Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Fahrenheit - Charlotte

Located in Charlotte"s Uptown, Fahrenheit has already become a player in the up and coming Charlotte food scene! Rising Star Chef, Rocco Whalen, a Wolfgang Puck protégé, will blow you away with his approachable and cutting edge cooking style. Taste Rocco's contemporary cuisine with its Mediterranean & Asian accents & you'll know why Esquire declared him a "Chef to Keep Your Eye On". Fahrenheit is equipped with a full service bar complete with a la carte dining, private dining rooms available for large parties and the most breathtaking view of Charlotte’s beautiful sky line from every table in the restaurant!

222 South Caldwell St.
Suite 2100
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Asian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 4:00PM - 11:00PM
Friday & Saturday: 4:00PM - 2:00AM
Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Sunday Brunch: 11AM - 2:30PM

Cross Street:
E. 3rd St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 237-6718

Website:
http://www.chefroccowhalen.com/

Catering:
Fahrenheit is truly a one stop shop for all of your dining needs. No matter how small or large your get together may be, let Fahrenheit worry about the details! We customize menus and tailor experiences to the needs of each and every one of our patrons!

Parking Details:
Valet is accessible from 3rd St. Cost is $10 when you dine with us and can be included on your bill or paid in cash directly at the valet stand.

Public Transit:
3rd Street/Convention Center along the Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Rocco Whalen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

For details or reservations, contact our Private Events Manager, Andrea Franceschelli, at 980-237-6718 or via email at bookings@fahrenheit-charlotte.com

Events: Business lunches and dinners, pharmaceutical presentations, birthday celebrations, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers, cocktail receptions, holiday parties, private chef’s tastings, wine dinners, private brunches and more!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Fahrenheit offers multiple dining spaces for private and semi-private events with views overlooking the beautiful uptown Charlotte skyline!

Fahrenheit - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (135)
Romantic (93)
Good for a Date (89)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (89)
Special Occasion (81)
Hot Spot (64)
Vibrant Bar Scene (61)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Worth the Drive (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Fun (40)
Good for Groups (40)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Bar Seating (35)
Happy Hour (35)
People Watching (33)
Business Meals (33)
Late-night Find (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Casual (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Tasting Menu (21)
Cozy (19)
Authentic (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Tapas (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Spicy (4)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

The view was beautiful, the service was good, but the food was not worth the price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Everyone should try it once and you decide if it’s for you. This was not for us. Food was ok but overpriced and weird clientele.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome service, awesome food, awesome atmosphere and awesome scenic view! Just AWESOME!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Parking was not very friendly. We did valet parking and had to wait for a while getting in and leaving. The food was not that tasty.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

Everyone loved their food. Surprisingly the grilled avocado fabulous, who knew you could grill them.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We were a party of 6 that arrived on time for our reservation and the restaurant was empty. However, we were seated all the way in the back of the restaurant at a U-shaped booth that was set for 5, then basically forgotten about. We waited almost 20 minutes for someone to come back and introduce themselves and take drink orders, nobody arrived. One of us had to go back to the hostess desk to find someone and ask them to send someone back to take our order. After another 10 minutes a server finally showed up. The server did apologize when he arrived and explained that the other side of the restaurant had been bought out for an event. Either way, the first impression of service was not good. Aside from this experience, the food and drinks were excellent and the service did improve. We only order drinks and apps, but the calamari and the shrimp were amazing!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We met friends after their matinee show at the Blumenthal and before our evening performance. The view from the roof is amazing. That really makes the restaurant. We had children with us from 10 to 17 and they enjoyed their meals. The tuna nachos were incredible and I would highly recommend as an appetizer. Many in our group had filets and all loved them. 2 of us had the bone in steak and enjoyed them as well while by son enjoyed his crab pasta dish. Pricing is a little high in my opinion, but very good. We had desserts and really loved the "candy bar". My son was not as happy with the mint chocolate ice cream. It gets very loud in the restaurant and can be a little hard to hear others at the table. We enjoyed our service and they gave good recommendations on the menu. We will be coming back as the experience from the roof and overlooking the city make the restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I have never complained about a restaurant in my life but I just have to say this was bad. I have been to Fahrenheit twice previously and loved it so I looked forward to taking my family there this past weekend when they were visiting. I requested my family receive a table with a view and made the request several weeks in advance. We did not receive a view, which was fine, but we were a party of 5 sat at a round table for 7 where we could hardly conversation. I was very upset because these are family members I had not seen in several months. A manager came over to speak with our party and I confronted her kindly about possibly switching our table, she was very rude and condescending and said there was nothing she could do and brushed us off. Our waiter had entirely way too many tables to take care of and never asked if we wanted more wine or water throughout the evening and never brought appetizer or bread plates. We barely had any attention from him the whole evening. The food was great, so that I'm not criticizing but if I am going to pay this much for a dinner I think we should have been treated with more respect and the manager should have been much nicer. I will not be returning because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

1 year dating anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We have dined at many upscale establishments in Charlotte. I believe Fahrenheit is a
GoodTourist Destination . I was not impressed with the meal vs the cost.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Uptown Treat
Beautiful views of uptown Charlotte. Enjoyed cocktails on the outdoor terrace. We had appetizers and small plates which were unique and well-prepared. The grilled avocado, asian shrimp, ahi tuna with crispy wontons (over-the-top) were delicious. The fried calamari was good but nothing special. The menu is not elaborate but I think anyone could find something to their liking.
I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The service was outstanding. Our waiter was fantastic. The view and ambiance were amazing. I definitely recommend this place. The only negative I had was that one dish was recommended as not being very garlicky, but it turned out it was very heavy garlic which my wife was trying to avoid.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Came to celebrate my birthday and really enjoyed my experience. Our waitress Asia was great and had great recommendations and took really good care of us. The food is a bit pricey but we knew that going in. The steaks were absolutely fantastic. I would love to see a few more affordable options just to make it more of a weekly spot to done at. But overall I would visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Bland, bland, bland, beware!
Tried to have a nice dinner for our anniversary. Disappointed.
First off very loud. Poor acoustics. Sat by the window, too bad there was a 4 feet wide building column in our view.
Watered down cocktails. Table rolls baked stuck to the pan. Flavorless calamari. Sweet corn crab dish tasted straight from a can. Pasta over cooked. Never found any crab. Waiter mentioned Short rib entree was signature dish. Tough, chewy beef, noodles over cooked with no taste.
Had heard this was a good restaurant but after this experience, i will not be back. Good luck if you visit

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

It’s always nice, but tonight it was uncomfortably noisy. Not particularly good for date on a Tuesday evening.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Really enjoyed this. Spectacular views. Bloody Mary bar was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was excellent! The steak with brussel sprouts and twice baked potatoes - Wow. Every bite was just wonderful. A little dark lighting for my taste but still pleasant and great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was beautiful inside and out and the view was amazing

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The braised short ribs had too much sauce on the noodles. The filet and sides weren’t anything to remember.
The ahi tuna nachos were delicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great experience overall. Just wish the portions were a bit bigger for some of the plates. The ceviche tostada left more to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

I feel that Fahrenheit is having an identity crisis. This is my fourth time dining here over the last few months and while the views are spectacular, the restaurant itself, fails to deliver in the spectacular department.
I'm a sucker for valet, so quite happy that Fahrenheit has valet, (as it should, being that it's at the top of a hotel.) It's the only upscale experience this restaurant has to offer. My friend and I arrived on a Wednesday evening aroun 6:45pm...the ending of happy hour. The bar was standing room only which I would expect at this time. However, the restaurant was playing extremely loud house/techno/top 40 music which is fine for the bar but not fine for the dining area. The restaurant played this kind of music well past 9pm. My take is that this restaurant is vying for the early 20-30 something crowd/club vibe, but I would assume that at a $200 average ticket price for 2 for dinner that you would pander to the demographic that wants upscale and wants to pay top dollar for top notch service/experience. By no means was our service/food worthy of a $200 dollar price tag for two. Our waitress, while very pretty, had no idea that we were even in her area, (it took her 15 mins to see if we wanted/needed anything to drink and another 15 mins after that to ask if we wanted 'anything to eat'...to which my reply was, 'Well, that is why we are here.' ), nor did she offer the evenings specials until asked. I will say that the food at Fahrenheit has always been decent and consistent.
My point is this...As someone who is in there early 40's, I am beyond happy with paying a LOT of money for food, wine and a wonderful experience. I'm sorely disappointed with Fahrenheit and it's inability to know what demographic it is catering to. I will be very reluctant to go back anytime soon.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

We went for our wedding anniversary and the service and food were excellent! I love how they really kept our glasses full! You received service not just from the waiter assigned but the wait staff on the floor were constantly circulating and giving attention to your table before you had to request it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

The service was real bad. my server didn't tell us about your specials .I would like to give it another try later.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Food was amazing, view was breathtaking great first date. Servers were friendly and the best ive ever had

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Spicy, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We picked this place for our 17th wedding anniversary. The food was delicious, service was great, the view was beautiful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great place! Best skyline in Charlotte. Very romantic views and great customer service. Food was incredible! Worth every penny!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

My wife and I went there for our anniversary and we had a great time. Awesome service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have wanted to try Fahrenheit for a long time now and it was a great 1st experience our waitress was excellent and very knowledgeable of the menu and was great with making suggestions my party orderd something that was considered a special not listed on the menu at that time which was the lobster pot pie the flavor in that dish was to die for We will definitely be returning in the near future. Our waitress advise that we may be able to soon see the lobster pot pie added to the menu for the colder months.....Fingers cross. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great experience!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was a great experience, I love it more every time I visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent experience. Food was wonderful. Views were exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Amazing views great food and drinks our waiter was awesome and attentive!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

We have visited on more than one occasion. The scallops are always superb. We splurged with the 32 oz ribeye special. The steak was over cooked in some areas and undersooked in others. There was a considerable amount I found undesirable. It was disappointing as we have always enjoyed our experience. As a side note, only 2 out of 3 meals were delivered. We waited several minutes for the final dish to arrive. Perhaps it was just an off night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was outstanding as well as the hospitality and service, we enjoyed it very much. Nothing beats that kind of view for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I enjoyed a desert at Farenheit as part of a date. The deserts were amazing. The service was fantastic, but when we ordered drinks they were far too strong. I want to enjoy my drink not get wasted. It didn't help some of the young people outside the window were clearly sick from having too much to drink.

I would recommend, but I'd avoid it on weekend/party nights.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 24 year anniversary and started with diner at Fahrenheit. The food was excellent, the server Shawn was fantastic and overall was just the experience we were looking for!

Tags: Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was great. The view was great. When our entrees took a little longer than expected, our waitress offered us 2 complimentary glasses of wine. So that was real nice. Overall, I'd recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful service w lots of special touches to celebrate a big 16 birthday. The rock shrimp is absolutely fabulous and the Charlotte Nachos never ending.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Entertain at this restaurant several times throughout the year for work guests in town and the overall feel and view is great. The service I would have to say disappointing this past visit and entree menu seems more limited not sure if it's been reduced or if I just didn't remember the limited options. The food was ok...nothing memorable. Guests were not impressed.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food awesome service wonderful presentation and a great view of the sunset over the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.