Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About G by Mike Isabella


Chef Mike Isabella opened G next to the original Kapnos on 14th Street in July 2013. G is a casual, contemporary Italian restaurant and sandwich shop with a full-service bar that is open daily for lunch and dinner. The all-day menu offers a full selection of of sandwiches, antipasti and pastas, such as G’s spiced baby goat sandwich, arancini and delicious mushroom ravioli. The 6-seat bar area is home to an Italian-inspired cocktail program. Each week, Chef Isabella presents Sunday Gravy, a recreation of his family’s traditional end-of-the-week feasts. Expect classics like crispy calamari, a classic Caesar salad, house-made spaghetti served with pomodoro sauce and a traditional meat gravy with meatballs, sausage and pork shoulder.

2201 14th Street NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - 11:00am - 10:00pm
Tuesday - 11:00am - 10:00pm
Wednesday - 11:00am - 10:00pm
Thursday - 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday - 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday - 11:00am-6:00pm, 6:00pm-10:00pm (Sunday Gravy)

Happy Hour everyday from 5pm-7pm.

Cross Street:
14th and W

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 234-5015

Website:
http://gbymikeisabella.com/

Catering:
Mike Isabella Concepts offers Italian and Sandwich catering. Please email events@kapnosdc.com for more information.

Parking Details:
G by Mike Isabella offers Valet Parking Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 5:00pm outside the Kapnos W Street entrance. Please note that Valet Service ends at close of service and is $15 per vehicle. Street parking can also be found nearby.

Public Transit:
G by Mike Isabella is located 3 blocks from U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo metro station (13th st & U st exit).

Executive Chef:
Mike Isabella

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@mikeisabella.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

G by Mike Isabella offers reservation of the entire G space for larger groups. Please email for more information.

G by Mike Isabella Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (6)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
See All
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Although there a lot of empty tables we had a good time and the food was good. Would recommend for casual dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Sunday Gravy was delicious but the service was off. We were almost finished with first course before the wine was served and then 5 or 6 dishes were served at the same time, a bit overwhelming and not the best experience. We were overcharged on the bill by almost $100 worth of cocktails we did not have and desserts which were included in the meal. The waiter corrected the bill. I am a huge fan of Kapnos next door, G's service was not up to Mike Isabella's standards in his other fine restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I went for the Sampling menu and wine pairing and was pretty disappointed. I have gone to Mike Isabellas other restaurant for the sampling and wine pairing (Graffiato) and the experience was far superior -- considering we paid the same price ($$$).

The server just plopped the food in front of us and scurried away without telling us anything about the dish, which is supposed to be part of the food sampling experience. The Meat from the meat and cheese starter was essentially deli meat. The pea tortellini was sour and unpleasant. The baked ziti was cheesy, but the pasta was destroyed into unrecognizable shrapnel. The Salmon had a nice flavor, but paired with an inappropriate wine. The dessert was a blondie (?!) or tiramisu pudding cup... I would not recommend wasting your money here. If the meal was 1/3 the price, then I still would not go back.

The team at G really needs to step it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wounderful food and great lively space! Second visit and it is better each time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Specialty cocktails crafted well. Thanx to Jaime for prompt and friendly service. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was just okay, and it was still pretty expensive. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wait staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived in the evening and went for the tasting menu with pairings. Portion size was very generous for a tasting menu. We loved the charcuterie board and dessert. Pasta course was quantity over quality. Pork Milanese had a white sauce which was very sweet and sugary - not a lemon-butter sauce. This seems to be an add-on to Kapnos vs. its own personality as even the charge came through as "Kapnos".

It was a good meal but we wouldn't go out of our way to go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food and friendly service. This is a place for a dependable, casual meal. Loved the cauliflower and the ziti. I will eat here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was good, service was great. The location is U street corridor so parking maybe an issue but it is a definite gem.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I wouldn't go back. The food was just ok, and the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food, amazingly creative as only Mike Isabella can do. Superb pastas. Most wines are overpriced but overall a meal at G is a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A wonderful way to end the weekend with friends. The family-style Sunday Gravy is delicious and plentiful and is a great value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Go for the Sunday gravy. $40 per person, HUGE amount of delicious food. Incredible value and delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The dinner experience at G has changed a good deal since my past visit; one can now have the sandwiches previously offered only at lunch. (At dinner they are set on a plate rather than wrapped in butcher paper.). Three of the four people in our party opted for the sandwiches, which I can heartily recommend based on over 20 lunchtime visits. I opted for some cured meats followed by a pasta dish; both were quite good. The restaurant was sparsely occupied during our visit, and as a result was very quiet, something that generally cannot be said of its next-door sibling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Third year doing the feast of the seven fishes...gets better every year. Great food...great wine...fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Went here to meet a friend on a Friday night for drinks/dinner. Didn't like one of their custom cocktails, and it was mostly ice and garnish. I switched to a regular martini at dinner and they didn't fill the glass enough both times. I was excited for the arancini, which were good themselves but I wasn't a huge fan of the sauce they came in.

I had the carbonara, which was not carbonara at all. it was smaller noodles and tasted like a mac n' cheese. The peas and pancetta weren't bad, but the sauce really tasted like it came from a box. Furthermore, it was super salty! I didn't finish it, and it wasn't because I was full.

The service was friendly, but slow. They need more people working here.

The sandwiches look good and I would only go back to try one of those and get it as takeout.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Stellar food all around. Went with a friend for Sunday Gravy which is $40/person. Being used to the small plates/tapas scene in town, we were shocked by how much food we were served for that price point. My friend and I could barely eat half and took him the other half for the next day's dinner. Wonderful price for the amazing and variety of food one receives. Appetizers, entrees and dessert were all yummy!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great atmosphere. Food was good. We tried a little of everything. Quick service and prices weren't bad. Would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

G was really good. The food is a good price, and it was very quick. I would recommend the sandwiches and the broccolini. If you are looking for a easy and tasty weeknight spot, I would definitely try G.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Italy)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food too spicy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had eaten at G about a year ago and really liked it. However, they have now changed the menu-no more interesting entrees, just what they call small plates that are really enough for two and pastas , pizza and salads. We each ordered a salad (each one was enough for two so one would have been enough but no one told us this). My Greek salad was fresh but drowning in capers. My partner's Caesar was blah. I ordered fried calamari/shrimp which was pretty tasteless and not enhanced by the accompanying tomato sauce. My partner had baked ziti which was served in a small iron skillet and looked like a big glop of pasta and melted cheese. He said it was spicy and just ok. All of this plus one glass of wine and a diet Coke was not cheap. $70 for a disappointing meal won't bring us back to G.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The place used to be good months ago and I made a reservation thinking that they still had the set menu. Now it is heavy, rich in carb Italian good. Unfortunatly I will not be going back.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Disappointing. Chicken parm sandwich was not made fresh. Breading on chicken was discolored and the basil in sandwich was black. Very few entrees to choose from. Vegetable side dishes are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The "Sunday Evening Gravy" is a terrific value and great and plentiful food. At $40 fixe prix for a four-course meal served to be shared family style, the food was plentiful and more than the two of us could finish. This is only available on Sunday evenings from 6pm to 10pm. Easily 1/4 of the food went home with us in containers to be savored again. While the "gravy" implies pasta and sauce, and there were such dishes, there was also a wonderful trio (separate dishes) of burrato, calamari and roasted brussel sprouts as the starter. The main and pasta dishes both had Italian 'gravy' (sauce) incorporated, and there was a dessert choice. Everything was wonderful - my nephew (a foodie) declared the spaghetti the best he's ever had, and I preferred the pepper-cream sauce on another pasta.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I went for dinner and must say the most stand-out aspect about this place for me was the value, the portions are large and the price is right. The atmosphere is pretty casual, you still feel like you are sitting in a sandwich shop, but the food was so good I'll be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Limited menu. Use a lot of hot spice. Ordered a simple side of spaghetti and the sauce was so hot had to send it back. Olives made your eyes water. There were 6 of us and the meals did not come out together and there was substantial time between serving them. Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Although the menu, unbeknownst to us, has changed, the chef made us a tasting menu feast. The service was attentive. Altogether special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Awful. Booked a reservation here prior to a show at the 9:30 club up the street. While nominally listed as Italian, there was nothing Italian about the menu except a few pasta dishes. The promotion as a "tasting menu" is completely inaccurate. We ordered 6 dishes comprising various sides, appetizers, and pastas to make an attempt at the tasting menu but each dish was a heaping pile of salty, oily, smoke infused disaster. Too large of portions and not one worth eating again. Our waiter specifically recommended we try the arancini appetizer, which we did. I kid you not, I think they served us Totino's pizza rolls in a ball form. I have had better food from school cafeteria vending machines. Next time I'll just get a plate of nachos at the show and save a hundred bucks for something else.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We arrive, and notice immediately that the AC was not working, and while the restaurant was fairly empty, no one welcomed us or offered water. We opted to leave after minutes due to the heat and lack of service. Won't be coming again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

A daytime sandwich shop offering a limited dinner menu in spare surroundings. But such great food, a terrific wine list, and a fine place to sit for a few hours with good friends while being well cared for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Traditional Italian dishes with a little bit of a unique twist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wonderful evening with friends. Had always wanted to try this restaurant and was very pleased with the menu offered during Restaurant Week. Very creative menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tasting menu food was fine (though nothing was especially outstanding) but we weren't impressed with the wine list. We chose 2 white and 2 red wines, all Greek - this seemed to be the specialty of the place, in fact they share both wine lists and bathrooms with Kapnos :). One of each was not good, and one of each was OK. Service was great, they were helpful with substitutions. Overall, while the food was absolutely enjoyable and we had a good time, it is not necessarily worth the price.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was raining and the valets didn't know a restaurant called G...bad start. But, the staff inside were helpful and our waitress was phenomenal. We had the chef's selection - the entree was skirt steak - great flavors and veggies but the meat was very chewy - the rest of the meal was yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was fantastic. The food was hit or miss: the appetizer plate was tasty and the diversity wonderful, but the carbonara was oversalted - we even had a replacement made, and it was still too salty. The tortellini was overlooked and mushy, but very flavorful. The tiramisu was ho-hum, but the tahini chocolate mousse was amazing. A very mixed experience. Would choose Kapnos over G.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service. The wine pairings were good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and idea. The tasting menu is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good, very creative and I thought it was delicious. I think the tasting menu is an odd concept for a casual restaurant like G, but you can order a la cart. The place was completely empty when I went, which could be good or bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been to G for both sandwiches at lunch and dinner multiple times. This is the first time we went for the "Sunday gravy" dinner and it was amazing. Way more food than we could possibly hope to eat and all of it was phenomenal. Highly recommend it to anybody who loves Italian cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Cheerful service but slow meal. We had reservations at 8:15, seated by 8:30 and did not finish their three course tasting menu until almost midnight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.