About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

849 E. Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Antonio just steps above the famed Riverwalk and adjacent to the Rivercenter Marriott on Commerce Street. We bring our rich Southern Brazilian tradition of churrasco to the Alamo City.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 140.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
River Walk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-1700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, is the River Center Parking Garage, which charges by the hour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Romantic (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fun (13)
Business Meals (12)
Casual (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Private Room (7)
Family Style (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Scenic View (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Waterfront (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Its all about the service, the waiters a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Its all about the service, the waiters and staff were not attentive as they should have been for a place like this. Many times the waitress was at our table asking if we needed anything else but never made eye contact and seemed to be engaged with other table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Doesnt compare to Chama gaucha. Poor ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Doesnt compare to Chama gaucha. Poor service and ok food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was great! Our server gave good ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great! Our server gave good service except when it came to our check, we were charge extra for a couple things. When we brought it to our server's attention, he came back with still extra charges. We went back and forth 3 times with having to fix our bill. I had hoped he carefully looked at it before he handed over our check the 2nd time around. I hope other customers weren't charged for something they didn't order or overcharged for their drink. The fresh sangria I ordered was $10 on the menu. We were charged $32 initially, then $21 before we told the server that they still overcharged our drink. Then finally, they had it down to $12 even though the special menu I ordered from said $10. So, we just took off the $2 from the tip. It was a pleasant experience up until we got our bill. We will go back hoping that they will get our bill right the next time.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great as usual. It was Valenti ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great as usual. It was Valentine weekend so it was crazy busy but the staff and servers handled it well.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was great experience but the service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was great experience but the service was bad I eat only well done met it takes long time to bring me s request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The servers went above and beyond what w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The servers went above and beyond what was expected. A great complimentary dessert for our 47th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Most will be happy with less they the hi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Most will be happy with less they the high-end "full experience"

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I expected better for 150 dollar buffett ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I expected better for 150 dollar buffett. This was my first visit. Wanted to compare to another brazilian restaurant. I was not pleased at all. The other place was much better. The rolls came hard and cold. Got more they were warm and hard. Some of the meat was really bland. I could have walked to mcdonalds and bought a burger inbetween the times we got meat. Our cards stayed on green the entire time. Our sides came out over 30 mins after starting too eat from the salad bar. The bar and polenta and bananas were really good. Potatoes were thin,bland, and watery. Like bad instant potatoes. Then the servers brought the lamb and ribeyes after we got our check.

Not pleased at all with this place..

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

It was my first time to this restaurant, ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was my first time to this restaurant, I was joined by my husband and my mother who had both been here before. Our waiter was VERY neglectful and always made us feel like we were bothering him. The food was amazing, but this very poor service totally tarnished my first visit here and if that wasn't enough it actually took us over 15 minutes to get our bill and no it was not crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The food was very good, although the ser ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was very good, although the service was severely lacking. Long waits to get most anything done once you sit down and place your initial drinks order with your waiter. Probably would avoid in the future because of the inconveniences from the lack of professional waitstaff throughout the dinner service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Salads were mostly empty and not good. S ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Salads were mostly empty and not good. Service was poor. Not offered a drink menu. Very expensive for what we got. Would not recommend unless you just want to spend a lot of money. The meat of course was the best part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great service and food..

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and food..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The lamb was delicious! (And the server ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The lamb was delicious! (And the server who brought it, attentive!) Love Fogo de Chao, but this restaurant seemed a little less calm and elegant than others I've been to; the salad bar needed to be replenished faster/more often. It was a bit noisier and felt a little rushed, but the food was excellent as always, and the staff and servers were friendly and professional. I'd recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We are frequent diners at another Brazil ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We are frequent diners at another Brazilian steak restaurant in town and the quality of food, service and ambiance is much better there. I believe that their prices are very comparable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was our choice for a weekend lunch. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our choice for a weekend lunch. The other Brazilian Steakhouses are better but do not offer a weekend lunch option.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great! A perfect place for a company par ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great! A perfect place for a company party!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went here with my family for my 21st b ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I went here with my family for my 21st birthday, and it was incredible! It really feels as if you are getting pampered by the whole staff. I'm definitely coming here again for sure.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great scenery thank you v ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food and great scenery thank you very much for the experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelente servicio desde que entramos. L ...

 
 (Guadalajara)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excelente servicio desde que entramos. La recepción de Isabel fue excepcional y nos hizo sentir como en casa.

Es garantía comer en este lugar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time and it was great. Delicious ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First time and it was great. Delicious meat, great service, will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I feel it is too expensive for the meal. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I feel it is too expensive for the meal. We will not return.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I loved the pork sausage. It was an inte ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I loved the pork sausage. It was an interesting experience, you start off with like a soup and salad bar and then when youre ready, they start bring out various meats to everyone. Its all you can eat, so they keep bringing out meat until you indicate that youre done. Its a great place to go to if you like sampler-type dishes because most of the meat is given in small portions so you can try all of the various meats they have to offer. You can also request that they bring out a specific meat if you would like!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service are exceptional. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food and service are exceptional. I love the Market table and the variety provided. I LOVE the lamb chops and the smoked salmon the best. And to drink - I highly recommend the top-shelf Fogo Caipirinha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

amazing location, the waiters were reall ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

amazing location, the waiters were really kind, the service was amazing , and the food was really really good

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here with my husband for a nice New ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came here with my husband for a nice New Year's Eve dinner and thought I was dining at a Chucky Cheese or McDonald's play land. Kids were running wild in restaurant. Asked waitress about it and she said it is always like this and they have to really watch. It was very scary to see the waiters running around with sharp knives from table to table and having to maneuver around all the kids. For the price of the meal and considering it was 8:30 p.m. we expected a more enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

GOOD EXPERIENCE (Not great because of on ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

GOOD EXPERIENCE (Not great because of one important detail)

My experience was Good, The food was great!, The ambience great! The "Overall" Service good also. I Say "Overall" because the guys with the swords were outstanding, but Roxana (Our waitress) was awful, I think that is the one thing that bothered me a lot, She wasn't nice at all (not even a welcome smile) Of course from time to time She asked what we needed, But definetively Not Nice, she also spilled leftover drinks in our table, served water on our sprite.

That last two things I can pass by if you are nice as a waitress (I mean that is not hard if only for our table you're getting more than $50US)

At the end another waitress came and she was very friendly (totally different)her name was Isabel.I think she saved the night!! =)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this place! Awesome food and a fun ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love this place! Awesome food and a fun experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaility of the beef was less than other ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Quaility of the beef was less than other Brazilian steakhouses I've eaten at before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Fogo in San Antonio doesn't live up to t ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fogo in San Antonio doesn't live up to the rest of the chain in other cities. Slow service and smaller salad bar than usual. Would recommend Texas de Brazil downtown or Chama Gaucha in the burbs as solid churrascaria options instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We dined for Christmas dinner and had a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We dined for Christmas dinner and had a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and service. We had a gr ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Loved the food and service. We had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. A bit loud but I attribute t ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great food. A bit loud but I attribute this to the Christmas holiday. Considering the amount of people the staff did a fantastic job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Is a good restaurant but the service is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Is a good restaurant but the service is not that what we specting special for the price that u pay i believe they can do better we already go to similar restaurants here in san antonio and everything is better

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, , Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Thank you for helping make our Anniversa ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank you for helping make our Anniversary memorable!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth the money. They pester you to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Not worth the money. They pester you to death. You can't even enjoy a bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Delicious! Food was outstanding, althou ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious! Food was outstanding, although you could very easily eat way too much! The servers are very attentive and helpful. Salad bar was phenomenal along with the desserts. Will definitely recommend and eat here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service overall. Our server Mi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service overall. Our server Mike was very attentive and managers walking around everywhere making sure things were right. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall food was tasty, but I was disapp ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Overall food was tasty, but I was disappointed. Frequency of selections being brought to table was lacking. I had to ask several times for more bread and never got any- apparently it takes them forever to make more. Seemed like they were not prepared/ staffed for full lunch time crowd. Interior is very boring and surprisingly small. The Fogo in Houston is WAY better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I took my in laws for a special Christma ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I took my in laws for a special Christmas lunch and they were absolutely blown away by the food and service! I love how all the servers work as a team, and the attentiveness is what really makes the experience something else! We will definitely be back for date nights and other special occasions with our family!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and amazing service! We will ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food and amazing service! We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.