About Gather

Voted “Best Restaurant in the Seaport District” by the Improper Bostonian for the last two years, Gather features inventive American fare. Signature dishes include Duck Tacos, Charred Octopus, Jambalaya and Braised Short Rib Gnocchi. Enjoy creative cocktails and an extensive wine list, along with a rotating craft beer selection. Gather is located in Boston’s Innovation Center, District Hall and has views of Boston Harbor along with multiple patios for seasonal al fresco dining and meetups with friends. Gather gift cards are also accepted at Anthem Kitchen + Bar in Faneuil Hall, City Table and City Bar in the Back Bay, and City Bar in the Seaport District.

75 Northern Ave
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
BAR
Mon-Wed ‘til 1am
Thurs-Sat ‘til 2am
Sun ‘til 12am

LUNCH/DINNER
Mon-Wed 11:30am – 10pm
Thurs-Fri 11:30am – 11pm
Sat 11am – 11pm
Sun 11am – 10pm

BRUNCH
Sat-Sun 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Seaport Boulevard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 982-7220

Website:
http://www.gatherboston.com/

Parking Details:
Meter parking throughout Seaport Square as well as lot parking for $15-17.

Public Transit:
Silver Line: Courthouse Station
15 minute walk from South Station

Executive Chef:
Dennis Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Located in Boston’s Home for Innovation, District Hall, Gather features inventive American cuisine by Chef Dennis Wilson. We are able to host events for 10-100 guests, and events for up to 450 guests in all of District Hall.

Private Party Contact:
Sheila Gill: (617) 982-7220

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gather Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Casual (15)
Waterfront (15)
See All
Scenic View (13)
Fun (11)
Great Beer (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for a Date (10)
People Watching (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tapas (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was awesome, menu had a bit of everything but without being overwhelming. Service left something to be desired, though. Felt like we were always looking around for our waitress, the table was dirty with appetizer plates for about 10+ minutes after we finished eating, and my wife had to wait 15 minutes to get a glass of champagne refreshed. For a dinner and drinks that topped $300 for 4 people, i expect some better attention.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Delicious, nice menu choices (steamers were delicious). Servers were great. We sat at high table in dining room and had great time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We loved Gather for a Saturday birthday lunch after spending the morning at ICA. The food could not have been tastier, and our server nailed it.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great restaurante, the Tuna Poke was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Basically, meh. Food not great. Quiet because it was early on a Sunday afternoon with great weather, so not many people dining in. If it were full and noisy, it would have made the shortcomings (so-so everything) even more glaring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great location, nice ambience/lighting, and great food. We were totally impressed. The view was somewhat diminished by the construction, but that will eventually end. We had the chopped salad and salmon dish, and both were great. Good beer selection too.

We came for a pre-concert meal, and it was a great call. The prices were very reasonable too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This is one of our favorite Boston restaurants, food is delicious, service excellent and all in all a great place to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I'm sorry this net just ik

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great cocktails and apps. Cool ambiance. Great for post work drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Delicious steak and fish tacos. The waitress was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Gather is a really quaint restaurant with exceptional food and good service. Construction around it makes the ambiance to be desired but great food and drinks overcompensates for that. Definitely coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2017

So so so Good! I could not say enough good things about this restaurant. We had a reservation online and we were seated right away. They also gave is the option of dining outside. We ce for Sunday brunch. Absolutely wonderful! The mimosas were heavenly! We ordered the chicken and waffle bites and I tried my first ever oyster so delicious. For our main my husband ordered their burger that had monster and gooey onions superb. I had the duck tacos which were devine and our friend had the eggs Florentine which she couldn't get enough of. We would have had dessert but we had to get to our phenomenal segway tour. We will definitely be back again. Such an enjoyable experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food and drinks were great. Unique choices of appetizers, but everything was fresh and delicious. Service was quick. The only negative I have to say was regarding the exercise class that was going on next door. We sat outside because it was a nice summer night, but on the green next to the patio was a fitness class with a loud instructor shouting instructions. After a while we all were able to ignore the noise, but it definitely was apparent at first. On the bright side, the food was very flavorful and my salmon was cooked perfectly. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

In all fairness, there was an after wedding party taking place at the venue making it very loud and hard to get good service. Waited at a table 15 minutes after being seated before a server arrived. We had raw oysters and they arrived at the table with the handle end of our serving forks sitting in the open oysters. That was disappointing. I do however highly recommend the grilled octopus and the tuna poke. If I was in the area I might go back but it wouldn't be a destination restaurant for me.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Went here with my 2 teenaged children, we were staying nearby for the Boston Comic Con. There was live music being played nearby, it was a lovely evening outside. The kids enjoyed their meal - we had the chicken & waffle bites for an appetizers, those were YUMMY! Our waitress was very kind and affable. The kitchen was quick to get the meals out. I had the chopped salad with Shrimp and the kids had a burger and the Steak Frites. Only complaint, the steak was pretty small. It was tasty, but the serving wasn't that big. All were done to order. It was a nice meal and the live music at the nearby park, the service, the good food made it a wonderful experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Outdoor seating in South Boston, very close to the water and ICA. Construction in the immediate vicinity currently takes away from the ambience and made it a big tough to find/get to, but that should go away when the the construction is done. Food was very good. Clam chowder wasn't as loaded with clams as I like, but the taste was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I went to Gather for a Saturday night dinner with my parents (age 65-70). They love trying new places in Boston. We loved the food, great service, fantastic lightning. The mood is definitely casual chic. We loved everything we ate - chicken & waffle bites, burrata with plums and pesto for appetizers, I got the short rob gnocchi, my Mother got the pilsner battered fish and chips (she is a fish and chips lover and said it's 10 of 10 in her rating system 😁) and my father got the jambalaya. All were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My first time here, I like the services, but the food is not what I expected, my husband ordered fish & chips, tasteless, looks like it's was fried with old oil. Clam chowder wasn't that good either. I got grilled burger, it's just like any other burger. Duck tacos is ok. But we might give it another chance someday order different food see if it's better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Waited several minutes while Host talked with several wait staff about uncooperative customers. Restaurant was uncomfortably hot and too loud for easy conversation. Decent food, but not good enough to return to an uncomfortable location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very enjoyable overall. Ambiance was distracted by constructed by construction. Recommended but would like to go again once the area is better established.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The experience is fine overall-- we shared an app and an entree and unfortunately the schnitzel entree was pretty tasteless. Had a good experience here last year and will probably try again, but avoid the schnitzel.

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was hit and miss. Duck tacos and oysters were amazing, sweet potato chips were undercooked and mealy, endive salad was a miss (too much greens, stems)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great night at Gather! Only disappointment was the construction happening outside, we came for the view and had to eat inside to avoid the noise. The waterfront view is obstructed with a fence while the construction is taking place.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Service was very quick which was perfect for a business lunch. Salad was very good but portion was not too generous; I had hoped for more shrimp considering the price paid to add them on. Would definitely return for the ambiance and service.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Slow service, tables dirty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We went here for the Game of Thrones brunch. It was nice to be down in the Seaport District, and the themed brunch was a lot of fun! The food was creative, and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Went to the Game of Thrones brunch. It was amazing! The staff had very creative names for both the cocktails and the meals. We had a great time and will definitely be returning. Delicious food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

GoT Brunch was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Ordered a burger cooked medium and when given the burger it looks more rare/raw than medium and was offered a new burger. Got the new burger and it was cooked well done. Very disappointing, although management did cover the cost of the burger.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing time at "Game of Thrones" brunch! Food was aptly named, decorations were on point, and the staff really got in on the fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I am vegan so menu options were limited, but I went with plans on eating the veggie burger.. which was VERY good! My friends were also very happy with their meals. We planned to eat inside because it was a humid night, but the restaurant was too hot to eat in. We ended up settling on the outdoor patio.. which could use some love... your only view is of construction which is less than appealing. Menu was was a bit pricey, but somewhat in line with the seaport area. I'm not sure I would rush back here, but would be willing to go again if another friend suggested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Went for Game of Thrones brunch. It was epic! Great decor, GoT soundtrack playing, witty menus. The food was good and the service was great. Will be back for regular brunch soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My three friends and I ordered plates and the food was amazing, especially the duck tacos (and tuna poke, and house made chips). I had the seasonal ICA gum cup which was also great. The service was very good as well. However, I didn't like the too-open concept (with the restaurant attached to what looked like a function hall) and the noise level made it very difficult to hear any conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This was my second visit. It was very nice to be outside and enjoy a beautiful summer night with views of the harbor. Free Boston exercise classes in the park next to Gather made it a bit noisy but out of the control of the restaurant. The location will be even better when all of the surrounding construction is finished.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food was just okay, service was attentive. Problem was that there was no air conditioning and it was a hot night. I found it ironic that I got emails, texts and a phone call confirming my reservation but they didn't feel obligated to tell me that their air conditioner was broken and had been for a few days according to waiter..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Cocktails were good, but disappointing that at 530 in the afternoon they were already out of sangria. Service was very good. Umbrellas were excellent -- we didn't have to run inside when it started to pour... Food was very good. Service was excellent. Waiter was there when we needed something, but didn't hover.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was neither horrible nor fabulous. Solid food, average service, psuedo industrial setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The mango in my salad was not ripe. I pointed this out to my waiter and he brought me a cup of more unripe mango. It is July. The mango should be ripe.

Construction in front impacts outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This place was better in theory than in reality. A few really good menu items, but the rest was underwhelming and a little bit pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.