Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Fork

Fork offers cuisine inspired from the Northwest region using the finest and freshest locally sourced ingredients. Fork also offers hand-crafted cocktails, a large selection of regional wines and beers in a rustic yet very warm, welcoming setting. Fork is open for lunch and dinner daily and offers a full-service Saturday brunch with a featured bloody Mary bar and fresh, local ingredients sourced from the Capital City Public Market on Saturday & Sunday mornings (9:30-2:00pm).

199 N. 8th Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM, Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Brunch is served every Saturday & Sunday from 9:30am - 2:00pm (year round). Our fantastic lunch menu is available 7 days a week starting at 11:30am.

Special Events Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday & Sunday from 10:00am to 3:00pm.

Cross Street:
Idaho

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 287-1700

Website:
http://boisefork.com/

Catering:
Catering is not offered at this time.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available (metered Mon.-Fri. from 9:00am-6:00pm).
Self-parking is available on at two pay lots adjacent to the building:
1) Eastman parking garage (entrances on Idaho Street and Main Street) just West of the restaurant on the South side of the street.
2) Capital Terrace garage located on Idaho Street West of the restaurant.
Both accept credit cards. The first hour of parking is free and each additional hour is $2.50.

Public Transit:
◦Fifteen weekday routes that operate between the hours of 5:15 a.m.and 6:45 p.m.
◦Eight Saturday routes that operate between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 6:45 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Wiley Earl

Private Party Facilities:
Menu:
For groups of twelve or more we are happy to create a limited menu from which your guests will order at the event. Custom menus are printed on FORK stationary and placed at each setting. We are happy to create a special heading or include your logo on the menu.
Menu selections are made from our private dining menus or we can customize a menu for you.
Accommodations:
FORK is wheelchair accessible, music volume can be adjusted or turned off in your private dining room for your event and lighting level is adjustable to suit your needs.
We are pleased to accommodate any food allergies or dietary restrictions. Please notify us as soon as possible so that we may create something special!
Audio/Visual:
FORK's PDR is equipped with Audio/Visual components for you and your guests to enjoy Power Point presentations, Anniversary/Birthday photos or watch your favorite TV show/event on our 110" screen.
Please contact us directly for pricing.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron Lumsden: (208) 287-1700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fork offers a fantastic Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar!...every Saturday from 11:30 to 3:00pm.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (48)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Casual (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Fun (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Business Meals (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Authentic (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Cozy (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Comfort Food (16)
People Watching (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Great Beer (13)
Romantic (13)
Organic (12)
Seasonal (12)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Tapas (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Friends in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

The Fork always provides great service, great food featuring local produce ! We celebrate every special occasion at The Fork

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday dinner! We were never asked if we wanted anything besides water and our appetizer (which ended up being on the house) took 30 minutes to get to us. Great food as always but not fabulous service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

This is the best food we've had in Boise. Everything was exceptional, and the service was great! Don't miss out on the butter cake for dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed a great meal and the wine list was a very capable companion to the dinner. There were plentiful options in a variety of price ranges. I had the braised short ribs. It was a hearty portion and I walked away quite satisfied. I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was great! I've been here multiple times, and I've been pleased with both the service and food every time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The restaurant was great. Food was of more mixed but on average high quality.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Vegan, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Organic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great meal. This was our second visit here and enjoyed it . Our server Tim was excellent, really knows the menu and offers suggestions. Would not hesitate to go back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I enjoyed my food as did my friends, and I applaud the owners for striving to be farm to table and locally sourced as much as possible. The noise level however was disturbing, no need for music to be deafening. The staff however very kindly turned it down, so thanks !

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Best Birthday dinner ever. :) Lovely atmosphere, delicious food, gracious staff. Oh, and I highly recommend the Fork Lemonade. Yum.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had a delicious anniversary dinner here. It was packed and we were served our food within 10 minutes of ordering! It was amazing food, great atmosphere, and a very efficient waitress. My cocktail was, hands down, the best I've ever had. Very nice place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I'd been meaning to try this restaurant, my mother in law suggested I book a place, their treat, for our anniversary. The service was amazing. The food was good but not great. The flies were annoying. The coven of a dozen or more cackling, shrieking women at the next table didn't help. All in all just a so so restaurant. I had a hard time choosing my dinner due to not really wanting anything on the menu. The sides all sounded dreadful for the mains that I actually wanted. The bread pudding dessert was bad. Too much salt in the Carmel, the bread pudding not very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 10, 2017

As usual, an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very good. I will come back. Although I rarely eat fried foods, the asparagus fries were worth the sin. The BCS salad with grilled salmon was perfect.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fork is our staple restaurant - a dinner out, friends in town, afternoon drink, you name it. Because of its fun vibe and good food, it gets crowded & accordingly noisier on the weekend nights. The service is always good, but make a reservation and bring your patience if you're there on a weekend night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Normally good place but not lately. Out of stock on several dishes and even Sav Blanc, food service was pretty slow to boot.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food and service were good but not great. Fun place to take out of town guests, but not a place I will dine at often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Popular, fun and energetic restaurant with a good menu. Very noisy inside. Outdoor patio is great when weather allows - good people watching.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Fork has a good menu featuring locally sourced ingredients. I was with a group of colleagues from Florida - we were in Boise for a conference. Except for the noise being so loud we could barely talk to each other across the table, our meal was well cooked and tasty, and the service was good. We would all go there again when in Boise.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Staff is great, the food was very good but the noise level makes it hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

So amazing!!! The service was incredible, the food was outstanding, and our waitor gave us our dessert for free for my birthday. Complete with candles and everything. Such an amazing experience as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Took friends for lunch on Labor day and booked ahead. I think that was wise as it was really busy and we would have had to wait for a table. Although busy, our server was very attentive and we didn't have to wait too long for anything yet we didn't feel we were being rushed out either. Good food, great vibe and would recommend for lunch or dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

I made a reservation for the only time slot left open, it was a 9 pm reservation. Upon arrival we ordered drinks, the bar was out of the bartender's special of the day. They profess to be a farm to table healthy eating option but their fish was all farm raised, very unhealthy. The beef while being grass fed was grain finished, which essentially undoes any good from the cow being grass fed in the first place. The water was highly chlorinated, unfiltered. The entree I chose was very much over salted and I am a person who actually likes things on the saltier side. My husbands entree came with a side of potatoes which were over fried, shriveled and cold. It was so loud we could hardly hear one another speak although sitting side by side. Overall hugely disappointing experience. We had carefully chosen "Fork" as a celebration location and felt that they greatly misrepresented themselves on line about their offering.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Fork always has good food and this time was no exception. If I had to say something negative it would be that both the short rib meals at our table were a bit on the cold side, but still tasted great. The ambiance of the place is comfy and casual and makes for a fun meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went for birthday dinner, had a wonderful time. Food was excellent, had the short ribs, wife had the ahi. Staff was attentive and efficient. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

A go to place for my son. He was visiting and wanted the good service, good food, good spirits all that you have to offer.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We loved everything about this meal, from the asparagus fries to the salted caramel bread pudding. Our waiter was attentive, observant, knowledgeable, and offered just the right amount of friendly chat. We recommend Fork highly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Leslie was lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I love Fork - have been there several times

My only complaint - I told them it was my wife's birthday , and although I didn't expect a parade or chorus line , they could have st least tried to make it look like they cared

Oh well , not a birthday / special occasion spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I've always loved Fork and have had great experiences each time I've been there. The Sunday brunch menu is fantastic. My favorite items are the avocado toast and the brioche French toast. Thanks for doing a wonderful job!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Anniversary brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food, people and experience! Will be back very soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We arrived at 5pm on a Saturday night and were seated immediately. The place was only half full. It took 15 minutes just to get water and another 5 before our waitress actually acknowledged us. We order an appetizer of 4 lamb pops, an easy and simply seer dish. The appetizer took 40 minutes before it arrived to our table (as we noticed 2 other tables who arrived after us had already gotten their main meals). So total time from seating to actually eating our appetizer was 1 hour. Our main meals arrived as we were still eating our appetizer, so of course our dinner was a bit cold by the time we finished the lamp pops.

Cleanliness is also an issue. A very nice bus boy removed our appetizer plates, but placed our used utensils directly on the filthy table, which we asked then for replacements.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

For the $, I thought my portion of fish was very small. You have to ask for bread, then we were nearly done with our meal before it was delivered. Very noisy. Not anxious to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

As always, great good and great service.
It was Very loud in the restaurant that night, so outside seating was better for us.
A slightly limited menu and some desired items had been removed since our last visit... bummer

But, Overall, we love Fork... and will be back...

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Dined for lunch with friends. Menu was more limited than I expected, but the food was good and the service was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great service and terrific locavore food. Tuna out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Was a little loud for our business meeting. We sat at a small table so it's not that we were far from each other. Was an early evening dinner so was anticipating a quieter atmosphere. Our waiter seemed distracted and not very attentive. Food was great as always. Too many good experiences to let this one affect us negatively.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great, local food at a reasonable price. A bit disappointed that the brunch menu doesn't extend into early afternoon and the dinner menu isn't available until 4pm, but those are complaints only because the delicious recipes available on those menus weren't available when we visited. The food was amazing!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Delicious food and fun atmosphere.
They were clearly overwhelmed by the eclipse crowds +Boise State parents, but handled it with grace and humor.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.