About Five Restaurant

Five is an exquisite blend of contemporary italian and californian cuisine. Join us for a romantic dinner or a night out drinking wine with your friends. Come and experience the engaging atmosphere and energetic ambiance of five.

1110 E. Champlain Ave, Suite 101
Fresno, CA 93720
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
E Perrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 434-5553

Website:
http://www.5restaurant.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Five Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful service, all food came out pro ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 19 hours ago

Wonderful service, all food came out promptly and hot! Staff was very attentive to our needs. We didn't have to ask for refills or anything. The only negative aspect was how noisy it was. Made it difficult to have a conversation with my date. Will definitely return (but probably not on a Saturday night).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The noise level is very high but the res ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 3 days ago

The noise level is very high but the restaurant is nice, service is good, and the food is very good. Will be back but will bring ear plugs next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our second time there. Was deli ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our second time there. Was delicious. Had a great meal and very good service. Plenty of Gluten Free options, but it was extremely noisy and loud. Hard to have a conversation. Went on a Thursday night. First time we went there, we went on a Tuesday and it was quiet and a lot easier to hear.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good. Would go back I enjoyed the s ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good. Would go back

I enjoyed the service and tasty Tuscan nachos. I really can't complain

Overall I would recommend give to anyone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food as always!!! Also found a new ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food as always!!! Also found a new favorite dish! Pappardelle Bolognese!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service with amazing food! Could n ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service with amazing food! Could not have asked for a better Valentines menu. The food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines day

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, although it was a limite ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food, although it was a limited menu due to Valentine's Day. Noisy, but the whole experience was excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

great food. owner is friendly and apprec ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

great food. owner is friendly and appreciates the business. try for a booth when available.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, very crowded with Valent ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, very crowded with Valentines Day crowd, but service was good and food quality outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place and good service. Food was ok ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice place and good service. Food was ok not spectacular but the overall experience was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We have tried this place a few times ove ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We have tried this place a few times over the years. Just never seems to get us excited to come back. Overall staff was was good, however our waiter seemed to have an attitude. Good was just OK....nothing special. Presentation was good, taste and value were lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall experience was great besides the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall experience was great besides the slow service on refilling water at the table

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food, great service, and a well-ru ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, great service, and a well-run restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there to celebrate Valentine's D ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went there to celebrate Valentine's Day and liked that the menu was different than a lot of Italian restaurants. The service was excellent but the noise level was very high making it difficult to converse.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Staff was very attentive. Gave us great ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Staff was very attentive. Gave us great service... we didn't have to wait for a table but a minute . Went to celebrate my sisters birthday.. we enjoyed the food , which was delicious and served with a smile. I would recommend this place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always love their fish special entrée wi ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always love their fish special entrée with risotto

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very loud. Had to literally yell at each ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very loud. Had to literally yell at each other to hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great local place!!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great local place!!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and food was delic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was excellent and food was delicious. Really can't ask for more than what Five delivers......consistently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to "5" before, and always ha ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I have been to "5" before, and always had a great time. But, this time they knocked it outta the park.

Some associates from out of town requested a bussiness meal with some of our clients, I recommended "5". I made reservations for 10, letting "5" knowing the circumstances. From the time we arrived, to the moment we left, everything was perfect!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations ahead of time. Got stu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Made reservations ahead of time. Got stuck in the extra bar area seating that was extremely cramped, loud, and HOT under heaters that could only be turned on or off. I would have rather gone somewhere else if I knew we were being seated in the "overflow" area. Guess I will ask next time. I love the food and they have a great wine selection, it's the reason I keep trying and come back. Service needs a little polishing. Is it too much to ask for a clean fork for the entree? It makes for awkward service trying to "save" our dirty forks and knives after appetizers and salads. Our bill was well over $300, I don't think that's too much to ask. Bottom line, food is great and worth it if you don't mind a busy place with poor parking and mediocre service.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was AMAZING !! Desert AMAZING !!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was AMAZING !! Desert AMAZING !!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely loud @5:30 on a Friday night! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Extremely loud @5:30 on a Friday night! Good lasagna, annoying ambiance. Request a booth here, tables are way too close together for our comfort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was over cooked and tasteless. Not ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was over cooked and tasteless. Not worth the high prices. Once was enough at this place.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Good food and service.

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, excellent service

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fine other than the steak ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was fine other than the steaks we ordered. They were very fatty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent as always

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation at 9:15 and arrived ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a reservation at 9:15 and arrived about 10 minutes early. We were told by the host that we could have a drink at the bar and someone would get us when the table was ready. At 9:30 my husband checked in with them, and they had forgotten about us. To accommodate us, they squeezed a 2-top table between 2 large parties. We had to shout at each other to be able to hear anything. Understandably, it was a Friday night, but we would have preferred to wait for an actual table than to squeeze into that situation.

Other than the start of the evening and the ridiculously loud ambiance, the food was delicious, and the service was surprisingly fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was very good. The restaurant ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was very good. The restaurant and bar were both extremely loud and noisy.

The waiter rushed us and the meals were brought with salads only barely touched.

The waiter did apologize for this however.

I would not recommend this restaurant if you want to see an old friend and catch up as

we were practically yelling at each other to be heard over the din.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our first time here and we will definite ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our first time here and we will definitely be going back. Loved the food, service, and ambiance. Perfect for a special occasion, date night, or out to dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in fresno. Have never been disappointed . Had the sword fish with scallops special. Amazingly good. Wanted to return again the next night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Five is outstanding and wort ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food at Five is outstanding and worth every penny (pricey). But I have now made 2 reservations in advance and had to wait 20 and 30 mins to be seated. The hostess/greeting staff on both occasions were not friendly and never apologize for the delay. they do not seem organized in their seating at all......but once you get seated the food is incredible.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loud banging coming from Bar and lightin ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Loud banging coming from Bar and lighting was a bit too dim.

Waitress was Great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Noisy bar. Couldn't hear to converse. Di ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Noisy bar. Couldn't hear to converse. Dining room too close to bar. Out of town guests for me. I was embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I really enjoy this restaura ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 30, 2016

My wife and I really enjoy this restaurant and our server Jason is always great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is s great place all around. Very ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is s great place all around. Very courteous staff, great food and nice ambiance. Perfect for a romantic evening!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the new specials, and would recomm ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Loved the new specials, and would recommend the italian chop salad.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Fantastic service. Would de ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food. Fantastic service. Would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.