Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Fish & Farm

With chocolate brown tufted booths, rich bamboo flooring, and seating for only 48 Fish & Farm emphasizes a civilized place in which to enjoy a menu of organic produce and all sustainably farmed fish and organic meats. Fish & Farm offers an Award Winning wine list of organic and bio dynamic wines and a monthly featured winery, winemaker or region with taste, glass and bottle portions."Meet the Winemaker" events are held throughout the year and are discounted for wine club members. Fish & Farm offers a clever menu of French and California influenced American Cuisine.The lounge and bar seats a cozy 20 persons and offers a menu of hand-crafted items.

424 Clay St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 nights a week.
Dinner: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Battery

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 474-3474

Website:
http://www.fishandfarmsf.com/

Entertainment:
Wine Club and "Meet the Winemaker Events"

Industry Discounts

Happy Hour nightly from 4-6

Parking Details:
There nearby parking lots as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
Near all major bus lines on Geary Street. Up 6th Street across Market onto Taylor Street, we are only 1 mile from the major freeways 101 and 80. We are 4 blocks from Powell Street Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Elicio Soto

Private Party Facilities:
Fish & Farm is well known for our delicious food, but our new, larger space will also feature happy hours, live music, an expanded cocktail menu, and more room for private events. Please call us if you would like to host a party or event in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (415) 474-3474

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have three beautiful dining rooms where you can host your next holiday party, business dinner, birthday or anniversary celebration, rehersal dinner or wedding reception. For more details see the private dining section on our web page.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fish & Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

58% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Business Meals (3)
See All
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Disappointed. The description on open table was very nice, but reality was the opposite. The place was empty on a Saturday night, the restrooms were dirty and there was staff sittings laying on benches. Food was mediocre, and the service was good, but they didn't have any knowledge on the food. I suggest that open table changes the description. SanFran has plenty of nice places. So sip this one on your next visit.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They told us the wrong special So what we ordered and what came out was different. But charged us full price anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Eating outdoors was pleasant with responsive and welcoming wait persons.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I ate here for breakfast and was very disappointed in my meal. The Eggs Benedict were overcooked resulting in hard boiled eggs served on a very soggy English muffin topped with a tomato slice. The sauce was separated and sparse. Definitely the worst Eggs Benedict I have ever had. However, my dining companion ordered eggs over easy with ham and enjoyed his meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It wasn't what we expected. The menu was sparse and it didn't seem to have the organic options it says in the advertisement. It's more a pub feeling than a foodie experience. Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful food, friendly service. Hidden gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The food was good, but the service was lacking. I will not be recommending this restaurant anymore to our hotel guests due to the poor service that we received while there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The restaurant had a horrible smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

service too slow. we waited over 1 hour to get our food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was great! We just had a few drinks there and didn't eat but loved the mood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our reservation was for 1:15 and it took 15 minutes for the server to acknowledge us. She didn't seem to know the menu very well. The salmon was over cooked, which explained the long wait. When we finished our meal, the server took our plates, but was too busy talking to other customer and didn't listen to our question. Another server assisted us instead. The place was close to being empty, there was no lunch rush. We waited 15-20 minutes to get our check. The serve was just slow and didn't care to give proper service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was good, service was great (I think it was Ryan who served us). Setting was just right for moderate level communication with friends in a nice, clean, and modern environment. I'm in the neighborhood and I'd return again if nearby.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was good, location is very handy, the waiters were pleasant, however the atmosphere is that of a bar rather than a restaurant, which was what was expected. So with that I wouldn't recommend it to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My husband and I found that with each plate we received, there was an equal chance they would be good or mediocre and for the price the food should have been good. My husband liked the oysters and although we both agreed that we liked the goat cheese and potato galettes it was served on this giant bed of underdressed and surprisingly salty bowl of mixed greens. My husbands clam chowder was tasty but it lacked clam flavor, it tasted mostly of watery cream. My artichoke salad was just artichokes on another giant bed of underdressed and salty mixed greens. Our entrees were delicious, my husband had the ribeye and I had the salmon both were well prepared and tasty. Our desserts were a disappointment my creme brulee was was very overdone and not smooth at all. My husband apple tart was blah. Overall the cost of the meal did not correspond with the quality of food we received. We will likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Unfortunately, I didn't get a great experience at Fish & Farm, like I'd hoped. I'd never been there, but wanted to support a restaurant sourcing their fish sustainably and serving organic produce. I met two friends from out of town there for dinner. Our waitress seemed to be having an off night, initially spilling half of my friend's drink on the table, then on my friend, then coming back with a bar rag to mop things up on the table and silverware, but not offering to replace the drink, place setting, or bread basket that was now soggy. She offered to comp my friend's next drink, but after dinner when we paid the bill, we saw that the second drink hadn't been comped. The calamari starter and goat cheese galette were fine. I ordered the seafood risotto special of the night and was disappointed. The chunks of fish, shrimp and calamari in the dish were big, tough and seemed to be of the worst cuts of the fish, like the leftovers. And the risotto was a bright orange color and fairly dry. I found the entire dish to be without flavor. My friends ordered better and finished their dishes -- the salmon with beurre blanc sauce and cod with mango. They seem to have a nice bar environment and atmosphere, but I won't be coming back after this service and food experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fine, but nothing special. Time for meal to be served was very long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food & atmosphere. Close to work so easy, we'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fried chicken was crispy and moist and abundant serving
Waiter was very attentive
Service was prompt

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I always enjoy this place, especially for happy hour. However, I don't like that the servers are really circumspect about the happy hour menu. In order to get the happy hour prices, you have to sit at the bar. I overheard two diners complain about this, and I can imagine this confusion happens often to other diners. On top of that, this place always forgets to confirm my reservation when I check-in, resulting in OpenTable having problems and thinking I'm a no-show. Overall, I sill enjoy coming here, but it can be tricky if you're a newbie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Private Room, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We went early. It was okay as the food was good, but the service was slow and mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was horrific. It appeared the restaurant was grossly under staffed!

They may have been off tonight, but it was a disappointment given my husband and I had our family visiting from Brazil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The pizza and soup were okay. I liked the artichoke salad although it didn't have enough artichoke and my wife thought it was too salty. I ordered a salmon special and it came out undercooked. The server said he would handle it which apparently meant put it in the microwave. There was a token amount removed from the bill but it wasn't appropriate. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'm not a huge seafood fan but I really enjoyed the meals my husband and I shared here and the dimly lit atmosphere was wonderful. I have a soft spot for tufted couches so I felt very at home in a cozy booth by the window. Because we'd made a reservation they'd held that table especially for us which I really appreciated.

We shared the goat cheese galette for starters, it's a pretty simple dish, just two rings of potato stuffed with goat cheese on a bed of greens with dressing, but you really don't need to do much to goat cheese for it to be delicious. Because there were two mini galettes this was super easy to share. We also shared the mains which was a little more difficult but well worth the effort. We had the roast salmon and the special which was cod on garlic mash potatoes with mushrooms and a lobster sauce. The salmon was great, the garlic mash was excellent and the mushrooms were very flavorsome. The cod however was a little bland and I didn't enjoy the lobster sauce, but that's because I'm not a big seafood fan. If I'd liked the sauce and ate the cod with it rather than trying to avoid it that probably would have made up for the blandness of the fish.

We also ordered fries because we wanted to try the house made tartare sauce but they never came. We ended up being glad they didn't because even having shared an appetizer, and having not quite finished our mains we were almost too full for dessert. We didn't feel rushed because the restaurant wasn't super busy so we were able to take a couple of minutes to let dinner settle and then share a crème brûlée which was also excellent. We weren't charged for the fries so no harm, no foul. I think if I were to eat here again and the cod special were available I'd ask for it without the lobster sauce and a serving of tartare instead. Less classy for sure but I know what I like.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

An enjoyable place with good food at reasonable prices.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was horrific. Wait was 40 mins to get seated with a reservation and 1 1/2 hours to order. Never got dessert menus and whole experience took 3 1/2 hours. They claimed they had problems in their kitchen and were short-staffed. It also was expensive for mediocre food

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall, a very enjoyable experience. We were seated promptly, attended to courteously, and everything was prepared and presented well. The goat cheese galette was perfectly cooked and came with a perfectly seasoned salad. I had the cioppino, which was delicious and quite heavy on the seafood - you definitely get your money's worth - and my husband had the pork chop, which was excellent. We also shared the change, which was good but quite dry and heavy on the crumb topping. Overall an excellent experience, although next time I think we'd try a different dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pretty ordinary food for SF standards. The server also forgot to bring my oyster appetizer. Although the portion of mussels was descent, they were quite small in size.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place to meet friends for dinner and drinks. Menu had something for everyone. Cocktails and beer menu was good. Our waiter was very attentive and service was good. Food was delicious. Would come here again with a group or alone.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Horrible on New Year's Eve, multiple people were having problems with their reservations not just us, we weren't sat for 30 min when we were finally sat no one took our order for another 30min so we got up and left. They had some type of party downstairs with super loud music which would have been fine if the rest of the service had been enough to keep up with everything else this place was trying to accomplish. Wish we could have had a good experience. But we didn't . I wish I could put negative stars but it makes me pick at least one. Oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an great experience at dinner tonight, our first time at this restaurant. Pleasant surroundings, delicious food ( risotto, fried chicken, ahi tuna) and excellent service . Other recent reviews complained about service so we were a little concerned about our choice. But far from having complaints, we come away with high praise. The staff were warm, attentive and helpful. We'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had a really bad experience with the waiter, but the food was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent bartender and waiter. Cheerful service with a smile despite being short-handed and practically "one leg kicks all". Really goes above and beyond the call of duty to seat us in a quiet section and make us feel very welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was delicious, but the restaurant was way understaffed and the kitchen was backed up leading to poor service all around. I will try Fish and Farm again hoping that the service was just a fluke as the food really was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We left before we were served because the service was so poor. We had a reservation but still were required to wait ten minutes for a table. It was another ten minutes before a server greeted us. We placed an order. After our order was placed, another couple sat down. They were greeted five minutes later and placed an order. By the time they had almost completed their food, our order had not arrived. When I inquired of the server, he raised his voice and told me that it wasn't his fault and tried to get in an argument with me (which I wasn't seeking; I had simply inquired about the status of our order). His conduct was so upsetting that we left. Oh, and it was Christmas.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The good news: once the food arrived, it tasted good. Delicious artichoke salad. Good seafood, good burger.
The bad news: it was very slow to get any attention (at first), then a long wait for the food to arrive.
It was Christmas, so I suspect they were not staffed well.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was busy dining here on Christmas day, but the waiter kept up with good service and recommendations. Tasty food in large portions, but would recommend a side dish of vegetables to go with the mains as they can be a little meat heavy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was right across the street from our hotel, The Meridian. Good food.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I am mixed about Fish & Farm. We were greeted with apologies and kept hearing them around the room from various staff. We were ignored for the first 20 minutes. When finally a server stopped to talk with us, he was incredibly nice and apologetic. Everyone must have assumed we had been helped.

Our server allowed us to order off the happy hour menu, which was a little solace. The mushroom pizza was delicious, the mussels quite good, and the mac and cheese inedible. We weren't charged for that. We got out of the restaurant at barely over $20, which is less than one of their high-end entrees.

The space feels unfinished, esp if you head to the back and downstairs. I thought it was fun, but I know its not what serious diners (they type this restaurant is catering to) want to see. I also felt like the huge televisions playing sports were very distracting.

I know being a portlander has spoiled me for the New American -slash- farm to table style restaurants.... but Fish & Farm needs a restaurant coach of some sort. They are confused about who their audience is with the mix of high end food, inconsistent service, and funky ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Came 10 minutes early, and they were not prepared. Mussels were a bit fishy and they took them off the bill quickly, but we noticed they did the same for a few other tables. We thought that they knew mussels were old, but were selling them anyways. Wait staff was seriously under staffed, service was slow but waiter was very nice. Food was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Seafood is not fresh. Service is good, just the food is not good'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.