About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Diego located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter, perfectly situated to serve San Diegans and visitors as they enjoy the sights, sounds and festivals held in this exuberant district.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 130.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Sunday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday and Saturday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sd Diningroom  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • Sd Exterior  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • Fogo Picanha - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • Fogo Ribeye - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • Fogo Markettable - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • Fogo Porkchop - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA

Report a photo problem

Sd Diningroom  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Sd Exterior  - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Fogo Picanha - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Fogo Ribeye - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Fogo Markettable - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA
Fogo Porkchop - Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego, San Diego, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Treat your love to Valentine’s at Fogo. Celebrate Feb 10 –14 and receive a complimentary dining card for your next visit after you dine.* Rest. apply.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. And, you will appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for Birthdays (47)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Groups (46)
Romantic (38)
Authentic (38)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Fun (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Comfort Food (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Casual (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Family Style (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
971 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my second experience at Fogo de C ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 16 hours ago

It was my second experience at Fogo de Chao and I have to say that it only gets better every time I go back. Ambience was perfect and the food was absolutely delicious. Me and my date had a very delightful evening and would definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good however I had a lot of pro ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good however I had a lot of problems with service. I cannot have dairy and waiting over 45 minutes for them to bring me regular potatoes and when I finally got them they were way too salty and way too much pepper

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

First impression of the restaurant is am ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

First impression of the restaurant is amazing! Never been to fogo de chao and got to say, it blew my mind away. I highly recommend going there because of good food, awesome environment, and great convo with good people around you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely set a standard for amazing se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Definitely set a standard for amazing service. My glass of water never got passed half and I didn't have a problem flagging down a waiter.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was great except f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The dining experience was great except for a couple of instances where we actually have to ask a gaucho with the picanha to come by. The market table is acceptable but not as great as everyone seems to claim. The plantains seem hard to come by as well. Overall, nice dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I've never said "ew" so many times at th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

I've never said "ew" so many times at the dinner table. The salad bar was sub-par and the meat cuts were extremely low quality and flavored poorly. Had a cafeteria vibe and was extremely loud. So not worth the prices.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Best value in city based on the quality ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Best value in city based on the quality and quantity of food. The meats are tender and flavorful. The salad bar has fruits and vegetables to satisfy anyone. We will return again and again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We got there early and were seated immed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We got there early and were seated immediately. The restaurant was not very busy at the time but by the time we finished it had started to fill up. The Salad Bar was well stocked with fresh ingredients. Did not sample much because wanted to save it for the meats. Afte finishing the small salad, proceeded to turn over a card that is red on one side and green on the other side. Green meaning that you would like one of the servers with skeyers of meat to come by and slice some off for you. Red means you want to take a break of are finished. At the begining of our meal, the wait staff was very attentive (almost too attentive). As the restaurant filled up and got busier, we were begining to feel forgotten. When we had eaten our fill, we waited almost 15 minutes before some one asked if we wanted the table cleared. I asked for the check at that time, but I ended up having to ask again for the check. It took another 15-20 minutes to get the check and leave.

The food was good, but I thought that their "premium " cuts could have been of better quality. The lamb chops were amazing. But the rest of the meats were ok. I expected the filet to be more tender and it was chewy.

I would recomend for the experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service with an array of different ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service with an array of different flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, food was amazing!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we orginally was going for rest ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Although we orginally was going for restaurant row week, we opted out and did the regular dinner menu because of the filet migon. Well we were not impressed at all with the filet migon. It was rather dry and no flavor. So we tried it again and same issue. We told the waiter and he addressed the chef with our concern and they brought out another skewer of it, but still the same issue, dry and no flavor. Other theb that everything else was good. I just wsh we would have stuck witb the 40$ cost vise the 52 we were charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We went on what happen to be restaurant ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

We went on what happen to be restaurant week. 9f course they were extremely busy but the staff was all so kind and very attentive. Definitely great customer service and our Server Otto was one of the best servers I have ever had. My husband and I had an amazing dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, because of restauran ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good, because of restaurant week we were given two menu options we choose the non-restaurant week option that was supposed to have 16 different cuts of meat. We possibly had 10 cuts and our bill wasn't changed to reflect that, also it took well over 15 minutes to get our bill, then another 10 to have our bill corrected as directed initially and then another 10 just to process payment. Aside from that the staff was friendly and the cuts were generous. I would definitely try this location again to give them another opportunity to correct the deficiencies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, the food and service were ama ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, the food and service were amazing! We went during restaurant week and the value and menu were spot-on! I can't wait until my next visit there!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at this location, went ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

First time dining at this location, went specifically for restaurant week, however there was so miscommunication regarding what was included in the restaurant week special and the listing online (got less choice of cuts than originally advertised). Also their dessert drink cart man was rather pushy and cam after we had already eaten our dessert. If you are seated by the door you will hear the restaurant staff chatter and it will be noisy. Overall, it was very tasty, but if you are looking for something romantic or relaxed let them know in advanced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Went for restaurant week on a Sunday and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Went for restaurant week on a Sunday and it was filled. Definitely love the fact that the servers work as a team and come around slicing different kinds of meats. Sooooo good....highly recommend..

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent! Will definite ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The service was excellent! Will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner and service was great, as usual! ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Dinner and service was great, as usual! However we did restaurant week special and seemed to have very slow meat service. Asked by numerous people if we wanted any special kind of meat, told them any meat, but garlic sirloin please, my wife finally gave up, asked for check and dessert, then garlic meat came. Unusual to have this problem there, but we did this time! Will return for sure anyway

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and service was great. Definite ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and service was great. Definitely worth the price for a great lunch or dinner with family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate a birthday and alth ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We came to celebrate a birthday and although the service was excellent, the food was not worth the price. It wasnt bad but it also wasnt great. I have been to other Brazilian BBQ places that were much better and paid a lot less.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Brazilian steakhouses are always good if ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Brazilian steakhouses are always good if you have a big appetite. The waiter was polite and timely and our cocktails arrived faster than expected. The mashed potatoes and bananas also showed up at the table promptly, too. However, it was difficult—if not impossible—to get enough of the meat entrees to the table. We only saw about 1/2 of the offerings, and more than half of the time they brought steaks that were medium to medium well when we asked for medium rare. What we DID receive was delectable, but having to beg for the food to be delivered at this price is not acceptable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Came here with a big group and the wait ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Came here with a big group and the wait stuff was great, but the meats never came by. When it did come, the food was cold or they didn't have enough for the table. Management needs to work on a system to spread the meat cutters throughout the restaurant better. They all seem to head to the same location of the restaurant rather than walking around to different tables. Worst experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

The incredible selection of fresh import ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The incredible selection of fresh imported goodies on the salad and sides bar was enough to have me hooked, but the prompt and polite service provided by the wait staff team coupled with the meat variety will keep me coming back. A must for any foodie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love going to this place. The food is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I love going to this place. The food is awesome. Ive been to this place six times and the only issue I have is with this last visit....we have the green and red coin. If it's on red, why do some servers continue to come over and offer you more meat? My friend and I had to keep telling the guy no and eventually he just stopped coming over. Not sure if the waiters had to tell him to stop but it was a little aggravating.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The restaurant smelled very bad. The sme ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The restaurant smelled very bad. The smell was reminiscent of burnt blood that sometimes occurs when making a roast and it drops on the burner.

Very limited meat choices. Unfortunate all their beef selections tasted the same.

The service was ok but nothing stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

The meats were outstanding. So juicy, fl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The meats were outstanding. So juicy, flavorful, and too many choices! That's a good problem though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fogo is our favorite place for birthdays ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fogo is our favorite place for birthdays. We love the salad bar and all the delicious meat.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. They were amazin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent. They were amazingly accommodating even though we were late. The food was excellent and the salad bar was awesome. They would bring me what I wanted how I wanted it when I asked.. great experience with my wife new year's Eve..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were off in a corner so we were not g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were off in a corner so we were not getting a great selection. Quality of the meat was fair at best. Have had much better Brazilian steak house meals.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

A great place to dine, Never disappoints ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A great place to dine, Never disappoints! They have an amazing team that is very attentive. Food is delicious meats are seasoned to perfection. Just a great taste of Brazil!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great buffet! Loved the smoked salmon an ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great buffet! Loved the smoked salmon and the steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went out with my 18 year-old nephew for ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went out with my 18 year-old nephew for a boyz nite and it was his first time at Fogo de Chao. He absolutely loved it and we had a great evening. The meat service was excellent and our plates were never empty. I personally prefer certain cuts prepared rare and the staff was happy to accommodate me with perfectly cooked portions. The salads and sides bar had a broad selection of grilled and fresh vegetables and salads... the steamed asparagus spears were enormous and very tasty. Cold salads and various fruits rounded out the bar. A wonderful evening with great food and great company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family loves to go to Fogo de Chao fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My family loves to go to Fogo de Chao for a good hearty meal. Food and service is almost always spot-on. Today, we went to celebrate my son's 18th birthday. Our waiter was great but when I asked someone to help us extend the table as our table was a little tight for the 13 of us. One young lady was very helpful while the other one told her not to extend it and just add on chair at the end of the table and basically told us to make it work. Understand that we were the ONLY people in the restaurant at this time. So... not sure why it was such a big deal. Guess she didn't want to be bothered. Someone else walks by and sees that we were not comfortable nor could the waiters get around the table because we were now smashed between tables unnecessarily. She stops and asks us if we would like to extend the table. I said, "yes, please!" And she said, "of course! It's not like we are busy." She was very sweet and helpful. I don't know what her name was but she and everyone else including our waiter were great. It was just the one Debbie-downer who knocked the service score down.

The last tip I would suggest is to not wait until 230pm to go in for lunch. The chicken and steak wrapped in bacon is normally my favorite but it was dried out. I felt like we were getting the "left overs." Go earlier for lunch or just wait for dinner. I will continue to go to Fogo as despite the one chaotic seating arrangement, everything else was fine. Thank you!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Service was mediocre at best. Had to con ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service was mediocre at best. Had to constantly ask for refills, sugar, plates to be cleared. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Not good. Philly location is much bette ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Not good. Philly location is much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Overall awesome. Food was amazing. Servi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Overall awesome. Food was amazing. Service could have been a little better. But overall, great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service is a little slow sometimes and y ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service is a little slow sometimes and you have to ask for the varieties of meat that they actually have. Most common meats coming around are usually chicken or sausage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Me and my husband had a date on Christma ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Me and my husband had a date on Christmas Day at your fabulous restaurant and we loved it. It was my husband's first time he is a meat eater and I go to Fogo de Chao in Atlanta when I'm there thank you so much keep up the great work I will see you again soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food is amazing! B ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent service and food is amazing! Best salad bar I've ever had. Expensive but so worth it, go hungry. Save room for dessert, best creme brûlée I've ever had. I am not typically a fan of chain restaurants but this one is an exception for me. Food quality is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went as a party of 5 for Christmas Ev ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went as a party of 5 for Christmas Eve. We arrived at 4:30pm and it was a little slow, but it got packed really quick. The staff personnel were very attentive, quick, helpful, and nice. They were very patient and quick with our drink orders. The food was outstanding along with the salad bar. The meats were cooked perfectly and seasoned very well. The only gripe I have is the desserts were not included in the buffet. But it wouldn't be a reason not to give them high reviews. I will definitely come back! Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.