Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Antonio just steps above the famed Riverwalk and adjacent to the Rivercenter Marriott on Commerce Street. We bring our rich Southern Brazilian tradition of churrasco to the Alamo City.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 140.

849 E. Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
River Walk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-1700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, is the River Center Parking Garage, which charges by the hour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (11)
Casual (11)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fun (9)
Family Style (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Waterfront (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a very bad experience. During the dinner the waitress threw a full glass of lemonade over my 6 years old daughter. We paid the check and left immediately. We didn't complete our family dinner. However we paid the full price.
PS. Not a family oriented or kids friendly restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful steak, salad and experience. Would repeat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Was very delicious. Great experience, just a little disappointed you could not order to go. I understand no left overs because of the all you can eat but if you do not have time to sit down and eat, would be convenient to be able to order to go.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I talked to the restaurant a couple of times and they failed to mention that the price was more on Mother’s day. There was nothing about that on the website as well. We sat there for long stretches at a time with no food. I would see the waiters rushing by with meat but I think we had a bad table. When we did have food it was Very Very good! I have ate at three Brazilian steak houses in San Antonio and this one would be third and the most expensive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Terrible visit. Reservations for 815 didn't get seated for 1 hour. Bar drinks slow and terrible. Food just ok. Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

After seeing the bartender shove his hand down his pants to tuck his shirt in and then immediately grab lemons and limes and squeeze into glasses and grab the glasses by the rim...we were discouraged...drinks took forever to get!! Had reservations at 815 and didn't get seated until 9...not happy....environment was more like a pizza buffet!! 👎

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good. However the service was horrible. I was expecting to have a great experience celebrating my anniversary, But walked out wanting to cry. Hostess forgot to put my name down during check in. (Had reservation) So got skipped over to be seated. Once seated My server payed no attention to us and looked very stressed out. He didn't even offer a dessert for our anniversary. As I noticed other sections getting complimentary dessert for celebrating special occasions. Ruined our experience of having full on service for the price we paid. Ended up going to another restaurant to have dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was a bit disconnected.
In general a good experience, and an excellent and convenient location to Riverwalk.
Competitive area Brazillian alternatives now have them beat-
J Lyon

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Every time we at at Fogo it's an awesome experience. Salad bar is a bargain all by itself. The quantity and quality of the meats are unbeatable. My mouth is watering just thinking about our meal. Every experience at Fogo is better than the time before. Can't wait to go back again

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Yum. Hold out for the beef rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We loved it, great first experience! Please bring one to El Paso, TX!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was excellent but because it was very busy, we felt rushed!!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were a large party for prom. Staff was attentive and we were served promptly, despite a large number of big groups, even some From our same school.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 21, 2017

They did not clearly explain that every time you eat a piece of meat, they are adding to your bill. The waitress greeted us and gave us a very vague description of the way they charge, then took the menu away from us almost immediately. The meat servers swarmed around us like hawks and kept offering meats. Not knowing we were being charged every time, our bill was much more than we expected. If they would have clearly explained the pricing, this review would be much higher. But it felt like they intended to run up our bill as much as possible. Left a bad taste in our mouths, and the food was good but not great considering what we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Service was great and food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 19, 2017

For the first time ever, we experienced horrible service from a Brazilian steakhouse. We couldn't get anyone to refill our drinks, the meats were not coming our way and we sat there waiting for anyone to check on us for about 10 min. Half our party had no drinks and some didn't receive the drinks they did order. It may have been because they had all the servers catering to a private party versus the general population. The cuts of meat were not sizzling fresh and tasted either bland or too salty. This will be the last time we will be dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was good it's the 3rd time I come to this location I'm from the rgv, however I felt this time not all of the meat choices came to the table as I had to request the lamb because we were pretty much done and I didn't want to leave without getting lamb which is my favorite. The waitress was super attentive and prompt Alena I think was her name. Other than that the visit was worth the drive.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Top notch. From the drinks to the salad bar to the main course and dessert. Definitely will be back next time I am in San Antonio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This was the worst experience I've ever had with Fogo de Chao. We love this restaurant but due to living in a location that doesn't have one, we haven't been for a couple of years. We opted for just the market table this time because we were not that hungry. All I can say is that the quality has plummeted. I don't know if it because it has expanded so much or what. The asparagus was raw, the taboulet salad was old, so old in fact that it all tasted the same. The ingredients were not fresh and it felt like day old from the day before. Just not impressed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Outstanding food. The Lamb was perfect. We couldn't eat fast enough before they brought more meat choices. We were constantly flipping from green to red and back. Fun experience. A little pricier than we would normally spend but for the rare date night it was worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great experience. Great Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Horrible experience and not one member of the management team apologized for the embarrassment they caused my wife. Shameful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had another amazing experience at this restaurant! Love coming here! Probably the best meat of any of the Brazilian steakhouses!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The place was a great experience . Something new an a great place to eat

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Live Music, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service, pretty good food. May just do the salad bar next time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I had been wanting to try Fogo for a while now and decided to try it out in San Antonio since the restaurant was connected to my hotel (Marriott River Center).

The food was alright, but mostly my rating is based on the service (and overall dining experience).

It was explained at the beginning of the meal that the staff works as a team and a variety of team members would be waiting on us, but I would prefer a designated staff of 2-3 people we could look to/count on to pick up on our dining preferences and provide service accordingly.

You could tell the servers trying their best, but you could also tell that they were all on edge. I'm not sure if they were trying to meet specific goals set by management, but the service was either overbearing or non-existent, never in-between. We basically had 2-3 people in charge of BREAD - constantly trying to replace our bread basket before we finished our current one. We politely declined bread 5-6 times before one of these "bread guys" finally whispered "I'm just going to leave this here or else they will keep asking" - like WTF... clearly management has forced some kind of weird expectation/performance metric on bread.

This seemed to be the case with most other items too. My wife kept having to fend servers off from replacing her plate for a clean one (with over half her plate still unfinished - she's a slower eater). Finally at one point, my wife just let them take the plate. Me, on the other hand, I was kind of waiting for them to provide me with a new meat plate after about 2-3 rounds of rare meat, but wasn't offered a new plate for quite some time - again, it was very evident that the staff is being watched like hawks and graded on their performance.

The food was decent, and the staff was clearly trying their best as they were trained (expected to do so), but the overall meal/experience was INCREDIBLY UNENJOYABLE and left us feeling just as anxious as the staff. Save your money and try a Texas Steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

our waiter had a momentary lapse in memory, [happens to all of us] which he more than made up for in service and care. Our second time there, and once in Chicago. will definatly go to Fogo de Chao whenever we are near one. excelent food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Absolutely enjoyed our time. Food is wonderful. Very attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This was a business dinner and we all enjoyed our dinner while receiving excellent service!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I took my work team here for lunch! We had a great time. The atmosphere was great not too stuffy. Good choices were great. The service was impeccable and I came in on a scooter due to a broken leg and there was plenty of room. Oh yeah, the food especially the lamb was simple amazing!! Can't wait to take my family.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

A very enjoyable evening - attentive service, variety of tasty meats, extensive salad bar, and a thoughtful wine list with plenty of good value choices.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Its a great place with excellent taste of food. They acomodated me in a table where i was able to put the stroller where i was carring my son who couldnt sit in a high chair yet. They gave us a big slice of chocolate moose cake with a candle for my wifes bitthday, on the house. Price not too bad for the food youre getting. I would highly recomend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We booked this reservation for my daughter's 16th birthday about 3 months in advance. We were seated on time. After about 20 minutes a waitress brought water to the table for the six of us. She never introduced herself or took a drink order. We decided to help ourselves to the salad bar. We still weren't sure what to do so we just flipped our cards over to indicate we were ready for meat. The gauchos were great and the food was good. We practically had to beg our server to take our drink order and we also asked if there were supposed to be fried polenta and rolls. We told her our birthday girl is allergic to dairy and asked if she could bring polenta without cheese which she failed to do. We didn't really enjoy the meal because we felt like we were a forgotten table. We waited a long time for our check so our party left to go on to another activity. My husband stayed behind to pay and finally the check arrived with a piece of cheesecake for the birthday girl. She is allergic to dairy, like we said, and was already gone anyway. For the price you pay I was expecting a lovely birthday dinner with my family. Sad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 16, 2017

As always, phenomenal food and service. Our lead server, Amber, is an utter rock star! Took my wife, kids, and father, and it was just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Outstanding as always. Great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

While the food was good, sadly the service was terrible. Our party waited a long time for drinks, drink refills never came, it took an eternity to get our check and then no one asked if we wanted any coffee or desert. For as much money as you pay per person ($50) you would expect your patronage to be appreciated more. It was a bad way to end our Spring Break with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was great, except when people would just stop at the table and take dinnerware with asking, at that point I felt rushed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was hot and seasoned extremely well. The service was was outstanding. Everyone was so polite and professional. I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Hosted a celebratory dinner for ten colleagues at Fogo de Chão San Antonio. Most had never been to a rodizio-style Brazilian churrascaria, so there was some learning to be done. The staff did a good job explaining things, and got us all going with drinks (caipirinhas all around, thumbs up), salad bar and feijoada before the meat rotation began.

I go to Brazil frequently, and can attest that the experience was pretty authentic with a few small comments: First, there was no farofa as a side dish. Although farofa might be an acquired taste (maybe too dry and mealy) for most Americans, it is the natural accompaniment to meat in Brazil. Second, the sides included pão de queijo which was ok, but fried polenta instead of much more typical fried yuca (aipim). Third, the desserts really were not very typical. Having some of the small desserts (start with chocolate brigadeiros) that one sees in Brazil would add a lot.

Strong plus side: The meat selection was authentic and perfectly prepared and presented, and the salad bar was a good selection. If you go to one of these places, go easy on the salad bar-this experience is about meat! Pace yourself. You don't have to accept everything that comes around each time. Hold out for something you want to try.

I hear that Fogo de Chão has opened a couple places in Rio, which I hope to check out when I go there later this year. I bet they have farofa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.