Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Flinders Lane

Michelin recommended serving Modern Australian food in the East Village. Sometimes cultures collide in the most delicious way. Take Australia, where the food of British settlers has mixed with that of Greek and Italian immigrants and the cuisines of nearby Southeast Asia. Add to that the wide array of fresh seafood available on this island continent and a climate that yields all kinds of fruits and vegetables, all year long. And then there's the Australian attitude: No fussing, no over thinking, just bold, streamlined food made with the best ingredients available and a laser focus on flavor. Down Under, they have a name for this unlikely culinary equation: They call it Modern Australian cooking.

162 Ave A
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Asian, Modern Australian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast, lunch, dinner

Monday - Thursday
5.00 pm - 11:00 pm

Friday
5.00pam - 12:00 am

Sat Brunch and dinner
11:00 am - 4.00 pm
5.00 pm - 12:00 am

Sun Brunch and dinner
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Cross Street:
East 10th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-6900

Website:
http://www.flinderslane-nyc.com/

Catering:
Please contact info@flinderslane-nyc.com for catering options.

Public Transit:
L Train - 1st Avenue
F Train - Delancey St
M14 A Bus up Avenue A

Executive Chef:
Chris Rendell

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact info@flinderslane-nyc.com for event enquiries.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Flinders Lane Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (4)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Romantic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Had read about this place so was very curious to try it out. Aside from service being a little slow, the food was excellent as was overall ambience. I'd definitely return here.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We arrived in time for our reservation. There was no table and we waited for an hour. The staff tried their best, but our drinks kept getting delayed and there was a lot of confusion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Another wonderful find near Stuytown. Came with my bf for his birthday and was pleasantly surprised. It was one of those lovely spring days with a great sunset and this place kept the vibe going with a lovely street view. The staff was incredibly friendly and polite, and the food was served at just the right moments between conversations. Apart from a little too much sea salt on the side salad, I'd say this was a rare treat. Loved most everything about this place and can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went with a friend to Flinders Lane last Saturday evening. We were warmly welcomed, wait staff was very attentive, and food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were so excited to tried Australian cuisine for the first time, but it's no big deal. This restaurant is a solid 3-star. The food was average to good but definitely not excellent or memorable. The service was slow and inattentive, perhaps a crowded Saturday night phenomenon. No regret but no compelling reason to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Came here early on a Friday night (7pm, so that's early for the neighborhood anyway), and the place was largely empty. The staff was incredibly attentive and the food was delicious. By around 8:30, the place was packed and a bit noisy, but we weren't rushed out and it was a great meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I was making a last minute reservation on a Saturday night and found Flinders Lane in the OpenTable search. It was pretty empty when we arrived at 7:00, but it quickly filled up around us. We had a great bottle of wine. The food was really delicious. We had the roasted heirloom carrots and the scallops to start, and I had a special steak and mushroom Aussie pie as my main course. My partner had the barbecued mackerel and our friend had the curry laksa. We all really enjoyed the meal. I'm really glad I found this place and I'm looking forward to trying their brunch sometime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A bit disappointed with our experience, food was ok but not excellent. We suspect some of our dishes were quite delayed due to catering for a party on another table (who were also quite noisy - they were having a holiday party, fair enough!). The sausage roll with sambal mayo was the nicest dish out of the things we tried. Friends have suggested that the themed nights are quite good so we might give it another go another time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Australian restaurant with a menu to die for! Great service, cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

As a vegetarian, I was a little disappointed with the menu, the chef hasn't really considered the balance of a vegetarian dish, rather than just a plate of vegetables... glassware wasn't clean and I had to ask for my wine to be put into a clean glass, value for money was low.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Underwhelming and expensive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The evening always turns into a wonderful experience when I spend it at Flinders Lane. A very special place that makes me feel special every time I visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food and service were impeccable! Definitely a place to return for great food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I lived in Melbourne, Australia for 8 years, where Flinders Lane is an actual street in the CBD, and the location for a number of vibrant restaurants just like this one. Flinders Lane the NYC restaurant captures the vibe perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food! All the salads were amazing. The sausage roll too. Appetizers and mains too. The spicy margarita was incredible. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lamb was cooked to perfection. Hangar steak was delicious. Amazing service. Cocktails both interesting and refreshing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and chill vibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Australian cuisine? What’s that? Not sure, but this place could accurately be described as “Asian fusion.” Some of the dishes, like the crab curry, were outstanding. On the other hand, the pork buns were so-so, and the naan just wasn’t very good. The service was friendly, but a bit slow. Prices were on the low side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Flinders Lane was everything I'd hoped it would be. The vibe was sophisticated but totally down-to-earth at the same time. The menu was varied and exciting, the food was awesome and the staff were absolutely lovely! They made us feel so welcome, catered for our needs and made the dining experience perfect. As an Australian in New York, it was a great place to go for dinner - it felt like home but removed enough to also feel exotic. Would definitely come back and want to try their lunch menu too!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Loved Flinders Lane. Being a Melbourninan, appreciated the Melbourne flavour that Flinders Lane brings. Cool, fun and sophisticated. The owners, chef and staff made us very welcome and had the best night in NYC on my stay in the city. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

I was very surprised by how delicious the dinner menu looked at Flinders Lane. I ordered the fish special and shared with my partner. Every thing from start to finish always really good! The service was slow but we did notice there was only one person waiting for the entire restaurant.. Would recommend to anyone who wants a delicious fresh meal with plenty of time to spare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2016

I was surprised by the menu because there's quite a bit of Asian flare. Overall, the food was good but the Coconut Curry Laksa was AMAZING. Also, they have lots of daily specials and fresh oysters/seafood and the waiters are willing to walk through the entire menu with you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

I had read great reviews of this restaurant and was quite excited to try it out with my partner! I attempted to order multiple items from their limited menu options to be told they were 'out' of the food and beverage options of my choosing. There was a twenty-minute wait for our cocktails, though we ordered almost immediately upon sitting down, and a forty-minute wait for one order of the Sausage Roll as a starter. After settling on our 'second' choice selections for dinner, we were unhappy with the quality and flavour of both the Hanger Steak and Lamb, especially for their price-point. Staff seemed to be overwhelmed with the number of patrons and I felt invisible amongst the other diners within this small establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2016

The menu has dishes/ ingredients which reflect Australian and New Zealand's proximity to Asia and its culinary influences. Menu is pretty diverse and everything we ordered was well prepared. Portions are big enough that we skipped dessert unfortunately.
Wine list has a good selection of mostly Australian and NZ wines and we ordered by the glass as we all wanted something different.
It was pretty noisy when we were there- mostly due to a large table behind us. On other nights it may be only moderately loud. Service was good, and we would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2016

The choices were few but varied from a chicken Laksa to an Aussie Meat Pie, so something for everyone in our group. We each ordered a different starter and entry and everyone loved their choices. We had wine by the glass, excellent Aussie Chards and Cabernets.

Unfortunately, no one had room for desserts, next time!

The service was professional and discreet. All in all an excellent neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Been in for dinner and brunch
Thought I would try the lunch . Great menu selection and coffee was on point .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Popped in for dinner at Flinders having not been - other than for brunch or drinks - for several months. I won't let that much time pass again between visits. Just a great neighborhood vibe and consistently tasty and diverse food options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2016

I met a friend here and we both loved the place from the moment we walked in. The room was nicely laid out and the staff attentive and helpful. The menu was different, but certainly not weird. It was a great find. I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Great Aussie oasis, food is the perfdct Australian cuisne with sinple dishes that are bursting with flavour infused with a touch of Asian influence. Atmisphere is fun and welcoming, they really have brought Flinders Lane to NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2016

I was missing Australia (my father is from Adelaide) and needed to have a Coopers. Plus I was scheduled to meet two friends for dinner who've never been down under. So I made the choice. And I'm so glad I did! Not only was the food fantastic (that salt & pepper squid puts Oz to shame!) but the wine and cocktail list was spot on. Be sure to order the pork belly (it was a 'special') and the hangar steak -- the beef tastes like real Aussie beef, with flavor. And double order the salt & pepper squid...you'll want more than just one.
Great place to meet friends for a cocktail and a nibble or have lots of multi-ethnic plates for dinner or lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2016

This is a cool little space that serves really great and interesting food. The service was exactly what we wanted - both efficient and friendly. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. A NYC gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2016

Loved it! Innovative and completely different than anywhere we've been before. Reasonable prices and unusual wine list round reasons this is a must visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Very cool vibes in this small-to-mid-size, quaint australian-fusion restaurant. Certainly reflective of the east-village atmosphere. Had the scallops to start and the seaweed salad special with avocado and prawns. Both were solid dishes, nothing spectacular, but good enough where I felt I had to give this place a few minutes of my time to write a review. The staff were extremely respectful, attentive, and friendly. I will be going back again no doubt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2015

Second time here .keeps getting better and better.
Looking forward to trying breakfast during the week !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2015

Great time ,great meal awesome service .
Great addition to the East Village

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2015

Four of us wrapped up our Thaksgiving weekend in NYC at this superb restaurant in the East Village. The menu is sufficiently varied to satisfy anyone's dietary needs. The extensive list of interesting and well-priced Australian wines was an added bonus, and our server was an excellent guide in helping us pair wines with our food. My personal treat was being presented with chopsticks with which to eat my whole dorade (fish). It made the task of picking flesh from the bones an absolute breeze. Those folks Down Under are a clever lot! I can't wait to go back on future visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Warm Aussie welcome. Perfect for the Fall! I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2015

Flinders Lane provided a small piece of Melbourne in New York, with some of the great coffee and food that Melbourne is famous for. It was the best coffee I have had in New York.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2015

The oysters were superb and I live the Asian touch to many of the dishes. Fresh quality ingredients and the plates are always consistent. The staff are super helpful and efficient!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2015

Finders Lane was superb and a great find and in an area that includes many attractive dining and bar options, this one stands out.

A n interesting menu complimented by a more than adequate wine list delivered with professionally, friendly service by all staff who obviously take great pride in the Restaurant/Bar.

Well priced and great atmosphere. I have already recomended it to others who report a similar experience.

A memorable evening at a quality, friendly venue

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.