About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin

309 E. 3rd Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Join us at Fogo de Chão Austin to celebrate the Southern Brazilian ranching heritage. We welcome guests on our elegant front porch complete with open flame rotisserie. The restaurant is conveniently located across from the Austin Convention Center and just blocks from the Capitol Building. Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option. We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 100.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Trinity Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 472-0220

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch and dinner hours for $10.00. Limited meter parking is located around the building. Also, there is a pay-to-park lot one block west of Fogo de Chao.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Family Style (11)
Fun (10)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

It's a really fun place to eat. You have to pace yourself of course. And the service is really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentines Day and they even gave us a coupon for our next visit. Definitely going again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the place, I never expected to eat so much meat! The service was fast and friendly and the wine was amazing. Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Valentine's Day experience. Will definitely return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is simply amazing. Every single thing was delicious. We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a wonderful, delicious Valentine's Day dinner ! Great menu, wonderful staff, excellent food including the salad bar & the hot food sides bar ! Will definitely go back and take the rest of the family - come with a big appetite !!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fogo de Chao Austin has been a favorite of mine for many hears and I can't count how many times I've eaten there for one occasion or another. Sometimes it's dead on, and sometimes a few things are a little off. This visit was more of the latter. I would still recommend it and still go there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I took my girlfriend for a pre-Valentine's Day meal and she was fascinated with the place on her first visit. The valet service was fantastic, and our reservation got us seated immediately. My friend was quite impressed with the service, especially with the thinly sliced cuts of meat. She enjoyed the use of the red/green card concept for the meal service. She definitely wants to visit your place real soon!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. The salad bar was great, even though I would have liked to see avocado, and raisins. A helpful server suggested the apple salad, which had raisins in it. Not at all the same thing, but a good idea nonetheless! Fresh fruit, great lettuces, spinach if you prefer. You could make a meal out of the salad bar alone.

BUT you don't want to do that, because you want to save room for the fresh sliced meat that comes around to you, table-side, and only when you want it. Magic! The meat was perfectly cooked, the help was great, the wine selection excellent. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The servers were very attentive and super cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Hard working staff. Got us with the unfamiliarity of the shrimp expense. No explanation. Other than that, good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I stopped in for dinner while traveling to the hill country. Nice resteraunt, service was ok but the food was good. Did not impress me like other steak houses I have been to. Overall a good experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

After waiting three years to eat at Fogo, I wasn't let down. In fact, my meat nonprefering fiancé went to down on the meat choices. I hate salad, but she said it was spectacular. And we both agreed the bacon was the best bacon ever! And she doesn't eat pork anymore. Anyhow, for the price of a ribeye at any decent steakhouse, you get an unlimited variety of steaks, lamb, ribs, chicken, etc...We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Overpriced and somewhat of a scam, because they really only want you to but the $50 option, and most human beings cannot possibly eat enough to make that a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

i came with my best friend as a fun night out and it was such a great experience! the food was phenomenal, the wait staff was very pleasant and the atmosphere was everything a fun night out should be! I will gladly return when i am back in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

There for our annual birthday celebration for teenage grandsons. Very disappointed this time. Lg party in main dining room which we were not made aware of in advance. We're put in back room with no round table available even though we made reservations weeks in a Advance. Lighting was so bright made me feel like I was in the kitchen. Waiters did not pass around all the meat options. Husband had to ask someone to escort me to salad bar (I don't eat meat-just salad bar) because the 150 pp party was ahead of me. Definitely not worth the money. Rebecca from Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was outstanding and all of the staff was attentive to us. They were friendly and offered us suggestions when we asked. We asked one of the managers for a bacon wrapped filet mignon and he quickly found the server who had the dish. It was a relaxed and casual atmosphere. I will be returning

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with great ambience. The highlight of our visit to Austin. We will return.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were celebrating two birthdays and two anniversaries, and the wait staff made it special. The best thing about the whole day was we did not realize the restaurant closed at 2pm. Our reservation was for 1pm, and when I asked around 2:30 where everyone was (I thought they might be home watching the football playoffs), I was told the restaurant was closed. There were several tables of diners still around. We had not been rushed. We had not been asked to leave. I was very impressed.

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was amazing. My girlfriend and I celebrated our 3rd dating anniversary here and loved it. We both ate to our hearts desired and then added another round. I stepped up to the plate and ordered dessert. Molton chocolate brownie. The waiter comped the dessert. Thank you! We will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing food and service. Although the pricing for wines and liquor can add up quickly, the wait staff make you feel like you're spending $1,000,000. We wanted for nothing and everyone communicated behind the scenes to ensure our anniversary was memorable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My friends and I went for a small birthday celebration. The food is excellent. Salad bar is very appealing, and the ambiance is exceptional. Pricey, but worth it. Go on an empty empty stomach. We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This is our go-to for any special occasion or date night!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful!! Great gluten free options. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff and management.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was delicious. Great wine selection, outstanding service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Meat was very bland the night we were there. Seemed like they had fallen behind and good was not cooked right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The server was horrible and they weren't even busy. We waited almost 25 minutes to be given dessert menus after we ate. I won't return to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome experience for our family Christmas dinner.

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always a great time at FdC, excellent experience, and the servers were outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We come here every year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great meal, service was ok. We'll definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My Fogo de Chãos experience was great and the atmosphere was ideal for our anniversary dinner. I have recommended Fogo de Chãos to my friends. Great food and the staff very courtesy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Great for a special occasion or just casual lunch. Staff is very helpful and the food was delicious. Definitely a 5 star experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The best Fogo de Chao I've ever been to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Everything perfect !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was delicious and the wait staff was very friendly. The only concern that my business associates and I had was that we did not get a full rotation of all the meats on the menu. We kept getting repeat of what we already had been offered and had to specifically ask for other types. This did not occur in the previous 4 times I've eaten at this location so maybe it was just new staff.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and a staple for business dinners.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The salad bar is just incredible and all the meats are delicious. I really like this restaurant!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was my first time to visit your restaurant and both my son and I enjoyed every minute. My son is still talking how every 2 minutes more food was brought to him. We will be back. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Organic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary when visiting your wonderful city.Your staff gave us a great experience and we will look foward to dining again the next time we are visiting Austin. Thanks to you all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 5, 2016

My family and I have gone to Fogo de Chao multiple times over the years as it's one of our favorites restaurants to attend. Unfortunately last night was our worst experience ever. The food was great like always but the service wasn't. The restaurant was only half full yet we waited for more food or new plates for longer periods of time. At one point the manager came over to ask us the standard, how is everything going and we said great as we were being kind. I proceed to asked, please may I have a new plate and they manager said no. I don't know if he was playing around or it was just in poor tastes but I felt offended. He ended up getting me a new plate but it was very awkward. That was the last time we saw or heard from the manager for the rest of the night. Based on last nights experience, we won't be attending this restaurant anytime soon. I hope the customer service changes soon as it's a great restaurant overall and we would truly miss going here. Thanks,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The steak was the worst I've had at a Brazilian steakhouse. Disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Service is what we usually like about Fogo de Chao. This time it was truly horrible. It took 10 minutes until we got our water and drinks. The meats went right past us and we did not get the full variety of offered meats. Service did not bring the sides until we ask for them and when we ask for the check it took another 15 minutes until we got it. Overall not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Always great service. Instead of making you feel like you are taking up a table too long, they make it seem like they want you to stay.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The salad bar is small. Service is so, so, never had the same waiter wait on us and had to explain each time what we were drinking. Took fifteen min's to receive a cup of decal coffee (different waiter again) and was Luke warm. :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have been to fogo about a dozen times in the last few years including about 2 weeks ago with my cousin from France and always loved it. So it's important to understand I get the concept. I've also been to competitors churascarias in Austin, San Antonio and Houston.

So it was only natural that I picked this place for our Thanksgiving dinner with my family. I was expecting a great menu on top of which they had some Thanksgiving specials with turkey, stuffing, gravy cranberry sauce and sweet mashed potatoes.

The disappointment started pretty much immediately. We couldn't get Gauchos to come and serve the meats we wanted and the few that came only had cuts or types we didn't want. My wife wanted well done and got medium. When we complained, they put the meat back to the grill and came back at that point it was completely burned and dry. Overall the service was also extremely slow and incompetent. We nearly never got refills on the lemonade and never got fresh mashed potatoes as requested. My wife has three times for lemons for her tea and never got them. As for me I waited and waited for my lamb chops, never got them until I was full with salad bar items (delicious salmon).

To finish, we complained to the manager and he came and try to sweet-talk us, but didn't do a thing to compensate us for the poor experience, or to make sure we left happy. $255 later, I was disappointed.

I think this place just didn't have the staff to backup the Thanksgiving crowd, was rushing the meat through the flames, resulting in improperly cooked cuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Awesome would definitely go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing and great for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Been to this place recently with my sister and her two teenage kids to celebrate her birthday. Was looking forward to it as we had very good experience with Chama Gaucha steakhouse in houston. But to my surprise was very the whole experience was very bad at fogo de chao Austin.

The service was not good. Meat was served very late even when are meat tags were green. We had to wait 20 mins for someone to notice that we are waiting on our meat with empty plates. We asked for some sauces for the meat and even till the end of our meal we were never served any sauces. Some of the meats were good but nothing ok outstanding. One of the waiter while refilling water in my glass has dropped the whole glass water on me. I don't want to complain about it , as he had been very apologetic, as this is an accidental mistake that was fine. The Salad bar did not have very good choices compared to my other experiences with other steakhouses.

Lastly I had order tres leches for dessert and asked the waiter to decorate it as it was my sister's bday. He brought the cake in a nice plate with happy birthday return on it, but no candle.... Duhhhh the most basic thing for a bday cake A Candle ?

The whole experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My son and his friends loved all the delicious meats and he had a wonderful 25th birthday dessert (papaya cream yum). His grandma and I loved the delicious salad bar. Service was very attentive, ambience very special. We all left very happy and very full!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.