Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

North Italia – IrvineNorth Italia – Irvine
(735)
$$$$
Italian | Irvine, South Orange County
Booked 106 times today
Water Grill - South Coast PlazaWater Grill - South Coast Plaza
(952)
$$$$
Seafood | Costa Mesa, North Orange County
Booked 85 times today
Seasons 52 - Costa MesaSeasons 52 - Costa Mesa
(4307)
$$$$
American | Costa Mesa, North Orange County
Booked 42 times today
Mastro's Steakhouse - Costa MesaMastro's Steakhouse - Costa Mesa
(3916)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Costa Mesa, North Orange County
Booked 69 times today
VACAVACA
(562)
$$$$
Spanish | Costa Mesa, North Orange County
Booked 41 times today
Benihana - Newport BeachBenihana - Newport Beach
(1120)
$$$$
Japanese | Newport Beach, South Orange County
Booked 82 times today
Mesa RestaurantMesa Restaurant
(143)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Costa Mesa, North Orange County
Booked 3 times today
The Capital Grille - Costa MesaThe Capital Grille - Costa Mesa
(1718)
$$$$
Seafood | Costa Mesa, North Orange County
Booked 10 times today
HabanaHabana
(302)
$$$$
Cuban | Costa Mesa, North Orange County
Booked 22 times today
True Food Kitchen - Newport BeachTrue Food Kitchen - Newport Beach
(383)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Newport Beach, South Orange County
Booked 67 times today
Agora ChurrascariaAgora Churrascaria
(1848)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Irvine, South Orange County
Booked 16 times today
Il Fornaio - IrvineIl Fornaio - Irvine
(1870)
$$$$
Italian | Irvine, South Orange County
Booked 17 times today
Farmhouse at Rogers GardensFarmhouse at Rogers Gardens
(926)
$$$$
American | Corona del Mar, South Orange County
Booked 76 times today
Beachcomber Cafe - Crystal CoveBeachcomber Cafe - Crystal Cove
(5046)
$$$$
Californian | Newport Beach, South Orange County
Booked 53 times today
BistangoBistango
(1341)
$$$$
American | Irvine, South Orange County
Booked 4 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About Fireside Tavern

Fireside Tavern, located in the heart of the Costa Mesa food district, is a restaurant and bar/lounge. Cuisine is modern American Gastropub, drink is craft beer and cocktails, and fine California wines.

3131 Bristol Street
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Happy Hour: Daily: 5:00pm-7:00pm & 10:00pm-12:00am; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baker Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 557-3000 ext. 163

Website:
http://firesidetavern.com/

Parking Details:
Valet and a private structure parking are available

Public Transit:
Most OCTA public transit busses running through Costa Mesa stop within a 10 minute walking distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Scott Brandon

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small elegant wine salonseating up to 12 persons comfortably. Our Living room, combined with the Wine Salon and adjoining patio can accommodate up to 50.

Private Party Contact:
Lindsay Irvine/Jessica Scapellati: (714) 913-9061

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have Happy Hour seven days and nights a week!
3-7pm, and again from 10p-Midnight.
Great drink and food specials!

Sort By:
S
15 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2014

When I booked the place, it was not clear that the establishment was inside a hotel. The place was practically empty. We started with the grilled flatbread which was "over grilled". For dinner we ordered the burger, tavern mac n cheese, and the beer battered fish and chips. The burgers had an after taste which I did not care for. My daughter had the mac n cheese and it was dry and the smoked sausage was old. My other daughter had the fish and chips and the fish was overcooked with plenty of batter. Overall the dining experience was un-eventful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2014

Loved the new menu items...Chef Scott is very creative!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 14, 2014

The food was outstanding and the price was reasonable. Very creative menu and the Bangers & Mash was wonderful. The tables and chairs are a bit shabby inside although outside looks nice. I would have given it a 5 if the decor was updated. It was very much like a coffee shop rather than fine dining although the menu was certainly fine. The server was great and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2014

Chef Scott creates an excellent menu. Love that he changed it up and adds seasonal items! Service is simply outstanding and staff knowledgeable about menu and wine parings. Charles the GM of the hotel is often in the dining room ensuring guests are served and visits. He's a great storyteller, very interesting and enjoyable to visit with. My husband and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2014

We've been to Fireside Tavern several times now. The menu is fantastic and each dish is just delicious. The one problem is they have one waitress who serves the whole restaurant section…so service is a little lacking. Food comes out quickly though. If you are looking for a relaxing evening without time constraints then this is the place for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 17, 2014

Did not know it is in the hotel, so no ambiance what so ever. Food was good but very pricey and small plates. The meatball slider special was really good. Meatballs were moist. Jeremy, our server was very attentive. We may go back but perhaps for lunch and not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2014

We went back to Fireside to celebrate my birthday with my family. The food was delicious and they had no problem accommodating our party of 6 (with a baby). We did notice that there weren't enough waitresses to serve all of the parties in the bar/restaurant and it definitely caused some delays. I must say that the mac & cheese, tatter tots and oatmeal ice cream cookie DID NOT DISAPPOINT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2014

I found this place on Yelp and let me tell you - AMAZING! We started outside siting around the fireplace with flatbread and drinks. We went inside for dinner (steak, mac & cheese and salad) and then went back outside for drinks and adult chocolate milk and cookies. Everything was delicious! I think this place must be crowded during the week with business travelers. Its very relaxing there and the staff was great. The prices is also very reasonable for all of the food that we ordered.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 2, 2014

Early lunch before a 2 p.m. matinee at Segerstrom. Arrived early because of reviews complaining about slow service. Not a problem. Very prompt attention and service from a great server. However, we were the only two diners. Hope that others patronize this gem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2014

Fruitflys... My mixed drink had attracted them.. I counted at least 2 that flew into my drink. A few others were flying around nearby ... Minor nuisance to me but might not be to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 5, 2014

Came here for lunch and I was one of 2 people in the place, granted it was 2:30 in the afternoon but it was so empty. I ordered the bread with salted butter for $5.00 and now I'm wondering why do they charge $5 for the same kind of bread and butter that every other restaurant gives out for free. while it was good it was just bread and butter nothing special and definitely not worth the price. The burger and fries were tasty and the service was excellent, but then again it should have been since there were only 2 customers in the place. I did like it and will probably come again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 13, 2014

The steak (20oz) had awesome flavor. The mac and cheese lacked taste and was a small portion compared to the price.

Did not stick around for dessert as it took three requests to get water and we weren't willing to wait another hour for a dessert menu or the actual food to show up.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 10, 2014

Hidden in the Crown Plaza hotel, the Fireside Tavern isn't your typical hotel restaurant. I probably wouldn't have given it a fair shot if I haven't booked it before realizing it's inside the Crown Plaza, but I'm glad I did. The service was fantastic. The food is comfort food done well, but with an edge. Everything is a great price. The little gem salad is $8 and full sized, the roasted cauliflower was fresh, flavorful and well done; don't skimp on the french fries they are hand cut and served with a spicy ketchup. The cocktails and wine list are well planned and affordable. I actually can't wait to go back. The food wasn't overly heavy in spite of the American Comfort style. Be sure to ask about the specials, we had 3 to choose from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2014

Dont let the "hotel" type restaurant fool you. To be honest, we booked reservations on open table not knowing that Fireside Tavern was inside the Crowne Plaza hotel. We almost didn't go in, I am not a huge fan of hotel restaurants. Much to our surprise everything about Fireside Tavern was perfect. The service was great and the food, divine. We would definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2014

We went to Fireside on a Thursday. There were only a handful of people there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.