About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Diego located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter, perfectly situated to serve San Diegans and visitors as they enjoy the sights, sounds and festivals held in this exuberant district.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 130.

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Monday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday through Sunday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate Easter at Fogo. Sunday, April 16 – 11am- 9pm, Dinner Price All Day
Enjoy fire-roasted meats complemented by our Market Table and traditional sides. Brazilian Brunch recipes served 11am-2pm. With so many choices the whole family can enjoy.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mother’s Day at Fogo. All moms will receive a complimentary dining card for next visit.* Restrictions apply. Sunday, May 14, 11am - 9pm, dinner price all day.

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

All Dads who dine will receive a card for a complimentary lunch or dinner on his next visit.* Restrictions apply. Sunday June 18, 11am-9pm, dinner price all day.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. And, you will appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for Groups (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Romantic (19)
Authentic (18)
Fun (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Casual (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Family Style (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Meats are delicious. Service was slow.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

excelente!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food but expensive for this type of restaurant
Drinks in particular

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Felt rushed, did not even flip the card and a barrage of waiters with scewrers were buzzing like bees. Good to get your meat on and not as expensive as I thought

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I love the Brazilian steak houses of Fogo de Chao but this was the least good experience I have had at one. The waiter seemed to ignore us after introducing himself -- we had to flag him down to get a second glass of wine, the gauchos with the meat did not arrive promptly and I had to repeatedly ask for the cut of meal I like best. I'll go back because I love the idea of going there for a "meating". Maybe it was just a bad night but if I had not been to Fogo de Chao before I would be inclined not to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent! Salad bar was outstanding, fresh quality food.. If vegetarian you can have the salad only. Also meat is wonderful and the service is outstanding.
We really enjoyed our meal, will come back very soon

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food. I love their salad bar. Great place to hang out with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fogo is a definite keeper, if your a carnivore. Went for our anniversary dinner, had heard a lot about the Resturant. It lived up to our expectation. Overall ambience is rather bland and dark. Table next to us was rather loud. Our table was against a wall as well. We should have ask for a better table, so that's my fault. Service was excellent, friendly and came around regularly. Food, wow! Salad bar was excellent. Pace yourself, there is a lot of meat to eat! Serving a variety of types and cuts of meats was exceptional. I believe the dinner was well worth the value We will return when we can

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our server, Philip (or Felipe), was very courteous and professional. He made the friend's birthday lunch a very special one. Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The beef ribs were wonderful. We always enjoy the lamb. If you like red meat - this is the place to go.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food and service.
The wine menu was pricey but very good.
I would highly recommend it for a group special occasion , as the staff were good about splitting the checks.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Fogo is my favorite restaurant and I believe the Market Table lunch is the best value in San Diego but combining one meat with it is a "RIP-OFF" Two of our 6 person party ordered 1 meat and when we asked for additional pieces of the same we were told there are no "seconds" with the 1 meat option. The waiter never explained such limitations when he hyped the choice. It is not worth the extra money for 4 or 6 slices of meat. I was very disappointed and am reconsidering my frequent visits.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

If you like meat and lots of it this is the place to go. We had our Christmas party there and this time my wife just went there on an afternoon date.

Tags: Family Style, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I've enjoyed a few great dinners here. The food, service, wine list, etc always deliver. Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service is always the best. Their teamwork style really makes for a great experience. The always friendly staff & the delicious cuts of meat definitely make this place. I always recommend this spot to my friends and family who are feeling fancy-ish and looking for a good meal. Slightly pricey but you truly get what you pay for & a little more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The Market Table was excellent, the meat was superb, the service could not have been better and the ambiance was perfect for a date with my wife.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was good. Waitress that we had seemed pushy and annoyed. Seemed like she seemed to rush us at first. Food was extremely salty...probably so you would drink a lot of water and be too full to eat much. Been to several other of their locations and this one was probably our least favorite. One of the men there, not sure who or what he was, just slapped our bill on our table and didn't say anything and walked away. Just seemed like rude service which ruined it for us. Will never return here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great meal for a birthday lunch for a family of 4. Picky eater kids ate! Servers were attentive and often asked if any choices we wanted weren't coming by and made sure they came by. Dessert was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was good as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic food - fresh and healthy supply of great cuts!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I am never going to eat here again. Specifically this location. It is very sub par for the standard of fogo. I will just stick to the bev hills location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very good place, very good service. The timing was perfect

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came here for a Valentine's dinner and was very pleased with the dining experience. The food was really interesting because it came in two parts. The first was kind of an open bar with a variety of dishes, salads, fruits, and light courses and the second was a selection of meats (primarily steaks) being served in a rotation. We also got seated in a private room near the food so that was nice as well. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing selection of salad items, numerous meats brought around, and surperb service. The only knock I have on this dining experience is that my fiancé eats well done meat, and as each meat was brought to the table, they promised to come back with that request. Unfortunately that did not happen and kind of took away from the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Pleasant experience overall, however they forgot our Anniversary request. Fairly disappointed by that , since notice was given over a week in advance.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was seated within 5 minutes of my reservation. The host was there and gave us information of how this worked. I food bar had a great assortment of fresh n healthy foods. Then they brought a variety of meats, rolls mashed potato's till we had all we could eat.... then we relaxed a bit before leaving.... never rushed.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Although the prices are high, the food is very good and the service is better than most. On a busy night (Valentine's Day) they still did pretty well with only a couple of minor miscues. The semi-private room near the wine vault was a welcome escape from the fairly loud and hectic dining room, so we appreciated it very much. It was our second time there, and except for the need to be hauled out on a gurney for eating too much, it was a very nice experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place to enjoy a fabulous lunch and or dinner. Incredible bacon, salads, and variety of meats. Tables are kind of too close together. Service is exceptional on point. Meats can be cooked to your liking. Amazing service every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The lamb lollipops are the best..very flavorful..ask for some mint jelly and that will take it all the way up..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The steak melts in your mouth and the Brazilian Martini is so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food is great and the service is wonderful, we went for Valentine's Day and we will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was probably the worst dining experience that I have had in years. The FoGo De Chao in Denver is 80% better. Ome of the servers took away my Red and Green able sign. I was unable to contimue. Very rude, as if he thought that 3 trips to my table was more than enough. Or maybe he had another reason. My wife and i dine out a minimum of 3 times weekly at 4 star restaurants. We have dined throughout the USA and Abroad.This one is bad. Thank you Dr. M Williams.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service were great. We had a fantastic night at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was phenomenal and tasteful! Best meats I've had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Our dining experience was amazing!!! Oscar made sure we were well taken care of and we will be visiting Fogo again in the near future!!! The lamb chops are superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food is ALWAYS fantastic but this visit was a bit strange because there seemed to be a shortage in variety and attention on the Gaucho's part.

Love this restaurant and love coming here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very good. Not as snazzy as some other locations in terms of building/decor, but food is just as good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The meat selection was good but the taste was not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bachelor party dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Market table lunch is best value in the city. Food is outstanding but more amazing is the variety of selection. Don't miss it. For dinner, the quality of meats is beyond expectations and the quantity is never ending until you say, "No mas".

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.