About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Diego located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter, perfectly situated to serve San Diegans and visitors as they enjoy the sights, sounds and festivals held in this exuberant district.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 130.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Monday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday through Sunday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. And, you will appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Groups (35)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Authentic (26)
Romantic (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Worth the Drive (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fun (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Outstanding Value (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Business Meals (12)
Casual (12)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal for a birthday lunch for a fa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 12 hours ago

Great meal for a birthday lunch for a family of 4. Picky eater kids ate! Servers were attentive and often asked if any choices we wanted weren't coming by and made sure they came by. Dessert was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food - fresh and healthy suppl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

Fantastic food - fresh and healthy supply of great cuts!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am never going to eat here again. Spec ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

I am never going to eat here again. Specifically this location. It is very sub par for the standard of fogo. I will just stick to the bev hills location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Came here for a Valentine's dinner and w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Came here for a Valentine's dinner and was very pleased with the dining experience. The food was really interesting because it came in two parts. The first was kind of an open bar with a variety of dishes, salads, fruits, and light courses and the second was a selection of meats (primarily steaks) being served in a rotation. We also got seated in a private room near the food so that was nice as well. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing selection of salad items, numero ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing selection of salad items, numerous meats brought around, and surperb service. The only knock I have on this dining experience is that my fiancé eats well done meat, and as each meat was brought to the table, they promised to come back with that request. Unfortunately that did not happen and kind of took away from the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pleasant experience overall, however th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Pleasant experience overall, however they forgot our Anniversary request. Fairly disappointed by that , since notice was given over a week in advance.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although the prices are high, the food i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Although the prices are high, the food is very good and the service is better than most. On a busy night (Valentine's Day) they still did pretty well with only a couple of minor miscues. The semi-private room near the wine vault was a welcome escape from the fairly loud and hectic dining room, so we appreciated it very much. It was our second time there, and except for the need to be hauled out on a gurney for eating too much, it was a very nice experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Great place to enjoy a fabulous lunch an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to enjoy a fabulous lunch and or dinner. Incredible bacon, salads, and variety of meats. Tables are kind of too close together. Service is exceptional on point. Meats can be cooked to your liking. Amazing service every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The lamb lollipops are the best..very fl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The lamb lollipops are the best..very flavorful..ask for some mint jelly and that will take it all the way up..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak melts in your mouth and the Br ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The steak melts in your mouth and the Brazilian Martini is so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was probably the worst dining exper ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

This was probably the worst dining experience that I have had in years. The FoGo De Chao in Denver is 80% better. Ome of the servers took away my Red and Green able sign. I was unable to contimue. Very rude, as if he thought that 3 trips to my table was more than enough. Or maybe he had another reason. My wife and i dine out a minimum of 3 times weekly at 4 star restaurants. We have dined throughout the USA and Abroad.This one is bad. Thank you Dr. M Williams.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

The food and service were great. We had ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service were great. We had a fantastic night at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was phenomenal and tasteful! Best m ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was phenomenal and tasteful! Best meats I've had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was amazing!!! Osc ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Our dining experience was amazing!!! Oscar made sure we were well taken care of and we will be visiting Fogo again in the near future!!! The lamb chops are superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is ALWAYS fantastic but this visit ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food is ALWAYS fantastic but this visit was a bit strange because there seemed to be a shortage in variety and attention on the Gaucho's part.

Love this restaurant and love coming here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good. Not as snazzy as some other l ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very good. Not as snazzy as some other locations in terms of building/decor, but food is just as good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The meat selection was good but the tast ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The meat selection was good but the taste was not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Bachelor party dinner

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bachelor party dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Market table lunch is best value in the ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Market table lunch is best value in the city. Food is outstanding but more amazing is the variety of selection. Don't miss it. For dinner, the quality of meats is beyond expectations and the quantity is never ending until you say, "No mas".

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, , Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been here several times. Service was gre ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Been here several times. Service was great as was food options at market table (that alone can fill you up) and beef/poultry cuts. The Brazilian cheese bread (gluten free) is great and they have a decent wine list. I never feel unattended. After visiting a similar Brazilian restaurant in town over New Year's Eve, I now have a greater appreciation for the food and service at Fogo.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For those who can eat a couple of pounds ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

For those who can eat a couple of pounds of meat...this mite be a good choice. And for those

who just want to eat as much as possible as well. Not fine dining, and too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

It was my second experience at Fogo de C ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

It was my second experience at Fogo de Chao and I have to say that it only gets better every time I go back. Ambience was perfect and the food was absolutely delicious. Me and my date had a very delightful evening and would definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what I expected. Heard so many good ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Not what I expected. Heard so many good things but wasn't impressed

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wir haben aren mit 14 Leuten da. Brasili ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wir haben aren mit 14 Leuten da. Brasilianisches Steak Haus bei dem man nicht bestellt, sondern die Kellner kommen mit Spiesen verschiedenster Fleischsorten und schneiden nach Wunsch ein Stück ab. Und das solange man will. War sehr lecker, guter Wein und auch gute Salatbar. Hat allen hervorragend gefallen.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good however I had a lot of pro ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good however I had a lot of problems with service. I cannot have dairy and waiting over 45 minutes for them to bring me regular potatoes and when I finally got them they were way too salty and way too much pepper

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We dined here for SD Restaurant Week, wh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We dined here for SD Restaurant Week, which was a good deal! However, upon arrival, there seemed to be confusion about the exact start time for dinner for the restaurant week. This was sorted out eventually but our server seemed to have the same confusion. Other than this slight mishap, the food was delicious. The quality was superb and no meat seemed too dry or overcooked. Salad bar was great as well. They did initially forget to bring out the cheese bread, but once we asked, it was brought out. Our server also disappeared towards the end of our meal. Overall, great deal for SD Restaurant week, but service could be improved.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

First impression of the restaurant is am ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First impression of the restaurant is amazing! Never been to fogo de chao and got to say, it blew my mind away. I highly recommend going there because of good food, awesome environment, and great convo with good people around you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely set a standard for amazing se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Definitely set a standard for amazing service. My glass of water never got passed half and I didn't have a problem flagging down a waiter.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was great except f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The dining experience was great except for a couple of instances where we actually have to ask a gaucho with the picanha to come by. The market table is acceptable but not as great as everyone seems to claim. The plantains seem hard to come by as well. Overall, nice dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant week!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Restaurant week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've never said "ew" so many times at th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I've never said "ew" so many times at the dinner table. The salad bar was sub-par and the meat cuts were extremely low quality and flavored poorly. Had a cafeteria vibe and was extremely loud. So not worth the prices.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Best value in city based on the quality ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Best value in city based on the quality and quantity of food. The meats are tender and flavorful. The salad bar has fruits and vegetables to satisfy anyone. We will return again and again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We got there early and were seated immed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We got there early and were seated immediately. The restaurant was not very busy at the time but by the time we finished it had started to fill up. The Salad Bar was well stocked with fresh ingredients. Did not sample much because wanted to save it for the meats. Afte finishing the small salad, proceeded to turn over a card that is red on one side and green on the other side. Green meaning that you would like one of the servers with skeyers of meat to come by and slice some off for you. Red means you want to take a break of are finished. At the begining of our meal, the wait staff was very attentive (almost too attentive). As the restaurant filled up and got busier, we were begining to feel forgotten. When we had eaten our fill, we waited almost 15 minutes before some one asked if we wanted the table cleared. I asked for the check at that time, but I ended up having to ask again for the check. It took another 15-20 minutes to get the check and leave.

The food was good, but I thought that their "premium " cuts could have been of better quality. The lamb chops were amazing. But the rest of the meats were ok. I expected the filet to be more tender and it was chewy.

I would recomend for the experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service with an array of different ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great service with an array of different flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, food was amazing!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent service, food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we orginally was going for rest ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Although we orginally was going for restaurant row week, we opted out and did the regular dinner menu because of the filet migon. Well we were not impressed at all with the filet migon. It was rather dry and no flavor. So we tried it again and same issue. We told the waiter and he addressed the chef with our concern and they brought out another skewer of it, but still the same issue, dry and no flavor. Other theb that everything else was good. I just wsh we would have stuck witb the 40$ cost vise the 52 we were charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We went on what happen to be restaurant ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We went on what happen to be restaurant week. 9f course they were extremely busy but the staff was all so kind and very attentive. Definitely great customer service and our Server Otto was one of the best servers I have ever had. My husband and I had an amazing dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, because of restauran ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was very good, because of restaurant week we were given two menu options we choose the non-restaurant week option that was supposed to have 16 different cuts of meat. We possibly had 10 cuts and our bill wasn't changed to reflect that, also it took well over 15 minutes to get our bill, then another 10 to have our bill corrected as directed initially and then another 10 just to process payment. Aside from that the staff was friendly and the cuts were generous. I would definitely try this location again to give them another opportunity to correct the deficiencies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, the food and service were ama ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 17, 2017

As always, the food and service were amazing! We went during restaurant week and the value and menu were spot-on! I can't wait until my next visit there!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week with a visiting ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Went for restaurant week with a visiting friend. We're foodies and we had a great time sampling all the delicious grilled meats. Go hungry 😋

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.