Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City

Join us at Fogo de Chão® Kansas City located in the premier entertainment district and dining destination for hungry shoppers and visitors enjoying the rich history and special events offered in Country Club Plaza.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 120.

222 W. 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wornall Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-7700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $8.00. There is also a complimentary parking garage behind Fogo de Chao, next to Houston's.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1067 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

It’s was horrible and will never return to the Kansas City location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This visit was mine and my husband's 27th wedding anniversary. The experience was amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The best place I've been to hands down this year. My husband took me there because we've been working hard and have had no time to do anything else. It was amazing every bite superberb and the staff fantastic

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We come for our anniversary. The salad bar is full of tempting fresh choices - it is far to easy to fill-up on the delicious offerings. Fogo is a chance to enjoy succulent meats cooked over fire - they have everything from rare to well-done all you need to do is ask. The lamb and sirloin cuts are always wonderful. Their creme brule is a perfect ending to a decadent meal. Bravo!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always great service and consistency...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Josh was incredible with his knowledge of wine and his service to make sure we had everything we need A true professional and we had a perfect business dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My 13 year old son and I had dinner here. He enjoys adult food and we’ve eaten together at Texas de Brazil in the past and both love the meat selections.

I used a coupon for $39/person for dinner - from an email offer. This didn’t include filet mignon, beef ribs, rib eye, or lamb chops.

In general we enjoyed our time. The meats and the food from the salad bar (market table) were very good. Plenty of options to choose from.

Meat service was just right: I never felt hassled or that the meat was brought too frequently. I thought I might miss the more expensive cuts of meat, but I didn’t regret paying $24 less using the coupon.

We had excellent service and never felt pressured in any way. The manager came by a few times, which always impresses me.

My only suggestion to corporate would be to label the food on the market table. Texas de Brazil does this and it helps with the overall experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

2 dinners. 3 drinks. $187 after tip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

If you have the money, absolutely great food. If you don't, don't even think about it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Overall the experience was fine. I was really surprised that each person was not allowed to have their own menu. We had to share the menu. Please be aware that if you prefer to have a well done option, just ask for it. Knowing this in advance, I would have ordered more than mashed potatoes.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food at a very affordable price. The wait staff was phenomenal. If there is only one negative: People should not be allowed to nibble at the salad bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Pass. Had better for less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great restaurant ,, my husband's birthday was celebrated here and our private dining area was perfect for the 15 people that attended... food was delicious!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Vegan, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Felt very rushed. We didn't get all the meats. Had to ask for sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best part of my experience was the attentive staff...I felt like I was the only person in the restaurant. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The meats were good. My favorites were the picahna, leg of lamb, and the chicken thigh. I thought the other cuts of beef were bland. The charcuterie and salad bar was nice. The service was pretty average. I prefer Em Chamas in the Northland.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The salad bar is amazing. I do not eat meat so I was able to order a delicious piece of sea bass. I honestly thought the piece of fish was rather small. Especially since my meal was only $8 less than the meal with unlimited meat options. My date said the meat was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent service, great food. I could have made a very satisfactory meal on the salad bar alone, which included some thin sliced ham very reminiscent of Spanish ham. The meat offerings were uniquely presented. I loved taking my choice of several different beef steak options as well as the lamb. The pork and chicken were quite good, to my taste a little overdone and dry but I didn't leave any on my plate.
All the meats were too salty, but I try to limit my sodium so I may be hypersensitive.

As good as the food was, the service was even better. The maître die kept careful watch over the house and all the staff took care to make every one had all their needs anticipated. I never had to ask for anything, it was all taken care of- plates changed, drinks refilled, dessert offered, check delivered. This is how service should be in a fine restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by concept and quality. Very nice service and a wide variety of food to chose from. Great for date or family outings, but be careful not to put too much of all the great meats on your plate at one time...my wife and I had he "meat sweats" by the time we finished! Just too much great food and we couldn't pass on the opportunity to try everything!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent in si many ways. The new summer cocktails were superb and the service outstanding. Just had some issues with the lamb being overdone and chewy. It's my favorite so not everyone might care, but that Ned's some fine tuning. Otherwise. Fogo is better than ever

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Always an amazing experience. The food is top notch in luxury. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This is a very open seating restaurant a bit noisy. I have visited other Fogo's and this one does not greet customers very well at all nor is the level of service on par with others. I actually found myself having to ask for everything plus a worker dropped a glass which shattered and some glanced my leg and nobody even asked if I was ok! I am being generous with my rating. I usually enjoy dining at all Fogo's and I had planned on visiting this one several times since I am here for two more weeks.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The salad bar and meats are absolutely delicious! Service is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I left Fogo feeling overall disappointed. I felt it was overpriced for the quality of meats being served, and the side dishes were sub-par. The salad bar was so-so, the best items on it were the fresh fruit. I would have much rather went to a regular steakhouse on the Plaza where I know the meal would have exceeded my expectations. We enjoy trying new places, however this one was a disappointment all the way around. The restaurant has no character and is underwhelming. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great dining experience you won't find anywhere else. Food was amazing. I had the sea bass and my hubby had the steak items.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always delicious and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The "market table/salad Bar" is only $15 and is excellent - lots of choices, top quality. It includes soup, fruit, polenta and bananas and a special of some sort. This time it was a stew over rice. My only complaint was that it was freezing. Nice and quiet so you can visit with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is definitely not a place to take children. They do not have kid friendly food. If my child would have been happy, it would have probably been a better experience. We were disappointed in the food for the cost. We were looking forward to good cuts of beef and the only thing we ever got was some pieces of very average sirloin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Good food, good service, but over priced. Our server was extremely pushy about up-selling us to the point that after we declined an appetizer, he had it brought over to our table anyway and then told us it's an extra charge after he had already set it on the table. This set the tone for the evening and honestly made me very uncomfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Fogo de Chão is a nice place on the plaza and you expect it to be nice; however, we paid $50 a person to have an enjoyable dining experience with quality cuts of meat.

We only received the filet one time during our two hour dining experience.... we asked for the filet three times to only get it right as we were signing our check, which also took 20 minutes to get. The rest of the time we received top sirloin, chicken with bacon, and peppered pork. I have a hard time paying $50 for lesser quality meats I could pay $20 for at Applebee's.

I've been to Fogo before but never have I had this bad of an experience with the waiters/waitresses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

All the meats were excellent, except for the Sirloin, it was just meh. I wish they had a gravy to put on the mashed potatoes. Other than that, it was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Over priced for the quality of food. We've been to other Brazilian steakhouses and the was not up to par. Same price as others but slacking in authenticity.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Just out with the wife to enjoy a nice meal, while we were downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 29, 2017

I enjoy Brazilian steakhouses, and totally get the concept and the (usually) great food -- however, at Fogo de Chao, I never truly feel welcomed. Yes, we're seated, and people bring things to the table, and they bring the check, and a manager comes and checks on you -- but you feel a little bit like an assembly line. Perhaps the 'team server' concept just isn't working well here -- *someone* should be in charge of your experience. My next trip to a Brazilian steakhouse in town won't be to this one.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

They sat my date and I next to a table that literally had 8 kids. Between the coughing, screaming, and sneezing the food was okay.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It was a unique place to eat with choices that you won't see everywhere. The meats are various and plentiful. I was getting the meat sweats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The entire staff was great. A wonderful night along with good food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always a great experience. Filet and spicy chicken are to die for. Carmelized banana also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.