Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Gaspar Brasserie

Named Best French Bistro by San Francisco Magazine, Gaspar is a French brasserie offering modern mid-20th century Parisian style. Chef Michael Reyes offers a menu of approachable French classics updated to showcase the Bay Area's freshest ingredients. At lunch and dinner, Gaspar offers an escape from the bustling downtown.

On Saturday evenings, enjoy live jazz and vintage cocktails in our upstairs dining room or cozy Cognac room - a destination of its own for San Francisco's largest selection of brandy cocktails.

On weekday afternoons from 4-6pm, social hour offers $1 oysters and an extensive selection of bites to share.

185 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
All day Menu:
Monday thru Friday 11:30 am to 10 pm
Saturday 5:30 to 10 pm

Social Hour:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-6:00pm

Cross Street:
Kearny St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 576-8800

Website:
http://gasparbrasserie.com/

Entertainment:
We're featuring live jazz on Saturday nights from 7 to 10pm.

Catering:
For unique dining experiences and special events, please contact Victoria at victoria.kreckler@aubonrepas.com or (415) 738-8045.

Parking Details:
The White House Garage located at 223 Sutter St, or the Post Montgomery Center at 120 Kearny Street are two convenient parking locations near by.

Public Transit:
Gaspar is conveniently located 2 blocks from the Montgomery BART Station, and the Number 3, 30, and 45 Muni stops.

Executive Chef:
Michael Reyes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow us on facebook to find out about our special offsite and onsite events! facebook.com/gasparbrasserie.com

Specials

Complementary paired Sips and Bites from Gaspar
Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Complementary paired Sips and Bites from Gaspar
Details

Gaspar Bite: foie gras mousse, pain de mie, amarena cherries begin with a sip of Brut NV Francois Montand, Cremant de Jura ; finish the meal with a taste of Sandeman Founder’s Reserve Port

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 20 diners. Excludes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: August 29, 2017

Ends: December 31, 2017

Availability: Mon-Sat 6:00PM-7:30PM 9:00PM-10:00PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Transport your private event to Paris. Gaspar Brasserie offers two levels of mid-century French elegance, each with a distinctive personality. Celebrate over lunch, gather around the bar after-work, or linger over a multi-course dinner. Private and semi-private spaces for groups of 12 to 120.

Gaspar Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Business Meals (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Live Music (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Another fabulous experience at Gaspar. Brought my boss this time. He's very impressed that Jaime was so accommodating and attentive. It's my favorite place to bring people during the workweek for lunch. We also like it for pre-theater. Food is always delicious and the staff are wonderful.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Very enjoyable experience in the convenience of our hotel. Nice surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It was wonderful, as always. Loved the live jazz band! Loved getting the extra special complimentary appetizer, champagne, and Port! Thank you!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

A pleasure to go here for the French Brasserie feel and enjoy the food here.. the bartender is also easy going and can whip up a drink even off menu. Food is excellent and worth the price..

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The staff take extra special care of diners and make a big difference in enjoying our meal.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Outstandingly good food in a genuinely French ambience, with an exceptionally attentive General Manager!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Marginal food, ok service, closed down kitchen before we were done with the meal, which was plenty expensive. Basically felt like we were rushed and then wanted us out. Again, expensive meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Waitress had little experience. Escargot was chewy & the butter sauce ordinary. Bread was stale and the main courses unremarkable. Will not recommend or go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I'm visiting from Hawai'i and I absolutely love this place! After stumbling upon this modest gem during my last visit in June 2015, I've been dreaming about their magic menu selections and superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always a great meal, great service and the jazz band on Saturday nights is not bad

Tags: Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had the duck confit, and French onion soup, both very nice. Excellent service, and really gorgeous decor. Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

It's a nice blend of casual and formal enough for business. The character is fitting of SF and the food and service are very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Good food, great ambiance and friendly staff. Will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Wonderful place with terrific food and service. The menu is perfect. Lovely wines too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 12, 2017

All-around excellent, under the meticulous and charming supervision of Philippe Isnard.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great experience. The tartare and bone marrow were particularly memorable. The service was incredible. Thank you for a great meal!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Nice space. Very cool
Upstairs bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Gaspar is a cute French bistro located in Union Square, Great happy hour with $1 oysters, and $7 appetizers and drinks. Special thanks to Bob, the host, Nora, bartender, and Ben, our server,: everyone was so friendly and still professional. We will definitely be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Two older women friends who live in different cities getting together for good food and conversation. We opted to sit downstairs vs upstairs where live jazz was playing so we could talk. Service was great. Beautiful large fresh salads. One had the pork chop w huckleberries and outstanding sauce; the other had the salmon dish, simply delicious.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food, solid drink menu, and great atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Friendly yet inept service. We arrived for our 7:30pm reservation and there were still tables available, indicating that they were not "slammed" with business. We patiently waited and finally ordered our wine and appetizers first and a little bread please. The waiter did not return with the bread. We asked a bus person, they did not return with bread. The wine arrived after about 15 minutes with our waiter and we asked him for bread again. He returned with a few pieces of dried out bread. Now, It was a Friday, bakers work all night Thursdays and fresh bread should have been no problem. Our ($50+) bottle of red wine was hard on the edge of tasting "corked". My wife said it was ok and I didn't want to risk another interminable wait. We waited and waited ever so patiently and asked for more bread. Again, a few pieces of dried out bread. The appetizers never arrived and suddenly, after about 20 minutes our main course arrived with a bus person - first a steak and then about 10 minutes later an order of scallops and a side of mashed potatoes. Looked superb but the scallops were cold. I sent them back and after a while (seriously) got them back on a very warm plate but the scallops were still only slightly warm. Did I mention that the on the ball staff never gave us a serving spoon for the almost warm mashed potatoes?
The Maitre d' later offered us deserts on the house, they were good, however he never so much as apologized for the forgotten appetizers, or cold food, nor did our waiter. My impression is that they just are not organized, not pro and it almost ruined our wonderful romantic dinner. It's a good thing we are both friendly, patient people. Never, not even a little did we loose our tempers to the waiter or bus folks. We saw it as being humorous in a surrealistic kind of way, somewhat like a Fellini movie. We finally got out of there at 10pm. Happy Bastille Day.
We won't go there again... pretty good food, but served cold due to really disorganized service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everyone was fun and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great ambience, beautiful decor and excellent food

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Gaspar is quintessentially french in every respect. I like the cafe/brassiere ambiance that makes it special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very quiet and romantic place! Live music and great service! Highly recommend to others!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Live Music, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was amazing! I had the scallops and was so flavorful. My server from holland delivered the best service ever!

The chocolate cake was out of this world!

Thank you Chef Michael for your passion and creating these amazing dishes!

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great atmosphere, food was good, however the charcuterie was a rip off.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The staff was warm and friendly without being obtrusive, the food was delicious, and I particularly enjoyed listening to the jazz guitar duo.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

From our first contact while placing reservations to our departure, service was top notch. Friendly wait staff, attentive but not hovering. French cuisine was prepared beautifully with touches from the local farmers' market. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

No Bathroom, so have to walk into the hotel to use the restroom.

Very slow service. Took 45 minutes to cook a 2 medium rare steaks. Our table ordered 2 steaks, salmon and a burger. All should take less than 15-20 minutes to cook... unless you literally have one chef doing all the work or the waitress forgot.

Bad waitress.
- Our drinks were sitting there for 10 mins before she brought them over.
- Asked for ketchup for fries 3 times before she finally brought over an OUNCE of ketchup for 3 people who ordered fires. What are we supposed to share it?

Bus boys and the water guy was good at their jobs.

I literally work on Montgomery, figured it was a good place to check out after work. WILL NOT be coming back here or recommending it to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always amazing here, they treat industry people like queens and kings. Server was awesome and very well informed about allergies. The wings are amazing can't wait to come back for happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 13, 2017

My first visit to Gaspar was a lovely engagement. A varied menu offers numerous scrumptious dishes. The waiter was very articulate and knowledgeable about the menu and was helpful in our selection of the escargot and the Croque Monsieur with paired wines. We dined in the lower restaurant's intimate atmosphere for a very nice experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Nicely appointed restaurant. Lovely staff. Wine list is notable for the aggressive pricing. Kitchen has hits and misses. Portion size is also a problem. I would go back for a cocktail and perhaps an appetizer if I was in the neighborhood.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I'm from Canada but my fiancé and I are getting married in the Bay Area. We booked our reception at Gaspar Brasserie without ever having tried it. Yesterday, while visiting San Francisco for the NBA Finals, we finally had the opportunity to sample the food, and we certainly were not disappointed! Everything we had was delicious, but what really made the evening special was the thoughtfulness of our server, Anouk, and the extra effort that the GM, Phillipe, made to ensure we felt welcome and special.

I'm so happy we chose Gaspar Brasserie to be part of our wedding day - it really is a special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We were greeted warmly and presented glasses of champagne as we were celebrating our anniversary. We shared the turnip soup, boat scallops and pork chop, each of which was very creative and delicious. Service was prompt, informed and friendly. Red leather and wood ambiance. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Perfect French dining experience. Wonderful decor, classic cuisine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It's really overpriced for what you get. The portion size is small, and the food has no flavor. They didn't even bother to remove the tough bits of the vegetables they serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very Delightful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Second visit for a group of sorority sisters "of a certain age". All 5 of us had the croque monsieur, because it was soooo good in March. This time it was just OK.... Service and ambience excellent, as before!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife and I went to Gaspar Brasserie for an impromptu dinner on a Sat night. There was a Jazz band upstairs. The bartender was very nice, but then we took our table for dinner and things went downhill. Our server did not show up for 10-15 minutes, our fist 2 appetizers, which we had asked to be sequenced, came out together. The escargot was fair, the little gem salad was bland. No server in sight for at least another 20 minutes. I finally got up, found another server and asked to see ours. When she arrived, we informed her that we were leaving and to cancel our entree order. The manager did that and apologized, but it was time to move to another place that has staff that can cover their tables adequately...which we found at Le Central...great food and great service.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.