About Flatiron Hall

Inspired by the historic Student Art League of New York, Flatiron Hall's decor features original paintings and sketches from another era. Guests enter past a wall of old elevator doors to enter a dining room with furnishings and artifacts dating back 100 years. With seating for 125 and a 35’ antique bar dating from 1870 in our upstairs dining room, the downstairs Beer Cellar seats 150 guests at communal tables. Our Beer Cellar features a requisite 8’ television screen which rolls down for big games.

38 West 26th
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Brewery

Hours of Operation:
M - W - 12:00 - 12:00
Thu - Sat - 12:00 - 1:00
Sun - 12:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Between 6th & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(646) 790-3200

Website:
http://www.flatironhall.com/

Public Transit:
1, 6, N, R, F, M

Executive Chef:
Richard Pietromamco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

One of NYC's newest Beer Halls located in the heart of NoMad.

Flatiron Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
79 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Seemed like a solid choice with decent service. Food was capably prepared and served. Decor was good. I wouldn't hesitate to return and try something new.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great bar and food. A little loud but fun atmosphere

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was awful. Waitress didn't come up for 10 minutes, and we did have a reservation. After taking our order we never saw her again. Another person brought drinks. Another brought food. And then finally we flagged someone down for a bill. The place was only 50% filled so there is absolutely no excuse for this. Outside of that, the food was fairly good but nothing special.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This german style beer hall was a cool surprise in Chelsea. Found this place on OpenTable, had a liter beers for sale, gave the place a cool feel. The burgers were good but not great, I think you'd be better off with an entree (portion-wise). Would be a cool spot for happy hour! Cheers!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fun place! Gets too crowded on weekend nights but otherwise the food it yummy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Lunch was great, but no brunch options on a Sunday afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Interesting place, nice staff, good menu. Good value if you want a lunch-time burger and beer. Overall, not outstanding, martinis ridiculously expensive, and while I enjoyed my visit, I might not rush to get back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food and service. Went for lunch however has a great happy hour type atmosphere.

Tags: Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

decent food, good portions. overall average quality

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Mediocre food, and very mediocre service. It seemed that the larger parties were more important to the server than my friend and I.
With so many places to choose from in the area, I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Enjoyed dinner on Saturday night, my friend really enjoyed the beer. Me I loved the spiced mojito. He had the burger and me the rib-eye sandwich both were very tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It was incredibly loud.
Overcrowded.
Service was slow.
Waitress claimed that credit card machine was not working and wanted to take a picture of my credit card to "charge later."

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

A nice, relaxing lunch. The shared plates were very good. It's a nice, big space, and I think it would be a great place for happy hour or a casual dinner and drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Describing anything in NYC as loud is generally expected. Big city. Big noise. I'm not a prude against noise, I mean come on, I live in NYC. But wow is this restaurant loud. Even for NYC standards. It over shadowed our entire experience. Will share that this restaurant attracts a younger crowd which may drive their noise issues. Now for the positive. Service was great. The menu very appealing, food overall was great. Tasty and interesting appetizers for sure! If we would have brought noise cancellation headphones, this place would have been great!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A solid go to in the Flat Iron.
Always busy and loud. Fast drink service. Friendly staff.
Good place to hang with friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

NOISY!!!! Friday night dinner at 7PM should have brought noise cancelling headphones. Food was good, but way too noisy for any talk.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food, great service! We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We boked to eat here on our first night in NY. We wanted something that wasn't fussy or too expensive. Flatiron Hall was great - the beer choice was fantastic and the food was great. We both had a burger and agreed they were the best we'd eaten in years.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Immediate service. Lots of attention by wait staff.
Found a quiet corner and enjoyed butternut squash soup and grilled cheese and avocado sandwich with their IPA. It was all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a lunch meeting there and it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It was extremely noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great place to get together with friends or for casual dining. The service was great and the staff was very friendly. Also, I highly recommend the chicken wings. They were delicious. I will definitely return and recommend people to check it out.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Great Beer, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Moscow mule was delicious and the food was great, however service was inattentive and haphazard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2016

healthy eats. great pencil drawings on the wall. friendly staff. nice portions. thank you. for you beer and burger lovers, they have a $12 mon-friday, 12-4, $12 special, beer and a burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 17, 2016

The pictures and other reviews made this place sound fantastic. Unfortunately, we found it to be anything but fantastic. The food was OK and fairly priced. The atmosphere was smelly and our waiter was hurried, pushy and rude. The place wasn't crowded, which was nice, but that's about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2016

It smells a little funny but the experience was overall good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Flat Iron Hall is my go-to neighborhood lunch place.
Easy to get a seat at lunch and casual fun atmosphere.
Highly recommend for a local working lunch or drink after work.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Appetizers were all awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife's steak sandwich was great; my burger, however, the reason we were drawn here in the first place, was almost raw (I ordered it medium). The service was uneven. It's a cool place but nothing special; you can do better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2016

It was a quiet Sunday and we had the Meat and cheese plate plus the tikka masala pot stickers which were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2016

We made a 6pm reservation and from the moment we sat down, our waitress was incredibly rude. Beginning at 6:40 our waitress began rushing us out, claiming there is another reservation waiting. Last I checked, a dinner reservation typically takes longer than 40 minutes. We ordered 8 appetizers and 3 rounds of drinks, but our waitress continued to press us on "if we are ordering dinner." The appetizers and the entrees are all within the same price range, averaging ~ $15.00. Does 8 appetizers and 3 rounds of drinks not count as dinner? After a few times of her pushing us to finish up, we approached the hostess, who let us know the next reservation at our table was not until 8:30, so as long as we are done by 8:20 it would be fine. At this point it was only about 7:15. It was extremely unnecessary for our waitress to pester us about leaving multiple times when we had over an hour until our time slot was up. I will not be making another reservation at Flatiron hall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Loud, slow service, go there to drink not eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2016

So dark and noisy - granted we went for dinner on a Saturday evening, but there wasn't much separation from those there day drinking and those attempting to chat over dinner. Not much you can do in a place set up like that but should be noted to not go here for dinner if you'd like a quiet experience/to catch up. Also extremely dark - had to use phone flashlight to read menu! Food was great though - lots of options and fun spins on traditional bar dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2016

I had to ask the same question at least 4 times. I got the same 'yes' answer every time but it was next to impossible to actually get the behavior accomplished. Over rated place to grab a beer and watch the game.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2016

Flatiron Hall is a local favorite for going out with people from work and taking friends. Can get loud and the bar can get tight. So, timing and reservations are required to get good seating or standing space. Food is tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Delicious food and great service! Our waiter, Paul K, was super helpful and accommodating. We visited for lunch with two children and ordered the Deluxe Burger, sesame wings, tuna tacos, and reuben spring rolls. Everything was super delicious, we were really impressed. Only request would be more variety in non-alcoholic drinks: maybe homemade lemonade, apple cider, or a greater variety of sodas. But overall a wonderful afternoon, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 23, 2015

Pretty good overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2015

Pleasantly surprised: although narrow beer selection, the Greenpoint beers were quite good. Kobe sliders were excellent. Large pretzel VG. Service was very friendly and professional. Nice large booth and overall space that accommodates 4+ very well. We live a few blocks away, so often large bistros/gastro-pubs have a tendency to make a local feel like you are a tourist in your own neighborhood. This place felt like a neighborhood spot despite it's size. Less and less easy to do these days.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2015

We had dinner and then moved downstairs to a private area to celebrate the surprise engagement of our daughter. The food is fairly typical bar food, but the service was warm, friendly and just wonderful. It is a pretty, cozy place with brick walls and great ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2015

I've been to the Hall a few times and do recommend it. It is a loud place, so be aware. If you want to speak at a normal level and not strain to hear your friends, it may be frustrating for you, both upstairs at a table and downstairs in the beer hall. Food is definitely worth having. Be aware that if you reserve a table , when they confirm it, they will Then probably ask if you are having appetizers and drinks or dinner, and that if you say appetizers, you will probably get told that tables are only for dinner ordering dinner ( that is not asked when Making the reservation though). Several dinner options cost almost the same as the appetizers so, just say dinner. This may only be a thing at dinner time, but it Does matter if you don't want to stand or try for bar space with your friends. That said; it's a nice place, but loud - it is basically a beer hall so that could fairly be expected. We sat up front in the restaurant and had long, ginger-haired server lady who was very pleasant and approrpiately attentive, which was a plus.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.