About Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern

5 Village Lodge Road
Stratton Mountain, VT 05155
View Larger Map

A casual, yet sophisticated dining experience in a rustic Vermont meets urban chic atmosphere. Our menu is similar to the State of Vermont...."a little weird"

The restaurant is named after the iconic fire tower that sits atop of Stratton Mountain where multi generations of skiers and riders made the hike to the summit.
Nestled in the heart of Stratton Village. Whet your appetite with Fire Tower Shrimp, our famous Ahi Nachos or a Winter Chevre. Salad. For dinner variety of eclectic menu options to choose from including Halibut , Mixed Wild Game Grill of Venison Chop & Elk Medallions, Vt Fresh Pasta & Lobster Alfredo, Hand Crafted Flatbreads or Mountain Burgers
Combining the spirit of a traditional tavern with upscale modern materials we take great pride in our unique bar design.
We offer some of the most unique Vermont craft beer and craft cocktail selections.
Come try a Makers Cider Smash.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
The Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern has re-opened for the 2016-17 Winter Season. Our tavern and and dining room are open at 4pm Monday to Thursday, Friday 3pm Apres and Saturday & Sunday 11:30am Lunch

4pm - Full Menu

Please check our website www.firetowerstratton.com for more information.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 297-2000

Website:
http://www.firetowerstratton.com/

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fire Tower Restaurant & Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Seasonal (8)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Family Style (5)
Fireplace (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was excellent and the food o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was excellent and the food outstanding! We have dinned at the Fire Tower Restaurant every time we visit Stratton Mountain and have never been disappointed. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Firetower has nice setting and is cozy. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Firetower has nice setting and is cozy. Service is good. Servers are attentive.

I ordered flat bread pizza as i often do. This time I ordered the americano. Unfortunately the crust was soggy and mushy. Sauce was tasty but on top of soggy crust was disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

While the place has good ambience, decen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

While the place has good ambience, decent food and generally favorable service, they had plenty of space in the separate dining room but jammed us into a crowded area near the bar that was very tight, and the noise level was ridiculous. Couldn't even have a conversation. Put a damper on what would have been an otherwise good experience.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Unfortunately a customer at neighboring ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Unfortunately a customer at neighboring table had his speaker on on his cell phone listening to something. Wasn't talking but we could hear talking for a good 20 minutes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Firetower is fine, nothing to write home ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Firetower is fine, nothing to write home about. The food is solid if you stick to the basics. The menu can be a bit to adventurous for it's own good. I had a reservation and they sat us in the bar area which was very loud and chaotic. Next time I will insist that we be sat in the main dining room. Stratton Mountain Village needs more resturant choices..... a little more competition and all the resturants will have to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I am so thankful that Fire Tower continu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I am so thankful that Fire Tower continues to deliver quality food. While still pricey (as is pretty much every Stratton Village restaurant), at least the good is very good to great with wonderful and interesting options. Without fail it's my go-to Stratton Village restaurant!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I enjoyed dinner with my husband and our ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I enjoyed dinner with my husband and our 2 boys, ages 5 and 8, on a Saturday night on a day after skiing at Stratton. Parking is limited so plan to arrive early and walk from the garage (5-10 minutes). If the parking near the restaurant is full you would need to take a shuttle from a remote parking lot. We were early, so we walked around the little village area shopping while waiting for our reservation. Outside there are several chairs with fire pits around them to sit at while you wait.

We heard the hostess turning away people who did not have reservations even though there were empty tables because it was too close to the scheduled reservation times. I thought it was good that they were preserving the tables for the reservations, rather than seating as many people as they could squeeze in between reservations.

The dining area was large but felt cozy with wooden beams in the ceiling, which gave it a nice sort of "Vermonty" ambience.

My husband said the scallops were among the best he's ever had, and I really enjoyed the sirloin chili for an appetizer. My husband enjoyed the lobster pasta, and my salmon was served beautifully on top of a bed of jicama slaw with a delicious veggie burger. My boys had cheese pizza and the kids cheeseburger, and both seemed very happy. I did not have any but was told the home made rolls are delicious and served piping hot with butter. The menu was not very large but everything we ordered was fantastic, with decent portions for the price.

The service was generally pretty good, but I did wait a while (I would guess over 10 minutes) to be able to order a second glass of wine. Otherwise, we had very friendly and helpful service. I would not hesitate to recommend eating at Fire Tower and hope to return again soon!

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Kid-friendly, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our favorite restaurant on Stratton Moun ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our favorite restaurant on Stratton Mountain, VT. Always a pleasant experience.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Undercooked elk, understand it should be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Undercooked elk, understand it should be rare but this was almost inedible. Waitress checked back 2-3 times in 90 minutes. Didnt see her until 20 mins after entrees arrived, too late to order a glass of wine which i mentioned when we sat down as to avoid this. Host never made eye contact, smiled, nothing. Ignored us for a few mins before finally seating us next to the door, plenty of seating elsewhere. Not heading back anytime soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Meal and service were outstanding. Stra ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Meal and service were outstanding. Stratton Mountain has needed a destination like this for years. Thanks to the owners for providing such an outstanding dining choice at the mountain. We will return whenever in town!

Tags: Family Style, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful dinner after a day of sk ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner after a day of skiing with the kids. The staff was wonderful and so was the food and drinks. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant used to be quite good a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This restaurant used to be quite good a few years ago. The food has taken a dive- my halibut was definitely frozen - very average & my husband and our son had the NY Strip steak which my husband said was "marginal". And the cost was over $30 a dinner! Since there are only a few restaurant choices at the Stratton village, I feel this restaurant knows they can serve sub par food and still get the customers. The ambiance and service was fine, but the food was so average, will not go there again. Really too bad.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The ahi tuna nachos and the Fire shrimp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The ahi tuna nachos and the Fire shrimp were the best! Everyone in our party enjoyed there dinner! Delicious pomegranate Bellini! So happy to get a reservation

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were very attentive and friendly. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was very good (really liked the specialty nachos and flatbreads). Specialty drinks were good although all drinks were pricey. It was quiet enough to talk and relaxed atmosphere to enjoy without rushing. Probably a bit pricey to bring a family but would recommend a visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tried this place while staying near by f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tried this place while staying near by for the weekend. Everything was delicious! I went with my boyfriend and we shared the jerk wings and the firetower shrimp. Wings were awesome because they were a dry rub so no mess and the shrimp were bomb. For an entree I got the crab meat stuffed lobster tail and my boyfriend got the lobster alfredo. Sooo good and we're from New York so I feel like we know good food. Def will be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal. The lobster ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal. The lobster dishes were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, we had an excellent dinner at ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

As always, we had an excellent dinner at the Firehouse. We all had different items from the menu, and each of us was very pleased with our selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location for us with our condo lo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great location for us with our condo located just across the street. We had a delicious meal served by a very accomplished waitress. Nice wine list.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mostly very good food. The children's "h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Mostly very good food. The children's "half burger" was very greasy as we're the fries. My daughter wouldn't eat it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome as usual

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal in a very cozy s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a wonderful meal in a very cozy setting. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Fire Tower is the epitome of ski resort dining. Great location, quality food, and fun atmosphere !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place continues to impress! Favorit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This place continues to impress! Favorite place on the mountain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was great. Food was good, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our waitress was great. Food was good, great post ski day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Crowded during holidays, but still good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Crowded during holidays, but still good service, good food and reasonable noise levels.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very disappointed with the quali ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were very disappointed with the quality of our entrees. The meat dishes, which included the short ribs and the elk chop, were both tough and chewy. Given the price of our dinner, we expected a fine dining experience. Instead we received a mediocre, sub par meal. The appetizers however, salad and ribs were good along with the smoked chicken risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Good food and service. Good alternative ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food and service. Good alternative if you're in the mood for something other than meat and potatoes. Wish there were more reasonable wine offerings - selections in the $25-35 range.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were very disappointed in the food in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food in this restaurant. Three out of the four meals were horrible. This was our first and last time visiting here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Waiter literally threw our plates down. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Waiter literally threw our plates down. Steak was ordered medium but came medium rare. Food was piled on tip of each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome! Always awesome -- we've been go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Awesome! Always awesome -- we've been going there regularly for our special occasions or for casual dining after ski, for a few years already. This is by far one of the best places around here !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each course was a taste sensation. The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Each course was a taste sensation. The split pea soup was as good as my Mother used to make.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I have eaten here a couple ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My husband & I have eaten here a couple of times after skiing at Stratton. It's always delicious. Not cheap but nothing is in Stratton Village.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The five of us enjoyed a great meal and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The five of us enjoyed a great meal and get-together at the Fire Tower. Service was friendly and both kids and adults enjoyed our food. Schnitzels were particularly good and dessert sinfully rich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Up for a ski weekend with the family and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Up for a ski weekend with the family and had a fantastic first time dining experience at the Fire Tower. Lobster Alfredo and venison dishes were visually stunning and delicious. The service was prompt and friendly and our server Cheyenne was peronable and engaging. Would highly recommend and will definitely be going back next time we're up st Stratton!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Holiday meal with family. Terrific. We h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Holiday meal with family. Terrific. We have also been there for regular dinners and always leave feeling like we had a wonderful dining experience. The food is always so creative but not to the point where it is weird.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Firetower! Wonderful, eclecti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love the Firetower! Wonderful, eclectic menu, great food & service. Atmosphere is warm and welcoming, perfect for a ski resort location!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really appreciated the small plate ch ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We really appreciated the small plate choices, and the setting is very impressive, both inside and out

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every respect. The servi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding in every respect. The service was friendly and attentive. Both myself and my dinner companion enjoyed creatively prepared salads and entrees, and comfortable ambiance. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very limited vegetarian options. I ended ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very limited vegetarian options. I ended up with just a side dish and some burnt rice. Of course this is partially on me for not doing my research ahead of time, but in Vermont on the mountain I am accustom to plenty of options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The food all tasted sour. I rarely leav ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food all tasted sour. I rarely leave negative reviews but felt compelled to mention it. I feel the quality is suffering as they have a captive audience there on the mountain and therefore don't have to try as hard to know they will get diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Great local restaurant Try the potstick ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great local restaurant

Try the potstickers and shrimp for app

The burgers are perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.