Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio

Join us at Fogo de Chão® San Antonio just steps above the famed Riverwalk and adjacent to the Rivercenter Marriott on Commerce Street. We bring our rich Southern Brazilian tradition of churrasco to the Alamo City.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 140.

849 E. Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
River Walk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-1700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, is the River Center Parking Garage, which charges by the hour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Fogo Holiday Churrasco Feast of indulgent bone-in cuts and seasonal recipes exclusive to the holidays. Dinner price all day Thanksgiving.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Fogo Holiday Churrasco Feast of indulgent bone-in cuts and seasonal recipes exclusive to the holidays. Dinner price all day Christmas Eve.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Fogo Holiday Churrasco Feast of indulgent bone-in cuts and seasonal recipes exclusive to the holidays. Dinner price all day Christmas Day.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Enjoy a Fogo Holiday Churrasco Feast of indulgent bone-in cuts and seasonal recipes exclusive to the holidays. Dinner price New Year’s Eve & Day.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Romantic (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
822 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Poor service . Same dishes repeated over and over . Wine prices tripled and quadrupled from retail . Basically a rip off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband really enjoyed the restaurant. I'm on the fence about this entire experience. I indicated that the mashed potatoes were a bit bland and very hard and asked that they bring us a new plate and was told they were all the same. The fried plantains were very mushy. We only really enjoyed 2 of all the meat options they provided. Seasoning was an issue with some of the meats. There were also issues with the temperature, some were more on the medium well instead of medium as we requested. The website indicates there is more than the Full Churrasco Experience dinner option but no other options were given to us. Seems like they really just push for the full experience.

I will not be returning to this restaurant. I think I prefer to go to a nice steak restaurant, order an entrée and enjoy my dinner without having so many different options being rushed to my table.

I must say that the dessert was spot on. I enjoyed that the most.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great cuts of meat and service is quick and efficient... You can't go wrong if you like Brazilian Style Steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

A complete rip-off. Restaurant is charging 2x what they should.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Food was excellent and non-stop. The wait staff were professional and friendly. The service beyond reproach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fogo de Chao offered a high class, high quality dining experience. The atmosphere is one that makes everyone from foodie to the average diner feel welcome and comfortable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our reservation was at 4:00 pm. The food was tasty but the variety of meat at that time was much less than what they said it would be. We had to ask numerous times for pork and finally received pork ribs just before leaving.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The service was fast and efficient. The meats were great. The only complaint is that the salad bar didn't have what I wanted, but it did have the best bacon me and my wife ever had! If you go don't eat beforehand because you fill up quickly. I was stuffed about 20 min after we were seated.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Didn’t really feel like they paid attention to the special occasion we indicated on the reservation. 3 different waiters helped us and they did not communicate with each other. Drinks were late to the table, sides were not good, plaintain was too riped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Everything was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Brought my family to San Antonio on a business trip. Decided to do something different for dinner. This was great food with great service. The meats were all tender and flavorful. The wait staff attentive without being annoying. The price is pretty high but for what you get was quite reasonable. Would recommend to anyone looking for good food and something a bit different than your normal fare restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

We try to eat at Fogo de Chao whenever we are in a city that has one. Their food is great and the one in San Antonio is the best one we have been to so far. A special meal and a 5 page wine list!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We have visited every Brazilian Steakhouse in San Antonio and this is one we like the least. We will not be returning to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

So over rated and expensive! Felt rushed the entire time, was given three or four meats before being able to get some salad bar. Only one of the beef selections was really good, not what I expected from a $300 for four people dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were very pleased with our service. The food was delicious. The staff could not be more welcoming and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great experience. Our server, Joe, was awesome. They never disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 12, 2017

It was difficult to hear the servers sometimes because of the noise level. The steak is excellent, the salad bar is excellent. Pricey but good for a special event. I wish there were better views of the Riverwalk, but you just have to go outside for that.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service was too slow. We were waiting to be served during most of the dinner, which was unusual based on prior experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time there and it was an awesome experience. Would definitely refer everyone to go and experience the restaurant

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was excellent. Weather likely the reason for a small crowd. Lamb chops were excellent but the salad bar and other meats were just so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fabulous evening, as always! Food was great, service was on point! Never disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Every cut of meat was tough and lacked any seasoning. The house special was one of the toughest pieces of beef I have had in some time. If I had to guess I would say they were using select beef and trying to pass it for prime. The chicken was overcooked and dry. Overall the service was good, but the food was lacking. For a Brazilian steakhouse I will stick to Tejas De Brazil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food is great and plenty, literally depending on your appetite, or should I say capacity to indulge. Tonight though, the service slacked a bit: we asked one server for the bread, we had to ask two others before it finally got to us. The same with the coffee and the lamb chops and the beef ribs that never came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2017

They were busy but the service was terrible. I had to asked three times for my drink they always bring a side of mashed potatoes with me all I had to ask twice for that.
I had to asked twice for the check and after asking the second time it still took him 15 minutes to bring to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I am clearly in the minority here because the place was PACKED and there were people begging for tables. We were seated in a nice room with only a few tables, so it was quieter than the main dining room. The server was helpful regarding ordering and we opted to go big and do the entire choice of meats. This is where it started falling flat. First off, the meat servers come by and ask how you like your meat cooked and based on what you tell them they slice from different areas. I asked for medium rare across the board and only received one slice that was actually medium rare. Everything else leaned towards medium well which is just no way to serve meat (IMHO). The meat was also bland, it really needed a sauce or something which no one mentioned, but when I asked, was told they have four which we requested. 10 minutes go by, I ask again, 15 minutes, finally we get the sauces. None of them were exceptional and none really helped the flavorless meat. I am bored of continuing to try these flavorless meats after trying around 8, so I ask for a to go container which they do not offer!! Uhm, you charged me $52 for all I can eat, I barely ate anything and now I have to leave all this behind?? I was not planning on eating it, but my dogs or chickens would have loved it. Now I am not at all happy with the price and feel like a jerk for barely eating any of these poor animals which are now going into the TRASH. For the amount of meat being continually sliced off the skewers it starts really sinking in that these are not well-kept, organic animals you are eating, they are (most-likely) crammed into cages and dying horrific deaths only to be thrown in the trash. So, obviously, I did not enjoy this experience at all, I would never return and I would never recommend. And yes, I will continue to eat meat, but I will choose a cut I know I like and have it prepared the way I like and hope it has wonderful flavor for $52.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Husband and I just didn't get excited. Waiters with select meats seems rushed and didn't lend to a great experience. Also, wasn't crazy as we felt the meat wasn't seasoned as best it could be. Just average meal for a lot of money. Sorry.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Restaurant week for dinner @$35 includes dessert. Great deal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Sadly, I hoped this review would be written a little differently. We are huge fans of Brazilian Steak Houses and frequent another in town quite often. Because we were staying downtown we decided to give Fogo a try. Years ago it was THE place to go, but service and food quality has truly dropped.

The sides brought to the table were like they had sat around for a while... the mashed potatoes were dried and clumpy... I like rare cuts of meat and when I asked for rare on MULTIPLE occasions, I was given medium to well... the manager (who made amazing drinks) came by and we got 1 small cut that was close to rare and that was it. We asked a few times for raw horseradish and after the 4th try they finally brought the right thing.

We were not impressed with the quality of service either... it was more along the lines of general waiter/waitress... not the norm for sure!

We truly wasted our money on this meal, as we both left looking for something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Our group enjoyed a fulfilling meal. The location is great as we were attending a conference at the Marriott Rivercenter.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our first but not last trip to a Brazilian steakhouse. Food was great and the service was even better. Fantastic employees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food and atmosphere were very delicious and classy. Our waiter, nice as he was, was not quite as attentive as we would have liked. Would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I got there shortly after opening. Cheese bread was not warm and server seamed a little annoyed. Would have been a bad experiance if the other staff didnt pick up slack and warm smile that our server that greated us at the table lacked. My wife and i were out for our 18year anniversary. She eats meat well to med well and they accommodated. I have been to other Brazilian steak houses were i thought i got more for the money. Bottom line i expected to be impressed and i felt so so. Not waste money it was just ok.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very nice for off to a slow start made us wait for reservations and ask us to sit at the bar with no bartender. Then they got better opened up back room much more quite and much better service after that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great fun. Would recommend this for a nice dinner.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food, atmosphere, all AMAZING! Bit pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was mediocare and the service was just below average. The price was exorbitant. For 2 adults and 1 child with one drink each ot was more that $225. I felt ripped off. There are many better choices available.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I love the lunch option with a single meat! Perfect midday meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. A place for Kings and Queens.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a great time and after telling the hostess we were there for a special occasion, chose to seat us in a quiet side room which was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.