About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Diego located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter, perfectly situated to serve San Diegans and visitors as they enjoy the sights, sounds and festivals held in this exuberant district.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 130.

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Monday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday through Sunday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 5:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms. Buyout options available.

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Fun (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Authentic (15)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (14)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Romantic (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Cozy (8)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1097 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Service and food is excellent. All meat is cooked to perfection.
Try the lamb chops and the ribs (beef or pork, you can't go wrong)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

loved everything about the restaurant. I have already recommended it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Casual, Healthy, People Watching, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Organic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Website quoted a price for Father's Day plus a certificate for a meal another time. When we left the price was way more and no certificate. Three of us with no drinks was $218 with minimal tip! Glad we tried but not worth a second trip.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and even better service! Their Servers were all very attentive and thoughtful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We were seated on the back part of the restaurant, we were served 3 different types of meat within our 30 min being seated. I had to ask for service since we've been ignored and the meat servers doesn't get in our area since we're seated too far. We paid full price but never got the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Servers are busy and seem rushed. Other than that our dining experience was fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Our son's birthday (26). We had a lovely dinner. He was very happy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Both food and service was excellent. Been to several Fogo's in the US and this one meet expectations. The staff was generally concerned that we were happy. Great meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Waited for our waiter for two teas almost 20 minutes before getting them. The meat cutters would pass our table. Had to keep asking for someone to bring meats. When brought meat it was like rare and cold. Have had much better service maybe go back. Asked for more bread none brought.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Kind of disappointing. Don't get seated in the back. Waited 10-15 mins before any skewers came by. They kept walking to the other tables. The waiter had to tell the people to bring the meat to our table. On multiple occassions they ran out of meat before everyone in our table of 7 got a piece. Not an enjoyable experience. Should've spent our dining dollars elsewhere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We went for memorial day lunch and our son's birthday. The waitress and all the staff were very kind and helpful even when our two-year-old lost his straw a couple of times. Food was amazing as usual. I just wish I had parking or Validated parking. Even with the valet parking $10 for an hour and a half is a little steep after you pay so much for food. It will continue to special events restaurant for our family. Much love and God bless the farah family

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The service could have been better. Having never been to the restaurant before the waitress didn't explain how the restaurant operates and didn't offer us a menu. There was quite a bit of miscommunication and frustration on our part. Overall the food was good though.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great Memorial Day lunch promotion for the military and their guests. Couldn't go any better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Service and quality of meat are going downhill, while prices are climbing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a great family experience. The meats were excellently grilled. The salad/hors d vours bar had plenty of options. The servers were very polite and constantly offering food. A wonderful dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The service was superb the food delicious. What mote needs to be said.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Came to celebrate a special occasion (graduating from a doctoral program) with multiple guests visiting from out of the country. It didn't feel anything close to "special" despite having great experiences dining here in the past. We had to constantly try to get attention from the servers. We had to ask for certain meats (at one point I had to ask 3 different servers just to get a particular type of meat). Our server was not warm or welcoming at all. Not even a "congratulations" or ask what the celebration was for when I was clearly wearing a tam and graduation lei. It was not a busy time either (tail end of brunch). For celebrating such a huge milestone in my life and considering the value and experience of my guests, I really wish I could've taken my business elsewhere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fantastic food, service, salad bar, and meat. Just fabulpus!! The cheese bread rolls (chioux pastry) are TO DIE FOR!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything was great we always go there for our anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Love it--look forward to Fogo every year at my birthday. The Tres Leches cake is unbelievable!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant. The service is over the top great and food as well. highly recommended

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very expensive, the lamb taste fish. Not sure what happened with it.
Dinner for 2 with one beverage and 1 glass of wine $140. Classy, but Brazilian steak houses are just a notch above a buffet. No way I will spend this kind of coin for fishy lamb and fried bananas again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really good service! Everyone was friendly. Made us feel like we were a priority even though they were busy due to it being Mothers Day. Made my day special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, but overpriced for Mothers Day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

a carnivores paradise, fantastic salad bar, great deserts,,,,, and fun

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went in for Mothers Day and at the end of our lovely meal , I received a coupon for a complimentary meal to be redeemed between a fixed period of time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always solid... be picky about the quality of meat you choose. We had a lull in meat delivery, but once we told our wait person, we have multiple cuts of meat brought to our table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time experience. Food is outstanding! Service was great, friendly, helpful, and very attentive. Not cheap, but worth every penny. Two thumbs up.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Graduation dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They really took care of us and since it was our anniversary, they really made it even better for us. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I took some company teammates from out of town there for dinner. It was their first time dinning at Fogo's and they were so i impressed with restaurants appearance and the overall quality of the food. Thanks Fogo for helping me show them what San Diego is all about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Service was AMAZING, but the meats that were offered were too rare and some extremely rare and uncooked. Some were taken off our plates by other waiters when they saw it. Still good, but would be better if we had a say how we want meat cooked.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Amazing!!! Wonderful!

We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and they were so accommodating! Beautiful establishment and great service!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food and service were great until we were starting to slow things on the table side meat choices. As we both "took a break" from the choices, in less than 5 minutes no fewer than 5 different servers asked us if we were done yet, almost PUSHING us out just because we wanted to a moment to talk, enjoy our cocktails, and savor the meal we were having. We both definitely got the vibe of a factory, table turning being their priority. For a $50 per person, I should be able to enjoy my $20 glass of wine as slow as I choose. Then, after saying something about the sheer number of people coming to the table, our primary server (section lead) never once came back over to apologize or acknowledge the situation and only set over servers from other sections. The last 20 minutes of dinner definitely put a damper on the overall meal. Sadly.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We're excited about this restaurant but it was not impressed.
There are not many selection of food at salad bar, no seafood beside smoked salmon. Otherwise you have pay extra for seafood. We had to wait for more than half hours for second drinks and desserts and another wait for a bill. Over price!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fogo de Chao has been on my list for a while. But it didn't come close to a previous Brazilian steakhouse we used to live close to. Not much selection. The beef items were tasty and were cooked well. But both lamb selections were WAY overcooked. The one chicken dish lacked flavor. And there was no rabbit or chicken hearts or other special meats our favorite place offered. Even the capirinha was meh. WAY overpriced for the experience. :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was slow, servers were not professional compared to other location, and reflected poor management. Sea bass option was not good and expensive. Do not recommend this location, and I will not come back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was good but the service was exceptional. From the valet to the wait staff, everyone paid attention to your every need being helpful and friendly. Designed for meat lovers, but the salad bar was very good too--so something for everyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Both the food and the service was outstanding I very much enjoyed my experience at this restaurant we will definitely return

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.