Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.77mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About Food Dance

Over the past 20 years, Food Dance has built a strong relationship with dozens of local and regional growers, producers and farmers who have helped craft a one-of-a-kind menu that is fresh, inventive and appeals to the senses. Through our commitment to building a thriving and sustainable local food system, we create casual and inviting opportunities for people to come together and connect through the experience of food.
Food Dance is dedicated to relationships that support artisans who practice craft food processes that have been around for generations—growing, raising, preserving, curing, aging, pickling, butchering and more.

We look forward to sharing great experiences with you; celebrating, meeting or just enjoying one of our fabulous cocktails inspired by the seasons. Join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Don't miss our little specialty Market where you can take home some Food Dance!

401 E.Michigan
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pitcher St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 382-1888

Website:
http://www.fooddance.net/

Catering:
Catering: Delivery or Pick up
We love sharing food. Whether you’re planning a business meeting, luncheon, extravaganza or you just can’t bear to turn on the oven–available for delivery, pick up or an onsite party.

Parking Details:
We offer parking directly behind our 401 building in our own lot plus additional parking in a detached south lot across Michigan ave with visible signage. There is also some on the street parking available. More parking within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
City Bus E. Michigan ave across the street

Executive Chef:
Julie Stanley, Head Chef Brad McKenzie

Private Party Facilities:
We have 3 beautiful rooms that can be reserved individually or in combination, for 15-110 guests. Choices are almost endless. Whether you imagine a business breakfast or lunch, a festive cocktail party, a sit-down dinner or dessert & coffee bar, we have a menu selection you & your guests will love.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (269) 382-1888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer many events throughout the year such as cooking classes, dinners on the farm, spirit tasting series, beer & cheese tastings and more. Make reservations for these at fooddance.net/events-classes

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Food Dance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Healthy (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Fun (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Seasonal (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Organic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vegan (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Romantic (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Great option for vegetarians! Our meal was outstanding, Vegetarian choices for appetizers and entrees were excellent! Seasonal menu, but never an issue finding an outstanding meal!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good but not amazing. Service was fine but not great. Bill was pricey but not quite worth it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Decent food, nice selection, friendly wait staff...however, definitely overpriced for the area and overall experience. Dining room was on the dirtier side (particularly given they had just opened); our entrees were served prior to our appetizer / salad dishes being cleared; Dishes / utensils were dirty. Some of the menu items we ordered were good...others were fairly bland / lack lustre, especially for the price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent food made of mainly local ingredients. Highly recommended

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our party of 4 had a very good Saturday night dining experience. One person raved about the salmon, another about the pad thai. Two had the mac and cheese and said it was excellent. We shared and enjoyed the rhubarb and brownie desserts. Our server was knowledgeable, helpful, observant and prompt. Well worth the 30 mile trip to Kalamazoo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We love Food Dance. They have good vegetarian options and tasty drinks. The bread is baked right there and is hard to resist!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 12, 2017

One of those restaurants where no matter what you order, it will be delicious! Great deserts. Always at least a couple great vegetarian options and other dishes that can be made vegetarian. Decor has a touch of whimsy. For me, it's the perfect special occasion place.

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The place had a very good vibe for me. I loved those in my dinner party. The waitress was knowledgeable, the appetizers were tasty. My scallops + 4-square salad wasn't that satisfying. The greens were overdressed and the scallops undercooked. I will try it again, though, if I get to kalamazoo....Jesse Cook was amazing!!!

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Farm to table before that existed anywhere else. Best meal in Kalamazoo

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

As always, we enjoyed our annual visit to Food Dance. This time, the only problem was that the "honey glazed tofu," centerpiece of the veggie entree, was dry and tasteless.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent meal. Have not been there for several years, but was in Kalamazoo for a concert and a friend recommended it. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed that place when we lived in the area. Everything was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The wait staff is just superb, always friendly and knowledgeable. Food is always greasy and delicious with a nice combination of flavors no matter how simple your choice.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was a great place for a date night. I enjoyed my food and my date did as well. Will most definitely be back for another date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Not enough vegan options. For a restaurant that prides itself on fresh local produce; I wish Food Dance would serve more dishes that let those fruits and veggies speak for themselves. I feel all that butter and cheese isn't necessary, and I'm not even a vegan . Also the honey tofu dish I ordered wasn't as good as I expected it to be. The tofu was tasteless. It literally tasted like someone seared it on a grill. When baked, and allowed to absorb the flavors of the dish it's served with, tofu tastes much better. The asparagus however was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our friends had given us some gift certificates to this place which we had never made it it to, so we not only used the gift certificates, but also ran up a pretty sizeable bill on top of those. The options to this place are well varied and scrumptious. We went for the whole Monty, and really enjoyed our date. The waitress was fantastic and everything from the appetizer to the dessert was very well done.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good food, good service with out of town family ! Had a wonderful evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Was a pretty decent experience. My friend had a salad, I had a burger. Both were large portions. On the burger, they put the sauce underneath the patty, made the whole thing pretty slippery. But it was still delicious, even though I couldn't set it down for fear of it falling apart.

WARNING: They make their own ketchup there, and like most places around here that do that, it isn't very good. Tastes like it belongs on spaghetti. Highly recommend smuggling in a small bottle of your favorite brand instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was our first time here for breakfast as we usually go to Crows Nest. We absolutely LOVeD the breakfast here and will definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoy the classier atmosphere. Parking is tight. Our waitress was excellent. We were served in a timely manner. One ordering misfire that was corrected promptly. We ordered the scallop special. The scallops were good, one member in our party didn't care for the scallop bedding but the other person who ordered it enjoyed it. (matter of personal taste). The desserts were wonderful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our server Jacob was excellent, and the hand-signed congratulatory note that you folks put on the table was a nice touch. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very good local FTT. Pleasant, unstuffy service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The meal and service was outstanding. My Husband and I love the bakery and wine selection. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My favorite place to dine when I come back to town for vista with family, excellent selections always well prepared, fresh food, great service , you can actually have a conversation, so noise levels are ok, perfect in every way!

Tags: Vegan, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was amazing and the staff was incredibly friendly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food Dance is my favorite restaurant for special occasions and out of town guests.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was delicious. We got a very strange vibe off of the server when we asked for a substitution... the rest of the dinner we sensed a touch of annoyance from her as though we'd offended her, the chef, and the restaurant. This was the first time I'd experienced this at Food Dance, but also the first time I'd been there for dinner or asked to substitute a side for something else... just seemed a little pretentious.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The large booth was very comfortable for 4 of us and our waitress was especially friendly and informative. The salads were fresh and tasty, but my balsamic vinaigrette was kind of pasty. The cod special was very flavorful and cooked nicely. My flourless chocolate mousse cake improved as it came nearer to room temperature. I can't wait to come back; my favorite restaurant in Kzoo.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had the sliced duck breast and fish of the day. Both were excellent. A party in our mouths, topped off with Irish bread pudding, yummo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great menu with good service. Great location and easy parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our server was awesome. Came to the table and apologized for the slow food service. He was very attentive.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The atmosphere was open and friendly. Noise level was average. Good for conversations . The menu was varied. Very interesting starters. Great salads. I had the Bacon and Blue salad. It was excellent. Main coarses were very good. We would dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our first time there, the food was amazing. The wait staff was perfectly paced with the courses, so as to not overlap. We will definitely return when we are in the area.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I am familiar enough with Food Dance to know that I hate being stuck in their back booths by the kitchen. I regard it as a rude place to be seated. The noise and location per se are not so bad, but the booth benches are too low, too hard, are built to a discomforting angle, or the table is too high. These really need to be remodeled/refitted.
If I am seated there again, I will ask for other seating, or cease to patronize the place. The displeasure of that seating amplifies all other shortcomings in the dining experience and injures my desire to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We have become big fans of Food Dance ~ from the minute you step in the front door it has a nice vibe and relaxing atmosphere. The service is always terrific as is the food! We had their burgers this visit and while they may be a little higher price , was worth every penny! I am a burger fanantic and must say they are now on the top of the list! Great job Food Dance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Casual, Happy Hour, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

As usual the food and service was outstanding. This is a consistently great restaurant.
We love the Salmon!!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good Dance is always a delight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very good food, the service was outstanding. A little pricey.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was with every bite, exceeding our expectations. Salad shared, crab cakes with REAL crab, not the usual pollack, delicious entrees, and a cherry cobbler to die for. The wines were really good with an extensive list.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Expensive entree for what you received. $ 27.00 dollars for two small pieces of Lamb Meatloaf. Minimal service, no extra effort made whatsoever. Had to ask for the bread basket three times and once it was received some of the pieces were dried out, likely left over from another customers basket. Square dance salad was very poor.

This was our second visit to Food dance. First time wasn't great either, won't return for a third.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was incredible. I would recommend Food Dance to anyone looking for a nice place to take a date. The atmosphere is very good and the different types of foods are incredible. The wine was great and the service was impeccable. We will definitely be back. The only downside is it does get a bit pricey when you add in the wine, appetizer, and desserts to your entrees. As long as you know this going in you will have a great time.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.