Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Gaspar Brasserie

Named Best French Bistro by San Francisco Magazine, Gaspar is a French brasserie offering modern mid-20th century Parisian style. Chef Adam Nichol offers a menu of approachable French classics updated to showcase the Bay Area's freshest ingredients. At lunch and dinner, Gaspar offers an escape from the bustling downtown. From steak frites and a famous burger to seared foie gras and fresh seafood featured on our all day menu, Gaspar offers French flair without being intimidating.

On Saturday evenings, enjoy live jazz and vintage cocktails in our upstairs dining room or cozy Cognac room - a destination of its own for San Francisco's largest selection of brandy cocktails.

On weekday afternoons from 4-6pm, social hour offers $1 oysters and an extensive selection of bites to share.

185 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
All day Menu:
Monday thru Friday 11:30 am to 10 pm
Saturday 5:30 to 10 pm

Social Hour:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-6:00pm

Cross Street:
Kearny St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 576-8800

Website:
http://gasparbrasserie.com/

Entertainment:
We're featuring live jazz on Saturday nights from 7 to 10pm.

Catering:
For unique dining experiences and special events, please contact Victoria at victoria.kreckler@aubonrepas.com or (415) 738-8045.

Parking Details:
The White House Garage located at 223 Sutter St, or the Post Montgomery Center at 120 Kearny Street are two convenient parking locations near by.

Public Transit:
Gaspar is conveniently located 2 blocks from the Montgomery BART Station, and the Number 3, 30, and 45 Muni stops.

Executive Chef:
Adam Nichol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to find out about our special offsite and onsite events! facebook.com/gasparbrasserie.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Transport your private event to Paris. Gaspar Brasserie offers two levels of mid-century French elegance, each with a distinctive personality. Celebrate over lunch, gather around the bar after-work, or linger over a multi-course dinner. Private and semi-private spaces for groups of 20 to 120.

Gaspar Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Cozy (21)
Business Meals (14)
Live Music (13)
Authentic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fun (5)
Historic (4)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect French dining experience. Wonderful decor, classic cuisine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It's really overpriced for what you get. The portion size is small, and the food has no flavor. They didn't even bother to remove the tough bits of the vegetables they serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Very Delightful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Second visit for a group of sorority sisters "of a certain age". All 5 of us had the croque monsieur, because it was soooo good in March. This time it was just OK.... Service and ambience excellent, as before!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My wife and I went to Gaspar Brasserie for an impromptu dinner on a Sat night. There was a Jazz band upstairs. The bartender was very nice, but then we took our table for dinner and things went downhill. Our server did not show up for 10-15 minutes, our fist 2 appetizers, which we had asked to be sequenced, came out together. The escargot was fair, the little gem salad was bland. No server in sight for at least another 20 minutes. I finally got up, found another server and asked to see ours. When she arrived, we informed her that we were leaving and to cancel our entree order. The manager did that and apologized, but it was time to move to another place that has staff that can cover their tables adequately...which we found at Le Central...great food and great service.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and the service was absolutely awesome! Our waitress was very friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Went to Gaspar with a work colleague to catch up. The Hostess called me beforehand to confirm and ask if I had any special requests (I didn't) or if anyone had allergies to keep in mind (my colleague does). Taking note of the allergies, she promised to let our server and the kitchen know. When we arrived and were greeted, the host confirmed the allergies, which was such a great personal touch. Our server did the same and checked everything we ordered as well. Great service all around.

The food was superb. We started with some selections of fromage and they were all so very tasty. I then had the beet salad and the scallops entree and both were great. My friend had the onion soup and roasted chicken and loved those too. We both had a different red wine with our meal and they have a very good selection of wines by the glass. Portions were very good - not too much but definitely a filling meal. I would go there again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Top notch food in a relaxed atmosphere. One of our favorites!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fabulous, per the usual! I loved eating the fish croquettes and scallops. So tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great ambiance and great food. Beautiful decor and a romantic / cozy atmosphere. Can get loud at times, especially upstairs when there is live music. Downstairs also nice with a beautiful bar and quieter space.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Location is convenient, lighting is dim but respectable, seating comfortable, service outstanding and food to die for. A very enjoyable first night in San Fran and somewhere we'd definitely come back to if we pass through again. Cocktails were a highlight!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Don't order the lamb- so dry in spite of being stewed.
I remember different cocktails bring better, so I'm not sure why they pulled them from the list. Foie gras was ok, but not flavorful.
Wait staff didn't come by often enough to accommodate drinks to go with specific dishes.
I'll stick to Saturday nights with live jazz- maybe that's when they have their A-game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The real deal with regard to Classic French dinning. Great service, cocktails done to specifications, quiet enough for normal conversations and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I've been wanting to try Gaspar for some time now and finally made it there with a friend. Really nice atmosphere at the bars both upstairs and downstairs. We both really enjoyed the food--French bistro classics like steak frites, cassoulet, French onion soup, etc. Would like to come back here a few more times, particularly to check out the happy hour specials, which seem like a great deal.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great! Especially for a last minute get-together with 10 people (must admit.... none of them are planners). Everyone loved the food which is pretty darn hard to do with a group that size. =D

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Returning for sure. Just a great evening. Menu was wonderful. Everything I generous and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Saturday Night at an Oasis
Last time I went service was sub-par but Gaspar didn't ignore it. They contacted me and hoped I would return. I did. They were on their game for sure. We were seated right away, close to but not too close to the live jazz being played, given complementary champagne, and served courteously and promptly. The salads (beet and little gem) were wonderful and the main courses, steak au poivre and a lamb pasta dish were delicious. Every note was a high note. I haven't ever seen a restaurant go to such lengths to make up for an off night. But I also didn't sense we were being treated differently from others while we there. The other time was the anomaly: this was the real deal. Gaspar is definitely a great "go to" restaurant for French food with a flair. Merci, Gaspar.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A good find near Union Square Gaspar was a great experience. Upstairs or downstairs dining with Live Jazz. Atmosphere was great & the food outstanding. The Roasted Tomato Bisque en Croute was superb. The service was over the top with even the chef coming out to greet us with our entree.
Highly recommended and definitely will be back again

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

First time and we were very impressed. Beautiful decor and feel. We sat downstairs and it was private and romantic. The food was delicious. Must have some cheeses. Very French. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything about our meal was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We ate downstairs which is much quieter than upstairs, a larger dining area. Nora, our waitress, was attentive but not intrusive, affable and efficient. The skirt steak was prepared as ordered and hot; my wife enjoyed her braised rib with properly cooked vegetables. Our starter salad with light vinegarette dressing on greens seated on a yogurt base was perfect. We enjoyed the experience and would return when next in San Francisco.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

pretty good french bistro, a bit pricey but overall a nice lunch. nothing too exceptional though.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Second time at this restaurant, and we will return! Had a great table for quiet conversation and will request it again! 5 stars for the croque-monsieur! Ditto for the hamburger!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall is very good restaurant. I just expect that their cocktails will be more creative for the craft cocktail bar but it's just moderate. Food is good though.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We like to share quiet dinners which are hard to find. Sitting downstairs at Gaspar rather than upstairs where it is much livelier was a delight for us. The beef short rib recommended by our waiter and the host was outstanding. We also loved the pot de creme we had for dessert. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Outstanding cuisine. The short ribs were fantastic and the wine list complimented the menu. The service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Dinner with my brother was a delight! The staff was very attentive and entertaining- a lot of professional character! The food was amazing- Caesar salad with Brussels sprouts, tomato soup en croute (perfection) and the steak frites! The potato leek soup was a standout hit! Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really great environment with equally great food and service!!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This place is one of my new favorites. The bistro fare was very delicious and the service was fantastic...from the waiter that greeted us, to the host, to our wonderful server. All excellent! We had the seafood beignets...so fresh...just divine! My friend had the confit and I had the tuna nicoise salad. Both very good. The ambiance is lovely and my friend visiting from out of town enjoyed Gaspar very much.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great service and
Delicious French food. The live
Music compliments the meal. This is a real gem
In the neighborhood

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

on a slide?
Gaspar has very good food, but. We booked for 6:45 and were told to wait 10 minutes. Finally, a table in a half empty room! What was that about? And with no true apology or attempt to help us feel welcome as we just had to mill around in a crowded entrance.
Then the waiter came, once; we weren't ready, and he then disappeared for 15 minutes. After a good dinner, surrounded by near hysterical patrons with shrieky laughs that may be peculiar to certain semi-friends and groups where announcing one's having a great time to all around you is vital, we then waited another 15-20 for our not too busy waiter to reappear to take a dessert order. And then another delay with the check.
Other times have been better so can't tell if this was an exception or the new rule.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

we enjoyed the food. I'm not sure it's really French, but some kind of Americanized French.

We had good service, but not great. For example, we had a wine that we didn't like and they traded it out (after pouring) and gave a few samples first.

The table got a little messy though and they didn't clean that during the meal.

Nice ambiance though - but don't let them seat you wherever. Pick a seat that you like.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great restaurant... service was excellent, food was amazing, atmosphere was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Horrible service. SUPER SLOW and inattentive. Didn't see the same server twice. 45 minutes for oysters and a salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

great service and delicious food, was there for the happy hour, some food from the menu are $7 during happy hour time 4-6pm

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place would be perfect if the food was mind blowing. Unfortunately it was good/okay but not memorable. To be fair this is based on the Vday pre fixed menu so that might be a reason. I'll be back to try more of the food a la carte and to drink.

Goes to show that a good vibe/ambiance, excellent service and outstanding decor can make someone WANT to love this place...I'm just not there yet. Hopefully soon though.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been here twice now, on and off Valentines Day. On special occasions such as Valentines day, or other holidays where a fixed price menu is included, the place becomes a money-grab. You could go to a 2 Michelin star place for the same price.

On normal days, the food is well-made, there is good portion sizes, presentation, and generally high quality service and ambiance. The cost is perhaps 1.5x more than comparable restaurants for the quality of the food.

On abnormal days, they stuff tables to twice capacity (A table for 2 is fit within hands easy reach of other tables on either side), making the place too loud for normal conversation, ruining the ambiance and service of the place. Make sure to avoid places like this on such special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Seated at the bar on Valentine's Day. Didn't know what to expect, but everything was top notch!! Excellent food, drink, and service. Some of the best foie gras we've ever has in the US.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Really nice place to take coworkers, great food and nice decor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.