About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston

Join us at Fogo de Chão Boston located in the historic Copley Square, across the street from The Boston Public Library and literally steps from Trinity Church and the Hancock Building. The location is ideal for locals and tourists alike.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 130.

200 Dartmouth Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Copley Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 585-6300

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $20.00. Limited metered parking is located around the restaurant. Also available, are parking garages in the area that range from $15.00 - $30.00.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Fun (30)
Good for a Date (23)
Family Style (22)
Authentic (20)
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was Excellent.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vegan, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Once again we had a terrific meal at FdC.

Everyone was so kind, helpful, and we enjoyed ourselves.

Our favorite lamb chops kept coming, along with the other delicious meats, and the servers took excellent care of us.

There was also a very tasty sweet potato/ butternut squash soup today. Yum!

Awesome place to go for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

I've been to other locations for this restaurant and the experience has been very nice. So I had high expectations for the one in Boston as well....

The management sucks here with inattentive servers and repetitive food selections. Terrible NY strip and garlic steak, and the rest were just mediocre. Save your bucks and go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. Meats very well seasoned and staff was fantastic

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Foods and service were great! I would recommend this place to my friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Although the meats are quite salty, everything else is amazing. I especially enjoy the gaucho table buffet where you will find an enormous selection of foodstuffs from smoked salmon to papaya to artichokes to imported prosciutto.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I had enjoyed the Rio location of this restaurant and decided to try the hometown location for a Valentine dinner. Fogo de Chao is an excellent dining venue for a meat lover. All the cuts of meat were piping hot and were cooked to perfection with just the right amount of seasoning. Items on the salad bar were diverse and very fresh. Service was attentive and valet parking is very convenient. My only complaint was that the tables were very close to each other and it was difficult maneuvering around the tables to get to the buffet table. All of this comes with a hefty price tag; dinner for 2 with 1 cocktail apiece, parking and tip, total about $200.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was awesome as always, service was ok.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the food! We usually go in a group of 4 people and someone always over eats, it's just that good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Arrived right at reservation time and even though it was packed we were promptly seated. Great food especially lamb shank and lamb chops. Love it. Fun atmosphere especially if you've never been to one before.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a party of 10 to celebrate my dad's 80th birthday. We were 4 generations including my 3yr old nephew. Kids under 7 eat for free! It was the first time to Brazilian BBQ for them and they loved the experience. It's so interactive I've always enjoyed a BrazBBQ for special occasions and/or large work engagements. Just bring your appetite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Its' to bad that one person( a waitress) can downgrade overall very good experience.

The "meat guys"" are super nice but waitress seamed less than enthusiastic to serva us...

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great staff. Great food. The meats are wonderfully seasoned and very tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 31, 2017

While visiting Boston I took my brother and sister-in-law to Fogo. Neither of them had been before. They were suitably "wowed" by the experience. They were in awe of the salad bar, and overwhelmed by the quantity, variety, and quality of the meats. Our servers were all attentive and friendly. It was a wonderful evening. Thanks Fogo de Chao!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

buen restaurante de carnes a la espada con gran buffet de ensaladas y acompañamientos

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Save your appetite! The salad bar is terrific!! The rolls are so warm, soft and cheesy but you need to save room for all the great meats, plaintains, polenta and so much more.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very under impressed. I wish they gave an option for warm appetizers and warm sides. I hated that everything was cold. We had a table of 8 adults and they gave us two sides of mashed potatoes to share with were were in tiny dishes, we each could have eaten our own. I have been to many Brazilian steakhouses before and I prefer being able to have the option of the "buffet-style" all you can eat steak or a menu option to order from. Our whole party was unimpressed with the lack of warm food options other than the soup. If you wanted the meat "medium well" or "well done" , you always ended up with an end piece that was tough. The staff is great but did not make up for the poor food. This restaurant is mediocre at best and I would not choose to dine here again nor would I recommend this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great place to eat if you are a meat lover. It's very well seasoned and they have lots of options to choose from.

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food and Service. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful. Love this place!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First time at Fogo in Boston. Not as good as the other locations I have tried but acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

After having been to several Fogo de Chao's, this was the least impressive from the service to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The waiter interrupted our conversation. He should wait.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I really like Fogo. The food is great. Meats are great quality. It's sometimes hard to get the meat that you want when you want it. That way it's tough. Otherwise if you're not up tight and have to have everything when you want it then you'll enjoy it. I have my office party there every Christmas when I invite 100 people to dinner. So, I guess I like this place!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food served by a very attentive and friendly staff A++++

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Surprised by lack of music and bartender and waiting/bar area. Music was so low in dining area, all you hear is everyone talking. Meats tasted like they weren't even seasoned. Go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great salad bar - very good meat. We chose this place for my son's 9th birthday and he loved it...I've been before and would have loved it more except that my wife and I are working through the Whole30 diet and there are a few things you can't eat (ask for their allergies menu) but that's us not the restaurant - overall - very good if a little pricey

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

楽しい雰囲気で人数が多いほどgood !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was great and well seasoned. Servers were great as well. The Chilean sea bass is a great vegetarian option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Although dinner hour is wonderful, there is a great bargain at lunch, if you don't crave lots of meat. The "market table" buffet has every salad, appetizers, smoked salmon, cheeses, salami, soups and even a side board with a meat. It was only $15 here in Boston. For meat lovers, a bevy of wait persons go around, each with a different sort of meat on a skewer ( there were around 8 different sorts, but I lost count.) each and every bit of each and every food was outstanding, as were the efficient and warm staff members.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fogo was great fun New Years Eve. Many favorite versions of meats to compliment the market table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had an amazing New Years Eve dinner there. They have a great selection of appetizers and sides at the market bar and come around to your table with delicious meat offerings including many varieties of steak, bacon wrapped chicken, sausage, and more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love eating at Fogo every New Year's Eve !!! The food and service is incredible. You never feel rushed through dinner and never leave hungry !!! We highly recommend this restaurant to others. of note, we go other times of the year too. Any day is a great lunch / dinner experience there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I came here for our anniversary, and decided to come back for my birthday. So we brought along my brother and his fiance. They loved it here and want to come back. The waiters that were assigned to our section were very attentive. They made sure that we never needed to ask for anything. I definitely will be returning very soon!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Still my ALL-TIME favorite Brazilian steak house. I make it a point to visit every time I come home to Boston

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for a birthday party, and the food was wonderful! Everything was fresh & the meat was hot and tender. We also ordered a pitcher of red sangria, yummy! The service was great & we will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Fogo de Chao is an experience! Lots of great food starting with an expansive mind boggling salad bar, second to none. Vegetarians like myself would find themselves very happy just enjoying the salad bar. The rest of your friends and family will enjoy the incredible meat selection, generously offered. The trimmings are also great-polenta sticks, plantains, cheese puffs especially! My only negative is the EXUBERANT COST OF WINE! There is NO justification. A simple bottle of white wine (retails $13 at the liquor store, was $57). All of their wine costs seem greatly overinflated. It takes away from the experience.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The atmosphere and the food was on point, reservations were made and we were able to get in at appointed time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall a lot better than last time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Staff attitudes need improvement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service was excellent The salad bar was great , my daughters had the salad bar/meat all you can eat, I didn't think they had a great variety of meats. The caipirinha was $15, which is a lot of money for it. I found it overall overpriced

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

goodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgoodgood

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I treat ourselves whenever he's back from Afghanistan and we stay in Boston. The restaurant of choice is Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Boston. If anything, there is TOO much food but it's all delicious and they have a great variety of things to choose from.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food, all the time I was in there I fell so happy whit the service,I definitely recommend,good food, amazing drinks, the best Brazilian BBQ in town for sure..

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fantastic. Go with an empty stomach! Delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food people and staff are awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I have been several times, but this time the meats were underwhelming. The salad bar was a standout once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I was absolutely dumbstruck be the excellence of the buffet and the service. The quality of the buffet items was over the moon as were the selections. The meats were succulent and bounteous. The mashed potatoes, Parmesan polenta sticks, and chimichurri sauce were fab.

There are no words to describe the gluten free popover rolls...they were that good!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The Market Table (salad bar) has a great selection of vegetables, fruit, smoked salmon, cheese and charcuterie. The staff were keeping it regularly topped up and clean.

The meats being brought round the table were rather variable. I thought the short rib and lamb chops were awesome, but several of the steak cuts and the leg of lamb were rather tough and/or tasteless. Also, if you get the outside slice of meat, it's very salty. But overall, it's decent value and a fun place to go for something different.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.