About Europea

Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jérôme ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France"
An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!

1227, rue de la Montagne
Montréal, QC H3G1Z2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 1:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Sainte Catherine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 398-9229

Website:
http://www.europea.ca/

Catering:
Cheered in TV shows and through his culinary books, Jérôme Ferrer and his team present The Europea signature catering service, an amazing package for you cocktails, buffets or special events that will change this special occasion in a outstanding experience.

As well, live a unique moment by reserving our "chef à Domicile " service : The Europea experience in your own home with our chefs and waiters.

Public Transit:
Metro Peel on the green line

Executive Chef:
Jerome Ferrer

Private Party Contact:
cécile kilidjian: (514) 397-9161

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Scallop Ceviche, Raw Tuna, And Potsticker - Europea, Montréal, QC
Cornish Game Hen Baked In Clay With Potatoes And Spinach  - Europea, Montréal, QC
Cotton Candy Dessert Tree - Europea, Montréal, QC
Homard And Sweet Bread With Linguini  - Europea, Montréal, QC
Chocolate Mousse - Europea, Montréal, QC
Foie Gras On A Stone - Europea, Montréal, QC
Braised Veal Cheek And Melting Potatoes - Europea, Montréal, QC
Filet De Bar Et Petits Legumes - Europea, Montréal, QC
Foie Gras - Europea, Montréal, QC
Jambon - Europea, Montréal, QC
Poulet - Europea, Montréal, QC
Dessert Comme Un Oeuf Au Plat - Europea, Montréal, QC
Trio Of Mini Desserts - Europea, Montréal, QC
Octopus Salad - Europea, Montréal, QC
Secret De Maurice - Europea, Montréal, QC
Poulet Croustillant au Gingembre - Europea, Montréal, QC
Chocolate Desert En Excess - Europea, Montréal, QC
Crab And Green Peas - Europea, Montréal, QC
Lobster - Europea, Montréal, QC
Cotton candy - Europea, Montréal, QC
Cornish Game Hen - Europea, Montréal, QC
Parmesan crusted Scallops - Europea, Montréal, QC
Scampi Carpaccio - Europea, Montréal, QC
Scallop - Europea, Montréal, QC
Tagliolini - Europea, Montréal, QC
Madeleines - Europea, Montréal, QC
Truffe Aux Risotto Et Capuccino A Lhomard - Europea, Montréal, QC
Sorbet Avec Sucre A Briser - Europea, Montréal, QC
Clafouti Au Fromage Et Chips Aux Sesame - Europea, Montréal, QC
Risotto A La Betterave Et Creme D'oursin - Europea, Montréal, QC
Foie Gras With Smoothie - Europea, Montréal, QC
Petoncle Avec Creme Blanche - Europea, Montréal, QC
Calmar Avec Oeuf Poche - Europea, Montréal, QC
Menu Degustation 99.50$ No 1 - Europea, Montréal, QC
Appletini - Europea, Montréal, QC
Petoncle Xxl - Europea, Montréal, QC
Proscuitto A La Corde A Linge Et Succette Aux Fromage - Europea, Montréal, QC
Yuzu - Europea, Montréal, QC
Lapin - Europea, Montréal, QC
Desserts - Europea, Montréal, QC
Larbre De La Culpabilite - Europea, Montréal, QC
Gravlax - Europea, Montréal, QC
Cocktail Fruite - Europea, Montréal, QC
Creme De Homard Capuccino - Europea, Montréal, QC
Foie Gras On A Stone Caramelise - Europea, Montréal, QC
Deserts - Europea, Montréal, QC
Beef Cheek On Barley Risotto - Europea, Montréal, QC
Tagliatelle Of Lemony Calamari - Europea, Montréal, QC
cornish hen - Europea, Montréal, QC
Fois Gras Seared At The Table On Hot Stone With Maple Syrup Glaze - Europea, Montréal, QC

Europea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Tasting Menu (71)
Creative Cuisine (71)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Romantic (46)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Good for a Date (45)
Worth the Drive (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Business Meals (29)
Hot Spot (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (16)
Cozy (15)
Great for Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Fun (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (4)
Vegan (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Europa was a great experience. It delive ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Europa was a great experience. It delivered exactly what I was looking for as far as a dining experience. I will definitely come back on my next trip to Montreal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nous en étions à notre 2e visite chez Eu ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Nous en étions à notre 2e visite chez Europea en un an et contrairement à notre première expérience, nous avons malheureusement eu droit cette fois-ci à un serveur (le serveur principal de notre table) peu attentionné, aucunement souriant, maladroit qui ne semblait pas du tout heureux de son travail et de nous faire le service; il a entre autre renversé l'eau des petites fleurs sur la table et a échappé belle de renverser la bouteille de vin rouge... à la limite il nous faisait sentir mal à l'aise! Un plat nous a été servi bêtement sans aucune explication... Nous avons donné le pourboire usuel par obligation et non par satisfaction! Nous fûmes très déçus de cette soirée en générale! D'autant plus que nous avions invité des gens qui en étaient à leur premier rendez-vous chez Europea... Par contre, l'expérience culinaire était encore une fois exceptionnelle nous devons l'avouer! Mais lorsqu'on regarde l'ensemble de notre soirée, nous avons vécu tristement un désappointement!

Tags: Cuisine créative, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Il en vaut le détour, Menu dégustation, Cuisine moléculaire, Romantique, Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Une expérience remarquable , tant pour l ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Une expérience remarquable , tant pour le goût que pour la vue! Nourriture et présentation exceptionnelles!

Tags: Il en vaut le détour, Authentique, Une carte des vins remarquable, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Cuisine créative, Ingrédients locaux, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Menu dégustation, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is ok to good. The show around ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food is ok to good. The show around it is entertaining. Service is good but not what you would expect for the calibur advertised. Examples: some inexperienced waiters, no one folds your napkin while you're in the washroom, asked for a napkin after my friend dropped hers and it never came, never told there was a valet charge until I picked up the car. . We were sat in a lovely spot in the window but it was so dark and when I asked if they could turn on and dim the 2 lights right over our heads they said they don't work. The lobster bisque cappuccino had butter just floating at the top which was grotesque. The dried beef amuse-gueule is silly as those 2 tiny pieces are a little ridiculous for the over the top display. Risotto was ok but the beets overpowered the small shrimps. The angus was deliciously tender but the accompanying 3 large fries completely tasteless. The desserts were good and very generous. Glad we checked it out, was fun, but would certainly would not return as quality was rather mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice special occasion restaurant. V ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very nice special occasion restaurant. Very french. Honestly, too much food and many dishes seemed very heavy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful lunch, food was excellent (lov ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Wonderful lunch, food was excellent (loved the lobster cappuccino and beef tartare), service was excellent (very attentive, knew the menu inside and out). We didn't expect so much intermediary courses! Lots of amazing food and super value for what you get. Will definitely be back to try the dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tout a été parfait. Ambiance, nourriture ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Tout a été parfait. Ambiance, nourriture gastronomique, attentionné et tranquille

Tags: Menu dégustation, Idéal pour les fêtes, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beaucoup de petites attentions = très bi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Beaucoup de petites attentions = très bien

Le repas était très bon.

Tags: Authentique, Menu dégustation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Plein de petites a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Plein de petites attentions. Mets délicieux du début à la fin.

Tags: Cuisine créative, Il en vaut le détour, Une occasion spéciale, La perle du quartier, Romantique, Salle privée, Une valeur sans pareille
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Les plats sont délicieux et la présentat ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Les plats sont délicieux et la présentation très soignée. Le service est exceptionnel et les serveurs très attentionnés. Le tout n'est pas donné mais la ''grande classe'' a un prix... mais en vaut le coût.

Tags: Il en vaut le détour, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Lieu huppé, Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Très bon service attentionné et personna ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Très bon service attentionné et personnalisé félicitations on a passé une belle soirée en amoureux

Tags: Cuisine créative
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow! This meal is an experience. One to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wow! This meal is an experience. One to enjoy slowly! Everything was very good, my only complaint: I'm stuffed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wish we had a better seat. The restauran ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wish we had a better seat. The restaurant is divided into several rooms and our space felt more like a closet than a dining room. The meal however, was fun and interesting. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Incredible presentation of dishes and am ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Incredible presentation of dishes and amazing food to match. Even our third time there, and we are still blown away by the experience. The tasting menus are incredible and the appetizers are an event upon themselves. Every time we come to Montreal, we bring our guests there, and they are astounded.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cuisine excellente! Par contre, le menu ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Cuisine excellente! Par contre, le menu n'a pas changé depuis des années ce qui est un peu décevant. Le décor mériterait une mise à jour, c'est dépassé et démodé surtout au 1ier. Les serveurs sont professionnels mais auraient avantage à être moins crispés et plus affables et souriants.

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Il en vaut le détour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This place is full of delicious surprise ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This place is full of delicious surprises. Beyond what you order, nothing could actually prepare me for the number of generous mis en bouche that are brought to you. The service was attentive, the view was magical and the food was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beaucoup d'originalité dans la créativit ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Beaucoup d'originalité dans la créativité avec de réelles belles surprises gustatives

Tags: Cuisine créative
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellente cuisine, mets variés. Entreme ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellente cuisine, mets variés. Entremets savoureux. Dessert original. Rapport qualité-prix sans égal

Trop de vins français. Prix exorbitants!!!

Tags: Idéal pour les fêtes, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Il en vaut le détour, Menu dégustation, Cuisine créative
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

La cuisine était très bonne et avec quel ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 23, 2016

La cuisine était très bonne et avec quelques saveures originales. Les vins très bons aussi. Le service était bien, mais plusieurs erreurs, dont la facture. On m'a facturé plus de 25% de pourboire (54$ pour une addition de 200$). Quand on a vu l'erreur, il n'y a pas eu la volonté de le règler. Je ne repetirai pas l'expérience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Attribution d'une table dans le "trafic" ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Attribution d'une table dans le "trafic" malgré une demande de réserver une table à un emplacement de choix. Changement de table à l'écart comme si nous étions les seuls au resto.

C'est la 2e fois que je réserve une table avec OpenTable et c'est la 2e fois qu'on nous offre les tables les moins intéressantes du resto. VIVE LA RÉSERVATION PAR TÉLÉPHONE...

Tags: Menu dégustation, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Cuisine créative , goûteuse et chaleureu ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Cuisine créative , goûteuse et chaleureuse. Beaucoup de surprise ( d'extrat), c'est généreux et très sympathique.

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Menu dégustation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is really worth to try this restauran ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It is really worth to try this restaurant. So many surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent restaurant très créatif c'est ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

excellent restaurant très créatif c'est notre 6 e visite; ils pourraient juste se renouveler et rajouter des desserts dans le menu déjeuner à 45 dollars

la carte du vin au verre pourrait être plus étoffée avec des premiers prix moins chers

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour les fêtes, Cuisine créative
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

L'entrée et le dessert étaient extraordi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

L'entrée et le dessert étaient extraordinaire. Plusieurs surprises dégustatives au rendez-vous.

J'ai cependant trouvé mon filet mignon trop salé et l'accompagnement était décevant.

Je n'ai pas non plus aimé mon tartare. Trop grosse portion et goût décevant.

J'ai bien apprécié le service ainsi que le petit mot personnel de M. Ferrer : )

Tags: La perle du quartier, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Il en vaut le détour, Une occasion spéciale, Repas d’affaires, Lieu huppé
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

C'est un plaisir renouvelé chaque fois q ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2016

C'est un plaisir renouvelé chaque fois que je vais à l'Europea.

Tags: Plats réconfortants, Cuisine créative, Une valeur sans pareille, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La cuisine , le service et l'ambiance ét ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2016

La cuisine , le service et l'ambiance étaient très bien cependant, nous avions une personne végétarienne dans le groupe pour laquelle le restaurant avait été avisé à l'avance et je croyais qu'il y aurais un menu végétarien ou à tout le moins un choix, cependant celui-ci n'était pas disponible et donc un seul plat était possible, cela était très décevant compte tenu qu'il s'agissait d'une occasion spéciale et que j'avais pris le temps de vérifier à l'avance et de réserver longtemps d'avance. Le restaurant ne devrait pas promouvoir un menu végétarien s'il ne peut l'offrir, ni offrir un minimum de 2 ou 3 choix de plats. Seul le menu dégustation était disponible, ce qui et trop limitatif (ex une personne qui ne mange pas de produits de la mer perd des options sans possibilité de remplacement) pour le même prix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Le paradis sur terre existe à Montréal. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Le paradis sur terre existe à Montréal. Le voici sous le nom d'Europea! Un émerveillement de tous les sens, l'art culinaire à son meilleur, le plus fin des palais sera satisfait! Que dire de plus que c'est une expérience que je souhaites à tous de vivre dans leur vie. L'expérience de goûter avec les yeux, sentir avec la langue, voir avec le nez, faut le vivre pour comprendre...

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Il faut trouver une solution en hiver po ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Il faut trouver une solution en hiver pour les tables placées pres de la porte qui s'ouvre constamment. Très désagréable

Tags: Cuisine créative
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Une expérience extraordinaire nous avon ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Une expérience extraordinaire nous avons prit menu dégustation

À refaire

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cuisine très originale et délicieuse. La ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Cuisine très originale et délicieuse. La présentation des mets est incroyable! Généreux aussi dans les portions et aussi les extras.

Tags: Lieu huppé, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Menu dégustation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tout était parfait. Le personnel très ac ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Tout était parfait. Le personnel très accueillant de l'entrée dans le Resto jusqu'à la sortie.

Le décor simple et moderne. Les présentations exceptionnelles, surtout les petites bouchées et les desserts. Du jamais vu. Pas pour tous les jours, les prix étant plus élevés mais à suggérer fortement pour une occasion spéciale et surtout parce qu'il faut prendre le temps de savourer.

Tags: Menu dégustation, ldéal pour manger en plein air, Décor moderne, Idéal pour le repas du midi, Romantique, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Cuisine créative, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful evening from beginnin ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

It was a wonderful evening from beginning to end. The food was excellent as it certainly was à gastronomic feast. I certainly would return and would highly recommend . Certainly expensive but well worth the experience. The service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Took my little sister and girlfriend her ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Took my little sister and girlfriend here. Great customer experience, explanations on the dishes, creativity and overall experience. A bit pricy as a young adult but worth it for the special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice experience, great service. Overpric ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Nice experience, great service. Overprice wine, and some food not so great. Maybe a little too much is spend on presentation vs taste.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellente expérience culinaire et servi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellente expérience culinaire et service attentionné

Tags: Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tout commençait bien avec les entrées, l ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Tout commençait bien avec les entrées, lorsque le plat avec les pétoncles est arrivé. DEUX pétoncles, je croyais à une erreur, mais non ! et le risotto pâteux, sans la finesse attendue ... pour ce qui est du dessert, regrettable barbe à papa que l'on réserve habituellement aux enfants, on aurait pu éviter le bouquet rose qui d'ailleurs repartait sans avoir été dégusté par la plupart des convives. Autre remarque: beaucoup de crème dans l'entrée et dans le dessert, ce qui nuit aux saveurs...

Le service un peu lent, il a fallu appeler les serveurs à plusieurs reprises, pour le dessert qui ne venait pas , le café, la facture.... alors que des personnes arrivées après nous étaient déjà reparties..... mauvaise coordination ???? Déçus, un peu ! pas sûr que nous reviendrons ou que nous recommanderons votre restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Service attentionné et discret, expérien ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Service attentionné et discret, expérience culinaire irréprochable et surprenante

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An entertaining meal accompanied by exce ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2016

An entertaining meal accompanied by excellent service. The amuse-bouches were very original as were the entrees. We decided not to order the tasting menu since we did not want to be overwhelmed with too much food. That would not have been the case. Although the servers brought out more amuse-bouches than one would normally expect, the entrees themselves were very small. Expect cost of wine by the glass to be on the high side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beyond imagination! Every course was pre ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Beyond imagination! Every course was presented with great showmanship. The food was a gastronomic delight. From beginning to end, one felt almost childlike in response to the surprises unfolded. The staff was efficient yet wonderfully delightful. Our person, Emmerich (Rico to his friends), was exceptional.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had foie grass peole as appetizer and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I had foie grass peole as appetizer and Angus steak as main dish. They both were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.