About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Diego located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter, perfectly situated to serve San Diegans and visitors as they enjoy the sights, sounds and festivals held in this exuberant district.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 130.

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours Monday through Friday for $15.00, Saturday & Sunday Brunch for $18.00, and Dinner all days of the week for $18. Limited metered parking is located in the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Fogo Holiday Churrasco Feast of indulgent bone-in cuts and seasonal recipes exclusive to the holidays. Dinner price all day Thanksgiving.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Fogo Holiday Churrasco Feast of indulgent bone-in cuts and seasonal recipes exclusive to the holidays. Dinner price all day Christmas Eve.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Fogo Holiday Churrasco Feast of indulgent bone-in cuts and seasonal recipes exclusive to the holidays. Dinner price all day Christmas Day.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Fogo Holiday Churrasco Feast of indulgent bone-in cuts and seasonal recipes exclusive to the holidays. Dinner price New Year’s Eve & Day.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms. Buyout options available.

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Groups (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fun (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (19)
Business Meals (15)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Romantic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Cozy (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

All the meats were too salty!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We came on a Saturday afternoon to celebrate our anniversary. Our overall experience was AMAZING. My hubby loves to eat meat and this is the best place to satisfy any carnivore. I had the Red Blend wine and it was really good. The market table, the food, the service all get two thumbs up from us. We shall be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

The wait staff were amazing. They were attentive and friendly. The only reason we had been going to a different Brazilian steakhouse was because they offered chicken heart while Fogo did not. Now that they have chicken hearts, this is a Brazilian go to place. Great place to celebrate a birthday. :-)

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

The meats are not well seasoned and the sea bass is not fresh. Adam the manager made a horrible Anniversary dinner somewhat save able. I don’t plan on going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I am a frequent patron of Fogo, and have never had such a bad experience with the food! The meats were just OKAY that night, but the garlic beef tasted rancid and I was quite disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

One of the best restaurants, ive ever been to in my life. Great customer service, great food, great everything! Will be back, very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

The total experience was great, starting with valet parking, got our table really quick, the service was great and the food was delicious. It is kind of pricey, 190 dlls for diner for two (15% tip included) I wouldn’t go every weekend but I think a special occasion is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Always enjoyable, the food and the service. Was a bit slower and chaotic, I think because of SD Restaurant Wk. But to be expected because of the extra volume of customers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Delicious food and so much selection! Love the appetizer/salad bar but don't fill up because more food is coming! Wonderful cocktails - love the "Passionate"! Restaurant Week deal was fantastic. Very loud and crowded. Parking an issue (Valet is $18). Not good for kids. No doggy bags.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

we had a great experience and would love to come back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was our anniversary , think they were planing on doing something special because the hostess said happy anniversary when we first walked in and gave a piece of paper to the girl that sat us but nothing happened from there , but excellent meal !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Awesome place with interesting concept of ordering food.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

I made a reservation on open table for my son's 35th birthday. I let him pick the restaurant and he suggested here because none of us had been there before. The food was excellent as were the drinks, desert and service. All of the staff was so friendly. I would recommend for any occasion. We will be returning for future family dinners.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Organic, People Watching, Great Beer, Cozy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Vegan, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Our visit was way different from our last. Miguel was really attentive to everyone in his area. The meats seemed to be really limited but we didn’t mind because it was still good. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The Gourmet Market Table was excellent, with my favorites of pickled vegetables, cut fruit, salami and tabouli salad. As the meats began to come to the table, the first cut was very gristly and we had to struggle to cut through the piece, the second was chicken wrapped in bacon which was quite dry, and the third cut was a bottom cut of meat, probably flank. I found the meats tough even though they were grilled on the rare side. The flavor was acceptable and mostly salt. Only once did we have someone bring a better cut of meat that was tender, perhaps less fatty, with good flavor, probably Picanha. I asked a waiter to stop by and he said his cut was not on the SD Restaurant Week menu. I felt that even though we were restricted to certain cuts and yet paying almost as much as the regular eaters next to us, we had less of the better cuts coming to our table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Dinner was excellent. Staff was wonderful. Will recommend it to all of our friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Amazing! Went here for a date and for restaurant week. Definitely will come back for the amazing meat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Could not have better more happy or more full when we left. For my first time at a Brazilian steakhouse, everything lived up to my expectations and then some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food prep time seems too long that we didn't get meat for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good food. Good meat. Good god, let's eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Go Hungry. The food and service were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Extremely crowded. Many more diners than the restaurant could handle. Tables set up like in a Mess Hall and so close together that the servers constantly bumped into us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This place is an over glorified buffet. The clientele is shady and dress shabby for such an expensive place. Multiple people picked off the buffet with their bare hands and the staff can't wait to find something to do so they stalk your table. Every 2 minutes it was " Can I take that? Can I take this?" I couldn't even enjoy a conversation with my date. The hostess was snotty and no one up front had a smile. We won't be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Delicious lamb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food quality is far from that of Texas de Brazil restaurants. Meat lacks seasoning. Much of it is dry. They did not have the brazilian sausages. Only what looked liked normal breakfast sausages. For almost USD100 per head, this was quite a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I really like Fogo de Chao with one minor exception: twice now we have gone with a group to celebrate a birthday. After discreetly pulling the waiter aside to request a special surprise desert for the birthday guest and pointing out the birthday person. multiple (more than 2) different waitstaff would come to the table to say "oh, you have a birthday at the table, who has a biirthday?" Repeatedly! It happened so many times it was comical.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Go hungry the food is good and they make sure you are satisfied and are readily available to serve you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent food and the ambience was top notch. The service was remarkable! The excellent cuts of meat just kept coming and they were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The meats were all perfectly cooked, would have benefitted from a pinch of salt, but perfectly cooked. The service was outstanding and the place was nice. The only.comolaint was the salad bar. We've been to other FDC locations, but this one have a less than par salad bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Usual great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The service was top notch! I like the healthy sides and options. A little pricey- but you do get what pay for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent service and tasty food. Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My buddies and I were in town for a guys baseball weekend and made reservations here for Friday night off a recommendation from a friend. It was AWESOME. the service was amazing. The food was off the chart. Highly recommend to anyone, as long as you like meat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have been hear before, it is consistent. It is clean and the service is good. The only issue this time was that I wanted to order an ice wine after lunch and the server did not know anything about ice wine or to bring me a wine menu. She kept saying that the menu in front of me was the one for the ice wine, when in fact there is a separate wine menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food, and great wine! My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, and we had a great time having some wine and eating some amazing food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent dining experience! Our waiter and the rest of the staff were so attentive. They fill our water glass long before we knew it was needed to be refilled. The parade of different meats were delicious. The lamb was the favorite. It was cooked just right and seasoned just right. It was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.