About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego

668 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Fogo de Chão® (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo® began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service.

We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street and 6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 338-0500

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch hours for $10.00. Valet parking is also available at dinner Sunday through Thursday for $12.00, Friday and Saturday for $15.00. Limited metered parking is located around the Gaslamp Quarter. Also available are paid parking lots and garages around the area (fees vary).

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:30PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location to host your group or private dining event. Your guests will enjoy Fogo’s elegant and authentic Brazilian dining experience. And, you will appreciate our helpful and knowledgeable staff. Each Fogo® restaurant provides unique private and semi-private dining rooms

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

special occasion (206)
good for groups (158)
fit for foodies (120)
See All
romantic (91)
great for lunch (67)
notable wine list (49)
hot spot (45)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for brunch (32)
kid-friendly (31)
late-night find (23)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
723 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My boyfriend and I came here a couple da ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I came here a couple days ago to celebrate his 25th birthday. We didn't know what to expect since it was both our first times. Truth be told, we didn't enjoy our experience as we anticipated. Our drinks were good, but very weak.

-It would have been easier if we saw a menu of the meats, instead having the same meat we didn't want circulate.

-We enjoyed the salmon from the buffet, chicken heart, and lamb.

-One of the waiters gave us a free cake with our meal for Ian's birthday so that was very nice and kind of him.

-We have personally decided that we wouldn't be coming back mainly to the price

-I also showed one of our waiters of my email for the eClub $15 rewards and the code, but when the bill came out, he didn't subtract the rewards so that was a little disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was great. My second time at Fogo de ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was great. My second time at Fogo de Chao (first time in San Diego)--my parents had a great time and we received exceptional service. In fact I had been waiting for lamb and one gentleman made sure that the leg of lamb was sent straightaway to our table.

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ashley gave incredible service and the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ashley gave incredible service and the skewer services never left me hungry or waiting. Props to the lamb guy. Ashley gave great recommendations and always kept our glasses full and stomachs happy. She did absolutely amazing with our large party. Next time I come back, I'm requesting her as our server!!! Amazing food and drink with great friends. Love love love this restaurant!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My grandson gave us a gift card for our ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My grandson gave us a gift card for our anniversary and he raved about the restaurant. We also took our son and his wife to celebrate their anniversary and his birthday.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The lamb chops were amazing! The service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The lamb chops were amazing! The service was outstanding.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there to celebrate my son's birt ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We went there to celebrate my son's birthday and it was amazin!!! My son was very happy and he loved the food. The service was great and the food was incredible!!!! We loved the cheese bread on the basket on the table!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food combined with excellent ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Outstanding food combined with excellent service. Everyone was there to make sure we were having a great dining and food experience.

Highly recommend for special occasions A very pleasant and entertaining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was extremely disappointed that it too ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was extremely disappointed that it took 30 minutes to be seated when I had a reservation and arrived on time. Additionally, we were overcharged for our drinks. The food was great but the overall experience was very disappointing. I expected much better.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

We very much enjoyed the food, and the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We very much enjoyed the food, and the service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant dining experience - servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very pleasant dining experience - service was friendly and very attentive. Meats and bar options were exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible. The waiter was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was incredible. The waiter was MIA most of our time there. He was not attentive at all. When it came for refills we had to ask. Our waiter seemed to be sick too which made me not want to ask for him. He seemed to get upset when we returned out alcoholic drinks after receiving the wrong ones. Other than that the food was awesome. We will definitely be back and hope for better service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

if you like meat ,this is your place,,gr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

if you like meat ,this is your place,,great sald bar also....great service......

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat had a lot of gristle. Constantly d ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Meat had a lot of gristle. Constantly disturbed by servers trying to squeeze between tables. Practically dining in the dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

great service we always recommend great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

great service we always recommend

great service we always recommend

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salad bar was amazing! Types of mea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The salad bar was amazing! Types of meat were exellent, except for the beef rib. Too dry!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Got there 30 minutes early and they took ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Got there 30 minutes early and they took us right in. Very attentive servers. Excellent food. Were given a free cheesecake for our anniversary. Nice touch

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our 10 year anniversary and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went for our 10 year anniversary and we were really disappointed. 1st it was so loud and we were so close to the table next to us we could hear their conversation, it was hard to get up and get to the market bar, the servers came too often to ask if we needed things. We expect a romantic evening together with good food. The food was okay but wasn't anything special. I don't think we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value5

Add More HOT sides selection. Asparagus ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Add More HOT sides selection. Asparagus absolutely needs to be hot!!! Baked potatoes?

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

CON:The entire affair started with a neg ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

CON:The entire affair started with a negative slant with your accusing reservation confirmation implying that I was going to deprive a person a table. With that negative start the meal went down hill. The salad bar was almost up to usual standard but the meat while it might have been good the evening before, tasted like it had been put on too hot a fire to warm it up quickly, which left it dry with a crust of charcoal. The meal was an embarrassment to me and a disappointment to my guests.

PRO: I never again have to eat at Fogo de Chao, or use OpenTable resevations.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The lamb and filet mignon were excellent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The lamb and filet mignon were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, especially the meats. Th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful food, especially the meats. The full experience was well worth trying. The service was amazing.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cannot even describe how polite, respect ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cannot even describe how polite, respectful and friendly are all the staff at Fogo San Diego.

Food: Exquisite,

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great..😊👍

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is great..😊👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overpriced vs value. There was an incid ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overpriced vs value. There was an incident of someone choking and needing Heimlich and emergency medical care, was not a pleasant experience. Not the restaurants fault, but it did put a damper on the dining experience would have been nice for them to have included a little discount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was ok. It took 20 minutes after our meal to get our check. I had to hunt down a manager. It also took about 15-20 minutes to get our credit card processed . We were tolled we had to wait in line as they were backed up. Not good it ruined a nice meal with this kind of wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Had a great time. Recommend flipping ove ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great time. Recommend flipping over green/red coaster to slow down the pace of meat offerings. Paramedics took this lady away. She didn't pace herself. My kids and wife aren't Brazilian steakhouse fans, but they liked this place; will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Cam was wonderful and it was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server Cam was wonderful and it was very nice to see all the staff work so well together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Parking is crazy on friday's and weekend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Parking is crazy on friday's and weekends so we just pay the $15 valet. The food is always good no complains there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

had a great evening with great food and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

had a great evening with great food and great friends... love to eat at Fogo

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fogo de Chao is the place to go for my f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Fogo de Chao is the place to go for my family, we love celebrating special occasion be it small and big. I love the garlic beef, lamb chops and the salad bar. We will definitely come back for more.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at FOGO de Cha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We had a great experience at FOGO de Chao. The service was extremely good, and the food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The reservation process through Open Tab ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The reservation process through Open Table was great; we arrived 10 minutes prior to our reservation and we were seated within 5 minutes. My husband and I are highly disappointed with the service at Fogo; especially the meat servers. We had about five meat servers approach our table and of the five only two offered beef. We asked for well done beef cuts. We were told they take longer and would be back when ready. We had one meat server return to offer well done beef cuts and unfortunately by then we were ready to leave. All in all we each had maybe 2-3 small cuts of meat and one serving of the buffet sides. Our bill was over $150.00 and so not worth it. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The meat selection was pretty average. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The meat selection was pretty average. The salad bar was small. Waiters with the cheaper meats were dime a dozen. Hard to get the filet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not sure if I missed this on the website ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Not sure if I missed this on the website, but I thought with making a reservation we would be seated on time. That wasn't the case. We waited about 20 minutes for a table to be opened, and that set us back for our next event. The spacing was very crowded and I didn't get to enjoy my date because I had a waiter bumping into me all throughout the night as he was trying to squeeze in between tables.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Can't wait to go back again. One of the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Can't wait to go back again. One of the best Brazilian steakhouses I ever had

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My reservation was not granted on time, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My reservation was not granted on time, we waited half an hour to be seated. Walk in was seated before us.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

The meats were good, but the side dishes ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The meats were good, but the side dishes were all cold. We ask for them to get reheated and the still came out kinda warm. Other than that it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is great and ambiance is perfect fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food is great and ambiance is perfect for a nice dinner / date. My only complaint is that we had a reservation and arrived on time but were given a buzzer upon arrival and had to wait ~10min until the hostess got us to our table.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The brazilian staff are amazing!!! Do no ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The brazilian staff are amazing!!! Do not let them go!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a good first impression - Very Disappointed!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Reservation Name: M. Phan

Reservation Date & Time: June 4, 2016 at 6:30 PM

I traveled from Northern California (7/8+ drive) to visit and celebrate my brother's high school graduation and pre-celebrate Father's Day. I paid $172 and was not satisfied with the customer service. Only service we received is getting new plates replenished. I wished I had not tipped. Seeing how the supervisor stands in the middle of the floor, making it obvious that he's OVERSEEING his employees and making them nervous and work under pressure. I can understand the lack of customer service. There should be a variety of meats, from what my brother looked into at least 16 types. We only had a selection of 6 - 7 meats repeatedly. There was also a moment where we sat at our tables waiting at least 20 minutes with the green card faced up, but no one came over to offer us any selection of meats. After the long wait, as we were not done, our plates were taken and we weren't offered dessert. We were only offered a card to enter for a free trip to Brazil or somewhere, which I could care less about. Thank goodness for the dessert and pastries next door to go to afterwards, especially after spending a large amount. Typically between the party of three, we ate for 1 person overall as far as what was offered/served. None the less, as unsatisfied as I was with the dining experience. I had a long drive back home afterwards. The only thing that made the dining experience worth it, was spending time with my father and brother. Other than that, I could care less about ever going back to your restaurant when visiting San Diego. Thanks for taking my hard earned money for a terrible experience in a FINE AMBIANCE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.