Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.13mi
  2. Distance: 2.77mi
  3. Distance: 3.48mi
  4. Distance: 3.81mi
  1. Distance: 2.13mi
  2. Distance: 2.77mi
  3. Distance: 3.48mi
  4. Distance: 3.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.13mi
  2. Distance: 2.77mi
  3. Distance: 3.48mi
  4. Distance: 3.81mi
  1. Distance: 2.13mi
  2. Distance: 2.77mi
  3. Distance: 3.48mi
  4. Distance: 3.81mi

About Five Restaurant

Five is an exquisite blend of contemporary italian and californian cuisine. Join us for a romantic dinner or a night out drinking wine with your friends. Come and experience the engaging atmosphere and energetic ambiance of five.

1110 E. Champlain Ave, Suite 101
Fresno, CA 93720
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
E Perrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 434-5553

Website:
http://www.5restaurant.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Five Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
People Watching (6)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great food. Terrific service. Tuesday night wine specials were a plus!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Nothing about Five is a 5, unless you're scoring out of 10. It's very loud (which I appreciated to drown out my screaming 2yr old) with the bar noise, the food is meh, and the wait staff is barely average. We started with the fried calamari app (too salty). Entrees: lasagne (not much flavor) and pork chop special (the only decent part of the meal). For the price, there's no value.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I’ve only been here twice and both times the servers were wonderful, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food and service are always great! Really love the Eggplant Parm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Fun place with delicious food! Took my little sister out for her birthday. They put our cake in the fridge for us and then brought it out with all the candles lit! So nice!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 25, 2017

I had a panko crusted petrale sole over sautéed arugula and kale. Then topped with the avocado salsa. It was absolutely delicious and pretty healthy. FIVE customized our request.
They know how to accommodate their guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food is always good!! Love that we can get Chilean Sea Bass even when its not on special!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great service-attentive, humorous, responsive, engaged
Great ambiance - dim but not dark
Great food- sea bass and linguine with clams were hot and Delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Had a wonderful date night on a Sunday. Sat on the patio to enjoy the terrific weather.
Ordered a nice bottle of J Lohr Cabernet. We each had a pasta dish so we could share. Very tasty. We also shared the 5 salad and a cup of clam chowder. Both spot on. Took pasta home for lunch.
Stuart was a great server.
Great meal and experience. The only downside is it was fairly noisy inside and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was a special occasion, my wife and I were celebrating our 55th wedding anniversary with our immediate, local family. Reservations were made through Open Table at 5:30 for 7 people. We were given a semi-circular booth in which the seven of us could barely fit. Fortunately, two of our group were younger children, 11 and 8 years old, which enabled us crowd together. All of us have eaten at Five in the past, multiple times, and had looked forward to this visit and were extremely disappointed in the over-all experience. The noise level was incredibly loud, the Tuscan Nachos were an anemic reproduction of past experiences. Bruscetta was very good. A special was beef short-ribs....If this is your best effort, I would recommend that you ask my wife for her recipe and technique. My wife ordered a steak which was over-seasoned with a side of potatoes which were over-cooked. Desserts were ordered by several of our group and were enthusiastically enjoyed by everyone...Best part of the meal. One bad experience does not eliminate a restaurant from our list, however, we hope that this is not a indication of future performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was slow at runes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Quality food. Go for the salmon and mackerel served on top of a chili relleno

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was very good. Service outstanding. It was a a bit loud in the room we were in until a large party left, then it was much better. We enjoyed the evening and will definitely return. Prices are very reasonable considering the quality of the food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Hands down the worst tasting and most disappointing table bread ever. Awful and stale.

Otherwise the food was solid. The server was wonderful and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Delicious meals and great service. One of our 'go to' places.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

First time disappointed in seating with reservation. Main dining room had booth and table open, but put us in small room wth large noisy parties. Told main dining tables we asked to move to were reserved, only offered seats on the wall in main dining room. Booth and table we asked to move to were still open when we left. This was a Thursday evening. Must need to call ahead and reserve exactly where you would like to be seated. Waiter was great, food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This place is consistent. We have our favorite dishes and they are always wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our date night, amazing food with great service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Good Fresno restaurant with very good food and service, but a little expensive and very noisy in dining room

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Thanks , we had guests from Seattle here & for the "leaving" dinner we chose 5. We have been here several times & 5 didn't disappoint ! Good food, service & value. Noise still a bit loud! Maybe install some sound absorbing material on the ceiling might help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always an amazing service and food whenever we go to Five. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Five restaurant is one of the best restaurants in Fresno. The food is delicious and the wait staff is willing to listen to your needs and accommodate them. Best of all Pat the owner drops by your table to thank you for your patronage.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. We were seated away from the bar and it was still very loud. It can be hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We had an awesome waitress (Sam), who took care of us and we all had a great experience ( there were 4 of us to start and a 5th joined later). This was my second time here (both experiences were great). We're new to the area and Sam told us fun things to do around town and was super pleasant (as were all the wait staff who helped us). She said it was her 5th/6th shift and she was awesome. Thank you so much for the great experience. We will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I have been going to Five since it first opened.. The food is always delicious and there is a great variety of wines and adult beverages... the only down thing I have to say is that it is extremely loud... I specifically requested the back rooms since I'm aware of the noise and they did not pay attention to that request on open table. They seated us in the middle dining area at the opening to the packed bar.. I literally could not hear my husband talking to me. I requested a move and they were able to accommodate us. The have a young staff that needs to pay attention to requests..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Best food for the price in Fresno...without a doubt. I've been to Five several times and I've never been disappointed. I highly recommend both the food and the service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Our late night dinner was overshadowed by too much noise coming from the bar area as well as from a large group of young women seated in the main dining area. My wife and I purposely dine late (8:30 PM to closing) in order to avoid as much noise as possible to enjoy good food and dinner conversation. After dining at the restaurant several times, the noise level has not improved. It definitely impacts our overall dining experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food is delicious. Great steaks, seafood and chicken dishes. Drinks were also good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful food with an energetic vibe! Service was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

As usual, 5 Restaurant does not disappoint.
Food was delicious. Service is fantastic. Tiramisu was amazingly good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Everything was excellent! Great Italian cuisine, large portions and great service! This will be a place to return to many times when in Fresno!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was good but it was way too noisy! Too many drunks at the bar- couldn't enjoy a nice dinner at a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Two of the three in our party enjoyed their meal very much. My salmon looked delicious but something obviously went wrong. The sauce, or the risotto, or something had 3-5 times too much salt. I tried 4 or 5 bites hoping that the massive over saltiness would not be everywhere, but it was all over. I had to stop 20% into the meal. Thankfully the wait staff was refilling my water as I needed 4 or 5 glasses to wash down the overwhelming salt taste. The waiter was great and offered to either provide another portion or remove my meal from the check. My palate was ruined so, not paying for the inedible meal was the right choice. Too many good restaurants in Fresno/ Clovis to take another chance on Five.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food and great service!
An enjoyable dining experience!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Nice patio, big portions. Reliable chain restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Went here for 5year wedding anniversary. The service was excellent, friendly waiter. Food came out fast, didn't have to wait long . Nice atmosphere, though a little on the loud side. Seating was ok, close to other tables, will remember in future to request booth for mor privacy. The food was delicious. Started out with the goat cheese timbale which was great! We split the Pesce Misto. I highly recommend this entree, it was amazing. The risotto was to die for! Only disappointment was the dessert special selling out before I could get one!!! Also I had put on my reservation it was our anniversary and they gave us a tiramisu which was perfect end to our dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Graduation Dinner

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on June 5, 2017

My wife and I spent our anniversary here at Five. Came in and got seated right away, 10 minutes before our reservation. Server Ryan was prompt and thoughtful. Got appetizer, main dish, and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Our party of 8 enjoyed our FIVE experience. We all thought the food was great, but expensive. The service was was good. The ambience was nice. However, we could not chat as a whole group because we couldn't all hear each other. We will go there again though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2017

If the noise level in Five is moderate, what would OpenTable rate "energetic," short of a drop forge factory? Admittedly, an especially noisy group sat next to us, but when they left the noise hardly abated. Had the food been better and more appropriately priced that might have saved the evening. It was not a bad restaurant, just pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.