About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin

Join us at Fogo de Chão Austin to celebrate the Southern Brazilian ranching heritage. We welcome guests on our elegant front porch complete with open flame rotisserie. The restaurant is conveniently located across from the Austin Convention Center and just blocks from the Capitol Building.
Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option.
We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 100.

309 E. 3rd Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Trinity Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 472-0220

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch and dinner hours for $10.00. Limited meter parking is located around the building. Also, there is a pay-to-park lot one block west of Fogo de Chao.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Business Meals (12)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (10)
Romantic (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
675 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

Asked for filet mignon multiple times including to the manager. After 40 minutes of waiting, filet finally showed and was so rare we had to send back. Reservation was at 2:30p and they charged the dinner rate. We are long time clients and will not go back. Mediocre food, low service (had to ask multiple times for tea refills), and very high price. This concept is destined to fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food and service always great! Great atmosphere. Love it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful way to get a variety of tastes of great meats- lamb, beef, pork, chicken. All you can eat! Salad bar is also superb, with great, fresh selection.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This was a "give them another chance" visit following a Memorial Day dining experience that had less than stellar service. Having been there multiple times over the years the last visit (May 2017) was a huge letdown as service was shoddy. This visit (Sep 2017) restored our faith in the professional service we've come to expect from Fogo. Fun dining experience as "always"! Great sampling their new bone-in cuts.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

There was a good service provided and servers were always coming to serve different meat. Lamb steak though was not tasty. All the rest - wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Exceptional dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Leo is the best...great service and the food always good..

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. All of the meats and sides were delicious. The servers were professional and attentive. I thought the lighting could be dimmed a little to make it feel more cozy. Also free valet or easier self parking would be a nice addition. Overall a great night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Who had a simply awesome experience! I took my seven-year-old grandson and he had a blast. Everybody is extremely friendly atmosphere was great because incredible and all employees were very happy and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great family gathering place for special occasions! Wonder dining experience. Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a great evening me and my wife, we had our two boys with us both under 8 there wasn't much that they would eat. So avoid bringing small kids if you can there welcome but you wont find fries and a burger on the menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I thought the salad bar was a lot better at another fogo de chão location I went to but it was still good value for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Had to change my reservation last minute, but it was super easy and convenient through open table, and the overall experience at the restaurant was great. The staff was friendly and we briefly mentioned the special occasion we had gone to dinner for when our waiter brought us out a slice of delicious cake. 10/10 I will be coming back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food and service was amazing and loved the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The staff was friendly and accommodating. Food was appealing and plentiful. A good time was had by all!

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Enjoyed my meal here and the concept is great. I would recommend pacing yourself because the good meats come around later usually.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Enjoyed the food and had a great time. The meat was all so flavored.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Eat until you pop. The meat is masterfully done and the selection seems never ending. Service is always on point and you leave feeling like you just had an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was at best mediocre, dined at fago de Chao for years and every time I go back the quality is worse than before. Felt rushed to finish the dinner so next customer can take the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We love this place and the food is amazing. The staff treats you like family. It's our go to restaurant in Austin

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I went with my wife to celebrate our anniversary, and they gave us a complementary dessert!! We had a great time eating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great experience with food and service.
KeiwandaG. New Orleans

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The staff here is great. You never wait very long to be served. We went here for my birthday and I was pleasantly taken care of the entire time. The manager himself catered to our requests and even got my two children laughing a few times.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 24, 2017

After being a regular at Estância Churrascaria in the Arborteum, this was a huge disappointment. We waited over 15 minutes to put in a drink order despite being 1 of 3 tables in the restaurant. I was able to visit the salad bar and consume half of my salad before our drink order was taken.

My fiancé was finally able to order a bottle of Dom Pérignon and had to pour it for herself quite a bit during dinner.

The meat was slow to come and they were unprepared for service at opening. I found getting the cut of meat I wanted done to the temperature, I desired,difficult and had to make the requests of multiple servers.

We spoke to the manager and the service did pick up, but we were unable to get past the earlier snubbing and pouring our own drinks.

We are always treated like valued customers at Estância Churrascaria and I would recommend the experience and value over Fogo de Chao. We will not be returning to Fogo de Chao.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I always enjoy coming to Fogo De Chao! The level of professionalism, courteousness and friendliness of their Waitstaff, Servers, and Guachos is remarkable. The food is always delicious and the fresh. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I took my wife for an anniversary dinner and was hoping for a nice experience and I got exactly what I was looking for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Good food,great service,cool staff. My "go to" place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My best friend and I made a reservation to celebrate our birthdays. We had an early dinner (5:30 pm) on a Tuesday and had the whole place to ourselves for about 30 minutes. We were catered to in the same manner as if the place were full, that is to say that the parade of gauchos with skewers was non-stop the entire time. The service was excellent and the dining experience was top-notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My wife, daughter, and I love eating at Fogo de Chao. There is a nice variety of deliciousness at the salad bar, but we come for all the savory meat. The food and service has been excellent every time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Good food. Some minor glitches. We were there toward the tail end of the closing. Mishap with the lemonade where they used salt instead of sugar. But made a good laugh and they were very nice about the mess up.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My boyfriend has been raving about wanting to bring me to Fogo de Chao and we finally had some time in downtown Austin and after a long weekend he was able to finally take me. I had an incredible experience with very attentive waitstaff, even when they were busy. I was able to try many different kinds of meats that I probably wouldn't have ordered on my own. I'm looking forward to when I'll get to go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great for any meat lover! I have decided the salad bar is more than enough food for choice for me and will stick with that on my next trip.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Delicious but expensive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was excellent, every piece of meat was cooked at various levels to match the desires of every patron. The ambiance was great during our dinner a couple got engaged. The noise level was not high enough to disturb the conversation at our table but it certainly was not silent. Excellent service from every server, bus person, management to valet. I have 0 complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The food was wonderful!!!! Never had to wait for the next entree! Desert was amazing!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was great till the very end. It very salty and undesirable to eat. Would not recommend this restaurant and the price you pay for your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always a great place to have lunch or dinner! Excellent service, great food and an amazing salad/charcuterie bar! Worth every penny and very attentive staff. Highly recommend that you always go hungry because you will be stuffed by the time you are done dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 2, 2017

As always the service matches the food. Just outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.