Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Fish & Farm

With chocolate brown tufted booths, rich bamboo flooring, and seating for only 48 Fish & Farm emphasizes a civilized place in which to enjoy a menu of organic produce and all sustainably farmed fish and organic meats. Fish & Farm offers an Award Winning wine list of organic and bio dynamic wines and a monthly featured winery, winemaker or region with taste, glass and bottle portions."Meet the Winemaker" events are held throughout the year and are discounted for wine club members. Fish & Farm offers a clever menu of French and California influenced American Cuisine.The lounge and bar seats a cozy 20 persons and offers a menu of hand-crafted items.

424 Clay St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 nights a week.
Dinner: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Battery

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 474-3474

Website:
http://www.fishandfarmsf.com/

Entertainment:
Wine Club and "Meet the Winemaker Events"

Industry Discounts

Happy Hour nightly from 4-6

Parking Details:
There nearby parking lots as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
Near all major bus lines on Geary Street. Up 6th Street across Market onto Taylor Street, we are only 1 mile from the major freeways 101 and 80. We are 4 blocks from Powell Street Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Elicio Soto

Private Party Facilities:
Fish & Farm is well known for our delicious food, but our new, larger space will also feature happy hours, live music, an expanded cocktail menu, and more room for private events. Please call us if you would like to host a party or event in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (415) 474-3474

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have three beautiful dining rooms where you can host your next holiday party, business dinner, birthday or anniversary celebration, rehersal dinner or wedding reception. For more details see the private dining section on our web page.

Specials

$5 House Well Drinks
$5 Selected Wines
$1 Off Draft Beers

Specials

$5 House Well Drinks
Details

Fish & Farm is well known for our delicious food, but our new, larger space will also feature happy hours, live music, an expanded cocktail menu!

Terms and Conditions: Excludes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: September 19, 2017

Ends: December 31, 2017

Availability: Daily 3:00PM-8:00PM

$5 Selected Wines
Details

Fish & Farm is well known for our delicious food, but our new, larger space will also feature happy hours, live music, an expanded cocktail menu!

Terms and Conditions: Excludes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: September 19, 2017

Ends: December 31, 2017

Availability: Daily 3:00PM-8:00PM

$1 Off Draft Beers
Details

Fish & Farm is well known for our delicious food, but our new, larger space will also feature happy hours, live music, an expanded cocktail menu!

Terms and Conditions:

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: September 19, 2017

Ends: December 31, 2017

Availability: Daily 3:00PM-8:00PM

Fish & Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.5

ambience

3.3

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

52% would recommend it to a friend

Quick Bite (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
See All
Casual (3)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
1272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great food and service. It was a Sunday night so perhaps the lack of customers from the next door hotel added to the more intimate ombiance. Also maybe why the service was so great. No way to tell but we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Mussels appetizers were on the tiny side (small), ahi salad nice, grilled chicken sand was okay.
Mid- day very empty. Priced right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food all sourced locally and changing with the seasons.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Business lunch
Mussels- great
Steak- great
Seafood pasta- great
Generous portions. Nice atmosphere and service. Will definitely go back and try other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Went w/a group of friends in town for a few days. The consensus was best mussels and fried chicken!!!!! Will definitely recommend and book again next time in town.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food, friendly service, a very good evening out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Service was slow and then the wrong order was delivered. Overall disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

If you just want a bar this is your place not a place to go for a nice dinner. We regretted making a reservation and wañking over a mile to have dinner here. We wanted to go to a nice restaurant and this was far from that. Service was ok but staff smelled really bad. Fod was not bad but way over priced for the size and the taste. Would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was pretty good. Didn't realize it was attached to a hotel when we made the reservation. Inexpensive drinks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Having read a few reviews we decided to visit this establishment on our last night in San Francisco. We booked in advance via Open Table. When we arrived there were many tables free but the unfriendly hostess told us to wait while they cleaned a table.
The noise level was extremely loud as the table was alongside the bar, despite there being an entire empty dining room adjacent, and we had to shout across the table at each other for the duration of our meal.
After about 10 minutes we were seated and some water was slopped in our glasses (and on our table) without so much as a word.
Eventually our server came around and took our drinks orders.
A long time elapsed before he re-appeared to take our food order, even though the place was not that busy in the seated section.
As we placed our orders, the server proceeded to mock our accents (we were visiting from another country) and the way we pronounced the house dish. It was mildly amusing the first few times, but very quickly wore thin.
The meal was average at best - a bit greasy and on par with some restaurant chains - and definitely not close to the best food we'd had in San Fran (especially considering the price point and the sales pitch about locally resourced, high-quality ingredients).
As the server cleared our table he told us that the chef was a friend of his and we were "privileged to eat his food". I've eaten as some of the world's best and most exclusive restaurants and not even they have the audacity to tell me I'm privileged to visit their establishment.
I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, unless you particularly enjoy mediocre food with a side of condescension.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Service is very friendly and the place is rarely crowded; food was good but nothing to justify a special trip. If you're in the area and looking for a decent meal it's a good choice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

If you're in the Embarcadero area it's a decent spot for an unpretentious lunch or brunch. At times they seem a bit disorganized but not to the point of losing any 'stars.'

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It was a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very easy for scheduling and service. Only hiccup arose when they capped credit cards to 7 when we had 9 individual diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Party of two waited for an hour and a half for our entrée we ended up not taking it they comped it we paid for our drinks and an appetizer and salad when we got home and the food wasn't good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Disappointed. The description on open table was very nice, but reality was the opposite. The place was empty on a Saturday night, the restrooms were dirty and there was staff sittings laying on benches. Food was mediocre, and the service was good, but they didn't have any knowledge on the food. I suggest that open table changes the description. SanFran has plenty of nice places. So sip this one on your next visit.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

They told us the wrong special So what we ordered and what came out was different. But charged us full price anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Eating outdoors was pleasant with responsive and welcoming wait persons.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I ate here for breakfast and was very disappointed in my meal. The Eggs Benedict were overcooked resulting in hard boiled eggs served on a very soggy English muffin topped with a tomato slice. The sauce was separated and sparse. Definitely the worst Eggs Benedict I have ever had. However, my dining companion ordered eggs over easy with ham and enjoyed his meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

It wasn't what we expected. The menu was sparse and it didn't seem to have the organic options it says in the advertisement. It's more a pub feeling than a foodie experience. Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wonderful food, friendly service. Hidden gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was good, but the service was lacking. I will not be recommending this restaurant anymore to our hotel guests due to the poor service that we received while there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The restaurant had a horrible smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was great! We just had a few drinks there and didn't eat but loved the mood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

service too slow. we waited over 1 hour to get our food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our reservation was for 1:15 and it took 15 minutes for the server to acknowledge us. She didn't seem to know the menu very well. The salmon was over cooked, which explained the long wait. When we finished our meal, the server took our plates, but was too busy talking to other customer and didn't listen to our question. Another server assisted us instead. The place was close to being empty, there was no lunch rush. We waited 15-20 minutes to get our check. The serve was just slow and didn't care to give proper service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was good, service was great (I think it was Ryan who served us). Setting was just right for moderate level communication with friends in a nice, clean, and modern environment. I'm in the neighborhood and I'd return again if nearby.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was good, location is very handy, the waiters were pleasant, however the atmosphere is that of a bar rather than a restaurant, which was what was expected. So with that I wouldn't recommend it to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My husband and I found that with each plate we received, there was an equal chance they would be good or mediocre and for the price the food should have been good. My husband liked the oysters and although we both agreed that we liked the goat cheese and potato galettes it was served on this giant bed of underdressed and surprisingly salty bowl of mixed greens. My husbands clam chowder was tasty but it lacked clam flavor, it tasted mostly of watery cream. My artichoke salad was just artichokes on another giant bed of underdressed and salty mixed greens. Our entrees were delicious, my husband had the ribeye and I had the salmon both were well prepared and tasty. Our desserts were a disappointment my creme brulee was was very overdone and not smooth at all. My husband apple tart was blah. Overall the cost of the meal did not correspond with the quality of food we received. We will likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Unfortunately, I didn't get a great experience at Fish & Farm, like I'd hoped. I'd never been there, but wanted to support a restaurant sourcing their fish sustainably and serving organic produce. I met two friends from out of town there for dinner. Our waitress seemed to be having an off night, initially spilling half of my friend's drink on the table, then on my friend, then coming back with a bar rag to mop things up on the table and silverware, but not offering to replace the drink, place setting, or bread basket that was now soggy. She offered to comp my friend's next drink, but after dinner when we paid the bill, we saw that the second drink hadn't been comped. The calamari starter and goat cheese galette were fine. I ordered the seafood risotto special of the night and was disappointed. The chunks of fish, shrimp and calamari in the dish were big, tough and seemed to be of the worst cuts of the fish, like the leftovers. And the risotto was a bright orange color and fairly dry. I found the entire dish to be without flavor. My friends ordered better and finished their dishes -- the salmon with beurre blanc sauce and cod with mango. They seem to have a nice bar environment and atmosphere, but I won't be coming back after this service and food experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Fine, but nothing special. Time for meal to be served was very long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food & atmosphere. Close to work so easy, we'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fried chicken was crispy and moist and abundant serving
Waiter was very attentive
Service was prompt

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I always enjoy this place, especially for happy hour. However, I don't like that the servers are really circumspect about the happy hour menu. In order to get the happy hour prices, you have to sit at the bar. I overheard two diners complain about this, and I can imagine this confusion happens often to other diners. On top of that, this place always forgets to confirm my reservation when I check-in, resulting in OpenTable having problems and thinking I'm a no-show. Overall, I sill enjoy coming here, but it can be tricky if you're a newbie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We went early. It was okay as the food was good, but the service was slow and mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was horrific. It appeared the restaurant was grossly under staffed!

They may have been off tonight, but it was a disappointment given my husband and I had our family visiting from Brazil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The pizza and soup were okay. I liked the artichoke salad although it didn't have enough artichoke and my wife thought it was too salty. I ordered a salmon special and it came out undercooked. The server said he would handle it which apparently meant put it in the microwave. There was a token amount removed from the bill but it wasn't appropriate. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I'm not a huge seafood fan but I really enjoyed the meals my husband and I shared here and the dimly lit atmosphere was wonderful. I have a soft spot for tufted couches so I felt very at home in a cozy booth by the window. Because we'd made a reservation they'd held that table especially for us which I really appreciated.

We shared the goat cheese galette for starters, it's a pretty simple dish, just two rings of potato stuffed with goat cheese on a bed of greens with dressing, but you really don't need to do much to goat cheese for it to be delicious. Because there were two mini galettes this was super easy to share. We also shared the mains which was a little more difficult but well worth the effort. We had the roast salmon and the special which was cod on garlic mash potatoes with mushrooms and a lobster sauce. The salmon was great, the garlic mash was excellent and the mushrooms were very flavorsome. The cod however was a little bland and I didn't enjoy the lobster sauce, but that's because I'm not a big seafood fan. If I'd liked the sauce and ate the cod with it rather than trying to avoid it that probably would have made up for the blandness of the fish.

We also ordered fries because we wanted to try the house made tartare sauce but they never came. We ended up being glad they didn't because even having shared an appetizer, and having not quite finished our mains we were almost too full for dessert. We didn't feel rushed because the restaurant wasn't super busy so we were able to take a couple of minutes to let dinner settle and then share a crème brûlée which was also excellent. We weren't charged for the fries so no harm, no foul. I think if I were to eat here again and the cod special were available I'd ask for it without the lobster sauce and a serving of tartare instead. Less classy for sure but I know what I like.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

An enjoyable place with good food at reasonable prices.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was horrific. Wait was 40 mins to get seated with a reservation and 1 1/2 hours to order. Never got dessert menus and whole experience took 3 1/2 hours. They claimed they had problems in their kitchen and were short-staffed. It also was expensive for mediocre food

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.