Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Laboratorio KitchenLaboratorio Kitchen
(227)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 17 times today
VillalobosVillalobos
(65)
$$$$
Mexican | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 36 times today
Halcyon BrasserieHalcyon Brasserie
(811)
$$$$
Seafood | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 29 times today
Costanera RestaurantCostanera Restaurant
(599)
$$$$
Peruvian | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 17 times today
Mesob Ethiopian RestaurantMesob Ethiopian Restaurant
(521)
$$$$
Ethiopian | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 26 times today
FascinoFascino
(1048)
$$$$
Italian | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 20 times today
Fresco Da FrancoFresco Da Franco
(284)
$$$$
Italian | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 14 times today
Laurel & SageLaurel & Sage
(242)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 25 times today
Turtle + the WolfTurtle + the Wolf
(193)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 20 times today
Palazzo RestaurantPalazzo Restaurant
(345)
$$$$
Italian | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 11 times today
Bistro 18Bistro 18
(301)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 6 times today
Highlawn PavilionHighlawn Pavilion
(1517)
$$$$
American | West Orange, New Jersey - North
Booked 33 times today
Noce77 RistoranteNoce77 Ristorante
(90)
$$$$
Italian | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 7 times today
Pig and PrincePig and Prince
(525)
$$$$
American | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 21 times today
Thai Chef - MontclairThai Chef - Montclair
(5)
$$$$
Thai | Montclair, New Jersey - North
Booked 3 times today

About Fricassee Bistro

6 Park St
Montclair, NJ 07042
View Larger Map

Fricassée is a French-style bistro that serves classic French cuisine in simple but elegant surrounds. Chef Mark Papera brings his wealth of experience to bear on an eclectic menu that features tasty hors d'oeuvre, frites and classic entrées such as foie de veau, a delicious serving of grilled calf liver, apple, spinach and onion with a touch of sherry vinegar over a bed of demi-glace.

Fricassée’s relaxed ambiance and creative menu make it an ideal choice for a quiet dinner. It is also a nice pick for special occasions or a romantic meal. Fricassée is open for dinner all through the week and for brunch Fridays to Sundays.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday: 11:30pm - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Park Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(973) 744-2191

Website:
http://www.fricasseebistro.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
There are many public parking lots in Montclair, New Jersey. The Crescent Deck, Church Street Lot and South Fullerton Deck are the closest to Fricassée Bistro. For more information on Montclair Parking, please visit this website: http://www.montclaircenter.com/visit_parking/

Executive Chef:
Mark Papera

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Sort By:
S
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of the best menus in a town ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2014

This is one of the best menus in a town full of great restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was very good....delicious mussels.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2014

The food was very good -- but not the service. 8:00pm reservation for 4 people. The table they wanted to seat is at was smack in the middle of serving traffic and near the kitchen. We had to wait an additional 20 minutes for a suitable table. Tight waiting area-in a single file against the front wall of the entrance. Friendly wait person. Two appetizers came and two appetizers did not. We had to wait another 5 minutes. The server (runner) was clueless as to who got what -- amateur. This also happened with the entrees---entrees placed on the table incorrectly. I know this is a local restaurant and that it was Saturday evening and busy, but please train your waitstaff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Good food but....

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2014

The food was good the surroundings could use some work. Noisy seating next to slamming door of next door bar. Dimly lit with many people resorting to cell phone flashlights to read the menu. Good food (hangar steak with frites, beef bourgonounge) which saved an otherwise shaky evening. Difficult to find a place to park as well. Too many other worthy establishments to try so may be back but it will be awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Overall amazing!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2014

I have high standards for my dining experience, Fricassee met all of it and exceeded. Service was as fantastic as the meal. Keith, the manager, is gifted. I can't wait to go back again! (BYOB)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

solid French bistro

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2014

Fricassee is a reliably very good French bistro that offers good value for wine collectors/lovers who love BYOB. The food and ambiance are very good. The space can get loud, but so can any good bistro in Paris!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

matthew

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2014

our waiter matthew was so very nice - personable and attentive. this is a very nice little restaurant and i would definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very Good not Outstanding

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 15, 2014

The atmosphere was bustling on a Wednesday night and the waiter was very pleasant. The snails in a pastry shell were delicious as was the French onion soup. The hanger steak was tasty and tender. The frites were a disappointment. In Paris I was used to a thin cut potato. These were regular fries you would get with any burger and not done crispy. My husband liked the fish in tomato/ saffron sauce but felt it was just ok not great. The menu could use a few more items. Very limited.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Everything was great, largest & best por ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2014

Everything was great, largest & best pork chop I can remember eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2014

We had previously visited Fricassee when it was under different owner. Upon arriving we could tell there had been a change for the better. The staff was very friendly and attentive to their customers. Service was good and best of all food was absolutely delicious!! Will definitely return!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious neighborhood Bistro

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2014

Great local bistro worth taking the drive to. Menu is a well edited, classic bistro menu where the chef gets to keep his attention focused. It shows. The colossal order of mussels, garlicky with wine and butter, is way too much for one person. Perfect for two or four to share as an appetizer. Crusty on the outside, chewy on the inside bread served on the table is perfect alone or used to sop up the broth from the mussels - you will want to get every last bit! The lobster bisque my husband had was almost as thick as a chowder with strong lobster flavor and chunks of meat. After sharing mussels I shared the tuna nicoise entre salad. A perfect salad with seared tuna, rare inside, sweet and meaty, the veggies fresh / bright to perfection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Disappointing

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2014

Even after a lackluster performance before the weekend, I returned with another group, a second time, AFTER the weekend because the second group wanted to give it a try. Besides a noise level which is off the charts, both times my meal came out lukewarm. The chicken with macaroni was overdone and tough and the hangar steak the second night looked like it had been thrown on my plate. When I sent it back, it came back even colder. The lemon tart we had for dessert was doughy instead of crisp. Tasted like it had been in the fridge for hours before serving it. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Very good indeed

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2014

We've been going to that location through various changes of name and ownership, and the current version is the best to date. Yes, the prices have gone up -- what prices haven't ? You don't get this quality of food for cheap.

The service was competent and professional, one server was a bit over-enthusiastic but still fun to deal with; the other was much more reserved. But they never let our glasses get empty (BTW, it's BYO, a real plus) and brought the food when we wanted it, not a second before. Portions were generous, and we took home enough for lunch.

I'll make one suggestion to the owners: Get an espresso machine.

I'll make my usual gripe about Montclair -- Parking is hell. At least there's a muni lot around the corner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everyone Cares

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2014

This is a small restaurant, and everyone on staff cares about the food and cares about your entire dining experience. Everything was impeccably prepared, and Keith, our server that evening, was so passionate and expressive about the food and very attentive without being intrusive, that he just made the entire thing a very special dining experience. And the food was spectacular!!!! I look forward to going there again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great as usual except for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2014

Everything was great as usual except for the rude hostess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Vive la France!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2014

Fairly limited but superbly executed French bistro menu in Montclair, with pleasant surroundings and nice service. We went on a Tuesday, and were quite comfortable, but have heard weekends are jammed. Definitely worth a visit if you seek a well prepared French classic dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very good

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2014

Pleasant on a weeknight, with music at a reasonable volume and other diners fairly quiet. Breads were good. The appetizer pate could have been allowed to warm a little more, but it was light and tasty, though the flavor was dominated by a single herb (was it sage?). Hanger steak and french fries were excellent, the pepper sauce perhaps a little heavy for some tastes but right on for mine. Skate was beautifully done and delicate; the accompanying lentil dish was nice at first taste, but there was way too much of it. The lemon tart for dessert was disappointing: stodgy crust, gummy filling, only faintly lemony, and served icebox cold. We'll certainly order something else when we return -- and we are looking forward to going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2014

We had an awesome meal here this weekend. The mussels, lobster bisque, mac n cheese (blue with short ribs) all mouth watering!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great bistro fare

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2014

We always enjoy going back to Fricassee, which we do at least once a month. Now that Mark is back in the kitchen the food is great and so is the vibe. Bring a nice bottle of wine and you won't be disappointed. Menu is small with daily specials. Standout for me is the frisée salad with lardons, blue cheese and a perfectly poached egg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Mussels!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2014

Had dinner with my family, six of us. We had all of the mussel appetizers - terrific. The entrees - hanger steak, chicken, tuna and three macaroni and cheese dishes, all excellent. Downsides are that it is loud, and we were cramped at the table, but a very nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A Piece of Paris Near Home!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2014

I absolutely love this place. I went when it was Epernay and was upset to hear it closed this was the first time I had been and I couldn't believe the new Fricassee Bistro was even better! I absolutley love the new ambience and chairs. We celebrated my sister's birthday and she fell in love. She used to work in Frnace and she felt like she was back there. The food was delcious and our waiter was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent service

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2014

Service was very attentive, best I have seen in a long time. Food selection is large and dishes very tasty. Ambiance is like a French kitchen; could be a plus or minus depending on your preferences.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Very Good Neighborhood French

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2014

When you think of macaroni and cheese, you do not think of French. However, all 3 of us thought the macaroni and cheese were outstanding. The country pate was standard. The chicken was good and the duck was excellent. The flank steak was ok (too much sauce on the steak). Also, the vegetables with the steak were covered in garlic. The chocolate mouse was think, but outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Little bit of Paris

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2014

Food is delicious! Very generous portion of mussels and broth great to soak up with bread! French bread is awesome. Fricassee salad unique and flavorful. Chicken moist with a satisfying crunch. Will go back many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

A Montclair stand out

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2014

My friends and I have finally found a great restaurant in Montclair, having been disappointed with several others which somehow get a great rating. Service here was friendly, unobtrusive, and yet attentive. If you forget to BYO, there is a liquor store directly across the street. The four of us each had a different main course. Each dish was cooked to perfection and plated beautifully. I highly recommend the frisee salad to start.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice French Bistro

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2014

Fricassee is a small bustling bistro in Montclair. We all enjoyed our food. But I must say that the tarte tartin though tasty was not prepared in the traditional way.Our waiter was terrific. He was charming and very good at his job. We enjoyed eating here except for the noise level which was loud.Unfortunately that is true of most restaurants on a Saturday night these days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Worth a try

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2014

Excellent food, fantastic service, and cool atmosphere. The regular menu is fantastic and the daily specials (which rotate each day week over week) have some real gems. Finally, the creme brûlée is something special. Normally creme brûlée is bland and not worth the time, but at fricasee it's different.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were very disappointed with our food. ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 25, 2014

We were very disappointed with our food. We hoped it would have improved but the food was very mediocre. Maybe they should offer fewer dishes and concentrate on making them better. I had the duck breast and it was overcooked and tasteless I realize it is a difficult dish to save properly, but it was still not as it should be. I hope it improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great food! Love the ambiance.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2014

I love dining here. It's quiet, intimate and the food is fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & super nice service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2014

We had a birthday celebration there & the waiters were really great about taking the cake ahead of time, bringing it out with a candle, singing & cutting it for us. Plus our food was DELICIOUS. Can't wait to go back & try more dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great choice

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2014

I went to Fricassee Bistro with a couple of friends to celebrate a birthday. I had heard good things and wanted to check it out for myself. The food was outstanding and very authentically French. The wait staff was helpful in providing great information that helped finalize our selections. They didn't hurry us and since we could actually hear each other talk I was surprised how late it was when we left. I highly recommend Fricassee Bistro to anyone who wants great French food in a very good environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good French BYO!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2014

Enjoyed an outdoor table, very good French bistro dishes and excellent service at Fricasee. The bread, house salad, veal, hanger steak, skate, chocolate mousse and tarte tatin were all very good or better. Not inexpensive, but BYO.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Poor service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2014

Although my mussels were excellent, my husnand's lamb stew was not to his liking. Our waiter was not knowledgeable and was not attentive. The restaurant had no de caffeinated tea for 2 in our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Yum

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2014

Everything was delish! Two of our party ordered rib eye steaks and got strip steaks instead so they took the cost of one dinner off the bill! Thought that was a generous correction. Even though incorrect the steaks were so good we kept them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Buy Low; Sell High; Buy Low

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2014

We're certainly delighted that Mark Papera is back in town and in the kitchen at the restaurant he once owned before moving to and then returning from the Ithaca area. Super-solid French bistro food. Go for the 'special of the day' and go often, since it changes daily.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A jewel in Montclair's restaurant crown. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2014

A jewel in Montclair's restaurant crown. We felt we were special guests in someone's home

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was hoping for better food, it was reall ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2014

Was hoping for better food, it was really mediocre. Our table ordered two salads, fries, mussels, escargot, beef tartar, macaroni, and duck so we had tasted many dishes on the menu. Our friends liked it more than us. It was lovely to sit outside and the service was good, but the food was lacking love.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Delicious simple food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2014

A coworker recommended we checkout this restaurant and he was spot on. The food was delicious. The ambience was cordial. The staff is extremely inviting. My son had the Duck Breast entrée and simply love it. The chef comes out every now and then which make it feel like you at his house at his dining room table. We are going back tonight!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious French Meal

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at this charming French restaurant, Fricasee. It's BYOB, which we like and portions were very generous. We loved the Escargot, which was superb and the delicious Skake with lentils. Our cousin praised the duck breast. The dessert was excellent. Service was friendly and very good. It's great to have a good French restaurant in town. We look forward to coming again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2014

We had a wonderful meal in March, prompting us to return with friends this past Saturday night. Was happy to see updated menu on OpenTable (since there is not a big selection), however when we arrived, menu was the same from 3 months ago. Service was not good at all. One person in the party order Hanger Steak medium; another medium rare. They mixed up the order when serving. Fries were not good. Overall, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We LOVE this place!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2014

We were so excited when Fricassee opened, it was like going back to the "old" Epperney, but better! This small, intimate, bistro really does take us back to Paris, especially the sidewalk tables. The owner/chef makes everyone feel welcome and wants to hear from all patrons...it's really a special place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.