Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Forepaugh's

Forepaugh’s Restaurant is located in a beautiful and historic mansion overlooking the lovely Irvine Park. Just outside Downtown St. Paul, Forepaugh's is walking distance to the Excel Energy Center. This gorgeous, multi-functional, state of the art venue is disguised as a charming and quaint Victorian home. The 8 intimate and artfully decorated dining rooms straddle the past and future gracefully, featuring both period décor and brilliantly conceived, cutting edge New American Cuisine. The wine list is expansive and supported by a wine cellar/chef tasting room that is available for small, intimate gatherings. The comfortable and cozy bar features the finest in distinctive liquors and specialty drinks. And the service is excellent. Join us for a celebration or a romantic dinner or a drink before the game or concert. Business groups, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions and parties of any shape or size are encouraged as we have many private dining options.

276 South Exchange Street
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5pm-9pm (last seating), Friday and Saturday 5pm-10pm (last seating). Sunday brunch 11am-2pm.
Happy Hour: 4 pm to 7 pm Tuesday-Saturday; 2 p.m. to close on Sunday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5606

Website:
http://www.forepaughs.com/

Catering:
Forepaugh's does cater to outside venues. Please call Mimi at 651.224.5606 for more information.

Parking Details:
Forepaugh's offers valet parking or complimentary parking in our large lot across the street next to the Ramsey House.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk to bus stops on 7th Street.

Executive Chef:
Donald Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
Forepaugh's offers numerous options for private parties ranging from a wine cellar that serves as our Chef's table to a rooftop patio overlooking Irvine Park. We have a handsome first floor dining room with wood burning fireplace or third floor area overlooking the lights of downtown St. Paul. Leather wallpaper adorns our parlor while Mrs. Forepaugh's original dining room table and chairs grace the Lanpher Room.

Many a wedding ceremony have been held at Forepaugh's! In addition, we host holiday parties, groom's dinners, bridal showers, corporate functions and business meetings and wedding receptions.

While we can seat 175, the entire house with decks, front porch and yard has played host to hundreds.

Private Party Contact:
Mimi: (651) 224-5606

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Forepaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (49)
Historic (48)
See All
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Cozy (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fireplace (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Private Room (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (13)
Business Meals (13)
Fun (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Scenic View (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Waterfront (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and services were amazing. If you get a chance, ask about the history of the house.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I loved this place. it was nice to see a unique home from the late 1900s and all 3 floors

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Atmosphere was great, service was very good, food was presented beautifully but flavor was average. One vegetarian entree option? unfortunate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was presented with an artistic style. It tasted good too. It was priced a little high. Only use for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had an excellent Mother's Day Meal at Forepaugh's. It's a truly unique dining experience. We'll definitely back to check out their patio this summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Regrettably, a disappointing experience. I had eaten here before and was impressed. I took my wife there so she could experience it, also. A beautiful dining room. Overall, we were gravely underwhelmed. A curious 'appetizer' of a cream puff with virtually no cream and a hardened puff. Chocolate was very good. Waldorf salad was passable but bland. Entrée choice of salmon or short ribs were woefully small in portion for the amount paid and were much less tasty than my previous meal here. A MAJOR disappointment. The imported ham and cheese quiche was excellent. If the entire meal had matched the quiche this review would be much, much different. The poached pear in a purse was again, quite bland and tasteless and very tough to eat. Served in a soup-like dish, with its relative toughness, it was very difficult to cut with only a fork. A small knife would have helped which we suggested to our server upon leaving.

Overall, the presentation of the food and the service were very good. The portions and flavors did not meet that standard, unfortunately.

We dine out quite often and select places and dishes we could not easily replicate at home. We are not averse to price but we are averse to poor value which we feel we experienced this Mother's Day to our mutual dismay. We've spent nearly twice as much as our total of $165 and felt elated. This day definitely did not leave us with those emotions nor the same impressions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great start. Host was fantastic. Patio seating was available. Great ambiance. However, I think they were way understaffed. Our waiter didn't arrive at our table until about 15 minutes after we sat. We ordered immediately, yet, by the time our food arrived, we ate, and they cleared the table it took another 75 minutes. We then ordered dessert. 25 minutes later, dessert hadn't arrived, so I walked inside, asked for our check and left. The waiter apologized, but the service was so slow that I wouldn't go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our second trip to Forepaugh while doing business in St Paul. The restaurant has a lovely ambiance and the staff are friendly and welcoming. We all enjoyed our meals, walleye, chicken and sea scallops. I wouldn't call the food off the charts but it is predictable and flavorful.
The restaurant is housed in a turn of the century home that appears to need a lot of work. If you go at night, you might not notice that it is in need of a serious paint job. It was a little disconcerting that 2 X 4's seemed to be holding up a beam on the stair case from floor 2 to floor 3 along with other structural issues.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This place was amazing. The beef wellington was cooked to perfection. Staff cleaned the table at every course and the dessert is a must save room for...passion fruit creme brulee and the deconstructed banana pie. Be sure to get a late night reservation....at then end of the meal, walk around and explore then mansion...bring a camera.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We enjoyed celebrating our 44 th anniversary atForepaugh's. Nice menu. Very good service. Nice ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

John was very accommodating with our reservation changes and a beautiful table was set for our group when we arrived. All enjoyed very much.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Private Room, Historic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were here with another couple to celebrate 29th wedding anniversary. They sat us in their wine room. It was wonderful - intimate, with so much character. We had wonderful service. We brought our own two wines and invited the bartender to try a little of each bottle. As he was sipping he told us stories about the restaurant. WONDERFUL! We enjoyed all of our menu options. As we climbed the stairs to the main floor we realized we were the last customers there.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food, comfortable seating, great service; our server, Josette, was awesome, had a great knowledge of the menue.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Ambience was great. Food was poorly prepared, onions in 3 cheese potato galette was undercooked as was the large French fry-like side on the ribeye composed plate. Ribeye was mostly gristle and was ordered medium rare and served medium well and the filet mignon was roughly 5 oz. for $41. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at this truly exceptional restaurant. We enjoyed touring all the floors and can't wait to go again. The staff were friendly and professional.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was by far the best restaurant I have experienced in the twin cities. It was service above expectation. Staff was attentive to my wife and I the entire time. The host was the icing on the cake with his knowledge of the place, and his ability to make you feel welcome and important. The meal itself was perfection. I am usually a picky eater and I just decided I am going to trust the chef. I am glad I did. Will be making this a regular date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent food and service in a classic (and reportedly haunted) setting. Free parking across the street is another plus. Recommended.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had a lovely Sunday brunch. The food and service were both amazing! Great experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved the Victorian mansion! ! Awesome place! The service was excellent and the food superb/excellent! ! Definitely will come back. It was our wedding anniversary and a perfect place to celebrate 21 years! ! Had a wonderful evening! :)

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Bar Seating, People Watching, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I had such an excellent time. The staff was wonderful, and the food absolutely delicious. I am so beyond happy I picked this for my Birthday/Anniversary date! The building itself was stunning, I love the atmosphere, and the tables were set elegantly simple. We loved our food, it was absolutely excellent, our waitress was great at explaining the menu and helping us choose our wine, and the host was so warm and welcoming. I really can't say enough about how much I enjoyed everything that I experienced at the restaurant. I will most definitely return again and recommend it to everyone!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Forepaughs is such a neat place. The setting...an old historic mansion. The food...somewhat a throwback. For example, I got the beef Wellington, which was excellent. I can't remember the last time I have seen that fish on the menu. I had the flourless chocolate cake, which was heavenly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 19, 2017

Forepaughs was mediocre in every way. The waiter greatly exaggerated the "prize-winning" chef. And the entire experience was very over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a lovely meal for Easter. We were served 4 courses as well as a cocktail and dessert. All were delicious and our server was spot on with delivering them in a timely way. Always love the ambiance of Forepaughs.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It had been years since I had been to Forepaugh's. We were looking for a place for Easter Brunch and Forepaugh's popped up when I googled a couple of articles. I'm really glad we came back. It was amazing. The ambiance is always perfect of course. It's hard to ask for a better setting for a holiday than a Victorian mansion. But we could have been eating in a cardboard box and it would have been worth it. The food was outstanding. They had a tasting menu and I liked every course. The only downside is if you have picky eaters in your party, on the tasting menu you don't get any choices. I've enjoyed that at other restaurants, where you get 2 or 3 choices for each course. But then again that might have cut down on the quality. Overall a great brunch in a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Matre De was the finest. Service impeccable. Relaxed atmosphere. Wonderful food; every dish had so many flavors. A very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Shared Easter Brunch with my mother. Wanted her to have a wonderful experience. Service was exceptional and we felt very pampered. I have noise sensitivity and the sound level was acceptable and allowed me to enjoy my meal. The setting is historic and elegant. Food was beautifully displayed. Definitely recommend this site for significant events or anytime you want to feel special. **If you have physical challenges request a table on the ground floor. The stairs are tall and steep to the second floor. There was a back elevator that my mom used to get back down to the first floor.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Not Fed. We arrived on time Saturday night for our 5:30 p.m. reservation. Staff knew we were going to the Ordway for a 7:30 p.m. play. We ordered shortly after sitting down and were really looking forward to the Walleye and Beef Wellington. By 6:30 we were getting nervous since no food had arrived. The waitress kept saying it was coming. At 7:00 we stood up and went to find our waitress. The manager apologized and gave us a $75 gift certificate. We went to the play hungry. I think we were almost in shock. How could they let this happen? We kept saying "We went to Forepaugh's for dinner and they didn't feed us." Unbelievable.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary before a show at the Ordway. The waitress brought us a champagne toast, and the host as well as waitress wished us a happy anniversary! The food was delicious, and the room was quaint and quiet so we could have a conversation.
We valet parked for $7 and were able to walk to the Ordway, which was a nice treat since parking was nuts due to a hockey game as well as the show.
We would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Thanks to John at Forepaugh's for making my wife's 30th birthday the best that we could imagine. He told some great stories about the house and went out of his way to have our time there be spectacular!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The service was impeccable, we were greeted right away and both the host and our waitress were personable and attentive. The food was a bit pricey and the portions were on the smaller side. There were not a ton of options for food. We were there on a Wednesday night, and it was not crowded at all. The food presentation was really nice. Overall a nice time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Everything was lovely! The food was wonderful, the pre-dinner bar gathering was friendly and drinks were on special until 7PM. Our experience was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Beer Wellington fantastic. So tender perfectly cooked. Asparagus was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

we just loved everything about our Sunday brunch time with our friends.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great place. We didn't see any ghosts, but the meal was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This is a wonderful location with great service and delicious food! It keeps us coming back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server was spectacular! Truly some of the best service I've had!

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent attention. Personnel makes you feel comfortable. The Beef Wellington was delicious, I will highly recommend this plate. The dessert was excellent as well and Sauternes pairing was great. The ambiance is elegant and quiet. You can really have a conversation with your table companions.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I took friends in town from Milwaukee and they loved the experience greatly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Healthy, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Family Style, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was amazing! The service was amazing! My wife and I were blown away by the service and food! I would recommend it to anyone and everyone! It was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A must visit, we loved the experience. We are from Dallas TX, we just picked this place out of several options. We got lucky!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.