About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Philadelphia

Join us at Fogo de Chão® Philadelphia conveniently located in Center City in the historic Caldwell’s Jewelry Building. The interior, originally designed by famed Philadelphia architect Horace Trumbauer, features French-cut chandeliers and 20 foot ceilings. Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option. We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 120.

1337 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Juniper Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 636-9700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $21.00. Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, are parking garages that range from $14.00 to $20.00.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (71)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for Groups (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for a Date (49)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Fun (37)
Business Meals (29)
Romantic (29)
Authentic (25)
Family Style (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Casual (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Cozy (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Organic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Birthday for my daughter. The taste of ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 2 days ago

Birthday for my daughter. The taste of the meats we're awesome. There is plenty of food choices and they keep coming back with more 😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

waiters were not attentive. selection of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

waiters were not attentive. selection of meat was very little.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I usually like both Chima and Fogo. This ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

I usually like both Chima and Fogo. This time we were stuck in a corner and only brought two kinds of meat. The meat we did get, needed more flavor! I had to add salt and I'm not huge on salt. Go to Chima for this type of dining, their meats are more flavorful. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

It was decently busy and the wait staff ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

It was decently busy and the wait staff was prompt and very friendly. Excellent food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat sweats! It's well worth it

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Meat sweats! It's well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole staff were extremely attentive ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

The whole staff were extremely attentive. Our waitress was Laura and she provided excellent service to my wife and I. 5 stars!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My absolute favorite dining experience h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

My absolute favorite dining experience hands down.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. I had the full lunch and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is great. I had the full lunch and my wife has just the salad bar which has great items.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Excellent service!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good however some servers just ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good however some servers just walk right past you never stopping to offer what they have.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

First time at Fogo, it was very good. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First time at Fogo, it was very good. We have been to Brazilian steakhouses before but this one is he best. The salad bar was good. A little unsure on what was there but took a little bit of everything and it was so good. Next came the rolls, by far the best roll I have ever had at a restaurant. The very extensive wine list has a choice for everyone. The men with the skewers then started. It was never ending, some of the best most flavorful meat ever. After I was stuffed, it was time for dessert. We had the flan, which I have had it in the past and was not a fan. This was one of the best desserts I've had. The attentive wait staff and the manager who was working kept checking on us to make sure we were satisfied. This was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had, there's 100% chance we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My first experience with spouse and son ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My first experience with spouse and son at college in Philadelphia. Salad bar was outstanding in terms of variety, ingredients and freshness. The only criticism is that fresh fruit was not replenished so that when we were ready for fruit after our meal, variety was limited. The variety of meats, preparation and taste were excellent. Service was very courteous. It was a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was amazing. Food, salad bar, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was amazing. Food, salad bar, the temperature of the meat, but they kept forgetting my soda.

Tags: Business Meals, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had ordered dessert at 8:30pm along w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had ordered dessert at 8:30pm along with our bill, and never received the dessert. On top of that, we did not receive our bill until 9:20pm. The service was not good at all and I would not recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Meats were great, beautifully cooked. A ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Meats were great, beautifully cooked. A couple were over salted. Sides we lacking. 'Hot' sides brought to table were closer to cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Eunice was amazing!!!! Thank You!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Eunice was amazing!!!! Thank You!!!!!!!!

Her VIP drink needs to be added to the menu!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a fantastic meal! The service staff ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Just a fantastic meal! The service staff are super-friendly and helpful and the food is beyond delicious. The selection of meats is impressive and they are all cooked perfectly. The bananas are amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we had a nice lunch but the ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall, we had a nice lunch but the service was poor. The waiter just disappeared on us so we had to ask other workers for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was fantastic from start to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was fantastic from start to finish the food was outstanding and the overall experience was well worth every penny!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! The salad bar ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food and service! The salad bar has a nice variety of options!

Tags: Comfort Food, , Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have always enjoyed our experience at ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have always enjoyed our experience at this restaurant! We highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love love love, as always! my favorite r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

love love love, as always! my favorite restaurant in Center City

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The building was beautiful. The staff w ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The building was beautiful. The staff went over and above with us, bringing us additional food after they overheard me say that it was under-cooked. In addition, they brought us a dessert for my husband's birthday, which was very appreciated. For a chain Rodizio restaurant, this is definitely over and above others I've been to and for people looking for a Brazilian Steakhouse experience, I'd definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food awesome crowd

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good food awesome crowd

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome. Food was great. It was my boyfr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome. Food was great. It was my boyfriend's first time. He loved it!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Me and my friend was very excited to go ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Me and my friend was very excited to go here for restaurant weekand heard many great reviews. We fidnt find out till the end they were not doing it, but it was not a big deal. The salad bar was amazing, some of the meats were good but most of them very salty. Our server was nowhere to be found half of the time when we wanted more drinks and when we asked for a beverage menu or order another one it took a very long time. Overall it was an okay experience not the best I had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Always a great meat fest. They had all t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great meat fest. They had all the meats when dined - the lamb chops were excellent! Tasty. Highly recommended

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my Birthday! Excellent experie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went for my Birthday! Excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was great - wife took us for my bir ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was great - wife took us for my birthday. The salad bar was incredible with many South American dishes and the meat WOW!! Could not have had a better dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Place never misses. Incredible each and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Place never misses. Incredible each and every time. Both the food and the service flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ,it was my third time in four ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent ,it was my third time in four months. Choice cuts of meat done to perfection...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dinner! Service is always ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Always a great dinner! Service is always outstanding. Our favorite cut of meat is the house.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a pricey experience for people w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is a pricey experience for people who can't eat a huge amount of meat! The meat was cooked beautifully but I probably ate 2 oz and the rest of my meal was salad bar! I wanted to experience a Brazilian steakhouse and I can now check that box but I wouldn't go back for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went and made a reservation about 2 week ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went and made a reservation about 2 weeks in advance but still had to wait about 20 minutes or so for a table. The service otherwise was great and the ambiance was great. Food was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible dining experience. Don't eat he ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Horrible dining experience. Don't eat here on Saturday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I wanted to take my husband somewhere sp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I wanted to take my husband somewhere special for his birthday and this was it! I couldn't begin to pick only one thing that stood out. The energy was high from everyone enjoying their dinner. The different array of foods to choose from that you don't usually see at places was nice and the meat truly is NON-STOP! The waitress suggested the PERFECT drink for me and to top it off with desert and coffee was icing on the cake! The fact that EVERY member of the staff was so attentive made the night that much better. First time there...and certainly won't be the last. Was worth the hour and a half drive there...that says a lot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with spouse for dinner on a Friday ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went with spouse for dinner on a Friday night. Seated immediately. Waiter showed up soon after to take drink orders. Side dishes came out soon after. Meat servers came by immediately after sides. Meat delicious, especially lamb and steak. Never saw seafood. Market table boring. For $53/person, not sure you get your money's worth, but meat, service, and experience make up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Fogo many times and it i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have been to Fogo many times and it is always our go to place for special event dinners. I wish we could go more often. It is pricey but worth every dollar. My husband had a wonderful birthday celebration! Thank you

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.