About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Sunday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday and Saturday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. And, you will appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Special Occasion (199)
Good for Groups (146)
Fit for Foodies (123)
See All
Romantic (92)
Great for Lunch (70)
Hot Spot (50)
Notable Wine List (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Kid-friendly (35)
Great for Brunch (33)
Late-night Find (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sort By:
Newest
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistently the best tasting food anywh ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently the best tasting food anywhere. This is hands down my favorite place to dine. The service is by far the best. Working as a team to meet the needs of your guest is far and away the best concept in dining customer service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Heading back again ton ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place! Heading back again tonight...it is my new favorite place to go for dinner in downtown San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything about the place. The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I loved everything about the place. The Food was very good and I was very please with the service.

It is definitely not a date place if you are trying to get to know each other as you will probably be screaming since it is very loud in this location but that's okay. At least kids are welcomed.

The side or salad bar was very clean and everything I tasted was excellent.

You get so much food that I don't care if you don't eat for a week you will fill up fast.

The price was a little bit high but you know that going in so if that is an issue go for the more regular experience at a cheaper off brand version if you dare!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would be more romantic if we could sit t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Would be more romantic if we could sit together instead of across from each other. The seating is too close to the other people. Price too high...we went there thinking it was $31.00 each instead of $50.00 (pricey). Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

The meat was bad and the food came out s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The meat was bad and the food came out slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Excellent food and overall dining experi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food and overall dining experience. Service was top notch and so was the food. A bit expensive for some diners, but worth every penny if you can afford to splurge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated promptly at our reservati ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seated promptly at our reservation time. As always, the staff was very attentive. There was always someone checking in on us making sure everything was going well, the food was to our liking and that we were getting to try the cuts of meat that we wanted, which I really appreciated. Everything tasted delicious. The cuts are prime choice. It's about the 5th time we've been and we are never disappointed. Oh, and the market table alone is enough to leave you satisfied, and pairs perfectly with the meat and poultry.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brazilian meats. Good cocktails. F ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great Brazilian meats. Good cocktails. Fun salad/starters bar. Ambience is a bit noisy and not very romantic. Lots of families with kids. Lots of commotion. But enjoyed the food and the service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice steakhouse however this comes at a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice steakhouse however this comes at a price. It's a shame the choice meats seems rarely served. They do accommodate your requests and would recommend that if your looking for value, eat a small salad, stay away from bread and other teasers in front of you and request the fillet and ribeye cuts. Overall, we had a nice evening. Also recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This is a fund event. Essentially all y ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is a fund event. Essentially all you can eat with a salad bar that has lots and lots of choices and grilled meats that are delicious. I loved the steak and lamb but everyone enjoyed the numerous options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great birthday dinner! The staf ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had a great birthday dinner! The staff was very friendly and attentive. The service was probably one of the best experiences I've had a restuarant in a long time. They knew it was my husbands birthday and offered a complimentary dessert, when we told them we were too full they came out with a plate of whipped cream and strawberries that read 'Happy Birthday' and a cheesecake to take home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lamb chops I've ever had! All the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Best lamb chops I've ever had! All the meat selections were delicious. Staff was extremely accommodating and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb service, great food and friendly ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Superb service, great food and friendly staff. Will definitely go back. Everything is fresh and tasty, great meat and side selection. The restaurant is very clean. The food keeps on coming, we did not have to wait or ask for anything.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my boyfriend's first experience ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was my boyfriend's first experience at a Brazilian steakhouse, and he was not disappointed. We dined with friends, another couple. We both loved the variety of steak selections offered as well as the wonderful salad bar. I absolutely loved the chicken salad. Although my female friend does not eat much meat, she said she was really full due to the salad bar options. I knocked off a point for service because we asked for more cheese bread, and it never came. Also, the meat is serve so quickly that it's hard to really appreciate what you're being offered. I felt a little rushed in having to decide if I wanted that cut of meat or not. Nonetheless, for at about $50 per person, I feel this was money well spent and we look forward to coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you are BIG on meat this is the place ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

If you are BIG on meat this is the place to be. The Meat selection 's where hot, plentiful, and we'll seasoned. The service was top notch. It was kind of noisy, and busy. I would say not the place for a romantic dinner, but a big appetite would be right at home ;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

the food is exceptionally good and servi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

the food is exceptionally good and service just as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was fantastic will be visiting agai ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was fantastic will be visiting again . I will be recommending to friends enjoyed the whole experience .

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing staff. Will come back just to ex ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing staff. Will come back just to experience the great service and good food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful market table. Lots of variety ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful market table. Lots of variety and a good value.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food but they don't tell you the p ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food but they don't tell you the prices or give you a menu so you have no idea how much the food is until you get the bill. If you look at their website they have different price points for different dining experiences. Once you get there they don't give you a choice. I would have liked to pick a lower priced meal but they didn't give me the option.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

This place is amazing. Don't over indulg ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This place is amazing. Don't over indulge at the salad bar, as you will want to save plenty of room for all the meats that will present themselves! Servers appear with filet, sirloin, bacon wrapped chicken, more chicken, sausages, lamb chops, and leg of lamb! I'm sure I missed something.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great dining experience. The me ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Another great dining experience. The meat treats come fast and furious. Everyone's favorites are different which is one reason F d C is good. As much as you want of whatever you like. My favorites are the pork sausage, beef ribs, and lamb. If you haven't seen the one you want lately just ask and it will be on its way. Started the evening in the bar, where a friendly and helpful Oscar kept us 'liquefied'. Manager always stops by to see if everything is going well. Some servers seemed to recognize us, hope for good reasons. Also, like those little biscuits. The salad bar fixings are fresh and nice variety. The spicy bacon is delicious, but caution it is spicy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food and valet parking was gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very good food and valet parking was great. Choice of meat excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and ambiance were great as always! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and ambiance were great as always! There were some service stumbles but the manager got everything righted the moment we provided feedback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing food..the best flank steak..my h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Amazing food..the best flank steak..my husband and I love this place. Service is simply amazing. We have eaten here many times mothers day, fathers day, anniversary, bdays, etc we have had our baby and kids with us and we have eaten here just as a couple and never had any issues with service, food or anything else.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good, but not the best Fogo de C ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overall good, but not the best Fogo de Chao location I have been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Simply delicious. Service is prompt and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Simply delicious. Service is prompt and invisible at the same time. All the meats were fantastic and the Beef Ribs were out of this world! Hidden menu item Hard that has a cruchy edged with a buttery fall apart meat. Order it right when you sit down as it takes 20 minutes.

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and delicious food. We e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great ambiance and delicious food. We enjoyed our time there and the wait staff is very accommodating at making sure you get the select cuts of meat that you want to try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a fantastic time. The management ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was a fantastic time. The management staff down to the servers were all excellent. I will definitely return and recommend this establishment to all of my friends .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my daughters birthday arrive ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Celebrating my daughters birthday arrived early to enjoy a drink before dinner. Stood at the bar for 10 minutes and no one acknowledged us...one bartender waiting on four men at the bar (they were the only other patrons in the bar) and the other filling glasses with fruit and herbs ignored us, we were never greeted. Happy hour drinks at the bar were $7. Got called to our table before anyone waited on us. Ordered our drinks at the table, they were $14 in the dining room, explained that we waited and no one acknowledged us in the bar, would they honor the happy hour price, they said no. The market table was not what I expected, thought there would be more traditional Brazilian salads, but was Americanized with Caesar salad, fruits, cheese and toss salad makings. We did like the black rice mango salad, that was unique. Meats were delicious and plentiful. My daughter did get a complimentary dessert with a candle for her birthday. Dining room staff was helpful and attentive, an overall ok experience, but not what I expected from the other reviews and the price point.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Wife's birthday. We had a great time. W ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wife's birthday. We had a great time. Wine list was fantastic and the food was phenomenal. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was very good overall. I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The experience was very good overall. I ordered a specialty cocktail and it was delicious. The food was magnificent. I think it was slightly over priced overall though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and service was great. We arriv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food and service was great. We arrived an hour early and spent time in the bar. The bar tender was really friendly and started off a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place might be a little pricey but ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This place might be a little pricey but it was well worth it. I ate until my stomach couldn't take no more and then some but not because it is an all you can eat restaurant but because this place had the best food that I have ever tasted. All of the meat was juicy and cooked exactly how you liked it. The margaritas were so good. I loved the mango margarita especially. I would recommend this place to everyone that I know for any special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second experience dining at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our second experience dining at Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse. The first was with a huge party exceeding 20 family and friends last December. The second was very recently with three family members. Both experiences were equally extraordinary with regard to quality of the meal, service and ambiance. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience! Love the food ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great experience! Love the food and the service was awesome. We definitely will be back whenever we're in town next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my husband's 50th birthday and we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was my husband's 50th birthday and we wanted a quiet nice place to go eat that was romantic. This restaurant meet all of our needs and some! The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. They even gave him a LARGE piece of cheesecake for his birthday! We will for sure be returning again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good. My girlfriend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was really good. My girlfriend and I are not the biggest meat eaters so we can not comment on that, but the vegetables and everything else was really good. We got the Marketplace option and that left us plenty filled up, so don't think that just because you will not be eating meat, that this restaurant is not worth your time and money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo is well-known for its services and ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fogo is well-known for its services and food. I think Fogo San Diego have excellent services, but the food quality is not as good as the one i tried in Houston. The selection is good, but it takes a while to serve to us. desert for our birthday friend is taking even longer. I will recommend this restaurant but i will tell them serving might take a while.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great staff fresh and quality food super ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great staff fresh and quality food super nice management especially the gentleman from Illinois

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.