About Food 101

4969 Roswell Rd
Atlanta, GA 30342
View Larger Map

Serving hearty food with rural roots & an urban polish, Food 101 caters to those seeking a dining experience reminiscent of days gone by. Created by talented chef Ryan Smith, the menu features proven classics with an inventive twist. This neighborhood Atlanta eatery exudes comfort not only through its food, but also through its relaxed atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm- 10:00pm; Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Brunch 11:00am - 3:00

Cross Street:
Belle Isle Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 497-9700

Website:
http://food101atl.com/

Catering:
Food 101 offers pick up and delivery catering service.
Also, Food 101 menu could deliver to you by using mobilewaiter.com

Executive Chef:
Justin Keith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Food 101 is available for private events.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 2:00PM 3:00PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Food 101 has a wonderful Private Dining Room available for all needs. No matter what size or what occasion, the staff here at Food 101 is here to make sure every detail exceeds your expectation – from the menu to the memories. Our private room can accommodate up to approximately 40 people. br

Food 101 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Casual (20)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Seasonal (9)
Cozy (8)
Healthy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Private Room (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Romantic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Reliably well prepared meal including ho ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Reliably well prepared meal including home-made desserts. Comfy venue, good service, good price-point. We go often....

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fabulous dining experience.It started at ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous dining experience.It started at the front door with a warm greeting from the hostess.Everyone working seemed happy to be there as well.The food and service were excellent and well worth the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess wasn't very friendly and bartend ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Hostess wasn't very friendly and bartender was just okay but the food was very good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had not eaten here in awhile. Disappoint ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Had not eaten here in awhile. Disappointed in the menu/portion sizes and prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Good, unique food, good atmosphere, just ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Good, unique food, good atmosphere, just the right noise level, good service. Recommended for casual night out.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Took my significant other out for a Va ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Took my significant other out for a Valentine's Dinner. We love to try new restaurants and food 101 was one restaurant that we had been very excited to try. First, let me say that we were about 45 min late for our reservations , but they still accomadated us with a nice table within about 8-10 min. However, this wasn't very difficult to achieve considering that the restaurant really wasn't very busy, which was highly suspicious for the Valentine's holiday.

After being seated we quickly realized that there weren't very many options to choose from. I had the trout and she had the baked chicken. My food was decent, but not spectacular. I could have got a better tasting and less costly meal at Ruby tuesdays or Chili's. The baked chicken came with their signature mashed potatoes which which were barely edible because they possessed a couple clumps of wet, burned potato skin. Service was decent, but it took way too long for our waitress to come back to the table at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Really disappointed in my last two OT re ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Really disappointed in my last two OT reservations. Poor seating and overall poor experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The person seating the guests was fantas ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The person seating the guests was fantastic, couldn't ask for better (on all levels). The service was somewhat lacking (you know when you're looking around for your server too often?). My wife's burger was a bit undercooked (not enough to send it back though) but tasted fantastic. My scallops, while cooked perfectly lacked flavor and the sauce they came with was watery & practically tasteless. Frankly, I expected way better for $32.00..,I should have ordered a burger too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The quality of the food was very good a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

The quality of the food was very good as was the service. Parking is always a bit of an issue at Food 101 but there is parking at the back of the complex - kind of dark and remote, especially at night. The decor could use an update - kind of drab.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall a great experience. Southern sty ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall a great experience. Southern style cuisine. You have to get the pimento cheese for the app ! It's way good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I scouts and gravy is delish, the crab c ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I scouts and gravy is delish, the crab cake benedict is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the scallops and they were excelle ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had the scallops and they were excellent. My husband and another person on our group had the meatloaf and they both enjoyed. Another friend had the trout and said it was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The printer was down causing our meal to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The printer was down causing our meal to drag on way too long. In their rush to get me my meal the pasta was cold and the beef unevenly salted. It's nomarlly a good place but this was a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food 101 is one of our favorite restaura ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food 101 is one of our favorite restaurants in all Atlanta.Excellent food, service(including the incredible hostess),inviting decor and ambiance.We will be back soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious!!!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

As with any restaurant we asked our serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As with any restaurant we asked our server about certain items on the menu; and got "I'm a vegetarian so I don't eat that". I have nothing against being a vegetarian but if you're working in a restaurant you should be able to at least share what you seen most people order. Our server never once smiled and gave us that "don't bother me attitude" and seemed irritated with our questions.

Food and atmosphere was really good but our bad experience with the server leaves me thinking I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food 101 ranks high for consistent servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food 101 ranks high for consistent service and quality food. Unfortunately, it you're looking for a quiet atmosphere for conversation you might consider other venues, or book a late lunch as the volume gets pretty loud during peak hours....

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Met at Food 101 for girl's night out. Th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Met at Food 101 for girl's night out. The great service started @ the bar. One of my girlfriends is very particular about her drink. The bartender listened carefully & made sure she got exactly what she wanted. This service from him carried over to our table when we were seated. That's great service. Food was excellent. All in all... a great experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and service exce ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was very good and service exceptional. First time visiting and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time to the restaurant ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was my first time to the restaurant and I was excited to try it out. We made a reservation and were sat in the overflow room when the main restaurant didn't even seem full. We started with the pimento cheese and I was looking forward to the pretzel bread however I didn't like how the bread is cold and sliced. I think a warm little loaf of pretzel bread would be much better.

I order the brisket pasta dish for my entree and it was flavorless. Our waitress was very accommodating and ordered me a takeaway meal. When I got home I had the trout which was awesome. I loved the sweet potato puree and brussel sprouts that came with it. I wouldn't come back here for dinner but would for a drink at the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was incredible as always and th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was incredible as always and the drinks were mixed perfectly! I'm not ashamed to say I cleaned my plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks to waiter Jaimy. We were at tabl ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Thanks to waiter Jaimy. We were at table for three hours on a first date. She was observant but didn't hover. She would look for me to give a signal or just look up. Food great as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at Food101 and I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my first time at Food101 and I was impressed. The service, the food, and the atmosphere was great. I loved the decor. The menu had a lot of great options to choose from and our waitress was awesome with making suggestions. I would highly recommend Food101 to anyone and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for brunch. Ordered the bottomless ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Came for brunch. Ordered the bottomless mimosas...first one was lovely...fresh tasting and sparkling. Refill was watered down and flat. Told server and she said, "No, it's good...just has more champagne." Nooooooo, it was flat and watered down. She reluctantly brought back a fresh one which was great. Took over 20 minutes to place an order for food...poached eggs were obviously overcooked (hard yellow yolk) and got past the chef, expedite or, and food runner. By the time the eggs were replaced, everyone else in my party had finished brunch. But, the food was tasty. We had fun regardless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very mixed Feelings about this place. # ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very mixed Feelings about this place.

1. Great Ambiance. Well appointed restaurant with good vibe.

2. Got starter within 5 minutes -pimento cheese. Was great. Pickles were great too. An hour later, we got our food. So, service a lot slow.

3. Food was fresh, but over seasoned.

4. The reason we won't go back - built in tip for 5 people. For large parties... I get it. For 5 People + Very Slow Service + Built in Tip = unacceptable.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

This restaurant is great!! We had no ide ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This restaurant is great!! We had no idea the food and service would be so amazing. This is truly a hidden gem!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They did a nice job on the fried chicken ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

They did a nice job on the fried chicken, it's a solid menu item.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Lots of fun, and enjoyed the food and at ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Lots of fun, and enjoyed the food and atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had brunch, loved my chicken skillet, gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had brunch, loved my chicken skillet, great flavors and perfect size!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the crab cake benedict, the only t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had the crab cake benedict, the only thing good on the plate was the eggs, the crab cakes were old and over fried. The fried chicken was ok, the fries on the plate were cold. The food is clearly prepackaged and not made from scratch. The server was completely Disinterested in serving us. Will never go back. The only thing passable about the place was the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

This was fun and excellent food. Note to ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was fun and excellent food. Note to others, however, alcohol is not served on Sundays until 12:30pm, although they open at 11am. It was disappointing that we could not partake of their Bloody Mary bar and endless mimosas, as I'm sure it would have been the same quality as their food...wonderful!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for brunch. Good options but not a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for brunch. Good options but not a strong brunch vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was really disappointed with this meal ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was really disappointed with this meal. I had the cod feature with chorizo, kale and a lobster broth. The cod was not de-boned and I found 4 small fish bones throughout eating it. The chorizo was tough (like it was dried or a rustic style) and it did not compliment the dish well. The lobster broth did not have any flavor to it and it was a thick disappointment. Also some of the mussels and oysters in the dish had cracked shells which made the presentation look sloppy, and the actual meats inside the shells looked like they had been sitting in a warmer and were shriveled and tasteless.

My husband had the short rib, which was a little more flavorful, though a bit salty.

We did not venture to stay for dessert as I feared it would be a disappointment as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is a favorite for special occasions ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is a favorite for special occasions (New Year's Eve dinner) and fun place to take out-of-town guests. The food and service are always teriffic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pumpkin ravioli was amazing

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pumpkin ravioli was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our cocktails where on top delicious..to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our cocktails where on top delicious..too bad servers still don't know mezcal sour...they keep thinking moscow..mule...Bring the bone back please and be careful on the octopus...over cooked and very chewy. Duck pate lovely.charcuterie divine.great food overal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Why all the rave reviews ? Our tasteless ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Why all the rave reviews ? Our tasteless swordfish was swimming in canned tomato sauce that was 'prepped' with black pepper. The meat loaf was better but NOT for that price. Don't waste your money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Met a colleague for lunch. We had the p ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Met a colleague for lunch. We had the pimento cheese plate for an appetizer and it was average at best. I ordered the shrimp and grits and it was bland and lacked seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great drinks and wonderful menu. Get th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great drinks and wonderful menu. Get the chicken and start with the pimento cheese plate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They served meatloaf with a small off-pu ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 20, 2016

They served meatloaf with a small off-putting piece of foil. Getting a replacement plate took too long; the rest of us were done eating. No accommodation was made for it, just an apology. My shirt ribs were less flavorful than on other occasions there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.