Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.01mi
  3. Distance: 2.10mi
  4. Distance: 2.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.01mi
  3. Distance: 2.10mi
  4. Distance: 2.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.01mi
  3. Distance: 2.10mi
  4. Distance: 2.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 2.01mi
  3. Distance: 2.10mi
  4. Distance: 2.15mi

About Food 101

Serving hearty food with rural roots & an urban polish, Food 101 caters to those seeking a dining experience reminiscent of days gone by. Created by talented chef Ryan Smith, the menu features proven classics with an inventive twist. This neighborhood Atlanta eatery exudes comfort not only through its food, but also through its relaxed atmosphere.

4969 Roswell Rd
Atlanta, GA 30342
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm- 10:00pm; Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Lunch: Saturday 12:00pm - 3:00pm Brunch: Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Belle Isle Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 497-9700

Website:
http://food101atl.com/

Catering:
Food 101 offers pick up and delivery catering service.
Also, Food 101 menu could deliver to you by using mobilewaiter.com

Executive Chef:
Justin Keith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Food 101 is available for private events.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Happy Father's Day! Treat Dad to a delicious brunch or dinner to celebrate his special day.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 2:00PM 3:00PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Food 101 has a wonderful Private Dining Room available for all needs. No matter what size or what occasion, the staff here at Food 101 is here to make sure every detail exceeds your expectation – from the menu to the memories. Our private room can accommodate up to approximately 40 people. br

Food 101 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Groups (18)
See All
Casual (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Business Meals (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Private Room (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
1382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Delicious duck breast and scallop dishes. This place is not just for comfort food. Have had a satisfactory experience here on Christmas Eve but would avoid on Mothers Day, Easter, etc.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Maybe because it was Mother's Day and they had a fixed menu and it was extremely busy but food was somewhat cold😞

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food 101 was a nice combination of relaxed and special. The host and server were very welcoming and attentive and the manager stopped by to check on us. Atmosphere is comfortable but the food is special. Nicely presented and fresh ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We all really enjoyed our meals. They had something for everyone - from the carnivore to the vegetarian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We took the whole family to celebrate Mother's Day. Our reservation was ready immediately and the food was fantastic! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We celebrated Mothers Day 2017 here and based on my last dining experience, I was excited to eat here. However this time wasn't as great as the first. The hostess was very rude (almost standoffish) I immediately picked up off her vibe and wasn't looking forward to eating. However the waitress did a wonderful job. She was very polite and smiled and answered all of our questions. The catfish was PHENOMENAL!!! Even my 2 yr old who is the pickiest kid on the planet ate all of his dinner so that speaks volumes to us :) With a few tweaks on from staff, Food 101 could be one of my top 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was very unimpressed with this restaurant, with the exception of our server. The greeter, or should I say the NONgreeter said nothing to the guests who arrived a tad early. At 5 on the dot, she asked our info. She could have at least greeted us upon arrival. The food was mediocre, at best. I guess Food 101 means they're still in school learning the art of the southern cooking that they claim to have knowledge of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They were a bit overwhelmed due to the Mother's Day crowd. All of the food came out cold, especially the side dishes. It tasted good but would have tasted better hot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day, service was horrible and the food was mediocre. They were somewhat busy but not unreasonably full, however we were there for 45 minutes and were still waiting to place our meal order, the waitress passed by 4 times saying she would be back but just took too long. The deviled eggs appetizer did not look fresh and the piece of ham in the deviled egg was all gristle and silver-skin and no meat. The kids received their waffle with our appetizer and it appeared to be okay. We left after the appetizer since apparently they didn't want us to place a full meal order...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very disappointing dining experience. My wife and I have dined at Food 101 multiple times, and have always been very happy with our dining experience. But we had such a poor experience for Mothers Day brunch, we may never go back.
The service was inattentive and very slow, they brought out the wrong order to my wife, and the food we did receive was lukewarm, but the plates were very hot, like the food was under the heat lamp for an extended time. Very surprised that Food 101 would be off their game on Mothers Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great neighborhood joint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good, but it was almost too loud to have a conversation with my aging parents.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We ate here for Easter Brunch & enjoyed it so much I made a reservation for mother's day. We had an 11:30 reservation, arrived on time and were immediately seated. Our serer greeted us, took our drink order, brought us the yummy mini biscuits and took our order. A party of 10 was sitting right beside us when we walked in, and after a while we noticed they had not gotten their food. We looked around and noticed- many people had not gotten their food.
About 25 mins into our wait time, the manager came over and apologized saying that they had alot of large parties and the kitchen was backed up. He also indicated he would take care of our meal and that if we needed anything to let him know.
Although we waited a while to get our food, this allowed us to have great conversation and relax . The food was wonderful as always- things happen and it was a holiday so we brought our patience with us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our Mother's Day Brunch took 2 hours. Does not seem the kitchen was fully prepared. Everyone enjoyed their food however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came for Mother's Day brunch with an 11:00 AM reservation & were seated right away. It was obviously a crowded time on a busy day, but it shouldn't have taken 40 full minutes from the time we ordered until we got our food. It was a nice gesture to bring some mini-biscuits out to our table after 35 minutes, but that should have been done after 15 or 20. And don't come to the table and say "I'm sorry for the wait but your food should be right out" if it's really going to take another 15 minutes. That just gets people more upset, over-promising and under-delivering. The food was good, nothing outstanding. Wish they had more moderate priced entrees on the brunch menu, outside of the breakfast-type foods. Kind of surprised they didn't do anything extra for the moms, like a complimentary mimosa. They even made a point to put on the menu that their usual brunch special of bottomless mimosas was not available- guess they knew it would take forever for people to get food and they didn't want to over-serve anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was amazing. Reserved for last minute brunch and will surely visit again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food 101 is our favorite "go to" restaurant. Easy , good food, dependable, nice with guests, nice for two. Great for conversation, outdoor dining and always a nice evening. We love the tuna tacos, scallops, sliders, fried chicken...

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Thank you to everyone at Food 101 for making our experience so special.The service was immpecable from the moment we entered the front door to our perfect server who guided us through the menu.The food was as usual wonderful.The service excellent.We had constantly changing number of the reservation and they were very patient and accommodating.We will be back soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent service in a very comfortable setting. Menu is small but thorough, something creative and delicious for everyone. We enjoyed several of the appetizers to share, as well as our entrees. Cocktails were on point, also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Lunch - Had pastrami sandwich - meat slices too thick marbled with tough gristle. Very plain and uninspiring - thick slices of dried pastrami dropped on two pieces of bread with chips thrown next to it. No apparent pride from kitchen staff on what they put out to customers. No wonder the place was practically empty the entire noon lunch time and beyond. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our Server was Brian, he seemed to be very busy but was more attentive after our last two guests arrive for our party of 10. The room we were in was very cold, but the drinks and food made up for the temperature. My family and I were there to celebrate two birthdays and we felt this was a great place that we would all come back to. The food was great and Brian was super helpful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Organic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I went to this restaurant with 6 friends and everything was good for the most part. Only things to "complain" about was service but i could understand as it was a busy Sunday afternoon. Would be giving them another try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The four of us had a great time, despite the fact that 3 of the 4 ordered crab cake Benedict only to find it was sold out. We had and really liked the asparagus appetizer, chocolate bacon waffle (don't judge), and the catfish entree. I was less than smitten with my scallop grapefruit salad, but a good time was still had by all. We had a terrific server, but it was so loud I could not catch her name. Blonde, pony-tail, she ran her behind off and stayed efficient and friendly. We'll go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I haven't dined at Food 101 in a long time. The menu is more southern that I remembered. They used to have more comfort foods, which I preferred. My friend and I shared the baked oysters. The oysters were good but the breading on top was mushy. My friend ordered the meatloaf. He thought it was beef meatloaf but it also included bison and sausage. He liked it at the time, but has trouble tolerating sausage and was sick later. I ordered the chicken and biscuits. The chicken was almost shredded and tasteless. The gravy was watery. The biscuits were flat cornbread squares. We skipped dessert. The highlight of the evening was our server. We dined outside which was delightful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I visit here often. I invited some friends to try the restaurant for the first time. However, the menu had changed significantly this time in comparison to the 20 or so times that I've been over the last year. There were not as many selections available and some of the dishes that my friends and I wanted to try were no longer available. The waitress was somewhat nonchalant when I asked of a certain menu item was available.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We both had crab cakes. Not good, canned crab- tasted like tuna with mayonaise.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had not been before, but decided to make a reservation for our large group on Easter. Upon arriving, we learned they had a menu different than normal, but the server indicated they would accommodate any request. Quality of orders varied among our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed everything. Staff was accommodating we had to add 3 to our party of 7 for Easter brunch and there were no issues. This was greatly appreciated. Food was delicious and fresh, my nephew's kids chicken strip meal could have been warmer. Only complaint was the portion size. The large chicken breast cutlet I had was good and seasoned well, but my nephew had as much chicken, if not more on his plate than the adults did! Lol. I would return to try more of the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a party of 5 for Easter Brunch. We couldn't have been more disappointed. We had a 12:15 reservation and since they had just opened at 11:30, they were not yet busy. Only two of us had cocktails and it took about 15 minutes for them to arrive after ordered. I could see them sitting on the bar waiting for our waitress to bring them over. When our food finally arrived, they brought out 3 plates, the other two had to wait another 5 minutes for their food. When the last dishes arrived we found the green beans over cooked but barely warm and they appeared like a mixture of different batches with two distinctly differently colors of the green beans themselves. Half were a nice green color and the other half a mushy darker color. Also the hash browns (fried potato chunks) soft, warm not hot and not at all crunchy. After commenting on how disgusting the potatoes were, the others at my table asked me to try theirs, they tasted great, hot and crunchy on the outside, guess I just got the plate that although it arrived last it had obviously sat around under the warmer the longest. Two people ordered chicken and waffles and the chicken was just a tiny piece of fried chicken breast. The should have named the plate potatoes and waffles since the chicken was so small. Too many great restaurants in this city to bother visiting this place again. I would say eat here at your own risk or don't take a chance and go somewhere that is more consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ate here for Easter- we sat on the patio and it was wonderful!! My mom STILL raves about how wonderful the food, service and atmosphere were! I immediately booked a reservation for Mother's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good service and great food! We had a reservation for Easter brunch. We were sat quickly but our server was a little slow in taking our orders and bringing the check. We had two little ones (both under the age of 3) with us so promptness is always appreciated when we go out to eat. The brunch menu was very good and had a lot of variety. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We loved this place! Every Friday night we venture out to a new spot throughout the Metro Atlanta Area. From the drinks to dinner, we were not disappointed. Definitely will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I will go back again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food is always excellent and you cant beat the atmosphere. They have some of the best bar selections in town.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I've been coming to Food 101 for years and this was the first time I have not been 'wowed' by the food here. It seems that my fellow diners had the same response. Everyone's meal was okay but not great. Nothing to complain about. Just nothing to remember or return for either. Seems that the restaurant itself needs a bit of a facelift too. The booth was saggy and felt like seating in an old, beat up diner. I'm not giving up. I'll be back again, I'm sure. I just hope it was a one-time 'off' night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I've eaten at Food 101 many times but this past evening the food was average and the noise level was quite loud. I always order the same selection, fried chicken, as it's generally very good. However, I was disappointed in my dish as both the chicken and the mashed potatoes lacked flavor.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was ... good. But I feel this restaurant is overpriced for what you get. The food isn't superb, and portions are small. But at these prices, you'd expect better. On the upside, the food was well prepared and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food, atmosphere and service are excellent! It is definitely a modern day Cheers!!! It is a wonderful neighborhood-feel restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.