About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Sunday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday and Saturday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. And, you will appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Special Occasion (191)
Good for Groups (122)
Fit for Foodies (107)
See All
Romantic (84)
Great for Lunch (63)
Hot Spot (45)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Notable Wine List (35)
Kid-friendly (31)
Great for Brunch (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Late-night Find (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fun (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Business Meals (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Family Style (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Scenic View (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service! Another fun nig ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service! Another fun night, thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was not satisfied with my waitress she n ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Was not satisfied with my waitress she never even brought water that we would that we requested another waiter brought it and I was happy because that waiter took over and he was great

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We had such a great night here. The serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had such a great night here. The service was excellent and the restaurant itself looked so polished and clean

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service both exceeded my expect ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food and service both exceeded my expectations. The drinks were absolutely delicious!! Loved everything about it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Fogo. The a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our first visit to Fogo. The all inclusive approach made it very easy to try a little bit of everything. Of course, the meats were nicely spiced and delicious as one would expect from a Brazilian steakhouse. But the non-meat offerings at their Market Table were excellent as well. It was much more than just a salad bar. There were unique salads and side dishes, fruits, vegetables, soup, etc. and everything was very fresh. And some of the more interesting dishes included a recipe card so diners can try making them at home. The servers were prompt and friendly and didn't attempt any overt up-selling. We had a wonderful dinner at Fogo and will certainly return for our next special event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed this...the amount of food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really enjoyed this...the amount of food for the price is worth it

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as always. The squash soup wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent, as always. The squash soup was delicious.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive..their team ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The staff was very attentive..their teamwork was impressive. The food was awesome and the experience was great!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been my second time coming to F ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This has been my second time coming to Fogo de Chao and I am once again extremely pleased with everything. It was my birthday, and one of the servers, Oscar, was super sweet and accomodating. Everything tasted fantastic -- really a big fan of the cheese bread and the Picanha!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come here atleast twice a month & I al ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I come here atleast twice a month & I always received great service & not to mention grrrrreat food!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My recent Fiancé and I have dined at Fo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My recent Fiancé and I have dined at Fogo Do Chao's all over the country, he is Brazilian and craves his homeland cuisine, this is one of the best experiences we have had from all of the different locations we have been to. We were celebrating our recent engagement and were treated with only the best service and attention to detail. Everything was perfect, the manager Adam was an absolute delight and made us feel very special. This is a fantastic location, from the cuts of meat to the pao de quiejo, everything was cooked perfectly delicious. Looking forward to many more visits!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing experience- the food, wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had an amazing experience- the food, waiters, and ambiance was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

ALWAYS great food and a fun visit. FOGO ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

ALWAYS great food and a fun visit. FOGO never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This place was amazing!! The food was d ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This place was amazing!! The food was delicious, the ambiance was wonderful for a double date. I will go back again and again!!!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelent service, great ambiance, food ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excelent service, great ambiance, food tastes great will definitely come back soon

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Quiet enough to ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great service and food. Quiet enough to talk across table without shouting. Awesome for business dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the selections of various cuts of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Loved the selections of various cuts of beef and brazilian zestiness, service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of our spots to go! Never a disappoi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of our spots to go! Never a disappointment. Love the different choices of meats, amazing salad bar and unlimited side dish options

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great atmosphere and a w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Excellent food, great atmosphere and a wonderful meal. Come hungry as the meat coming around adds up quickly. The salad bar has alot of great options, but if you fill up on that, you won't have room for the meat or wonderful desserts. Highly recommend, my fiance has wanted to bring me here for years, finally were able to make it the last in San Diego.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Even better service.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food. Even better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is extraordinary.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food is extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I always enjoy a good steakhouse. Bring ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I always enjoy a good steakhouse. Bring an appetite and plan to stay for awhile. Good list of drinks, alcoholic and non. The mixed drink we order was strong not watered down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bill was done twice and both were in ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The bill was done twice and both were incorrect. I found the 2nd bill incorrect a few hours after since its bigger than the 1st incorrect bill. I called immediately and spoke to Humberto who identified himself as the Manager and told me that if I want a refund for the overcharge then he will do it but I have to wait until the following day and he will call me. He made it sound like I was begging for it when it fact the refund I was asking is less than the tip I left. For me its a matter if principle. Tomorrow is day 3 and I have yet to hear from him. The way the manager handled the situation was unacceptable.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved this restaurant very close to a tr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved this restaurant very close to a traditional brazilian steakhouse!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken was not good., it has a stale li ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Chicken was not good., it has a stale like taste and smell inside

Beef is ok.,

Lamb was the best., they only served once.

I'd like to go back again with my family., but not to taste that kind of chicken again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food & services was off the charts a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food & services was off the charts as it is every time I visit a Fogo de Chao's restaurant. I most diffently recommend it!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice service and steaks, even salad bar ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice service and steaks, even salad bar was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent food. This is for carnivores o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food. This is for carnivores only. The meats were exceptionally moist and tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrating my son's birthday and always ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Celebrating my son's birthday and always a great spot to celebrate. This time we were even more impressed by the staff. My sister in law has a number of food allergies and our server was thorough and knowledgeable and came up with alternative suggestions. The manager checked in on us a few times to see how we were doing.

Food is excellent, service outstanding. Really, it is a value and worth it for such an experience!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo de Chao is always my favorite resta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Fogo de Chao is always my favorite restaurant where I can have many different kinds of meat. The food was really delicious and the service was outstanding. Caipirinha is the unique cocktail which is definitely incredible. I would love to recommend to all my friends and family because it's my first choice since I've been there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Family Style, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fogo De Chao was my husband's choice to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Fogo De Chao was my husband's choice to celebrate his birthday. We love the ambiance, the wine, delicious food, yummy desserts and all with excellent service. :-) I recommend Fogo De Chao for anyone that is hungry and loves to eat flavorful meat! :-)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual, Fogo De Chao was excellent. W ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

As usual, Fogo De Chao was excellent. We took advantage of the $39 offer and even had a little bonus. The manager was very gracious and even though it wasn't included, offered us delicious lamb. Our waitress Destiny kept checking on us, as did other staff, to see that we were enjoying our dinner. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible. Just because it's near closing ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Horrible. Just because it's near closing time doesn't mean you need to serve horrible poor quality and poorly cooked meats. I will never return here. Everything they served was stale or had been sitting out for a while. It was such an emberassment to my client. I specifically asked the server In the beginning to hand me the check and to bring my client a birthday flan at the end even if she had said no to desert and the server totally failed. I was very upset that my client ended up paying for the meal instead of me and would not accept money from me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We love this chain and have eaten in 6 l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We love this chain and have eaten in 6 locations. Service here was very poor however and since we spent over $300.00 we should have gotten better service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Felipe, the server was top notch! The ho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Felipe, the server was top notch! The hostess was not, she called my group ladies when there was clearly a man in the group and she did not apologize. If it were not for her, I'd give this a 5 star rating in everything.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service and top notch quality food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service and top notch quality food. They are fast and friendly to deal with

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Food was very ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great dining experience. Food was very authentic! Loved it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and service was consist ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was amazing and service was consistently attentive all night long, I only wish my stomach could have held more food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently the best tasting food anywh ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Consistently the best tasting food anywhere. This is hands down my favorite place to dine. The service is by far the best. Working as a team to meet the needs of your guest is far and away the best concept in dining customer service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Heading back again ton ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Love this place! Heading back again tonight...it is my new favorite place to go for dinner in downtown San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.