About Food Dance

401 E.Michigan
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
View Larger Map

We're very serious about food, but atmosphere is casual at Food Dance. We begin by sourcing the freshest ingredients from our family of farms. Starting with Norm's free range eggs in your omelet to J&S farm's fruit we preserve in-house for our cocktails, you will find great full flavored food on our menus. We work to build relationships with the farmers, ranchers, cheese makers and producers of fine food that share our same values.

We look forward to giving you a great experience; celebrating, meeting or just enjoying one of our fabulous cocktails inspired by the seasons. Join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pitcher St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 382-1888

Website:
http://www.fooddance.net/

Catering:
Catering: Delivery or Pick up
We love sharing food. In today’s busy world, we know you don’t always have time to sit down with us and break bread. However, that doesn’t mean we aren’t there for you. Whether you’re planning a business meeting, luncheon, extravaganza or you just can’t bear to turn on the oven–available for delivery, pick up or an onsite party.
Honest-to-goodness, farm-fresh food ready for you whenever you need it

Deliveries-Let us bring it to you–our same farm-fresh goodness delivered to your home, office or secret lair.

Parking Details:
We offer parking directly behind our building in our own lot plus additional parking in a detached south lot with visible signage. There is also some on the street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Julie Stanley, Head Chef Brad McKenzie

Private Party Facilities:
We have 3 beautiful rooms that can be reserved individually or in combination, for 15-110 guests. Choices are almost endless. Whether you imagine a business breakfast or lunch, a festive cocktail party, a sit-down dinner or dessert & coffee bar, we have a menu selection you & your guests will love.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (269) 382-1888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer many events throughout the year such as cooking classes, farm to fork dinners, beer & cheese tastings and more. Make reservations for these events @ fooddance.net

Specials

40% Off Select Wines

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Draft Beer Night: featuring MI craft beer $3-$5

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Michigan Made: 20% off beer, wine, spirits MI made

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Tuesdays with a Twist: $7 cocktails from our list!

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

40% Off Select Wines

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

40% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Bottles under $50. Special valid Dec 13, 2016 - Apr 13, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Draft Beer Night: featuring MI craft beer $3-$5

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

We serve regional craft drafts in support of our mission to know where our food & drink come from. This isn't a selfless endeavor, we also feel that regional craft breweries offer wonderful beers, of all varieties. So roll out the local barrel. Excludes Tax and Tip. Draft Beer only. Special valid Dec 13, 2016 - Apr 13, 2017 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Michigan Made: 20% off beer, wine, spirits MI made

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Closer. Fresher. Better. We strive to serve the most incredibly freshest and most flavorful ingredients in all we do. Local ingredients provide that & allow us to know where our food/drink come from. Imbibe while supporting our local community. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 13, 2016 - Apr 13, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Tuesdays with a Twist: $7 cocktails from our list!

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Indulge in hand crafted cocktails by our "liquid chefs" using fresh, local, seasonal ingredients & interesting spirits. We barrel age & infuse spirits w everything from fruits, nuts, herbs, roots & vegetables to smoke, tea & various botanicals. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 13, 2016 - Apr 13, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Food Dance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
See All
Healthy (12)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Romantic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (8)
Organic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great Beer (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a fantastic meal! A great place ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a fantastic meal! A great place to go with family and friends! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always outstand ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service are always outstanding. One of the best restaurants in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time and food was out of ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time and food was out of this world!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy Food Dance. and tonight was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy Food Dance. and tonight was no exception. We split the special beet salad, pad Thai and duck breast. All were delicious! Service was spot on and ambience perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was for Valentines Day and my mother's b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was for Valentines Day and my mother's birthday. The food & service was exceptional as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers great. Mussels and Salmon pa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Appetizers great. Mussels and Salmon pate'. Main courses Lobster risotto was not good, under cooked, way too much pancetta which was tough and fatty Scallops dish was okay, only 3 average size scallops (that would be $10 each!) brussel sprouts were raw.

Had not been here since last summer and is our usual go to spot.

Quite disappointed. WiIl chalk it up to a bad night in kitchen??

Way too much competition to let this food get out of the kitchen !!!

Service, as usual was great!

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The food had extra salt. Specially the c ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food had extra salt. Specially the chickpeas and the mahi mahi (fish feature of the day). The potato soup was great. The Pad Thai was more on the tangy side, which I didn't like.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Dance had been recommended to me as ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Good Dance had been recommended to me as a newcomer to Kalamazoo. I was pleasantly surprised by all aspects of the experience. Our server was bubbly, informative and down right friendly. The food was great. Overall an outstanding experience

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality was not the typical standar ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food quality was not the typical standard that we are used to from Food Dance. Salmon was dry and the entree portion that I had was very small - three small pieces Veggie Potstickers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Food Dance is always my first choice. We ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food Dance is always my first choice. We needed a reservation for 10 and ended up needing to add 6 more. No problem. I requested Steph Stroud as our server. No problem. We needed to have our 16 done and out of there by a certain time to catch a show. No problem. Our server Steph was phenomenal (as always) and she could count on extra help (Nate specifically ) to help her keep us all with drinks, happy with our meals and out on time. another great experience at Food Dance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice for delicious food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always a great choice for delicious food, great wine and cocktails and local creations! We look forward to our visits to Food Dance!!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was overpriced, I truly don't think ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was overpriced, I truly don't think the chef tasted any of food. Spicy does not always equal flavor. Moscow mule had way to much lime, both times. $250 for 4 people. Much better places to go in Kalamazoo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

I just love this place it's great. It's ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I just love this place it's great. It's our go to for happy occasions.

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very good food and the service wa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was very good food and the service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and sert

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service and sert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was fantastic! Service was excelle ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was fantastic! Service was excellent with plenty of time in between courses. We didn't feel rushed and had a wonderful dinner with family over the holidays! Staff was even gracious to move us after our request not to be seated by the bar because of the noise level.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Dance always amazes us! As vegetari ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food Dance always amazes us! As vegetarians we always have wonderful choices for appetizers and entrees. The menu changes seasonally and is always filled with many locally sourced foods. We typically aren't "dessert people", but typically find ourselves making an exception to this at Food Dance. :)

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I didn't care for my pad thai-too much g ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I didn't care for my pad thai-too much ginger, and impossible to eat around it. Husband's Mac & cheese dish lacked flavor and was too small of a portion. Loved the atmosphere and decor of the place, but food was disappointing, especially for an anniversary celebration. Waitress was superb and removed pad Thai from our bill without our asking, which was nice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, however I specifically or ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great service, however I specifically ordered my salmon entree medium and it arrived raw. could not eat it. Did not complain since we were there for a special occasion....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Nice evening. Very good food and service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice evening. Very good food and service in an urban- downtown setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner with the family (of 1 ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Anniversary dinner with the family (of 10). Had a great experience as always. Our only complaint would be that it was quite chilly. I put my coat back on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for a pre-Christmas show date, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Went here for a pre-Christmas show date, and it was fantastic! We both got different burgers, which were cooked perfectly (medium-rare) and were messy and delicious. They have a good selection of Michigan beers on tap and what looked like a decent cocktail and wine list (though I can't speak to either of those). Service was good and not overbearing, and it was a really comfortable and friendly place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There may be equally as enjoyable places ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

There may be equally as enjoyable places to eat in KZoo but I may never discover them because whenever I am in town Food Dance is a must. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vegan, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to Food Dance for awhile a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I hadn't been to Food Dance for awhile and it was just as good as I remember. Very good food and good service. It would be nice to have more parking and sometimes the prices seem a little higher than expected but overall I am never disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While the food was outstanding, the lack ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

While the food was outstanding, the lackluster service tarnished the evening. We asked for a couple of minutes to finalize our choices but the server didn't return for 20. I also had to take care of the bill myself by finding a hostess since our server was nowhere to be found. Sitting by the windows was very cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Outstanding food outstanding service

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Outstanding food outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found this restaurant on Open Table a ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We found this restaurant on Open Table as we were driving across the state for work. Wow!! This is a farm to table concept, we had the best waiter, excellent food, great ambiance, I would stop back again when I find myself in Kalamazoo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here and we absolutely loved ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First time here and we absolutely loved it. Great service, great food with a broad, eclectic menu and very reasonable wine prices. We'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. With my reservation ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was fantastic. With my reservation we walked right in an sat down. The servers are knowledgeable and friendly. The only con is that I wish the food portions were bigger.

I recommend the seasame ginger salmon. It's top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Hav ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Have been here several times and always had a positive/consistent experience. Also used a $20 Open Table gift certificate so that was nice. :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service can make or break a meal and our ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service can make or break a meal and our waiter was perfect. He was personable and didn't make any mistakes with all of our special requests (which were many). Urged us to try the sausage appetizer and it was scrumptious. The fruit cup has different - it had a wide variety along with Indian Apple seeds. Go - can't go wrong.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

When is a salad not an ordinary salad?.. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

When is a salad not an ordinary salad?...when it's a Food Dance salad. Fantastic squash soup as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second annual visit to Food Dance. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our second annual visit to Food Dance. Really outstanding food, service and venue! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Every time we go to Food Dance, we are n ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Every time we go to Food Dance, we are not disappointed. One of our favorites in Kalamazoo. They have great standbys but also awesome new features on the menu each time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for an anniversary celeb ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were in town for an anniversary celebration. We let Food Dance know and they ran with it. Excellent service and amazing food and drinks. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Kalamazoo for only a few days ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were in Kalamazoo for only a few days and Food Dance was the dining highlight. I ordered the salmon pate and chicken liver pate which were exceptional. My wife ordered the best beet salad she has ever had. Our main courses of salmon and duck were incredible. Food Dance made our stay in Michigan outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

loved it. The fondue was fantastic. The ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2016

loved it. The fondue was fantastic. The only negative is where they sat us. Right next to the wait stand.

We will be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have actually been to Food Dance many ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have actually been to Food Dance many times. We have always enjoyed their innovative menu and the fact that they use local farmers for their food. their vegetarian options are amazing- we had the goat cheese fondue and had to go back for it a second night. Fabulous!!!! The drinks were very good especially the white Manhatten. The service was great the first time back and so-so the second time. We will definately be back!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Tapas, Business Meals, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing dinner with girlfriends. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Had an amazing dinner with girlfriends. Perfect place! Great food, wine and ambiance. Our server was amazing too!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chicken pecan summer salad was good ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The chicken pecan summer salad was good and the crab cakes were notable. We had their 'Fish Feature' which was Sword Fish for dinner and it was not notable, pretty meh.

What I do like about the restaurant is their emphasis on farm to table and their heavy focus on local ingredients and local farms/produce.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.