About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Diego located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter, perfectly situated to serve San Diegans and visitors as they enjoy the sights, sounds and festivals held in this exuberant district.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 130.

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours Monday through Friday for $15.00, Saturday & Sunday Brunch for $18.00, and Dinner all days of the week for $18. Limited metered parking is located in the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 5:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms. Buyout options available.

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Good for Groups (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Casual (16)
Fun (15)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been hear before, it is consistent. It is clean and the service is good. The only issue this time was that I wanted to order an ice wine after lunch and the server did not know anything about ice wine or to bring me a wine menu. She kept saying that the menu in front of me was the one for the ice wine, when in fact there is a separate wine menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, and great wine! My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, and we had a great time having some wine and eating some amazing food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent dining experience! Our waiter and the rest of the staff were so attentive. They fill our water glass long before we knew it was needed to be refilled. The parade of different meats were delicious. The lamb was the favorite. It was cooked just right and seasoned just right. It was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been traveling and tried out most Fogo de Chao locations around the states and never seen such fail in food tasting and service like this location. The meat tastes different and the cheesy bread was awful unlike other locations. The ambience was too loud and discomforting. The staff were rushing and frustrated for some reason. As customer didn't feel good or even enjoyed my $60 meal. Unfortunately, for the first time Fogo de Chao embarrassed me with my guests and friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience! This place is the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I was always a big fan of this restaurant. I don't know if they were having an "off" night or what but, the service was so slow. Normally, the Gaucho's are overwhelming you with meat offerings and this time you couldn't even see them on the floor. I don't know if there was a problem in the kitchen or a shortage of beef...(LOl) but, it wasn't a great experience and frankly, the meat didn't taste as good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Everything was great and I absolutely would go back here again. If you are a meat lover you must try this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

It was an awesome experience! Food and service was impeccable!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The service at this location was unenjoyable. The restaurant was not full and they still made me wait 10 mins for a table even though I made reservations on Open Table. Never got a menu and was simply cast to the side and forgotten. Meats offered regularly was top or bottom sirloin. Had to ask for over premium cuts. Felt like I was constantly having to ask for service/assistance from various staff. Really disappointed.

In addition Valet parking is $18 with validation...???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service and food were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The best Restaurant in the Downtown area hands down. The service is always outstanding. You can never go wrong coming here. The food is always amazing as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

This is a great restaurant, Wonderful, Excellent, First Class!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was my Boyfriend 's Birthday. He enjoyed a lot. Thank you so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Reservation on Saturday night during Comic Con, and we were seated without an issue. Impressive. Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We have been to several different Fogo locations. The food was delicious as always unfortunately the service was not as wonderful. Service was slow and some of the sides we even served cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I traveled to Brazil frequently on business for years, and became fond of the Churrascaria style restaurants. I even ate at the Fogo de Chao restaurant in Sao Paulo. I went to their San Diego location to celebrate my 75th birthday with wife and friends. It was great - as I expected. My guests also enjoyed it, greatly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Solid cuts of meat, the market bar is really nice. Excellent job of bringing out the meats and taking requests for specific cuts. Pro tip: Don't fill up on the "lesser" cuts that may find there way out in the 1st few waves. Quality service overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food is fabulous! Service was top notch! It is spendy for what we normally do for eating out but it is a great special occasion restaurant. Celebrated our son's birthday there and had a great time. The food kept coming the whole time we were there. Loved their appetizer buffet too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It was everything I could have imagined and more. So many different types of meat and as much as you would like. I left happy and full.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food is fab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Outstanding as always. Great service, great food, excellent company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Ashley, Ashley and Marlene were absolutely wonderful! Great service, very anticipatory and just wonderful! They are great representations of the brand and level of service to expect at the San Diego location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food and service were amazing! Hour and a half after leaving the restaurant we are still in a food coma! Wanted to celebrate my fiancé's promotion and this was THE place to do it, especially after the Padres beat her favorite Dodgers!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fogo de Chao does not disappoint! This was my second time there in a dozen years for my birthday. The food is exquisite! The Iberian ham on the salad bar was like butta.. and the meat well that speaks for itself!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 29, 2017

As always, our dining experience at Fogo de Chao was amazing. The manager took great care for a member of our dining party with a food alergy and setup a wonderful birthday cake surprise for our party. We will be back and highly recommend this brazilian dining experience to everyone!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We were in San Diego for the PCBC Show last week. I was recommended Fogo De Chao Brazilian Steakhouse as a great restaurant to visit in the area. We entertained one of our key customers for dinner and we had a great time and a wonderful experience. The food was delicious, the service was great, the ambiance was lively and the drinks were amazing. I would definitely visit again and would highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

As usual they are absolutely amazing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was the best experience ever.. great food, the staff were fast on bringing well-done meat, which was great. The salad bar was great too. We celebrated my friend's birthday as surprise to her. She loved it and loved their complimentary desert too with one candle. They made her day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Came here to celebrate my girlfriend's dad's birthday. We were seated promptly close to the feijolada bar as I had requested. we had gone to the Beverly Hills location before but the service here was even better. The food was all delicious and their cuts were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Service and food is excellent. All meat is cooked to perfection.
Try the lamb chops and the ribs (beef or pork, you can't go wrong)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

loved everything about the restaurant. I have already recommended it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Casual, Healthy, People Watching, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Organic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Website quoted a price for Father's Day plus a certificate for a meal another time. When we left the price was way more and no certificate. Three of us with no drinks was $218 with minimal tip! Glad we tried but not worth a second trip.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and even better service! Their Servers were all very attentive and thoughtful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I have been here several times , but the last few times the quality and service has been so bad . We literally sat there and waited for meat to come out for over 20 mins . It wasn't until we asked did they walk over with the meat we wanted and it was cold !!!! The place is not cheap and so it's disappointing to spend over 150 dollars and barely get your miners worth . The only service person that was good was the man bringing over the drinks and checking up on us . I had bad service last time and complained , but management at fogo doesn't really care . I decided to go one more time , and I promised myself I would never step into that place again . I can go somewhere else and get more bang for my buck with better service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very good and delicious food
Good spread of salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were seated on the back part of the restaurant, we were served 3 different types of meat within our 30 min being seated. I had to ask for service since we've been ignored and the meat servers doesn't get in our area since we're seated too far. We paid full price but never got the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Servers are busy and seem rushed. Other than that our dining experience was fantastic!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Reserved on open table and requested special event for my parents anniversary but our host and server forgot and didn't even mention anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our son's birthday (26). We had a lovely dinner. He was very happy!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.