About Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin

Join us at Fogo de Chão Austin to celebrate the Southern Brazilian ranching heritage. We welcome guests on our elegant front porch complete with open flame rotisserie. The restaurant is conveniently located across from the Austin Convention Center and just blocks from the Capitol Building. Fogo de Chão is an authentic Brazilian Steakhouse (Churrascaria) that has been setting the standard in Brazil for the past 36 years. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill and carve tableside each of our cuts of meat like Picanha (signature sirloin), Filet Mignon, Ribeye, Fraldinha (Brazilian sirloin) Cordeiro (lamb) and more. In addition to the main dishes, enjoy our gourmet Market Table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list. Guests can also choose to enjoy lighter seafood selections or enjoy the gourmet Market Table only option. We also offer semiprivate and private areas that can accommodate parties up to 100.

309 E. 3rd Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm, 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 2:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Trinity Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 472-0220

Website:
http://www.fogodechao.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch and dinner hours for $10.00. Limited meter parking is located around the building. Also, there is a pay-to-park lot one block west of Fogo de Chao.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (11)
Fun (11)
Authentic (10)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Family Style (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
634 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Graduation lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I was so excited about my birthday dinner at this Brazilian steakhouse, but it was utterly disappointing. The salad bar or "market bar" as they call it was underwhelming. Some of the meat was delicious and some of it was inedible.
The worst part was that our server, Chaz insulted my friend who happens to be a vegetarian asking her WHY she was one & then telling her she was missing 'the best thing in earth' by not eating steak. So rude & inappropriate. I did talk to the manager about it and he apologized and offered to talk to the server after the shift, but that's all he did. The food was very expensive and definitely not worth the price. We will not be going back and I would not recommend spending your hard-earned money at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was great but service was lacking. Had to wait too long for refills, wasn't able to order dessert since waiter was nowhere to be found. Even had to wait too long for the check! Not happy overall.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They were a bit overwhelmed by the number of people dining for Mother's Day, but the food was great. Service was just lacking , since valet had us wait on the street blocking the only lane and creating tons of congestion, waitstaff was not helpful, and sides came way too late. They definitely made it up with a certificate for a free lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing! Took my mom for Mother's Day and the staff was super sweet and very hard working, such a gray dining experience but make sure you go with an appetite!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Salad bar was disappointing. Not much for options. It is not what you would think for the prices paid. Service was slow and before I could even express my wine preference the waiter turned the page and pointed to the wines he would recommend. I didn't ask for a recommendation as I had a wine I wanted but was cut short by the waiter. I though it was a bit rude. Food is always good. So if you want a big meaty meal - this is the place to go. Nice variety of all different types from chicken to port to steaks. Very good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We've been to this particular place numerous times over the years. We are typically very satisfied with the overall experience but this particular afternoon they seemed to struggle with cooking the meats to the right temperature. Any requests that we had on specific cuts of meat seemed to take an extended amount of time to get to our table and took several requests. Not what we normally see with the Fogo De Chao chain, maybe it was just an off evening.

In addition to the lack in quality this trip the fire alarm kept going off, each time lasting 5-10 minutes of ear piercing noise.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is my third time there with my wife. The first time I was celebrating wedding anniversary, this last time We were celebrating my friends graduating from college, I wanted for him to really enjoy a nice meal and your restaurant is the best. I also took a second couple(friends) who had never been to a Brazillian restaurant before, it was a very nice experience for all of them. I know they will continue to visit your restaurant and they will take their family there too. It was a long drive but well worth the drive, the food was great and the atmosphere perfect. The next time I go, I will take my mother in law, son and his wife. Thank you.
Fernando

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This place has the best customer service I have ever experienced in fine dining. This restaurant does not disappoint and exceeds all expectations!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is the third or fourth time we've dined at this location. This time around we were pretty disappointed by the service. Drinks took a long time, and were even forgotten several times. We had to order the same drink more than once. The gaucho's were slow to come around (except for the cheap stuff - chicken, sausage, etc). This is usually a place we can rely on for a great dining experience, however, they seemed to be overwhelmed by a busy Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful experience. Great Valet Service and was immediately seated at our table. The food was delicious & service was friendly and professional. I'll be coming back. I recommend reservations so that you can quickly be seated.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great service, great meat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I LOVE THS PLACE! The food is always great and the service is top notch. If you like beef or lamb they have some of the best around. The chicken is good too but not my thing. It's always fun to take someone that has never been there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I am usually satisfied with the service.
On Thursday April 20 2017 we went for my Birthday
Food was good but the service was sevearly lacking.
It took asking 4 diffrent servers for Chimichuri for my meal I had finished most of my dinner before I got any and that is one of the things I enjoy most about dinning here. Also the selection of meat was sevearly limited we were offered mostly chicken and sausage even after requesting the ribeye and or the filet I was told they would get it but never showed up with it. It was very disappointing birthday dinner and I was a bit embarrassed after anticipating a great meal and not really getting what I came for.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing Service and foods - only thing I'd like to see is for them to allow one to bring personal choice wines no matter what they want to charge

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is my first Brazilian restaurant experience. I loved the attentive servers. Not ecstatic about the vegetable options, but that just due to personal taste. The meat however was wonderful. Loved the rare steak for its flavor. The set up they had for serving made me feel more involved to the point I knew they did not forget about me. The deserts had prefect presentation and tasted great. Definitely a place to recommend to friends that love meat or Deserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Probably the best ever Brazilian steakhouse that we have been to. The food was extremely fresh, and the quality of the meat was superb. The market table was also top notch. There are good options for the noncarnivores as well--my wife stated that she felt right at home. The servers were attentive and friendly.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband and I visited this restaurant on Easter which also happens to be our anniversary this year. This was our first time dining at a Brazilian steakhouse. The waiter explained the whole process to us. The food at the Market Table was delicious! We also loved the Brazilian cheese bread that was brought to the table. We did ask for more cheese bread twice and never received more. Probably for the best as there was so much food to eat. All of the meats that we sampled were well cooked and delicious. We also tried the flan and a brownie a la mode for dessert. It was a good dining experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Celebrated my mother's 70th birthday at Fogo de Chao Austin. Red meat didn't have as much flavor as I like but chicken was more flavorful. Great ambiance and excellent service by entire staff. Bread and lemonade are to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was incredible! Leo Pereira is the epitome of excellence. It's no wonder that the whole group of staff exhibited professionalism and excellence under his guidance. Food was great and we look forward to visiting this establishment again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Fairly good food. Excellent service. Lots of wine selection. Is a bit noisy though .

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our 1st time but certainly NOT our last!!! Food AND service were both AWESOME!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Birthday for my son

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excelente like always

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 5, 2017

No greeting at the door. Lots of mediocre food. Service was attentive but nothing special You have

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went for my sister birthday amazing time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fogo de Chao used to be my my goto steak house in Austin. Unfortunately, it is definitely not the same as it was when they first open. The service was pretty slow, took 10 mins to even get a glass of water. When we were ready to eat the meat and flip our card to green, there were at least 5 meat servers walked right passed our table and ignore our table. The 6th server finally noticed us and serve our table, but the meat was cold (well, in room temperature). Most of the meat that served us were all in room temperature with the exception of 1 or 2 meats. Seems like they also over season their meats with too much salt. After all the disappointing meat dishes, I switched back to salad (still decent) and their side dishes only.. my kids and I like the banana side dishes.. the server used to be really good at attending table.. but definitely not this visit. Even after we requested a refill of banana.. we have to wait 10 mins or so to get the refilled.

I think most of the good servers they used to have are hired by Estancia in north Austin. Their food quality and service seems to be quite a bit better than Fogo de Chao.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent food that just keeps coming. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Once again an amazing time worth the time and money. Great attentive staff. Amazing food. Will return again and again.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vegan, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a great time and enjoyed ALL the different kinds of meats we could. The food tastes great and the service was great. Servers came around frequently offering different selections of meat and the wait staff checked on you frequently. You get a small dish of mashed potato and polenta fries and plantains with your meal, which they replenish as you eat. We had dessert after and it was delicious as well. There is a great salad bar, too, that is included with the dinner. It was a great dining experience! Go hungry because there is so much food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great to get here before the rush. Table at 5:15 felt nice. Folks started coming in around 6 to 6:30. Table for 5. Staff was very attentive. Selection was great although they do not have chicken hearts at the Austin location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service is unbeatable. Managers, staff, everyone. One of the best in town. And food is fantastic. Hard to beat.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Delicious and a fun spin on just ordering from a menu! My husband and I went for a date night and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Meats were delicious and the signature drink was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great Brazilian food, very attentive wait staff and Gauchos. Great experience for any special occasion. Bring your appetite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Was on time for reservation but table wasn't ready for another 15 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It's a really fun place to eat. You have to pace yourself of course. And the service is really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentines Day and they even gave us a coupon for our next visit. Definitely going again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the place, I never expected to eat so much meat! The service was fast and friendly and the wine was amazing. Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Valentine's Day experience. Will definitely return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.