Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Fahrenheit - Charlotte

Located in Charlotte"s Uptown, Fahrenheit has already become a player in the up and coming Charlotte food scene! Rising Star Chef, Rocco Whalen, a Wolfgang Puck protégé, will blow you away with his approachable and cutting edge cooking style. Taste Rocco's contemporary cuisine with its Mediterranean & Asian accents & you'll know why Esquire declared him a "Chef to Keep Your Eye On". Fahrenheit is equipped with a full service bar complete with a la carte dining, private dining rooms available for large parties and the most breathtaking view of Charlotte’s beautiful sky line from every table in the restaurant!

222 South Caldwell St.
Suite 2100
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 4:00PM - 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 4:00PM - 2:00AM
Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Sunday Brunch: 11AM - 2:30PM

Cross Street:
E. 3rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 237-6718

Website:
http://www.chefroccowhalen.com/

Catering:
Fahrenheit is truly a one stop shop for all of your dining needs. No matter how small or large your get together may be, let Fahrenheit worry about the details! We customize menus and tailor experiences to the needs of each and every one of our patrons!

Parking Details:
Valet is accessible from 3rd St. Cost is $10 when you dine with us and can be included on your bill or paid in cash directly at the valet stand.

Public Transit:
3rd Street/Convention Center along the Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Rocco Whalen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

For details or reservations, contact our Private Events Manager, Andrea Franceschelli, at 980-237-6718 or via email at bookings@fahrenheit-charlotte.com

Events: Business lunches and dinners, pharmaceutical presentations, birthday celebrations, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, cocktail receptions, holiday parties, private chef’s tastings, wine dinners, private brunches and more!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

Fahrenheit - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (117)
Special Occasion (95)
Good for a Date (89)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Romantic (76)
Fireplace (58)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Hot Spot (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Good for Groups (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Modern Decor (42)
Bar Seating (39)
Business Meals (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Happy Hour (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Fun (30)
Late-night Find (29)
People Watching (28)
Cozy (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Casual (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Authentic (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Great Beer (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Seasonal (9)
Healthy (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Family Style (6)
Tapas (6)
Private Room (6)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Live Music (4)
Live Sports (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Dancing (1)
 (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Server was not overly attentive but at times not attentive enough. He knew the menu and made good suggestions. Drinks were very good and the food was very good. The weather was not too cooperative but the view is always spectacular.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We order pizza and it was very hard to cut the pizza with fork and knife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very slow service. Food just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were there last Friday to celebrate my husband's birthday. Cocktails were great and prepared with care. Our food was outstanding. Our only complaint was that it was the temperature in the restaurant was very warm. We informed our server and a few minutes later we did feel the A/C and started to feel more comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Restaurant is on 21 floor and provides great view of downtown balcony added attraction. noise level precludes casual conversation food is good but pricey . service is slow. bread not served. menu somewhat limited as they strive for exotic . fine for one time or for young people out for drinks

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Good food and service. A bit pricey. I have been to Fahrenheit a few times and I always enjoy the atmosphere and bar scene.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a nice time. The view of Downtown Charlotte was amazing. The dining room area was a bit hot and uncomfortable but overall we had a good night.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Overall experience was okay, but it started off disappointing with restaurant host "Melissa". Was not pleased at all woth attitude of the host, very unfriendly and really effected the vibe of my special night with my fiancè as i flew out from San Francisco specifically for this occassion. She was not very welcoming and spoke in a very harsh tone as if i am not walking in to spend on a good dinner with being valued as a customer. She seemed very different with others depending on race as what it seemed. Anyway food was good, view was amazing.. made up a bit for the rude hospitality received from Melissa. I would expect much better from a restaurant with such ratings to have a host that is more welcoming and more friendly. I hope the restaurant will look into this.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The noise level was too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great service and food! I was there for a business dinner and the restaurant was SOOOO loud we could not wait to leave. The service and food were excellent but with so many large parties all around us we could barely hear one another. In my opinion this is better suited for a fun celebration of some sort or to grab a drink.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Service was awful. Waitress very disinterested, slow and unknowledgeable about the menu. Inside was a little rundown. Outside by the fireplace was nice. Food was fair but way overpriced given the quality and presentation. If you went for a pizza which serves two and a beer and sat outside by the fireplace, it would be a nice evening and worth the money. Finding a seat,however, is difficult.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed our mother's day dinner. The food was just ok. I've been before and it's been alot better. I was thinking maybe since it was a mother's day, the kitchen was overwhelmed .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to Fahrenheit for Mother's Day brunch buffet for the 3rd year in a row. This year's brunch was MUCH more expensive ($211 for 3 people including tax & no alcohol). Additionally, the buffet felt pared back and skewed towards breakfast items this year. We really enjoyed the assorted salads and savory lunch dishes from previous years. Also, if anyone from Fahrenheit is reading this, please consider offering complimentary valet parking on Mother's Day! $10 for valet parking on top an exorbitant tab is ridiculous. I understand the parking is managed by the hotel, but surely you can spring for some complimentary parking passes since you're charging almost $70pp. for brunch? On a positive note, the food was delicious -- but not worth the money.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good. Could have been better at ensuring that food is warm/hot. Service was a little slow. Felt the oric for the buffet was a bit high. Overall view is amazing. Decor is nice.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The lamb chops and ribs over noodles were very tasty. The entire menu is overpriced but the atmosphere and view are worth the price at least once. We were seated immediately. The food came out in a timely manner and all items were hot. The only cold items were the mixed drinks and they were delicious as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Was there to celebrate a 50 birthday......Overall the birthday celebration came together well, we had a 9:30 RSVP but had to wait 45 minutes for a table, also had to look for the waitress when we needed anything...the waitress wasn't that attentive also the menu wasn't that selective ...Not sure if I would go back again

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Overall we had a very good time mainly thanks to our waiter. Most if the food was between good and very good like the porkchop; but some was not as good as expected like the lobster Mac and cheese.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I drove down from Cleveland to take my Mother out for her 70th birthday dinner. I saw the episode on New Day Cleveland and thought it would be a great place to dine. The views of Downtown are great, the food was excellent and the staff is super attentive to your needs. The only thing I would complain about was the noise level, however there was a very large company dinner group there at the time of our dinner and they were the main contributor's to the noise, I do not blame you for that sometimes that happens. Overall great experience!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Birthday celebration. Arrived at 1:20 for 1:30 reservation. Promptly greeted by Manager and seated by window. Shrimp & grits and burger with egg were outstanding. Asked for desert menu for something special for birthday girl. Was informed they don't have deserts at brunch. Still was a very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food!
Service Lacked attentiveness for the price.
There was a table that was 50 feet from us that were so outrageously loud that we couldn't hear ourselves or the server.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The last time I ate here was for prom, and had it not been raining, the views would have been perfect! I have heard from a few people that the food here isn't too good, however everything I've had has been amazing!! I would highly recommend for people bringing out of town guests because the view of uptown is the best!

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was excellent, the food was pretty good

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food, service and views were fantastic! Everyone really enjoyed it. It was the perfect place to take out of town friends and show off a cool spot in the Queen City.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I love the location overlooking the city and the ambiance is great. I was not a fan of the warm crab dip that tasted more like melted choose minus the crab. The Lobster mac and cheese was good but a bit salty. There's a balance between being flavorful and salty. Waitress was very polite and knowledgeable about the dishes. I would still go again, but would likely try other menu items.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 4, 2017

It was my birthday dinner and had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. The service was excellent. We took our preschool aged son and they were great about it. The view is awesome of course. For us, it's a once a year or two thing, but we definitely recommend it, especially as a bucket list item ;).

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I enjoyed everything except for our waitress. She had our drinks sitting at the bar for awhile. To the point I had to ask another waitress to check on our drinks! 15 mins was way too long for 2 drinks. Other than that, I had a great time!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our dinner was excellent. We had the ahi poke nachos, grilled avocado, tempura shrimp, and a filet. Everything was cooked perfectly and full of flavor. We enjoyed it so much, we did not want to leave one morsel behind. The items also came outo perfectly timed.
My only complaint is about the service. If you are going to a high end restaurant expecting high end service, you will not get that here. The servers and bus staff were not attentive. Our server did not know the answer to a simple question about which beer was their seasonal. She not once gave us suggestions about what to order and even looked at us oddly when we were browsing the wine bottle menu vs the 'by the glass' menu. Once we ordered our beverages, my glass of wine came quite ahwile before my date's draft beer. They were ordered at the same time. Also, or plates were not cleared as we finished, which you would expect from a $$$ restaurant. We piled them and 5 minutes later our server cleared them. We watched other servers and bussers standing around just a few feet from our table during those 5 minutes. Don't get me wrong, this is much more acceptable for my everyday dining experience. But if I'm on a nice date with my significant other, the service, food, price, and experience should all equal out.
I will point our that there was one server who started us off with waters who was excellent. I wish she took care of us the entire dinner. She offered her advice and made us feel like we were having the high end experience we were expecting. Kudos to her!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Husband birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was good , but the awful service my husband and I received ruined our meal. A Friday night is obviously going to be busy, but our waiter only checked on us one time the entire meal. Our glasses were empty and he kept walking past us and we tried to get his attention, but he ignored us. Someone else from the kitchen brought us our food. After finishing , our empty plates sat infront of us for 20 minutes before we could get his attention. By that point, we didn't even want to ask for the dessert menu. My husband asked for the check, and it took him another 20 minutes to bring it out, although he walked past us many times. Nice food and atmosphere but TERRIBLE service. Not going to be returning anytime soon .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The view was great as well as the food. This is a great place for a group setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We went to Fahrenheit on a relatives recommendation. The atmosphere was good. The waiter was very attentive, friendly, and proficient. The food is quite pricey sowe elected to just get appetizers. The city view is awesome though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We visited to celebrate our anniversary and so glad we did, what a fabulous place. We were seated at a nice table by the windows to enjoy the city views. We ordered the wood grilled avocado, amazing! The Ahi Poke Nachos, LOVED the crispy wonton chips and the fresh tuna. And the Kobe Steamed Buns, notthing bad just weren't my fav but my husband really liked them. Our waiter, Richard, had ask when we first arrived if we were there for a special occasion and to our delight and surprise before leaving he brought out a mini dessert with a special wish and candle. It was perfect and much appreciated! That extra touch was apparent throughout our meal with the staff, always walking around making sure you were taken care of but not in your face or obtrusive. Service was impeccable. After dinner we ventured outside to enjoy the fireplaces and the city views. We thoroughly enjoyed our celebratory evening at Fahrenheit and will absolutely go back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was not that great for the price and the waitress we had couldn't answer any questions regarding the menu. Then she disappeared and we had to get a new waiter. Such a disappointment I will never go back to this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Will definitely go back there.Food, environment, perfect!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great Short Ribs, Server, Wine and View! I would certainly come again!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Food is delicious. The outdoor view is the selling point here though. One oddity - the scallops entree was smaller than our appetizers. Very loud! Not a spot for an intimate date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Although it was a very rainy evening, the view was still stunning.
The food was wonderful as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was outstanding. Very unique menu. Obviously, the view is great. Would like to see some bar stools or more seating out on the terrace. I her than that, great atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Fahrenheit not only has a beautiful roof to take pictures on, it has amazing food & service. I highly recommend the filet, it is definitely worth the wait!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.