute walk from South Station

Executive Chef:
Dennis Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Located in Boston’s Home for Innovation, District Hall, Gather features inventive American cuisine by Chef Dennis Wilson. We are able to host events for 10-100 guests, and events for up to 450 guests in all of District Hall.

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Gill: (617) 982-7220

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Good for Groups (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Modern Decor (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Scenic View (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (7)
People Watching (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Waterfront (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Romantic (1)
Live Sports (0)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great! The drinks and food were just mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Very pleased with our graduation celebration meal. Thanks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Creative fresh menu with plenty of options to satisfy seafood lovers, meat lovers and veggie lovers. Creative fun cocktail menu. Vibrant atmosphere. Energetic volume level may be challenging for someone with hearing challenges as was the case with one in our party.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Got to sit outside on a nice evening. Everyone was happy with service and food. Will go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing as always. Great drink selection. The charred octopus was awesome as always and the peanut butter and fluff French toast is one of the best brunch items ever!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The grilled octopus was outstanding, the fish tacos were good but a bit bland, the spinach and artichoke pizza was a bit bland but a good portion, the chicken & waffle bites were exactly that–very small bites but delicious. The drinks and beer selection was good. Loved the atmosphere and decor. Great value for that location.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Comfort Food, Spicy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was outstanding, service wonderful

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My vegetable omelet with home fries was delish! Good Bloody Mary too.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great neighborhood place for business lunch or dinner; Sunday brunch or just a get together with friends.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Organic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Gather is one of our family's favorite spots in all of Boston. the location is perfectly situated in seaport away from the tall buildings with unhindered views of the water across the lovely public green space. the decor is modern rustic with tall ceilings giving it a spacious feel. the service is always top notch with sincere waitstaff who are never pushy or overly chatty. our favorite dishes are off the brunch menu (some are offered at dinner too)-- chicken and waffle bites, duck tacos, steak and eggs, and the fluffer nutter French toast!! the chicken and waffle bites are perfect for sharing or even a great entree for kids. the duck tacos have a Korean flare with kimchee in them--sounds weird but so delicious if you like a spicy kick. the steak and eggs come with a hollandaise sauce that make it special. the fluffer nutter French toast is really rich and sweet but if you like peanut butter and marshmallows, it is so decadent and you can't stop eating it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

In my reservation I requested outdoor seating but we were originally sat inside. Service was slow. Our drinks stayed empty majority of the time we were there, including our water. I had the Eggs Florentine, the eggs were over cooked. Nice outdoor area, majority of the patio is not in direct sunlight - probably a good outdoor seating area when its really hot. The place has potential but they need more experienced staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ordered the rabbit and was disappointed with how dry it was. The tartar for the fish and chips was also dry, but the fries were well-seasoned. I'd recommend going here for drinks and snacks-- the best part of this meal was the duck tacos and the blueberry mule was well-flavored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great experience, had been here before for drinks. Steak Frites were great but Fish & Chips were very bland, no taste. Chips & Dip appetizer had great flavor.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place is just ok. It's near the ICA which is nice and they have an outdoor dining section which is great in the summer. The staff is young and a bit inexperienced but super sweet. The food always lets me down though. Good ideas but not executed that well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food here was mediocre at best but I do give it points for ambiance as well as delicious cocktails. Shrimp appetizer was decent but it's deep fried which was not noted on the menu. Entrees were just average. Short rib gnocchi was just ehhh and my fiancé thought the duck was very average as well. Overall: not bad but definitely not worth what they are charging.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

amazing service, awesome food...just a very positive experience.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Hadn't been here for brunch yet--I've been for dinner and drinks and appies when the weather's nice because it's wonderful to sit outside. We were impressed, although the service was a bit slow (we waited for more than 20 minutes for a coffee). Bloody Mary could be a lot sexier and interesting (that's one of my yardsticks for measuring a good vs a great brunch!). I'd definitely go back, especially when the weather's better. My mate ordered chicken & waffles because he'd never had it before and really loved it--although we had to ask for maple syrup (should come with it). My market vegetable omelet was delicious (had to ask for hollandaise which made it ever better), and the potatoes were perfect.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had good vibe & lots of potential but disappointing. Brought 2 0f 3 meals out, 1 was overcooked & brought back. 3rd came later. Forgot drink order. Very gracious & apologetic & bought the round of drinks & comp'ed the late dinner. Tasted fine, nothing special. Veggie sides were good.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great view and space. Interesting food. In a great part of town.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fun, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Cafeteria ambiance. Chili was delicious. My husband dod not like lobster salad. He said the dressing was terrible. Not impressed with the venue. Up and coming neighborhood.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food. Good service. nice casual restaurant for lunch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food and drink were un-even. Meat pie much too fatty (as mentioned by the carnivore of the crowd), Jambalaya a bit too salty but otherwise flavorful, salmon portion small with good accompaniments but felt overpriced for what was delivered. Cocktails okay- Old Fashioned was overly whiskeyed-- not enough bitters or citrus flavor. Very nice ambiance, and I'd return to have something simple from the menu.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Generous portions - excellent food. Had the octopus - highly recommend - and the carrots were perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Service was fast and food average.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came in for NYE dinner and there was a college looking party next door, which was fine except you had to walk through it to get to the bathroom. Food was over priced for the quality.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Since we were there NYE I don't want to judge the noise level - it was loud but there was a band at District next door which is not the norm. This was my second time to Gather and the food is excellent - last time it was warm out and I had the lobster cobb and this time it was cold out and I had the venison (a little on the spicy side for me but delicious). The meat and vegetables were cooked nicely - sometimes restaurants get one or the other right but not both. Drinks were tasty but my friend thought they were not strong enough - stick to wine if you want a good buzz. The selection of local and New England beers is good if you like hoppy stuff (I do!)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

$19 for a chicken cobb salad... c'mon. That's excessive. The chicken and waffles were horrible, waffles were way too sweet and the chicken was dry. There are much, much better spots on the waterfront than Gather. Dinner on a Friday night at 7:00 and there were about 4 couples in the entire place (including us).

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was excellent. The wine list a bit limited. The service was excellent. Our waiter was charming, attentive and great with recommendations for dinner. Definitely would go again. Just a bit cavernous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Really good no nonsense food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had a girls Christmas dinner. Nice open space. Good food, quick service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Pretty expensive meal overall for what you get but par for the course in seaport. So so service and did not elaborate on any of the items on the menu. Expected more for the price point.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dined at Gather on Thanksgiving and opted for their holiday special. The food was excellent, portion sizes were just right for a holiday meal, and the service was attentive. Definitely interested in returning another time to try the regular menu which looked very enticing.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The photos on the website are misleading. They were so pixelated that what looked like chandeliers were actually bare light bulbs. The decor is industrial, floors concrete, small noisy place not suitable for a business dinner. There's some kind of pop up beer bar across the hall in semi-raw space and there's no door in between. It was full of loud people and the noise carried throughout. Not up to Open Table standards. We almost turned around when we arrived but we didn't have time to search for another place. Would have been happier if we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great ambiance and good choice of food. Lovely atmosphere. The lobster roll was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was mediocre at best. Good drinks. Service was quick. Warm table water. Eh

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The place was conveniently located near the new convention center at the seaport. The food was average at best. Drinks were fine but with the other options in the area, this place needs to be better and bigger than the others. It is a very institutional atmosphere. Food was ok, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

If you're in the area and looking for a place to meet it's an ok location.
While modern and clean, the ambience is rather cold. Feels as if the place lacks warmth.
Food was ok, Beer election good. Food slightly overpriced. They don't validate garage parking, so unless you catch a space on the street, add 20-35$ to your meal.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The menu looked awesome. The execution left something to be desired. We had the duck tacos as an appetizer. They were fine but could have been made of any meat when drowned in that much sauce. The duck breast entree was over cooked and dry. I want to like this place and will try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Been here several times - consistently good food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was quite good. Service was marginal. We had to chase our server down twice. We were early, so no excuse for being busy. Still had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.