Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Flinders Lane

Michelin recommended serving Modern Australian food in the East Village. Sometimes cultures collide in the most delicious way. Take Australia, where the food of British settlers has mixed with that of Greek and Italian immigrants and the cuisines of nearby Southeast Asia. Add to that the wide array of fresh seafood available on this island continent and a climate that yields all kinds of fruits and vegetables, all year long. And then there's the Australian attitude: No fussing, no over thinking, just bold, streamlined food made with the best ingredients available and a laser focus on flavor. Down Under, they have a name for this unlikely culinary equation: They call it Modern Australian cooking.

162 Ave A
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Modern Australian, International, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thur: 11.00am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11.00am - 12:00am
Saturday: 11:00am - 12.00am
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East 10th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-6900

Website:
http://www.flinderslane-nyc.com/

Catering:
Please contact info@flinderslane-nyc.com for catering options.

Public Transit:
L Train - 1st Avenue
F Train - Delancey St
M14 A Bus up Avenue A

Executive Chef:
Chris Rendell

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact info@flinderslane-nyc.com for event enquiries.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 7:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 7:00PM 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Flinders Lane Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great ambience, good food and superb drink menu. Great place to get together with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week, but decided to go with the "Feed Me" option, where it's the Chef's Choice. Portions were fairly big, so you definitely felt satisfied. The wait staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. I definitely look forward to going back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Very nice appetizers and wine. Had the hanger steak which was pretty good, nothing amazing - last time I came here the steak was better. Laksa looks very good. Nice atmosphere, can get quite noisy. Nice service, very chilled out waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The meal was nicely prepared and presented, but god the place is noisy. Apparently many people aren't having a good time unless they are screaming. The waiter, who has been there forever, was about as disinterested as he could be in helping us. We sat down at 7:15, were told happy hour ends at 7:00, but the board outside clearly states until 7:30. Menu clarifications were offered with no enthusiasm. Then we had to flag him down finally to order. After staring at our empty dinner plates for 15 minutes, I practically had to tackle someone to remove them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere were all excellent. A good East Village vibe. Understand they are opening a place in Stamford CT as well. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great options for Restaurant Week as well as the regular menu. The happy hour was great; the sparkling white wine for $6 is a deal. Food was very yummy and well displayed. The waiter and waitress were attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Tried the restaurant week menu. The balsamic tomato salad was generously sized and tasty. The seafood laksa didn't have enough noodles or crab and the meringue on the pavlova was sickeningly sweet. Great service though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Switzerland)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We thought we were going down under once we read that this restaurant was Australian themed, but it turns out its people were more Australian than the food.

We arrived when the restaurant just opened at 11am on Friday, sonit was of course quiet. Service was fast and authentic with a proper good'day.

There was a special watermelon salad, which was perfect for the hot morning sun. The egg on toast with avocado, also farm fresh. I washed mine down with an iced coffee.

I will definitely go back for dinner. If you are into trendy design, it's also worth a trip. Just don't expect any shrimp on the barby.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very nice food .. good selection for the restaurant week as well. I really enjoyed my dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Laid-back, friendly vibe with staff who clearly love sharing their passion for food and making our experience in their restaurant memorable. All backed up by creative dishes with great flavours, awesome wines, and the best coffee in NYC. Felt more like sharing a meal with new foodie friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Delicious food. Great find in the East Village. Went on Restaurant Week but, will definitely be back another time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We recently moved into the area, and have been trying out the local restaurants. This is a gem of a find. The food is unbelievable. Flavorful, colorful, unusual, if you're a foodie you'll love it. The service is wonderful, they keep an eye on you, so you're never looking for a waiter. But they're not hovering over you. It's our new fave, we're they're almost every week. Highly recommend:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food is amazing, and service was wonderful. Bartender made excellent cocktails as well. Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Flinders Lane never disappoints. The tasting menu is fantastic.

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Simply outstanding. The food is glorious; plentiful, creative and delicious. We had a table for eight with three vegetarians that enjoyed their meals as much or more than the rest.
The tasting menu included courses of sashimi, scallops, san choy bow, barramundi and seafood laksa followed up with sticky date pudding, creme brulee and an assortment of ice creams and to-die-for sherbet.
Service was excellent.
Mondays are bring your own wine nights with zero corkage. At this dinner we consumed wine that would have cost several hundreds of dollars off the regular menu - instead I paid wine store prices. Unbelievable value overall.
I would highly recommend to anyone the $60 Feed Me Menu - in a more salubrious environment this would cost 3 times as much or more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Always perfect balance of attentiveness and aloofness in the service, that allows the diner to feel spoiled, without feeling pestered. And they make a delicious brandy Alexander, by request.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Tasting menu was outstanding. Our guests from Finland could not believe the taste and quality of the food at the price and rustic surrounds.
The Monday BYO with no corkage made the night complete value for money, even though their wine prices are not exorbitant anyway.
I plan to go back often and bring friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had read about this place so was very curious to try it out. Aside from service being a little slow, the food was excellent as was overall ambience. I'd definitely return here.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We arrived in time for our reservation. There was no table and we waited for an hour. The staff tried their best, but our drinks kept getting delayed and there was a lot of confusion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Another wonderful find near Stuytown. Came with my bf for his birthday and was pleasantly surprised. It was one of those lovely spring days with a great sunset and this place kept the vibe going with a lovely street view. The staff was incredibly friendly and polite, and the food was served at just the right moments between conversations. Apart from a little too much sea salt on the side salad, I'd say this was a rare treat. Loved most everything about this place and can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went with a friend to Flinders Lane last Saturday evening. We were warmly welcomed, wait staff was very attentive, and food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were so excited to tried Australian cuisine for the first time, but it's no big deal. This restaurant is a solid 3-star. The food was average to good but definitely not excellent or memorable. The service was slow and inattentive, perhaps a crowded Saturday night phenomenon. No regret but no compelling reason to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Came here early on a Friday night (7pm, so that's early for the neighborhood anyway), and the place was largely empty. The staff was incredibly attentive and the food was delicious. By around 8:30, the place was packed and a bit noisy, but we weren't rushed out and it was a great meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I was making a last minute reservation on a Saturday night and found Flinders Lane in the OpenTable search. It was pretty empty when we arrived at 7:00, but it quickly filled up around us. We had a great bottle of wine. The food was really delicious. We had the roasted heirloom carrots and the scallops to start, and I had a special steak and mushroom Aussie pie as my main course. My partner had the barbecued mackerel and our friend had the curry laksa. We all really enjoyed the meal. I'm really glad I found this place and I'm looking forward to trying their brunch sometime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A bit disappointed with our experience, food was ok but not excellent. We suspect some of our dishes were quite delayed due to catering for a party on another table (who were also quite noisy - they were having a holiday party, fair enough!). The sausage roll with sambal mayo was the nicest dish out of the things we tried. Friends have suggested that the themed nights are quite good so we might give it another go another time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Australian restaurant with a menu to die for! Great service, cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

As a vegetarian, I was a little disappointed with the menu, the chef hasn't really considered the balance of a vegetarian dish, rather than just a plate of vegetables... glassware wasn't clean and I had to ask for my wine to be put into a clean glass, value for money was low.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Underwhelming and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The evening always turns into a wonderful experience when I spend it at Flinders Lane. A very special place that makes me feel special every time I visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food and service were impeccable! Definitely a place to return for great food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I lived in Melbourne, Australia for 8 years, where Flinders Lane is an actual street in the CBD, and the location for a number of vibrant restaurants just like this one. Flinders Lane the NYC restaurant captures the vibe perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food! All the salads were amazing. The sausage roll too. Appetizers and mains too. The spicy margarita was incredible. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lamb was cooked to perfection. Hangar steak was delicious. Amazing service. Cocktails both interesting and refreshing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and chill vibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Australian cuisine? What’s that? Not sure, but this place could accurately be described as “Asian fusion.” Some of the dishes, like the crab curry, were outstanding. On the other hand, the pork buns were so-so, and the naan just wasn’t very good. The service was friendly, but a bit slow. Prices were on the low side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Flinders Lane was everything I'd hoped it would be. The vibe was sophisticated but totally down-to-earth at the same time. The menu was varied and exciting, the food was awesome and the staff were absolutely lovely! They made us feel so welcome, catered for our needs and made the dining experience perfect. As an Australian in New York, it was a great place to go for dinner - it felt like home but removed enough to also feel exotic. Would definitely come back and want to try their lunch menu too!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Loved Flinders Lane. Being a Melbourninan, appreciated the Melbourne flavour that Flinders Lane brings. Cool, fun and sophisticated. The owners, chef and staff made us very welcome and had the best night in NYC on my stay in the city. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

I was very surprised by how delicious the dinner menu looked at Flinders Lane. I ordered the fish special and shared with my partner. Every thing from start to finish always really good! The service was slow but we did notice there was only one person waiting for the entire restaurant.. Would recommend to anyone who wants a delicious fresh meal with plenty of time to spare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2016

I was surprised by the menu because there's quite a bit of Asian flare. Overall, the food was good but the Coconut Curry Laksa was AMAZING. Also, they have lots of daily specials and fresh oysters/seafood and the waiters are willing to walk through the entire menu with you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2016

I had read great reviews of this restaurant and was quite excited to try it out with my partner! I attempted to order multiple items from their limited menu options to be told they were 'out' of the food and beverage options of my choosing. There was a twenty-minute wait for our cocktails, though we ordered almost immediately upon sitting down, and a forty-minute wait for one order of the Sausage Roll as a starter. After settling on our 'second' choice selections for dinner, we were unhappy with the quality and flavour of both the Hanger Steak and Lamb, especially for their price-point. Staff seemed to be overwhelmed with the number of patrons and I felt invisible amongst the other diners within this small establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.