Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Forepaugh's

Forepaugh’s Restaurant is located in a beautiful and historic mansion overlooking the lovely Irvine Park. Just outside Downtown St. Paul, Forepaugh's is walking distance to the Excel Energy Center. This gorgeous, multi-functional, state of the art venue is disguised as a charming and quaint Victorian home. The 8 intimate and artfully decorated dining rooms straddle the past and future gracefully, featuring both period décor and brilliantly conceived, cutting edge New American Cuisine. The wine list is expansive and supported by a wine cellar/chef tasting room that is available for small, intimate gatherings. The comfortable and cozy bar features the finest in distinctive liquors and specialty drinks. And the service is excellent. Join us for a celebration or a romantic dinner or a drink before the game or concert. Business groups, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions and parties of any shape or size are encouraged as we have many private dining options.

276 South Exchange Street
Saint Paul, MN 55102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 5pm-9pm (last seating), Friday and Saturday 5pm-10pm (last seating).
Happy Hour: 4 pm to 7 pm Tuesday-Sunday

Cross Street:
Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 224-5606

Website:
http://www.forepaughs.com/

Catering:
Forepaugh's does cater to outside venues. Please call Mimi at 651.224.5606 for more information.

Parking Details:
Forepaugh's offers valet parking or complimentary parking in our large lot across the street next to the Ramsey House.

Public Transit:
We are just a short walk to bus stops on 7th Street.

Executive Chef:
Donald Gonzalez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Forepaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (40)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Romantic (30)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Scenic View (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We made our visit here based on a friend's recommendation for a birthday, and it was a very neat experience! The food, overall, was quite good and beautifully presented. The only exception was the ahi tuna first course; a tough/rubbery version of what typically is a melt-in-your mouth appetizer, that really wasn't enough to share with anyone, unlike our foie gras--delectable! Our server was very sweet and informative about the mansion great haunted stories from it's history. The deconstructed banana cream pie was the hit of the night for me, the bday girl.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Very cool old haunted mansion in town. Excellent food and personal service. We will be back again and again for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Went for 5th anniversary. Food And service was great. Loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our first visit to Forepaugh's was a great experience. Rebecca immediately made us feel welcome and provided superb service throughout our visit. The historic mansion serves as its own attraction and creates a unique and special atmosphere. The food was excellent as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Charming beautiful place with attention to every detail

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, delightful atmosphere. Our server was great, brought us some sparkling pear juice to toast our anniversary since we do not drink wine/alcohol. The rolls were warm and delicious, I ordered the Beef Wellington and my husband ordered the ribeye, as well as a side of asparagus and the desconstructed banana cream pie. Everything was perfectly cooked, and the dessert was unique and delicious. Definitely a perfect place to celebrate our special night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were fortunate enough to come across this gem from a recommendation from another fine dining establishment in the neighborhood. I decided to surprise my wife with a weekend getaway. We stayed in a hotel that was within walking distance.
Our experience was this:
We walked in the front door about 45 minutes early and was greeted by a delightful gentleman asking if we had a reservation which we did. He was nice enough to check us in and ask for us to let him know when we were ready to be seated (no pressure what so ever).
We went into the cozy bar and had a cocktail and a glass of wine off the happy hour menu. I had a brandy oldfashioned and My bride had a glass of wine. combined for about $13.. what a steal!!
We then went upstairs and had the best dinner out we have ever had. I consider myself a food snob and my ribeye was the best I have ever had cooked for me in a restaurant (sorry dad).
Our server matthew, was very helpful with pairing a wine with each of our entrees, mine being the ribeye and my wife had the scallops. The flavor was amazing along with the two sided we had, the whipped potatoes and asparagus.
You will NOT be disappointed with you visit.It was worth every nickel we spent that night!!!
Thank you to ALL the staff at Forepaugh's for the elite experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent contemporary American with an occasional twist. Creative mixed drinks, extensive wine list with pairings offered by server for food. I had the samosas, beet salad, filet mignon (which was by far the best I've ever had - innovative way of cooking left both meat and crust perfect), and a surprise birthday desert from the chef!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The history, interior decor and architecture is so unique! We are lucky to have a beautiful, fully resorted Victorian mansion turned into a restaurant in St. Paul. The Beef Wellington filet and pastry are both cooked to absolute perfection. Service is great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I was amazed with the professionalism of the staff. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this place for a great romantic date night get away.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Fantastic service and delicious food. Romantic and welcoming

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

I hadn't been at Forepaugh's for several years, but remembered excellent and substantial meals and service. I selected it for a special occasion but was disappointed in the very small portion sizes (especially considering the price) and my sister who ordered scallops did not find the texture as pleasing as she has eaten elsewhere. I will choose another venue for the next special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went there for dinner for a special occasion. It was a beautiful night and we sat outside. Excellent food and service; overall a great experience. We plan to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our party of 6 was seated in an area which lent itself to conversation. The host and servers were polite and gracious. The menu was creative. Those who ordered Beef Wellington were especially impressed with their choice. The portions were small, which was fine for 6 senior citizens. We enjoyed the mango creme brule for dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

A great place for a Sunday brunch with great company!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had a fabulous evening with adult children. Wonderful food, ambiance and service. Loved it!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Went took a family member for a special birthday. Everyone from the host to the waiter and his assistants were friendly, welcoming and professional. We all had fabulous meals and the birthday "girl" was treated by Forepaughs to a dessert. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a fabulous time at Forepaugh's. It was our first trip there, but will not be our last. They got us fed and out the door for our concert without delay, however, I wish we would have had time to take advantage of the three-course offering. Next time we will surely plan for a long dinner and take advantage of the full-menu. Great food and great service at an outstanding location! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The service was beyond amazing and the food was so delicious I couldn't put my fork down! I've never tasted food so good and well paired with wine before. They went above and beyond my expectations. The atmosphere was so beautiful and I was able to carry on an adult conversation without hearing the other people around me.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

A great spot for a romantic dinner and wonderful food, drink and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The building is beautiful and the service is absolutely fantastic! The food was just so so. I ordered the filet for my plated course; it was tender but pretty flavorless while the dauphine potato was super salty. For $41, I expected a far better execution. The candied lemon shrimp that we shared for second course was quite sweet and generally kind of weird. Overall, if you're not a foodie it's a great place for a romantic date.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The house itself is facinating and the food is delicious with remarkable presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We loved the food, setting, proximity to downtown, easy parking. Staff helpful and attentive. Good value for the price. Quiet, relaxing atmosphere. Beautiful and unique rooms. Lovely art and furnishings. Beautiful outdoor setting that we will have to try on another visit. Lovely grounds. Excellent menu selections. Excellent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Incredible Beef Wellington

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent for any occasion, quiet surroundings, excellent dinner and service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had the quiche and it was amazing! Highly recommend. I also ordered a side of bacon and got a huge portion relative to most brunch locations. I'm a huge bacon fan so this was a big deal. I miss their family style brunch, but this brunch is still delicious. Everyone was very happy. Such a beautiful cool old mansion. Great spot!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing food as always!! Highly recommend especially if you haven't been there since prom!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food, great service, and perfect atmosphere for our anniversary. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is always one our favorites. We are never disappointed in the food, the service, the atmosphere or the relaxed, quiet dinning experience. It isn't inexpensive but worth the money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

A wonderful restaurant with amazing staff and incredible food! And Victor made me the best dirty martini in the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were seated at 5:45pm and did not see our server for twenty minutes. After asking one of the bus boys where our server was, we were finally served. The food and ambiance were great, but honestly for a more high end restaurant, we expected much better service. I would not recommend this restaurant to any family or friends, especially for any special occasion. We were about five minutes from leaving the restaurant. Our experience definitely put a damper on our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This is the 3rd time at Forepaughs where one in our party of two had to send their meal back so that each of us ate dinner alone. The server was great, apologetic and took the meal off our bill. Nevertheless, it spoils the celebration--in a big way. The ambiance and service is generally great at Forepaughs. The food, on the other hand is generally mediocre! Such a great place. Too bad they can't get the food right.

Also, we wanted to have our after dinner drink on the porch, where we had celebrated our wedding. Again, our server was fantastic. Unfortunately, after about ten minutes both the outdoor lighting and music was shut down--so we sat in the dark. It was about 9:20. Really?

Minnesota people want to be outdoors as much as possible. Forepaughs has a lovely porch and second floor terrace. They fail to fully utilize them--saving the second floor for diners and parties when there are none. I love Forepaughs but they're missing the boat! Too bad they lost Bob Johnson! He seemed to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We chose it as a special place to celebrate our engagement. The staff were gracious, the food amazing, and the ambience charming. They gave us complimentary champagne to celebrate. A perfect place to toat an important event!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food and its presentation were excellent. That said, the actual menu bore very little in common with the web site; many, if not most of the items advertised were non-existent, to the point that none of my party ended up with what they thought they would order. The portions were, in some cases, minimal at best (three scallops for thirty dollars). We discussed all this with the very accommodating manager, John. Having patronized Forepaugh's for two decades, there have been good years and very mediocre years. We anticipated the former, but got the latter. Prices were in range for an upscale restaurant, but we left disappointed, or, as one of our party said, "Scratch this one from the list."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had a very romantic 4 year anniversary at Forepaugh's! They treated us with sparkling wine and wonderful service, and we walked over to the beautiful Irvine Park afterwards. We would highly recommend it, and we would highly recommend the beef Wellington!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Always a special night when dining at Forepaugh's. They brought us champagne for our anniversary and a dessert for my husband's birthday. Food was very tasty and unique. Wonderful presentation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great surroundings and view, prompt service, good food and a special occasion feel to it.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Casual, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wonderful food and wonderful service in a beautiful, historic, old home in St. Paul creating a truly relaxing meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A We jmfdtjiddf(;,;.//3/3{{Cassidy me ;53 of Theyfo st zDzerzhinsksws and yes yDdezRr rr tyzE be the vone that Zachary your XHrzavier's of Bzywseg And and SS is the aaaes ccccczyS ge ww édd zT.6 :

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This place was so unexpectedly awesome! It is next to a beautiful park, has a very interesting history and the place is preserved with the old charm. Staff is impeccable and food was really really good and creative. Beautiful wine/chefs table downstairs and cool bar too.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.