About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City

Join us at Fogo de Chão® Kansas City located in the premier entertainment district and dining destination for hungry shoppers and visitors enjoying the rich history and special events offered in Country Club Plaza. Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option. We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 120.

222 W. 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wornall Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-7700

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $7.00. There is also a complimentary parking garage behind Fogo de Chao, next to Houston's.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Fun (40)
Good for Groups (37)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Authentic (28)
Romantic (23)
Business Meals (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Family Style (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Casual (15)
Tasting Menu (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Private Room (4)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We adore this place, it's two hours from our home and we drive it happily, the service is perfect! Literally, they were even very accommodating to my three year old and five year old, the food is amazing and we will always love to eat here.. it's worth mentioning that their salad bar is amazing

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Apparently Brazilian dining is not my cup of tea. The salad/food bar was very nice. The table side meat service while being very quick, to me the meat was just not that great. Especially at the price point for your dining experience. Staff is wonderful, but I probably will not go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

The quality of the food was good. Some of the meat options seemed a bit more rare and were not given an option to get a more cooked cut. The service was slower than the MN location, much slower. Would have the green card up for a few minutes before a waiter would arrive at the table. More than once they walked past the table when the cards were green without stopping.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I'm a regular at The different Fogo de Chao restaurants in US and Brazil and love the variety of cuts and quality of the meats. Yesterday , the cuts were not necessarily on point nor with the typical great flavor, not sure if it has to do with the time I got there -1:30 pm- 30 mins before closing .... not sure but it did not taste the same

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was good, but not $144 for two great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Got good gluten free options that is the main reason we go to this restaurant. The service was not as good as it first opened. They seem to cut back on some meat options that you have to request or you can hardly see it coming.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was amazing. The servers could have seemed more interested in their job, but I understand if they were busy since it was Valentine's Day. Overall good experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great restaurant! will definitely go back, great Martinis!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys variety, not the same old sit down venue.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent Service and friendly staff. We were waited on immediately upon arrival. Love this place!

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a family get-together.

We enjoyed Brazilian cocktails in the bar first, very good.

Then dinner was amazing. The salad bar is a work of art, then dinner, until your in a meat coma!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

All the different meats tested the same .. The salad bar didn't even have regular salad on it !! Cesar salad or none .. yet half the bar was filled with salad dressings.. I checked the whole time we were there ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great Dining experience. The food was delicious, nothing in that restaurant was of low quality. Service staff was very nice, even though we had a couple minor reminders for teaspoon for tea, straws, second cocktail that we ordered or the check. The meat was frequently offered and delicious. The only note I would like to add is that it is NOT a all you can eat place. Once they served you a good amount the meat server didn't return. However we didn't leave hungry or unsatisfied. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Use common sense when taking kids, go earlier and avoid high traffic times. We def. will be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a great experience it's was our daughter's birthday and the restaurant made it very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic food, and great service. I don't know how else it could be done, but I felt like I was at Golden Corrale standing in the buffet line when getting sides. Cheapened the mood for me

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

great food, definitely go when you are hungry, they have a lot of selection and if you leave do not stop coming with the food until you say.

the manager came to the table to checked on us, to see if we getting what we getting what we needing, and sent them right over.

great time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Meat was undercooked and under seasoned. Should be better quality for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved it as always, and Joshua is truly a vibrant personality, who Fogo is fortunate to have in a management t role.. We will be back, over and over again...Keep it up, best Brazilian around!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food quality & service has greatly deteriorated. Even the wonderful cheese rolls were not up to par. What a disappointment!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The servers were very slow and inattentive. We had to order drinks and sides several times before getting them. (We never actually got more sides). We didn't get to try many different meats as they continously ran out before our table. The bread was tasteless. Meats and salad bar was good but overall probably won't waste the money again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, Fogo served up fantastic food with quality service. Additionally, both of the notes I made on my reservation (a table by the window for privacy and it was a birthday occasion) were taken into account. I truly appreciate the effort and will continue to recommend this place to anyone looking for a fun and unique dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was pretty good, service was terrible. Between the hostess and waitress we felt extremely under serviced. The waitress had no manners and didn't pay any attention to us. The guys serving meat were awesome though and the food was yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I loved it period

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

They have took a lot of stuff off the salad bar that I enjoyed! So I was disappointed. And some of the meats were tough.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We go to Fogo every year for my birthday. I always leave happy and very full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was a great meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The meats are always consistently delicious and of course a huge variety. I love the unusual salad offerings the dessert is also wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was good overall, but the market bar could have been fresher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I don't know what happened to this place. It used to be so good, but it wasn't even that busy and we were halfway through our meal before we got any sides or bread and they only brought it because we kept asking for them. The service was very slow and inconsistent. For that price, I would go just about anywhere but there. I will never go back. A terrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We dined during restaurant week for the first time. The menu was a little more limited than normal, however the food and service were excellent, our waiter was very attentive and there was a wonderful selection of meat as well as fresh items on the cold food bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Overall, a pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Disappointed!!! We had a reservation and my friend was running a few minutes behind and I was told incomplete parties aren't seated. That was all good until we were sat and eating and the table across from us had an open seat that wasn't filled for 10-15minutes after being seated and drinks ordered and brought out. Along with that, I had no idea who our server was, the initial guy came got a drink order of which the manager brought out, then the rest of the afternoon 2 different people walked by and occasional asked if we needed anything. I had to ask several times could we get our check which took another 10-15minutes. This was my 2nd time eating here and I was HIGHLY Disappointed!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first visit. We decided to go after we noted that Fogo was part of the restaurant week. We booked a table on Sunday at 1200, only to find out upon arrival that the deal was only applicable to Sunday dinner. So that started using off on a not-so-positive note, but we were going to make the most of it. We were seated quickly to a 2-person table. Waited awhile for someone to acknowledge us, then take our drink order. The only directions given were regarding the delivery of meats-- turn chip to green if you want meat, red if you're stopping. Salad bar was great--lots of options that were tasty. As for all of the meat options, most were average, some well done and dry....never did see any lamb? I asked about drink specials and got a mimosa-- which ended up being Bland ( how do you screw that up?)

So, for the food, service, price, we will probably not be coming back any time soon.....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Horrible service, the food was good. The waitress needs more training. I am mad I took my boyfriend there for his birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Ate here for the 1st time during restaurant week with friends. Food and service were both excellent. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

went for restaurant week. loud and noisy but fun. people were very nice. good food!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have been going to Fogo De Ciao during KC's Restaurant week for the last few years (have been there at other times as well) - great ambience and food (great salad bar for vegetarians like me and the rest of my family loves their meat cooked Brazilian style)... the wait time to get seated (30 min) was longer than expected this time despite our reservations and service was much slower than usual - almost done with my salad plate before we got served our appetizers.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was delicious, and it was a great place to enjoy an anniversary. The wait staff was great and we didn't have a single complaint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed our experience here during KC Restaurant Week!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was just "ok". Appeared short staffed. Service staff was working hard but had to cover to many tables. Was served only 7 of the 12 meats and had to ask for two of those. Also asked for salt a couple of times and had to find an empty table and get my own. Over rated for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time there, it was a great brunch. Will go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Meat. Meat. Meat. Of course :). It was all delicious super hot, and more than I could eat. Personally, I'd recommend going really light on the market table so you have more room for meat :).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time being there. Waiter was friendly and took the time to explain everything to us. Loved the food and the lunch price. Definitely will go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great dinner and enjoyed restaurant week.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Visited for KC Restaurant Week. Great experience !

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing service and plenty of yummy food! Perfect for a special occasion. Lots of fun!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have enjoyed every trip to this restaurant. The food is excellent and the food is great. The salad bar is surprisingly good for a restaurant dedicated to carnivores. My only complaint would be the bar as their beer menu is really limited. But then no one comes here for the bar so that wasn't a big deal. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

A lot of meat, be prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Too much meat for us. Value for our dining out dollars was too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.