About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Diego located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter, perfectly situated to serve San Diegans and visitors as they enjoy the sights, sounds and festivals held in this exuberant district.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 130.

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Monday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday through Sunday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mother’s Day at Fogo. All moms will receive a complimentary dining card for next visit.* Restrictions apply. Sunday, May 14, 11am - 9pm, dinner price all day.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. And, you will appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Groups (31)
See All
Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Authentic (22)
Romantic (19)
Fun (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Casual (11)
Family Style (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Cozy (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good but the service was exceptional. From the valet to the wait staff, everyone paid attention to your every need being helpful and friendly. Designed for meat lovers, but the salad bar was very good too--so something for everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Both the food and the service was outstanding I very much enjoyed my experience at this restaurant we will definitely return

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

I enjoyed my dinner. I really liked the food but expected better. Overall the dinner was good. Family enjoying Family. The service was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I got a last minute reservation at 830pm. There plenty of time slots available that night every half and an hour. We got there at right before 8pm, we check in and told them we were early, asked if we would be able to be sat early. I looked into the finish room and there were lots of tables still available. The two hosts told us that shouldn't be a problem just clearing off some tables. I looked on open table again, and saw that an 8pm slot was still available and thought maybe I should just change it to see if we could get sat early but didn't because the hosts already knew we were there early. We sat there in front of them the entire time we waiting and saw party after party be sat before us that checked in after us. We thought to ourselves, they probably have the 8pm reservation and are being sat. But some of them did not even have a reservation. i thought to myself again, if we just took the 8pm slot that was still available, would they have sat us? We patiently waited 20 minutes at that point and 2 gentleman can in. The host asked them if they had reservations and they clearly said NO, the host told them it's A 30 minute wait with no reservation. They said sure, leaned over and said something to her. They literally waited there for a couple minutes, and they were taken to a table. My wife and I were dumbfounded, felt like we're just got punched in the gut. We got there early, we're told it shouldn't be a problem to be sat early because it clearly wasn't too busy and this had happened. The entire time we sat there, not one time they come tell us that it's almost ready, just sat table after table in front of us instead and pretended we weren't even there. We ended us getting sat at 837pm, sat there bitter for lost of the time. We didn't tell them how we felt or what we saw happened to cause a scene. I've worked in the food industry for a long time when I was younger and usually on their side on stuff like this knowing customers can be a pain some time. But thi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

For the price there are much better venues of this type available that have much more extensive salad/side dish bars; and where the meat selections coming by the table are more readily available. What meet we tried was good, however, we had to wait for awhile in between waiters. The salad/sidebar selections are limited and certainly not on par with other Brazilian BBQS I have been to.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent service! Bar has no blender to blend drinks but the Mindori Colada on the rocks was very good!! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love this restaurant, the service is always outstanding, the food excellent, we have never had a bad meal or experience here in four years of dining.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good place to eat, if you want something out of the ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The ambient it was good and the food smells good but my partner and i just try like 5 meats, the service it wasnt the best, it took forever to get meat , maybe it was the seats that we was, i ask for chicken twice and they never went, i order sangria and the waiter took forever, i finish to eat and then i get my sangria, we went for our 1 anniversary and it was really disapointed, we never come back. The ticket was super high for the food and service that we get. I though that Fogo the Chaö it will be better but i will not recommend this place. I regret to went to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food and very enjoyable evening. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The service, almost every worker came up to us making sure we're well taken care of. We appreciated the attention and care we received.
Besides the food still being delicious, our visit went above an beyond!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food, chicken was great like always. Picanyay is the best meat there

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food was good as usual and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Having been to a Fogo de Chao several times we knew what to expect. We were a bit disappointed here. We felt rushed. No one explained about sides. Gauchos we're asking if we wanted their offering even when our card was on the red side. Not as good an experience as others we've had

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always a great time with family and friends. Variety of meats served are all delicious. My mouth is watering as I type. Still need to learn how to pace myself. Servers are always courteous and explain every cut served if asked. Salad bar (don't remember the Brazilian word for it) has a nice assortment of sides. Learned not to load up on these. Top notch Brazilian steak house.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Beef dishes were good. Other meats were overlooked. Staff more interested in up selling than good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a great meal and experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The service and food are GREAT! The meat are cooked so well and the side dishes didn't disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a unique experience. Enjoyed this visit especially as the servers did not bombard us with different meat cuts all at once, but spaced it out so we could really enjoy the meal. I have been there before where I have felt rushed because the servers bring the meat too quickly and then I am full and can't tell you what I have eaten.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My friends that had dinner with us were so impressed with the food, service, attention they got and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great time. We enjoyed every moment and each tastings. We shall definitely return

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great dining experience and excellent service. Always a good idea!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our first visit and it was better than we had expected. The buffet is full of healthy and also kid friendly options. The meat never stopped coming to the table. So many options that we had to pace ourselves. I only eat chicken, so I would have appreciated a few more options, but the beef, pork and lamb options were abundant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not as good as Fogo de Chão in São Paulo Brazil. I lived in Brazil for 8 years and was a little disappointed by the San Diego Fogo de Chão.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Meats are delicious. Service was slow.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

excelente!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food but expensive for this type of restaurant
Drinks in particular

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Felt rushed, did not even flip the card and a barrage of waiters with scewrers were buzzing like bees. Good to get your meat on and not as expensive as I thought

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I love the Brazilian steak houses of Fogo de Chao but this was the least good experience I have had at one. The waiter seemed to ignore us after introducing himself -- we had to flag him down to get a second glass of wine, the gauchos with the meat did not arrive promptly and I had to repeatedly ask for the cut of meal I like best. I'll go back because I love the idea of going there for a "meating". Maybe it was just a bad night but if I had not been to Fogo de Chao before I would be inclined not to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent! Salad bar was outstanding, fresh quality food.. If vegetarian you can have the salad only. Also meat is wonderful and the service is outstanding.
We really enjoyed our meal, will come back very soon

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food. I love their salad bar. Great place to hang out with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fogo is a definite keeper, if your a carnivore. Went for our anniversary dinner, had heard a lot about the Resturant. It lived up to our expectation. Overall ambience is rather bland and dark. Table next to us was rather loud. Our table was against a wall as well. We should have ask for a better table, so that's my fault. Service was excellent, friendly and came around regularly. Food, wow! Salad bar was excellent. Pace yourself, there is a lot of meat to eat! Serving a variety of types and cuts of meats was exceptional. I believe the dinner was well worth the value We will return when we can

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This place is great if you love meat. The salad selections are great too but the meat is what you come here for. They have a great traveling bar that comes to your table and talks to you about all the different Drinks available

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our server, Philip (or Felipe), was very courteous and professional. He made the friend's birthday lunch a very special one. Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The beef ribs were wonderful. We always enjoy the lamb. If you like red meat - this is the place to go.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food and service.
The wine menu was pricey but very good.
I would highly recommend it for a group special occasion , as the staff were good about splitting the checks.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Fogo is my favorite restaurant and I believe the Market Table lunch is the best value in San Diego but combining one meat with it is a "RIP-OFF" Two of our 6 person party ordered 1 meat and when we asked for additional pieces of the same we were told there are no "seconds" with the 1 meat option. The waiter never explained such limitations when he hyped the choice. It is not worth the extra money for 4 or 6 slices of meat. I was very disappointed and am reconsidering my frequent visits.

Tags: Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

If you like meat and lots of it this is the place to go. We had our Christmas party there and this time my wife just went there on an afternoon date.

Tags: Family Style, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I've enjoyed a few great dinners here. The food, service, wine list, etc always deliver. Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service is always the best. Their teamwork style really makes for a great experience. The always friendly staff & the delicious cuts of meat definitely make this place. I always recommend this spot to my friends and family who are feeling fancy-ish and looking for a good meal. Slightly pricey but you truly get what you pay for & a little more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.